Home arrow The Blogs arrow Face To Face arrow FACE TO FACE: Muhammad Umar

FACE TO FACE: Muhammad Umar PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Thursday, 26 June 2008 09:37

Alas, Muslims aren’t united. Furthermore, Muslims do not know how to prioritize issues. Which problems are important and which are petty. So, that sets us on the wrong track.

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob is a trained lawyer and Malaysian political commentator. He writes for numerous international newspapers and online journals as well as hosts Face to Face, an interview segment of Malaysian/regional issues and personalities hosted on Malaysia Today. He also serves as Foreign Correspondent for foreign news organisations.

Mr. Muhammad Umar is the chairman of Ramadhan Foundation, www.ramadhanfoundation.com , the UK's leading Muslim youth organisation, founding member of Ramadhan Trust and Chief Patron of the Happy Home Trust. Muhammad Umar made history by becoming the youngest person to be invited on BBC’s Hard Talk to discuss the aftermath of the 7th July 2005 terrorist attacks in London and the way forward in tackling the evils of extremism and terrorism. A leading light for young Muslims in the UK in challenging times, Face to Face gets the opinions of this ‘voice’ of the Muslim youth.   

1. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Tell us about the Ramadhan Foundation?

Muhammad Umar: Well, in short we aim to build bridges across communities.  We seek to present Islam in the best light as it should be. We believe that we can offer a positive image of Islam in a professional manner in line with the Islamic Heritage.

2. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Would you like to share some of the interesting events that you may have planned?

Muhammad Umar: Yes, In fact we are to participate in a debate to be held at Oxford this coming Saturday, 28th June on the motion is ‘’Islamic Theology & The War on Terror are Jointly Responsible for Muslim Extremism  in the UK’? I will be debating against the motion, that Islam is not a factor in terrorism. I believe that Islam is pure and that the problem really is that Islam is truly misrepresented. For this predicament, Muslims themselves are to be blamed as at times they interpret Islam wrongly or at convenience. Worst still when implementation of Islamic decrees is done in a haphazard and way that is based on ignorance of scholarly work. 

3. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: You were in Malaysia recently, and so what’s your objective impression of Malaysian politics?

Muhammad Umar: Yes, I loved my short visit here as always. You know, Malaysia is a former colony of Great Britain. So, politics here has many similarities from that in the UK. However, I’d like to point out here that Malaysians by far and large I find are politically savvy. Most Malaysians, whom I have met have strong political views and either support one leader or another. To me this is real political consciousness going on here in Malaysia. I also find it refreshing to see that Malaysian leaders are very accessible to their people. I mean, one has a better chance to meet leaders here in Malaysia as compared to the UK. Malaysian leaders are also remarkably in touch with the ground. Politicians like Tun Dr. Mahathir, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir and others I’m sure are in constant contact with the masses. This is unlike politics in the UK where most Brits either don’t really care about politics per se or hate their leaders.  British subjects have little respect for any of our politicians.

4. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: You speak highly of Tun Dr. Mahathir. Did you know that certain quarters (perceived to be close to the present administration) have lambasted the former premier on a number of issues.. Now, what do Muslims overseas/globally think of Malaysia’s political strongman? 

Muhammad Umar: Yes, I have read a little on the political spat going on in Malaysia. Let me say this, I reserve any comment about Malaysian politics.  Malaysians must determine for themselves where their political path lies.  However, as far as the international Muslim community is concerned, we love and respect him. Tun Dr. Mahathir has steadfastly spoken up against western domination in all its forms. Of course he is not a perfect human being, no one is, but let us not deny the many contributions that he has made over twenty-two years. I mean very few leaders in the world can claim to have increased their citizen’s per capita income from 300 USD to 5000 USD annually. My question is, why are people only attacking him now, five years after he has retired and not earlier? It’s really very sad. Especially the many souls that Tun Dr, Mahathir had helped and have now turncoat. In any event, I’m sure Tun Dr. Mahathir can overcome the challenges, he has endured worst things in his political life.

5. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: What’s your observation of Abdullah Badawi?

Muhammad Umar: I have had the privileged to meet him. He is indeed knowledgeable in Islam. It was a pleasure to have met him.  

6. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Malaysia, as you well know is multi-religious and multi-cultural. In your opinion in contrast to your experience in the UK, are non-Muslims / non-Malays in Malaysia being treated unfairly? 

Muhammad Umar: Well, I can’t say specifically in Malaysia’s case, but allow me to make this observation. Malaysia in the last twenty years or so hasn’t had any race riots of the scale seen in other parts of the world. Malaysia, has been relatively peaceful and harmonious. One important thing to remember is that in the UK, we do not celebrate the religious or cultural celebrations of others. For example, Muslims, Indians and Chinese celebrate each other’s festivals, be it religious or otherwise as official national holidays. In the UK we do not do this.  So actually, Malaysia is a beacon of light in this respect. I feel that Malaysians must unite or it will mean the destruction of this beautiful country. The enemies of Malaysia are just waiting to destroy Malaysia. Put aside all your differences especially on the smaller issues for the better of Malaysia.  

7. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Islam in Malaysia has been scandalized by a great many administrative factors as well as human failings. Are there are any parallels to the UK in this regard?

Muhammad Umar: Let me quote to you what the Chief Minister of Sabah said to me recently. He said that Muslims are disorganized and I couldn’t agree more.  Take this example, YouGov a popular survey in the UK estimated that Muslims may be able to affect at least 100 seats in parliament, if they were united and thus the Muslim vote would be a swing vote to determine political events. Alas, Muslims aren’t united. Furthermore, Muslims do not know how to prioritize issues. Which problems are important and which are petty. So, that sets us on the wrong track.

8. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Islam in South East Asia (SEA) is important to the West only as far as its war on terrorism is concerned, as Washington describes it ‘the second front on terror’. Is this justified? What role do you see Muslims in SEA playing in its relationship with the Western powers?

Muhammad Umar: As far as the issue of terrorism is concerned in the region, it is a fallacy. It is not a major issue but been made out to be a major issue. Malaysia for example is a symbol of success and modernity. SEA nations need to re- examine their relationship with Western powers that is based on greater transparency. By that I mean, the West has set the definition of what constitutes terrorism. Have we had a chance to define it transparently? What about terrorizing Muslims who are against Western influence and domination? What about the armies of the U.S, U.K. and Israel that promotes state-sponsored terrorism? Iraq? 

9. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: What about discrimination against Muslims in the UK? Let’s talk about this in light of the newly passed controversial anti-terrorism bill that allows for long periods of detention without trial?

Muhammad Umar: Yes, this law is devastating in its effect. It is illegal and immoral. Very sad indeed. Our civil liberties have been eroded. Winston Churchill fought successfully against fascism without taking away any measure of civil liberties. Law abiding Muslims are discriminated against and this trend is on the rise. Attacks against Muslim communities are on the up and up SADLY.

10. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: The Islamic party (PAS) has as its main aim the creation of an Islamic state. Is this compatible with Islamic theology? Comment? 

Muhammad Umar: The teleological debate is lengthy and varied in its views. I can hardly delve into it here. However, what I’d like to put across is that Islam is undoubtedly the main religion of Malaysia. Malaysia also has a delicate balance with British political systems and institutions. So, I think that Malaysia has done well in the balancing act but it must continue to look at the big picture. The pertinent issues must be resolved first such as the economy. Perhaps, Muslims must also take time out and ask themselves why are the non-Muslims wary of Islam and Muslims? Why?

11. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: the initiative of globalization is seen by many to be the reasons behind the economic imbalances in the world today. From an Islamic perspective, what do you think?

Muhammad Umar: Again, we have not been a partner in determining the definition of the term ‘globalization’ itself. I mean, Muslims and the wider world’s interpretation and expectations must be included into what encompasses  ‘globalization’. I feel ‘globalization’ must be based on morality. It must have as its thrust the equal if not just distribution of the world’s wealth to all communities. Globalization must not be merely to satisfy profit interests and greed.

12. Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: What would you like to say to the Malaysian people?

Muhammad Umar: Please put your differences aside for the future of your nation.  To the Muslims of Malaysia-strengthen your community and put aside your political differences that divide you.

Face to Face interviews are conducted by way of email unless otherwise stated.

written by PASOK, June 26, 2008 09:49:41

"Put aside political difference" - yeah thanks for the great advice. Better you just concentrate on your day job.

And by the way it is not Mahathir responsible for Malaysia's economic success - it was the Malaysian people who did it.

Nice beard tho' , without it you look like Michael Owen and that's not a good image yah.

Votes: +5
written by Tompios, June 26, 2008 10:00:02
Yes! Thanks Mr. Muhammad Umar. Enlighten us especially those who are hold nominal Moslem in badge. You need to come to Malaysia and teach those UMNO people how to be like Prophet Ibrahim, Prophet Moses, Prohet Daud and many more if they do not understand the teaching of Prophet Mohammad.

Many of us here especially UMNO's group are acting like UMAR UMAIYAH.
Votes: +1
written by Rashid, June 26, 2008 10:06:34
PASOK wrote:

"And by the way it is not Mahathir responsible for Malaysia's economic success - it was the Malaysian people who did it."

No! He is comparing us with other Muslim nations like Chad, Somalia, Sudan and others. compared to this countries, we did well. But if we compare ourselves to our neighbours and other "non-Muslim" countries in the same period Mahathir reigned supreme, then we will be lagging behind for 4 decades. So, Mahathir did well since we are better than "Chad".

Votes: +11
written by FFT, June 26, 2008 10:57:54
Furthermore, Muslims do not know how to prioritize issues. Which problems are important and which are petty.

Like banning high heels and lipstick, for instance, when there are bigger issues like corruption and mismanagement to deal with.

I'll tell you what the problem is with Muslims: too much damn inbreeding. No surprise you find similar pea-brained ideas coming out of the incest capital of Malaysia: Kelantan.
Votes: +5
written by panca, June 26, 2008 11:01:24
MAHAthir and Badawi, Congrats both of you have passed the test, his.

In order to know the PEOPLE, stay and live with them for quite a while, there are lots and lots of veils(curtains) that need to lift up for the Sun to come through!

Passing through isn't enough as there are likely misty at times.

Peace Be Upon You Be Upon All Rakyat
Votes: +3
written by ahmadneil, June 26, 2008 11:09:53
We can't blame them for in-breeding co's the veils prevent the male from distinguishing which is the mother or the daughter and which is the husband or the son.That is why 'free for all concept' is applicable.
written by densemy, June 26, 2008 11:17:57
I wasn't aware there was another country called Malaysia on the planet Uranus.

Votes: +2
written by NickChan, June 26, 2008 12:00:37
PASOK, why whine about his beard? He's only practising his religious identity.

He doesn't know much about what's going on in Malaysia and most foreigners only read about malaysia in mainstream press.

His answers are not poltically biased or in anyway contain any racial or relgious discrimatory tone.

And about PAS banning lipstick (apparently) - this is again, a Muslim matter. Muslims are governed by Islamic laws. Don't shrug off PAS without understanding Islam laws. Anyway, if the ban is true, it is only imposed on Muslims in Kelantan, which the kelantanese accepts.

Please people, why the rude comments?
Votes: +10
written by maisur, June 26, 2008 14:47:12
rude comments will only invite rude responses. certainly the responses can be very harsh. it will make current UMNO responses to you guys look too soft.
Votes: -1
written by cruzeiro, June 26, 2008 16:53:01
He has evaded many issues - he's avoided addressing specifics, and is playing the diplomat.
That's fine - after all he's in a foreign land .....
But despite his grouse about "being victimised", he asks a very good question-
"Perhaps, Muslims must also take time out and ask themselves why are the non-Muslims wary of Islam and Muslims? Why?"
Maybe this will help?

Votes: +4
written by pkrgom, June 26, 2008 18:34:02
I think Tun will be remembered for fighting for "democracy."

http://cruzinthots.blogspot.com/2008/06/elections-game-democracys-name.html
written by SBennit, June 29, 2008 19:27:48
- Who paid for his flight here?
- Does he have a valid visa?
- The women he slept with the night before, is it his wife?

These are the questions we should be asking.

Anyway, nice wig color, dude.

(said with tongue in cheek)
Votes: +0
written by Michael Sun, July 05, 2008 17:47:09
The interview is slanted.

Here in Uk Muslims are treated very well. You can find a big mosque in central London. There are few mosques near where I am staying now. The Catholics tried building a big church in Shah Alam and just see the troubles and problems involved. In Bolehland, to build a church or temple, you need the approval of the Jabatan Islam. In Uk, there is no requirement to get approval from the Church of England.

It is strange that Muslims are treated better in Christian countries than Christians in Muslim countries. Have u tried bringing a bible to Saudi Arabia? Even black African muslims are treated like dirt in Saudi Arabia. In UK, a city council advised its people NOT to wish each other Merry Christmas because it may offend the minority Muslims. In Bolehland, the Perak mufti said, Muslims cannot wish Hindu, "Happy Deepavali"

It is true non-Muslims can celebrate their religious festivals in Malaysia. This is legacy brought down from the British. At the time of independence, there is NO majority race nor majority religion in the country. With the BN racist policies Malay population increased leaps and bounds. In another 50 years non-Muslim Malay population will form 75% of the population and by then the call will be to make Malaysia an Islamic State. That's why there are so many Malaysians working in UK, Australia and USA.

In UK, the government policies do not discriminate, the whites do. To be fair even the whites now are less racist than 30 years ago.

In Malaysia, the government polices discriminate but the Malays (generally)don't.
written by sambal muncha, July 09, 2008 00:20:01
Sporting a beard is not religious identity!
written by SUV, July 26, 2008 14:19:10
well,rabbis,sikh,hindu priests all got beard waat..
written by SUV, July 26, 2008 14:20:24
i hope someday,they interview ahmad lutfi otman..

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.