Home arrow Special Reports arrow The bottom line

The bottom line PDF Print
Thursday, 26 June 2008 17:43

There is no such thing as a free lunch. All that is perceived to be free has someone paying for it, directly or indirectly. Case in point is the previous low fuel prices that came at the expense of projects for the good of all.

The Malaysian Insider 

They voted for change in the last elections and the Barisan Nasional government, which suffered its worst performance, heeded the call by putting in various measures in the first 100 days including cutting subsidies that have led to higher fuel and chicken prices.

“Well, they are getting it now. They have to pay more and what is left is pocket change. That’s change,” he said with a smile.

Of course what didn’t change was the way the subsidies cut was announced. There was mixed signals from various ministers of a two-step hike or a one-step hike and whether the fuel tanks of foreign-registered cars are allowed to fill up at border petrol pumps.

After all, we Malaysians have generously subsidisd our neighbours for years with cheap fuel and food. Why should we stop now? Or stop subsidising our Malaysian brethren from enjoying subsidies despite earning Singapore dollars?

What else didn’t change? The public perception that the ruling Barisan Nasional through Petronas is hiding billions of ringgit that could be used to continue the subsidies, after all it is OUR national oil company and we are entitled to its money, which I gathered with amusement from fellow The Malaysian Insider columnist Zulkifli Sulong.

Petronas’ usually taciturn chief executive officer Tan Sri Hassan Marican had to explain the revenues and expenses of the national oil company while Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamad Yakcop also gave an insight in an interview with The Edge over the weekend.

But I think the government should clearly explain that Malaysia produces and sells its higher grade Tapis “sweet crude oil” while importing the “sour crude oil” that is refined into petrol, diesel and such for domestic consumption. We don’t use the oil that we produce but import refined oil for usage.

The government needs to explain the relationship between the crude oil profits and the subsidised prices to the consumers at the petrol pump. Otherwise, they will believe the propaganda of cheap pump prices at various countries mentioned by Opposition members. Let’s straighten them out with the facts.

After all, people should still remember the riots in the Iranian capital Tehran in June 2007 when the government announced fuel rationing of 100 litres for private vehicles with a short notice of two hours.

Yes, Iran has huge energy reserves but lacks refining capacity. It imports 40 percent of its petrol and is running a large budget deficit because of fuel subsidies and a rampant inflation rate estimated at 20-30 percent.

The biggest challenge, in my opinion, is while we explain the need to change lifestyles is to first change our own mindsets and lifestyle. As the ruling coalition, Barisan Nasional must discard the subsidy mentality and work hard to become more competitive.

Malaysians must learn to accept that car ownership will now become a luxury as the cost of fueling the car far exceeds its monthly payments. Perhaps if we have to pay real world prices for fuel, shouldn’t we also pay real prices for cars and other vehicles? Or should all the subsidy savings go to buying up all the toll concessions so that we have a “free ride” on all roads.

There is no such thing as a free lunch. All that is perceived to be free has someone paying for it, directly or indirectly. Case in point is the previous low fuel prices that came at the expense of projects for the good of all.

But the Finance Ministry has to crunch the numbers and see the feasibility of lowering taxes for vehicles or buying up the toll concessions. But I fear that only takes care of the motoring public. Should we pander to motorists only? Are they the only ones who vote?

Those voted into Parliament last March 8 can do their part too. I would like to propose that we help save electricity costs in the Parliament by raising the ambient temperature and relaxing the dress code of suit and tie or formal wear. We just want neatly dressed lawmakers there for work and not for appearance sake.

The government should hasten technology usage and reduce staffing levels. The country has an estimated workforce of 10.4 million people. But only 1.1 million of the workforce pay taxes that help pay the salaries of the 1.2 million civil servants. There is a clear need to downsize the civil service. Or let them tele-commute and the employees figure out if they need a better quality of life with airconditioning and such.

The VIPs could show empathy with the rakyat by reducing their long entourage of escort vehicles and motorcyclists when they move around for public duty.

The list is endless. Just as debate on subsidies.

The bottom line is we should now ask ourselves the question, taking from US President John F Kennedy’s famous line in his 1961 inaugural address, “Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.”

Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed wants to raise the ambient temperature, and possibly the political temperature, in Parliament, through his weekly column in The Malaysian Insider and other articles at www.jazlan.net. He is a two-term MP, representing Pulai.

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by simply_say, June 26, 2008 17:48:55
"Modern man drives a mortgaged car over a bond-financed highway on credit-card gas."- Earl Wilson 1907-, American newspaper columnist

How much longer we can stand this?

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writing at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by Malaysiaku, June 26, 2008 17:55:58
I lost my way throught he long and windy text that was written here.

This “Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.” is a bullshit statement and does not apply to Malaysia. What? you still want us to bend over and be screwed while those who walks the corridors of powers get richer?
written by semut, June 26, 2008 17:56:19

where's pak lah? still sleeping.. so that's why malaysia become worse.. thanks BN voters! smilies/angry.gif

http://semutmalaysia.********.com/
written by mgeo, June 26, 2008 18:04:14
a. PETROLEUM & RELATED INCOME - 2008 ESTIMATE
-- Petronas exports at 5/6/08 price = 255 million barrels x USD 134 x RM 3.3 = RM 112.8 billion [Volume used is as stated by M Azmin Ali on 23/6/08, not 237 million].
-- Petronas payment to govt. [in same ratio as for accumulated figures 336:547] = RM 69.3 billion.
-- Income from promoting highways & cars instead of buses: Vehicle purchase tax & road tax = RM 15 billion [based on RM 280 billion for 1980-2007, Dr Wan Azizah, 23/6/08]
-- KNOWN TOTAL INCOME RELATED TO FUEL & TRANSPORT = RM 84.3 billion.
-- KNOWN INCOME BEING GIVEN AWAY instead of charging = IPPs gas subsidy RM 8 billion [based on RM 30 billion for 1997-2007] Toll "compensation" RM 12 billion [based on RM 38.5 billion "up to" 2006] = RM 20 billion.
-- KNOWN NET INCOME = RM 63.3 billion
-- UNKNOWN INCOME (a) tax on foreign petroleum co's who extract 40% of our crude & gas under "production sharing" [Shahrir, 23/6/08], part of Petronas accounts? (b) corporate tax on fuel retailers other than Petronas (c) APs.

b. INCOME ISSUES:
-- The IPPs sell more electricity because of highways, sell at higher-than-market rate to Tenaga, and get the gas subsidy.
-- How much of the total payment from Petronas for 1974-3/2008 of RM 336 billion (initially stated by Chairman as 359) is shown as income in the various annual govt. budgets?
-- We are getting a return of only 336/570 = 59% on this vital non-renewable resource. Is it being extracted at optimum rate?
-- Of the RM 336 billion, 43.6% or RM 146.5 billion were in 2004-2007 [Petronas figures], more than what was received under Mahathir over 20 years. What happened to this huge amount (Pointed out by humblevoice.********.com; cf. it cost only about 20 billion to build Putrajaya, 20 billion for all toll roads, 8 billion for Twin Towers - under Mahathir]?
-- How much of the separate RM 170 billion for 1974-3/2008 "re-invested" by Petronas was for purposes other than petroleum development, and are allowed in the corporate charter? What about these? (1) leasing business (planes to MAS, oil tankers to MISC, office space in Twin Towers) (2) symphony orchestra and theatre (3) stake in failed banks (4) motor racing (5) university (6) electricity generation.
-- Who are the minority shareholders. How much of the separate RM 41 billion for 1974-3/2008 for them and foreign tax was paid to them?
-- 80% of Petronas "oil" is apparently not sold through 6 'option holders' who obtain the supply at below market prices and have sold it under contracts for 20 or 30 years [Dr. Jeffrey Kitingan, 24/6/08].
-- What are the losses on long-term contracts for gas sales to Japan and S. Korea?
-- What savings do we have to show? Why is do we have worse income distributon (Gini coefficient) than our neighbours? [There is an unconfirmed report that Kazanah is worth RM 53 billion].

written by mgeo, June 26, 2008 18:05:20
c. PURCHASE & SUBSIDIES - 2008 ESTIMATE at 5/6/08 prices:
-- Crude imports claimed = 183 million barrels x USD 130 x RM 3.3 = RM 78.5 billion [M Azmin Ali on 23/6 said 23 million barrels].
-- Assumption: Refining 1 barrel or 158 litres of crude yields 73.8 liters of petrol & diesel [46%].
-- Petrol & diesel consumption = 183 million barrels x 73.8 litres = 13.5 billion litres.
-- Assumption: 60% is diesel for industry including transport fleets.
-- Total diesel used = 60% x 13.5 = 8.1 billion litres.
-- Total petrol used = 13.5 - 8.1 = 5.4 billion litres
-- Cost of petrol & diesel based on cost/litre claimed = (RM 3.00 x 40% RM 2.82 x 60%) x 13.5 billion litres = RM 39.0 billion. It is strange that this is only 50% of crude cost for 46% of crude volume; there seems to be almost no refining and transport cost added.
-- Assumption: "100,000 fleet cardhoders" for diesel represent 100,000 vehicles running 250 km/day at 5 km/litre at RM1.52/litre.
-- Diesel usage by fleet transport = 100,000 x 250 x 350 / 5 = 1.8 billion litres.
-- Subsidy for fleet transport = RM(2.82 - 1.52) x 1.8 billion litres = RM 2.3 billion.
-- Assumption: Diesel usage by non-fleet vehicles is 0.2 billion litres, the rest being for industry.
-- Subsidy for non-fleet vehicles = (0.2 5.4) billion litres x RM 0.30 = RM 1.7 billion.
-- Rebate for elegible vehicles = RM 625 x 6.1 million RM 150 x 7 million = RM 4.9 billion [Shahrir, 23/6/08].
-- TOTAL KNOWN SUBSIDIES for petrol & diesel = 2.3 1.7 4.9 = RM 8.9 billion.
-- TOTAL CLAIMED SUBSIDIES for petrol, diesel, gas = RM 56 billion. The balance RM 47.1 billion may be for these gas users (a) IPPs (b) domestic - negligible.
-- KNOWN BALANCE INCOME FROM FUEL & TRANSPORT after subsidies as claimed = RM 63.3 - RM 56 billion = RM 7.3 billion.

d. SUBSIDY ISSUES:
-- How much subsidised fuel fails to reach retail outlets? [A whole tanker ship of subsidised diesel was nearly smuggled out by "pirates", but for the courage of one sailor. There is no news of any syndicate able to afford such an enterprise being punished.]
-- There is no rebate (as for small vehicles) for for those who run generators for small businesses or households in areas not covered by the national electrical grid.
-- Why was public transport not improved to greatly reduce the subsidy and dependence on petroleum? Why is the bus transport industry - the cheapest - in such shambles and no incentives still given for efficiency, while the highway and car industries are encouraged? [Some problems: multiple regulatory agencies, sudden changes of rules, inadequate subsidised fuel until now, no rise/subsidy in fares, insufficient enforcement, failure to build bus stops, pipes as seats at bus-stands, roads dangerous to pedestrian and bicycles, lack of integration with LRTs, repeated consolidation of bus companies despite failures]. Instead, the public was made the victims of the highway and car industries.
--Why are we importing das from Indonesia (under "20-30" year contract)?
written by unomalaysia, June 26, 2008 18:05:36
I agree that there is no free lunch but it seem cronies IPP and cronies toll concessionaires are indeed gouging on free lunches (until they vomit) provided by the rakyats. Another point is that higher fuel prices, never ending ever increasing toll prices and consistently increasing electricity costs (courtesy of IPP) add to production and transportation costs which will directly impact consumers and mind you essential items like food will bear first strike. And dont keep harping on only motorist complain. What about factories and transporters? Increase cost only will be passed directly to consumers.
But we all know that corruptions in high places is the main drivers of increased costs dont't we.
written by Democrats, June 26, 2008 18:10:06
JFK quotes "Ask not what your country can do for you, -ask what you can do for your country is speaking on sacrifices made by its citizens for the beloved country.

I love my country, but the love must be mutual. Yes, i can sacrifice for this country,...fight illegal immigrants, take arms against foreign invaders, dump my girlfriend who lives too far away from me to save fuel, but what will the government,.i.e. the country do for me to deserve our sacrifices? Cut 10% ON "ENTERTAINMENT ALLOWANCES"? Tell me others third world country in god forsaken places are worse off which not even mentioning the quality of life in a country formerly part of malaysia which is a bridge away thinking we are idiots?

Don't think so.....

And another point, our constant criticism on the government is not unpatriotic,... it is true patriotism to what our country to be the best it can be....its only our leaders are thin skin towards criticism from its rakyat but thick skin in stealing from its very citizen.
written by campuras, June 26, 2008 18:10:42
I agree. BN government must get rid of the subsidy mentality. Subsidy comes in many different form and guises, including special treatment for for the special race.
written by ctchoolaw, June 26, 2008 18:12:27
Extract from the article: "Malaysians must learn to accept that car ownership will now become a luxury as the cost of fueling the car far exceeds its monthly payments."
The BN govt encouraged all M'sians to buy cars when they were building toll highways, Proton, Hicom & Perodua. Now that we have been suckered into buying cars (& still paying car loans) bloddy BN ghost writers say this! We have been CONNED! What should we do? Change the govt NOW! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by humanist, June 26, 2008 18:14:16
-Government sector perhaps should less 4WD vehicle too.
-Less Hotel type "mesyuarat" too !
-Cut down lawatan sambil belajar too.
-Trim the "first class" airline entitlement. Go economy class for all.
-Have fewer kids.
-Also, gov. need to give classes like "how NOT" to rely on skim ansuran always for many civil workers.

Many are in serious debt and keeping on need to service their skim ansuran mudah.

Al
written by K W Waran, June 26, 2008 18:16:15

The frustrations of the common Rakyat is fast reaching Maddening Heights. The RM380 Billion lost through corruption over the 20 years would be a great help to the 27 million rakyat, today.

But, accountability was never there to begin with. So, corruption, nepotism, cronyism, daddy-kasi, etc all flourished while we were told that the country is on fast track to achieve a developed nation status by 2020. So, must spend, spend and spend.

Today, many Fat Cats are still roaming around in this beloved nation of ours, still looking for more innovative means of hoodwinking all of us.

We knew of the colossal corruption taking place almost everywhere but did we ever fathom 20 years ago that we would have been deprived of such an amount that is legitimately, OURS!!!

Yet, millions continued to support those conniving rascals to the hilt. What to do, the rice has now become the proverbial porridge. Makan buburlah kita semua.

Aiyah, very very frustrating indeed.

written by patlu, June 26, 2008 18:17:29
We can talk and talk; the cows still won't come home. The only way forward is to ask every civil and public servant to no more serve only the government of the day but rather to work for the public interest of the nation; for the king and our national heritage. Tell every public servant to sign off as saya yang bertanggungjawab (I, who am responsible).

Now, here's what we can do to get things moving...

CALLING ALL MALAYSIANS - Join this Campaign:
Directive to the Members of Parliament and State Assemblies:
SUFFER NO MORE: Build Us An Efficient Public Transportation System ASAP

Dear YBs,
Enough, we want good public transport. A national crisis of mega proportion is brewing; we want to get to work immediately to stop this. Please take this message as a serious SOS call, get organized and return a peaceful and secure life to us all. Let’s make sure that the nation will not plunge into chaos by acting promptly in a crisis mode.

Ask the government to give this looming crisis its top priority and mobilize the entire government machinery to achieve the new infrastructure in the shortest time possible. Please communicate this at the next Parliament seating.

This is a very trying time, ONLY IN WORKING TOGETHER (political affiliations aside), we shall ALL survive. It is the Malaysians who make Malaysia. MALAYSIANS BOLEH!

"People are The Boss"

JOIN THE CAMPAIGN - Read this first at http://www.pahlawan.com.my
THEN SIGN THE DIRECTIVE - follow the link above

FORWARD ON - Do your bit for Malaysians from all walks of life.
Simply because...

FIRST THEY CAME
First they came for the socialists,
and I did not speak out
because I was not a socialist.
Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for the Jews,
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for me,
and there was no one left
to speak for me.

- Pastor Martin Niemöller (victim of the Nazis)

SO PLEASE EMAIL BLAST YOUR FRIENDS, NEWSGROUPS OR BLOG IT. And please follow-up and follow through.

With love from Pahlawan Volunteers
A Malaysian Voluntary and Advocacy Group
- From Conviction to Action
written by Thinker, June 26, 2008 18:40:51

Don't you just love these articles that push the blame to the rakyat? See, if you didn't get the oil subsidies last time, we could have spent more money on public projects that could have netted us side extra income AND still kept the money that we took from you guys. Now, we have to raise the price of petrol to maintain our status quo and you are still without any efficient public transport. It's all YOUR fault! Dumb rakyat.
written by cheemengwong, June 26, 2008 18:51:21
My father's business is selling fish. Every day he catches fish and sells it.

We eat fish for free. Sometimes he brings back chicken and we also eats it for free! He uses the proceeds from selling the fish and buys the chicken for us. Because we are family and as children we don't pay anything for it.

Malaysia export Minyak Tapis Manis, and imports Minyak Masam for petrol and diesel. Our Tapis is more expensive than Masam- correct?

So what is wrong with using proceeds from Manis to subsidize Masam so that the Raayat can enjoy a higher standard of living and grow to be productive citizen of this country?

Instead of using the oil money to sent one passenger to the space, wanting to built sports complex in UK, paying hundreds of millions in commission to a few people?

No thinking writer from Insider trying to boombazle the Raayat again!
written by K W Waran, June 26, 2008 19:07:26

Sdr. cheemengwong,

You are quite right, especially in your second last paragraph.

Below, is what an elderly chinese man(My bapa angkat) once said to me with regards to our space programme:

"Cilaka punya gomen, lia olang mau tipu siapa? Lia ingat kita olang semua bolohkah. Pigi tumpang olang punya teksi, kasi tahu satu dunia, kita sulah sampai itu angkasa. Whoa, lia ingat dunia semua kasi tepuk tangankah. Lia olang tak tahu satu dunia gillak sama kita hoh- cakap, BOLOH"

written by SamYap, June 26, 2008 19:08:37
Fellow supporters of Malaysia Today,

I am almost at wits end as to how this fellow, Pulai MP Nur Jazlan can put forward such stupid arguments. The only samrt thing he said was the quote from John F Kennedy. Even so that is taken out of context.

If anything, that quote should apply to UMNO/MCA/MIC BN. They should be the ones giving to the country and NOT TAKING FROM THE COUNTRY!!! I won't waste my time listing all the missteps and cronyism which has cost the nation billions of ringgit, not to mention all the scandals which has brought our country to the near status of being a pariah.

I give up. Really give up on Barisan Nasional. I think, if we allow BN to continue and allow such people like Nur Jazlan to manage our country, its really curtains call for the nation. Its "ta-ta" to all our resources.
written by sickofitall, June 26, 2008 19:16:17
BN

Penangites WILL NEVER forgive you for your betrayal. You think taking these two projects from us will break us? SCREW you!!
written by sarawakian, June 26, 2008 19:43:59
Datuk Nur Jazlan does have some good points. Malaysians wouldn't mind paying market prices for fuel if they also paid market prices for cars and got paid market prices salaries.

Politicians and ministers (actually more sinister than minister in Malaysia) should also be paid salaries and benefits as what the corporate bodies pay their staff. why do we hear of exorbitant allowances and salaries for our ministers? why do we hear so much corrupt practices by the ruling gov't? if all these stop, we would have a much better standard of living instead of like what we have now.
written by CPY, June 26, 2008 19:51:01
Well, I don't mind paying full and tax price.
BTW, i'm planning to buy a Honda Civic Hybrid. Hope that the bank will gimme a lower interest.
Hidup PR!(X3)(Even if there is no free water! smilies/wink.gif )
written by trimalnash, June 26, 2008 19:56:21
“Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.”
this what our ruling ministers and mp's should ask their self, middle class people is not enjoying luxury shopping at london or us
written by seethinkact, June 26, 2008 19:57:39
Heyy look here guy,

Dunno what you were blabbing about by half way through but I got your point.

Its like this. You're complaining about the public disquiet or shall I also call it "complaints" regarding the shocking rise in essential living expenses like petrol, chicken etc. Well who wont when you already have nothing left to spend then again forced to make money appear from thin air just to see the sun rise again tomorrow. Even David Copperfield would give up!

Ok...okay so've you painfully explained all this so that the Rakyat understands reason Gomen had to do this painful thing. Okay fine!!.....we the Rakyat can do that but the PROBLEM here my friend is that there is already a complete breakdown of Public TRUST towards the Gomen. For many years, the Rakyat invested its trust in the Gomen. Along the way when Gomen also lost its way, we the Rakyat were subjected to the Gomen's spin machinery year in and year out until it became just too unrealistic. Truth went through the roof, those seeking truth were suppressed or persecuted using all means available and corruption had by now become such a serious disease if not a plaque, that the Rakyat had lost all trust towards the Fed Gomen of the day.

The result? Gomen decisions/policies that hurt or disrupt the Rakyat's peace or "cari Makan" today would simply result in a massive and immediate backlash. Thats why you get the angry anti-establishment response first, each time the Gomen makes a policy.

TODAY, the Rakyat views any Gomen policy with utter scepticism and mistrust. The believe is that the Fed Gomen is again up to no good and is out to enrich themselves and cronies one way or the other. Buddy, the Gomen has the dubious and impossible task of winning back the Rakyat's trust. Gone...Kaputz...Infinito.
written by DontPlayGod, June 26, 2008 20:01:04
I agree with one of the bloggers, that John F. Kennedy's quote does not apply to the rakyat in this country. UMNO has already been raping us of hundreds of billions throughout the decades, and almost throttling us, so what more can we do for our country? The only thing now the rakyat can do is to vote out UMNO, as a service to our nation.
written by Arubin, June 26, 2008 20:09:29
Just another long-winded attempt to justify the rakyat's suffering because of government excesses.

Move along now folks, nothing to see here...still the same old claptrap...
written by cruzeiro, June 26, 2008 20:33:46
Jazlan,
You're definitely trying to make waves as a "reformist" wannabe - Godd luck to you, mate!
Anyway, with all the hogwash that you've dished out, why don't you explain why Petronas needs to hide its accounts from the tax payers who give it the right to drill for crude?
Why isn't it public listed?
Why can't the public buy a stake in it?
Why can't the public attend their AGMs?
What's the problem?
Too many skeletons?
But I thought Petronas is so squeaky clean in its management/accounting ...
I'm sure they can put on a straight face and reveal accounts for the last 25 yrs ...

Yes - I'm sure there's no free lunch or party - I'm with you on that, buddy!
written by chiongguo, June 26, 2008 21:01:02
In Malaysia's context we are not getting a free lunch mainly because it was stolen from us by those who are now trying to convince us that there is no free lunch.

We never asked for free lunch but a fairly reasonably priced lunch. We are willing to pay a price that will even enable the petrol station, the distributors, refiners and petronas to even make hefty profits. But what we are unwilling to do is to pay a price to subsidise the IPPs, Toll concessionnaires, corrupt bureucracy etc.

What we get from petronas so far had been paper subsidy but what we paid had been real money. So let's be clear about who is subsidising who.

written by shiokguy, June 26, 2008 21:12:03
Sure nothing is free in the world, but hey we are rob dry by those who are connected.

Why the need for an AP? To produce AP king? How about allow me to buy a brand New BMW 520 at RM140K? I belief that the Market price right?

My dream car at RM140K ....... when can it be?

Cut the subsidy for fuel, sure go ahead. But return us the choice of buying a car at international market value. Scrap the JUNK Proton, until so many year still cannot stand on it 2 feet? ]USELESS Genetic Defect in Proton lah..

You talk about free Lunch? Nothing is Free? Talk that to Proton, AP king, Toll Boss... Do you know we have the most toll booth in the world. Sure be listed in Malaysia Book Of Record.. instead of Longest or tallest...

Look at thing in two side lah... don't just talk about no free lunch without looking at all the Freebie enjoy due to NEP and cronies...
written by raybeam, June 26, 2008 21:20:48
It does not take a rocket scientist to realise that the cancellation or as the Barisan government would lead us to believe that the postponement of the monorail and outer ring road projects have been made because of the lack of
funds.

However, every right thinking Malaysians know only too well that this is an outright lie but rather to punish Penangnites for voting in the Pakatan Rakyat. I wonder how Lim Guan Eng and Co will react to this announcement.

From,
Alfred Ho.

Please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com
written by Arrow, June 26, 2008 21:29:17
I hate what the *mother*f**kers* have done to this country - the majority of good students have foresight and knowledge and we could have surpassed SIngapore if not for these *bastards*
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 26, 2008 21:43:41
Haven't you bloggers heard what our "beloved" PM said right after his MPs supported him in parliament? He said he belived he still have us, the people's support and that we are beginning to understand why his government has to remove some of the subsidies. Does he really2 believe that?
Hmmmmmm, Pak Lah, why don't you desolve parliament and hold a fresh election tomorrow? Then you can truely see just how much we Malaysians support you.
written by Eskay Lim, June 26, 2008 22:07:32
OBVIOUSLY we, Malaysians have been had, conned and suckered by our own government.
We were encouraged to buy cars, preferably local-made Protons, Peroduas or Nazas and take long repayment car-loans from local banks, whilst crony companies built highways and upgraded roads to collect tolls.
Now everyone is committed, to repay monthly car-loans, pay daily tolls & parking and suffer high petrol prices. And it seems the rakyat are at fault for failing to manage our finances. The govt. advises us to change our life-stye and use to public transport to cut costs.
I think we are being punished for supporting the Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Ranulaw, June 26, 2008 23:21:35
Yeah, we've heard it all before. We sell our great Tapis quality crude oil but import low grade crude oil to refine so the gomen "buy" the import & Petronas "sell" the export so the gomen "subsidizes" the rakyat.
However, in this case we know Petronas = gomen so we all can see thru the spin.

BTW, "“Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country.” is a great line but in M'sia I'm still asking the gomen NOT to do things for me like raising fuel prices, promoting inequality, promoting corruption, suppressing dissent, etc......
written by SamYap, June 26, 2008 23:31:49
I really cannot tahan this bugger Nur Jazlan. I wrote an earlier comment but I am still so blinking mad with this dumbass, I am writing again to screw him up.

I think the quote from JFK should be rephrased as follows:

"ASK NOT WHAT UMNO CAN DO FOR YOU, ASK UMNO TO SCREW YOU!"

Thats more like what Nur Jazlan wanted to say!!!!! smilies/angry.gif

written by archie, June 27, 2008 01:41:06
"What else didn't change?"

BN's corruption & cronyism.
written by doggone, June 27, 2008 02:08:38

To make your long story short.

THE BOTTOM LINE is,..we tighten our belts until we get an hour-glass figure and watch in timidity while BN continue its plunder of the nation's coffer. Yes or No?
written by NSTPravda, June 27, 2008 06:46:17
“The bottom line” always look pretty good
At least, from the perspective where cronies stood
With petrol prices increasingly going sky high
You are left standing, when rich cronies zoom buy

Of course we have to blame this one on somebody
Perhaps we should blame it on global jewish conspiracy
It’s definitely the foreigners who caused us pain
Or should we blame all the pendatangs again?

We should look far a wide for someone to blame
We are so good at this old eternal denial game
The inconvenient truth will cause us too much dismay
Looking at ourselves is definitely not semua-nya OK!
written by raybeam, June 27, 2008 08:22:28
malaysian prime minister, abdullah badawi has done it once again. first, he lied about his very own wedding. then, he lied about the disillusionment of parliament prior to the recent general elections. believe it or not, he has just announced the cancellation of the monorail and outer ring road projects in penang. i think that it is high time that badawi step down to make way for someone who is more capable, trustworthy and who has got better leadership
qualities. whilst i am on this subject, what are ministers whose reputations have been tainted, such as tengku adnan and mohamed taib doing in his cabinet. come to think of it, some of the ministers in badawi's cabinet have been linked to corruption and their arrogance towards their malaysian subjects is most reprehensible. in short, the barisan government has overstayed its welcome and a change of government is what we really need. as prime minister of malaysia, badawi has betrayed the trust of the people by shielding his cronies from being prosecuted for the crimes which they have committed. if badawi continues to hang on to power, then i fear that as law abiding citizens of this country, we face a very bleak future.

to find out how i have been unfairly treated as a blind individual by this very uncaring government, please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com
written by chaiksyn, June 27, 2008 08:38:52
Datuk, you should pack your bags and move to USA!!!!You don't deserve to be living in this country. Let alone be called a Malaysian. I am ashamed to call you Datuk....I wonder how much you have swallowed in your two terms. Screw yourself!Dumbass!
written by jeevy, June 27, 2008 10:07:08
“Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country."

This is utter rubbish!!!.., this quote only appiles to d US where d govt has done a lot for d people unlike in malaysia,needless to say....theres no equal distribution of wealth in malaysia...d British made d chinese rich after d japanese occupation at d expense of d indians...d malays and d chinese made themselves rich after 1970 with d NEP ...dat leaves d indian penniless...whos going to cry for d indians?...so wht has d govt done for d indians in order for d indians to do something for it?....nothing.....so d above quote doesnt apply at all for malaysia!!!...period.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 27, 2008 18:35:29
Never ask what your country can do for you, because you will have to pay for it anywhere.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 27, 2008 18:39:54
Never ask what your country Malaysia can do for you, because you will get screwed.
written by malaysia devil, June 29, 2008 19:03:49
KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Malaysia's de facto opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim, denied on Sunday allegations that he had sodomized an aide, saying the charges were an attempt by the government to discredit him.

A former deputy premier who was sacked in 1998 and later jailed for sodomy and corruption, Anwar has seen a revival of his fortunes since a March poll when the opposition alliance recorded its best ever election result.

Anwar says he has won enough support from ruling coalition lawmakers to form a new government by September, sparking fears of a change in economic policy and unsettling investors.
read more at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/