Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Petrol and Diesel Conspiracy?

Petrol and Diesel Conspiracy? PDF Print
Friday, 27 June 2008 22:51

The diesel engine car is very efficient. So, now, if you spend RM100 and it gave you about 400KM, with Diesel, you spend the same RM100 (assuming Diesel and Petrol is the same price) and yet, you get about 700 to 800 KM of mileage.

By Ganesh

I refer to Petronas's recent efforts of setting up a RM544 million hospital. Petronas should stick to their specialisation of oil and gas instead of venturing into other non-related areas such as setting up hospitals or Philharmonic Orchestras. Investing in Motorsports and F1 was viable because it was fuel related.

Instead of investing in hospitals, Petronas should be investing in efforts to provide cleaner diesel and also promote diesel car usage.

Why isn't the Malaysian government promoting diesel cars?

In Europe, for every petrol car sold, 3 diesel cars are sold.

Why? Because Diesel is a much cleaner fuel than petrol and also, surprisingly, a very efficient fuel giving nearly twice the KM.

Malaysians used to believe Diesel cars were dirty because old lorries and old taxis used them. But that was the diesel engine of yesteryears. Today, the diesel engine, especially the turbo diesel (TDi) car engines produce higher Bhp (more power) than a similar petrol car engine, as well as being a much cleaner fuel than Petrol. In other words, it has much lesser emissions than petrol, while at the same time giving far more mileage than the petrol engine counterpart..

It is now proven by all European Governments that modern car turbodiesel engines (Euro 3 and Euro 4 standards) are more efficient and less polluting (CO emission per km) compared to similar vehicles with similar petrol engine capacity. Nearly all European car manufacturers are now pushing more diesel engines. Even Honda and Toyota produce very efficent small and large cc diesel engines.

Why are the current diesel cars in Malaysia emitting thick black smoke? Firstly, because the engines in them are about 10 to 20 years old. On the newer enginers, like the Mercedes 320 Cdi and BMW 530d, don't blame the vehicles, blame the dirty diesel if you still see thick black smoke. Our diesel has heavy sulphur content and it is this sulphur that causes a car to emit thick black smoke.

The diesel engine car is very efficient. So, now, if you spend RM100 and it gave you about 400KM, with Diesel, you spend the same RM100 (assuming Diesel and Petrol is the same price) and yet, you get about 700 to 800 KM of mileage.

Why isn't Petronas or the Government promoting cleaner diesel and also diesel Cars?

If the government is sincere about helping the rakyat and alleviating the hardship of the rakyat, it should promote a fuel that gives nearly double the milegae. At least with the same amount of money spent on fuel, the rakyat will get nearly double the mileage with a Diesel car.

Unfortunately, Petronas is not spending money on providing a cleaner diesel which conforms to EU standards but prefer building a hospital.

Has Malaysian diesel's sulfur content been reduced yet? There were  plans to conform to Euro 2 standards (500ppm sulfur compared to 3000ppm currently), I am not sure whether it has been implemented.

Singapore and Thailand have conformed to Euro 2 for years, and have now progressed to Euro 3 and eventually to Euro 4 standards. Euro 4 standards, which is the current standard in the whole of EU, have much lesser emissions than even Petrol!

It looks like the government, since it owns Petronas, and a substantial stake in Proton, is only promoting the usage of petrol and Petrol cars for and by the general public. Who suffers? The rakyat does. If one has a diesel car, at least whatever he spends now on Petrol, he will get nearly double the mileage. To make matters worse, the road tax on Diesel cars are much higher, a sign to discourage diesel cars and the usage of diesel by the general public.

Is the government encouraging the Rakyat to use more Fuel ie Petrol?

Is it because if we use Diesel, we will be using lesser fuel (for we get more mileage), thus, we will buy lesser fuel, and this in turn will result in lesser revenue for Petronas? And in return, Petronas will pay lesser dividends and company tax to the Government?

Petronas, Perodua and Proton, the three P's should start promoting diesel cars and diesel fuel to lessen the burden of the suffering rakyat.

written by hitam had, June 27, 2008 23:03:29
Most diesel cars sold in Malaysia are Euro 2 and above. Even diesel buses use Euro 2 diesel engines since 1997. The question is why our diesel (MS1 standard) is still Euro 1? Is our Government still sleeping?

Pax.
written by sting, June 27, 2008 23:04:17
That is becasuse PROTON does not have a diesel engine car to sell!!!!
written by Malaysia Digest, June 27, 2008 23:05:54
"Why isn't the Malaysian government promoting diesel cars? ..... " Why ? because our SIRIM, Proton, Petronas and all malaysian research agencies staff are sleeping.... makan tidur.

Malaysia Digest
written by BennyG, June 27, 2008 23:08:13
Thank you for broadening our perception.

Btw, there's some similarity in your writing compared to RPK. Flattery to RPK, I suppose.
written by zul4kulim, June 27, 2008 23:12:53
Start with the taxis...http://1426.********.com/2008/06/taxi-taxi.html
written by Lim Lim, June 27, 2008 23:25:38
as a matter of fact,n as far as umno goons are concerned;petronas belongs to them n not the nation plus the rakyat! jus take a look at how they handle the fund created by the petrol dollars. n that's why they would never provide the essential transparencies!
written by nanakassim, June 27, 2008 23:40:50
"...Is it because if we use Diesel, we will be using lesser fuel (for we get more mileage), thus, we will buy lesser fuel, and this in turn will result in lesser revenue for Petronas...?"

I'm not so sure if other oil companies in Malaysia do not have a role in convincing the Umno govt to turn a blind eye towards the benefits of promoting the use of diesel.

Not too long ago, a company was set up to manufacture the national "Keris" bike (no relation to that kerismuddin fella). Their ultimate aim: to take the lead in replacing motorbikes in Malaysia with the 4-stroke engines. Unfortunately, other motorcycle manufacturers were able to convince the Umno govt not to be impressed with the 4-stroke engines. Otherwise, these manufacturers would have nowhere to dump their cheaper 2-stroke engines. Not even Thailand would want these engines. So, these manufacturers convinced the Umno govt that motorcycle engines with lesser strokes would mean more people with strokes, thus a fatter bottomline for IJN.
written by Rashid, June 27, 2008 23:45:22
Raja Petra on Aljazeera and Najib.

Murder allegations shake Malaysia leadership - June 27 2008

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjanQjX9n8c&
written by kennyeu, June 27, 2008 23:54:12
Malaysia is always years behind everyone else when it comes to foresighted thinking and competent implementation of key technologies. It's just too difficult for this government to understand such complex and new ideas.

Whatever is no longer good enough for the rest of the world is good enough for BN government. No need to be hasty... we like taking our time.

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, June 27, 2008 23:56:38
I own both a diesel engine and a petrol engine vehicle. I've never discovered that the fuel and the type engine can get better mileage. My experience is that in the days when diesel was more heavily subsidized, my diesel vehicle definitely gave better $ per Km. At this time, it's very close to each other.

The point is that it's not the fuel but the efficiency of the engine types that will give better mileage coupled by the style of driving and the gear ratios. Anyway, I found that it doesn't really matter the type of fuel.

More importantly, having a diesel vehicle, I agree with the author that the quality of diesel MUST be significantly improved to international standards to encourage cleaner combustion in newer diesel engines. From what I understand, Malaysia has the highest sulphur content in the diesel amongst the ASEAN countries, and one of the worst in the world. Removing the subsidy without improving the quality of diesel SUCKS!!!!

Another classic 1-dimensional myopia of the Government. smilies/angry.gif
written by Sagaladoola, June 28, 2008 00:47:26
R & D = Rehat dan Duduk .. that is why ...
written by Hakim Joe, June 28, 2008 01:39:56
Forum between Bodowi, Proton and Petronas:

Bodowi: "What is this talk about diesel being better than petrol?"
Proton: "No such thing-lah. All talk cock only!"
Petronas: "Hello...u fellas from proton that graduated from MARA, u don't know then stop talking like u know. Actually, diesel IS BETTER than petrol."
Bodowi: "Then how come we are not promoting this diesel thing?"
Petronas: "Because those ##!@!% graduates from MARA cannot understand what the EURO 3 and 4 standards are!!!"
Proton: "Hello...we are not all stupid u know! EURO 3 is EURO 3 dollars lah!"
Bodowi: "Ya-lah, and EURO 4 is EURO 4 dollars lah...."
Petronas: "And another thing, we have been nano-tagging the diesel, correct? What if PR takes over the gomen and investigate us. What if it shows that the amount of diesel we tag is not equal to the amount of diesel we sell, who's gonna take the blame?"
Bodowi: "What cock u talk?"
Petronas: "We nano-tag all our diesel that we buy from Russia, u know, the sulphur-loaded ones. Just that a very large portion also goes somewhere else. The earnings we channel into BN..."
Proton: "Also we cannot make better diesel engines becos we don't understand the frigging technology."
Bodowi: "....snore...zzzzzz...zzzzz...zzzzz"
Petronas: "ssshhh... the sleepyhead is asleep...again."
Proton: "Hey, why u don't like MARA? U think u MCKK boys very action, ah?"
written by sarawakian, June 28, 2008 01:57:42
the writer forgot to talk about the environment. the smoke spewing out from the old diesel engines is killing us slowly. and to see all the heavy advertising on Recycling to Save OUR Environment conveniently forgot about the horrible fumes..

typical 4th World UMNO mentality...
written by RFernandez, June 28, 2008 02:01:46
This entirely true in every way, Diesel cars in Europe are very popular due to better mileage and better emissions. Malaysian government should consider seriously to implement Euro 3 and 4 emission standards ASAP. Reduce taxes on Diesel cars, buses and trucks to encourage public to convert to diesel.
written by SocratesI, June 28, 2008 05:12:29

We must look at the automotive industry as well as the petroleum industry for this to be understood.

This is all Proton's fault for not being able to keep up with world standards and not being able to come up with a deal for a diesel engine that complies with Euro 3 let alone Euro 4. If Petronas goes diesel, Proton will go bust, and no prizes for guessing who is the Advisor in both these companies ... you are absolutely correct ... Maha-Shithead !

This is Maha-Shithead's legacy in building Proton ... Malaysians have to buy expensive foreign cars and sub-standard local cars (Proton), and also buy the more expensive fuel - petrol, instead of the cleaner, greener,and much less expensive option, diesel - all because Proton can't cope !!

Scrap Proton ! Scrap Barisan Najis !! There you have your solution, Ganesh !! ... Oh yes, and jail Maha-Shithead !!

written by hitam had, June 28, 2008 08:40:35
And if Malaysia is really worried about air pollution, 2-stroke motor cycle engines should have been banned a long time ago. Seems like the Authorities are not any different from the average Rakyat when they are so easily fooled on environmental matters.

Pax.
written by sltemp, June 28, 2008 09:41:24
Malaysian government made a big issue out of bio-diesel but failed to see that most of Malaysian cars use petrol. If more Malaysian cars use diesel (Euro 4 standard), the cost of fuel can be lower using local bio-diesel. Malaysia's oil reserves can be made to last longer and significantly help the environment at the same time.
written by mgeo, June 29, 2008 02:34:23
How much of the RM 170 billion for 1974-3/2008 "re-invested" by Petronas was for purposes other than petroleum development, and are allowed in the corporate charter? What about these? (1) leasing business (planes to MAS, oil tankers to MISC, office space in Twin Towers) (2) symphony orchestra and theatre (3) stake in failed banks (4) motor racing (5) university (6) electricity generation (7) hospital.

More cars lead to more of all these:
- construction (highways, flyovers, bridges, tunnels, sidewalks, slope reinforcement, lights, hospitals).
- maintenance.
- loss of natural resources (forest, hills, agri land, water resources).
- financial losses (business and manpower delays due to jams, private expenses, govt. expenditure, corruption).
- ill health (accidents, accidents, poisons, stress, heat islands)
- urban ghetttos, divided towns.
- global warming.
written by KUMON, June 29, 2008 14:06:20
Ganesh,

I didn't know you could get so much more mileage for same cost. If this is true, then of course the marketing strategy by Petronas and Gomen is very credible.

It reminded me of the time when SHELL came out with the new petrol V-Power that costs more than the regular one. I was a regular SHELL user till I experienced lack of power in the regular Ron 97 petrol using the same car. I suspected that Shell had a dirty trick to reduce some ingredients in the Ron 97 so as to boost V-Power sales which was higher in price.

Since then I switched to Esso and now BHP which I find suitable for my proton.

The Kuchai Community
http://kuchaispace.********.com