Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow MIC in a quandary

MIC in a quandary PDF Print
Tuesday, 01 July 2008 08:23

MIC Youth leader S.A. Vigneswaran has resigned and threatened to open his former mentor’s Pandora’s box. These are signs that something is really not right in the party.

by BARADAN KUPPUSAMY, THE STAR

IT IS rare for leaders in MIC to resign. The usual way to disconnect with the party is through expulsion.

Therefore it was a rare occasion for MIC Youth leader S.A. Vigneswaran, a one time blue-eyed boy of party president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, to announce on Sunday his immediate resignation from the party.

They had a fallout after Vigneswaran indirectly sided with rebels in the MIC whose aim is to pressure Samy Vellu to quit.

Vigneswaran or Vicky as he is known to those close to him, gave a rambling press conference going back and forth about Samy Vellu and how the March 8 election disaster is all Samy Vellu’s doing.

The departure has left many in the MIC and outside speechless at what they say is “the waste” in Vicky's resignation.

Samy Vellu’s opponents had hoped Vicky would stay in the party and fight the MIC president from inside and hopefully force him to quit.

Others had hoped he would be such an irritant to Samy Vellu in the MIC that the party supremo would be forced to sack him and in the process incur the wrath of the party’s Youth wing.

In the end it appears Vicky, who first became Youth leader in 2002, was not cut out to be the hero the “rebels” in the MIC and outside had hoped for.

He is not the man to bell the cat,” said a disappointed member of the MIC central working committee.

He does not have the guts or the vision.”

Besides, a big question mark hangs over Vicky’s political career.

He lost badly in the last general election and remains generally unpopular in the community largely because of his “arrogant” ways and the strong support he had always given to Samy Vellu.

Nevertheless his resignation hits Samy Vellu hard in several areas and at a time when pressure is mounting on the MIC chief to leave the political stage, taking responsibility for the election disaster.

One is at a personal level. Vicky’s father M. Sanasee was a close personal friend of Samy Vellu in the 70s and 80s and a strong ally who helped Samy Vellu rise up in the Selangor MIC.

After Sanasee died in 1982, he promoted his brother Datuk K. Sellathevan up the ladder and later gave a helping hand to Vicky when he was hanging around in Klang town and not making any headway in life.

It was Samy Velu who took care of his education and promoted him in the MIC, all because of the heartfelt gratitude, the party supremo has for his late friend Sannasee.

It will hurt deeply that it is a son of Sanasee who has stabbed him publicly,” said a former Selangor MIC leader.

On another level, Vicky’s resignation leaves the party president without a strong arm to enforce his rule in the party and at a time when his leadership is being questioned.

Vicky founded and headed a paralegal force called Pani Padai or Briged Putera, believed to be a vehicle to enforce order and compliance at MIC and Maika Holdings gatherings.

While many were Indians youths genuinely interested in helping the MIC, some of the members were of questionable background, party insiders said.

Vicky on Sunday announced that the 20,000-strong brigade would be disbanded probably to deny Samy Vellu use of its members.

But party sources said Samy Vellu is already working to reconstitute the force and has asked Datuk M. Saravanan, a new rising star in the MIC and Deputy Federal Territories Minister, to either temporarily head the unit or find a new leader.

Samy Vellu will need all the help he can get as despite the pressure to quit, he is seeking re-election as MIC president for a final term in March 2009.

As for Vicky, he is heading for something called the Malaysian Indian Youth Development, a private vehicle that will allow him to remain afloat and take constant snipes at his former mentor.

He has also promised, now that he is no longer an MIC member, to open the Pandora’s box of misdeeds by Samy Vellu.

Likewise it must have crossed Samy Vellu’s mind to return the favour by opening the lid on his former blue-eyed boy’s box.

written by Ken Liew, July 01, 2008 08:31:57
It is better for "MIC IN A QUARANTINE"

There are no more usable value in MIC already.
written by technoboy, July 01, 2008 08:32:49
Wise move Vicky, he sees no more future to hang on any longer with BN of which MIC is a subordinate partner of UMNO, the "taiko" (re: the writing is on the wall, very clear), but this guy might be a snake to start with, so Pakatan better beware if such character ever have any design to be part of Pakatan......satu SAIFUL sudah cukup.
written by LC Teh, July 01, 2008 08:35:08
POLLUTION RED ALERT!!!
written by Bigjoe99, July 01, 2008 08:50:55
I know Samy Vellu has been around and has deep control over MIC BUT he is a liability and the inability to come together to replace Samy Vellu speaks of the community fragmentation and disorganization as much as than Samy Vellu's own failures.
written by semut, July 01, 2008 08:52:14
just resign from mic.. leave samy veloo alone.. BN is rubbish!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by CitizenBodohland, July 01, 2008 08:52:46
MIC? What MIC?
written by mymastermind79, July 01, 2008 08:57:55
It's so much better if we can just ignore and stop news about MIC and the crooks. No matter if its samy or if its vicky its from the same puki. Talking about MIC is like telling someone 'i saw a dinasour shitting at the backyard of my house'. Comeon lah, who cares?
written by InEffective, July 01, 2008 09:29:55

Yup the party which has successfully ensured the enslavement, exclusion and marginalization, and complete-erosion-of-rights of the peoples they purported to represent.

The ultimate con-game ... (wonder if the indians are aware how the mic politicians were rewarded - or are they still mindlessly believing the 'preaching'?)
written by cicakman, July 01, 2008 10:01:00
Hello MICKEYMOUSE ( MIC )

You ( vicky ) and Semi Value are the same. Vicky, who cares about you. When you lose your seat, you should end your political career. For your information, Malaysian makkal already hate you because you are too erogant. You only think about money...money...money. Do you help indian makkal?
written by kevin k, July 01, 2008 10:02:36
Good on you Mate! But too late..... You must have built Mega Bucks by now
written by MasterYoda, July 01, 2008 10:03:12
M.I.C has lost its K.E.Y
written by bumiputeri, July 01, 2008 10:05:44
Haiyoh MIC,

You have lost all the respect of the Indian society, like the Malays have lost trust in UMNO and Chinese in BN.

No need to champion lah, just tutup kedai and deregister MIC, that is all we want, let the HINDRAFF leaders chanmpion the Indian needs, they are bolder, a lot more intellectual and, above all, true to their spirit, unlike all of you, who have prostitued yourselves to UMNO!!!!

Hidup Malaysia!!!
Hidup bangsa Malaysia!!!
Hidup perjuangan HINDRAFF!!!!

Hancur MIC!!!
Hancur UMNO!!!!
Hancur BN!!!

Peace!
written by astina, July 01, 2008 10:17:26
this vicki bastard is the same as samy no value..same clan and his brother is a gangster who was held in simpang renggam ..
written by onnetline, July 01, 2008 10:29:51
Hei Vigneswaren,

MIC is already null and void whether you take over or not, understand ?

That Samy Worlu fella just wants to hang on and rot in the president's chair.

After that, it's Malaysian Indian Cremated party !!!!!
written by qitaro, July 01, 2008 10:30:49
astina,

the name is seroja balan right?
written by KevinWu, July 01, 2008 11:14:19
Aiyo... You all should learn to read between the lines.

When Sammy says he wants to stay on to strengthen the party after the dismal election results.
What he really means is to strengthen his position in the party after the dismal election results.

All these people that don't tow the line and kiss his feet must go!
written by shan, July 01, 2008 11:48:14
These are gangsters who rode on the wave with sammy,They and Sivalinggam were responsible in the transfer of an effecient OCPD from Klang town. They put him in cold storage because the officer wanted to charge them for fighting in public and double parking in the congested little india.But the office is now the chief of Field force in East Malaysia.

Shall we also talk about the about the old chartered bank building (chennai silk palace) these guys bought for a song tru mic.or the numerous permits they obtain bcos of the association with the king of indian robbers.or the missdeed they did for their masters, and now they want to squeel.,.,.,.,.My frandfather's quote;"SOMEONE IS ALWAYS GREATER THAN THOU"...WE THE PEOPLE ARE.

BN has made alot of slimes rich.They control the police and judiatiary, and run the country like their inheritence.,..,So my friend whether you fight with samy or Randy dandy or flip flop is non of our concern.,.,what have you done for us when you were the MP? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif.,.,Pani Padai;'''''You only looked into the interest of sammy ,,,bashing up people who wnt against him,who took his wife out for a fling,""He who lives by the sword,dies by the sword",..,.,..Retire from politic and see if you can find a decent job, smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by TanBH, July 01, 2008 13:27:49
mymastermind79, I LOVE WHAT YOU WROTE, YOU ARE VERY RIGHT THAT BOTH OF THEM ARE FROM THE SAME PUKI.WHAT A NICE POEM.
written by YARRACUDA, July 01, 2008 16:43:46
who the heck is this ******* la...he is the ex-enforcer for the baldie...stupid language with his stupid facial reaction..none of these shits are capable of leading indians anymore la...as such, get the f*ck off....THE COMMUNITY DOES NOT NEED YOU ANYMORE....
written by jeevy, July 01, 2008 22:58:30
Quote..."He has also promised, now that he is no longer an MIC member, to open the Pandora’s box of misdeeds by Samy Vellu.
Likewise it must have crossed Samy Vellu’s mind to return the favour by opening the lid on his former blue-eyed boy’s box." Unquote..

Samy Vellu and Vigneswaran make strange bedfellows.....let them kill each other and the indians will be better off!!