Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Proton Likely To Gain From Govt's Malaysian Taxi Plan

Proton Likely To Gain From Govt's Malaysian Taxi Plan PDF Print
Thursday, 26 June 2008 11:13
SHAH ALAM, June 25 (Bernama) - Proton Holdings Bhd is likely to benefit from the governments suggestion to standardise all taxis in the country with a Malaysian identity by 2010. Minister of Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Datuk Noh Omar Wednesday said the Cabinet has asked the ministry to discuss with Proton, requesting the national car producer to design and manufacture a taxi that portrays the image of the country.

He said this to reporters after witnessing the signing of a memorandum of understanding here today between Proton and GIATMARA Sdn Bhd on the advancement of automotive training.

Noh said Proton has been also requested to look into solutions and alternatives that will cater to saving the use of petrol for the taxi.

"If Proton is able to do that, we can assure that the demand and sales for the taxis will always be there, he said, adding that there are currently 38,000 taxis operating in Peninsular Malaysia.

Meanwhile, Protons chairman, Mohammed Azlan said that Proton welcomed the governments suggestion to come out with a taxi which will have reflect the country's identity.

"Proton will continue to look at the car that is required by the market place. We will do what is the best for the industry," he said.

Azlan also confirmed that Proton will launch a taxi and car that are fitted with natural gas for vehicle (NGV)facility within this year.

"We have already started the project, where cars like Proton Saga, Waja and Wira as well as Persona will be fitted with NGV facility. So, it can use bi-fuel, petrol as well as NGV and also it would be cheaper as it is done in the factory," he said.

The aim is not only for taxis to be fitted with NGV facility but also for cars for the Malaysian public, he said, adding that demand for NGV was rising following the increase in petrol price.

He said that the existing taxis were being fitted by NGV facility outside the factory and the cost was too high.

Meanwhile the MoU Wednesday will see Protons involvement and cooperation with GIATMARAs board of advisors in formulating its automotive training curriculum.

The car manufacturer will also share its automotive expertise and knowledge via lectures as well as providing practical training opportunities for GIATMARAs students.

The various arrangements for training and parts is expected to be in the region of RM1 million for a period of two years.

-- BERNAMA

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, June 26, 2008 11:24:21
That is what proton cars are made for.Nobody is interested in this crab.It's best suited for the scrapyard.Also suitable for funeral procession.
written by panca, June 26, 2008 11:26:20
Yes, carry whatever plan there is good for the country. But...

The next biggest plan is best to sell away to the world market from further ailing so that it becomes competitive in the business market.
written by budakindia, June 26, 2008 11:30:29
Another "creative" way to bail out the ailing Proton just like Petronas creative way of accounting. smilies/angry.gif
written by Al Ambia, June 26, 2008 11:37:41
Yes,we can have the best design,safety,low fuel consumption .......taxi in the world.But unfortunately the problem is not in the taxi.Its the driver.Since it is service oriented,the attitude projected by these driver ll tell alot about your country.
written by Malaysia Digest, June 26, 2008 11:40:35
Proton is nothing more than Jaguh Kampong. Only can sell their over price car at local market and with the help of the government some more.

Proton should be looking for ways to export their cars overseas and make their company as export contributer to our national revenue.

Malaysia Digest
written by semut, June 26, 2008 11:42:03
we already boycott proton because of very bad quality! say NO to UMNO's products!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by qitaro, June 26, 2008 11:51:51
I suggest Proton name their future taxi model "PROTON TANSEE".

TANSEE means waiting to die in hokkien!
written by hardworking_taxpayer, June 26, 2008 11:58:09
"the Cabinet has asked the ministry to discuss with Proton, requesting the national car producer to design and manufacture a taxi that portrays the image of the country"...

I can imagine how gaudy the design is going to be like. Lots of stickers, cheap plastic looking lights and distorted mirrors on the same proton iswara. If anybody owns a Waja, you will know that their "design" is a copycat of continental cars without the quality. Every now and then, something falls out from the interior of the car.
written by Mik, June 26, 2008 12:00:01
NGV is not purely a a long term solution. NGV still being subsidized by Petronas. I heard the subsidy is about RM2 a litre so the actual price is Rm 2.68 cents not 68cents. So one of these days Petronas will pull back the subsidy and u will be back at one. Best solution is to reduce the usage of vehicle and at the same time buy a fuel efficient car. We should consider moving house or moving job. Whats the poing of living in Seremban and working in KL? Car pool will be a good thing to do but our malaysian mindset not tat advanced. we are suspicious or abusive and of coz, lazy n uncaring. The public transport will be one of the best option but it cant be taken as an option with the current condition. The government has to do something to improve the public transport but the current government will only launch a project if it benefits its cronies somehow. with this kinda government, its best we look after ourselves until a change in government. if not, next election. Now,just a thought. Every taman or area has a community service center rite? DAP's or PKR's or MCAs. forget about umno. They can launch a program, to car pool. Ask everyone who volunteers for registration and match them to whoever going to the same destination . The cost can be shared since nothing can be free. In this way, u will not only reduce traffic congestion but reduce cost. But we will ask, if the guy late and i wana go back early..hiya..going home 1 or 2 hours later a few days at a time, big deal ah? give n take la. they are some who wants to go back on the dot. like those idiots who luv to double park or triple park rite infront of the bank or restaurants. since when we malaysians became so lazy, i duno. anyways, i think the carpool idea will work with a little effort from everyone.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, June 26, 2008 12:03:24
Hi Malaysian, Go ‘close-up’ than you can see are just next to the project. Someone. And don’t say I did not
written by Braino, June 26, 2008 12:03:59
As taxis are on the road all the time, I wonder if they have thought of the danger in the event of a high impact collision. Will the cylinder be able to withstand the impact? Will it cause an expolsion as gas are higly inflamable substance. Gas ignite with a spark! Are they endangering the lives of other road users?
written by tino_chan1988, June 26, 2008 12:05:48
Another bailout plan for one of the 'how-in-the-world-can-you-lose-money-in-a-monopolized-government-owned-company'. An absolutely wonderful money-channeling plan for the UMNO-putras and an imaginative farcical way to improve taxi services and image.

What a joke!

written by humanist, June 26, 2008 12:11:50
Even Indonesian told me Jakarta uses Toyota Altis as Taxi. Malaysian deserves much better car.

No Proton, they can put Cow /Horse powered car or anything, no proton and please close down Proton as soon as possible. Everytime I see a proton I see that old Tun's face.
written by Arubin, June 26, 2008 12:12:46
Another good example of the Malaysia Boleh attitude.

We just got rated as having the worst taxis ever, and the gomen compounds the problem by standardizing our taxis with the worst car manufacturer ever.

Its like trying to put out a fire by throwing kerosene on it...
written by Kawan MT, June 26, 2008 12:13:07
Another Project dari Barisan Nasional?????

Please look at the earlier post stated that Malaysia's Taxi service ranked the worst in the survey. Is there anyone really look into this matter and find the way to overcome it? Instead of thinking change the outlook (change taxi), why not find the way to improve the "intenal beauty" (service provided)???

A suggestion here. All taxi service are to be operate by few private companies(for sure, no GLC again) and all taxi driver are put under the fixed payroll of the company. No car rental or license rental will be impose to taxi driver. Despite the fixed salary, they will also earn extra income from the commission (% of daily collection via meter after take into consideration of the satisfaction of the pessenger). If the taxi driver manage to get more income and get good rating, he can earn more. This can solve the problem of "idle meter" in front taxi as well as can improve the quality of the service. One stone killing two birds.

written by anak malaysia 2, June 26, 2008 12:29:48
one of the worst project implemented by apanama is proton.this project is one of the worst destruction of wealth of the malaysian public through no resale value of proton cars and abnormal high taxes impose on other types of cars not to mention the lost opportunity of being the detriot of Asean.
written by Jun Jan, June 26, 2008 12:37:00
To equate Proton to Malaysian Identity. Why is it that I felt INSULTED when they said that??
written by ctchoolaw, June 26, 2008 13:16:55
Yes, it looks like a bailout. We, taxpayers, are suffering because of rubbish & sham transactions like this. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by KotaDamansara73, June 26, 2008 13:19:13
UMNOPutra says:

"We are UMNO. We do no wrong. It is those stupid bloggers and opposition people that are wrong. Proton is a national car. There is no way we in UMNO will let Proton die. All Malaysians, regardless of race must buy proton. You must sacrifice for some of our UMNO kronies and GLCs to become rich. We can't make all Malays rich. This is impossible. If all Malays are rich, then where we UMNO people will feel special.

Najib did not kill the Mongolian. It is the Mongolian bitch that kill herself. I am the judge of all things. I am smarter than the judge. Don't need to do anymore investigation."
written by slash n burn, June 26, 2008 13:21:55
Scrap Proton Besi Buruk. One race company, policy of spoon fed to the cant work attitude. Rather walk than giving money to NEP.
written by Rozlan, June 26, 2008 13:22:42
Proton car design are as good as others.But the main complains are they installed sub standard accessories which troubled the new Proton owners.AS a proton owner I had similar experience,to the point I felt really fedup with the car..I was made to undestand that Proton had corrected the quality problem starting from later waja model,Persona onwards..

I have trust to the national car that it could compete with the rest providing they were given an efficient,honest management team.

As malaysian I did criticized Proton so that its could buck up not to pull it down into the drain..
written by shiokguy, June 26, 2008 13:36:11
Proton is a piece of Expensive Junk This junk should have RIP long time ago, because of this Junk we are suffering with high car price.
written by temenggong, June 26, 2008 13:52:54
This govt never fails to amaze me with their ludicrous business plans. Proton must be idiots even talking to them about taxis!

Leave the choice of taxis to the taxi drivers, and leave the automobile business to the auto manufacturers!
written by Amy Chan, June 26, 2008 14:04:12
Make sure that the safety features of these taxi are of international standards or else you pay to risk your lives! Beware!
written by KKchan, June 26, 2008 14:20:54
A car that portrays the national image? Silly statement by a Minister. What is the national image? A keris, a minangkabau roof, a lion head, bunga raya, orang utan or a combination of the things I mentioned?
written by Democrats, June 26, 2008 14:48:09
KKchan,

I doubt it will look like that, prototype and mold very expensive. More of a faclift on one of the existing models.

THe malaysian image incorporated will be :

Bunga Raya cushion covers.
Keris like key with twin tower alarm key chain.
Malaysian flag covers side stickers and paintwork on the hood.
An exhaust adaptor that whistles Negaraku as you step on the trottle.
Side mirrors with permenant imprints of Pak Lah and MM face.
Brake lights with BN image.
Dash board that says "MY PROTON is better than your TOYOTA".
Bumper saying " Fragile : Handle with care"

Total Cost of Implementation : RM1 billion
written by densemy, June 26, 2008 15:07:23
Malaysia will never progress while it continues to prop up past mistakes...Saving face is a disastrous concept

This idea is about as nonsensical as the "Islamic car"

Lets call the new model the TIDAK APAH

It comes off the production line already dirty n to further portray the image of the country the drivers are especially selected on their RQ (Rudeness Quotient) and their Abysmal Driving Skills....Its mandatory that all litter be dropped on the floor and the air freshener must contain Eau de Monsoon Drain or as an alternative Asian Armpit

Meters have become redundant instead there is a random numbers generator to determine tarriffs...with special settings for Tourists, Women, Indians, Chinese,Locals etc etc
written by cruzeiro, June 26, 2008 15:35:48
How about an electronic device fitted on all new taxis to "sniff out" C4?

Maybe just an ass on every hood will do just fine ...
written by cruzeiro, June 26, 2008 15:40:56
On second thoughts, maybe turning every taxi into an IED with C4
- sure to attract many jihadis from the OIC nations that need testing grounds!!!

We can add on free IED consultancy services with a hotline on the doors too!
written by Sagaladoola, June 26, 2008 15:46:26
My writing on this issue

http://sagaladoola.********.co...ation.html
written by HawaiiBlues, June 26, 2008 15:55:24
STOP bailing out another hopeless business venture .... in fact the Proton plant should be closed down to save more tax payers' money. Clean up the act of taxi rogues, teach them to be courteous, stop abusing passengers with foul language, use their meters at all times, and stop refusing to take passengers because of trafic jams. What's the use of having more taxis with the present quality of the majority of taxi operators/drivers. Their ill manners have tarnished the image of the good & honest cabbies, esp. during VMY ... smilies/angry.gif
written by hellosunshine, June 26, 2008 16:09:43
Since we've all been fed full of bullshit by the BN govt all this years, why not have a truly M'sian image taxi that's instead of horsepower, is 2 bullock powered - bullock carts. They are environment friendly and their bullshit can be used as manure or fuel for cooking. Much much better than BN's bullshit.
written by ksmaniam, June 26, 2008 16:18:45
Pay me rm5 million and 5k for 2 years, I will give Proton an idea which will shock Malaysia and send waves across the world.
In fact working on it right now.
AAB interested.
written by the1, June 26, 2008 16:23:23
LOL, LOL.
Just like Malaysian Unis grads, can only serve 'locally' but not fit for international market!
written by expat70, June 26, 2008 16:29:46
Open up licensing practises to allow competition among various players. Let market forces dictate.

Good for all.
written by jayenjr, June 26, 2008 16:35:31
Now, why in anyone in his right mind would wanna continue to support an industry that gobbled up the Nation's finance in the first place?

written by Raja Gasper, June 26, 2008 16:47:36
Likely Proton Holding soon will be known as RapidProton and KJ will be the cheif adviser to Proton which gots new life from the new taxi business ideas.Proton is tied to NEP and will not and cannot be closed down even in lost because of pride
written by LACOBRA, June 26, 2008 17:28:07
Great idea! Now we have 27 million Proton taxis on the road without prejudice to serve every Malaysian regardless of race, creed and color!
written by wood, June 26, 2008 17:34:52
Bangkok has many Toyota Altis for their taxis !

It may be good to use a local product ! However Proton must be humble enough to want to learn from others and if need be to have JV with others who are technically more advanced than us.

If not come 2010 we will still have a Proton car only good enough as taxis in Malaysia and not in many other countries !

Malaysia Boleh !
written by humanist, June 26, 2008 18:20:17
Oh Pete,

I noticed someone was sanitizing the comment. oops.

I got one comical comment deleted from another

Sorry Pete, if it may land you into trouble. Will behave.

Al. smilies/wink.gif
written by sydput, June 26, 2008 18:22:58
I think proton should seek some advise from another malaysian icon - LAT, the cartoonist.
He drew maybe 15 years ago, a prototype malaysian taxi in the shape of a kereta lembu from melaka.
written by CPY, June 26, 2008 19:29:44
I think Proton should come up with a hybrid modellah. Otherwise, how to compete with Toyota and others?
written by wisdomguy, June 26, 2008 20:41:55
It piss me off when the proton name is mentioned.Inferior car and expensive.Disgrace!
written by Dominic, June 26, 2008 22:51:24
The govt asking proton to come out with a car that project the image of the country ! What a joke . What is that image of the country to show to the world ? Anyone can give me some clue ? A songkok on the roof with body wrap in sarong ! Or a kris on the front bonnet and a C4 badge on the boot ! You should be concern about producing quality cars that can complete with gobal demand and standard.
written by macakmy, June 26, 2008 23:33:53
Aaahh! Now I know why they took away the "subsidy". So that their cronies can make money selling NGV conversion kits!! When everybody has converted to NGV, they'll stop the "subsidy" on gas!!!! Brilliant!!!!!! Isn't it??!!!
written by The Hammer, June 27, 2008 01:41:52
Well, it looks another curse of the Midas touch! Anything the Govt tries to touch to their advantage; it always end up dead!. We have bus graveyard at Rawang, a KTM commuter graveyard at Sentul, very soon we will to search a site to dump all these cheap and short live Proton taxi cabs! If I am mistaken there is also graveyard for the Jumbo planes and especially the Nuri "flying coffin" at Subang!
written by hksp, June 27, 2008 17:19:01
what kind of sick joke is this ?

close that damn proton down !