Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M says Umno must unite to kick Abdullah out

Dr M says Umno must unite to kick Abdullah out PDF Print
Thursday, 26 June 2008 09:24

As Umno branches across the country prepare for polls, former prime minister and Umno president Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has called on party members to unite and get rid of leaders who disgrace the party in an allusion to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Umno's recent electoral setback.

In his latest blog posting yesterday titled “Unity” at www.chedet.com and writing in Bahasa Malaysia, Dr Mahathir said Umno today no longer fights for the race, religion and country and instead fights only for the power and benefit of the party president Abdullah.

"Unity is only sought to support the president," stated Dr Mahathir, who quit the party on May 19 in an effort to get Abdullah to step down as party president and prime minister, a campaign that he began a year after leaving office in October 2003.

He said unity would be good if Abdullah had brought success for the party and country but thus far there has only been insults for Umno and Malaysia, adding that Umno and Barisan Nasional have lost badly in Election 2008 under the current president as party unity had frayed with members either voting in the Opposition or stayed neutral by not voting or spoiling their votes.

"Calling for unity will not bring them back. Rather unity itself does not bring happiness. Unity only brings benefits if the struggle has the aims that everybody desires. Unity for unity's sake is not meaningful and will not bring blessings or benefits if the struggle is abused," Dr Mahathir said.

Abdullah's trenchant critic said Umno has lost respect in and out of the country while the younger generation of Malays no longer find the party relevant to them, lamenting that Malaysia is no longer an example for other developing countries.

He also repeated his charge that Malaysia's territory has been handed over to a small country in the south, naming Singapore as being treated as a big power with its approval needed to develop the southern region. "Even the prime minister's decision not to replace the Johor Causeway had to be reported and told to the former Singapore premier by the Malaysian foreign minister."

Dr Mahathir said the country's economy was in tatters with Malaysian investors not reinvesting while the pump prices and other goods have risen without any controls.

Should the Malays unite to support all this? If we must have unity, it is to resuscitate the dignity and success of our race and country," he said, noting that unity is for good and not to cause suffering.

"There is no reason for the current leadership to be strengthened by the unity of people behind it. In fact, the unity is needed to get rid of leaders who have brought disaster to the party and country," Dr Mahathir said. - The Malaysian Insider

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by rajaphillips, June 26, 2008 09:27:44
Umno should have kicked YOU out - and also ALL mamaks masquerading as Malays within Umno.
written by Rashid, June 26, 2008 09:28:49
To be replaced by who? Don't tell me (N#*&*).
written by budakindia, June 26, 2008 09:30:19
and the fight only applies to certain race and religion only? How can we talk about unity where you are still being narrow minded? We want a government who are "colour-blind", help the poor without any prejudices to the skin colour & transparent. That's our pledge! Not some racist and Nazi party.
written by gelanggangjebat, June 26, 2008 09:31:18
Dr. M,

Jebat amat menghormati Tun selaku Bapa Kemodenan Malaysia. Namun Najis/ barah yang berlaku di dalam UMNO pada hari ini, bukan bermula dari zaman Pak Lelah sahaja. Barah ini telah bermula bilaman semangat perjuagan 1946 itu dilupakan oleh para ahli UMNO dari rendah hinggalah ke presiden nya.

Sayang sebagai seorang doktor, DR. M gagal untuk mengubat penyakit ini dari awal. Mereka hanya menurut acuan yang telah dibuat sekian lamanya. Tun, anda gagal.

-Jebat-
http://gelanggangjebat.********.com
written by Birdbrain, June 26, 2008 09:34:52
Dr M says Umno must unite to kick Abdullah out

First UMNO must put on a dog's muzzle on TDM, then Pakatan Rakyat must unite and kick BN out!

written by miwaki, June 26, 2008 09:35:03
Instead of uniting UMNO members to oust Abdullah,it is better to unite under Pakatan Rakyat and let DSAI to lead us to prosperity.Mahathir is sick,he needs treatment !
written by Rundukon, June 26, 2008 09:36:32
Dr Mahathir said Umno today no longer fights for the race, religion and country and instead fights only for the power and benefit of the party president Abdullah.

UMNO yesterday fights for the power and benefit of the party president Mahathir!
written by rajaphillips, June 26, 2008 09:38:03
The 3M dilema of Malaysia -

MMM - Mahathir Mugabe Mohamed
MMM - Mamak Masquerading as Malay
written by gungadin, June 26, 2008 09:43:50
He can repeat everything he says here after the replacement of the current UMNO president with the man of his choice, nothing will change except he will have someone he thinks he can control. It's time we had someone with intellectual ability to lead us, hint - not the current bunch.
written by TWOG, June 26, 2008 09:59:15
written by rajaphillips, June 26, 2008 | 09:38:03
The 3M dilema of Malaysia -
MMM - Mahathir Mugabe Mohamed
MMM - Mamak Masquerading as Malay

rajaphillips - you forgot this - Manipulative Machiavellian Megalomaniac
written by TWOG, June 26, 2008 10:01:32
former prime minister and Umno president Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has called on party members to unite and get rid of leaders who disgrace the party

Small type error here - it should read "get rid of former leaders who disgrace the party and country".
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by panca, June 26, 2008 10:18:50
Mamak is waisting his days away, his mouthpiece is but living on an expired visa.

You have been right in having BODOWI as your SUCCESSOR.

Just don't worry, umno is past and will be HISTORY.

What can people expect when they see snakes in a pit?

written by wishuponastar, June 26, 2008 10:18:55
TDM you should go for a statutory declaration to say you are a Malay.It must be very painful for you to be called kaka and mamak,yet you are stomaching it with Pak-Lah style elegant silence.You are so vocal on everything about and around you but this name calling thing ,insulting your very origin doesn't seem to attract any comments from you at all.Why suffer in silence?Why don't you come out of the closet and nail the coffin once and for all.That would be very therapeutic indeed.Until you overcome the conflict about what you are and face it bravely you can never be a peaceful person nor let others live peacefully.
written by ilovepakatan, June 26, 2008 10:23:05
We must UNITE to kick this JOKER out instead! He's getting on my nerves. I may wanna register chedet-bodoh.com just to dedicate it to him.
written by harryo, June 26, 2008 10:29:37
AAB is just following exactly what you have been doing as PM. Is that wrong? Soon he will also be in your path.
written by cwy, June 26, 2008 10:31:24
The best is that Dr M kicks the bucket!
written by ctchoolaw, June 26, 2008 10:49:09
Kick Pak Lah out! Kick Dr M out! (oops! But he's out...or, is he?). http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Chaptokam, June 26, 2008 10:51:42
Can someone HACK into his website and put Pak lah's photo or picture there ? That will be the day .
written by InEffective, June 26, 2008 10:57:16

Incredible - its amazing how this one politician (no matter how crafty and disingenuous) can totally warp the Malay mind.

It must be highly appealing and seductive - racist unity, power through racial pressure, strategic exclusion, mindless adherence to politicians 'authority', feudal compliance and servitude to avoid having to perform and deliver.
written by ahmadneil, June 26, 2008 11:13:50
This old dog is barking outside the fence.Tun, you have left umno and how logic is it for you to call for umno unity.Go and see a Neuro-surgeon to check the state of your mind.
written by Langadon, June 26, 2008 11:28:23
Dr M says Umno must unite to kick Abdullah out

don't just kick Abdullah only...
UMNO should kick Najib ( Komisyen King ), Khairy ,Nazri ( Head of PTI )and also kick-out monkey/bigfoot inside the UMNO too. smilies/wink.gif
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, June 26, 2008 11:41:02

Hello Mahathir,

You are the one who started all these dirty games in Malaysian politik.

If the RAKYAT said that "Abdullah Badawi PENIPU" than,
Mahathir is the KEPALA PENIPU.

Mahathir, you'r just another Idiot, another B_stard.

http://kerajaanrakyat.********.com/
written by Zapper, June 26, 2008 12:25:26
Tun's hatred of the PM knows no bounds.
written by KIAT BLUES, June 26, 2008 12:48:07
Tun Frankly i tell you all of us knows that and even you also know your umno is full of worms and 90% corrupted person in malaysia is there,just look at the present leaders like Ali ketam, the two muhamad,zaid, even the abdullah family so why gather all the corrupted people to outs abdullah, just ask all the rakyat or we go for individual candidate election. i 100% a sure you pak lah will loose.
written by Counterpointer, June 26, 2008 13:24:04
Well Toon, UMNO most certainly wasn't united to want to follow you out.

And now that you are out, I think you better just mind your own business.
written by wshamsudin, June 26, 2008 13:34:08
Ahli ahli yang ingin bertanding, telah diberi amaran agar tidak berkempen atau membuat majlis kenduri dan sebagainya.....Soalannya apakah Presiden Parti, yang melawat setiap pelusuk negeri, tidak berkempen????? Saya yakin semua ahli UMNO yang terlibat telah diberi GULA GULA dari awal untuk mengundi dan mengekalkannya sebagai Presiden...Budak sekolah rendah bolihlah Pak Lah tipu...
written by taufan, June 26, 2008 16:00:56
Say TDM, why you so angry with Pak Lah?

He has blocked your income ke?

Are you going broke already....unable to bail out your children?
written by mob1900, June 26, 2008 16:53:24
Dr. Malaysia says, Rakyat Must Unite to Kick AMNO and ALL its parasites out!
written by joeawk, June 26, 2008 17:15:24
Why kick Pak Lah out? Malaysians want Pak Lah to dismantle the many legacies left behind by you. Don't bet on it, crook. Pak Lah is not UMNO alone, he is PM of Malaysia and malaysian don't give u a **** whatever you may say about Pak Lah, a good and gentleman, unlike an ass like you, moron.
written by jayenjr, June 26, 2008 17:35:04
Yes Bogus Doktor - UMNO baggers must unite to kick AAB out; in the meantime , the Rakyat will unit eto kick YOU and UMNO out.

Say, Zimbabwe looks good this time of the year right? Why, Mugabe will be waiting garland in hands to welcome you into his harem...
written by arankaru19, June 26, 2008 18:39:59
written by ganbing, June 26, 2008 23:02:04
I hope the bile from Mahathir's anger kills him soon. But then again, I want him to live long enough to see Anwar become PM.

written by hksp, June 27, 2008 17:32:24
not kick abb , but all rakyat should unite to kick u , umno and all teh crooks out of malaysia