Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow PRESS STATEMENT - Anwar Ibrahim arrested

PRESS STATEMENT - Anwar Ibrahim arrested PDF Print
Wednesday, 16 July 2008 17:10

KUALA LUMPUR, July 16, 2008 3:30 PM

This afternoon at 1:05 PM Anwar Ibrahim, former Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia, was arrested outside of his home in Kuala Lumpur. He was due to issue a statement at IPK KL (Kuala Lumpur Police Contingent Headquarters) at 2:00 PM based on an agreement reached with the police on Tuesday. 

Anwar Ibrahim was returning from the Anti Corruption Agency to his home after giving a statement pertaining to the police report that has been filed regarding suppression of material facts in the case involving him in 1998.  He was accompanied by his senior legal team, staff, and security.

As he entered the neighborhood of his home, a contingent of ten police cars, half unmarked and half patrol, forced the two cars in Anwar Ibrahim’s entourage to stop.  There was a contingent of 20 balaklava-clad masked commandos (UTK) who accosted him, reminiscent of the forces sent to arrest Anwar Ibrahim at his home in September 1998.

An officer approached Anwar Ibrahim and demanded that he accompany the police in an unmarked vehicle to the Kuala Lumpur Police Contingent Headquarters. His lawyers were not permitted to travel with him to the police station.

This arrest has taken place less than fifteen hours after Anwar Ibrahim appeared live on Malaysian television for the first time since 1998, and announced to millions of viewers his intention to stand for election, and upon the formation of a new government, to lower the domestic price of fuel by 50 sen.  The overwhelming majority of Malaysians expressed their support of his televised statement.

These events are deeply disturbing to us and indicate that this entire episode is a repeat of the actions taken against Anwar Ibrahim in 1998.   During the last few weeks the government owned mainstream media has demonized and vilified him.  His staff has been harassed and we see a conspiracy being hatched to thwart the political change that is imminent in Malaysia.

Under no circumstances will the people of Malaysia and the international community tolerate any harm coming to Anwar Ibrahim. We remind Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi of the promise he made to ensure Anwar Ibrahim’s protection.

We have been able to communicate with Anwar Ibrahim, who calls upon his supporters and the people of Malaysia to remain calm and to reject any attempts at provocation, which will give a pretext for an emergency situation to be declared.

OFFICE OF ANWAR IBRAHIM
CONTACT This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Sribayu, July 16, 2008 17:18:09
We become a laughing stock of the world. Never in the world’s history of any government had ever acted in uncivilized manner
written by qwerty, July 16, 2008 17:38:55
Fellow Rakyat,forever remember this day in history;16th July 2008.

This is the day when... the ruling government had once again proven that might is right!
This is the day when... democracy was dealt a fatal blow!
This is a day when... those who promised to protect us now tramples on our rights.
This is a day when... justice & humanity in Malaysia died!

R.I.P M A L A Y S I A
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 16, 2008 17:39:41
As he entered the neighborhood of his home, a contingent of ten police cars, half unmarked and half patrol, forced the two cars in Anwar Ibrahim’s entourage to stop. There was a contingent of 20 balaklava-clad masked commandos (UTK) who accosted him, reminiscent of the forces sent to arrest Anwar Ibrahim at his home in September 1998.

HELLO UTK, IF YOU KEEP FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS BLINDLY, VERY SOON, U WILL END UP LIKE AZIZUL, BAGINDA & THE OTHER GUY IN JAIL. THE GOMEN NEEDS PLENTY OF SACRIFICIAL LAMBS TO PLEASE THE GHOST OF ......
written by redtango, July 16, 2008 17:44:19
Today Anwar... tomorrow will be RPK's turn.

I have given up on Malaysia with its current Govt.
AAB, Najib, Khairy, and every single putrid BN MPs have successfully put Malaysia into the international sewerage.

I mourn for my country. I have no more faith in Malaysia.
What qwerty wrote is true... RIP Malaysia.

And AAB.. you will go down as the worse PM of Malaysia.. the most hated, the most useless, the most boneless, most idiotic.. you are just an *******.
written by ctchoolaw, July 16, 2008 17:45:29
I'm praying for Anwar and RPK's safety and wellbeing. This is not the way to do things. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/...ahmad.html
written by Dominic, July 16, 2008 17:46:51
No need to panic ! Just get the world leaders to condemn such deporable act against humanity. If only President Bangbang of Indon can come in, sure Malaysia will kowtow immediately !
written by KTRaj, July 16, 2008 17:47:00
RAKYAT JANGAN SEKALI-KALI DI CABAR.
written by acks160, July 16, 2008 17:48:11
Sribayu @ 17:18:09, I'd just like to state that many autocratic regimes are party to such inhumane and laughable tactics. Take Zimbabwe for instance. Our political debacle is reminiscent of the politics there, except for the lack of bloodshed (to our knowledge of course).
written by wargasetia, July 16, 2008 18:06:52
really disturbed and confused. dsai already assured he will go to ipk, then what else the authority wants?
written by pulaiman, July 16, 2008 18:15:37
I have always said they will never allow the honourable Datuk Anwar to challenge or dream of taking power these bastards are ruthless scums they will not want to lose power even if more then 30 MPs do jump ship now the police and army is waiting. shame on you pm.you are supposed to be very religious .whats happening to this nation...............
written by walaiku, July 16, 2008 18:30:59
dont know how much is these anjing-anjing beruniform been paid by bodowi and najis..
written by debids, July 16, 2008 18:35:02
We continue to pray for your safety..Hidup Anwar! Down with you, Sleepyhead and Shitface. And to you too, sore loser Foaming at Mouth!
written by kaames, July 16, 2008 18:38:52
We have taken enough, i hate this helpless feeling. The govern"mental" must be overthrown!!!
written by Zapper, July 16, 2008 18:52:04
If the police wants to arrest DSAI, why do we require such drama. Looks like Hollywood or Bollywood has finally come to Malaysia. Is DSAI such a voilent person that require UTK presence?? Is BN under such a threat from DSAI??
written by Ron, July 16, 2008 20:11:22
Mamak Kutty,Musang,najis,umno,ag and the other conspirators want anwar put away now.If pakatan comes to power these crooks will be in trouble.Using the polis to play their political game.Shame,shame,shame to the conspirators.The whole world is laughing at bolehland!
written by Tom n Jerry, July 16, 2008 20:43:35
Malaysia ranks as one of the most amusing & barbaric nation of all times!Never inthe history of the world is an opposition leader arrested twice in 10 years some more for a suspected sodmy charge which was overturned once before!A murder trial was never carried out just because the murderer is aVVIP;how ironic;it seem s even murder is ok but suspected sodomy is not ok!There are millions of people performing sodomy(an act of sexual love) at every moment in history and is part & parcel of love-making in the west;culture is gradually coming to the east as well!Badawi shows no emercy for a sodomy suspect but can close his eyes whenit comes to murder!Just wait for your judgement day badawi!You will be banished to the 18th HELL of no return for your despicable act;and will be tortured accordingly for your conspiracy to cover up the murder! smilies/angry.gif
written by TwilightYears, July 16, 2008 20:52:01
There is no power or strength save from Allah. To Allah we pray and to Allah alone we seek help. Help to go by his Straight path, not the path that Allah does not want us to follow.

I appeal to the authority concerned to carry out their duty according to their conscience, for in the Qalb resides Allah - the essence of all that is good and pure.

All those decision makers are well over 40 years old, and each day will bring them closer to their graves. Be fearful of the grave. Be fearful of your actions and deeds.

This is the darkest period of the history of Malaysia, the country we all loved. History repeats itself. And yet, mankind rarely learns from history.

It is only from the Almighty that human hearts are re-directed to His cause. And those who have deviated from the straight path, there is nothing worse than hell fire.

Astaghfirullah.
written by Noor Aza, July 16, 2008 21:27:05
Such travesty of justice! Women and girls increasingly get raped, burnt and murdered but yet the Nazi police and this Nazi Umno focused all their energy and time on such malicious and haven’t-been-proven as true accusation! Besides, such anti-gay laws are outdated in this modern world and not in conjunction with the UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) ; where gays (not about Anwar here) are criminalized! Further, the accuser gets such a VIP treatment and is even invited to that Najib’s mansion; sick! And yet, many victims of violence cannot even get justice from the police, particularly women and girls from sexual crimes! UMNO leaders, you are evil and sick Malays/Muslims! By the way, PR, please ensure brave Anwar is not poisoned whilst in detention! One last word, many more Malays/Muslims will be supporting Anwar after this; as from the last injustice! Hang on there, dear Dr. Wan and children!! Many women and girls are behind you! And there will be a day when real criminals such as from the Nazi Umno leaders, including that disgusting former dictator Mahathir, and police gestapos are brought to justice, but at least they'll get a fair trial!

Noor Aza Othman.
written by InEffective, July 16, 2008 21:45:34

our governing politicians are displaying their filthy mindset and behaviors - what a disgusting, repulsive, and revolting culture.
written by zandi, July 16, 2008 21:49:25
Malaysia is the ONLY country on earth where sodomy is a crime more serious than murder. Malaysia is the only country in the world where a person can be charged for exactly the same crime - sodomy - 10 years later, arrested in much the same way, and the evidence fabricated in exactly the same manner all planned and carried out by the same people now holding the IGP and AG posts, the rewards that they got from fabricating evidence 10 years earlier. Only in Malaysia can the Deputy Prime Minister be clearly linked to murder but is allowed to continue as DPM and will soon be the be Prime Minister. How depressing! Right now, it is too shameful to say that I am a Malaysian.
written by agadam magadam, July 16, 2008 23:31:33
This truly is a sad day for Malaysia.. In this advanced world of today, we have taken giant steps backwards.. Mugabe will be overjoyed...
Investors will shy away... More Malaysians will 'brain - drain'..
Is Anwar a wanted criminal..?? On the run... ??
He's been readily available, so, why this drama..?? It's just so disgusting.. Shame on our ruling Govt.. That little credibilty you had.. IS ALL GONE...!!!
Badawi - we trusted you... Now look what you have done to us...
All this sandiwara shows just how much all this corrupted scums fear this ONE MAN - ANWAR.... and how low they will stoop to 'fix' him up...
Now while DSAI sorts out his 'drummed-up' problems, of course with all our support..
Let us now push his other half, Datin Seri, up.. If the scums put DSAI away for any period of time.. Datin Seri, you go on, ascend the Throne that is readied for DSAI.. And then get rid of those swines, one by one...95% of Malaysians from all walks of life is behind DSAI, Datin Seri and Family...
"Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.." Badawi and his goons, take note - DSAI's powerful Family has all brainy women... They'll be after you, if you put him away......
WE, THE RAKYAT ARE ALL BEHIND ANWAR AND FAMILY... DON'T MESS AROUND THIS TIME...

One final word to the Powers that be- May the Curse of Syaitan befall you and all your loved ones.. Especially the Top Dogs in the Corrupted Polis force..
written by gotsms, July 17, 2008 01:12:11
"ayah, Anwar ada pakai kondom?" - this came out from my 10 year old kid.

I'm flabbergasted. Our school education system now so advanced in sex education??

And this pretty innocent question really floored me. The simplicity thought of a young innocent mind.

ASSUMPTIONS. And let's see how far these assumptions hold water:

1. Let us assume Anwar is bisex.
2. And he did had intercourse with Saiful.
3. Anwar claimed Najib frame him.
4. Najib deny knowing Saiful.
5. Najib then made 180 degree turn said met Saiful.
6. Met Saiful 3 days before police report made.
7. Najib claimed asked Saiful do the correct legal thing.
8. Assume Saiful was guided to have sex with Anwar again.
9. To collect DNA sample from Anwar via penetration.
10. So Saiful go see Anwar again to have sex and 'collect evidence'

NOW FOR A GOOD LAUGH. Assume this is what Saiful asked of Anwar before intercourse:

"bang Anwar, jangan pakai kondom kali ini. lebih syiok"

Imagine this time around they manage find some DNA proof somehow, somewhere? (Don't ask me how, where, when. I wouldn't know ... Ask Bakri)

Do you think we rakyat are gullible and stupid? Lets do and think of the following:

1. Would Anwar so easily be duped not to wear condom?
2. Ask around gay friends: How many gay people gonna do barebacks?
3. You will be surprised the general acceptance: No condom, no sex.
4. You can only collect evidence if no condom is worn (I guess)

Now, look back at claim that Anwar is bisex/gay/practice carnal sex.

If real thing did happened. That means Saiful tricked Anwar. Is that anymore becoming forced carnal sex?

And relook into the whole thing above again.

Does painting the picture that Anwar is gay/bisex/practice carnal sex with men holds water?

Thanks to my young kid. I realized. I was so gullible. Now looking back when I analyzed whole thing, whole thing just doesn't hold water.

No wonder when I asked around some gay friends they're laughing.

Anal and oral sex is jailable in Malaysia. Chua Soi Lek is one lucky man. He is a good efficient man. Too bad. Tricked and trapped by political rivals. Lucky he not end up in jail for oral sex.

Thinking of it, our law really is cuckoo at points in time.
written by schizonoid, July 17, 2008 03:14:52
All of our comments are getting nowhere.Lets form Persatuan Anak Bumi Malaysia, open to all M'sians not incline to any political party.Objectives:Equal n justice to all M'sians.One million members n your voice will be heard.I hope someone will initiate this proposal. Be united and we'll be a force to be taken seriously.Its time for us to chip in for the cause of true democracy.But we
needs to be well organized. Demonstration only leads to more chaos.Work smart n intelligently.Peace to all brothers n sisters and lets liberate ourselves from this mental slavery for our generations to have a better life. Rm 10/- registration for membership can kick starts this proposal.Then we can forward many issues that is rotting our country.They cant jail one million M'sians can they?Open to all freedom n peace loving people regardless of race, religion n professions.All the current NGOs are puppet of certain politician.And lets nominate RPK as our chief advisor.
written by alan cheong, July 17, 2008 12:16:20
C'mon fellas,

y'all know YOU want a few H&K MP5s or MP5As, some RPGs and preferably a coupla .50 cal sniper rifles with nightsights, AP/moly-coated ammo.

throw in some SIG Sauers, XM5s, Glocks or S&W .45s and carbines.

On the other hand:
2 Samuel 5:24-25 And let it be, when thou hearest the sound of a going in the tops of the mulberry trees, that then thou shalt bestir thyself: for then shall the LORD go out before thee, to smite the host of the Philistines.
And David did so, as the LORD had commanded him; and smote the Philistines from Geba until thou come to Gazer.

THIS, i'd love to see coming to pass against the pigs in this country.
written by pulaiman, July 17, 2008 16:46:08
actually it is najib who screwed saiful backside