Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Putrajaya Landscaping Maintenance Costing RM1.5 Million A Month

Putrajaya Landscaping Maintenance Costing RM1.5 Million A Month PDF Print
Thursday, 26 June 2008 09:40
KUALA LUMPUR, June 25 (Bernama) -- The government spends RM1.5 million a month or RM18 million a year in maintenance cost on Putrajaya landscaping, the Dewan Rakyat was told Wednesday.

Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique said the maintenance work was carried out by 29 contractors who were registered with the Contractors Service Centre (CCS) for Parks Lanscaping Project according to zones.

The landscaping zones were divided into gardens, protocol roads, Persiaran Perdana, Putrajaya fringes and neighbourhood precincts, he said in a written reply to Liew Chin Tong (DAP-Bukit Bendera).

- Bernama

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by Ken Liew, June 26, 2008 09:42:06
IS something Burning??? i smell something....

WTH!! who is burning the monet here???
written by Rashid, June 26, 2008 09:49:08
18 million a year? By landscaping? OMG, no wonder Kedah malays are dying of hunger while Mahathir spensds money on nothing (Putrajaya cracking roads and buildings).
written by Rundukon, June 26, 2008 09:53:04
I wonder how much more was spent on maintenance? This gajah putih project sure burn a big hole in the govt's pocket.

And to think of some people in Sabah have to survive on ubi kayu cecah garam!
written by Tompios, June 26, 2008 09:54:35
Putrajaya, Menara Berkembar Petronas, KLIA antara monumen yang banyak menyakitkan mata negeri-negeri minyak di Malaysia. Sabahan khususnya yang berotak akan merasa sakit hati melihat Menara Berkembar Petronas di Kuala Lumpur bangunan tertinggi berkembar sarang roh-roh pelahap, penjajah Malaya dan perogol hak-hak negeri Sabah tinggal.

written by K W Waran, June 26, 2008 09:58:19

I have only gone to Putrajaya once and was so sickened by the colossal opulence that I decided not to go there anymore. Any dealings there, I would rather use the Snail Mail. It is more like a Dreamland created for the benefit of few.

The PM of the day can proudly show that off to all visiting dignitaries. While the poor Rakyat can charter buses to visit the place with gaping mouths of awe. Hui!!! Dashyat Nohhhh!!! Negara kite cukup Maju.

Didn't TDM say something about the cost of That Palace of Golden Donkeys being around RM 17 million. Folks, you go figure.

written by FOLI, June 26, 2008 09:59:58
I have not visited Putrajaya nor wish to do so but am just wondering if there are paved golden bricks on walkways that need polishing, money trees that need hugging, silver elephant statues that need washing to warrant the disgusting amount of money spent on maintenance.
written by sydput, June 26, 2008 10:02:28
RM1.5 mil for maintenance in putrajaya, a place where there is no place for sports, no public swimming pool, only a giant lake for lovers. Even parks in Malaysia are meant for lovers, not sports person.
Where are the football fields and tennis courts, indoor badminton courts?
written by technoboy, June 26, 2008 10:04:22
Just another channel for BN crooks to korek!
written by capcomangel, June 26, 2008 10:13:02
why dont list who those contractor are and who the main owner contractor
written by miwaki, June 26, 2008 10:13:17
Our BN government is trying very hard to create jobs and money for the landscaping maintenance companies.RM18,000,000.00 a years for maintaining the landscaping of Putrajaya.Market rate is 50% rebate to the one who gives out the contracts,ie RM9,000,000.00 which is equivalent to S$3,910,000.00 a year.This guy is making more than Mr SL Lee,the PM of S'pore !
written by raven1958, June 26, 2008 10:14:45
1.5M is OK.....but how do you generate income from this place....no commercial centers, no proper sports facilities....and worst of all no proper public transport ......... its' Mahathir's monument.......and Malaysia must always look at Putrajaya as Malaysia's corrupt capital......like the bridges of Putrajaya.....Malaysia is now heading nowhere.......this country's curse will only be eradicated when Mahathir joins Mahsuri......
written by cwy, June 26, 2008 10:14:47
Sheer waste of public fund! Again the contract is given to UMNO cronies!
written by Arubin, June 26, 2008 10:15:26
Send the bill to Mahathir! Putrajaya was HIS stupid idea.
written by Flex65, June 26, 2008 10:21:29
Well, what is done is done. Can we have the list of the contractors and who finally profited from the contracts? Next can we have an open tender for the maintenance? I don't mind setting up a new company to get the job for 17 million a year. Can I have the job, please.....?
written by Fairminded, June 26, 2008 10:21:48
Check out who are the contractors. I bet that all of them are linked to UMNO/BN.
written by harryo, June 26, 2008 10:22:19
So much and lallangs grow everywhere too. How come?
written by Mr Smith, June 26, 2008 10:22:53
That's RM 50,000 a day.If you check on the 29 contractors I am sure all are linked to UMNO cronies.
written by BORN FREE, June 26, 2008 10:22:56
This wasting of taxpayers $$$
What stupidity is this? Gosh, how
many poor families this $$$ can feed!
written by ctchoolaw, June 26, 2008 10:44:43
All that landscapng for a GHOST TOWN! What a joke! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Beezee_Beezee, June 26, 2008 10:45:46
We might not be aware of the numbers of Federal Gormen built empire all over the states. If you go to KK there place the Federal office at Likas near the Yayasan Sabah Building and this where they scutinised the fund.....why do we need such an empire to manage Sabah...?Who paid for the m'tce?
Look at the Federal Island at Labuan..How manytime a week does the Perbadanan Labuan korek and replanted same plants[flowers] along the roads? Who paid for it?
written by Sagaladoola, June 26, 2008 10:51:38
Ermmm.. and what did they say during the recent fuel price hike?

"Change Your Lifestyle" konon .... Nuff said.. Hmmpphhh....
written by ahmadneil, June 26, 2008 10:56:37
Ask Tun.Another of his wastage of the rakyat's money.All this contract is given to umno.Cronies at work.This is absolute stupidity.
written by slash n burn, June 26, 2008 11:06:26
RM1.5 Million per month for eradiation of hardcore poor in the rural area is much more noble thing to do.
written by onnetline, June 26, 2008 11:08:52
One group of the contractors korek, the other group tanam balik.

But of course with different kind of plants and sizes. If photos required as proofs, can see the difference mah !
written by panca, June 26, 2008 11:31:10
The next best thing to save the Rakyat money is to introduce cow and 'bulls' farming so that it is synergistically aiding the landscape! smilies/cry.gif
written by qitaro, June 26, 2008 11:39:33
Putrajaya - another cash dispensing machine for the well connected.
written by budakindia, June 26, 2008 11:41:48
No lifestyle change for PM? What the hell! Why he likes to tell us to change our lifestyle when he didn't! He spent more and more! smilies/angry.gif
written by NickChan, June 26, 2008 11:53:14
still many people don't live in proper houses with proper toilet facilities and proper utilites.

see DBKL thugs driving Nissan jeeps. If im not mistaken, MPSJ thugs drives Pajeros.
written by taufan, June 26, 2008 12:29:15
What, RM1.5m a month? I frequently visit Putrajaya as part of my job.

What I see is more of a 'crumbling down' in the upkeep of this place rather than the required maintenance.

When the top is corrupt, the whole system sings in tune with them!
written by wildbil, June 26, 2008 12:43:58
Zulhasnan Rafique, you are cool man....

You said it like nothing happened and RM 18 m just like a drop in the bucket.

What can you say.... RM millions is too small for the umno monkeys nowaday. RM billions might get their attention.
written by The Krull, June 26, 2008 12:47:53
This is very disheartening to the poor rakyat. Some us have even nothing to eat but all the walls, bricks , stones, trees, grasses and even snails were given the best treatment in the whole all of their life.
written by slayer, June 26, 2008 13:23:54
Instead of spending RM18M a year on some white elephant project, why don't the government use that money to help the poor and needy. What a stupid waste of public funds. smilies/angry.gif
written by fairnessforall, June 26, 2008 13:59:17
Out of the 1.5million a month, probably RM1 million goes to someones pocket.
written by expat70, June 26, 2008 14:42:37
Wow, RM1.5m per month is a hack lot of money!!! This is about RM 75,000 per day minus weekends. This is about 160 man hours and it equates to about RM 470.00 an hour. Wonder how many Malaysian workers, let alone a gardener earns that much money.

Oh! forgot to mention that there is no need to prune the same tree, cut the same patch of grass, repair the same patch of hardlandscape, clean the lake everyday.

Sure alot of folks will queue up to be gardeners!!

written by Lim Lim, June 26, 2008 15:29:42
this sort of stuff is nothing news,it's part n parcel of umno/BN hav been carrying for the past donkey years!!
written by aimmsia, June 26, 2008 15:37:10
This is to corrupt legally Malaysia style. One for you, one for him, one for myself and sorry Malaysian, nothing left for you ordinary people.

I am sick and tired with all these fxxking culture which flourished during Dr.M's reign. This is really the dark age of our nation. How many more years do we have to tolerate all these stupid, good for nothing white elephant projects?

God help Malaysia!
written by asguard, June 26, 2008 15:40:30
Got money for gardening but no money for rakyat expenses...what kind of government do we have all this while.....
written by aimmsia, June 26, 2008 16:01:47
AAB takes his entire carbinet on this Airforce One to have a birdeye view of the GREAT WORK they have done to our country. While flying over the country, they sees some poor farmers working very hard under the hot sun. AAB throws a bundle of RM50 notes out of the window and says, "These people will be very happy today." DMP fllows AAB, throwing a few bundles of RM100 notes and says, "They will be even happier tonight."

The two pilots saw and heard all these. They put on their parachutes, ejects from the plane and say, "The country is going to celebrate tomorrow and it's going to be the happiest day for all the malaysians in 50 years."
written by Ben Nordin, June 26, 2008 16:29:03
Are we surprised? RM18 M a year. That's equivalent to about 600 low cost units that can be given away for free a year.

Hmm... that's Putrajaya only. How about the Hadhari Park? Wonder how much money that one swallows a month.
written by joeawk, June 26, 2008 17:04:52
Direct nego is like that la. UMNO runners makan apa? They mati2 run for UMNO but malaysians pay for it.

Unless PR takes over soon, many malaysians will leave the country.

What is for sure, if the PR do not do it rigjht and allow UMNO to make a comeback, there is going to be a very, very serious braindrain. Malaysian will continue to be damned.
written by expat70, June 26, 2008 17:24:05
I remember back in the 60's and 70's there was this animal called "Government Auditor". He scrutinised all government books among other things. Wonder is this animal extinct now??
written by Tambunan Boy, June 26, 2008 18:00:37
Alahai ini lagu lama lah landscape punya overhead bukan mahal sangat afterall all the workers are cheap illegal immigrant, saya tahu ada seorang bekas timbalan menteri dari Sabah yg dapat kontrek ni wow dia tak dapat jadi calun PRU lepas pun tak pe ada bagi bagi itu knotrek dgn kroni umno bah!
written by Kapsiow, June 26, 2008 18:01:14
What maintenance ?? I was in Putrajaya last year for the flower festival and the place is a Potemkin village. It's a facade, the place is a shithole.
written by antares, June 26, 2008 18:39:41
RM1.5m per month for landscaping maintenance? This can't be right! unless it is UNMO cronies hands on dirty work. Bastards! Penipu, Perompak, Penyamun, .... PUKIMAK ingat duit rakyat harta karun AAB. Absolutely Disgusting!
written by bn haramjadah, June 26, 2008 19:09:25
after reading this I have come to the conclusion that malaysia needs a revolution alike neer seen before in the world, line these scum up against the wall and just shoot them like the dogs they are. did the cabinet moron also mention that the govt is renting all those buildings from putrajaya holdings an umno linked company how many billions more can the rakyat take we eat one meal a day and these bastards spend money like there is no tomorrow, "my wee child has no milk to drink because ,my wife's tities are drying up , no more milk" that was the cry of the french when they started the french revolution and executed all the rich, i think the day of reckoning is not too far away. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by sarawakian, June 26, 2008 20:19:45
written by Mr Smith, June 26, 2008 | 10:22:53
That's RM 50,000 a day.If you check on the 29 contractors I am sure all are linked to UMNO cronies.

does anyone going around PutraJaya see 1,000 gardeners paid RM50 per day doing work there?
written by shiokguy, June 26, 2008 21:18:29
** Tender it out and see **

Tender the whole thing out and see how much we can save!

Dear MP Liew, get the job spec of the whole thing and out it out as open tender and see how much we can save.. Then give the tender to the putrajaya govt.

Make it a public process and let the public know that even with a lower cost, the govt will not terminate those sucker leaches...

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by educationist, June 27, 2008 03:46:43
You know, we must put on a show for visitors to Putrajaya, even if it be most will be ordinary citizens who will go away unsatisfied with the services of the government servants there.
To those grandiose bureaucrats and politicians, what is RM1.5 million a year, since it is the public's money, and in the process some will drain into their pockets
written by Tom n Jerry, June 27, 2008 04:13:10
I fully support*bn haram*motion that a revolution is the only way for this nation to move backon track!All these corrupt Bn politicians should be guilotined or put to *firing squad*because they are *penny wise ,pound foolish* smilies/angry.gif
written by SampitK, June 27, 2008 07:32:02
Nilai Landscape contractor margin for Landscaping and maintenance work 50%. 20year contract in Nilai that ex MB give to his good Tan Sri Dato Dr fren. Must pay commission to everyone in Majlis Perbandaran Nilai ma. Rakyat money waste like this lol. I wont surprise same at not only Putrajaya but elsewhere Govtlandscape job. smilies/angry.gif
written by myvoice, June 27, 2008 07:41:49
1.5 million a month for maintenance cost! A total waste of rakyat money! To all the BN crooks, 1.5M is nothing to them, that's whay many million has been spent unnecessary and at the end, minyak naik, barang naik, rakyat are the victim. A stupid and idiotic gomen that we are having now.