Lawyer to consult with Abdul Razak first PDF Print
Friday, 04 July 2008 09:21

(The Star) - Lawyer Wong Kian Kheong said he will consult his client Abdul Razak Baginda on the statutory declaration made by the political analyst’s former private eye.

He said this was after the statutory declaration was brought to his attention.

“I need to seek instructions from my client,” he told The Star yesterday when asked about the statutory declaration made by P. Balasubramaniam, who had testified as the first prosecution witness in the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder trial.

The declaration was also news to Datuk Hazman Ahmad and Kamarul Hisham Kamaruddin, the lawyers representing the two policemen charged with the murder.

Hazman, counsel for C/Insp Azilah Hadri, said he was “very surprised” with the contents of the statutory declaration by the private investigator, who had been hired by Abdul Razak to keep the Mongolian woman away from him.

“I really don’t know where these details came from. This is the first time I’m hearing this,” the lawyer said yesterday.

Hazman said it was a practice for him to always ask his clients everything that had transpired when he accepted their cases.

“I only know of what my client had told me, and all of that was presented in court,” he said.

Kamarul Hisham, counsel for Kpl Sirul Azhar Umar, said these allegations needed to be investigated.

“I have only read the declaration based on what was posted online,” he added.

Kamarul Hisham said the declaration was extraneous material as far as the trial was concerned.

“However, if there is any truth to the declaration, then it throws a big question on the culpability of the three people standing trial for the murder,” he said.

written by usurper, July 04, 2008 15:40:35
Please do not turn this into an Indian issue. The poor guy could be under threat to his life. He has done his job in the first instance and damage is done. Retraction is fine when one comes up to help fight against arepressive regime. I wont be surprised that many of you who find it easy to condemn Bala would not even have the gall to face the police in a simple opposition rally. Please thank this guy for the damage caused.
written by hakuna, July 04, 2008 18:36:33
Definitely agree with"USURPER",it is not an Indian issue but a Nation's issue. Guess he and his family are living in fear now. Lawyers are changed like clothes.
The truth is definitely out there and it is chilli hot.
written by hakuna, July 04, 2008 18:45:12
Indianputra, sometimes we jump to a conclusion a bit too fast. What will the situation be if the guy's kids are in the wrong hands.One can't imagine changing one's mind in less than 24hrs more so in a grim mode. Some other forces are at play here.Money here does not kindle the situation. Most men will forsake themselves but not their family.Personal view is that his family is in threat.
Think about it.
written by miwaki, July 04, 2008 21:10:29
Don't worry about the retraction,in Malaysia anything can happen and any crime can be settled.Who knows Bala will make another statutory declaration to restore his first statutory declaration.After all statutory declaration has no commercial value,only RM4.00 !
written by indianputra, July 04, 2008 21:33:27
Razak Baginda... save your skin. Tell the truth.. With Najib in trouble he is not going to help you at all...Be smart!
written by miwaki, July 04, 2008 21:35:41
kstee,you are wrong, Bala did it under threat.Who knows tomorrow another PI of Altantuya will come forward to make another Statutory declaration to link Najit to Altantuya.

In Malaysia,anything can happen and any crime can be settled.This is a corrupt country,third world !
written by Tom n Jerry, July 04, 2008 21:41:58
Baginda.Allah help those who help themself!If you cant help yourself how are you going to help others!Use your rusty brain!Spruce it up with some doubled boiled brain !Chu nyuk is good for this purpose!Try it !Good luck!sorry i mean chu now! smilies/grin.gif
written by KL Dude, July 04, 2008 21:42:33
The problem is what if Baginda denies whatever said in the SD is true ? Since he's a close friend of Najis, very likely he may deny everything in Bala's SD or he may even be threatened to deny Bala's SD, or face the gallows on the current case now.

This strategy may not work and the SD may just be thrown into the drain. The best is to induce hardcore evidence that is obvious... sms records, photographs and other evidences in black and white rather than 'hearsay' like this.
written by jgerard, July 04, 2008 21:49:42
For the sake of your wife, children, yourself and the country, do the RIGHT THING before it's too late! I bet you were shocked when you were arrested. You know what I mean...???
written by Ann Meng Sim, July 04, 2008 22:02:00
Do you seriously think the person whom you are covering for and his fat witch would save you? They don't give a damn about you.

Now that they know (and I am sure YOU also know) that they will be busted soon, why not save your own a** and admit the truth!
written by cwy, July 04, 2008 22:48:58
Razak! Tell the truth and you life might be saved!
written by Foong, July 04, 2008 22:49:03
In this crucial trying times it is of utmost importance the immediate family members of Razak Baginda, especially his wife and father,as soon as possible let him know the current developments and ask him to relate the truth. It can be a matter of aquitting or convicting him. Please do not delay. The Rakyat's prayer will be with your family.
written by TB Tan, July 04, 2008 22:54:06
There is a lot of hearsay and SD's, if for any reason these people have any patriotic sense for the well-being of the country, back-up your claims with hard evidence. Else, all this hoo-ha comes to nothing except for a short-term political gain. So far, not a single shred of hard evidence have been produced by either camp and soon we will get tired of this. It certainly is not helping any of us on the streets as the country have been thrown in a unsuitable climate to even attract foreign investors.
written by indianputra, July 04, 2008 23:41:22
THE LATEST

PI retracts stunning statutory declaration

Jul 4, 08 11:10am

Private detective P Balasubramaniam today retracted his stunning statutory declaration which had linked Deputy Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak to murdered Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu.
======================================================= ================

Aiyah! too much drama lah.. This guy retracts the statement in 24 hours. I AM AN INDIAN.. but there is some truth to what that UMNO state assembly woman said in the Perak State Assembly last week about Indians. I am really ashamed!
written by Ann Meng Sim, July 05, 2008 00:03:12
indianputra, really?

Maybe "they" got the PI's kids and wife and threaten to blow them up with C4?

Maybe the PI just got a Swiss Bank Account?

I am about to give up hope on this country.
written by kstee, July 05, 2008 00:11:37
and then less then 24hours he retracted some of the most vital parts of the SD. To all the Indians in Malaysia - disown Bala as an Indian. He is one reason why people still ask about the snake and the Indian.
written by cllim123, July 05, 2008 11:58:05
Something like this was said at court, "My husband is innocent. He has no intention to be PM!!!". Why was that said? Why is this Razak Baginda so loyal to his boss? Is it because he thinks najis can kowtim the case? Razak, save your skin and speak up now!