US cautions over sex charges against Anwar PDF Print
Tuesday, 01 July 2008 10:58

The United States said today it would oppose any politically motivated investigation or prosecution of Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim facing fresh sex misconduct charges.

Anwar is being investigated over new allegations of sodomy, Malaysian police said on Saturday, the same charge that saw him jailed six years until 2004, when the charge was overturned.

The former deputy premier accused the government of concocting the new sex claims by a 23-year-old male aide and had briefly sought sanctuary at the Turkish embassy in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday, saying he had received threats and feared for his life.

"The main point for us is that the rule of law needs to stand above politics," said Tom Casey, spokesman for the US State Department.

"And we would certainly oppose any use of law enforcement or judicial procedures for anything other than legitimate purposes of the law," he said.

Noting that Anwar had previously faced similar charges and that his conviction was ultimately overturned, Casey said, "So, we would hope that there's not a pattern here.

"But, certainly, we would be concerned that anything that is done be done in a way that is appropriate, that is a legitimate investigation of charges that might exist under Malaysian law, and would not be anything that was a politically-motivated investigation or prosecution," he said.

The new charges erupted after Anwar stormed back into Malaysian politics in March general elections that handed the opposition a third of parliamentary seats and five states.

Since then, Anwar has said he is poised to form a new government with the help of defectors from the ruling coalition, undermining Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who has faced repeated demands to step down over the polls debacle.

The charismatic opposition leader said the new charges would be "a repeat of the 1998 fiasco" when he was hit with the sodomy and corruption counts that were widely seen as politically motivated.

Anwar said he was targeted again because he had evidence that the police chief and attorney-general had fabricated evidence in the original sex trial.

Premier Abdullah denied any involvement in the new charges.

"We had no plans to do anything to him just because he says he's made a political comeback," he said.

Malaysian Criminal Investigation Department chief Bakri Zinin said Anwar's aide had personally written the report against his boss detailing an incident at a condominium in an upmarket Kuala Lumpur suburb of Damansara. - AFP

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by FOLI, July 01, 2008 11:04:48
The alleged sodomy charge has also been discussed by political analysts on Australian ABC radio this morning with negative perceptions on Malaysian democracy generally. So I hope all those BN morons are aware that the world is watching what they are doing.
agree 180
written by keris_mudin, July 01, 2008 11:05:48
Finally we may find a good reason to LOVE BUSH -

Another meeting with Bush again shortly, conditions this time -
1) Call of the SODOM DOGS
2) Allow Anwar to run for Parliament
3) Cut the dogs loose to go after the murderers and their associates
4) Step down on Sept 16th
5) We'll forget IRAQ for now

OR ELSE ..... the US, IRAQI and UN DOGS will be set loose ...
written by Loonie, July 01, 2008 11:10:08
I am going to sit tight by my TV set in Canada to watch the latest saga. I can't even pin down my 14 year old son (whose only 5ft. 5 in.)on play wrestling, let alone a 60 year old against a six foot tall young man!!Shame on you stupid PM and your gangsters!!! Get ready for hell!!!
agree 140
written by Dominic, July 01, 2008 11:10:30
Good, some big brotherly advise . More EU countries should come forward too and teach this little monkey how to behave themselves !
written by Kopi37, July 01, 2008 11:16:57
That so-called aide of Anwar looks exactly like a gay who likes doggy style! Most likely he is being bought by the one who is real lusty, while enjoying a shot in the *******, will be given a thick payoff by recording a false report against Anwar! What a poor and despicable soul!..................
written by redkelah, July 01, 2008 11:18:33
Dear Politicians,

Please STOP sodomising the PEOPLE.
Life is tough enough without you idiots trying to ram you shit up our arse!
Give us a break.
written by budakindia, July 01, 2008 11:22:09
Hahahaha! Sonner or later US will put us to the same level as Zimbabwe! Abdullah = Mugabe! smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by FOLI, July 01, 2008 11:30:33
Some similarities between Malaysia and Zimbabwe:
1. Opposition leaders have to seek protection in foreign embassy for fear of being killed.
2. Ruling party unwilling to give up power no matter what.
3. Ruling oligarchs enriching themselves at the expense of the ordinary people.
4. Inflation rate going up faster than C4 explosives.
5. Government incapable of proper governance of the country.

There may be many more similarities but I am frankly just tired of all these bullsh*ts from BN.
written by delCapo, July 01, 2008 11:30:44
Malaysian Criminal Investigation Department chief Bakri Zinin said Anwar's aide had personally written the report against his boss detailing an incident at a condominium in an upmarket Kuala Lumpur suburb of Damansara

_______________________________________________________ _____

hmm.... i'm confused
what does this mean?
Who is this boss who Bakri is reporting against?
written by Zapper, July 01, 2008 11:34:32
Our dear UMNO....how low can you go?

The world is watching us and it will be the box office of the century.
written by Tsunami08, July 01, 2008 11:35:56
Like Burma and Zimbabwe, the people have tried everything to change the regime with no visible results.

It is absolutely immoral and irresponsible of major democracies to stand idly at sidelines making statements or threatening sanctions while the few despots continue to plunder and ruin the lives of so many. The rot continues...thanks to the G8, EU, APEC, UN and others. Talk shop democracies - USELESS!
written by SCM, July 01, 2008 11:37:04
Mr. Bodowi, you see now what you have done to this country? A third nation (US) has to tell us what is the proper way to do things. You and your group of bandits in UMNO have put us to shame in the eyes of the world. First, fatty and her sidekick gives Malaysia international exposure with their 007 tactics that went astray due to their arrogance. Now you get a kucing kurap to give us more international exposure. Was it a mere coincidence that Shitfull stood next to anus in that photo taken at Najis's office?

The rakyat gave you goons a message in the last elections. The message was, "We want you to govern us but we want you to be checked by a strong opposition". Looks like you didn't get the message. I guess it's hard to get anything when one is asleep all the time. Please hold a snap elections. This time, the message will be a bit different. "We want you bunch of perverted rapists to be completely out and in jail". Don't worry, we will put Najis and Rafidah in the same cell, since he obviously has a penchant for fat ugly chicks.

C'mon Khairy and kerismuddin. Go find a keris and wave it at the Americans now and shame us even more. Organise a rally against the U.S. for interfering. That's all you 2 are good at. The chief thug (IGP) will definitely give you a permit for the rally. Go disgrace us even more. You fools!
written by ahmadneil, July 01, 2008 11:42:26
May be if still not getting the message then sent Kitty Hawk.
written by Mr Smith, July 01, 2008 11:42:58
"The main point for us is that the rule of law needs to stand above politics," said Tom Casey,
==========================
Thanks to the US for speaking up for justice. But Sir, in this country there is no rule of law! It is rule by UMNO, PDRM and AG!
UMNO is above rule of law. Politics is above rule of law. Nay, even murder in high places is above rule of law.
A young man can make a sodomy report against any opposition member and the entire instruments and resources of government will prove the opposition member guilty.
written by semut, July 01, 2008 11:46:36
in US sodomy is nothing.. but murder is very serious case! smilies/angry.gif

http://semutmalaysia.********.com/
written by Puchongjoe, July 01, 2008 11:47:55
I kept laughing at the possible scenarios of this poorly directed sodomy drama. 1st scenario: Can a giant be sodomised by a elderly man? What a joke. 2nd scenario: Can't the giant do anything to stop it, such as kicking, shaking, gyrating violently, or doing a tap/disco dance, etc? Oh boy, I can't stop laughing even while typing. Malaysia will be famous for sodomy jokes as a result of those stupid politicians.
written by jjireh99, July 01, 2008 11:48:35
i can bet that there will be some quarters who will critise and condemn US for being busy-body. LOOK, if you all are reading this, don't think we can mess around with US or Israel. For whatever reason/s or agenda there may be, as a super-power (even though they are not all snow white, who is, then?) they are still the watchdog for all nations. Just imagine if the US had not got involved in the Vietnam war, Afghanistan war, Iraq war or all the wars in this planet (regardless whether right or wrong), where would the world be today (I don't know-good or bad). The world cannot deny the fact that the US has always been the 1st to lend help to any country that needs help, again not all feel the same. So, I think the US should go into countries like Zimbabwe, Myanmmar, North Korea and Sudan to eradicate these ruthless leaders and send them to Timbaktu for life instead of letting and watching them torture their own citizens. These are not only mad people, they are actually, as they say, the DEVIL INCARNATE. Malaysia is only a "kecik-mayong" country. The less we show our arrogance, the better we are as a people.
written by bodohland_citizen, July 01, 2008 11:52:26
The whole world is thinking that BN govt is formed with bunch of MORONS. But these BN morons think that they are the most superior of all ! In reality, they are the kampung heroes who are there to bully the less fortunate people who support them.
written by Gains, July 01, 2008 11:52:35
I think policeman will carry 'TILAM' again.
written by Mark C, July 01, 2008 11:54:24
I am ashamed to call myself a Malaysian. Our reputation and standing in the world has certainly gone to an all time low. Fact remains that anyone with an iota of intelligence would know that this latest revelation regarding DSAI doesn't hold any water, whatsoever.

We are in 2008 and we are led by Politicians that has a IQ of less than 50.
written by ultraman, July 01, 2008 11:55:45
Aiya, if you want to set Anwar up, think of more sensible offence. To accuse him of sodomy is damn stupid. Already he was discharged from the previous offence and you tried to nail him with the same one. Stupid! Abetter frame up would be to put a few itiks and ayam in Anwar's house and reported that he had stolen them. With these evidence, definitely Anwar would be jail for a few months, enough to disqualified him from election!!!
written by K W Waran, July 01, 2008 11:59:06

The day BN threw caution to the wind and decide to hurl fresh charges of sexual misconduct against YAB DSAI, that was the day the final shovel of "soil" of the Mass Grave that BN has been feverishly digging exclusively for them ONLY since 9th March 2008 was thrown out.

Come what may, it is an irreversible process. This time around, nobody is buying the 'story'. By trying below the belt tactics, BN is sinking lower in the eyes of the Public. The PM once hollered, that Public Perception is critical for the survival of any government. Public Perception, PM? You wouldn't want to know about it, especially, NOW!!!!!

For now it is just a caution from the World's Policeman, The US. Soon many others are going to join the chorus and you rascals can't go on saying that it is an internal affair of a Sovereign Nation when it is already stinking to high heavens(Thanks DSAI) at the White House, The Hague, UN, etc, etc and everywhere else.

Your time is fast running out. Go quietly or else be prepared to face the FURYING HEIGHTS OF THE ALMIGHY's WRATH.

WHY? The Public have already begun their solat/prayers in silence and in congregation throughout the nation to invoke the divine intervention of Illahi Yang Maha Esa. Let's continue doing just that, Folks and God Willing, we would be witnessing the Glory of The ALmighty who speaks in Silence.

Take care ALL.

written by onnetline, July 01, 2008 12:01:15
To Uncle Sam,

We could certainly use all the help we can get. And we hope to have a choice not to tolerate these prolonged suppression from these bunch of shameless & corrupted abusers.
written by Ravee, July 01, 2008 12:03:05
Yahoo!!! The Cavalry has arrived. Badawi / Najib / Khairy and geng better not be around.
written by purpleshoppe, July 01, 2008 12:07:03
Mahathir has brainwashed Malaysians through the media and education over the years saying we have no need of the arrogant World Police.

However, in the wake of the Lingam case ie. Rape of Malaysian judiciary, police chief planting evidence, head of AG assiting, future premier blowing people off with C4

Who else can see that Malaysians see through a just and righteous democracy other than the US?

They have the hardware and software to help us, hopefully without a promise to sell them our ultra high-grade petroleum at US$30 per barrel like Mahathir probably did when he bought Proton from Mitsubishi for his personal glory, with our money.

US will face a tough time to see justice in Malaysia, no thanks to Mahathir's clever brainwashing system.

The Japanese who raped our grandmothers are now celebrated heroes in our History books taught to the new generation, what a price to pay for Proton!

May the Truth and Righteous prevail.
written by joejoe, July 01, 2008 12:12:14
Realistically, what can the US Govt do? All it can do is to criticize our policies, apply some sanctions, stop some trade, classify Malaysia on the black-list to curb US FDIs, remove our tax exemptions, or classify us as a banana republic. At the end of the day, do you think Bodowi cares if these actions by the US Govt can bring our economy to a halt?

Look at Myanmar. Aung San Suu Kyi has been under house arrest for the past 20 years. Their economy has basically come to halt. That's all. Who suffers? Not the Govt leaders. Perhaps saudara Anwar could become the exiled democracy leader like her too.

written by cwy, July 01, 2008 12:19:38
We need kinda DEMOCRACY practised in the States!
written by apa jadi, July 01, 2008 12:21:17
Time to sober up and watch the show. Joining the crowd and in a euphoria of event is not going going to help.

Take a sip of thick coffee from Lim Mun Fah's political stage at:
http://www.mysinchew.com/node/13326?tid=12
written by wag the dog, July 01, 2008 12:27:22
Everyone supports him except our own government.

Comparing Quality of Life After Fuel Price Hikes - QoL Index
http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com
written by clarity, July 01, 2008 12:28:18
By summoning the Turkish embassy, Umno has now got the international community involved. By the way Turkey is part of NATO i.e. EU nations and USA. Gooddie, Gooddie. USA I can give you co ordinates of the place UMNO is having meeting this Dec. Do us a favour . Please send a drone and bomb the shit out of them.
written by SeriousLy, July 01, 2008 12:32:48
Stupid statement by our minister mentioning that Turkish Embassy didn't offer their protect to Anwar is a cheap attack! In the first place PKR didn't mention that Turkey did! Anwar choose Turkey because it's an Islamic country and is close to them thats all! I'm sure many embassies is more than willing to protect Anwar! smilies/grin.gif
written by alanlee, July 01, 2008 12:38:45
US just send your armies in to liberalised us from the dictatorship of the AMENO. smilies/grin.gif
written by ctchoolaw, July 01, 2008 12:52:03
THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING!!! Will BN & the entire establishment machinery care? Will they be like the Myanmar junta? Will they be like Mugabe in Zimbabwe? No matter how Najib, Syed Hamid, Azalina & Rais tries to spin it, UMNO is behaving like thugs. It's a strong reminder that the job was not done properly in March 8, 2008. It is also the strongest justification for crossovers. The moral issues of crossovers far outweighs the immorality of suppressing Anwar & Pakatan's dissent through a trumped-up criminal charge.

So, Yong, Anifah & crossover MPs, WHAT ARE U WAITING FOR? This is the time for moral courage & a strong spine. JUST DO IT! http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Rashid, July 01, 2008 13:02:20
The US should impose travel bans of Dollah and his corrupt coterie. Najis should be taken to Guantenamo. We support the US and thank her for the support given to Pakatan leader, senior cheif Anwar Ibrahim. They (AMENO and Be End (BN)think Anwar is a village headman? Hey...Anwar is a global figure and one of the most respected and influential leaders. Take care!
written by Abdul Haq, July 01, 2008 13:02:47
I hope that the stupid and compliant editors of the main drain, opps..stream media don't repeat the disgusting and sickening expose of sordid details of pubic hair, semen, mattresses on TV and in the news papers. They descended to the level of phonographers....

I was so embaressed to answer my children's questions then.. How do I face the same situation with my grandchildren now?!

Malay politics is longkang( drain) politics..no class..
And we go around kowtowing to these leaders ..yes Dato, yes Tan Sri.. even after they are conspirators or accessory to murder even..
Malaysia deserves better!!
written by A MI, July 01, 2008 13:27:10
Isn't it obvious...the finger prints of the barawah son of iskandar mohamed kutty are all over the latest sodomee allegation.

Guess there is no telling how low these UMNO and ex-UMNO fellas will stoop to stay in power.... disgraceful..

Bastarlahwi, allegation of murder you the Maha Jury can clear without investigation but you call for sodomee allegation investigation ???. Heard your dad was a much respected religious teacher Betcha he will be turning in his grave with all the dirty tricks you and your family members are playing. Taubatlah cepat cepat..

And PKR MPs , stop making empty vessel noise ..you are just giving UMNO the bullets to shoot you to death..how about taking some mature action. Don't dissapoint all those who voted you in.
written by ez24get, July 01, 2008 13:55:50
I have a sneaking feeling, Saiful has managed to get more evidence than what we thought was available so far.

There have been a deafening silence and an air of confidence among the UMNO leaders. So far, they appear to be happy to let Anwar roll on uncontested. On the contrary, Anwar looks subdued, uneasy and has to pull up every serious effort to counter the allegation.

Saiful was no doubt a planted agent to entrap Anwar. He has infiltrated the system for a long 3 months since March 2008. I don't think Saiful political masters would be satisfied with just a cursory police report made by a young 23 year old freshie implicating Anwar.

They got the PDRM and police intelligence under their wraps. They have got the latest, state-of-the-art technology surveillance equipment. They have got the money and resources. The stakes are high - their very survival and billions of $ in gravy train.

And they came up with nothing but a freshie's words against Anwar?

I think Saiful and the manipulators managed to get more evidences; maybe voice or tape recordings or other more damaging evidences.

So far there have been an errie calm before the storm. Time will unfold the drama in full!

I sure hope Anwar will come out on top of this one.
written by sampalee, July 01, 2008 14:06:03
Just look at myanmar and Zimbakwee.Placing your trust in the hands of politicians will not solve our problems.We must all return to our religions enmass and be guided by the scriptures for lasting peace to prevail.For leadership,choose wisely one who is above politics,like our beloved Agong or even RPK.
written by Rolling Stone, July 01, 2008 14:27:36
Good..!!! Even the U.S is paying attention to this, now lets dig up those Oil for Food program files and then we will see who gets sodomized ..!! smilies/wink.gif
written by budaktapah, July 01, 2008 14:36:40
ayoyoyo...as much as I support DSAI.....the U.S.of A is much much million gazillion time more busuk perut / busuk hati than the BN...well at least the BN has not killed thousands of innocent people...(indirectly I don't know lahh)....just only they sympathize, doesn't mean we will forget everything....remember afghanistan & etc....so Mr U.S.of A, kindly go clean ur asses first....
written by coalminecanary, July 01, 2008 14:37:36
First of all, why should i give a **** to a tyrant nation? I don't give a shit what their take on the sodomy case.

And got one person I read wants the democracy practiced in America?
What democracy? Their election result is basically derive from the electoral college votes and not from the people. Really, who gives a ****? Ask the recently dead George Carlin.

Second of all, are all these so called leaders of our nation are braindead? What's with the gay charges? Can some prominent gay people in Malaysia like Chef Wan come out and describe the traits of being a gay/bi and discuss whether Anwar has that gay persona?

Why? Honestly, because these stupid charges should be equalled with a stupid solution.

written by power2u, July 01, 2008 15:16:21
Its high time all componenys BN party cross over to show UMNO that u will not stand up to their Threats n intimidation .They hav turned Msia into a Zimbabwe.Cross over so that they will not dare to falsely accuse you of Sodomy or order ridiculous trump up charges .
Say NO to UMNO's evil plot.
written by mwrmmg, July 01, 2008 15:22:45
"Darling of the West" la katakan....

Yeah bring all your aircraft carriers and parked them at Singapore, with all guns pointing Putrajaya and Saiful's house. hahahaha
written by Compadre45, July 01, 2008 16:05:47
Only the cheap low down umno/ bn morons will stoop so low, to pull a stupid idiotic stunt on DSAI just like how mamak TDM did before. Well this time DSAI must nail them down into a coffin and bury them alive.
written by kenyalan08, July 01, 2008 16:25:42
Caution...Caution , with the might of AG and IGP plus previous case of sodomy , everything is possible especially they have all the DNA , sperm ,clothing etc . Also modern technology and someone willing to sacrify , impossible becomes possible .
written by Lembing, July 01, 2008 16:25:44
It is about time that US and NATO intervene by striking where it hurts the most...that is freezing all the bank accounts and seizing all assets of all BN and EX BN politicians, their cronies, all corrupted public servants and their families located overseas. Then publish a detail list of all monies and assets seized. Malaysia will be richer by the hundreds of billions (US$) not ringgit.
written by Tom n Jerry, July 01, 2008 22:00:17
Lembing!Tepat sekali!Lets join hands and call our Uncle Bush!Please .Mr Bush we need your immediate help to liberate us from this bullshit government!May you Mr Bush of USA be well ,happy ,peaceful & liberate us from this political turmoil!Your urgent attention is very much appreciated!
Thank you in advance! smilies/grin.gif