Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MB: Aide may have put money in own account

MB: Aide may have put money in own account PDF Print
Thursday, 26 June 2008 09:39

SHAH ALAM: An aide who resigned after he was suspended for misconduct may have transferred funds solicited from private companies for Pakatan Rakyat's 100th day in office celebrations into a personal bank account, said the menteri besar.

Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said the aide may have transferred the money to his own bank account under the guise of calling it a "PKR account".

Abdul Khalid, at a press conference here yesterday, said the party was in the midst of determining if the account was a proper one belonging to the party.

The former aide to the menteri besar was also alleged to have written to various companies using the Selangor state government official letterhead for "donations" for the event.

The move particularly angered a Pakatan Rakyat component party, Pas, when the aide was found to have channelled the monies into a "PKR" bank account, all without Abdul Khalid's knowledge.

It is understood that supporting documents of the bank account could not be found and that the aide was the only signee, not in accordance to the norm where bank accounts of organisations would have needed two signatories.

"We will get the money and channel it back into the state government account to be audited and then we will distribute it as agreed by the Pakatan Rakyat component parties," Abdul Khalid said.

This is not the first time the aide had been implicated in a scandal. Earlier this month, he came under investigation for alleged "abuse of power" when claims surfaced that he had been awarding cleaning contracts to four companies.

"Since then, I have called for a meeting, stressing that all records must go through the MB. But he has not done so (when soliciting funds)."

Commenting on the aide's call for him to resign, he said it was "normal and expected".

"Like anyone who would be affected by the resignation, it is normal for them to make a call like that, especially if he is politically active.

"But (my resignation) is a question for the people and my party to decide. He's only one member."

- nst

written by Rashid, June 26, 2008 09:45:20
But running dog Ezam said he will lodge a police report, the question is, against who? The man who has been fired? Isn't that too good for PR and PKR?
written by miwaki, June 26, 2008 09:46:18
Well done Mr Chief Minister,your action for suspending him is endorsed by the people of Selangor.We can't afford to have someone in PR to commit CBT !
written by rajaphillips, June 26, 2008 09:46:37
PKR has to work hard to convince people that it is NOT a clone of UMNO. Suspending that guy is a good move in the right direction
written by sukinong, June 26, 2008 09:54:04
I warned you guys of cancer before. Some can be UMNO's mole. All the Heads of the PR States, check your ma cai credibility.
written by technoboy, June 26, 2008 10:06:21
Let's hope PKR or PR does not change their color once in power and look like BN.
written by cwy, June 26, 2008 10:11:35
If this Yahaya is a close ally to Ezam ( equally corrupt ), the latter has to swallow back his words , and squeeze his own balls.
written by Ann Meng Sim, June 26, 2008 10:12:03
No matter how you disguise SHIT, no matter how much perfume you spray on SHIT, it is still SHIT.
written by sickofitall, June 26, 2008 10:12:42
Pakatan

Please remember to follow due process and allow for the presumption of innocence until guilt is proven. That said, thank you for the transparency and the accountability! You set a good example for others to follow!
written by Mr Smith, June 26, 2008 10:17:20
Nowadays everyone claims innocence. Is this aide an UMNO mole?
written by ctchoolaw, June 26, 2008 10:47:19
PKR must be vigilant. There are many Trojan horses in PKR's midst. Remember that idiot PKR candidate that wa supposed to challenge Azalina in Johor? Many more are embedded in PKR. Not that I advocate a witchhunt, but PKR must be careful or, as Pete says, they will risk losing the plot. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Sagaladoola, June 26, 2008 10:50:18
IMPORTANT HIGHLIGHT:
... the aide was found to have channelled the monies into a "PKR" bank account, all WITHOUT Abdul Khalid's knowledge.
written by cheemengwong, June 26, 2008 10:50:51
Dear Tan Sri,

Be careful who you call your aide! To me they are AIDS to your office and character if not careful.

You need to do a security check and get the police to clear all your so called AIDes.

That way when a problem comes up, you are not only absolve but your responsibility and conscience is clear.

That is transparency!

Transparency is not about talk but walk. Walk the talk Tan Sri. Otherwise the popular chinese saying is Tan SEE (waiting to die).

No offence Tan Sri.
written by temenggong, June 26, 2008 11:00:58
It is highly probable that umno may have paid Yahya to create wrongful acts to tarnish the image of the Selangor PR govt.
written by ahmadneil, June 26, 2008 11:02:53
This aide is planted there by umno and use to discredit the PR gov't.Be careful, check their balls also as it may be fill with C4.
written by louisL, June 26, 2008 11:22:18
Well, Mr MB Selangor, this is a good lesson for your admin as well as for the rest of the Pakatan controlled states.
Watch your functionaries very carefully because some maybe learning the tricks fast from the BN crooks.Punish them quickly after due process of the law. Do not ape the infamous BN 'denial syndrome' of the past. Flush them out before they do further damage and disillusion the rakyat who gave you a chance in the previous election.
Believe you me, the BN robber-barons are past masters at abuse of power and corruption and therefore can smell one being committed miles away. Then the BN pack sharks, tasting blood will tear you up in a frenzied feeding.
written by Warga Tua, June 26, 2008 11:26:58
Well done. This shows Pakatan is clean government. Unlike Barisan, corrupt people in the party are officially condoned.
written by KIAT BLUES, June 26, 2008 12:34:36
tHIS YAHAYA guy must be ex umno member or hopw else he knows how to manipulate the money around if not been train by umno's leaders
written by uncleleow, June 26, 2008 12:56:52
People make mistake. If they are wrong just take them out of the power circle. And move one. Dont give the enemy opportunity to kill us with tiny winny mistake.
written by fairnessforall, June 26, 2008 13:54:59
Well now the truth is out. This yahya fella is a crook who was siphoning out money meant for the state. Why is he the sole signatory of the account. In the first place, the bank should be sued for allowing the account to be opened. PKR should sue the bank for allowing this which is considered dematory to PKR as they should know what the law states that any organisation should require 2 signatories and both have to sigh in front of the bank officer as witness. Seems like now even the bank officer who opened the account maybe is cohoots with yahya. Why wasnt procedures followed. This yahya is a cunning man. Khalid thanks for letting the rakyat know the truth. The mere fact that he is the sole signatory of the account speaks for itself that this is a con job. Now what has yahya got to say. he was talking big and trying to pretend to be an honest man when he is just as corrupted as those UMNO goons, probably working together with Ezam to bring PKR down.

YB Khalid, if there is evidence that the account was opened using PKRs name with yahya as sole signatory, the please make a police report as any opening of bank account should have the organisations resolution I believe. Correct me if Im wrong. But if a wrong doing has been done, the person has to be charged for it. Let all know that PR will not tolerate any cheating or corruption.
written by Alonso, June 26, 2008 15:48:51
Yahya Sahri & Ezam Mohd Nor are a very close friend way back from reformasi era, thus it is understandable the later stand and action
written by joeawk, June 26, 2008 17:06:44
That is even worse.He is simply corrupt and a big, big cheat. No wonder he quickly resign. No loss to nobody. Return him to UMNO.
written by bayan, June 26, 2008 17:53:09
Orang macam Yahya patut di pecat bukan gantung kerja . Ezam masuk Umno nak lawan rasuah tapi bodek UMNO ,muka tarak malu punya orang . Inikah macam jadi ketua anti rasuah ,berapa juta dapat?
written by mikewang, June 26, 2008 18:07:12
YAB MB,

Weed out the lalangs ....
Return the scums and cheats to UMNO.

As long as you are accountable, clean and transparent, the people will support you.
written by bn haramjadah, June 26, 2008 18:54:58
IF THIS aide yahya has siphoned money meant for the state into a personal account than the full force of the law must be applied, this is to show the pakatan govt, walk the talk, and also gives reassurance to the rakyat that they have not been cheated by another umno style govt. whatever this person's position in any party, if you are corrupt than face the consequences. immaterial whether he/she is the son or daughter of somebody prominent. that has been the culture of umno and bn, we kicked them out for this very reason, let this person go to jail and that would be a very clear message to all members that corruption will not be tolerated. or are statements by DSAI JUST TALK. EZAM SEEMS TO BE VERY WELL INFORMED BOUT THE GOINGS ON IN KEADILAN, WHY IS THAT DSAI, IS IT BECAUSE HE KNOWS WHERE THE BODIES ARE BURIED, IF YOU ARE CLEAN YOU HAVE NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT, enough of this malay style of putar belit politics, we are sick and tired of bullshit, if the donkey from keadilan is guilty put him down like the dog he is, don't let him drag down pakatan because of a few bad and stinko bastards ex-umno culture mentality morons. DSAI CLEAN UP YOU BLOODY HOUSE.Why is it always the malays who keep on doing this rubbish, so wake up before you get voted into the political dustbin of history. enough is enough. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by cllim123, June 26, 2008 22:29:49
Upon being bestowed the powers, we can see the men from the boys. Those who put their hands in the candy jar will always be boys. Those who stand by and guard it are the true men. We dont need the boys to run the show. (just applying the metaphor, not meant to be sexist)
written by Wakeupmsia, June 27, 2008 00:39:31
Tan Sri, we have faith in your judgement and fairness. Keep up the good work. However, keep watching the turncoat/traitor ME or his spies in PR. Long Live Pakatan Rakyat. In you we trust.
written by The Hammer, June 27, 2008 01:53:32
Yes; PKR must be careful of moles, Trojan, spies, and also sleepers! You will not know when these kind of people turned on to follow their master bidding! Trust no one!
written by hksp, June 27, 2008 17:28:42
go mb, clean out the mole !