Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The Sydney Morning Herald commentary

The Sydney Morning Herald commentary PDF Print
Wednesday, 09 July 2008 15:18

Yet if there is one man steeled to challenge the political stranglehold of the coalition that has ruled Malaysia for half a century, it is Mr Anwar.

MySinchew

There is a political storm building in Malaysia that Australia cannot afford to ignore. The decision by the Prime Minister, Kevin Rudd, to seek to avoid the worst of the turbulence when he flies into Kuala Lumpur on Thursday (10 July) is short sighted, according to The Sydney Morning Herald.

Mr Rudd will meet the beleaguered Malaysian Prime Minister, Abdullah Badawi, who suffered an extraordinary swing against his ruling party in March despite the considerable advantages of incumbency.

But Mr Rudd will not meet the man at the centre of the political drama, the de facto opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim.

Yet if there is one man steeled to challenge the political stranglehold of the coalition that has ruled Malaysia for half a century, it is Mr Anwar. In the late 1990s, the one-time Muslim student leader rose to the position of deputy to the then prime minister, Mahathir Mohamad, who presided over a Malaysian democracy of form, not substance. Harsh internal security laws, a vast police special branch, media controls and a tamed judiciary helped keep the Barisan Nasional in power, according to the paper.

Mr Anwar's stellar political rise was cut short in 1998 by sensational sodomy and corruption charges, protecting Dr Mahathir from a potential challenge from within. A six-year jail term and a serious beating at the hands of police turned Mr Anwar into a popular symbol of disaffection across Malaysian society. When Mr Anwar's sodomy conviction was overturned in 2004 after Dr Mahathir's retirement, there were hopes for a more open political system under Mr Abdullah.

But, the report pointed out, it is deja vu in Kuala Lumpur. Just months after a court ban expired, clearing the way for Mr Anwar to stand for election again, another sodomy allegation has been trotted out. Given the timing and the politicization of the Malaysian judiciary and police, it must be regarded with deep suspicion.

Mr Rudd's office says protocol rules out a meeting with Mr Anwar. However, it is not unusual for Australian prime ministers to meet significant political figures while overseas; Mr Rudd met Hillary Clinton and John McCain while in the US this year. George Bush and Hu Jintao met him when in Sydney before last year's elections.

How Malaysia's deepening political tensions play out, and at what cost to democracy and stability, is of great regional significance. Mr Anwar is a former deputy prime minister and now leads a coalition of opposition parties that has already delivered an unexpected body blow to the Government. He is a man Australia needs to understand, The Sydney Morning Herald points out. 

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, July 09, 2008 15:41:06
Yes,The steeled man Anwar is all set to do the job he is most suited to do.
agree 129
written by indianputra, July 09, 2008 15:42:00
Mr. Rudd is a fool not meeting Anwar. Within a few months, Anwar will be the PM of Malaysia and Mr. Rudd will then feel remoreseful of his actions now. Most world leaders have acknowledged Anwar as a person who should not be ignored. Why Mr. Rudd is refusing to see Awar during his current trip is a mystery. It is possible that the Foreign Miister could have warned Mr. Rudd that he is not wecome to Malaysia if his plans include seeing Anwar.
agree 166
written by ahmadneil, July 09, 2008 15:58:23
Rudd will come back with a bended knees to greet Anwar very soon.Sure enough all the world leaders knows very well that Anwar is Malaysia Nelson Mandela.Give him the respect due to him.
disagree 16
written by purpleshoppe, July 09, 2008 16:01:20
It is bad time to visit Malaysia la.......

If he visits dsai, then Mr Flip remain in power - relationship will be soured

If he doesnt visit dsai, Mr Flip out of power - he wins, dsai shall maybe reward him more

well, nevertheless... Australia enjoys the huge influx of cash from Malaysia especially education. Most chinese parents who send their children overseas prefer australia due to the recognition, proximity and relatively cheaper comapred to UK or USA.

regardless of how much more Aussie dollar goes up, regardless of how many more times their PM shouts RECALCITRANT at our leaders.... influx shall remain the same

but if I were Ruud, I would visit dsai.

dsai is after all the black horse of Malaysia and at this delicate time, when SAPP has turned its back on dsai, his assistants betray him, PAS lashing out freely at him, and his gang crumbling apart... dsai need some recognition, and he may remember and payback kindly

Mr Flip might get offended, but so what... nothing to lose, money will still keep pouring into australia... unless ofcourse if he has the balls to impose a RM10,000 penalty to every child sent to Australia for education la... hahaha
written by aryn, July 09, 2008 16:38:02
Rudd, it was a rude and bad decision all right.

Say, you may not regret it if DSAI keeps on dragging his feet (like what he's doing now) to Putrajaya.

Forget about praising DSAI sky high. I want action. Let's hear him now announcing his readiness to contest a by-election and go on to form a new govt by Sept 16.

I am tired of talk, talk, talk but no action.
written by PASOK, July 09, 2008 16:39:19
What do you expect from the Australian coward leader. He prefers to tiptoe around Asia looking for chinese business - not interested in our democratic struggle.
written by cwy, July 09, 2008 16:43:07
ANWAR has the cut to be the national leader, preferrably the prome minister of Malaysia.
He is a great thinker, writer, speaker and worker. He simply has the charisma of a leader that suits our country.
The problem is that Madhathir wants everybody, including Anwar to obey and follow Madhathir's will and ago. Which minister under Madhathir didn't show special respcet for Madhathir when he ruled Malaysia for 22 years according to his whim.
As I can see, if Anwar one day becomes PM of Malaysia, he will surely encourage, not just allowing, Kevin Rudd to meet those leaders in the opposition then.
written by AntiBN, July 09, 2008 16:53:15
In the US, you met with Senator Hillary and McCain. In Malaysia you do not want to meet the PM-in-waiting. What a coward Australian PM. You show no respect at all.

It looks like it's a loss to you, not DSAI. One day when DSAI is the leader of this country, you'll come back begging to meet him. I hope that day will be soon.
written by mara koman, July 09, 2008 16:54:33

Wht protocol is Rudd talking about. Can't see that Malaysia has become a lawless land. I utterly ashame for such leader from Australia.

written by panca, July 09, 2008 17:00:15
We do not want leaders of the past, the "past" of leaders and leaders to be of the past, sitting on their asses thinking the country belongs to them just as they thought keep falling on their laps easily, for the past 50 years.

We already have our Head of the country, The King. We surely do not these past leaders of the past to continue to mislead, mistreat and worst, betray us. It is they who keep betraying us, the People of Malaysia(This one goes to MP of Kinabatangan too) The money belongs to the Rakyat, not yours, dig up your ****ing ears!

The one that you should meet, Mr Kevin("YI DING YAO JIAN TA")is Anwar. There needs to be one that has gone through a lot to understand the need of all the races to "race" into One Race, The Malaysian Race. "HEN TUO SHIEH"
written by wisdomguy, July 09, 2008 17:13:54
George Bush and Hu Jintao met him when in Sydney before last year's elections

What wrong to meet an opposition leader.Mr Rudd you too an opposition leader when these two influenced world leader meet you.
written by SocratesI, July 09, 2008 17:27:37

Rudd has probably been ill-advised. He will just have to take a hike to KL one more time later this year !! Rather than tip-toeing around Anwar to catch SleepyHead, Rudd should stop by to say Hi to DSAI. Now he is portrayed as a "sombong" leader coming from Australia.

Conclusion:- I can concur with The Sydney Morning Herald. No truer words were spoken !

written by clarity, July 09, 2008 17:41:22
Rudd is PM because of circumstances and not because he persuaded the people to vote for him. The Aussies were fed up of J Howard's pro Bush policies at that time. And so because of that and his inexperience he is playing it careful. We shouldn't worry too much about him as he won't last long. Already there are negative murmurings in Australia about his trying to carry China.
written by Ahjamal, July 09, 2008 17:41:43
Rudd in rude indeed being ill advissd that the current government did not win the government is a fair elections. I am sure he may not know that majority of
Malaysian want DSAI as the PM of Malaysia and will be so in September. By passing to meet DSAI might as well not visit Malaysia.
written by michaelT, July 09, 2008 18:49:42
I was disappointed that Rudd rejected meeting Anwar. Just you wait Kevin Rudd just you wait. There is no reason why he cannot meet Anwar now that Anwar is most reconised by World Leaders even the Islamic countries, I suppose he must have been forewarned in diplomatice language. He should follow the example of Al Gore. Wait till Anwar takes over the Helm then Rudd make have diplomatic problem if Anwar choose to install. Anwar for sure will not Kow Tow to Rudd when he comes to be PM. Yourangel
written by talk2stop, July 09, 2008 19:17:14
Most Malaysians don't understand the different between a westernised democratic country and the one with a developing country. I'm not here to lecture anyone I lived in Malaysia for 24 years and 24 years in Australia. If I have to do business in Malaysia I will also "ignore" Anwar Ibrahim at this stage not that I don't respect the person. To be successful in Malaysia is "who you know" not "what you know."
written by Dominic, July 09, 2008 19:49:43
Good to know that though Rudd decided not to meet up with DSAI, that is his personal decision. We still have majority ordinary Australian who feel it is not a wise move. In fact Rudd should not have to worry about how our leaders react as afterall, Malaysia have more to loose should there be a hiccap in their bilaterl relations between the two countries !
written by educationist, July 09, 2008 19:57:42
Rudd meeting Anwar will , of course, be a boost to the opposition spirit.
But the meeting not taking place will not take away anything.
So, as before it will be more meaningful if Anwar can really show something concrete to substantiate his claims to be able to form the next federal government come Sept. 16th.
Otherwise it'll be better for the PR states to ensure good governance, accountability and transparency in their administrations.
written by OilMan, July 09, 2008 20:00:44
The Sydney Morning Herald is the type of news we want in Malaysia. Totally independent and not controlled by the government. Mr. Rudd not wanting to meet DSAI is purely due to business. One way to put it is the Aussie is scared of Malaysia. The people high up the UMNO hieracrchy is running out of ideas, so they just borrowed Tun M's ideas of sodomy charge on DSAI.
Anyway, I'm ashamed to note that Aussies can be that scared of our Bad... Owww..Wiee.
written by Taikohtai, July 09, 2008 20:14:22
Recalcitrant.....who can forget this gem of a description by Paul Keating on TDM, who is still fuming and cursing the former Australian PM.
One thing Aussies defend most strongly is the rule of law, although the law can be an ass sometimes.
Therefore I don't really blame Rudd for not meeting DSAI yet. The 'rule of law' in Malaysia is just too confusing for some of us.
Malaysia has both common and syariah laws and claim to be secular but not quite. Your judiciary has been hijacked and today, TDM and Justice Chin are at each other's throat. Royal commission findings are treated with disdain and SDs can be just pieces of scribbles under duress. And even your Agong gives many legal tussles a wide berth despite countless suffering by his subjects eg ISA and chemical water bombs.
USA's concern over political overtures of Sodomy II was being brushed aside by your gomen as meddling in their internal affairs.
Therefore, Rudd was only be expedient in not getting involved but when things become more respectable, he and DSAI shall be mates again, no worries!
written by bexe, July 09, 2008 20:47:48
Well, we can't blame our guest for their cautious approach. Our house is in a such a mess. Australia has always been a friend. They will be there when the time comes. That I am sure of. So we can't blame them for picking the "official" approach and that is to just go along with accepted protocol. We should however be at our most hospitable best, for which we are best known and most appreciated.
written by kclim2, July 09, 2008 21:17:26
Has Rudd made a mistake by not meeting Anwar? I think he has!
written by mob1900, July 09, 2008 21:24:28

The 'Maestro' in action. Use PR as the vessel for Change!
written by OutsideLookingIn, July 09, 2008 22:08:33
In international politics, you don't always have to do public stunts to canvas support (or future support). Meeting Anwar now when he doesn't actually have official status yet would be tantamount to offending the government of the day. Sending the Aussie Foreign Minister or high ranking High Commission officials to sound him out on the quiet is a more sensible approach. There are no brownie points to score meeting Anwar officially now, is there?

Knowing K Rudd here in Australia, his decision not meeting Anwar is not surprising. He didn't even have the guts to meet the Dalai Lama and conveniently slipped out of the country while his Highness was in Sydney recently. Not wanting to offend the Chinese whom Australia depends greatly on as buyers of our minerals. As someone else on this forum has already explained, Australia stand to gain alot from overseas students (both private and government!) and offending the Malaysian government is not a bright idea, is it?

You just need to know K Rudd's background before being PM. He was a high ranking bureaucrat (read bean counter) that calculates everything thoroughly before doing anything.

Look at what he did within the first week of coming to power - send the navy out to follow the Japanese whaling fleet. His excuse: to make sure that the Japs are not whaling under the guise of research. Now, everyone knows that this research thingy is a lie. It's just pure whaling. Fullstop. What did the Australian find? Whaling. Pure and simple. So what do you do after Australian government found the "truth"? Something they weren't prepared for: You either call the Japs liars or do nothing. What have they done so far? Nothing. For the sake of not upsetting the Japs (with economical consequences), "problem can only be solve diplomatically".

Remember what he did to the Chinese when he criticise them for oppressing the Tibetans? He now has to kowtow to them by going to the Olympics in August! Will the Kevin Rudd government go and offend any government anyway else? I think not. I used to be ashamed when people asked me whether John Howard was out PM. I fell much worse than that with K Rudd.
written by cahaya, July 09, 2008 22:28:55
Here is an idea!
The Australian Prime Minister could meet with Dr. Wan Azizah, who is Leader of the Opposition in Malaysia's parliament. During their meeting, she could always introduce her spouse Anwar Ibrahim to Kevin Rudd. Then all three of them could enjoy a good conversation. How about that?
written by SamBall, July 09, 2008 22:39:23
Some good comments from talk2stop, Taikohtai, densemy & OutsideLookingIn&.

Need to know the politics people.

I disagree with the article that Kevin should meet Anwar. Plenty of time for that late if things work out. Whats the hurry? And for what purpose? What would it achieve? What's in it for the Aussies?

Nothing ventured, nothing gained, but end of the day, more loss than gain IMHO. F**k all as they say down under.
written by uxzee, July 09, 2008 22:49:42
Rudd,

Is this what Australian Independence and democracy is all about? You are more worried about Australia's economy than the rights you believe in. Such people are prepared to sell their own mother.
written by DontPlayGod, July 09, 2008 23:31:31
We shouldn't be too hard on Mr. Rudd, after all, he has to follow good manners and proper protocol to not offend the host. Rudd can always meet up with Anwar again when Anwar becomes PM. What's the hurry? Mr. Rudd doesn't want to make it look like he is interfering with our nation's affairs.
written by PASOK, July 09, 2008 23:46:02

Yeah dont be too hard on mister Rudd. The Aussies are such sweet gentle people arent they. They just kill their native people and steal their land. Now they want to talk about protocol and good manners. What do you expect from decendents of criminals - no principles but good talkers.

Rudd's and the australians insult to DSAI and the democratic forces of Malaysia in our time of need should not be forgotten.

Damn the aussie bastards

written by Prakasha, July 10, 2008 00:51:23
What makes you think Ruud does not communicate with DSAI using some other methods? Hell, even an SMS could have been sent DSAI to explain the political climate! Think outside the box la... These are politicians!!!! Their rice bowl will always be based on PPLs opinion on them! If BN rules now, surely Ruud will put a smiling face in front of them... state office protocol and stuff! Behind, who knows maybe he talks to DSAI in private???! Think la... He is PM of Australia... he has to do what is best for Aussies... smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by FOLI, July 10, 2008 08:02:36
Watch Anwar Ibrahim's interview shown last night on Australia's SBS TV:

http://news.sbs.com.au/dateline/anwar__ibrahim__interview_130491
written by onnetline, July 10, 2008 09:36:12
Mr Rudd,

Where's your public relations skill ? Or it's just ' selective ' nature of yours ?
written by cahaya, July 11, 2008 18:33:14
Nurul Izzah has written a response dated 10 July 2008 in her blog.
http://nurulizzah.com/site/?p=151

Among other things, Nurul explains:
Referring back to this whole issue of Mr. Kevin Rudd’s first visit to Malaysia as Prime Minister of Australia and his initial wish to meet Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim as leader of Pakatan Rakyat, this initial meet was solicited . . . from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).

She concludes with this:
However, we do understand the intricacies of public diplomacy and that Mr. Rudd has to give face to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi but it is unfortunate for all. Nevertheless, come September 16, we will gladly accord them the proper decorum and if he wishes to pay a courtesy call to future Opposition leader – Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi or Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, we would be more than happy to assist.

written by JohnQ, July 13, 2008 23:24:19
THe New 'A-N-W-A-R' will replace 'R-A-M-M-A-N", where Nurul will be the first female Premier after DSAI. I Bet Najis will the shortest term PM, maybe only for less than 30 days after BodohWi relinquished his premiership in August 2008.