Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Like daughter, like father

Like daughter, like father PDF Print
Saturday, 28 June 2008 07:41

Mahathir's blog a hit with Malaysians

'Now I'm glad I have my blog. At least I can say something.' TUN DR MAHATHIR

By Reme Ahmad, The Straits Times

TWO million hits in less than two months.

The blog of former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has become the fastest-rising new website in Malaysia, with many of his postings attracting hundreds of comments.

But not all who visit www.chedet.com are his fans. Some also attack his views and his 22-year rule as prime minister.

Still, the 82-year old politician is happy with his blog because he said it has allowed him to bypass the mainstream media, which he claimed has ignored him.

'Now I'm glad I have my blog. At least I can say something,' Malaysiakini quoted Dr Mahathir as saying at a press conference on Thursday.

He was also blase about the criticisms hurled at him on the blog.

'I don't seem to be unpopular when I meet people. If you care to read my blog, so many people make comments. Some were adverse comments, but the majority are quite supportive of what I said.'

Top blogger Ahirudin Attan said Dr Mahathir remains very popular and the move by the media to restrict his views has 'forced people to read his blog and find out his side of the story'.

The most popular political websites are Malaysia Today run by controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin, online newspaper Malaysiakini and followed by chedet.com, bloggers say.

Dr Mahathir launched his blog on May 1.

The blog's moniker is derived from his old pen-name when he was a columnist with Utusan Malaysia newspaper in the 1970s. 'Che Det' is a shortened version of Encik Mahatdet, as he is known in his home state of Kedah.

Dr Mahathir's blog received one million hits just before the end of its first month last month. Under a posting, The Millionaire Club, he wrote: 'It is quite an experience to be a blogger even though I am only a month old.'

He also said that much as he saw the importance of the Internet as prime minister, 'I did not envisage that I would one day be a blogger'.

As of yesterday, he has posted 43 entries in English and Bahasa Malaysia, most of them attacks on Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and the government.

The blog's biggest hiccup occurred last week when it was locked out by website operator Bloggers.com for being a 'suspected spam blog', which apparently caused some of the earlier postings to be lost.

Commentators on his blog have ranged from hero worshippers to strident critics.

One Razak Rahim wrote: 'You're my idol and my hero. I put your photo at my office and imitate your thinking style. Since then, I got promoted twice and (achieved) success in my life.'

Conversely, an anonymous reader, said: 'Please admit that you were the main cause of destroying the judiciary. Because of you, now I am afraid to go to court, even to claim back something that legally belongs to me because my opponent knows the right people at the judiciary.'

Marina, too, offers advice to government

IT IS not just the rakyat or people who need to tighten their belts in these inflationary times.

The government should too, the daughter of former premier Mahathir Mohamad has suggested.

Datin Paduka Marina Mahathir has listed 15 ways for the Malaysian government to do so, to 'share the burden' with the public, in a newspaper column entitled 'You Walk The Talk First'.

In her column in The Star last week, she wrote: 'It is easier said than done since most people were having it difficult even before the hikes. The government must first set an example by doing things it should have done long ago.'

The bi-weekly column, Musings, is widely read because she is often a sharp critic of government policy, even when her father was premier. A blog she started years ago, rantingsbymm.blogspot.com, also has avid followers.

Ms Marina, 51, said ministers must take public transport more often.

'Once a week (or more), have ministers use public transport so they know what everyone else has to suffer. This might provide them with the incentive to improve it.'

And they should weekly 'go to a market to buy food for their families with instructions to not spend more than RM100'. RM100 is equivalent to about S$42.

A popular feature of big official meetings is the lavish spread of cakes and briyani rice, which she said should no longer be offered.

For senior ministers, she had this to say: 'Stop having the full complement of police escorts to cut down on petrol costs. If they need to be somewhere by a certain time, start earlier like the rest of us.'

And she revealed a little- known secret about how civil servants and politicians would fly business class although they are not entitled to do so.

They should really be travelling at the back of the plane 'and not buying full-fare economy class tickets that allow them to be upgraded to Business Class'.

Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi said two weeks ago that the government would cut back on its activities to save RM2 billion a year.

These included limiting overseas travel for all officials and stopping the practice of holding meetings in hotels.

Ms Marina made other recommendations that should resonate with many people.

One is to have a public address (PA) system used by those who often suffer from tardy frontline service.

'Have PA systems that shout out the name of the officers who have to serve people... so that (they) don't have to keep coming back just because the officer was out having coffee,' she wrote in the column in The Star.

Another gem: 'Newspapers should save paper by reporting real news rather than non-news that they carry, particularly nonsensical utterances by politicians.'

written by Tom n Jerry, June 28, 2008 07:57:24
I personally dont mind if TDM is rich!But if his riches comes from corruption,thenit is rightfully rakyats money,so it is only gentlemento give it back to the poor,i repeat the poor,who cant even eke out a decent living!Am I asking for too much?Food for thought! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Rashid, June 28, 2008 07:58:34
One Razak Rahim wrote: 'You're my idol and my hero. I put your photo at my office and imitate your thinking style. Since then, I got promoted twice and (achieved) success in my life.'

imitate thinking style? Thinking style is imitated? And is there a 'Thinking Style'? No Comment... Keine Kommentar...Pas de Commentaire.
written by Check, June 28, 2008 08:10:06

OMG, better avoid him because I wonder how many 'casualties' in that process of promotions.
written by Chaptokam, June 28, 2008 08:17:37

Anyone out there , who's this joker's boss , better be careful one day you'll be reporting to him not him reporting to you , so better demoted him first and do it now . You know now he's just imitate his thinking style ie power abuse and corruption . aiyoo such wrapped thinking !!!
written by Chaptokam, June 28, 2008 08:27:23
Forgot to add , I've never bothered to add a single comment in your articles or blog .A million hits ?? I don't believe , maybe someone is doing that to spam your blog . After all there are lots of racist articles and denial articles in your blog fit for the trash . And super admin pls don't delete my comments . I had one deleted by krasee yesterday regarding the purging of the judiciary, executive and legislature during TDM's watch .I don't find anything wrong on that .
written by cwy, June 28, 2008 08:40:38
Childish!
Dr. M is childish!
His postings are childish!
The readers of his stupid blog are all childish!
Their words of flattery and awe are just childish!
Give all of them some lollipops!
written by kurangfaham, June 28, 2008 08:42:39
This TUN Mahathir is another old junk like the Semi Value, just ignore this two morons. Everything will be OK. As long this monkeys we give attention they will be doing all typw of monkey buisness forever.
written by InEffective, June 28, 2008 08:57:41
I do celebrate DrM's participation in cyberspace.
And i'm glad he takes the effort to express his views
(however biased and self-serving it may be)

Well done DrM. (be prepared to be challenged...and supported)
written by myke, June 28, 2008 09:08:46
Seriously, i have doubts all those commented are normal "netizen", i would rather think they are planted to make him looks nice.
written by krising1, June 28, 2008 09:32:28
Razak Rahim bless you. May you continue to do well. Enter mainstream politics one day and hopefully you will be become PM of this country for more than 22 years. You can bring corruption and cronyism to new level and heights. You can create a new brand of UMNOputraism. You can have friends like Robert Mugabe. You pay a million dollars USD for a photo shot with the president of the USA and kiss his feet for more publicity. At the end of the day, you cry in public, say you are retiring from public life and then write a blog to criticise your successor.
written by MsiaCTzen, June 28, 2008 09:34:04
Welcome to the Blogging world which the Malaysia Government label as "Monkey" or "Unemployed housewife" DR.M.

Your record will be listed in "Malaysia Record"

written by onnetline, June 28, 2008 09:46:42
Wrong caption. Should read ...... Like Daughter, like Mother.

The father is an ex-dictator !
written by densemy, June 28, 2008 10:02:04
Politicians are politicians for their OWN benefit

Who would ever think their inflated egoes would allow them to do anything approaching the things that normal humans have to do.

written by ctchoolaw, June 28, 2008 10:31:14
Dr M is quoted as saying, "I don't seem to be unpopular when I meet people. If you care to read my blog, so many people make comments. Some were adverse comments, but the majority are quite supportive of what I said."

He clearly mistakes the civility of M'sians with their feelings about his years of suppressing dissent. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Engineer, June 28, 2008 10:36:29
Poor old man Tun is suffering from carcinoginodemono (cancerous demon) in its the fourth stage.

He is given chemotheraphy now; getting regular doses of treatment in;

1) Bloggo Penicillum - anti press freedom virus treatment
2) VK Lingo Tapocillum - anti sodomy framing virus and selective amnesia virus treatment
3) Iron Chin Boot Camp Exposecillum- judiciary manipulating virus treatment
4) Petron Ass Benefito No Moro Oilium- Anti corruption virus treatment
5) Malaysiano indoctrinolum - anti minority race treatment
6) Sleepless Nights Sitto ono Sofalium - anti mother of all evil virus treatment
written by Daryl, June 28, 2008 10:57:00
Everyone can have a blog if they choose too. If I choose too I can have one for my pet monkey. However, what you wrote is important because if your lie for 22 years starts to surface yes you need a blog. Especially, the current government doesn't let you use the tool you own before MSM... So, like a lot of government officials say don't believe everything you read by a blogger. Only people that worship Che Det will think 95 % of what you wrote is true. The people in the real world will not. Is good to keep your lovely fans to your website and continue it there...
written by PAKRAK, June 28, 2008 11:07:00
"MAHATHIR..." stands for:
M = Must..
A = Always..
H = Hantam..
A = Abdullah..
T = Till..
H = He..
I = Is..
R = Removed.
written by farah, June 28, 2008 11:59:25
There's no differences between Tun Dr Mahathir and Samy Velu, these both still looking for attentions! For that these 2 BN's will take actions of any sort.

written by fairnessforall, June 28, 2008 12:41:39
I dont even bother reading your blog because I know you are a racist pig, a fraud and a fake who impersonates being a malay, lying and cheating. You also delete most of the negative comments and get your dumb supporters to write positive comments about you. I wont even be surprise you have written many of the comments yourself using different names. You are a con man who only leaves a couple of not so negative comments to pretend that you dont delete them. Going by the number of negative comments about you in other blogs and the talk on the street, there is no way your blog would have so many positive comments since there are hardly any positive comments about you anywhere else. Even your counter has been tampered with as no way millions would have visited your blog in such a short time. You have always been a cheat and a fraud.
written by shan, June 28, 2008 13:22:04
rm100/- for marketing,.,Marina you must be kidding.,These corupted bastards don't even know the value of money.,To them money come from an endless spring which stops flowing when bn loses in an election.,.

Imagine a gardener turned mp or gatekeeper turned mp flying 1st class to shop at Harrods london,.,.,turning aristocrates overnight,.,Only way of redemption in Malaysia is follow Chinese law,.,.,Public execution of these corrupted bastards. We can save money on the mock juditiary and b*lless corrupted judges. smilies/angry.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Arubin, June 28, 2008 13:25:03
Oddly enough, despite my dislike of Mahathir, I wouldn't have minded at all if his daughter becomes our Prime Minister. I read her blog regularly and have a lot of respect for her. Its too bad really that she does not really want to be involved in politics.
written by Lim Lim, June 28, 2008 15:12:12
the daughter writes better stuff than the father.
written by alarcarte, June 28, 2008 15:15:22
I visited TDM blog once and quickly ***** the "BACK" button and never visited that site since. Sorry TDM most of your comments are un-palatable to me. I do not hate you or something like that but just feel disgusted at your racial comments at times.

TDM daughter on the other hand has completely different kind of personality, she always wrote about bread and butter issues and once in a while turn sarcastic to the people in power, good work Marina.
written by yongt, June 28, 2008 18:24:11
Commentators on MT are really the stupidest and most ignorant bunch I've ever met. Marina Mahathir talking about bread and butter?!!! If only you people knew...SAD. You lot really deserve the leaders you pine for...
written by mikewang, June 28, 2008 19:34:58
If YTM Tunku had a blog when Tun Mamak was PM, we could have gone the way of Zimbabwe.

Today, Tun Mamak is fortunate to have technology on his side.
written by Sabahfan, June 28, 2008 23:01:33
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

MARINA SHOULD PREACH TO HER FATHER FIRST before preaching to the rest of UMNO...

in any case, all UMNO leaders are the best bulllsitters and hipocrits in the world today