Tan officially hands in his resignation letter to SAPP
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 08:43

IThe Star) Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Raymond Tan officially handed in his resignation letter yesterday to the Sabah Progressive Party, which quit the Barisan Nasional on Sept 17.

Tan said he handed in his letter dated Sept 23 just to satisfy his former party which had been harping on the fact that he had not submitted his resignation although he announced on Sept 18 that he was no longer a member.

Tan, who was one of SAPP’s three deputy presidents, said he had not sent the letter before because he felt that it was unnecessary.

Asked why he had not returned his membership card as stated by SAPP, he replied:

“That is getting very petty. Well if they want it, I will search for it and if I find it, I will pass it back.”

SAPP information chief Chong Pit Wah confirmed that the party received the letter yesterday from an official in Tan’s state Infrastructure Development Ministry.

On claims that he would form a new party before the state budget session begins on Nov 14, Tan said his former party members were now into fortune-telling.

He said that he was at present consolidating disenchanted members and would take the necessary steps when the time is right for the formation of a party or to pursue other alternatives.

Chief Minister Datuk Musa Aman has retained Tan in his Cabinet while a number of other leaders – including SAPP’s former vice-president Jimmy Wong and Elopura state assemblyman Au Kam Wah – have left the party to remain with Barisan. The two resigned immediately after SAPP’s exit from Barisan.

On Chong’s claim that of Tanjung Papat’s 1,765 members, the only resignation they had received was Tan’s, Tan replied: “The reason they are insisting on a resignation is because they want to say that only Tan has quit and no one else.”

“But people know that many former SAPP members have come out in the open,” he added.

written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 08:54:51
Mr Tan,you are too cheap! Just a few dirty ringgit,you can be bought.This have greatly tainted your name and your credibility. Your are too shortsighted!
written by myvoice, November 11, 2008 09:18:00

Serve you right. This apa nama Tan, kacang melupakan kulit.
written by SocratesI, November 11, 2008 09:18:45

He is not cheap ... he has sold his soul to the devil called Barisan Najis for a farthing and sold out his people in Sabah at the same time. He is blind to the suffering and oppression of his people by Barisan Najis, and deaf to their cries for help ! Let us help remove him at the next GE and put him in the asylum which he belongs !

written by Sean E, November 11, 2008 09:29:23
Raymond Tan is safe until the next general election which is still quite a while from now. In the meantime he will make full use of his time to dig as much wealth as possible from Sabah and park them overseas for a golden retirement.

Who care about the future of Sabah.
written by CPY, November 11, 2008 09:35:29
My Sabahan classmate said that he & others are known as 'career politicians'. They just want as high post as possible.
written by Mark C, November 11, 2008 10:01:56
ptui!, another one of those that serves his own pocket and interests rather than the interests of the rakyat.
written by DreamLady, November 11, 2008 10:20:25
Tan, learn to make up your mind, procrastination is one's worse enemy!!!!!
written by Engineer, November 11, 2008 10:20:33
Another running dog.
written by Bandit, November 11, 2008 10:24:57
You stabbed your own people. Precious chair hard to let go. Go fetch boy!!! Good Boy!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by amoker, November 11, 2008 13:59:46
So, it is ok to jump la. It seemed to be ok if someone is to jump to BN and not the other way. Double standard.

Raymond Tan just love the perks that comes with this job. He promised that his resignation will create mass exodus from SAPP. where?
written by kkselvam, November 11, 2008 14:04:52
Hello Datuk Raymond Tan! You sold Sabah's rakyat future to UMNO wholesale ha?
Good la.Lets just see what future holds for you.Lets see.
written by fireduck, November 11, 2008 15:59:29
Rakyat's target for the next election. These are to be kicked out:

Raymond Tan
Jimmy Wong
Au Kam Wah

Obviously they do not have the rakyat's concern at heart, but are more interested in looking after their own interests.

Feel free to add to the list.
written by JJ Kuyong, November 11, 2008 18:00:33
My Friends,

Mr. Tan is a minister in-charge of Jabatan Kerja Raya Sabah, in the 9th. Malaysia Plan, the Federal Government gave huge allocation for road building in Sabah. Surely Mr. Tan cannot afford to miss the opportunity from now till 2012. For him what's matter is his pocket, his family and his "Machai". He would not care either he is elected or not in the next general election because by the time he is already enjoying himself with all the wealth he reaped. Sabahan, Remember, this Mr. Tan had sold you for his own interest, he mortgaged every sabahan for his survival. Go to hell you Mr. Tan, i wish the streamroll, the hitachi, and the 10 ton lory crush you while you are inspecting road project in any part of Sabah.
written by cllim123, November 11, 2008 18:35:47
Looks like the dog can't give up his bone, Raymond cant give up his deputy minister post. DOG!!!
written by borneoman, November 11, 2008 20:54:53
thick skin bn dog tan,after they called you pendatang you still want to support umno led bn kah?maybe you love it if i called you a stupid chinese pendatang yang tidak tahu malu..go back to china and rear alot of pigs to fatten yourself so that you will looked like one.go to hell to all traitors who sell sabahan soul to umno led bn.INDEPENDENCE FOR SABAH AND SARAWAK.
written by Sabahfan, November 11, 2008 21:01:23
Not for the sake of principles..maaaah...

but sayang.. sayaaaaang mah tu contract ber billion billion, nanti kena tarik balik oleh Musa aman pushtuni....kek kek kek kek
written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 21:40:34
Raymond Tan,

Smart move by clinging onto the corrupted shithead from Barisan Najis !

Don't worry, there's plenty of shit waiting for you, I'm sure.