Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Pumps for Foreigners and subsidized rice

Pumps for Foreigners and subsidized rice PDF Print
Friday, 27 June 2008 00:22

Written by Kazi Mahmood, World Futures

Nut cases will surely urge the government to ban local food access to foreigners who come in by bus loads and who fills the International Airport at the KLIA on a daily basis. It is a bet that ‘cheap’ food courts and restaurants will soon display notices saying ‘Subsidized food – No Foreigners allowed!”.

subsidised

Malaysians are puffing with anger over a 40 percent oil price increase but throwing the weight against foreign cars entering the country is not helping the government of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in its damage control campaign. It is a question of subsidies and the one to blame is the foreigners – tourists or illegal migrants – who are apparently putting additional strains on the locals.

In some forum boards and blogs, Malaysians are asking the grueling question: Why does foreigners have access to cheap food, cheap fuel and no levies are paid by them? The rage of the locals is turning towards the ‘foreigners’ – the eternal enemy when a country’s economy goes into bad steam.

The Malaysian government has decided that gas stations will have separate pumps for foreign registered cars and that means a different price structure for the foreigners to pay. The aim is to ensure that foreigners pay more for fuel and there is no illicit transactions altogether. Too many foreigners have been blamed for an exodus of local fuel (diesel in particular) into Thailand and Singapore and the regime in Putrajaya want to put an end to this.

The reality may be different though. Malaysians too are involved in ‘shipping’ diesel to Thailand by filling their tanks at border pump stations only to empty them once they have crossed the border into Thailand or Singapore. Some of them are known for literally driving back to Malaysia with old car tires, the new ones having been sold in Singapore for example. The fault does not totally lie with the foreigners in the end.

How will Malaysia handle the issue of food subsidies and foreign tourists? Tourists are virtually dragged to Malaysian shores in a bid to enjoy the cheap food and the cheap fruits. But the food is mostly subsidized and this causes an imbalance.

Nut cases will surely urge the government to ban local food access to foreigners who come in by bus loads and who fills the International Airport at the KLIA on a daily basis. It is a bet that ‘cheap’ food courts and restaurants will soon display notices saying ‘Subsidized food – No Foreigners allowed!”.

In sermons, some speakers at local Masjids has criticized the government for removing subsidies that helps the locals enjoy cheap fuel but in the mean time the government enforces policies that grants ‘incentives’ to foreign investors. The criticism is misplaced since the foreigners brings in the much needed foreign capital that helps an economy – a modern economy – runs smoothly. The world is struggling with incentives thrown at foreign direct investments or (FDI) in order to help consolidate the local economy and raise or keep the actual rate of the local currency afloat against other currencies.

written by tommycol, June 27, 2008 00:47:15
What subsidies???? I bet you in the end of the day they will scheme it into lining the pockets of TKT4 and all the UMNOputras and cronies.
There has just been tons and tons of LIES coming from this CORRUPTED govt.
LIES NOTHING BUT LIES !!!!SICKENING
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by varvoom, June 27, 2008 00:52:57
Malaysia is fast heading towards the route of a FAIL STATE! so sad, so very sad, friendly nice people being hijack by religious bigots and corrupt racist policians, every decent freedom loving people should move out of this curse paradise and let those zealots drown themselves before we move back, Malaysia need ground Zero before it can join back the civilize world. so sad.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 27, 2008 01:12:50
How much is it going to cost for installing, operating, and maintaining these extra pumps for foreigners?
written by Kelana, June 27, 2008 01:16:04
NO subsidies should be call subsidies....Now free your mind, Imagine you have huge Banana estate and some monkeys want to kidnap the piece of Banana to make banana split (whatever). To avoid the monkey from taking granted, you put chili powder to all Bananas on the estate. Everybody knows what I'm trying to describe. Sometimes we have to give and takes, not because of little bit of losses we have to go drastic to the other user and that is greedy. The fact is, if outsider tries to shipping fuel back to their country, these culprits already know what is the consequences and its park under law.
Looks how Brunei handle it, they only allow 6 dollar (RM 20) per tank for foreigner car at selected fuel station located 20 km from border. It can be implementing in Malaysia, RM 20 for the first 20 km and another acceptable fuel level after 100 km from first station (Selected station). For sure they will think twice before coming for fuel but as well not effecting foreigner to enjoy holiday in Malaysia.
written by Msian 2, June 27, 2008 04:37:21
No foresight & lack of meritocracy, too much corruption, cronynism, unaccountabilities, too much crime & get rich quick for individuals are some of the main ills that is causing so much pains to the people. I don't see people in S'pore, Thailand, Taiwan, China, Fiji, New Zealand sufferring so much with price increases. Why M'sia ???? Now we want to blame foreigners. Look at our selves first. Clean our own house first.
written by binkah1, June 27, 2008 05:10:14
Funny, why would tourists or 'foreigners' want to come here if not for something that is attactive to them such as cheap food for one? Trying to kill the goose that lay the golden egg more apt to what this govt is doing.
written by apasalahku, June 27, 2008 05:52:56
Growing xenophobia in Malaysia, due to narrow mindedness, misgovernance, shortsighted administration and a bad economy.,,,just like Germany in the 1920s.

Wonder who'll be the Hitler of the Malaysian peasants?
written by NSTPravda, June 27, 2008 06:21:36
“Pumps for Foreigners and subsidized rice”
Is an exceptionally brilliant economic device
In fact we should do the next most logical thing
And impose a total ban on all foreigners visiting

This will surely show how smart we are
To stop these bloody bludgers from afar
We will then marinate in our self made tranquility
To really enjoy the fruits of years of corruption and NEP

To be consistent with our “Visit Malaysia Year”
Get these foreigners to drop their money without fear
At our borders, then “ shoo” them away
‘Cos their enjoying our subsidized prices is not semua-nya OK
written by ctchoolaw, June 27, 2008 07:42:31
This guy's mocking tone is not nice. He ridicules the intelligence of Malaysians. Not nice. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by ahmadneil, June 27, 2008 07:46:16
Next the gov't is going to put 'FOREIGNER'S TOILET' ,so the gate collection can go up.Hotel have a designated counter for FOREIGNERS ONLY,so the charges be in US dollar.Pubs,coffee house,trains,bus,spas,airlines etc will all follow suit.This country is going down into the shit.
written by raybeam, June 27, 2008 08:25:32
malaysian prime minister, abdullah badawi has done it once again. first, he lied about his very own wedding. then, he lied about the disillusionment of parliament prior to the recent general elections. believe it or not, he has just announced the cancellation of the monorail and outer ring road projects in penang. i think that it is high time that badawi step down to make way for someone who is more capable, trustworthy and who has got better leadership
qualities. whilst i am on this subject, what are ministers whose reputations have been tainted, such as tengku adnan and mohamed taib doing in his cabinet. come to think of it, some of the ministers in badawi's cabinet have been linked to corruption and their arrogance towards their malaysian subjects is most reprehensible. in short, the barisan government has overstayed its welcome and a change of government is what we really need. as prime minister of malaysia, badawi has betrayed the trust of the people by shielding his cronies from being prosecuted for the crimes which they have committed. if badawi continues to hang on to power, then i fear that as law abiding citizens of this country, we face a very bleak future.

to find out how i have been unfairly treated as a blind individual by this very
uncaring government, please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com
written by spinderin, June 27, 2008 09:40:59
Easier to blame foreigners than admitting mis-management;
Easier to take away rakyats' money than to spend money wisely;
Rampant corruption, uncontrolled illegal immigrants, arousing religious tension, deteriorating education standards, creating racial sentiments, worsening public safety, etc. etc.
It's good for nothing and they still think they are smart and good !!!
written by wood, June 27, 2008 12:22:23
" I take some money from you and later I give some back to you" Back to square one and LPPL ! Just in case the IRD dept is not aware , let me tell you that businesses are suffering and I believe you will have less taxes to collect from the business owners !
written by cruzeiro, June 27, 2008 12:24:16
ctchoolaw,
I'm no fan of Ali Cordoba or Kazi Mahmood - but in this case I think his "mockery" is justified.
Don't let "pride" or nationalistic patriotism cloud the truth.
Malaysia is the only nation in the world that welcomes scum from neighbouring countries, while it rejects the cream available locally.

The injustice that the "quality" foreign spouses have to put up with is ridiculous, while they cater to these scum!
Just ask any Sabahan, and you'll know what I mean.
written by SocratesI, June 27, 2008 14:24:51

The only good thing that could come out of all this is that I will most probably starve to death before being able to see the painful sight of Malaysia becoming a failed state !! How sad !!
written by observer2, June 27, 2008 22:20:10
Haiz.....I'm so tired with this gomen...every day comes out with something which is silly & foolish ideas. All these are just to diversify the rakyat's attention on some important issues.

We are not dumbo anymore....We know what's going on and we want a change. No matter what the gomen does, still the rakyat suffers. In the end of the day, we don't gain anything but Umnofartees.. smilies/angry.gif
written by Tamingsari, June 28, 2008 08:29:48
Basically this government and all past government has been robbing us blind for years. But the present government is the worst...all of a sudden they can increase the 9MP by RM30 billion...where is the money coming from...US the Rakyat.

1. RM3 billion for rural folks...do you think any of it will get to those folks...oh sorry..you will probably see on TV the minister giving packages of rice and things.

2. RM3 billion to improve irrigation for the padi farmers?...come on do you think that is going to the padi farmers...NO!

They will probably have a nice second home built with it.
written by rams609, June 29, 2008 12:17:46
HAIYA, TAKE OFF PETROL SUBSIDIES AND RAISE THE PRICES FOR US MALAYSIANS.

NO SUBSIDISED PETROL FOR FOREIGNERS, WE'LL GET LESS SINGAPORE TOURISTS.

GIVE SUBSIDY TO AZALINA WHO RUNS THE TOURISM MINISTRY LAH, MAYBE SHARE A BIT WITH YOU KNOW WHO....

TAKE OFF HERE, PUT BACK THERE LAH....

THE RAKYAT STILL HAVE TO PAY LAH....

BO DO WE ALL!
written by malaysia devil, June 29, 2008 19:03:06
KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Malaysia's de facto opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim, denied on Sunday allegations that he had sodomized an aide, saying the charges were an attempt by the government to discredit him.

A former deputy premier who was sacked in 1998 and later jailed for sodomy and corruption, Anwar has seen a revival of his fortunes since a March poll when the opposition alliance recorded its best ever election result.

Anwar says he has won enough support from ruling coalition lawmakers to form a new government by September, sparking fears of a change in economic policy and unsettling investors.
read more at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/
written by BUTEK, June 29, 2008 22:36:22
BABI SINGAPORE DISUSUKAN , RAKYAT MALAYSIA MATI KELAPARAN !!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif