Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow It’s all in the game

It’s all in the game PDF Print
Monday, 07 July 2008 13:27

Yes; that is what politics is all about: the pursuit of power. Of course, they talk about causes and struggles. But the ‘cause’ is simple: the pursuit of power. And the ‘struggle’ is merely a power struggle, nothing more, nothing less.

You may have been facing a lot of problems getting into our site since more than a week ago. First, a hacker hit us and you probably saw a picture of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in battle fatigues on our front page. That, basically, was a message from my adversaries that they ‘know’ Mahathir is behind Malaysia Today.

Yes, since mid-2006, I have been meeting Mahathir in his house, his Petronas office at the KLCC, as well as his office at the Perdana Leadership Foundation in Putrajaya. I am also very close to other Mahathir loyalists such as Sufi and Matthias, not to mention his children, in particular Mukhriz and Marina. Malaysia Today also co-sponsored the first dialogue with Mahathir in the Kelab Century Paradise two years ago when he ‘declared war’ on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, and the day he launched his first strike. Further to that, Malaysia Today webcasted, live, Mahathir’s talk in Kota Bharu, the day he was attacked with mace.

Many, Anwar Ibrahim included, say that I have now ‘turned’ and have sold out to Mahathir. They view my ‘relationship’ with Mahathir as suspect and can only be because I now ‘serve a new master’. The talk in town is that I have had a falling out with Anwar and that is why I have now ‘crossed-over’ to Mahathir. Or maybe I am so short of cash so I have ‘sold my soul’ to Mahathir for a great sum of money.

How narrow-minded these people are. If you are with me, then you are a great guy. But if you are with the ‘other side’, then you must have sold out for money. Why is it if I openly express my support for Anwar then I am a great guy? Could it not be I am supporting Anwar because I have been paid a lot of money? Why when I support Anwar I am doing it free-of-charge and for a cause, but if I support Mahathir instead, then it can only be for money and for no other reason. Can’t I also support Anwar and ‘sell my soul’ to Anwar for money as well? But, no! If I support Anwar it can never be for money. It can only be for the cause. Only if I support Mahathir can it be for money.

Actually, I do not support either Anwar or Mahathir. The personalities are not who I support. I support the issues. And that is what all our readers should do as well: support the issues, not the person. People come and go. People change. People ‘cross over’. How can we support one person and then oppose that person when he or she changes his or her stand. If we support the person, then we should support the person all the way, even when that person crosses over. The fact that we will abandon someone when that person changes his or her stand or crosses over means we do not support him or her as such but only what he or she stands for.

Take Ezam Mohd Noor as an example. He was revered when he opposed Umno and fought against corruption. He was detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) and was jailed under the Official Secrets Act (OSA) even before his ISA detention could end. He was considered a hero. Many stood by him. But when he resigned from the party and later joined Umno, he was defiled and called a traitor. That means most people never really supported him. They supported what he stood for. But when he changed his stand and crossed over to Umno, the support ended. He is now a man hated by the very people who treated him like a demigod all this while.

It is dangerous to support someone for personality cult reasons. You only support his or her cause or stand. And if his or her cause dovetails with yours, well and fine. If not, then you must be matured and civilised enough to disagree, while continuing to respect his or her cause or stand, in spite of it being opposite to yours. In that same spirit, you may not like that person, but if his or her cause is the same as yours, you must be able to see eye-to-eye only as far as the cause or stand is concerned, while you can agree to disagree on all other issues which you feel are contrary to yours.

My cause or stand is simple. I am not anti-government. I am not also pro-government. Barisan Nasional is the government at federal level and in many of the states. Pakatan Rakyat, in turn, is the government in five states. In that sense, both Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat are simultaneously the government as well as the opposition, depending on where you happen to be at that point of time. What I am is I am pro-rakyat and anti-exploitation of rakyat. It does not matter who the government is. Be it Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, my stand remains the same for both.

Both sides of the political divide have been grossly exploiting the rakyat these last 51 years. Be it Umno, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PKR, DAP, PAS, or any of the other dozen or so political parties, they have used the rakyat in their political game and in the pursuit of power. Yes; that is what politics is all about: the pursuit of power. Of course, they talk about causes and struggles. But the ‘cause’ is simple: the pursuit of power. And the ‘struggle’ is merely a power struggle, nothing more, nothing less.

Never mind who they are. Never mind who is leading these various political parties. They all aim for one thing: to get into power. And they will use the rakyat to gain power because only the rakyat can give them this power. The rakyat is lied to. The rakyat is cheated. The rakyat is being made a fool. And the gullible rakyat will swallow everything the politicians say; hook, line and sinker; thinking that those who offer themselves to serve the rakyat do so for only one reason, to serve the rakyat, whereas serving the rakyat is the farthest thing from their minds.

Today, we are divided like we have never been divided before. Sure, we have not seen a race riot the likes of ‘May 13’ for almost 40 years now. But this does not mean we love each other. It only means we still hate each other but we are too scared to do anything about it lest we suffer reprisals. Even in the opposition they still talk about race. They still demand race-based quotas. So Barisan Nasional is not the only culprit in this race game. Everyone is equally guilty.

Sure, Barisan Nasional plays the race game to the hilt. But the opposition doesn’t really mind. In fact, they love it because the more Barisan Nasional plays the race game the more they can exploit the issue to their benefit. Does the opposition want the race game to end? Of course they do not. If Barisan Nasional stops playing the race game then what is the opposition going to use against the ruling coalition? No, Barisan Nasional must continue playing the race game, never mind how dangerous this may be. It helps the opposition when Barisan Nasional plays the race game. The opposition can then continue harping on how bad Barisan Nasional is to get the support of the rakyat who hate this race game.

If the opposition is not also playing the race game why does it matter who is the Menteri Besar or Chief Minister? Does it matter if he is Malay, Chinese or Indian? Does it even matter if it is a he or she? And why must there be five Malay, three Chinese and two Indian EXCO Members? Why can’t all EXCO Members be of one race? So we have ten Indian EXCO members and a Chinese Menteri Besar in a ‘Malay’ state. So what? Why make a big deal out of it?

But no, the positions must be race-based and must be according to the ‘agreed race quota’. Anything less will be unacceptable. To do otherwise means the coalition needs to be disbanded. We will cooperate only if our race is represented. And no other race can represent us. Someone from our own race must be that representative. And this is the opposition talking, not Barisan Nasional.

Yes, the rakyat is being exploited. And everyone is exploiting the rakyat, both sides of the political divide. And both sides benefit when the race game continues. No, the opposition does not want to see race-based politics end. It is of no benefit to the opposition if the race game ends. The opposition becomes stronger when racial politics escalates. On the other hand, the opposition would become irrelevant if racial politics ends.

So, no, I am not pro-opposition or anti-government, or the other way around. I am pro-rakyat and anti-exploitation of the rakyat. And both sides are playing the same game so how can I align myself to any one side? Be it Anwar or Mahathir -- or Pak Lah, Najib, Ku Li, etc. -- the same applies. And thus far no one appears to have abandoned the race game. So, until they do, we must think of the rakyat first and these leaders second. And that means I will continue meeting all these leaders, irrespective of who they are. But this in no way means I am favouring one over the other. Meeting them just means I want to know how they tick. And Malaysia Today will continue offering itself as a platform for them to speak out, even if I do not agree with what they stand for.

Anyway, in the meantime, I have other pressing problems on my mind. Malaysia Today is still very sluggish and extremely difficult to access. Our team is trying to resolve the matter and has been working around the clock for more than a week in an attempt to tackle the problem. It may mean we have to invest more money, which I do not have, into upgrading our facilities. Compounding this problem is the ‘road-block’ we are facing. The government is blocking our site and this makes the task even more complex.

Is that bad news or good news? I suppose the good news is the government views us a real threat, warranting the special operation to shut us down. The bad news is if I can’t overcome the problem then the government may win in the end. At this point of time I seriously do not know what the end result is going to be.

P.S. We have had to switch off the comments in the meantime while we sort out the problem with the site or else you can't even access the site. 

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by cutejams2004, July 07, 2008 14:48:21
hmmm RPK, have u guys changed ur host to a Malaysian one as previously MT's ip add was a singapore one but know since da attack by some idiots, MT's ip has changed to a Malaysian IP...
written by cwy, July 07, 2008 14:56:21
Exactly! Politics is just a matter of Power, Prestige and Pays nowadays!
The mentality of most Malaysians are still gullible or even childish!
Though they want to see the country to change for the better but they are they are exploited and deceived by the tricky politicians at large.
written by Cash Money, July 07, 2008 14:59:01
Pete
You sound like you are running out of stem mate. Time out with limited time at work will do you world of good.Above problems will not go away for awhile but you can stay onn and witness it if you also play it smart.
written by cwy, July 07, 2008 15:04:50
Still ways to go if all Malaysians can live really as one nation which is free form racial discrimination and religious prejudice.
written by Mr Smith, July 07, 2008 15:07:02
Today "No holds barred" is out of sync.

To paint all politicians with one brush is no different from what the government does - painting all bloggers with one brush.

Is this any way of agreeing with Rocky, Marina and Wong who scream 'Fed Up'?
written by DatoSeri, July 07, 2008 15:08:05
Pro-Rakyat is the way to go. It is sad that many continue to buy into race-based alocations in almost all items (excos, scholarships, etc.).

I was left withour "reliable" news for reference for few days when MT was inaccessible. We all knew the hack was the work of those, and the blockage of IP access by TM was no doubt at all. They can't formally censor the news and have to resort to dirty tactics.

Back into the latest ugly potical scene, the fast the BN/UMNO collapse, the better the rakyat Malaysia. These bunch of monkeys had done nothing good for rakyat but themselves. They would do anything to continue cling onto power. SHAMEless people !!

RPK, be strong! I bet your loyal readers agreed with your stand and supporting issues and many of your views. You put into words what many of us could not, and those are exactly what in many of our minds. Thanks !

Rescue Malaysia !!
written by Counterpointer, July 07, 2008 15:08:06
they ‘know’ Mahathir is behind Malaysia Today

Hard to tell, because everytime there's something here related to that old fart, he gets whacked kau kau.

I thought that hacker was some kind of the old fart's loyal fan and couldn't tahan the bashing he gets here which thus prompted him to mess this blog up.

???
written by educationist, July 08, 2008 20:00:33
So, RPK has officially acknowledge his present close ties with Mahathir.
It somehow feel incongrous, RPK stand for a more civil society & what Mahathir has come to represent to many Malaysians, me included.
Pursuit of power? Don't see how RPK is pursuing that but I know many Malaysians have him to thank for coming to the fore in the pursuit of fairness and justice!!
written by Motherchell, July 08, 2008 20:04:43
Pete for the first time in my days with MT that has made me very blue, totally disconsolate!!!!

Not with you my dear Pete ! but with what has been odious with us all along ----- Imbeciles who do wrong and yet expect kudos and within Hells edge and they expect us to kowtow????

Never !!! Never !!! We owe this to our grandkids !! I can feel your pangs ---- but we all know you are a Man with your father's blood of honor and righteousness !!!!!

I want you to know this Pete !!!!!! if its going to cost millions to get the best brains to secure our HOME In MT------------JUST DO IT !!!!! THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT We have to do !!------------ The costs ?? --- We are with your all the way, just open the slot for it ---- and i am very sure we out here ---- will make the ocean from the drops!!!! it wont be just an ocean , it will be a lacy rushing Ocean!!!

--- There are many many Brains out there who are ready to take on the Isreali write -up --- and pl work on this as soon as you think it is best -- and open where we have to answer that call.. Lets settle the IP out of Malaysia. MT has brought about the change , no one could do this in the last 40 years.

The recent rhetorics was with no base by Paklah!!!! Fantastic regime , fantastic plans for a future Malaysia ,disconnected from the New World . They sure don't have to worry , cos they can take a flight of fancy to Europe for the weekend ,as they kill the knowledge base among the PC savvy generation by shutting down by midnight . Paklah proves his brains is not more than a toddler's .

The govt can also redevelop CyberJaya to a parking lot for Mat Rempits!!!!!!!!!!
written by Motherchell, July 08, 2008 20:16:56
Talking about treachery ,,, is stealing from the Nation , selling out the Nation to the underworld , and Powers that be -- not treacherous enough????????

Is he following the actual teachings of Islam , when its such a great religion like any other as all religions teach good.
Who is teaching us now ??---- an Iman called Hardari????? !!!!! Do we have to give in to demented brains ?????????????????, half developed ---- no bigger than an Amoeba!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Kopi37, July 08, 2008 20:44:18
I do come across the difficulty to access MT for the past week. Not surprisingly this is an act of the VVIP to intend gag the mouths of RPK and all of us who are walking together with him! I can see that RPK means to what he says and that he is speaking for the rakyat and anti-exploitation of the rakyat by the mediocre Governments that we have ever come across in the present! They are too much obsessed by power crazy and shamelessly, pompously they lie profusely to the rakyat with the wishful thinking that they are made the unassailable Government! Their rhetoric of "we are for the rakyat" is a lie of the highest order and they continue untiresomely, to lie and repeating to lie, in order to grasp the powers that they want and to stay on grip for their personal benefits, to abuse the powers on the gullible rakyat, those who had dreamed of them to become the savior god! This is an unchanged norm in particular of it being one of a peculiar Malaysian culture! I 100% agree with RPK that all these prevailing struggles of the current are the struggle for powers, nothing more, nothing less!

I am sure not only me who has prayed for the longevity of MT and since it is now under attack and sabotage by whom we have all known, it is time we go for defensive measures and I would suggest RPK to set up a contingency fund, whereby we can contribute our minute shares to the success of combating the political goons in winning over the cyber war fair that is now undertaken. It's time for ALL of us to show our stand to support MT to continue to survive and serve the Society with upright, upstanding voices! Lets support RPK to go for upgrading of the facility now!
written by Jomo, July 08, 2008 21:45:49

Dear RPK launch a fund raising campaign in aid of Malaysia Today for the purpose of upgrading its facilities.

Give us the bank account number we will be only too glad to contribute.
written by Lyon, July 08, 2008 21:51:30
RPK
You are right, we should support the cause we believe in and not the personality who spearheads the cause. People change, but causes remain. I do not know how those who accuse you have the notion that you have taken the sides of the personalities. To those who accuse of having sold out should read the previous PM's atatement. "There is a concerted campaign against Najib. I don't know why. Not just by Anwar, this other chap, (blogger) Raja Petra also, and a number of others. Somebody is working behind this, maybe to undermine Najib's possiblity of challenging the Prime Minister," Dr Mahathir alleged.

Cheers mate.

written by Frankfurtguy, July 08, 2008 21:52:57
guys,

put it this way
our country need a leader
you choose either one

1. DSAI
2. Badawi
3. Rosmah & Najib

The rest are too weak and too old to lead
WHO YOU CHOOSE?
this is a HARD fact, and need to make a choice for a better Malaysia
(If RPK is in the list, i will choose RPK!)

written by Frankfurtguy, July 08, 2008 21:57:01

Please launch a fund raising campaign
give us the appropriate channel to contribute money
nobody can stop the truth
nobody can hide the truth
justice will prevail!!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by teohism, July 08, 2008 22:54:13
Politicians are suppose to be people's representative. Ours used religion and racism and because they control the media, they have us rakyat like puppy dogs until MT and other sites!

I believe that we'll have to re-look at some fundamental issue. One of them concerns the purposeful stigmatization with ethnicity. The government has allowed the branding of ethnic Malays as being poor, the ethnic Chinese as rich, blah, blah, blah. They provided an economic policy based on this. Common logic says that it is flawed BUT it is still in place. The government even suppress any disagreeable research!

How about our education system? Almost everyone knows the injustice that's rampant. The ones on the receiving end keeps quiet and the one affected can balik Thong-san or India! This has been going on for a long, long time yet MCA/MIC still manage to stay afloat until recently.

It was so obvious that I'm still suspicious of Anwar today! He was the DPM! So, RPK is right about politics and politicians. Hopefully, the new ones can stay clean as long as possible.

Just a thought - maybe to get rid of racial politics one has to address it once and for all. Simple logic!

From today onwards I'm not going to say that I'm Malaysian only. On any (Goverment) forms, I will fill in 'Bangsa' as Malaysia, 'Ugama' as Percaya kpd. Tuhan, 'Keturunan' will be a 'nil' or a 'dash'. Join me anyone?
written by Mag M, July 08, 2008 23:09:18
Dear RPK
I know maintaining this website requires money and I suggest you collect a subscription fee. I am sure most of us will be willing to pay especially for helping out someone like you who is willing to sacrifice for what is right and fair. All we need is a button here for us to make payment.
written by tenang, July 08, 2008 23:24:10

The freedom of expression is so important a right to defend if we want the nation democratic system (however imperfect it is) to withstand the onslaugth of the next emerging dictators. We need to defend the freedom of expression virtually at all costs.

To run and maintain MT requires many talents and dedication. However, I think the funding part should be among the easiest ones to tackle considering the number of readers you have here. Please setup the funding channel similar to that of "Blogger Defence Fund", and specify its intended usage to maintain the MT, many of us will be more than happy to chip in. To defend MT as a portal for freedom of expression is one important step of defending the freedom of expression in the nation. Many of us do understand that the freedom is not free.

In order to encourage common participation reflecting the spirit of democracy and encourage rakyat ownership of defending the right to freedom of expression, you might want to consider to impose the maximum donation allowed per individual over a period of time. Depending on the total funding you need, you could specify the maximum donation such as in this example: Each person is allowed to donate an amount not exceeding RM20 per month.

Freedom is not free! The oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all; It will be too late to defend freedom if the dictators have already amass all the powers and at the upper hand. Defending the right to freedom of expression is a battle ground that we cannot affort to lose -- losing this battle ground is a slippery slope to tyranical government.

written by ctchoolaw, July 08, 2008 23:27:14
Aiyoh! Everyone (BN/PR) losing the plot and want a piece of you. smilies/grin.gif

http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Areyaar, July 09, 2008 02:33:21
Yes, you are very right when you say we are divided like we have never been divided before. And that is entirely thanks to the evil, cunning people who, over the last few decades, have moulded the minds of one segment of Malaysian society to feel that they are in danger of losing their “rights” and their identity.

Getting one segment of society to fear the rest meant that this segment could be easily manipulated into believing their salvation lies with those who “promise” to “protect” them. And they are still bleating about the race card.

At the bottom of it all is the people themselves who, if you were to really talk to, are not bothered with all this nonsense of race because they know how they issue has been used, abused and taken advantage of. They just want to get on with the now costly business of living and they are sick of the nonsense that is going on. They have no respect for the very people who should be working for them. Instead of working for the people, these “imposters” are immersed in an immense power struggle which, it seems, has very little to do with improving the difficult life of Malaysians. Do you think Malaysia’s political scene is anything to be proud of today? When MP’s display crude, obnoxious behaviour in Parliament, it leaves the people feeling desolate. These are not leaders. These are losers with no class.

Who are these irresponsible, self-centred people who are so caught up in holding on to power at any expense? Do they even care about the fact that it is getting harder and harder for the ordinary person to adequately feed, clothe and educate their children? From the way they are behaving, it would seem as if they don’t give a hoot in hell for the ordinary people. Maybe they are punishing them.
written by Counterpointer, July 09, 2008 05:04:56
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in battle fatigues on our front page

This one should be more politically correct.

written by Homeyasu, July 09, 2008 05:13:42
Malaysia Today is revealing every square inch of truth regarding our political system: the agenda which SHOULD have been well acknowledged by the rakyat. If they are prying this website our of the people's eye. You know why they are labelling such is a peril in their eye- they must be darn eager to conceal the truth.

If what is stated in the website is of rumours and fraudulent claims, and if they insist of barring the website, it can only be translated as they think the rakyat are too dark stupid to justify the matter OR they are curbing flow of some very hideous truth regarding the government.

What is there to be afraid of if they are innocent. The epicentre of the turbulence that revolves about Malaysian is: Guilty, are they not?
written by slimbrowser, July 09, 2008 05:17:34

I beg to differ. On one hand, we should support the cause that the person is fighting for, but on the other hand, if the person's credibility is suspect, then the cause lose its relevance.

You said that these people would say anything to get into or to hold on to power. They will ring any issues popular to the masses so long as they get what they want. Many such leaders only pay lip services as talk is cheap. Do you think these so called leaders would walk the talk once they are comfortable? Most will snuggle comfortably in the offices and forget all of us - the rakyat. Mahathir is no better than the rest of them.

Therefore, the person's credibility should be questioned before we support his cause.
written by gundam, July 09, 2008 05:29:17
under an unjust government, if the opposition parties do not speak for their own race respectively, who does?

who started all these unhealthy 'trend' in malaysia? - UMNO
written by Liberace, July 09, 2008 05:32:12
I agree with RPK that we support issues and causes. Nevertheless, when we say we are pro-Anwar or pro-Pakatan, I don't think we're just blindly supporting a cult personality. We're merely aligning ourselves with a name that stands for what we believe in. It doesn't mean that we agree with everything he or she does no matter what. It means that we share a general consensus of positions on various issues.

On the other hand, I don't agree that we can look at issues apart from the personality behind them because the issues or positions are only as credible as the character of the personality. So it's not as simple as changing alliances or crossing over whenever we disagree. People change, but they shouldn't be zip-zapping all over the place. We are a sum total of the decisions and actions we have taken and unless you've had a out-of-body experience or gone through an ordeal or trauma, you're unlikely to change by much. Not unless we've totally misread you in the first place, as may be the case of Ezam.

I think Mahathir's long public record clearly established who he is. A tree is known by its fruits, it is said by a great man and I'm afraid Mahathir failed miserably here from the BMF scandal through the Anwar sodomy case and beyond. Some would argue that he has done much for the country, but I would argue that any decent smart fella would and should have done better with the kind of headstart that we had in terms of the education and administration and basic infrastructure we inherited not to mention our vast natural resources. There's a saying, "rising tides lift all boats". Mahathir had the good fortune of being captain of a ship that was buoyed by the rising tide of Asia at the right time. He of course does not have to hang around to pay the cost of his self-agrandization schemes.

To sum it all, Mahathir has one stand: me, myself and I. I don't think he's a racist or a sexist or an anti-Semite or any other brand we can come up with. He is whatever he needs to be so he can have the cake and eat it. And if he can't have it, then nobody must be allowed to either. I may be wrong but I doubt this old leopard can change his spots even if he tried. He raped and robbed us repeatedly in bright day light and he expects us to thank him for it. With all due respect to RPK and Marina Mahathir, both of whom I hold in honour, I'll be damned if I ever stand in alliance with him.
written by isa affendi, July 09, 2008 05:36:14

As long as u ar on rakyat's side, then we readers will be on your side smilies/smiley.gif
written by Naha, July 09, 2008 06:22:58
Haris Ibrahim said at http://www.malaysia-today.net/...&Itemid=84:
Yes, it sickens, as much now as it did then in 1998.

So why do we find ourselves re-visited by this curse?

Or did it never leave us?

What, could we then do nothing to nip this cancer in its infancy?

Powerless?

Or we chose to look away? We did not want to know? We had our lives, our children, our jobs, our friends?

We were not found wanting, and so we did nothing, and in the comfort of our own little world, we fashioned our justifications for doing nothing, without any thought for the have-nots who were just too busy trying to make it through the day to give a thought to what was happening.

What did we do then, in 1998?

I’m ashamed to say I did nothing.

And so, in 1998, in the battle that ensued for political power between the doyen and his recalcitrant understudy, as we looked away, our institutions fell by the wayside, one by one.

Nothing was spared.

Not the judiciary, not the prosecution, and not the police.

In total shambles.

Because we looked away.
written by Naha, July 09, 2008 06:26:45
I do apologize - I meant, Haris Ibrahim said at http://harismibrahim.*********...get-it-on/
written by NSTPravda, July 09, 2008 07:32:53
We contend that C4 Najib has been patient and wise
His blowing up his credibility is wisdom in disguise
Why should he wastes his hard earned money to contest your claims
As the seditionist RPK said, it's "All a Game".

We in UMNO can fool all people all the time
If not how can we be exonerated from our crimes?
See how easily the Royal commission motion is dismissed
It is difficult to find many trustworthy commissioners on our list
We don’t need such a high level commission to do the white-wash
Our ACA, Police, Judges and PM are all capable of doing the quash

So just knuckle down to your daily grind & not waste your time
Don’t believe rumours that there are corruption and high level crime
Najib is as clean as a whistle, wind blown by his pet C4
Rosmah is as pure and virginally innocent as she's before

We join C4 Najib in proclaiming the failure of the pesky protestation
We expected about a million or two to rally in the so-called demonstration
When only 50 thousand appear to heed the rebellious and subversive call
We know that our SB boys have succeeded in deploying their security wall

Further, it's not the truth to rumour that our IGP lied
He is only releasing the fragrance UMNO’s money can buy
As faithful as any dog, he is to his pay master
Not shitting his principles may lead to his career disaster
Similarly everyone knows that the AG is a UMNO lackey
So why should we be surprised of his legal selectivity?

Our economy is definitely, obviously in good and steady hand
Just leave it to Caliph Dollar and his tingkat empat band
Meanwhile stick your heads deeper in lumpur, all noise will go away
Then we will be back to business as usual, semua-nya OK!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by malaysianohope, July 09, 2008 08:05:09
I'm surprise you actually consulted with Chedet on political mattters affecting the nation but I'm sure you may have your reasons in using him to get rid of Badawi including his much hated sil. As far as I'm concern all of them are unfit to be in power and Anwar despite his shortcomings is the next best alternative and I will do my part in making sure it does happen in this opportuned time.
Take good care of yourself & Cheers!
written by SocratesI, July 09, 2008 09:11:31

That is why I am not a member of any political party, but a firm believer in CIVIL RIGHTS and putting in a system that would curtail any abuse of power.

What we need is an independent Judiciary as our 3rd pillar of Democracy as it has been limping along since 1988 when Maha-Shithead made the Judiciary subservient to Parliament, and hence the Executive, of which he was the leader (read DICTATOR DESPOT).

As a safeguard and perhaps another pillar of democracy, an Ombudsman can be formed reporting only to the King, a permanent Royal Commission of Inquiry, if you like, that has the power to investigate any matter, without fear or favour.

The problem with most Democratic Govt.s and processes is the fact that after the GE, the Executive (winning party or parties) is given 5 years (in our case) to run the country, basically an almost Carte Blanche to do what they want. Perhaps with the advanced state of ICT these days, we should put in place, a REVIEW of the Govt.'s performance (and the individual MPs etc.) every six months, so that no DESPOT or DICTATOR can get away with 5 years' of plundering before facing another GE and this system will give them no time to alter the system and the Election Commission to ensure them victory at the GE.

Failure to deliver, can result then in a RAKYAT's REFERENDUM to either impeach the PM and ruling party or parties, and call for fresh elections.

Of course there will be those that argue that the Govt. will then have to make populist decisions to stay in power rather than do a good job. My answer is we need a 1st class EDUCATION SYSTEM (a real one, not a brain-washing Biro Tata Negara-type) so the RAKYAT can make informed and educated decisions all the time.

Any political party that supports CIVIL RIGHTS will have my support only if it is true to the ideal, always.

written by SUV, July 09, 2008 10:11:40
Rakyat's referendum? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif..podah !!!rakyat have not even heard of of this referendum..MT didnt even give me the posters laa!!!faham tak!!and rakyat aint got time for mental tooty frooty's lah wooi!!!heh!!m,aina n co r syin they r fed up!ptuih @ them!!fed up of what?fed of the words liwat,sodom vibrating all over malaysia??fed up of the pssiblity of atm's boots?vwery strrange..these hallucinating species,the so called defenders justice freedom of macam macam,including gay rights r now behaving like a typical coward talibans!!pundek hipkorits kiasu chootias!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by SUV, July 09, 2008 10:19:13
gua bermaksud.."fed up of the pssiblity of atm's boots landing on thier faces and arses"
written by sonofman0, July 09, 2008 10:31:20
"You may have been facing a lot of problems getting into our site since more than a week ago. First, a hacker hit us and you probably saw a picture of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in battle fatigues on our front page."

Are the boys from downtown Dallas at it again? Have they invited an Israeli for breakfast, this time around?
written by teohism, July 09, 2008 10:36:06
Give any crook or politician a long rope and they'll eventually hang themselves. Unless of course they manipulated and change the law to suit they intentions.

Hmmm... I wonder what laws and policies that are bias in Malaysia?
written by June, July 09, 2008 10:43:25
Yes RPK, I don't mind to pay subscription fee for your Malaysia Today as I have already cut all my newspaper subscription. I like to read from MT and hope it does not shut down. If not subscription fee, perhaps you should just create a sponsor link for those who want to contribute to MT. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by panca, July 09, 2008 13:37:28
I agree with June.

Pete, perhaps you might have your reason for not putting up fees but a minimal monthly or yearly subscription fee should be workable and there may be others who want to contribute any amount of fund too.

written by naomi, July 09, 2008 13:52:59
I absolutely agree on this. Its not about the politician, its about the causes that they pursue and the deeds that are about the country. Sadly, when it comes down to politics in Malaysia everything is intertwined. One such example is during the recent March elections. As a firm believer in breaking the 2/3 majority i wanted to vote for the oposition but what made me worried was that their causes were unclear. Its all good to tell us what they want to achieve for the country but i want to know how they plan on doing it. TRANSPARENCY!!
Even for BN i'm at lost for what their focuses are... but i feel its been like that for quite some time.

Another sickening thing about whats happening in Malaysia is that issues such as the recent DSAI scandal has blown up in our faces, and the issues like the imminent economic downturn and the peak in oil prices has taken a back seat. Yeah the politicians talk about these things but where are the results? Whats actually happening? What are they doing to help the rakyat? Gee... Tol prices are still high!!!
written by mgeo, July 09, 2008 16:56:05
Agree with Liberace and Counterpointer. "The evil that men do lives on after them" - Shakespeare. Especially after 40 years of evil.

With due respect to YM RPK, he seems to be unduly influenced by the evil genius of Maha Thief, as in a previous "Without Fear Or Favour" article that he subsequently (graciously) admitted was proposing a flawed thesis.
written by Frankfurtguy, July 09, 2008 17:09:52
whoever that hack into MT are stupid idiot moron
he/she is country traitor
whoever behind this is even more evil, low IQ, mentally retarded
they are completely lack of thinking cells in their hollow brain

see.....we are again in MT and talk/discuss/comment freely
we ready to pay money to support MT and RPK
we are more determined than before to fight these stupid idiots

Dear MT bloggers and fellows, lets unite in one heart and one voice
show how stupid these people are!!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by crayon, July 09, 2008 17:18:50
I believe, we needed more channels to discuss.
online channels that are not restricted to a single, or collective group of individuals who dictate what we read, or could read on the website
written by mymalaysia, July 09, 2008 17:53:10
I agree with RPK. I am also not a pro-Dr.M, pro-Anwar or pro-Bodoh supporter. I look at the issue now, and when I compare them all, I would say, the least I respect is Bodoh (or Bodowi as he is famously known here).

I hate the fact that Bodoh likes to act bodoh and treat us, rakyat like idiots. He "makan" without washing his hands, mouth and not even leaving any crumbs behind for the rakyat. He doesn't care when the country is going down under. He is not a nationalist and he has no dignity. What he care most is his and all his families and cronies asses. So far, all these asses are still alright - not sodomized yet.

Thanks to him now our country is famous because of the screwed up political drama & everyone knows there is no law and order here after 51 years of independence.

Personally, I don't like Anwar as I don't think he is lesser and he has his own agenda of being an PM. However, I would not mind voting for him just to give him a chance to prove us he deserves the post.

As I have said in one of my comments, all politicians are dirty but when we need to choose one then it has to be someone whom we hope can serves our country i.e. rakyat better. We don't have much of a choice judging from those pools of evildoers, do we? I hope we do!
written by Motherchell, July 09, 2008 18:04:30
Frankfurtguy, and many others out here------ I'm with you'll all the way . Lets fix the foundations well !!!!! Pete lets go for , l waste no time !!!!

Lets not allow a North Korea, Zimbabwe or a Chile of the 70's to incubate here ever! -- as the direction seems set for now with the Powers that be !!!!!!!
written by Motherchell, July 09, 2008 18:05:50
apologies -- typo ---

Lets fix the foundations well !!!!! Pete lets go for it , l waste no time !!!!
written by bebas2lawat, July 09, 2008 18:59:22
Well said RPK. Its about time all of us think about this carefully and look at the issues rather than the personalities.We should align ourselves with whomever fights for the people and for issues that affect the people.
written by OrdinaryMan, July 10, 2008 07:07:28
I'm afraid you've lost me here, Pete. You said you're looking at the issue and not the person. The issue Mahathir is advocating is racism. He is using this racial card over and over again. So does this means you are condoning this issue now?
written by shiokguy, July 11, 2008 02:40:16
Cannot really Block MT

Dear Pete
In fact it is extremely difficult for the government to blog MT. I remember when you site was down or block.. I was still able to access it via a proxy server. I even setup a link for ***** through without the need to edit thier browser setting. They are thousand and thousand of recycling proxy server in the net.

If the blockage is in place, we can brain storm to find way to get reader to access it.

Just make the call, we will come to give you and your team a hand.

Regards