Perak graft trial: Witness could have mixed up names
Friday, 06 November 2009 17:39

(The Star) - The star witness in the corruption trial of two former PKR state executive councillors and four others admitted that he could have mixed up the names of the person who actually asked for a bribe.

Crossed-examined by Surjan Singh, businessman Mohamad Imran Abdullah did not discount the possibility that he might have mixed up the names of Usaili Alias and Ruslan Sahat.

Mohammad Imran told the Sessions Court here on Friday that he met Usaili, Ruslan, Zul Hassan and Fairul Azrim Ismail at Restaurant Salim in Seri Iskandar on Aug 10 2008 to discuss a project.

Surjan said, ”The restaurant’s signboard shows its Salam Corner but you saw it as Salim Corner.”

”So is it possible that it was Ruslan who asked for bribe but you mistook it for Usaili in your complain to the Anti-Corruption Agency?”

To this, Mohamad Imran, 34, replied in the affirmative.

As Mohamad Imran wanted to elaborate on his reply to Sessions judge Azhaniz Teh Azman Teh, Surjan said the witness should be quiet as he was in court to give evidence and not to prove the charge.

”The judge should shut him up as the Deputy Public Prosecutor can re-examine him later,” he said.

Mohamad Imran was testifying in the hearing of former PKR exco members Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu, 57, and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi, 52. Jointly charged with them are two former Perak Tengah district councillors Zul, 45, and Usaili, 56; businessman Fairul Azrim, 31; and Perak Development Corporation technician Ruslan (now deceased).

They are accused of helping Mohamad Imran obtain a multimillion-ringgit development project in Seri Iskandar.

During Friday’s proceedings, there were several occasions when Surjan accused Mohamad Imran of being “a compulsive liar.”

This led the head of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission’s (MACC) prosecution unit, Datuk Abdul Razak Musa, jumping to Mohamad Imran’s defence and urging the court to restrain Surjan.

An irate Surjan complained that he was being restrained from doing his duty.

Hearing continues next Monday.
written by picadilly, November 06, 2009 18:13:16
Since these two frogs jumped into BN and are DEFINITELY NEEDED IN PERAK LEGISLATURE.

This case will be thrown out citing unreliability of witness and case closed.
so 2 BN frogs will be happily ever after.

Case closed & rm 50 million in bank account.

PR wakil rakyat take note:-

1. MACC pays rm 100 per day per person to trap you
2. Once trapped, your PR colleage will defend you to death
3. You have got an option , Just take Rm 50Million and switch party (frogla)
4. now your case will be dismissed by MACC ( most of their cases end up failure)
5. Not only you can take bribe and get away with it, Rakyat also will get cheated
6. Since thats a bonus 2 in 1 : We dare you to stand for reelection (Gutless)

so anyway hurray for BN & MACC
written by mikewang, November 06, 2009 18:18:15
Slowly you will find the prosecution throwing away the case and the judge would have no choice but to acquit the former PKR duo without their defence being called.

That's the reward for being BN friendly.
written by Agahdemo, November 06, 2009 18:23:28
All but expected outcome.......

It all depend on whose side of the fence you are on...from right they can make it wrong, from wrong they can also make it right....

Ini lah Malaysia Boleh !!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Stupid me, November 06, 2009 18:26:15
Policeman admitted punching somebody, NFA. Prosecution witnesss more or less admitted telling lies for whatever reason also NFA. Memang boleh.
written by Hanuman, November 06, 2009 18:26:52
Why is the court wasting tax payers money and valuable manpower resources? The court's time should be used to implement justice for the more deserving cases! Don't we know that there are hundreds of cases still pending and the poor and unfortunate victims are still waiting for their cases to be heard? We already know that the accused will be released eventually. What's happening now is just what we call "Sandiwara"!!!! Surjan jumping up and down. DPP screaming his head off....My foot! What BULLSHIT!!!! U know what's TALK C**K? Go and attend the hearing!
written by StevenO, November 06, 2009 18:33:59
Prosecution witness "Purposely"mixed up the names!! Say it loud and clear, don't bullshit us!!!
written by mykantree, November 06, 2009 19:11:41
StevenO is succinctly right. Now that the frogs are in the UMNO/BN camp; you can bet your last ringgit it will be buang case. So here UMNO/BN justice for you!
written by No nonsense, November 06, 2009 19:17:43
Dont you guys know that Malaysia is a land of actors and actresses? Justice my foot. You have the money you will have the justice no money injustice. That is why Bn always talk about justice to themselves not the rakyat. Justice for the rakyat is when PR comes into power and no other ways. Wake up friends.
written by KARMANNGHIA, November 06, 2009 19:33:33
Why didn't this 2 fler end up on the 9th floor? I wish they had, and I still wish they might.

written by JUST, November 06, 2009 21:38:18
Pelakun OSCAR smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Democrats, November 06, 2009 23:45:49
this is the biggest joke. Suddenly all the witness like bodoh now that the two independents are BN friendly. Can anyone guess how the witness who identify them had they still been PR assemblyment. No prize for correct guess....
written by Fuminari, November 07, 2009 02:18:25
altantuya immigration can go missing,what can u expect from this trial after the kataks hav jumped???u can jus forget about the rule of law as far as umno be end is at helm!!
written by Aduh, November 07, 2009 04:16:18
There again !!! As expected, another sandiwara. Bet you, case will be thrown... beEND will not take chances.
written by hellosunshine, November 07, 2009 08:34:45
The way these jokers are running the trial play acting, it really insults our intelligence and shows no respect for the rakyat, time and again. Please lah umno, if you want to cheat, do it professionally lah. Then again, you umnoputras are only good at curi makan but don't know how to wipe clean your dirty mouths. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by batsman, November 07, 2009 12:51:29
This is the part where everybody goes free.