The cult called PKR PDF Print
Sunday, 13 July 2008 13:57

When the ‘Dirty Dozen’ left PKR to rejoin Umno just before the 2004 general election, everyone knew that Ezam and Najib were behind this move. Of course no one said anything about Ezam’s role.

It is not surprising that one-time PKR youth leader Ezam Mohd Noor rejoined Umno. What is surprising is that he waited until after the 8 March 2008 general election to do so. Long before 8 March, Ezam had already been flirting with Umno. In fact, it was an open secret that Tun Daim Zainuddin was financing his NGO, Gerak. And Daim is behind Najib Tun Razak -- so it was the Deputy Prime Minister and not Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who was instrumental in Ezam rejoining Umno.

Actually, most people already knew that Ezam was about to take that final plunge. Photographs of him with Muhammad son of Muhammad and Aziz Shamsuddin, etc., had been floating around the Internet for a couple of years -- even during the time when Anwar Ibrahim was still in jail. The problem at that time, though, was that Ezam was PKR’s blue-eyed boy, the darling of the party, and any negative comments about Ezam, or Azmin Ali for that matter, was considered a treacherous act. You are a traitor to the cause, a traitor to PKR, a traitor to the opposition, a traitor to the Malay race, and a traitor to the entire nation -- all in one -- if you badmouth one of the PKR darlings.

That is the trouble with PKR. They dabble in cult personalities. When you are the current hot favourite, the flavour of the day, even your fart smells sweet. But once you fall out of favour then they even curse your poor innocent mother who has nothing to do with your political business and does not even know what is going on.

The PKR crowd is one emotional group of people. I suspect that if Anwar was to order them to commit mass suicide they might just do so. And that is dangerous, as time and time again history has proven. If Anwar could get a religious scholar somewhere in the world to come out with a fatwah (religious decree) that if you die for PKR you will go straight to heaven where 70 virgins are waiting for you, I bet we will not be short of candidates who will volunteer to undertake suicide missions.

Whether it is Anwar, Dr Wan Azizah, Nurul Izzah, Azmin, or Ezam, they all have their cult followers. The PKR people revere their idols and appear to lose their senses when in the presence of these demigods. So how to tell these PKR herds that Ezam is not what he appears to be and that he is a plant, a Trojan Horse, a termite meant to weaken the ranks of PKR? Try doing that and you will get a beer bottle broken on your head. So it was best to just keep quiet and watch. Time would reveal the truth. And, true enough, the truth has now been revealed.

I remember when I was once the sub-editor of the party newspaper, Suara Keadilan, and I published a letter from a reader that criticised PKR’s Youth Movement. The letter was about the high-handed manner the Youth Movement ‘security squad’ handled the crowd. Even Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, when he was still Prime Minister, was not that well-guarded and his security team did not push and shove the crowd the way the PKR Youth boys did.

It was not my comment. It was a letter from a reader and I allowed it to get published. Wow, you should have seen the SMSess I received. The PKR Youth boys cursed me and one of Ezam’s ‘groupies’, Jo, even challenged me to a boxing match. I was having dinner with Johari Abdul and Dato’ Kamarul at that time and I showed them the SMS.

The next day I turned up at the party headquarters in Shah Alam where PKR Youth was having its monthly meeting. I waited at the bottom of the stairs for Jo to see if he really wanted to Kungfu me. Okay, he may be half my age, but I could still deliver a punch that can floor someone 30 years younger than me. Jo walked up to me and I was ready with clenched fists. Only one of us was going to walk away from this fisticuff and I had planned that that would be me. Instead, Jo reached out to shake my hand and he apologised, so I allowed the matter to end there.

Yes, you can criticise Islam. They will allow you to get away with that. But try criticising Ezam or PKR’s Youth Movement and all hell will break loose. Look at what happened to Lokman Adam. He too revealed a lot of dirt on Ezam and they threw him out of the party. Lokman is a good man. He is fearless and would sacrifice his freedom for the party, which he did when he was detained under the Internal Security Act for 26 months in April 2001. But make one negative comment about Ezam or the Youth Movement and you are history.

While on the subject of Lokman, one day, while covering a demonstration in front of the Dang Wangi Police Station along what used to be called Campbell Road, Bakri Zinin, the then OCPD who is now the CID Director, arrested me. I was taking photos at that time when Bakri grabbed me by the neck and asked me where I was from. I replied that I was from Seruan Keadilan and he ordered one of his men to immediately arrest me.

As I was being dragged into the police station I shouted out to Lokman that I was being arrested. Lokman pushed the police officer and he fell to the ground. I almost fell as well but Lokman grabbed me to prevent me from hitting the tarmac. I was too shocked to react. I mean; there was this police officer sprawled on the road trying to get up as quickly as he could and I did not know what I should do. Lokman shouted at me to run and I did, with the hapless police officer hot on my heels.

I escaped and five minutes later sneaked back into the crowd and took all the photos I needed while making sure that Bakri did not spot me. Lokman stood in front of the police station gate and refused to move even when they threatened to arrest him. He wanted to make sure that no one got arrested that day and he was going to stand guard in front of the police station. Yes, there used to be three of them -- Lokman, Tian Chua and Gobalakrishnan -- one Malay, one Chinese and one Indian loose cannon. Today there are only two left.

But Lokman was thrown out of the party not because he did not do his job but because he criticised Ezam and the Youth Movement. Ezam and the Youth Movement can do no wrong. Even their fart smells sweet. And if you criticise them you are dead meat. So no one says anything even though everyone knows the inner dark secrets of Ezam and his Youth Movement.

When the ‘Dirty Dozen’ left PKR to rejoin Umno just before the 2004 general election, everyone knew that Ezam and Najib were behind this move. Of course no one said anything about Ezam’s role. They cursed the Dirty Dozen and called them traitors who sold out for money. But no one dared say that Ezam was behind the Dirty Dozen rejoining Umno. To do so would incur the wrath of the entire party. So everyone kept quiet and did not mention Ezam’s name. They focused on cursing the Dirty Dozen and kept Ezam’s name out of it while in their hearts they knew that this was merely Ezam’s first move in his eventual re-entry into Umno.

Yes, cults are dangerous. If there is one thing that will be the death of PKR it will be the cult culture. People refuse to see things for what they are. Common sense no longer prevails when you look at things from the angle of cults. And Ezam was one such cult figure. And Ezam could do no wrong. Even when Lokman revealed the truth and exposed Ezam for what he is, it was Lokman and not Ezam who was punished.

Today, Lokman can look the entire PKR in the face and proudly proclaim, “I told you so!” But what good will that bring? The damage has been done. The fake Ezam has revealed his true colours while Lokman has much earlier been kicked out of the party for ‘bad-mouthing’ Ezam. Are we going to see more of this as time goes by? Will we finally see the fakes being exposed while those who had exposed them long ago were sent out to pasture?

PKR owes Lokman a huge apology. Lokman had warned the party what Ezam really is but it was Lokman instead of Ezam who was thrown out of the party. And PKR Youth has not changed. It is still high-handed as the recent ‘pesta’ at the Kelana Jaya stadium proved. But try criticising PKR Youth and see what will happen. They will send you a SMS and challenge you to a boxing match. PKR Youth is a sacred cow, which must not be criticised. And, in time, another PKR Youth leader will resign and will rejoin Umno on the excuse that Anwar is gay and has committed sodomy. And then this ‘sacred cow’ will be called all sorts of names although before this you criticised him at your own peril.

When will PKR ever learn? Ten years on and it is still so immature and can’t seem to understand that you just can’t build a party based on personality cults. And PKR will get burned many more times before it wises up. If the survival of PKR is centred on personalities, then it will not go far. Personalities come and go. And if the party’s future is tied to these personalities then the party will disappear when these personalities do. 

Comments (81)Add Comment
written by StoneRiver, July 13, 2008 01:40:02
Yang Mulia RPK,

Thanks for ur writing.I owe you for ur brave reports and writing up there.
One things for sure you are "ONE OF A KIND IN MALAYSIA".
Our country need people like you.

After Tuan Guru Nik Aziz, you are my second IDOLA.

May ALLAH bless you and your family.

agree 303
written by Lim Lim, July 13, 2008 14:16:18
superficial value had caused PKR the blunder again!!are u saying that ezam hav been with the 'dark side of the force' all these while??
written by zul4kulim, July 13, 2008 14:18:37
These leasers are more for their own survival and PKR has not learned to be more open. We have to look beyond DSAI as personalities come and go, either good or bad, they are not an island and no permanent friends as no permanent enemies in politics http://1426.********.com/2008/...re-or.html
written by gotsms, July 13, 2008 14:23:25
Well said, Pete.

We voted PKR into a stronger presence and we are not keen it turn up to become another UMNO/MCA/MIC or BN styled.

We want change. And we do want to SAVE MALAYSIA before it is too late!
agree 250
written by Jeffrey, July 13, 2008 14:27:25
this is something i worried all along..When the opposition movement started, we all cheer for it, supported it, worked for it. But will it be another "UMNO in making"? Will PKR gradually heading the path of the present UMNO style? I hope not, i wish not. We need changes, we need people that can look further beyond their own pocket. We need leaders of high standard and far sighted. Looking at the present situation in Malaysia, the political scene is just like a circus, a soap drama. It is actually become a laghing stock for all the world. Will our politician, government, leaders see and realise this? Be it in the government or in the opposition, i urge you, buck up or ship out. You cant do the work, get the hell out from the Parliment building. Parliment is not a place for you to fish business opportunity. The MP title is not a ticket for you to laugh all the way to the bank. We need people to take care of our beloved country, to move forward, to really make a change..... for good. Not for your own gain and account. Please look into yourself and think!!!!
agree 170
written by PASOK, July 13, 2008 14:33:10
Good article and one for the party archives.

Cult personalities are part of all political parties.
Especially early stage movements that rely so much on the individual efforts of early leaders.
That's all pretty normal and there is nothing deviant about this in itself.

Of course if you are deeply involved in the formative years then the whole experience is a lot more personal and this can be seen from the way you have recollected events - very personal experiences.

However in the larger and political context, the PKR is an important movement and will continue to be so and will in all likelihood form the backbone of government in the future.

It represents many new things, many progressions in the evolution of politics in Malaysia.

And in terms of electoral results it has succeeded in breaking the tough BN shell (and all that represents) which again lends credence to PKR's political importance.

As for the youth movement of PKR I would just say that without their energy and willingness to go "boxing" PKR will be lesser.

Politics is not all about rational people having rational discussions and solving everything rationally. There is also passion, love and hate and "boxing". It's all in the pot.

I feel sorry that people like Ezam and Lokman became casualties along the way but it is a totally natural and inevitable process as the party evolves.

And the party is evolving and its roots are going deeper as more and more Malaysians realise that PKR does represent their deeper longings.
written by cwy, July 13, 2008 15:02:34
RPK is exposing Ezam's inner dark secrets!
All the 'cult' cultures are the offsprings of 'Malay Supremacy'
from UMNO!
Madhathir was treated like a big God and all his other Malay ministers were smaller gods. Even Ling Liong Sik, Samy Vellu and Lim Keng Aik had to kowtow to these demigods.
Many Malysians are still childish and emotional. They are fans to all sorts of leaders with all sorts of personality.
RPK also have many many fans!
written by MNor, July 13, 2008 15:08:24
What do you expect from an ex UBNO. Tak makan taik chium pun cukup. Biasa lah tu. UBNO ke, S46 ke, PKR ke dah keturunan yang sama, apa nak buat. Ni Paklah kata no 1 & 2 parti tak payah bertanding, ahli ahli keturunan UBNO pun kata SETUJUuuuuuu..apa yang dia setuju pun kita tak tau. Maklumlah habuan banyak menunggu. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Chaptokam, July 13, 2008 15:08:46
Hi Pete very very good article and this is what I have been saying all along .
Glad you said it .
If I had said this ;The PKR crowd is one emotional group of people. I suspect that if Anwar was to order them to commit mass suicide they might just do so.

And that is dangerous, as time and time again history has proven. If Anwar could get a religious scholar somewhere in the world to come out with a fatwah (religious decree) that if you die for PKR you will go straight to heaven where 70 virgins are waiting for you, I bet we will not be short of candidates who will volunteer to undertake suicide missions.

I would have been MASSACRED by the PKR cybertroopers .

These Anwar cybertroopers have ABSOLUTE loyalty to their culture . " BLIND LOYALTY " and is like the blind leading the blind or the blind leading the those who can see .

Yes, cults are dangerous. If there is one thing that will be the death of PKR it will be the cult culture. People refuse to see things for what they are. Common sense no longer prevails when you look at things from the angle of cults.

I reckon them to be like the times in Germany before and during the second world war . Where everyone would shout Heil Hitler ! even at a Nazi flag or a photograph of Hitler . They would even go to the extent of prosecuting their own relatives who dissent and shot by firing squad .

I hope this article will bring some sanity to some people . You will know who they are once this comment gets posted . Expecting them to bash me .

Peace my friend .You are truly great RPK .
written by semut, July 13, 2008 15:31:20

3 laporan polis saya ke atas Kamalludin/Pak Lah : Ezam

Seremban- "TIDAK mungkin saya diterima masuk dalam Umno kerana saya sudah buat tiga kali laporan polis dan BPR terhadap Presiden Umno Abdullah Ahmad Badawi dan anaknya Kamaludin," tegas Pengerusi Gerakan Demokrasi dan anti korupsi (GERAK) Mohamad Ezam Mohd Nor.

harkkk... PTUI!!!!

aLbumSeMuT
agree 159
written by mikewang, July 13, 2008 15:34:47
I hope PKR is not just an extension of UMNO with all her faults as shown by the ex-aide to the Menteri Besar of Selangor and that the country owes those leaders a chance to gather wealth.

DAP and PAS leaders show better commitment.
DSAI must extend reformasi to his own party.
written by jjireh99, July 13, 2008 15:51:47
I think this article will cause even more confusion for those who have put their trust in PKR to alleviate their frustrations and bring about changes. Are you trying to say that everyone in PKR or is it the youth alone are the black sheep? If the point that this article is trying to raise and focus upon is Ezam and Najib, then fine. If not, continue to allow UMNO to rule and reign with no changes in their mind set and worse still no changes in the "bad personalities", NAH!!!!
written by panca, July 13, 2008 15:57:44
keyword : cult, loss of common sense, blindly, unruly, dangerous.
written by temenggong, July 13, 2008 16:00:49
Malay politics is still feudal and cult based, a sign of immaturity. We see in PKR that there is hardly any organisation but everything is built around Anwar! A party must be built on principles, like DAP or Pas, and sustain itself irrespective of leaders who come and go.
written by Badaksumbu, July 13, 2008 16:02:53
So, after all Ezam is a good actor liar! He wouldn't be accepted in Sabah, throw him out. He was UMNO trained. Even the way the PKR Youth behave is a duplicate of UMNO anyway! Very racialist.
I hope exposing similarities as Raja did would open the eyes of young leaders
written by kupas, July 13, 2008 16:12:35
it is high time malaysians be issue centric rather than hero/idol worshipping.We malaysians must grow up. It has to start with all of us. No need to wait for others to start. It is only if we are issue centric we would be able to recognize people based on their merits and not based on racial prejudices. If all of us want a better Malaysia we have to change and work towards it.
written by lynn, July 13, 2008 16:17:53
No party is perfect beyond words, not even PAS or DAP; but at least we still have semblance of an Opposition Alliance to force the corrupt govt to toe the line. So far, they have humoured us by a flurry of arrests of corrupt Immigration officials. This is merely scraping the surface - corruption in Malaysia is extremely severe, both in public & private sectors - wonder why we have not unseated Nigeria to occupy the number one seat of Most Corrupted Nation in the world.
written by Littlebird, July 13, 2008 16:26:16
Raja Petra said " suspect that if Anwar was to order them to commit mass suicide they might just do so."

Careful...one Saiful would confidentially use this line to explain the impossibility
written by temanmu, July 13, 2008 16:29:23
RPK ... Thanks for bringing this to light!

We better learn from this incident! Where is Lokman now? Hope he is OK!

BTW, We now also have an RPK cult... !

written by ksmaniam, July 13, 2008 16:33:36
I suspected that all was not right with PKR, firstly PKR should have programmes to keep the members in the know and construct and reconstruct the party which they have failed to do. Their foundation is still based on Anwar. And after 0808 they are directionless as all the leaders are busy (period). Now they are working on knee jerk responses. They are not leading. Anwar is busy with his agenda to topple the government. Everybody seems to be waitting for that. Party wise there is no direction. They are young but they have to have a concrete party to govern Malaysia, otherwise they will flounder and BN will cash in on this weaknessess.
written by ctchoolaw, July 13, 2008 17:07:13
Bravo RPK! http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by pelukis, July 13, 2008 17:16:10
Very true temenggong, Malay politics is still feudal and cult based. But i believed the cult in Malay culture are worsen in PAS, UMNO,
written by Mark C, July 13, 2008 17:33:21
I agree wholeheartedly that PKR has some "bad habits and traits" from UMNO. I absolutely agree with what RPK has written.

But having said that, I reckon many voters are like me, and 50 years of being cheated, manipulated and vilified by UMNO led BN is catalysts enough for voters to vote any party to power, except UMNO led BN.

written by GOLDLUV, July 13, 2008 17:35:08
Cult is not restricted in politics.Even in corporate organization,cult is rampant.Yes Boss!!!
written by Motherchell, July 13, 2008 18:01:25
Pete ! many don't actually see the value of your writing this gem of a piece! It is a vital read for every office bearer in PKR. They should understand , to criticize is to strengthen the Party forward or it will turn out to be the old HAG of an UMNO, only famous for its nefarious and villainous deeds. Today we see that the resultant of all that was done ,without such checks and balances.

This is truly a wake up call! Another point i want to highlight is, "And PKR Youth has not changed. It is still high-handed as the recent ‘pesta’ at the Kelana Jaya stadium proved. But try criticizing PKR Youth and see what will happen." There is something that bugged me after seeing the video. It made me stumble, and succinctly state that there was something wrong from the inner temples of the PKR youth. I was in fact shocked that such a Dark Rock group was called than some Evergreens . It is so clear that the Party is infested with termites. It seems it was planned this way

Having lived since childhood among my Muslim brothers, sisters , fathers and mothers. I as a Non Muslim was taught by my parents of the respects , the tenets, the isms ,the taboos , the principles to observe and follow with great respect due to them.
written by tomyamkong, July 13, 2008 18:12:34
PKR is UMNO repackaged. A struggle with no cause except to be the PM. Desert PKR now. Join PAS or DAP, two time-tested parties with strong ideologies but willing to be pragmatic when times demand it.
written by clarity, July 13, 2008 18:41:03
Somehow or other these guys will succumb to greed and corruption. He must have got a tidy sum from UMNO as his house is a major renovation. So to please his masters he wants Anwar to debate him about the Malays and country, then he'll get more money for furnishings. But he forgot that Anwar is for inter-racial and not a snake like him one day PKR and the next UMNO. I suppose seeing the lavishness of KJ just overwhelmed him. Now he has got to try to more money from his masters by threatening to reveal little secrets. Can the little srcrets be worse than killing with C4, killing of Iraqi children, cheating the poor or frabricating evidence so that the innocent goes to jail for years?
written by mob1900, July 13, 2008 18:51:30

Ezam deserves a 'Medal' for his treacherous role.
written by sikembangcina, July 13, 2008 18:55:33
Exactly the reason why I am so reluctant to be PKR member as much as I support DSAI. The problem with Malays are they just love the concept of Ketuanan so much they can't even think for themselves and once they become a servant or a slave to that Tuan, then you are in trouble should you clash agreement with them.
written by educationist, July 13, 2008 18:58:09
Ah!! Trust RPK to provide such informative pieces.
I see Anwar as the glue holding PR coalition together.
It is, of course, imperative that PKR must be able to keep boat in order for Anwar to play the role of coalition leader effectively.
i hope Anwar does read unflattering comments like RPK's piece and take remedial actions to improve the PKR!!
written by trimalnash, July 13, 2008 19:03:24
Thank RPK ,
u really great...,
i was waiting for this artical.
god bless PR, hope good win for anwar
written by Uncorruptible, July 13, 2008 19:37:39
A new round of fabrications against Anwar is to start soon.
ezam is going to declare that Anwar also sodomise him many times at his (ezam's) huge mansion in front of his wife !! Soon.
written by ahmadneil, July 13, 2008 19:51:12
That Ezam is good for nothing.He is just a gold digger.
written by tanahairku2, July 13, 2008 20:10:26
Ezam said that he had to protect his dignity. What dignity has he got? A person who hops from one party to another cannot be trusted and has no dignity to talk about. Why give him so much prominance in the news?
written by MasterYoda, July 13, 2008 20:34:00
RPK, well done.

commom sense is the name of my party.
written by Daryl, July 13, 2008 20:38:49
If PKR is what it say it is than they should take this as a constructive criticism and take an inward look on itself. This is not to admit wrong doing but they need to take 'UMNO' out of itself in order to be different from them. They have a very good leader in DSAI but they need to be organize and discipline like PAS and DAP.
written by Commonsenses, July 13, 2008 20:50:57
So we have gone full circle, now that Ezam is actually financed by Daim. Now we know what's happening for the last 2 weeks has been ochestrated by the now we know unseen hands. Guys asked ur self who's got to loose the most if anwar becomes PM, yes the D initial. Reflect backwards on the sodomy charged in 1997. Many previous articles has pointed to that man who have many companies listed in the KLSE. Go article RPK, bravo!
written by Milo, July 13, 2008 20:56:12
PKR owes Lokman a huge apology. Lokman had warned the party what Ezam really is but it was Lokman instead of Ezam who was thrown out of the party. And PKR Youth has not changed. It is still high-handed as the recent ‘pesta’ at the Kelana Jaya stadium proved.
--------------------------------------------

If what RPK said is true, DSAI should personally speak to Lokman immediately and get him back into the fold. We certainly need leaders like him.
written by Tom n Jerry, July 13, 2008 21:07:08
Generally politicians are dirty but the current scenario is such we have to wipe out the corrupted and start from there;demolish BN;exterminate them and set up a new government by PR!We will be back to square one;have to start from scratch;thats the whole new meaning for 16 september2008!All patriotic & conscientious Malaysians should look forward to this new beginning!Bury the last 45 years 6 feet underground(BN
written by razzwill, July 13, 2008 21:36:10
Someone with an axe to grind is a dangerous person, and must never be allowed to wield power until he or she has mastered the art of forgiving and of compassion. Someone with a score to settle will use the powers vested in him to get even with those who have wronged him. Look at Gandhi. Look at Mandela. These great men suffered under the yoke of oppression and inhumanity but never once did they seek to run down their enemies or lose sight of the greater goal—justice and peace for all mankind. But how many Gandhis and Mandelas are left today?
written by TwilightYears, July 13, 2008 21:41:25
Many Chinese too look up to Anwar as a sort of "cult leader". I know of a housewife, happily married but never failed to attend all the public gatherings attended by Anwar. (all the public pre election campaigns, the Shah Alam 100 days celebration and the recent Kelana Jaya fuel hike gatherings). The recent sodomy allegation so enraged her that she would not bear to hear anything connected to it. Amongst the PKR members, even the fanatic PAS members appeared as angels to her and her husband. Though not rich, she would grabbed all the available souvenirs just to support PKR, and she is not even a souvenir hunters. To her, members of Anwar family are exemplary in all their behaviours, and the devoted wife of Anwar is an epitome of virtue.

The ability to influence the mob is Anwar's strong point. I cannot find another politician with such pulling power except President Sukarno of Indonesia. They could talk rubbish and yet every word spoken is considered bible truth (this Lady is a Christian, and a staunch one for this matter).

Born in the era of "battle of the minds" (William Sargeant) where the KBG, FBI and the communist ruled top in brain washing, I would not doubt the power that such speakers like Anwar has. Who can forget the power of rhetoric in Shakespeare's Julius Caesar where Mark Anthony turned the initial hostile crowd to his side and rose against Brutus, "for Brutus is an honorable man". The best role that the famed Marlon Brando took part was that of Mark Anthony.

In similar vein, RPK has proven many times the power of the pen. RPK's simple but powerful writings have endeared many of us to him by the clarity and the conviction within the style of the written words. In this sense, RPK has, against his wishes, become a cult figure. Whether readers are willing to sacrifice their properties or lives for RPK is yet to be seen or proven. I would pray that no one becomes a "blind" follower of any enigmatic leader, be it Anwar or RPK.

Allah the Almighty knows best.

written by soulsberry, July 13, 2008 21:52:12
but sadly, since then lokman has become a vivid umno supporter and drown in the sea of Umno warlord. during 08 election he was heavily campaigning for umno warlord.

rpk, tian chua, hishamuddin rais, mohammad ezam, saari sungib, gobalakrishnan, abdul ghani harun, lokman adam, badaruddin ismail, badrul amin baharom and so on. how many are still fighting for reformasi and justice? how many have been sold out?

for those who are still a fighter... WE SALUTE YOU!
written by Zeroed, July 13, 2008 22:05:02
After 50yrs of "independent" our nation has never been in such a critical state. Political and economic instability loom into such a dire state.

The entire state of affair in our nation now is A BIG JOKE!!! We now get to see boldly how those walks the corridor of power or those who wants to walk the corridor of power put up their wayang kulit act.

A majority of us, the simple minded, uncomplicated rakyat is suffering from just trying to make ends meet. Just concentrate on mending the nation's economy. The truth is that i really don't care who walks the corridor of power. What matters here most is the results. Results!!! Results!!! Results!!

I just too fed up of reading the news anymore. All I see are really childish third world mentality monkey politicians abusing their powers trying to get back at each other AT THE EXPENSE OF US, THE RAKYAT.

I'll give my thumbs up to who ever who can restore the economy and that would be the 1st step. This is what happens when power is bestowed to monkeys. Cakap saja, bikin tak serupa!!!....Tin Kosong!!!

Those were just my 2 cents thoughts of a very frustrated Rakyat. The truth is that I come to really hate politicians. Referring to the other article....yeah....we don't want politicians...what we need now is leaders...

p/s: Patrick....this time really Niamah!!!!!
written by Noor Aza, July 13, 2008 22:26:21
It’s true what Raja Petra is saying. So far, I’ve criticized three PKR MPs who are not listening to rakyat’s problems and are behaving like an elitist idiots; including writing to Anwar himself. But this does not mean that we are out trying to destroy PKR, but actually helping to improve it, for the benefit of the rakyat (above the party mind you), especially ones facing injustice. The same goes towards PAS; criticism towards their fanatical ideology, is about reforming Islam, so that it will be respected rather than hated by not just non-Muslims, but also by other (diverse) Muslims. So I would suggest that PKR and all PR parties hold an election to select their representatives; so that only genuine ones are elected, who will really serve the rakyat, fight injustice and promote true democracy at last in this sorry nation-state.

Noor Aza Othman.

written by chipon, July 13, 2008 22:39:26

Only President Sukarnoe of Indonesia levels with Anwar Ibrahim when it comes to being charismatic and a definite crowd puller.

I've been talking to several of Anwar's University's mates and they all say that his charismatic personality and ability to attract crowd were since his University days.

He won all the debate he participated in University Malaya.
written by Taiping60, July 13, 2008 23:11:46
EZAM practiced the lowest kind of politic you can imagine. Forget about that guy, let him rot, he has no principle.
written by joeawk, July 13, 2008 23:47:22
Pete, u may or may not believe it, try face reading, it helps. check out Ezam's face. He actually looks like shit.

Check out Azim for PKR's benefit.

Anyway, isn't politics one big sandiwara?
written by Raizzen, July 14, 2008 00:06:36
Check out a quote from Abu Bakr As-Siddiq's (RA) first speech when he was elected into the office:

"O people, verily whoever worshiped Muhammad, behold! Muhammad is indeed dead. But whoever worships God, behold! God is alive and will never die."

If you fight for a principle, for whats true. It is indeed there. But if you fight for a leader, for a person, then the truth might be clouded by the awe towards him.
written by grandmarquis, July 14, 2008 02:03:16

While you are writing about the cult called PKR, you might consider writing the cult called Malaysia-Today. Yes, I am talking about the cult call Malaysia-Today. Not you off course, but the people who commented on this forum.

I am getting sick and bored with their comment. Not constructive, blind hatred, personality attack, lack of criticism, fail to remain unbiased, etc. Don't believe me, try to write an article to praise Mahathir, be prepared to face the insult like never before.

The commentators in Malaysia-Today is no different that the cult of PKR.
written by Thinker, July 14, 2008 08:35:38
Cult of Malaysia-Today? Yes, Malaysia-Today has its sycophants but that hardly constitutes a cult. You can publish articles praising Mahathir here. Would a cult allow that? It's just that most of the people commenting here do not think he's worthy of praise. Just because you think he's the saviour of Malaysia doesn't make it true.

In any case, no one will hound you outside in the real-world and force you to retract your comments. You're free to express them, just like everyone else here. You can be thick-skinned like Matthias and keep coming back for more even with the constant criticisms or you can stop writing and sulk. That's your choice to make.

You should realise by now that most people here have already thought about these issues long and hard and no articles praising someone will make them change their minds. An example is the articles from Matthias telling everyone that Mahathir is the saviour of the economy. However, many people have read and weighed information from many different sources and have already reached their own conclusions. Recycling of old propaganda won't change their minds. The only way for that to happen is through a new revelation, not sycophantic praises.
written by eeyaw, July 14, 2008 09:19:11
I tend to agree with the postings above about a cult followings in MT especially when one disagree with Raja Petra's point of view, where he/she is voted down or worse his posting being deleted by Super Admin. I'm sure Raja Petra may not be aware of the deletion part with his busy schedules but I hope MT will not go the way of PKR!
written by teo siew chin, July 14, 2008 09:20:31
how can any political party not have mindless members, blindly following the leader.
are not the new members recruited from the very rakyat that allowed themselves to be blindly led for 22 years?
instead of changing our minds, we change our leader smilies/grin.gif
ahhhh but how to change a mind that has been molded to blindly follow?
And the mold is still there??!!!
written by oknyua, July 14, 2008 09:51:20
I read your article last night, Raja Petra and I'm just wondering if Ezam is not just another mole planted by Dato' Anwar in UMNO. I am basing my asumption on the level of his sufferings in PKR - almost a Nelson Mendela's sacrfice. A normal human being does not just abandon his ideas and sacrfice just like that.

On the other hand, I also see your point of argument.
written by AJM, July 14, 2008 09:53:12
Aiyoooo, Asians and Malaysians in general are still a feudal lot.

An UMNO leader is a Pahlawan, a PAS/ PKR leader is a Tok Syeikh, a DAP/ MCA leader is a Godfather (anybody read comments on MT on an article about Kit Siang, some deranged poster actually called LKS God-Uncle... God-Uncle? Wha-), a MIC leader is a Deva, etc, etc, etc. Hey the same cult status is given to PAP's MM LKY, Vietnam's Bac Ho, China's Deng (not Mao anymore though), India's Gandhi, Pakistan's Bhutto, Myanmar's Aung San Suu Kyi ...

Why is nepotism so much a part of Asian culture? How come PR supporters blame TDM and Park Lah favour their own relatives in politicis while the essentially DSAI, LKS and Karpal are doing the same round of nepotism.

And PLEASE ... to say that "yeah everbody does it but UMNO/PAS is worse" is just downright stupid. Sikit or banyak buat salah, the bottom line is something wrong is done.

Feudal mentality, propensity to nepotism and putting leaders on top of a holy pedestal are things that can only make our democracy a farce like that in the Philippines, Pakistan, India or Bangladesh.
written by informalaysia, July 14, 2008 10:04:24

What you're saying is right, and I've even seen these cults writing comments on your MT page criticizing EVERYTHING that they see here. It is just immature and since then, I don't read and write on the comment section too much anymore.

Cults won't help the nation since they're just like UMNO people who supports everything that UMNO does no matter what. It is indeed pathetic to watch these cults especially those who becomes more emotional than rational in their judgments.

PKR cults please read this article over and over again and re-think. If PR takes over the government and starts to become like another UMNO, I don't want to see cults worshipping the alliance like they're super perfect, because they're not! Come on people. Support whatever that's good for the people, even when it comes from UMNO, and criticize whatever that we think is wrong, even when it's done by our pseudo-perfect Pakatan Rakyat.

Please stop worshipping and idolizing people like they can make no mistake. Come on, guys. Because right now some of the PKR supporters just look too pathetic for others to follow.

And please, like someone above mentioned, no RPK cults as well, please.
written by bunian, July 14, 2008 10:59:26
... if you die for PKR you will go straight to heaven where 70 virgins ...
Middle Easterners get 72. Where'd our 2 go?
written by teo siew chin, July 14, 2008 11:17:34
"...Middle Easterners get 72. Where'd our 2 go?...
-----------

huh? the turkish get an extra 2? smilies/cheesy.gif

lucky YM RPK is not able to whack us cos he sure wont want us to nitpick over the loss of 1 or 2 virgins!

sooooo, who/what is being cult-ified? YM RPK or MT?
do we get to don costumes? smilies/cheesy.gif
Does YM RPK have to struggle into one?

People, people, people... YM RPK dont care a rat's ass whether you worship him or glorify him lah, he just tells it as it is - take it or leave it.
Fine, he may spice up the story abit but heh, mi casa ain't your casa!

written by SUV, July 14, 2008 11:40:30
pete is oso a cult hero wat...so may ikut rentak pete..smilies/wink.gif...the fact is pkr continues to survive n the desire of pkr to go beyond anwar is visible 2day..the early days were very tough..strong personalites,loyalty were needed at dat time..10 years ago the vast majority of non malays were still barisanish..2day,even an indian puttu mayam seller prays for pkr,pas,dap..wat a turnaround!!people want a new dawn..not necassaryly mega riches..situation is getting worse..the citizens n r being stangled both by barisan najis n by super corrupt biznizmen...the country is highly afflicted..its high time the 3rd cek n balance turn..turn now...just like wat the president of bangladesh did with the backing of the that countries atm!
written by SUV, July 14, 2008 12:04:29
http://chegubard.********.com/...-baru.html
written by rahzabob, July 14, 2008 12:42:18
Ezam has very dark secret during his school days in VI. Was a hostel captain in VI hostel and was known as very aggressive. beating up juniors that don't follow his rules. Got kicked out of hostel and suspended in 1984. He was my rugby captain and his band of goons almost killed me on the field by tackling on the neck when I was pissed with their bullying style. My friend who stayed in hostel left because he was beaten up by Ezam. Well, he is in the dark side since young. Guess he can never be trusted. then or even now.

written by Chani, July 14, 2008 13:50:46
I am a first timer commenting but have been your keen fan for a while.
You are a great person and I admire your guts to face the ruthless humans
who dominate this country. Lets put them on an isolate island with ruthless sharks around it so that they cannot escape (ISA). Those who repent, irrespective of time frame, will be allowed to come back to the country.
Keep up the good work and may god bless you.
written by SUV, July 14, 2008 14:01:01
http://reformasi2u.********.co...rmula.html
written by Arjuna, July 14, 2008 17:13:44
No wonder, Ezam never made reports on Najib or Rosmah....hmmmm!
written by Arjuna, July 14, 2008 17:15:28
The Gerak thing was a big ploy before rejoining UMNO and now he made bad comments about Anwar the very person he was supposed to give his blood and life for, some time ago.
written by AsamLaksa, July 14, 2008 23:55:15
A few days back I met a friend's parents and we started talking about Malaysian politics. I told them that the current political situation in Malaysia is exciting because if there is a time for change then now is one of the best times to do it. Then her father commented that it's lucky that there is a multiracial party, PKR that is spearheading the change. I quickly added that that may be so, but of all the PR parties, I worry about PKR the most. I said PAS has shown what they stand for for years and they have strong principles (governed by their Islamic ideology). DAP is well known for fighting for justice (and bringing respectability and certainty in the legal system) with many DAP leaders being lawyers. But PKR? No one knows. I worry PKR is to much like UMNO. I said PKR only stands with Anwar, without him there is no PKR. There is little limelight given to the PKR leaders who can carry out the good work and too much reliance on certain leaders (as RPK rightly says it's about personality in PKR). I also said PKR have loads of career politicians who lack higher principles and may do anything for their own political survival. Also stated that I am no fan of Anwar, I just want the best person on the job. By the way, I don't give a damn about Ezam. I have heard of his name but never considered him a major player in Malaysian politics. PR is better off without him. Nevertheless, PKR need to buck up. I am still waiting to see other PKR leaders who can really bring the changes promised. I don't want another UMNO like party.
written by johntyc, July 15, 2008 02:21:26
Hei PKR, dengar kata RPK! Jadilah baik.

Rakyat perlukan anda untuk menumbangkan BN yang penuh dengan gejala penyelewengan, salah guna kuasa, dan tidak cekap mentadbir. Jangan bazirkan peluang ini!

Ke Arah Malaysia Yang Makmur dan Cemerlang
written by bc5853, July 15, 2008 10:07:59
Dear RPK:

You are absolutely right to expose who Ezam is. Such a man knows no shame and can just called it is just politics. RPK , if you ever know much of his dark secrets, I advise you write here and print it out for all to see, after all Ezam himself is using threats even in the name of Islam to swear to expose others. What say you, RPK of your wisdom in this matter?
written by sukinong, July 15, 2008 10:28:28
PKR still got lots of cancer cells. Don't think they can cure themselves.
written by Blackgiring, July 15, 2008 10:56:31
....nasib baik yang tulis artikel ni si RPK kalau orang lain gerenti dah kena maki dek budak budak kecik penyokong PKR....walau camne pun elok juga sekali sekala beri tunjuk ajar sikit pada budak budak kecik tu....
written by raybeam, July 15, 2008 12:59:26
The road blocks ordered by the government was most outrageous and unnecessary. Nothing will be achieved, if we as right thinking citizens of this country are not prepared to leave our comfort zones but just continue to bombard and criticize this oppressive regime over the internet without revealing our true identities for I fear that our nation will be doomed. RPK is certainly a shining beacon for us all malaysians to emulate as his bravery knows no bounds. It is my sincere hope that he will form a political party before too long as a person of his integrity is what we desire before our country is completely destroyed by this evil government. BTW, Raybeam is Alfred Ho the blind singer.

please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com

written by Vik, July 15, 2008 13:21:26
written by PASOK, July 13, 2008 | 14:33:10
Good article and one for the party archives.

Cult personalities are part of all political parties.
Especially early stage movements that rely so much on the individual efforts of early leaders.
That's all pretty normal and there is nothing deviant about this in itself.

Of course if you are deeply involved in the formative years then the whole experience is a lot more personal and this can be seen from the way you have recollected events - very personal experiences.

However in the larger and political context, the PKR is an important movement and will continue to be so and will in all likelihood form the backbone of government in the future.

It represents many new things, many progressions in the evolution of politics in Malaysia.

And in terms of electoral results it has succeeded in breaking the tough BN shell (and all that represents) which again lends credence to PKR's political importance.

As for the youth movement of PKR I would just say that without their energy and willingness to go "boxing" PKR will be lesser.

Politics is not all about rational people having rational discussions and solving everything rationally. There is also passion, love and hate and "boxing". It's all in the pot.

I feel sorry that people like Ezam and Lokman became casualties along the way but it is a totally natural and inevitable process as the party evolves.

And the party is evolving and its roots are going deeper as more and more Malaysians realise that PKR does represent their deeper longings.

I agree and disagree. Firstly, the fact that PKR does represent the public's 'deeper longings'. Definately. However, your justification to the fact that PKR Youth behave in such a way. I Disagree.

You see, our police force is the best example of this. When I lost my laptop in the UK, and I went to make a report, the officer called me Mr. (mylastname). Here, they treat you like you're just another piece of paper to them. Manners dont exist. However, during road blocks, and police raids, they are even worse. They act as if their mothers havent thought them manners. That they dont know the meaning of being polite. The act as if they are the kings of the world. I was remanded last year for a crime I did not commit. However, the police officer slapped me, and called me names because I had a Red IC and my malay was bad.

How did this all start? This is because we make it acceptable for our 'youth' to be thugs. It all starts with the youth being thugs and us justifying that. No way. PKR Youth have to 'grow up'. They have to deal with matters in a mature way. Not in the same way the UMNO youth ****s act. Its not the poor sods fault, but just that UMNO has ripped them from having an IQ. If we let PKR youth follow the same route as thed UMNO youth, we'll be seeing the EXACT same problems. Mat Rempits will ride around causing havoc, only difference is, the flag will be different. The youth will possess absolutely no manners, and will futher bolster the survey done by time magazine where Malaysia has one of the worst 'politeness index' in the World, and Thailand one of the best.

My point is. WE CANT LET THE YOUTH ACT THAT WAY. We dont want thugs. We want rational human beings. True enough, we need security. But security can be provided without acting like a brainless brute. Take the Royal Guard or even the Secret Service. Its done in a professional manner.

Though I doubt we are capable of such professionality. My hope wanes.
written by Joe, July 15, 2008 14:27:04
Well make a new party call it.. er.. KPR ... cos RPK and PKR are taken...
and make RPK the president. who will second this?
written by pokwee, July 15, 2008 14:57:28
"The PKR crowd is one emotional group of people. I suspect that if Anwar was to order them to commit mass suicide they might just do so. And that is dangerous, as time and time again history has proven. If Anwar could get a religious scholar somewhere in the world to come out with a fatwah (religious decree) that if you die for PKR you will go straight to heaven where 70 virgins are waiting for you, I bet we will not be short of candidates who will volunteer to undertake suicide missions."
you named ezam, lokman, azmin etc,etc.. adakah secara 'coincidence' mereka melayu dalam PKR. you are giving the impression all Melayu dalam PKR adalah 'Cult followers' & semua Melayu dalam PKR tidak boleh dipercayai! you have your own cult followers! so be it. tapi RPK, jangan terlampau dalam memberi analogi & bandingan untuk orang lain.
malaysian oh malaysian!!!
.over e
written by pokwee, July 16, 2008 00:55:16
kpd kawan saya yang risau & takut "MASSACRED by the PKR cybertroopers", you are reassured there will be no bashing or massacre!! the so-called "cult followers" have still "a bit of common sense", even though you have write / use the phrase "Anwar cybertroopers" & "BLIND LOYALTY" for the 2nd time around. to those who are 'very concerned' that pkr leaders albeit the youth wing are 'going astray', we say this to you; are you sincere? then thank you, if not malaysia have an array of 'capable leaders' for you to choose / idolise! malaysia oh malaysia!!
written by sdcsrcc, July 17, 2008 06:04:49

A good highlight of PKR!!
What have we as the normal people of Malaysia got as choices?

The Screwed Up and Screw All BN or the Cult PKR....BN has got the track records and they have managed to screw all of us including Anwar(bigtime) twice for the last 50 years!!

If we can be screwed for 50 years by BN and remain screwable by BN still, why cant we give a chance to PKR to cultify us for 4 years and see if we let them cultify us for another 4 years?

Maybe it s high time you create a network of capable bloggers cum leaders who got guts to speak as well they write to form a better alternative for us all!

God bless RPK!
written by Ujang, July 17, 2008 19:34:07
Keluarga aku pun dah mula jadi fanatik Anwar. Semua anak-anak akan pergi ikut emak dia pergi ceramah Anwar. Aku takut jugak kerana mereka masih sekolah. Sekolah pun sudah jadi tempat untuk berpuak-puak. Geng UMNO dan Geng Keadilan. Mereka semua tidak ada selera makan ketika Anwar di tangkap semalam. Mereka akan berdoa selepas solat untuk keselamatan Anwar. Hanya selepas dapat berita Anwar bebas semula mereka nampak riang. Kesimpulannya aku rasa orang Melayu memang senang simpati jika ada pemimpin kesayangan mereka dizalimi. Terutama kaum perempuan. Mungkin pelajar Universiti patut buat kajian tentang isu ini.
written by coalminecanary, July 18, 2008 03:36:19
The term Youth says it all. They are bound to be hot headed, aggressive, deluded.