M'sian edu system...good enough for all of us Malaysians? PDF Print
Monday, 30 June 2008 00:03

Wow, Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak's children are academically smart. Congratulations on your succes. However, it seems like both of them did not sit for SPM.

By Boon Yeng

Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammudin Tun Hussein's son is doing O levels and will be going off to the United Kingdom this coming September to further his studies.

Our Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak's daughter, Nooryana Najwa has been accepted into Georgetown University in Washington DC to read politics and international relations after doing her IB (International Baccalaureate).

Wow, Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak's children are academically smart. Congratulations on your succes. However, it seems like both of them did not sit for SPM. Before doing her IB, Nooryana had her education in Garden International School. Najib's son, Norashman Razak had his education there too .

But Garden International School bases its curriculum on the National Curriculum of England. It teaches the English National Curriculum through Key Stages 1 to 4 and Cambridge 'A' Level.

Datuk Seri Najib and Datuk Seri Hishamuddin are cousins. Their fathers were our former Education Ministers. Datuk Seri Najib's father, Tun Abdul Razak, the second Prime Minister of Malaysia, was the education minister in 1955. Datuk Seri Hishamuddin's father, Tun Hussein Onn, our third Prime Minister, was the education minister in 1969. Fast forward, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak became our Education Minister in 1995-1999.

Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein is our current Education Minister. Well, there goes the saying, 'like father, like son' Hishamuddin's son and Najib's kids did not follow the Malaysian Education System (so I doubt they sat for UPSR, PMR or SPM) though they come from an ancestry of Education Ministers. Both of their grandfathers were former education ministers, one's father was the education minister and is now the Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia while the other's father is the current education minister.

So why weren't Datuk Seri Najib and Datuk Seri Hishamuddin's children following the Malaysian Education System??

Were our DPM and current Education Minister trying to be kind to not let the government subsidize their kids' education by sending their offsprings to a private school instead of national schools??

Or is it that both Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein do not have confidence in the Malaysian Education System because it is too crap that they had to sent their kids to a private school which follows the English National Curriculum so that their offsprings would not be screwed up by the already-screwed-up education system in Malaysia?

Which is which?? I do not know but I am apt to think that the latter prevails.

*SIGH* So much for being a kind and compassionate minister. If the Malaysian Education System is not good enough, then do something to improve it. After all, that is under your portfolio.

But if the education system is not crap and of quality and standard like what you and your counterparts have mentioned countless times

('Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi tidak bercadang untuk mengadakan peperiksaan yang sama untuk kemasukan ke universiti kerana sistem meritokrasi dan kepelbagaian kemasukan ke universiti yang diamalkan oleh Kementerian Penggajian Tinggi sekarang mampu menghasilkan graduan yang berkualiti. Ini kerana program STPM dan Matrikulasi mempunyai kandungan khusus dan hasil pembelajaran (learning outcomes) yang setara iaitu untuk menyediakan pelajar bagi memperoleh pengetahuan asas yang cukup sebelum memasuki program pengajian Ijazah Pertama' -taken from the Minister of Higher Education of Malaysia's written reply to YB Loke Siew Fook of Rasah's Question 24 for the first 13th parliament sitting),

then why didn't your kids go through it?? Why didn't your kids go through SPM, then Matriculations or STPM before gaining admission to Uni. After all, matrics and STPM have the potential to produce quality graduates, right??

How does the current government expect us to have faith in our Malaysian Education System when the DPM and current education minister did not even put their kids through it??

Nevertheless, like the owner of szejia.com , I'm PROUD to say that I went through the crappy(???) Malaysian Education System from Primary 1 until Form 6 and I sat for UPSR, PMR, SPM and STPM.

I was the guinea pig batch for the teaching of Science and Math in English for Lower 6. Like all Form 5 students today, I memorized the 36 'nilai moral' and their definitions VERBATIM to get through my SPM Moral paper with an A2 (that was 6 years ago and until today, things haven't change from what I can see). And no, memorizing those nilais did not in any way make me a more virtuous person. All it did is make me hate the syllabus and subject more and negate all feelings of doing good deeds.

Should I want my kids to be a victim of this screwed-up education system in future?? I don't know... Maybe yes. Maybe no... After all, my friends and I didn't turn out that bad after going through the crappy education system. And in time to come, I'm sure we will all be successful people in our respective careers

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by twg19492008, June 30, 2008 00:09:59
Sdr Boon Yeng

A case of

" Do what I tell U to do...
BUT Don't Do what I do "

malaysia boleh

my two cents worth

haji muhammad abdullah @ tan wah guan
written by denkoh, June 30, 2008 00:16:19
They will send their kids to good school with good education systems. The education system in malaysia is to train ppl to become obedient slaves to the umno systems.
i wonder why their kids learnt everything in english while the education minister implement all syllabus in BM.
You know why? i do.. if their kids can't excel to compete, they make sure our kids are stupid so can't compete either. this is a classic example of staying ahead not by improving but by weakening others. Where is the development then you may ask... There will be none... 50 years and we are still stuck between 3rd world and developing or trying to develop.
written by kupas, June 30, 2008 00:30:15
Their children would be our masters once they graduated. Our children will continuously be their slaves. Our education system is designed such that our children would continously not to question their bosses and do thier biddings. This is also the reason why they do not want our children to read and write english fluently.
Just look around the GLCs. All these UMNO bigwigs -their children and cronies despite their incompetencies are heading depts and divisions. Their salaries are way above market rates. Reporting to them are the work horses - the gap in the remunerations is something we have to ponder.
This scenario will persist in the future unless we stop it now.
written by kupas, June 30, 2008 00:30:15
Their children would be our masters once they graduated. Our children will continuously be their slaves. Our education system is designed such that our children would continously not to question their bosses and do thier biddings. This is also the reason why they do not want our children to read and write english fluently.
Just look around the GLCs. All these UMNO bigwigs -their children and cronies despite their incompetencies are heading depts and divisions. Their salaries are way above market rates. Reporting to them are the work horses - the gap in the remunerations is something we have to ponder.
This scenario will persist in the future unless we stop it now.
written by shissun, June 30, 2008 00:31:08
This is our malaysian leader's mentality lor. Force the poor guy like us to suck up with their poor-quality product while they waste our tax money to provide the best for their own.... BASTARD NATIONAL!!!!
written by RitchieLow, June 30, 2008 00:35:56
So called bolehland masters all pay lip service only in all they do. Build this , 2020 that, 1 million for this, 400 million for that, buy buy buy, we must do this, we must do that. In the end.. all are just read my lips, don't see what i do. After all these years, how much had really changed except more concrete in places where trees used to stand.
written by Motherchell, June 30, 2008 00:36:18
Good write up, Boon Yeng! , Im as fed up and sick to even think about what the UMNOPUTRAS do to this Country. Who says they are doing us charity by not taking the subsidy ---- they actually take directly from the Nations coffers .WHO can quetion them ???

They want the citizens to be docile , so what the sylabbi is ,is good to keep them away from their agenda. The umnoputras dont need thinkers , they just need Mat Rempits!! They are not actually elected as they cheat their way thro at every elections .

I HOPE the locals realize how they are being manupilated to enrich the Umnoputras . We as parents crack our heads day in a day out to see what best we could do to send our kids to the U. But these guys born with silver bullets -- not just spoons ---- know the ways to rob the Nation dry in the name of race and bigotry unlimited . they think taking a pilgrimage once a year cleanses their sins.

They should take a walk thro , hospitals , schools, bus interchanges and see for themselves their creations of the systematic destruction of their own people.
written by denkoh, June 30, 2008 00:45:07
If our kids get the same kind of education their kids get, how are these selfish ministers going to differentiate their kids from ours. Remember, they thought their kids will be future PM. So they come out with a 'look good but no substance' education system for our kids...to make sure there will never be a level playing ground.. But thank God, we malaysians are a capable lot. although armed with a sub-standard upsr,srp,pmr,spm,stpm..we still boleh.
written by Msian 2, June 30, 2008 00:53:23
To see how good they are they could should sit for the ASEAN scholarship tests done in KL. S'pore Univ has top rate standards. See what kind of scores they get. Anyway these guys know the education system in M'sia has tons of flaws and it is NOT GOOD ENOUGH for their kids. PERIOD. Talk one thing & doing it differently is our Minister's gifted virtues for the rakyat.
written by InEffective, June 30, 2008 00:56:54

Old practice of denying critical thinking in our education system - mental indoctrination and brain-washing to ensure the masses are subservient and follow the politician's self-serving interests.

I think the rakyat should demand that all politicians send their children to local govertment schools. Make it a condition of accepting a politician or governing office - guarantee you the schools will uplift their standards.

Wonder if malaysian parents are aware and recognize the deterioration of standards, and the impacts on their children with its long-lasting effects.
written by MalaysianUnited, June 30, 2008 01:20:40
Boon Yeng,

Apa yang anda katakan memang betul. Kenapa mereka sendiri tidak melalui dasar pendidikan negara?..

Biasalah tu orang kaya..mana lagi nak hantar ke sekolah2 biasa ini.. smilies/smiley.gif
written by educationist, June 30, 2008 01:20:47
Good of you to put into the public domain what many rakyat have suspected.
And if someone will do the necessary homework , a long list of our VIP's children getting their education overseas will turn up.
Ah but I remember Anwar's daughter, she was educated at a local varsity.
So, yes, much can be done to improve our education system but it will not see the light of day with the present administration.
written by westport, June 30, 2008 01:24:22
Bodowi must sack this two ass holes as they are traitors to the so called dasar pendidikan negara
written by zul4kulim, June 30, 2008 01:28:07
Najib did not go to local schools from day one...http://1426.********.com/2008/...where.html
written by raven1958, June 30, 2008 01:39:44
Grow up mannnnn....these morons bermaharajalela only because you let them......just change jalan maharajalela back to jalan birch and send these lanuns back to their kampongs.....they steal from you and all you can do is write a letter....sheeshhhh......
written by Steven Tan, June 30, 2008 01:43:33
Well, nowadays Politic is something like a "Family Business" and on top of that it's another way of making tonnes of money. So they're "investing" by getting their family members ready to take over the baton from them soon or later..... Simple logic rite!!!!!!! Anyone can come out with better explanation????

If I'm not mistaken there are more than 60,0000 local university graduates jobless in Malaysia and one of the main reason why they couldn't get a suitable job is because their command in english is very poor.....

So this one reason is already good enough to give a clearer picture and to put a full stop on the arguement whether to teach science and maths in Bahasa Malaysia or in English.
written by Loonie, June 30, 2008 01:46:45
The fact that our politicians' children get their education overseas is not news to me and my husband. We immigrated to Canada for the sake of our children's education 15 years ago and we made the right choice for them. My daughter has just graduated from IB and is entering university in Vancouver this fall. My son will be entering his IB program soon - all for free. Where can we get such opportunities in Malaysia? We would have to pay through our noses to get anything outside the Malaysian education system back home, even though we were making a combined income of MR8,000/month 15 years ago. I have never seen anyone with such a steely resolve like my husband - he was scrubbing tyres, delivering mail/pizza, ventured into small businesses (which failed too), you name it, he tried it. But today, when I look back, it is all worth it. We are treated as equals here - no more Malay, Chinese or Indian category.
written by FFT, June 30, 2008 01:48:16
Are you really surprised?

I have been saying time and again, that UMNO has systematically structured the Malaysian education system to ensure that there will never be a critical mass of critical thinkers among the Malaysian population. It is an exercise in social engineering to produce idiots on a mass-production scale.

Don't get me wrong...there are many bright kids who go through the system....precisely, in spite of it. But the downside is available for all to see...you won't have the phenomenon of bohsias, rempits, etc on such a large scale if UMNO's goal wasn't to cultivate morons.

Additionally, who exactly do you think is footing the bill for Najib's kids' school fees at the private schools? It's all your tax dollars. And with people like Najib having 7 kids (few from his old marriage), you can see how these UMNO honchos breed and produce many more parasites who suck at the country's blood.
written by Loonie, June 30, 2008 01:50:02
Hey folks, those of you back home may want to try doing some university courses through distance learning. Why not use technology when it's available? That way, this stupid government will not be able to contain us in their little "box" and hope that we will stay stupid enough to be manipulated in furtherance of their power and greed! God bless true Malaysians!!!!
written by temanmu, June 30, 2008 02:23:15
Those are talk crap Ministers... typical UMNO hypocrites.

They steal our money and send it and their kids abroad... just bandits in suits!
written by Sabahfan, June 30, 2008 02:44:09
Mr Kupas, totallly agree with u.

We all have knowledge and experiences those appointed by UMNO leaders to lead the GLC knows only how to sign papers prepared by others, and scold all his subbodinate so that they dont realise you have a stupid boss...

Take the biggest GLC in malaysia...TNB formerly Lembaga Letrik Negara...

who are the CEOs? UMNO appointed young idiots all fat faces from overeating from high salary..

Now this Che Khalib of TNB wants 100% increase in salary while all tnb workers suffering from the latest price hike and inflation...

and what magic of corporate nature has this Che khalib done? NOTHING.

look at TNB shares, all dropping like a stone, with no confidence from their leadership and UMNO shit leadership.

How does that justify their big salaries?

Same for all other GLC

Now as per the children of UMNO, they dont attend the National service either, they are groomed to be the future masters while all the rest of our children are groom to be their slaves and workhorses....

being educated in the stupid bahasa language which keep changing faster than i can change my underwear...
written by miwaki, June 30, 2008 04:54:59
It is not so much about the quality of malaysian education that najib and hishammudin are worried about since they already knew our standard has no standard.Both are more concerned about English of their kids since Najib and Hisham both speak broken English and they do not want their kids to speak the way they speak !
written by Arubin, June 30, 2008 05:24:46
written by apasalahku, June 30, 2008 | 04:57:07
after 40 years of the same yoke, you brainless delta class peasants are only bitching about it now

FYI, I've been bitching about this from the moment I became politically aware, and that was midway through high school when I wasn't even old enough to vote.

written by krising1, June 30, 2008 06:16:18
The UMNOputras ensure that they children will remain UMNOputras with an English education. The other bumis will remain under the conrtol of the UMNOputras because they cannot speak English. They can be ketua kampongs only. This is how UMNOputras ensure their dominance.
written by partiotic, June 30, 2008 06:55:18
I know of a malay girl who works as a sweeper in an office. She has form five education. I asked her why did she not get an office job. She told me that she can't read english.

Dear fellow malaysian education minister, deputy MP of malaysia don't even have faith in our education system.They send their children to International school.You mati you punya pasil.

Dear fellow malaysian Pekatan Rakyat had promise to review the education system in malaysia when they form the next government of malaysia. Support PK at for the sake of our children, our grand children, our great grand children and so on.
written by Ahjamal, June 30, 2008 07:21:33
Najib and Hishamudin should immediate leave as Ministers. They dont trust and honour Malaysian education system means they are not Malaysian. I will suggest to both of them to give us a show-cause letter why they must be Malaysian in 30 days just like they gave to SAPP. They think it is them that are mighty and powerful my foot they are.
written by temenggong, June 30, 2008 07:23:09
The malay elite provide an english medium education for their children with 'O' Level examinations, then off overseas for western degrees. Most successful malay intelligentsia today including Azly Rahman, Din Merican, rpk, etc, are from such education. Thats why they are different from the rest of the malay hoi polloi.

Whereas BN/malay elite provide the malays with a malay medium education with mediocre watered down exams like SPM and Metriculation, then off to even more mediocre local uni. On top of that they try and pull the chinese and indians too out from their vernacular schools to keep them down too along with the malays.

Until the malay population realises their folly and demand english medium education for their children, just like the malay elite, their backwardness will continue. Until such time chinese and indians should stay away from malay medium govt schools. If not for the chinese and tamil schools the education system in Malaysia would have been 'total mediocrity'. The efforts of the vernacular protagonists should be lauded.

BN/malay political policies has always been to run down and weaken any institutions that are an alternative to malay institutions.
written by lamakawan, June 30, 2008 07:40:21
You are absolutely correct , labisman. The education system was screwed up by Najib, then Hishamudin continued in his footsteps and followed blindly what Najib and his father had drafted. How could you expect them to send their kids to our education system when they are designing the education system for us whom they considered cannot be allowed to be more knowledgeable than their offsprings. Its because if we know more than their kids, then their kids will not be able to control us. They want to be sure they continue to run the country as their dynasty. Shame on you Najib and Hishamudin. This is 21st century. We are not fools any more. We cannot allow UMNO/BN to rule this country for another 50 years. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
written by oct, June 30, 2008 07:41:31
Look on the bright side. Their children didn't compete for any scholarship. If they were in the Govt school, they would have been offered scholarships and two good students would be denied.
On the other hand, they forgot that the rakyat have been complaining that the education system sucks. They know our education is rojak. Yet for political mileage they would rather sacrifice the majority for the minority. As long as their children has an edge over the majority, they know that they can continue the Ketuanan Melayu concept along their blood line.
We have been suckers all the while. Lets not be suckers for the children sake. Have the political will to change for the better once and for all else we shall be in 4th world mentality and unable to compete with the rest of the world.
written by gctham, June 30, 2008 07:49:23
What should those idiot implement a good education system for all masses? If so they will not be able to create elite show parents have the resources to take up courses in England or US, and come back to take up high post and continue those stupid policy. It is no the matter they did not known the sub standards of our education system, they know too well just because this system suit their needs.

All datuk and tan sri fellows children are attending international school and going for further studies else where. That the solid proof of our edu system
written by Tompios, June 30, 2008 08:03:53
This is something I cannot understand. As a Malaysian, I need to finish 13 years elementary-lower/middle high school-upper higher school and end up going to University when age reach 21 years old. Compare to some other countries such USA,Indonesia, Thailand, Myanmar 12 years, England & Phillipines only 10 years, and many more.

Malaysian proud themselves when talking about period study for 13 years before entering any colleges or Universities. But, as for me, now I realize that it is wasting of my time. I will not send my children to finish their form sixs in Malaysia since most the Universities in oversea accept SPM to enter their college. Reason is, two years in college is more profitable then two years in Pre-University system in Malaysia. My son will finish their BA when comes to age 21 years old. In the meantime, his fellows that went through form sixs will only finish when they reach at least 24 years old. Two years different!

Education system in Malaysia are really make people suffered. Our education director knows about this and this is why he is not let his children take to much time in Malaysian education system. Bloodisfool!
written by rockli, June 30, 2008 08:29:39
They knew our education system is screwed up so why hinder their children education.
After SPM and even University, post grads can't even fill in a form to apply for th position in ENGLISH.
With the English stds so very low in schools n academics Malaysians of now n future generations are too backward to confront international the arena.
There will be few Scientists, Mathematicians, Physicists of future.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 30, 2008 08:48:06
On reflection I wonder what our Education minister knows about education!Perhaps he knows that we must get many A*s for all the certificates that come along in due course!But what is sadly lacking is Sex education!Many Malaysians dont even know what sex education is!This is because our education system does not cover sex education!Such an important topic totally ignored inMalaysian schools!
How pathetic!Where do our children learn sex ?Mostly from the pornographic sites on the web!Thats why we come up with a new generation of people who are willing to sell their *pantat* to UMNO for millions of ringgit!Saiful is a glaring example! Blame the education system for not highlighting to him that we have an anus for a reason!Its meant for excretion of waste matter not used by the physical body!Bu tto Saiful he thinks its meant for someone*s dick!Sunggoh menjijikan! smilies/angry.gif
written by budakindia, June 30, 2008 09:58:09
malulah! smilies/angry.gif send your children to your masters back! Is UMNO really fights for the Malays? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by benjo, June 30, 2008 10:02:16
Who the hell are these guys to decide on what is good for the people or masses. Well, good for the people who still can vote them in as their and our leaders. Unfortunatley, our children are in it too. It will be a good idea to see how their childrens' education was and is being funded.
written by Al Ambia, June 30, 2008 10:36:03
I am very sure this not the only idiot who send their son oversea.Could be many more.look at the rest of the bumi.All stagnant because of this system.
written by aimmsia, June 30, 2008 11:04:27
Our country's education system is run by a bunch of crooks and cronies who are illiterate, incompletent and selfish. They don't love this country and the people, specially their own people - the Malay. Look at what they have done during the past decades - MAKING MALAYSIA'S EDUCATION STANDARD FAR BEHIND SINGAPORE, THAILAND, TAIWAN, HONGKONG, CHINA, KOERA.

How many Malay can survive well in the international market without the government's assistance? These ministers are sending their children to English speaking countries for further education simply because they know we have a lousy system and standard.
written by slash n burn, June 30, 2008 11:07:16
Try STPM art stream
1. Pengajian Am - Subject on puji memuji UMNO
2. Sejarah Islam - Military warfare
3. Economics - Pendapatan tolak perbelanjaan campur perbelanjaan berhemah UMNO
4. Bahasa Melayu - Ketuanan Melayu UMNO
5. Geography - Singapura adalah Tanah Melayu
What the hell!!
written by Tom n Jerry, June 30, 2008 15:12:16
to phrase it very simply our education system is fit for the*babi&anjing*Even Najib & Hishamudin alsoo agree but they dont speak up because their *nenek moyangs*also involved in this system donkey years ago!As the saying goes*bapa borek,anak rintik*very true,tepat sekali!I always advise my family and friends to homeschool their children;today they are all outstanding students in the international arena! smilies/smiley.gif
written by onnetline, June 30, 2008 17:33:42
Let's hope that these 2 UMNOputras's children are already smart enough to know that they have double-standards parents who are also ' rubbish ' to the Malaysian educated society.

If not, the rakyat will have to toil a whole lot more to feed these ' born with a golden spoon in the mouth ' idiotic kids when their UMNOputras parents are still in office.

Don't forget, we have our ex-Dictator, ToonDM to thank for this too! And just look at the amount of money that is holding the family together today. I'm impressed !

written by Rainforest, June 30, 2008 23:22:33
Off course the Malaysian Education system is good for all Malaysian except that they are not good enough for the children of all the big shots in the BN government. Their children only go to International school where they follow the UK Education system which the BN Government abolished way back in the end 1960's/early 1970's. They say it's bad for Malaysian to study English and they fool the Malays by telling them that they are protecting the Malay language!! But today they lament that the standard of English of Malaysian students in the Universities are bad, who are responsible? They make all of us study in Malay and if anyone were to suggest English, they will be shouted down as traitors. The real reason is so that when their children are back from UK/US, they will be able to control the country, then their parents can retire. The whole nation have been force into an education system that the Education Minister himself won't even send his our children to go through it.
written by prof, July 01, 2008 16:52:39
Najib and Hishamuddin won't send their children to Malaysia of course because both have contributed to the destruction of the education system of the country. Definitely the two cannot send their children to Mongolia either because of you know what and Mongolians have begun to hate us Malaysians for the disappearance of one of their beautiful citizens!