MCA's top two leaders to step down PDF Print
Sunday, 29 June 2008 10:50

Announcement comes three months after party's dismal showing in general election

President Ong Ka Ting and his deputy Chan Kong Choy said they will not defend their posts at the party polls in October.

The two top leaders of Malaysia's biggest Chinese party yesterday announced plans to step down at the next party polls, three months after the party floundered in the March 8 elections.

Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) president Ong Ka Ting and his deputy Chan Kong Choy said they will not defend their posts at the party polls in October.

'It is not a hurried decision but one that I have deliberated on at great length after much consultations,' said Datuk Seri Ong, 52.

Explaining his move, he said leaders should not hold on to their positions for too long.

'It has been my political approach that a leader should not hold on to the position for too long. My decision is a natural progression to what I have always advocated,' he told The Star newspaper.

Mr Ong, who joined MCA in 1979 when he was just 23, had himself amended the MCA's Constitution in 2003 to limit the party chief to three terms. He is serving his second term and could have gone on to a third.

'The party grassroots generally understand the current political situation and trends. They want to see a transition and strategy change in MCA in the light of the current difficult challenges ahead. This (party election) is the starting point for the transition,' he was quoted by online paper Malaysiakini as saying.

With the exit of the MCA's two top leaders, the likely front runners to replace them are vice-president Ong Tee Keat, the Transport Minister, secretary-general Ong Ka Chuan, the Local Government Minister, as well as MCA Youth chief and Health Minister Liow Tiong Lai.

They could also face competition from former vice-presidents Chua Jui Meng and Chua Soi Lek, the former health minister who stepped down after a sex video scandal earlier this year.

Yesterday's announcement came as the party struggles to rebuild confidence in the wake of its dismal performance in the general election, when it lost 25 of the 40 parliamentary seats it contested.

The MCA was also rocked by scandals around that time. There was Dr Chua's sex video scandal before the election, and Mr Ong himself was accused after the polls of spying on rival party leaders. He was later cleared of the charges.

The party chief's move to step down came as a surprise to some, although others have been calling for his resignation after the March polls.

The former Housing and Local Government minister said the election results showed that the Chinese community was sending a strong message to the party.

'Certainly, the results showed the need for all of us to reflect and rethink what has taken place,' he said. 'As party president, I must take responsibility for the results.'

Deputy president Chan said he also would not seek re-election, but added he was waiting for the right time to make an official announcement.

Bernama, The Star/Asia News Network

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by loosecannon, June 29, 2008 10:56:57
Who the shit cares? They are all the same bunch of Umno running dogs. It's only a matter of which breed and which one can bark louder when commanded by its master.
written by binarytan, June 29, 2008 10:58:04
Go away the two guys from MCA and no sympathy from all of our Chinese community, only Sin Chew still said bit sory. What sorry, one is the silence presedent, typical running dog for UMNO while the other one is big crocodile on big project.

All of us know that MCA has failed the Chinese society and it is irrelevant to represent us.
written by cwy, June 29, 2008 11:02:03
Ong is a lousy leader, he stammers and mumbles in his speech.
He made his way up to be thepresident of MCA through carrying the suitecase of Lim Liong Sik. He has to step down simply because lacking in leadership. Chang looks more like a capable leader but he is involved in the scandel of North Klang Free Trade Zone. He has also to step down with the 'excuse' that he has health problems. MCA has betrayed the Malaysian Chinese by supporting the 'Ketuanan Melayu'.
written by temenggong, June 29, 2008 11:13:00
It makes no difference. OKT is saying this now because he knows a few MCA MPs are going to cross over to PR.

MCA will not come back to power for the next 20 years. There is nothing left in MCA, so he is not contesting!
written by MsiaCTzen, June 29, 2008 11:13:10
Good Riddance to Bad RubbishGood escape plan.

MCA leader out. Samy what are going to do?
written by partiotic, June 29, 2008 11:51:41
Both of them, OKT and CKC see no more future in MCA better chabut. Port Klang land problem, CKC thought better chabut.
written by gctham, June 29, 2008 11:57:47
One down another one yet to go if MCA is to see its light.
written by joejoe, June 29, 2008 12:07:37
Very smart move. Unlike their UMNO masters, these lap dogs knows when to ride off into the sunset and enjoy their riches which they have amassed. I think they are also witness to the dirty politics that goes on in top secret meetings to discuss how to rape the people. If they stayed any longer, they know they will become the opposition very soon.

So better tuck their tails between their legs and call it quits -- and enjoy their riches !!
written by kangkbkeat, June 29, 2008 12:12:38
no matter what at least they make they right choice by stepping down soon,unlike the others politicians that tak tau mau berenti even have been asked by many to go but still tak reti reti jugak
written by miwaki, June 29, 2008 12:12:51
When your job is on top of you,it is better you resign and let people with the wisdom to do it.Anyway,it is better if MCA is dissolved so that Malaysia can progress with one racial party out of the scene.

Ka Ting and Kong Choi are dispensable and their departure from MCA do not contribute any adverse effects to this useless party.We Chinese Malaysians shed no tears.
written by soonlow, June 29, 2008 12:49:02
Changing leadership will not solve the problem.We used to vote for MCA but we vote for the opposition at the last PRU because of arrogant and corrupted Umno.As long MCA are with BN, we will not vote for MCA for the future PRU.
written by Ninja, June 29, 2008 12:56:50
Malaysian Chinese Asslickers. Betrayer of the Chinese race. Looks after self interest and not for the community.
The Chinese do not need MCA. Each and every leaders in MCA have gathered enough wealth for themselves. They are nothing but UMNO Balls carrier. So is MIC.
MIC, MCA ...M O U S E!!!!
written by PAKRAK, June 29, 2008 13:59:16
...a leader should not hold on to his position for too long...
...I must take responsibility for the general election results...

Brilliantly said Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting.
And this is sound advice for BN leaders like...Ahmad Abdullah Badawi, Najib Razak, Samy Vellu, Koh Tsu Khoon and a host of others who are still stubborn.
written by Aaron R, June 29, 2008 14:02:44
Nobody gives a shit. MCA is irrelevant.
written by wongnoball, June 29, 2008 14:19:48
That is a very good example and lesson for being toilet tissue of UMNO.
written by sampalee, June 29, 2008 14:29:43
Compare to pak-dah,he is doing an honourable thing.Pak-dah should take note and learn.
written by teohpg, June 29, 2008 14:30:22
The SNOOP SQUAD is real.....
written by Panglima Gantang, June 29, 2008 14:32:30
Pairin Kitingan, mighty PBS President - Is this not the message for you. Unless you have amended PBS's constitution to allow you to be President for life then you should quit now.Even Mahathir has stopped, though he must now be regretting his decision to quit as UMNO President, and there is no reason for you to continue 'leading' considering your total failure to protect Sabah and even your own KDM people.

Have you no 'MARUAH'ka? Quit and quit politics now so that new people can take over.
written by Chaptokam, June 29, 2008 15:16:11
written by temenggong
MCA will not come back to power for the next 20 years. There is nothing left in MCA, so he is not contesting!

Dear temenggong ,
Politically , MCA has to reinvent itself to stay alive .Bad ,corrupted, irresponsible, power crazy leaders has to go irrespective of where or which party they are from , they can be from BN or even from PR .You will always find rotten apples in one basket , similarly you also find bad apples in all religions as they are born humans and cannot stand the temptations .

On our part if our leaders fall into that category , it is our duty to remove them and we will not leave any stone unturn to accomplish our vision . MCA will definetly come back as like all living things they evolve to the different conditions to survive . Thats evolution and it also applies here .The main factor that contributed to the disasterous showing has now bow out as is better from him to exit gracefully rather than be forced or voted out . And that would have been history of a MCA President being voted OUT .Ka Ting knew from his tours that he has lost support and everywhere he went he was whacked left and right in the dialogues with the members .

And for your info there is certainly lots of things left in MCA rather than nothing left in MCA . Assets hold under MCA is in the billions from owning Star Publications , some portions in Nanyang , Sin Chew , China Press , MCA HQ alone is worth a couple of hundred millions , TAR colledge , UTAR , maybe some listed companies that was torn out from Multi-Purposes Sdn Bhd etc etc etc

Hopefully very soon you shall see the change . I expect to see three main key players , Chua Jui Meng , Chua Soi Lek and Ong Tee Keat .

ONE DOWN , ONE MORE TO GO.
written by taufan, June 29, 2008 16:10:40
This is a fine example of 'accountable leaders'!

Will those 'jokers' in MIC and UMNO dare to do the same as what ONG and CHAN have done?
written by semut, June 29, 2008 16:31:50
only MORON stays with BN!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by Lim Lim, June 29, 2008 16:41:37
could mca then able to change their political horizon n jump off from the existing rotten frame without umno showing willingness to change their narrow racist mindset??doubt,big doubt!
written by kksam, June 29, 2008 18:25:04
wait, this is a clever attempt by OKT to let his brother in charge right. If they are really serious then not only the top two but Ong Ka Chuan as well, if not don't ever dream MCA is clean.
written by kksam, June 29, 2008 18:27:04
it's been clear from the start he is dragging his brother up, who knew his brother if not for him to bring him up. Just another sandiwara like when Ling liong sik step down.
written by sampalee, June 29, 2008 18:29:13
There is no need to leave bn.Just make sure that umno is expelled from bn and bn can rival PR with control in Sabah and Sarawak
written by temanmu, June 29, 2008 19:25:28
MCA does not need to exist!
written by ganbing, June 29, 2008 20:24:56
Ong Ka Ting is smart to step aside and let someone else be the eunuch leader. He is feeling the heat and needs to take a break to grow back some balls.
written by Semut Jantan, June 29, 2008 20:42:13
Give them "TUN" ships, both will remain life-long members of MCA. Defect, what defect? Pakatan, don't wish.
written by amran3669, June 29, 2008 21:00:39
DAJJAL TELAH MEMAINKAN FITNAH AKHIR ZAMAN!!! INILAH GOLONGAN PUAK YAKJUJ MAKJUJ
written by peace brother, June 29, 2008 22:11:29
Hope they don't change tune when october lol smilies/cheesy.gif
written by harryo, June 29, 2008 22:48:02
Ong and Kong, I respect both of you. Thanks to you but do not work behind the screen. Let it be open contest for the top posts. The Chinese are fed up with you playing a second fiddle to UMNO by not facing the realities of the community on education, economy, social problems and generally the future which is at stake. Now we feel free that no more snoop squad will exist and probably the Chuas can make a come back, who have some backbone to speak out. Good for you and good for the community. Take a good rest.
written by Hello Keithy, June 29, 2008 23:12:35
Ong & Kong, Kong & Ong, Ong & Ong, whatever! One name suits them best - "Shoe Shine Boys". Might as well turn MCA into an event-organising group since they are so good at karaoke and cooking classes for the "Ah Sohs". Make no difference who's leading the pack. He/She still has to report to UMNO. And Ka Ting, please tell your older brother not to even dream about it.
written by InEffective, June 29, 2008 23:17:06

MCA has been the enabling force of exerting pressure on the Chinese businesses and firmms via the use of 'licenses'.

And now the licenses are getting bolder, more pervasive, with creeping revenue-share-for-free.

MCA subservience and mindless allegiance-to-authority will sell-off all the chinese rights and freedoms.

"Those who trading off their rights and freedoms for security and safety will eventually land up with neither - Plato"
written by asiana888, June 29, 2008 23:23:45
Good luck, guys!

At least you fellas have the sense to not contest and hopefully retire with whatever little respect you still have amongst the Chinese community.

I can't say that about your Indian counterpart. No shame and still wants to act like he is the boss even after losing his own parlimentary seat. Podah!

Happy retirement, guys!
written by fireduck, June 30, 2008 00:48:53
Not important news lah, but the STAR was SHOCK-ed by it.

Anyway, MCA is irrelevant in the new political landscape. I don't see any change in the composition and direction of the party as there is still people like Ong Ka Chui, Liow Tiow Lai, and Ayam Chong. No sir, MCA ain't gonna change.

There is a glimmer of hope if Ong Tee Keat takes over but in order for MCA to rejuvenate itself into relevance, it must get rid of the name and call itself something else, something that is more inclusive and not race based. This is my honest advice to you, Tee Keat.
written by AntiBN, June 30, 2008 02:00:03

Who cares about MCA anyway?

Come on guys, don't let this OTK fool you. This is just another of his dirty tactics to make way for his brother to take over, just like how he did not accept the ministership the last time so that his brother could take over.

I just hope that these 2 Ong brothers will be buried forever. They look so pathetic I wanna puke the moment I see either one of their faces. Doesnt MCA have more capable and more charismatic leader anymore?
written by Loonie, June 30, 2008 02:55:30
move on, MCA, join PR and relearn some useful political skills. Don't remain in BN and be the slaves please! God bless Malaysians!
written by Loonie, June 30, 2008 02:58:28
by the way, antiBN may be right. How different can OTK's brother be coming from the same roots? Only God knows where the Chinese community is heading to...sigh....!
written by Chaptokam, June 30, 2008 10:12:42
Correction
AntiBN and Loonie it should be OKT not OTK

written by Keribang, June 30, 2008 16:46:45
i dont give a rat ass!but pak lah u should join these two clowns