Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PAS leader slams Khalid and Guan Eng

PAS leader slams Khalid and Guan Eng PDF Print
Saturday, 28 June 2008 10:55

PETALING JAYA: A PAS leader has hit out at the leadership styles of Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

Terengganu PAS commissioner Datuk Mustafa Ali said he did not want to criticise his Pakatan Rakyat colleagues but felt he had to have his say now that they had “opened a Pandora's box”.

Mustafa said Khalid should behave as a Mentri Besar and not as a chief executive officer of a company when he suspended his special officer Mohd Yahya Mat Sahri.

While he commended Khalid for acting “without fear or favour”, he said a Mentri Besar should refer to his party leadership before taking action.

In the corporate world, to hire and fire is the absolute authority of the CEO but it is different in state administration.

As Mentri Besar, he should refer to his colleagues in the state executive council as well as his partners in PKR and other PR leaders before taking action,” Mustafa wrote in his blog Politik Malaysia (padapendapatsaya.blogspot.com).

Meanwhile, he criticised Lim for publicly condemning Kedah Mentri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak for permitting logging in Azizan’s state.

Mustafa said he shared Lim’s sentiments on logging, but the manner in which Lim hit out at Azizan was wrong. - The Star

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, June 28, 2008 11:13:10
In a way, I do agreed with you ChePa. But, you are doing the same! Way must you commented both of them openly over ur blog?. Hello Mustafa Ali, you'r just as bad as Hassan Ali (the monies maker).I salute PAS but not Hassan Ali.
written by nk1881, June 28, 2008 11:13:21
Pls do not quarrel. Settle it at your regular PR meeting. There is still a lot of work to be done.
written by Zapper, June 28, 2008 11:26:49
What is wrong with PAS and the rest of Pakatan?? If they cannot behave like 'govt in waiting', I would suggest that they hand over the control back to BN. At least, they try not to wash dirty linen in public.

I would advise those representatives from Pakatan that like to shoot from the hip.....success comes with responsibilities. Don't shout for the sake of seeking the lime light.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 28, 2008 11:45:15
I am sure there are more amicable ways of solving such petty issues than going online!We dont want BN to see such *washing dirty linen in public* smilies/smiley.gifhttp://jerryrich888@********.com
written by InEffective, June 28, 2008 12:05:14
I for one salute the public airing of differences, as long as its helpful and effective in resolving issues, misunderstanding, difference in approaches etc.

Interesting issue that PAS's Mustafa brings - the approach to surface, discuss, and resolve issues, and the trade-offs between cultural norms versus effectiveness.
(I applaud his actions of highlighting his concerns)

Cultural and tradition based approaches have its place, but sometimes its is really counter-productive and dysfunctional. And what we hold dear to our values turns out to be a massive weakness that we inflict on ourselves.

With the current state-of-affairs that our incompetent useless politicians have rendered this nation, i'd suggest we can't afford to be 'nice' and 'pleasant'. It is currently more critical and urgent to be firm and decisive in the corrective actions - we have so much transformation in governance to get done to put this nation back on a progressive track.

if a few feathers gets ruffled along the way, so be it - perhaps it will spur politicians and civil servants, and the business community that all will be made accountable for their deeds, actions, and behavior.

So my vote is keep going Mr Selangor and Penang CM.

Cultural pleasantries are secondary considerations.(if you can accommodate the sensitivities then do it, else just do it)
written by onnetline, June 28, 2008 12:06:16
The rakyat don't wish to see this sort of comments or remarks amongst you.

It's called dirty laundry !!! There's already plenty at Barisan Najis.

We don't need this, please.
written by Littlebird, June 28, 2008 12:11:45
Yes,,Khalid listen to PAS. See how well the governed Trengganu after 1999 election..so well that the Trengannu voters fully satisfied with what they have done so that they were not voted again. Since when state administation need to consult party politics for administration. Then there's no different between UMNO and PR. You govern the state according to law. When you become a MB you are peoples MB and not PKR, PAS, UMNO MIC..opps, MCA..opps, MB. The MB need to consult with the state legal advisor.
written by Mr Smith, June 28, 2008 12:14:11
Mustafa think he is very smart. For heavens sake making such statement in the media is not good for Pakatan. Why can't he allow Khalid and Lim to manage their states and let the people decide. If they should discuss with their party leadership, likewise, Mustafa should also discuss with his party leadership before making his statement.
Tell me how many times Nik Aziz makes senseless statements on women, rape and dressing after referring to his party leadership.
Some PAS leaders don't seem to realize that they belong to a coalition.
written by lynn, June 28, 2008 13:38:34
This guy Mustafa Ali is very arrogant. Why is he deliberately airing his personal comments to the media when he shld consult with his PR colleagues ? Why doesn't he win back Trengganu from the corrupt gomen? Why doesn't he persistently condemned all the terrible corruption cases in bolehland?
What are his priorities, if any? This guy is out!!!
written by FFT, June 28, 2008 13:41:44
I don't get you Malaysians.

On the one hand you want an open and transparent government, that is separated from the kow-tow and fall-in-line-follow-the-leader culture of BN, yet many of you get your panties in a wad over disagreements and differences of opinion among the opposition political leaders.

I can't stand PAS, but I certainly welcome constructive criticism on the Selangor MB's handling of the case, or LGE's statement against Kedah MB....even though I don't share the sentiment. At the very least, it may instruct LGE to craft his future public statements a little bit more rather than going all-out confrontational about it.

Likewise...PAS should also accept criticism of itself for their Bedouin stupidity in being obsessed with all things sexual instead of getting around to the task of governing. PAS needs to realize that their scimitar is going to cut both ways....so they can't hide behind the dont-insult-Islam line of defense.

written by Rozlan, June 28, 2008 14:00:08
Hey what the problem...Critizing openly is the norm in a democratic process.We shoulds encouraged them..

I 100% support MB Selangor actions against his errand officers.This a warning to all

smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by kota marudian, June 28, 2008 15:06:36
I wish that the opposition would talk more to each other rather than argue. Then again they are under the spot-light more than BN. I just hope Malaysians and Malaysia comes out as the winner in all of this. smilies/cry.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 28, 2008 15:21:00
I admit I see the points made by PAS to be quite correct. There should be due consultations with component parties in decisions that would or might affect the image of the coliation parties. For more sensitive issues that is directly linked to a particular member party, the other parties should seek clarifications instead of making press statements before due consultations.
The PKR members have to learn to live together. Every husband & wife have marrital problems, what else a husband with two wives like the PKR!
written by miwaki, June 28, 2008 15:50:54
If leader is stupid and incompetent,of course he or she should seek alternative opinions and consult everybody which include his wives,uncle and aunties before making any dcision which include trivial matters like changing toilet bowl and type of condom to be used.

Clean and competent leaders do not need help to take action on the spot because he knows very well what is right and what is wrong.Civil servants are expected to be clean and he or she must look clean as well.If your look is rusty,please do not be a civil servant.Look for other job !
written by pec, June 28, 2008 15:59:13
I only can pray that all PKR, DAP & PAS leaders and members remember one thing. Without DSAI bringing together the 3 parties, all of you will be still barking around powerless, in the political wilderness. Every time when there is a slightest conflit among the 3 of you, BN will be laughing and try to make it worse. Please don't break DSAI's heart, give him a break. If there is any issue, please settle it in private. don't sadden the millions of good Malaysians who voted for PR parties during the last election.
written by mob1900, June 28, 2008 16:18:14
Actually think about it, Pakatan Rakyat leaders can argue, give their views FREELY to each other without the need to consult an Idiot Whip. I rather have the choice to my opinion than NO opinion for the past 50 years!

Sure, they have different views on different issues but THAT is suppose to be the way, get feedbacks, cultivate constructive opinions from each other and Pakatan Rakyat will not go wrong. Carry on, Pakatan Leaders smilies/wink.gif
written by fireduck, June 28, 2008 17:07:48
I have to disagree with Mustafa over Khalid's handling of the Yahya issue. He is MB (the big Kahuna) of Selangor, and yes, he should bring this up to the state exco, etc., but we are talking about his office, and his own special officer in the MB office, for crying loud! That is very bad if it is allowed to fester, as it involves the very office of the big Kahuna himself. Surely Khalid, for transparency and accountability's sake cannot delay taking action.

And I think he has done it right. Yahya was just being suspended, not sacked. That is just to facilitate fair investigation into the matter. But Yahya has no faith and trust in his boss, that he chose to not only resign, but to criticize Khlaid, his boss. If all Pakatan members are really for what PRU12 and PR stands for, then they can clearly see this as the ONLY correct way to handle the situation.

But Yahya has played into BN's hands, and worse still, perhaps he was enticed to do so.....

As for Guan Eng, he was concerned about the source of water supply to Penang which was mainly from Kedah. And I do agree in a way that GE should not have said more than just expressing a concern on behalf of the state. Anything else he should have sought a meeting with his Kedah counterpart to get a better idea of the latter's plans, and perhaps in a four-eye meeting, the Kedah MB may be more receptive to fresh angles to the issues.

Maybe PR do not have a good 'top brass' channel for discussions and feedbacks. They should seriously think of forming one.
written by fireduck, June 28, 2008 17:14:35
Anyway guys, this report is from STAR, so we need to understand their 'English' a bit. Mustafa may have criticized the two PR leaders, but 'SLAMS?

What if the headlines read as "PAS leader disagrees with Khalid and Guan Eng's actions"?

Ah, the high standards of STAR's English Language.
written by macakmy, June 28, 2008 17:16:34
miwaki said "Clean and competent leaders do not need help to take action on the spot because he knows very well what is right and what is wrong."

Sorry but that's exactly what TDM has been doing while in power because he believes that "he knows very well what is right and what is wrong." Now AAB is continuing the practice, making impromptu decisions that affects OUR lives.

FFT,
I never thought I'd see the day that I would actually agree with not only what you wrote but HOW you wrote it!! Can I hope to see more of it?

Rainbowseahorse,
I am in complete agreement.

I really hope that people will comment on the issues instead of the person/party behind the issues. Else, we'll just be another BN.
written by teohsh, June 28, 2008 17:24:59
I don't trust the Star to report accurately. To me, it's exaggerates too much.

1. The Title is already Misleading. Slam??? I read it more as gentle reminder. Yes, maybe it can be better directed via a personal letter rather than a blog, but slam?? Too sensationalize since it involves the opposition.

2. There is no byline to say who is the writer? Ghost? 4th Floor? No need to state who is the writer??? Or is the writer afraid to tell the world his/her name? Why is that?

written by macakmy, June 28, 2008 17:28:43
You see fireduck, all this public statements shows that PR is only "united" on the surface at best (probably a charade to our benefit). If they truly respect each other and honestly wants to form a pact, they wouldn't be washing their dirty linen in public. How sincere are they in forming the PR remains to be seen and if we don't see any improvement, BN will be laughing come PRU 13.
written by teohsh, June 28, 2008 17:31:14
amjoem,

PAS did NOT ban lipsticks and high heels in Kelantan.

The Circular and Pamphlet merely refers to a dress code for Muslim women traders within the ambit of MPKB (Majlis Perbandaran Kota Bahru).

It was misleading reporting by Bernama, The Star, MSM, etc.

See here for full story - http://harismibrahim.*********...l-taliban/
written by nana tanjung, June 28, 2008 17:59:16
aiyaa,

why you guys so gullible to take every sentence that come out of the star? and i also don't understand why MsiaToday pick every sentence from theStar. At least change the title la. The word 'slams' has a very negative connotations.

Just go directly to Mustafa Ali's blog and read. Did he 'slam' in any way?

Aiyaaa.... gullible as always.
written by teohism, June 28, 2008 18:05:45
I couldnt give a damn about the younger generation of PAS ...I put my belief in Mr Hadi..known as Tok Guru...he hasnt spoken out much lately.but I believe that he is more level headed than these new so called founded islamic generation...

Hey guys , we got to stick together..I voted for you and I believe in you guys.

written by delCapo, June 28, 2008 19:03:08
Repeating myself...

I think PR should just play the role of a strong opposition in Federal level til they r truly ready...
Menawhile, pls do a good job & consolidate in the states u govern.

your recent clown acts, esp all the shit PAS members r involved in publicly, should ****en stop!!!!
PUI!
written by mikewang, June 28, 2008 19:05:07
If Malaysians don't know how to accept criticisms and accept difference of opinions even among friends, they don't deserve a better government.

Regardless whether the PR government acted rightly or wrongly we should know why, especially from adversaries.
written by joeawk, June 28, 2008 19:21:22
It is alright so long as they do not take to heart. The Trengganu PAS guy is just anotrher black kettle. He just love to join in because he must be very boring in Trengganu.

PR is still learning n they shd be able to learn n laugh at each other n themselves.

So long as PR is CAT (KUCHING) n not rat like the BN, we, Malaysians are already very happy.

Don't believe the complaints you read in the paper n blogs, they are from the minority and most probably from BN people.

However, you must learn fast and continue to evolve democratically.

Please , please, get rid of OSA.
written by YMA_kuantan, June 28, 2008 19:43:59
Ini adalah salah satu contoh ketiadaan permuafakatan antara parti pari dalam Pakatan Rakyat. Masing masing nak tunjuk hero. Pantang ada peluang buat sidang akhbar untuk kutuk tindakan pemimpin itu dan ini, buat sidang akhbar. Lambat laun rakyat akan meluat. Apa salahya berbincang dulu sebelm buat kenyataan bersama? Kedah tak ada duit dan sumbernya mungkin yang paling cepat boleh guna hanya balak, Pulau Pinang negeri industri boleh kata MB Kedah tak dapat nasihat yang baik (membawa erti MB Kedah tak bijak macam Ketua Menteri P Pinang). MB Selangor tak ajak PAS bincang tentang pungutan derma terlebih dulu, buat kenyataan terlalu cepat. Pemimpin PAS di Terengganu rasa gengnya di Kedah tercabar maruahnya ambil peluang buat kenyataan. Rakyat bosanlah dengan cara macam ni
written by fairnessforall, June 28, 2008 22:46:53
Datuk Mustafa, you are very quick to condemn PKR and DAP. Why dont you condemn you own PAS youth head who keeps harping on the Islamic state issue despite PAS promise to the rakyat before the election that they will not pursue the islamic state issue anymore. Neither did your youth head discuss with PKR and DAP on the islamic state issue but instead keep shooting his mouth off.

Please get your own party in order before condemming the other parties in the coalition.
written by Mana2boleh, June 28, 2008 23:44:06
We must move to become a more mature society. For society to move forward, constructive criticisms are necessary. We should not move back where everything must be settled behind close doors. If that is so, how will the rakyat know what is going on. Isn't that what the rakyat has voted against and isn't that got us backward. Look at U.S, everybody can gives his/her views and such views serve as feedback for improvements.Their member of congress can refuse to support a bill if such bill is against the public interest eventhough they are from the same party. That is how, they move forward.

written by Yacob, June 28, 2008 23:55:03
Sorry to say about this Mustafa Ali but he is a man of no substance. He sometimes talks cock. I used to deal with him when he was a senior exco of Terengganu State before. Frankly speaking, this man is terrible ! He is capable to deteriorate the unity of PR. But, UMNO likes this type of people.
written by Awaken64, June 29, 2008 00:42:59
Compromise!!! Trust and leave the egoistical talk with Barisan Najis.

If the rakyat needs a leadership that is NOT CORRUPT, Approachable and willing to UNITE to achieve the GE 12 pact.

Don't lose the plot and make a mockery of all our votes!!!!

written by FFT, June 29, 2008 01:07:36
written by cabearth, June 28, 2008 | 20:03:15
Correction, you cannot stand ISLAM, because all the thorny issues with PAS that u have are actually clear tenets of Islam.

Ah, excellent.

Thanks for pointing out to all of us that Islam is as trivial and stupid as PAS makes it out to be.
written by The dragonheart, June 29, 2008 01:28:45
What i see here ...everyone including the readers here are 2X5 5X2
written by Aming, June 29, 2008 06:38:28
PR may fall apart soon with this kind of discord being exhibited repeatedly especially in the light of DSAI facing the sodomy investigation.
written by red1, June 29, 2008 09:22:18
I do not think there is anything wrong with MB Khalid's decision, and whether it is a 'CEO' or 'Politician' approach been the difference. When your aide arises suspsicion or whatever you have the perogative to ask him to leave.

Tan Sri Khalid is the MB and he has to be given the benefit of the doubt and authority to act. Take for example another recent sacking of a Unicel's VC without even said to consult any other academician or not, it is not our business.

What is our business is to review his performance and results of his tenure form time to time.

At the same time i view highly of Penang's CM and Kedah's CM as well as ChePa's differing stands. These all point to openness among ourselves. What is important is to discuss all these differences with respect and objectivity. Not been defensive and aplogetic and feargful that dirty laundry is washed out there.

After all, dirty laundry do get clean, and it is better seen in public to allay that we are another new regime in waiting.

Redhuan D. Oon
http://padi-malaysia.********.com/