Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Iraq will sue oil-for-food suspects

Iraq will sue oil-for-food suspects PDF Print
Tuesday, 01 July 2008 00:03

Extract from BBC: 

The Iraqi government has said it will file lawsuits in US courts against firms and people suspected of illegally profiting from a UN programme.

The UN oil-for-food programme allowed Saddam Hussein's government to sell oil in order to buy humanitarian supplies during UN sanctions from 1996-2003.

An inquiry found that 2,200 firms paid $1.8bn in bribes to Iraqi officials.

Meanwhile, a US army report has said there was little planning for events after Saddam Hussein was overthrown.

Iraqi government spokesman Ali al-Dabbagh said in a statement that the legal action was to recover damages and hold those who benefited from the illegal activity "accountable for their actions".

"The oil-for-food programme was subject to huge financial scandals by companies and others [who] conspired with Saddam Hussein to embezzle large sums of money through kickbacks, inflated prices and the supply of shoddy goods," he said.

A UN-commissioned inquiry headed by former US Federal Reserve Chairman Paul Volcker found that 2,200 companies in 66 countries had paid kickbacks to Iraqi officials to win supply contracts under the $60bn (£30bn) programme.

The Iraqi statement did not name the firms or people the legal action will target nor when and in which courts the suits will be filed.

Unanticipated insurgency

The US army report says military and political leaders were so fixated on overthrowing Saddam Hussein that too little thought was given to what might follow.

The report covers the period from May 2003, soon after the invasion, to January 2005.

The US has been widely criticised for failing to anticipate the amount of rebuilding that would be required or the rise of the insurgency against the US-led forces.

EARLIER REPORT

Iraq scandal taints 2,000 firms

More than 2,000 firms linked to the UN oil-for-food programme in Iraq were involved in making illicit payments to the Iraqi government, a report says.

It found Saddam Hussein received $1.8bn (£1bn) from firms including Daimler Chrysler and Volvo, and it also named individuals said to have benefited.

Some of those issued denials or declined to comment at this stage.

The UN report said the firms would not necessarily have known about the bribes and surcharges.

Paul Volcker, who led the inquiry, said corruption would not have been so pervasive had there been better discipline by UN management and he emphasised the need for wide-ranging UN reforms.

This is the fifth and final report into the $60bn (£32bn) programme, which was set up to ease the effect of sanctions on Iraq following the invasion in Kuwait.

Mr Volcker told a news conference the programme had been the "mother of all UN humanitarian programmes", presenting the UN with a unique set of challenges.

But he said the degree of success the programme achieved came at a high price, "grievously wounding the confidence and integrity of the UN".

'Unjustified'

Under the programme, Saddam Hussein's government could sell oil as long as the proceeds were used to buy humanitarian goods.

Iraqi oil pipeline
The scheme was supposed to ease the burden of sanctions on Iraqis
Companies buying oil at cut prices would funnel extra money to Iraq through "surcharges" while those receiving money from Iraq for humanitarian goods and services would return a portion in "kickbacks", the report found.

Mr Volcker said the Iraqi government had taken advantage of divisions within the UN to "politicise" the programme.

Corruption "could not have been nearly so pervasive if there had been more disciplined management by the UN and its agencies", he said.

More than half of the 4,500 companies - from 60 countries - involved in the oil-for-food programme paid kickbacks or surcharges to the Iraqi government, Mr Volcker reported.

PROMINENT NAMED FIRMS
Daimler Chrysler AG, Germany
Siemens, Germany
Volvo, Sweden
Daewoo, South Korea
Wier Group, UK
Bayoil, US

The single largest bribe came from a Malaysian trading company, Mastek, which paid Iraq $10bn over a prolonged period, the report found.

Other prominent names on the list include German manufacturing giant Siemens, the construction arm of the Swedish group Volvo and the German-US car firm Daimler Chrysler - which made relatively small payments, amounting to a few thousand dollars.

DaimlerChrysler said it was aware of the report but declined to comment because of ongoing investigations while a Volvo spokeswoman, Beatrice Cardon, told AP she had not been aware the company was included in the report.

French bank Paribas, which the report criticises for the way it handled the oil-for-food account, has rejected the criticism as unjustified.

Offer of evidence

Individuals named in the report include a former French UN ambassador, Jean-Bernard Merrimee, who has admitted receiving one oil allocation only.

Russian parliamentarian Vladimir Zhirinovsky and British MP George Galloway are also both named but have denied the allegations.

Mr Volcker stressed that the identification of a particular company's contract did not necessarily mean that company "made, authorised or even knew about the illicit payment".

He went on to say his team would provide information to countries who might want to take legal action against firms or individuals named in the report.

As he spoke, Switzerland's economic ministry announced it was launching criminal proceedings against four people in connection with the report.

Thursday's report is the final word in what has been an inquiry on a mammoth scale - a budget of $35m paid 100 investigators to comb through mountains of evidence located in many different countries.

Previous reports by the inquiry panel have already reprimanded UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, other UN officials and the UN Security Council for turning a blind eye to the mismanagement of the programme.

The investigation also accused Benon Sevan, the former head of the oil-for-food programme, of taking $147,000 in illegal payments. He denies any wrongdoing.

http://promptus.blogspot.com

Related stories here and here

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by cwy, July 01, 2008 00:15:34
"The single largest bribe came from a Malaysian trading company, Mastek, which paid Iraq $10bn over a prolonged period, the report found."

Those related to the company, Masted, must be very good in economics!

written by aozora, July 01, 2008 00:19:47
Mastek Sdn Bhd is owned by Noor Asiah Dato' Mahmood, who is sister to the late Datin Seri Endon Mahmood, PAK LAH'S SISTER-IN-LAW!!
written by malsia1206, July 01, 2008 00:20:34
A Malaysian trading company Mastek paying US$10 billion to Iraq over a prolonged period? Here's a potential time bomb. More explosive and lethal than C4. Better go and get the facts before the AG and IGP fly over and re-sort out some finer adjustment to retune the finer details with the UN officials. Who's in Mastek? What's the payment for, paid to whom and where does this fund came from? Who stood to gain from this arrangement? Where did the profits go? Who gets what?
written by aozora, July 01, 2008 00:21:26
Here's the link to prove it:

http://www2.matrade.gov.my/app...Refno=3383
written by Motherchell, July 01, 2008 00:25:02
Now do you see it folks why PakLah appeases the US??? well he can run , but cannot hide . Destiny devises ways for crooks to fall from grace !!.

Cheating the Iraqis in one way and claiming profit from their blood . All those who profited from these schemes , in Mastek and the crony companies, take a look at the children today without hands , feet , and faces --- and think if that child in Iraq was your very own.

Can you imagine how you not only cheated the Iraqis --- but the poor too in Malaysia . Only when something hits you close to your family!!! --- that you will fall on your knees for mercy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sleep well!!! for tonight may be the last night before a new Dawn that rises for the shackled in this country!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by malsia1206, July 01, 2008 00:26:26
It was reported the PM flew quietly to Melbourne sometime back with a top Polis officer and politician and they were suspected to meet up with some top US officials in some confidential meeting. Now now, does this secretive meet anything to do with this oil-for-food scandal? Hush hush, go figure.
written by yeechut, July 01, 2008 00:44:07
THE FATHER OF ALL SCAMS

CORRUPTION AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL

http://www.malaysia-today.net/reports/index.htm
written by shissun, July 01, 2008 00:44:26
Few more "hot news" and our dear PM is out with his BN dogs... Oh yeahh
written by MasterYoda, July 01, 2008 00:59:05
The return of the JEDI (opposition).

I say that in the next few days more and more incriminating evidences and scnadals will surface. and as usual the MSM will be instructed to turn a blind eye.

The police will take a statement from Anwar or they might consider thier options and pull the plug on this alleged sodomy, saying that the boy made up the story. they pay him and pack him off somewhere out of the coutry.
written by shissun, July 01, 2008 01:05:34

The police will take a statement from Anwar or they might consider thier options and pull the plug on this alleged sodomy, saying that the boy made up the story. they pay him and pack him off somewhere out of the coutry.

Hahahaa, like that anti-climax lor. If want to do, do it till reach climax or orgasm mah.... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by bexe, July 01, 2008 01:08:23
someone from the opposition should call up Mr Volcker and get the information from him.
written by keris_mudin, July 01, 2008 01:11:07

Finally we may find a good reason to LOVE BUSH -

Another meeting with Bush again shortly, conditions this time -

1) Allow Anwar to run for Parliament
2) Cut the dogs loose to go after the murderers and their associates
3) Step down on Sept 16th

OR ELSE ..... the US, IRAQI and UN DOGS will be set loose ...
written by keris_mudin, July 01, 2008 01:13:31

By the way Anwar is no Saint - but at least it will give PAS, PKR, DAP and all the other potential splinter parties to build up a credible 2nd party. No we don't want UMNO to disappear - we want a clean 2 party system so the wealth can be spread to the common people.
written by temanmu, July 01, 2008 01:23:58
That is the Islam Hadari way of living ... materialism Islam!

Corruption is allowed, as is dealing with mass murderers !

written by Lim Lim, July 01, 2008 01:28:52
another worm coming up??the onslaught is coming.
written by archie, July 01, 2008 01:57:37
Will the Iraqis hang those convicted like Saddam Hussein?
written by Arubin, July 01, 2008 03:32:37
Guys, I would like to point out that this is actually TERRIBLE news.

As much as I would like to see Pak Lah embroiled in an embarrassing lawsuit, we all know what's going to happen. If he has to pay any damages, he will likely force the country to foot it along with the legal expenses...in other words, its the rakyat who will be paying for the HIS transgressions.

Who said Pak Lah was a good man again? Bah...
written by RumahPanjai, July 01, 2008 04:32:02
Karma. Its coming back to haunt the rotten guy. Core value of founder of hadhari....a need to be the most corruptible and a liar by profession will get you a passage to heaven?
written by Naha, July 01, 2008 06:32:44
Remember they made life hell for Kofi Annan because of his his son Kojo's involvement, but failed to find enough evidence to indict Kofi in the end.

However, Malaysia is not the United Nations.

Correct me if I am wrong but Malaysia is a country whose economy has become dependent on foreign investment, while the UN is an organization that cares not about a functional economy for its apparatchiks to be paid salaries as member states pay fees for their stipends.

If Annan and his faction were indicted then, the rest of the UN would continue getting paid. Those who will go after Pak Lah's in-law will be an Iraqi legal and investigative team only by name and answerable to the Iraqi government only on paper - it won't surprise me if they will be actually be Arab Americans drawn from the US State Department, FBI and CIA, who are answerable to a US senatorial committee. In the process of shielding the likes of Haliburton and Blackwater, they will turn their guns on the idiot tinpot dictators first, and the greediest one who paid the biggest kickback of the tune of $10 billion will of course flag up.

When that happens we would indeed be doomed if UMNO is still in power, as our taxes, EPF, investment funds and everything else that has not been already been stolen since Mahathir rose to power as part of the RM330 billion corruption estimated by Morgan Stanley (read http://www.theedgedaily.com/cm...0-57c8d6b6) will be used to pay back what have been stolen from the dying children, never mind what unspeakable economic punitive measures may be brought upon this country either directly or via investors pulling the plug.

Never mind how the rakyat is already suffering from inflation, high fuel and food costs - for we are supposed to be born and bred content serfs in UMNO's merry vision of feudalism (the datuk-datuk bendaharas self-justified vengeance against the English Tuans and Mems) in the garb of democratic pluralist moderate Islamic modernity (geez, what a mouthful - they can't even decide which lie to portray to the world).

So, Anwar, please play a winning hand - at least I'd like a Prime Minister able to make a sensible deal with the coming inquisitors and their military-grade accountants. Please do the following and you will get the support of even a cynic like me:

1. Fulfill your 16th September promise - but I guess you have to be extra nice to DYMM YDP Agong so Pak Lah will not get his way;

2. Freeze the bank accounts of all BN ministers of this and the last regimes, their immediate families and extended families up and down by at least two generations, barring a set minimum daily subsistence stipend per household until they are cleared from (3) below;

3. Fire all existing members of Badan Pencegah Rasuah and appoint new members drawn from reputable NGOs - BUT NOT FROM ANY POLITICAL PARTIES FORMING PAKATAN RAKYAT to stamp out any lingering conflicts of interest;

4. Immediately negotiate extradition treaties with governments of destinations known for welcoming corrupt Malaysian ringgits, such as Australia, Britain, France, Canada etc. Switzerland will be a bit difficult but deal with the money stashed there eventually;

5. Impose a travel ban on persons mentioned in (2) above, and revoke the passports of any caught trying to escape;

6. Despatch loyal soldiers to all border crossings at airports, ports and all known smuggling routes with shoot to disable executive orders against anyone trying to escape or any member of Immigrations, Customs, PDRM or Polis Hutan trying to aid suspects escaping;

7. Conduct investigations and trials for all rakyat to see and read about in such an open manner that will keep a metaphorical hot iron hovering over the hands of known corrupt judiciary unimpeachable by constitution (those that can be booted just boot and replace lah) - fish that managed to get away can be put on trial in absentia;

8. Seize assets, revoke titles and punish promptly. Murderers should be hanged without deals to commute to life imprisonment. Parole from good behaviour is simply not acceptable. Those in absentia to be extradited to serve their sentences;

9. Launch an international legal team to pursue assets locked away in bank accounts, property, bonds, foreign investments etc. It might take a whole lifetime (remember Nazi looted gold?) and not all may be retrievable but this is the rakyat's property we are talking about.

What chance in hell can we see this happening under UMNO ba'athism? Nada, nil, non. The ball is in your court, Anwar, RPK and other whistle blowers out there.
written by Naha, July 01, 2008 06:38:55
Errata:

2. Freeze the bank accounts of all BN ministers of this and the last regimes, their immediate families and extended families up and down by at least two generations, barring a set minimum daily subsistence stipend per household until they are cleared from (7) below;
written by Tom n Jerry, July 01, 2008 07:20:53
I love this NAha!*Freeze the bank accounts of these corrupted BN ministers*GEt an independent judiciary and we,the rakyat want justice for the people! smilies/angry.gif
written by bn haramjadah, July 01, 2008 07:26:55
pak lah here in malaysia you can kao tim the judicary, how to do in the US, SE TINGGI TUPAI MELOMPAT, JATUH KEBUMI JUGA. HAHAHAHAH smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif REMEMBER YOUR DENIELS BEFORE, well let see you lie to the world, with this umno pun tersinkir, ketuanan apa sekarang, ketuanan lobang cacing. bodoh betul, best joke don't even know how to do business while others paythousands, these morons paid billions melayu umno memang bolih, no wonder all your companies always go bangkrupt. if not for umno these guys would be cleaning drains, gate keepers, work for indah water cleaning sewers.
written by Naha, July 01, 2008 07:49:48
Umm, sorry to spoil your appetite people...

written by FFT, July 01, 2008 07:53:57
The single largest bribe came from a Malaysian trading company, Mastek, which paid Iraq $10bn over a prolonged period, the report found.

Oh my, what a big surprise.

Badawi may be the first world leader that is being systematically brought down by a series of in-laws.

Sister-in-law implicated him in oil-for-food scandal, son-in-law was a major reason for BN getting a thrashing and his losing respect in UMNO. Are Malaysian bookies running wagers on whether the next big scandal is going to be linked to his daughter-in-law?
written by loosecannon, July 01, 2008 08:21:34
I'm not exactly a religious person but one can't help getting the feeling that God is casting his eyes at Malaysia this moment to see that justice is done for our poor nation. Hell is going to be one busy place soon.
written by bexe, July 01, 2008 08:35:03
MP's please do your duty. We need to question our PM. He needs to be asked to show cause why he shouldn't step down for this very serious accusation.
At best he has seriously embarrassed us and cannot remain our PM. At worst he must stand trail for this serious crime.
It is not enough for him to make a statement that the UN had cleared him. By asking him to show cause means he has to show that he is indeed cleared. Obviously he has lied again.
written by malaysianohope, July 01, 2008 09:04:18
This PM memang Bodoh Sombong with scandals from his son in-law and sister in-law! Very soon he will be OUT-LAWED!
written by Ben, July 01, 2008 09:07:06
Thank you God for listening to our prayers. Heal our nation make us whole again.

Cleanse Malaysia, Free Malaysia, Renew our spirit Lord. Draw us from this darkness. From the endless reminders of my past.

Everywhere we look we see your beauty, The glory of your face, but if you love us so, how can one so precious, seemingly fall from grace? Just when we fall through the cracks, we're caught in the net of you mercy, Your blood covers me.

Cause when we fall through the cracks, we're caught in the net of your mercy,
You rescue us. Your love covers me and I'm cleansed by your blood. It would appear that we've fallen from your graces, so we cry out,we shout your name and we've found you again.

Beauty surronds me, Why can't we see,This love we're caught in, and the blood that cleansed us. Oh Lord, Your blood covers us, Make us whole again. Make Malaysia whole again. Amen.
written by budakindia, July 01, 2008 09:20:22
that includes you too abdullah! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by astina, July 01, 2008 10:20:16
sue sue ..jangan tak sue....
make sure everyone involved directly and indirectly including sons& son in law are implicated .
never let them kow-tim the case... smilies/grin.gif
written by astina, July 01, 2008 10:21:58
am wondering if there will be a frequent flyer program to USA for the new plane ..
must kow-tim ole uncle George ma .. smilies/wink.gif
written by cheemengwong, July 01, 2008 10:31:39
Islam Hadhari....

I am very glad that Selangor and Perak decide to end Hadhari.

Wrong teachings results in wrong thinking
Teachings that came from the PM, aka the The Thing
All falsehood, good to hear but it is nothing
Food for Oil, Corruption, money bring!
Affects many, keeps on lying and sleeping
those who practices his teaching
will surely regret it and die cursing.

Come on. Crack Lah.
written by ultraman, July 01, 2008 11:06:46
"The single largest bribe came from a Malaysian trading company, Mastek, which paid Iraq $10bn over a prolonged period, the report found"

Malaysia Boleh! We must be proud of those corrupts for putting Malaysia on world map!
We can't do it in the field of Education! We flop badly in sports! We are left behind in economy! FDI also shunning us like lepers! Cannot tunjuk yto the world our capability la!
But we can teach them a bit how to corrupt la!!! Ha!Ha! We have lots of talented corrupts!!!