| 'Drunk diplomat's wife' kills man |
| Posted by admin | |
| Tuesday, 24 February 2009 13:26 | |
|
Amanda Roestoff, Beeld (www.news24.com) Johannesburg - The wife of a Malaysian diplomat allegedly killed a man when she collided with him as he was checking the faulty engine of his stationary vehicle on the N1 in Roodepoort early on Saturday morning. Bystanders say the 37-year-old woman was drunk, but she cannot be prosecuted because she has diplomatic immunity. A source at the scene of the accident said a man arrived in a vehicle with diplomatic number plates shortly after the woman had called him on the phone. Another source saw the man removing empty liquor bottles from the boot of the woman's white Renault Clio and hiding them under his jacket. Beeld was told by a reliable source that the woman from Florida North on the West Rand was travelling on the N1 South in the direction of 14th Avenue when the accident happened at about 01:00 on Saturday. Hit from behind Adonis Ndudule, 24, from Ormonde View in the south of Johannesburg, stopped a few hundred metres before the 14th Avenue offramp when the engine of his Volkswagen Beetle started giving trouble. His neighbour's daughter, Sharon Mphofu, 22, was with him in the car. A member of ER24's emergency services apparently passed the Beetle just before the accident and had seen the car with its flashing hazards parked in the emergency lane. Ndudule was inspecting the engine, which is mounted in the rear of the Volkswagen Beetle, when he was hit from behind by the Clio. He died on impact. An employee of a towing service said the driver of the Clio was so wobbly she couldn't stand on her feet and sat down on the railing next to the road. Then she gave her cellphone to someone else and said in English: "Here! Talk to him!" The man identified himself as her husband and ordered bystanders to immediately bring his wife home. When his request was not heeded, he arrived shortly afterwards and removed the bottles from the Clio. A search on the eNaTIS vehicle system revealed that the Clio was registered to the Malaysian embassy. Case of manslaughter A member of the metro police on the scene said the woman told them she had done everything possible to avoid the collision. "We were not allowed to arrest her at the scene - even though she may have been reckless - because she has diplomatic immunity," said Inspector Edna Mamonyane, Johannesburg' s metro police spokesperson. A case of manslaughter was opened at the Honeydew police station on the West Rand on Sunday afternoon. Once the investigation is complete, it will be referred to the Malaysian High Commission who will then decide what steps to take. - Beeld Comments (30)
![]()
written by loosecannon, February 24, 2009 13:39:37
What a disgrace. The PM must recall the diplomat home immediately. Watch how they will try to cover it. The good life in the diplomatic circle must be getting to them.
agree 137
written by ahmadneil, February 24, 2009 13:40:39
Not surprise at all! This is the barbaric behaviour of some of our high ranking officials.They think they are the upper class and everyone on this planet are shit.Take that high ranking official who screwed that mongolian beauty and C4ed her after.They are mostly umno thugs !
agree 123
written by ahmadneil, February 24, 2009 13:44:39
What about that incident in Genting Highland where a high umno official's girlfriend hit a boyfriend of a beautiful girl who happen to more beautiful than her.She was over jealous and punched her boyfriend just to teach him a lesson,in full view of by-standers and bodyguards.Barbaric umno!
agree 129
written by Newkidonblog, February 24, 2009 13:45:42
Just like leaders of BeEnd, they all have diplomatic immunity in Malaysia. They will prosecute those who report them to the authorities for any wrong doings. Of course those in authorities would also have diplomatic immunity against against any complaints about their lack of desire to investigate, prosecute and judge. But who needs to work when the police can the investigator, prosecutor and the judge?!
The common people of Malaysia are the only ones having no diplomatic immunity to the murderous deeds of the BeEnd govt. report abuse
written by murali, February 24, 2009 14:13:44
Yeap, its confirmed. I just read it at the SA news portal, but no info on that woman...
written by picadilly, February 24, 2009 14:15:36
Its an UMNOPutra and His Wife lah..
written by adan, February 24, 2009 14:23:41
BN's corrupted regime and in particualar the inner circle must have SELF-APPOINTED themselves as DIPLOMATS WITHIN the country. No wonder there are no charges brought against them because they enjoy' diplomatic immunity'....free to commit corruption.rape and even murder etc around the world.
written by ellyna, February 24, 2009 14:24:23
A name would have been good...Anyone??
written by murali, February 24, 2009 14:25:44
Check out this, but its exactly same as what MT reported.
www.news24.com/News24/South_Af...70,00.html report abuse
written by OVERLORD, February 24, 2009 14:32:00
There you have it...Malaysia's creme de la cre ala BN style...not surprising since it is a common practice by the BN politicians and some royals....Stop the rot people!!!!
written by AO Musa, February 24, 2009 14:41:07
The Malaysia High Commission in South Africa Staff List:
1. H.E Kennedy Jawan - High Commissioner- to the Republic of South Africa. 2. Mr Ilham Tuah Illias - Deputy High Commissioner 3. Mr.Rani Ismail Hadi Ali - Minister- Counsellor 4. Mr.Mansor Shah Wahid - Trade Commissioner 5. Col.Hj Ibrahim Hashim (RMAF) - Defense Adviser 6. Mr.Azizul Raheem Awalludin - Tourism Director 7. Mr.Ruhaizad Ahmad - Third Secretary 8. Mr.Norman Dzulkarnain Mohd Nasri - Assistant Trade Commissioner 9. Mr.Abd.Rahman Aripin - Assistant Tourism Director 10. Mrs.Mazanah Laili Osman - PA to the High Commissioner 11. Mr.Wan Md.Aizan Wan Omar - Administrative Staff 12. Mr.Azrul Nizam Abd Rahim - Administrative Staff 13. Mr. Ahmad Nazdri Abd Rahim - Administrative Staff Beside the High Commissioner, the rest all are muslims. So Mark C, hope this will answer your curiosity. Chio! report abuse
written by Zym Zym, February 24, 2009 14:56:42
Aisei, why be so prejudice. When you hit someone, you have to pay for the consequences regardless whether you are a muslim or not. But if she is the wife of an UMNO goons, then different story la. Not only must we prejudice against them...we must EXECUTE them one by one until the last UMNO member.
written by densemy, February 24, 2009 14:57:06
I think it should be DIPLOMAT'S DRUNK WIFE... that is unless the Diplomat was drunk too
written by Kunta Kinte, February 24, 2009 15:10:07
I think we should allow the very innocent and pure Muslim, Toyol to comment on this issue.
written by murali, February 24, 2009 15:16:33
Now assuming it is indeed a Malay and Muslim, see if His Excelency Kennedy Jawan is being sacrificed to protect the UMNO name.......
written by qitaro, February 24, 2009 15:48:26
AO Musa,
The number 2 guy, Mr Ilham Tuah is a good guy. He doesn't drink, doesn't smoke & he is still single. That .. gave you 12 names to speculate. report abuse
written by panca, February 24, 2009 15:53:23
According to a new script.....
Scene: this part maintain its originality; "The woman in her 50s was wailing away with saliva flowing from her mouth, her son who is brilliant and has a very good future is not being taken away from her. She was so much in pain of her loss and she looked into the sky and said " Why did you take my son's life away?" (No it's not up there that took your son's life away, It's the pissed drunk woman diver who took your son's life away)" Another scene: altered script; The woman driver that she was pissed drunk...No I was not drunk, I only had a little COCKtail. I try my best to avoid hitting anything but not anyone, was there anyone in the first place, she asked? Yes No, I was not drunk, somebody must have spiked my drink when I went to the 'Gents'. I was drugged, I wasn't drunk I didn't hit anything. Was there someone that my car hit? as she spoke from her hang-over? Conclusion: Malaysia Authority will answer the aggrieved mother who has lost her son and she finally agreed was taken away by a Malaysian woman drunk driver who has immunity from who? report abuse
written by murali, February 24, 2009 16:25:25
Hello anakmalaysia777,
www.news24.com/News24/South_Africa/News/0,,2-7-1442_2474370,00.html go to above address and read the story...and this is not Malaysian MSM... and i do believe it. Yes people can be prejudice, but can you blame them entirely seeing what is going on around us? report abuse
written by Mark C, February 24, 2009 18:36:58
i think some one here completely missed the point. The point being that she was a diplomat's wife and she is clearly inebriated, and she killed a man. Period.
Hiding behind a veil of diplomatic immunity is inappropriate, which is why it is interesting to see what UMNO or in specific Rais will do to make this blow away. report abuse
written by PangurBan, February 24, 2009 20:08:40
There's also a Matrade office in Johannesburg, much closer to Roodepoort, the scene of the accident. Pretoria, the location of the Malaysian High Commission, is situated some distance further north. I'm not sure about the diplomatic status of Matrade officials, but here is a list obtained from a South African Govt website:
Assistant Trade Commissioner - N D B Mohd Nasri Counsellor (Commercial) - M S B Wahid Counsellor (Tourism) - A R Awalludin Assistant Attaché (Tourism) - A R B Aripin report abuse
written by arazak, February 24, 2009 20:29:44
Not only UMNO appointed Diplomats and their spouses have immunity. . ., any top UMNO leaders also have immunity. Hell. . ., they can even kill and blow their victims to pieces and still get away with it!
UMNO's immunity is ultimate! No law could punish them. report abuse
written by talk2stop, February 24, 2009 21:07:39
Can we cut the crap here? Not all people are good when they call themselves Muslims. It doesn't matter a muslim or non muslim. The world will not judge her a muslim or a non muslim rather a Malaysian. The accident did not tarnish the religion but rather the country. Malaysians should not be a shame of her religion but of her nationality.
written by Tompios, February 24, 2009 21:41:19
Bawa balik Malaysia...dan hukum rotan di khalayak ramai kerana terang2 menghina agama rasmi dan agama suci Malaysia. Binatang punya manusia!
written by SiHangChai, February 24, 2009 22:00:24
at;east C4 was not used.
|
I say persecute to the max, see how Rais sweeps this under the carpet....