Is MCA a lost cause?
Friday, 06 November 2009 10:22

What’s going to happen to MCA after the dust has settled is anyone’s guess. What is clear is that its top leaders are more concerned about jockeying for position than reviving the party’s fortunes. How do they expect to unify the party much less win votes this way?

By Oon Yeoh, The Edge

Time was when MCA battles involved Team A and Team B (in this latest iteration, it’s Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat’s and Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek’s teams respectively).

Now, there are more  factions: There’s a Team C (Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai’s gang) as well. For all we know there could appear a Team D (other former leaders) and a Team E (disgruntled mid-level leaders) and probably more yet to emerge.

In short, MCA is in a big mess, and it’s hard to fathom a way out of it. That is how fractured the party has become.

The worsening crisis that’s unfolding is proof positive that the old adage about politics is true:  “There are no permanent friends or permanent enemies, only permanent interests.”

How else do you explain the constantly shifting alliances? At first Liow was aligned to Ong, which earned him an elevation to the No. 2 spot. Then, when Ong realised that Liow could be gunning for the top spot, Ong quickly made up with his arch-rival Chua to jointly rebuff Liow, who suddenly found himself out in the cold (Chua is the new No. 2 after appealing to the Registrar of Societies).

How also do you explain the on and off calls for EGMs? Immediately after the first EGM rejected both Ong and Chua, the former wanted another EGM to call for fresh polls. Then after making peace with Chua – after they both figured they had a common enemy in Liow – he decided fresh polls are not needed. Liow, of course, wants a fresh election.

Hardcore political watchers may be excited by the turbulence, even though it’s hard to keep up with what’s actually going on. But for the masses, it’s all a big ho-hum. What difference will it make whether it’s Ong or Chua or Liow who prevails?

The party has been mired in irrelevance since the historic general election on March 8, 2008 and has not been able to regain lost ground amongst Chinese voters who had abandoned it en masse.

Ong  claims that he has a unity plan in place, which Chua supports. Liow rightly questions how you bring unity to a party when you are sacking people left, right and centre and replacing them with your own nominees.

What’s going to happen to MCA after the dust has settled is anyone’s guess. What is clear is that its top leaders are more concerned about jockeying for position than reviving the party’s fortunes. How do they expect to unify the party much less win votes this way?

written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 10:27:00
It would not be unking of me to say that MCA hit the bottom when Soiled Leg's DVD hit the streets of Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong and maybe Batam island.

written by lakian, November 06, 2009 10:46:15
No!MCA is no cost,not a single cent,entirely broke!Even umno is reluctant to let them licking the balls.
written by terence, November 06, 2009 11:11:08
OTK

You want to remain in power in MCA, I suggest - do what semi value did in MIC. Your position is guaranteed in "long" term before you earn your lifetime's best nightmare in GE13.
written by Remo, November 06, 2009 11:17:53
WHO CARES THE FUK FOR MCA.
NOT RELEVANT ANYMORE.
written by fireduck, November 06, 2009 11:18:13
Seeing how Semi is still holding on, and 'holding' MIC up, and how Mahathir came in to 'rescue' UMNO from sleepyhead. now Ling Liong Sik is probably contemplating gathering all his 'factions' to take over MCA again. Ah, glory days .... haha! smilies/tongue.gif
written by Ocassey, November 06, 2009 11:22:19
The hopeful hasbeen Mr. Liow should concede temporary defeat in good faith and magnanimously, too. Shower Ong/Chua team with his blessings.......WWWWHHHHYYYY ?

Make sure the PKFZ issue is not aborted......it is almost nearing "DELIVERY" time.
Mr. Liow will have his chance to "RESURRECT" if PKFZ is "NFAed".

The whole NATION awaits Ong to drive in all the nails into the coffins of those big time robbers....no matter who they may be !!!

SLAUGHTER THE COCK AT THE JUNGLE FRINGE, HANG IT UP A POLE !
AND THE MONKEYS IN THE JUNGLE WILL KNOW "You MEAN BUSINESS" ...don't play,play!!

written by asguard, November 06, 2009 11:28:11
They will shoot each other...till no more is left to stand on it own...in another words... the whole mca is collapsing is domino effect... no cure any more.. all we have is more fighting ....on and on... so the next best thing ...please burial the party 100,000 feet into the ground... !
written by CHOWKITMAN, November 06, 2009 11:31:39
Aiya,
MCA = Mau cari angpow
MCA = Make chinese angry
Now MCA news make everyone sick & disgust, anyway, who cares, to hell with UMNO, MCA MIC & make sure they all lost all their seats in the coming GE13 !!!
written by allmenarebrothers, November 06, 2009 12:00:09
Dear Oon Yeoh
Please report that everything is gonna be alright with MCA. The Chinese don't have to worry much with is demise as MCA. MCA has been so spineless & "ball-less" since Ma Had Tail aka son of Sick-anda Koya Kutty Kaka reign that it primarily served the interests of the world's most racist political party.
The roles of MCA;'s leaders have already been assigned as follows:-
1.Undertaker:Soiled Lick aka Greatest Arse licker of AMENO warlords.
2.Assistant Undertaker: Son of Soiled Lick Teat Yong Tow Foo.
3.Nam Mor Loh (Taoist Monk/Priest):Boh Liow aka Loi Tek betrayer of Chinese to Japanese Kempeitai
4.Si-ku (Taoist Nun):Chew Mee Hoon aka "Cut Already" Gal
5.Eulogistsmilies/tongue.gifee Wee aka Arse licker of Freddie Long
6.Grave Digger-cum-Burialist: Ticket
7.Bugler for "Last Post": Wong Fool Ming
8.Celebrants: All Chinese Malaysians who cry with the greatest joy!

written by Ghifarix, November 06, 2009 12:17:14
Some folks wait until they reach the burial ground and the casket is laid to confirm death; not me, I could smell a rotting caucus before it reaches the "UMNO/BN" morgue.
written by SocratesI, November 06, 2009 12:44:00

MCA ??? Who is MCA ??? I am at a loss to remember what is MCA ??? Melayu Cina @rseholes ??!! Eh ???
written by Mr Bean, November 06, 2009 13:12:13
Boh Leow, Weewee and CheeBeck are the most stupiest MCA heads around.

If Boh Leow has some brain cells and patience, the no 1 will his for taking in few years.

Now, he and his so hai supporters are all facing execution. What a group of stupid f**krs.
written by Path Fighter To truth, November 06, 2009 13:13:47
It does not matter who is M.C.A. ??????
Where ever I go I heard the Chinese Used the 4 letter words on M.C.A and its past leaders especially the big fat LIM Liong Sik.
Beware the curse would fall on your children and future line.
written by Justice Bao, November 06, 2009 14:11:27
MCA is heading to the right direction - THE HELL.
great to see MCA falling apart.

All Najis' dogs barking each other now.
Najis, You need to shout again soon : " bad dogs, sit sit sit".
written by asiana888, November 06, 2009 14:50:37
Right now, MCA is not relevant anymore. I won't shed a tear even if BN kick them out. At most, MCA will only win 7 parliamentary seats come GE13. So ... what the fuss. If OTK stands again in Pandan .... he will be 'kaput' ... and need to be appointed a senator.
written by InEffective, November 06, 2009 15:24:05

MCA is now the political enabler for murder, torture, land expropriation, financial embezzlement, for their partners and themselves.

As well as a key contributor to the erosion of all rights and opportunities for their constituents.

You still want to support these these cockroaches ?

Don't worry about these vermin - they know how to take care of themselves. You better start worrying how to take care of your children's rights and opportunities, your lands-business-home assets, now that our laws and law enforcment is in the hands of politicians.
written by onnetline, November 06, 2009 15:47:06
MCA,

Please die or rot away quickly !
written by Vayu, November 06, 2009 16:11:02
MCA has technical existence today only it is part of the ruling coalition BN that won the last GE through the courtesy of Sabah and Sarawak. But the next election is a different story. UMNO, the expected disserting faction from PAS and together with Sabah and Sarawak Reps will seek to form the next government. It would be a big surprise if MCA, MIC, PPP and Gerakan corpses, oops...Reps, are allocated any seats whatsover, the reason being that they have clearly become liabilities to BN.
written by kinggerrard, November 08, 2009 14:54:22
MCA = UMNO's DOG. MCA is now a self-destruction party. Its going to hell by itself without PR pushing them.