Slipper shocker at high-tech server chamber
Friday, 06 November 2009 09:59

(The Star) - The state treasury’s server room, equipped with high-tech features to prevent theft, was not that secure after all.

A pair of slippers was being used as a door-stopper despite the fact that the room was fitted with a biometric thumb print reader!

Auditors made the discovery during a visit to the server room in Dec 2008.

According to the Auditor-General’s 2008 report, backed with a picture of the slipper at the door, all the other necessary features such as fire extinguishers, backup data in the server, equipment for uninterrupted power supply, anti-virus software and firewalls were available.

The report stated that the biometric entry system for the server room was not fully enforced.

This was among the problems identified when auditing the management of the state’s standard computerised accounting systems applications, known as SPEKS.

The report also revealed that overall, the SPEKS system was not up to mark and had not achieved its objective.

On the security management for SPEKS, the report showed this was also not satisfactory as users did not regularly update their passwords which could lead to hacking of the system.

SPEKS was developed at a cost of RM59.07mil to realise the Federal Govern-ment’s need for a uniform computerised accounting system in all 11 states in the peninsula.

The project development cost for Johor alone was RM6.22mil.

The development of the system covers 11 modules, which connects the state treasury with all relevant agencies.

written by Tom n Jerry, November 06, 2009 10:18:35
I am not in the least surprised;thats their culture anyway;ever heard of their ancestors peeing everywhere,maybe even at the stairs;thats their way of life!
written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 10:38:03
This is akin to driving a rolls royce but fitted with chulop tyres... ha ha ha.

On a lighter note let me relate this story to you and it will open our minds to greater things. Never put a square peg in a round hold!

Many years ago I was a supervisor in a Glove manufacturing plant overseeing 300-400 workers many of which are young females. The population ratio was like 60:40:10 if you understand the drift.

We operate 3 shifts and one morning I received a call at 4am and has to rush to the factory. Upon reaching the factory a large crowd has already gathered near the rest area in front of the ladies toilet.

They made room for me to get closer and I enquired about the commotion. An elderly Indian lady whispered to me about the accident inside the toilet.

A young girl has apparently took rest and decided to masturbate while having her rest with a used light bulb. The light bulb must have already crack before she uses it as the lights were dim. The bulb broke while she was mastubarting and she was bleeding badly.

I immediately got the help of 3 other lady workers and carried here to my Mini all the time with her legs kang kang and blood dripping. Tell me how you stop the blood or cut inside a vagina? My back seat was stained badly but what could I do?

Upon reaching the clinic a locum was in attendance and.... let me finish it another time ok?

The morale of the story is don't use a slipper to stop the door of a server room. What is the use of all the high tech security like iris sensors, thumb print sensors, biometric this and that and there is a slipper stuck up the ass hole?
written by lennonist, November 06, 2009 10:49:38
Hahah good one Sydput. To the first commentator, that is just a racist and ignorant statement. Everyone's ancestor peed everywhere. You should really change our mentality and stop being an idiot. Don't care chinese or indian or malay, there are corrupt and stupid ppl everywhere, as evidenced by your post.
written by lennonist, November 06, 2009 10:53:36
But then again sydput, to be fair also, if this was managed by Chinese, I doubt this would happen. Not to imply any racist notion whatsoever but just to state the mentality difference which is caused by the laws of Malaysia.
written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 11:01:21
No, not by Chinese lah. By Chimpanzees lah...

There was another story of this astronaut from a third world country flying to space with some Russians. After many months of earth training for space, this third world astronaut who cannot even solve a pythagoras theorm was very eager to go up to space anxiously.

Altogether 3 russians, 1 third world, and 1 chimpanzee went up.

For 3 days, ground controls where busy communicating and checking flight controls with the 3 russians leaving the 3rd world astronaut to his own free will. He was playing tossing bread, marbles, and feeding the chimpanzee.

On the final day ground controls finally asked for him and he was very excited about the prospect of doing something worthwile.

The question was then posed to him: Have you fed the chimpanzee?

The total endevour for the mission cost the third world country 20million usd. In this country some folks still do not have proper housing, sanitation and food to eat.

The ability to look at ourselves honestly, laught and correct is a god given thing. If we lose that we are no better than an animal.

written by Horizonline, November 06, 2009 11:01:21
cyber trooper, lennonist?
written by malgal, November 06, 2009 12:14:38
very hi tech indeed.
slippers belonged to cleaner who found a way to circumvent hi tech security? he deserves to be promoted.
written by qwerty, November 06, 2009 12:43:01
Hello,

That is not your normal slippers! It's classified as:-

Hi Tech Vulcanized Personnel Entrance Facilitator Device

Tender cost: RM4500.00 (Left hand version only. Add RM4000.00 to include right hand version)
written by siewchinteo, November 06, 2009 12:56:58
HAHAHAHAH QWERTY !
u made me laugh so hard, i pee-ed on my pants....
instead of the stairs smilies/grin.gif
written by KARMANNGHIA, November 06, 2009 13:37:04
First world infrastructure, third wold mentality, way to go Bolehland!

written by asiana888, November 06, 2009 14:45:13
This is Malaysian K-worker at its best! smilies/grin.gif

Hey sydput,

This is a job of ex-KBS staffer la not a Chinese. They (KBS) pay RM 250 for canggih door stopper ... and use a slipper instead. Hahahaha
written by Tom n Jerry, November 06, 2009 15:36:55
Syabas siewchin;at least u are considerate and urinated i your pants;not on 8public territory such as stair-case;however lennonist just disagree;perhaps he is Najis cybertrooper;however he is entitled to his comments;we have brains and more grey matter to reason things out rationally compared to these*chimpanzees*from low class animals who are also called humans;they rob & steal;corrupted to the very core;yet still outwardly religious & pious;how pathetic;even murder;only God or Allah knows;insyah Allah their deeds will be duly *rewarded* here and thereafter! smilies/angry.gif
written by mob1900, November 06, 2009 15:45:15

Slippers: Making an almost 60 Million-worth of technology obsolete.
written by Vayu, November 06, 2009 16:29:02
Wow who says the locals have no brains? This is a coup de dat equivalent to Sep 11 hijackers who used cutlery to hijack planes and destroy the twin towers. How impressive, Incredible achievemen!t. Hope the lesson falls on JAIS that wanted non-Muslims to stay out of mosques. Would they spend a billion ringgit from Non-Muslim tax money to install a system that would automatically close the doors of mosque once to non-Muslims once their genitals are scanned and confirmed,
written by StevenO, November 06, 2009 19:06:10
All these clearly shown that all the hightech facilities that they have in Malaysia, they don't really need it... still backward.

They acquire all these hightech stuff or build monumental building are just for show...sort of pulling wools over the rakyat's eyes!! The main purpose is to award contracts to themselves and plunder the country. Go ask who were awarded all these contracts to supply equipment and materials to the various the government department?? Robbery and enslavement in broad day light!
written by Sabahfan, November 06, 2009 20:56:58
ha ha ha haha ha ha ha.. simply ROFL....lost all my vocabs on reading.
written by safetyknob, November 07, 2009 11:13:03
Back in the mid 90's I attended a party to celebrating the return of two buddies from Australia. These two jokers came back harping about how much they've learnt & exposed to advanced culture .... bla bla bla... Yet the first thing they did at the end of the party was to pee with their butt exposed at the car park in PJ Hilton.