Home arrow Special Reports arrow MALAYSIA: Opposition Pledges Yet Unfulfilled

MALAYSIA: Opposition Pledges Yet Unfulfilled PDF Print
Thursday, 26 June 2008 09:00

The opposition Peoples Alliance is made up of three disparate political parties and has yet to formulate a single, holistic agenda to raise wages and household income and redistribute national wealth -- the key demands of the people.

By Baradan Kuppusamy

Even as the Anwar Ibrahim-led opposition Peoples Alliance coalition celebrates 100 days in office this week with huge rallies across the country, the public euphoria that brought them into power is beginning to cool off as people tighten their belts in the face of a slowing economy and escalating cost of living. Demands are rising for the opposition to implement their pledges.

It is clear now that it was easy to make election pledges, but next to impossible to fulfil some of them, especially the promise to lower the price of petrol to pre-2004 levels --world price then was about 20 dollars a barrel. The price of oil is now hitting 150 dollars a barrel.

In 2004, pump prices in Malaysia were under RM0.92, but today the price is RM2.70 and set to rise to RM3.20 by yearend.

"I cannot understand how Mr. Anwar is going to lower pump prices when world price is set to cross 200 dollars by year end," said a University of Malaya economist who declined to be identified, for fear of repercussions. "I think he has to tell his legions of supporters soon that petrol prices will only rise and not drop because the commodity is limited but usage is increasing," the economist told IPS.

For the opposition -- which captured five states and won 82 of the 222- seats -- the issue is pressing.

"As the opposition we promised the sky to win but as the government now we have great difficulty to deliver because we don't have the power, our power to effect change is limited," opposition lawmaker Tian Chua told IPS. "But we are doing our best and the people understand it... they are with us," he said.

Many are still in a state of shock having been transformed overnight from "street fighters" battling police to lawmakers. The size of the victory and the suddenness of the transformation took everybody by surprise.

Voters who believed the opposition rhetoric and voted for change to see their lives transformed for the better are increasingly unhappy that change is slow to arrive.

"We want an end to corruption, we want accountability and transparency, we want redistribution of wealth and we want to see equality for all races," said R. S. Thanenthiran, national co-coordinator of the Makkal Sakthi or People Power movement that helped to bring the disparate opposition into power. "The era of blaming the previous governments for all the ills in the country is over and people want the new leaders to deliver," he said. "But they are still trapped in the old mentality," he told IPS in an interview. "They are the government now and they have to deliver."

A key opposition challenge is how to satisfy rising expectations which are fuelled by opposition rhetoric and rising cost of living -- on Jun. 5 there was a 41 percent hike in petrol and 61 percent hike in diesel prices.

Before the fuel hike the country's poverty rate -- calculated by a household income of RM800 -- was 3.7 percent of the population, or 27 million people. After the fuel hike, and resulting massive jump in cost of living, the government is proposing to a new "lower income" category who earn RM2,000 and below. Nearly 25 percent of the population will fall under this new category of "low income earners".

The new definition covers only expenses for food, clothes, rental, utilities, transport, communication, health and education, former banker turned government minister for special functions, Amirsham Aziz told parliament on Jun. 24.

"Many among the former middle class are now falling into the lower income category and they are fearful and looking to the opposition political parties for deliverance," said S. Sivananthan, a senior official with the Malaysian Trade Union Congress, an umbrella body for private sector unions. "Clearly the former boom years are turning into lean years and people are angry at the sudden lost of status," he said.

The opposition Peoples Alliance is made up of three disparate political parties and has yet to formulate a single, holistic agenda to raise wages and household income and redistribute national wealth -- the key demands of the people.

Instead the former opposition is resorting to distributing sugar, rice and cooking oil to the poor and so doing are fuelling higher expectations for more handouts. "A comprehensive and workable scheme of measure to beat inflation and raise income is not in place yet," Sivananthan told IPS. "Populist measures like free rice are temporary measures and will raise expectation without solving the root cause which is low wages."

The difference between the three political parties that make up the Peoples Alliance is also a contributing factor in the failure to offer a comprehensive common agenda. While PAS, a Muslim fundamentalist party, wants a greater role for Sharia in the five opposition ruled states, the secular, Chinese-based Democratic Action Party supports defending the secular constitution and stopping the advance of Islam in a multi-ethnic secular society. Anwar and his Peoples Justice Party -- Malay-led but nominally secular -- is left sandwiched between the two feuding foes and drained by the constant need to keep the peace.

Increasingly public attitude toward Anwar is unfriendly, seeing him as pre- occupied more with grabbing state power by toppling Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and less on alleviating the real problems the masses face. In fact, Anwar, who controls 82 seats in parliament, is preoccupied with secret negotiations to persuade government backbenchers to defect to his side. If he can get 30 lawmakers to defect he says he can topple Abdullah and form the next government without facing the voters for a fresh mandate.

Many of his own colleagues are openly against "buying" political opponents to make up the numbers because that may cause national instability, and put the Peoples Alliance at the mercy of the defectors whose loyalties will always be questioned. "It is also unethical… we should work at representing the people in parliament, act as an efficient check and balance on the federal government and go for a new mandate," said veteran opposition lawmaker Karpal Singh. "I am against using defectors to topple the government," he told IPS.

Many lawmakers also feel the future of the Peoples Alliance lies in addressing fundamental problems, and on populist measures like distributing food and cooking oil. Nevertheless the opposition victory has given the people fresh hopes that the new government is for them, and in their interest will be not hijacked by the rich and powerful.

After an initial huge jump in expectations and optimism the mood is now "cautious but optimistic" for the Peoples Alliance, partially because people still have grievances with the former National Front governments and their arrogant ways. But, experts warn, these are still the first 100 days and public mood could change dramatically unless the former opposition now in government put aside their differences, abandon populist measures and come together to tackle the real issues -- which are poverty, low wages, rising cost of living and lack of social mobility. (IPS)

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by Rashid, June 26, 2008 09:05:18
First of all, you explain to the people who Baradan Kuppusamy is, then we will talk about whether PR has fulfilled its promises. This is a running dog of AMENO and Be End (BN) with long history of graveyard robbery style analysis.

Secondly, in his temerity, he doesn't see what he complains about are somethings which are directly related or comes under the perview of the federal govt. So what do PR states do? Hogwash!
written by Bigjoe99, June 26, 2008 09:09:16
Here is the bottom line: Federal Budget RM160 billion annually. 5 Pakatan Rakyat States budget: RM3.5 billion. That does not even include the authority to change things that are mostly in Federal laws..
written by Birdbrain, June 26, 2008 09:11:03
I can tolerate PR's lack of experience but I cannot tolerate BN's corrupted ways in governing.

Cuckoo!
written by rajaphillips, June 26, 2008 09:11:33
Baradan thambi, you are making some pretty unfair remarks here and it lacks credibility. "Quoting" (supposedly) an anonymous academic is one good example. I smell a rat here. BTW, who are you really working for?
written by Hakim Joe, June 26, 2008 09:13:07
Hello Baradan Kuppusamy, are you by any chance related to DrM? Tell me which political party has ever fulfilled their election pledges and promises? At the very least the PR fellas are attempting to do it. When have the BN goons ever even think about attempting to fulfill their own election promises? Take the BN Sleepy Head as an example.

Baradan Kuppusamy, we know who is paying your salary. However bias you may be but we voters believe in PR, not some relative of DrM that is on the take. You like BN so much, why not join them? You are qualified anyway....
written by binarytan, June 26, 2008 09:13:13
100 days gone and we have seen the sleepy BN side and the rakyat is welcoming all the moves by PR.

In Selangor state particularly we understand many BN crony companies are not having enough jobs, they are leading to the extinction.

We hope the new leaves will turn out soon and not really the bad sign for the people, we will love these changes.

100 days is too short for the PR states to make drastic change as they are not in command on the federal. Somemore with those BN people stupid mindset, things are really difficult to move.

It is better next round we gie complete mandate to PR only we will see total change, first thing bring inflation level down and tear down completely racial tension. Then only economy will groom.
written by jolmy, June 26, 2008 09:14:08
How do you expect the Pakatan Rakyat govt to reduce petrol price when they are not in control of the Federal Government?

The PR govt can only do as much as their powers in their respective states allow.

Even that, there are hiccups, such as their pledge to introduce Local Govt Elections! Although local govt is the jurisdiction of the states, however, it is under the Local Government Act at the Federal Level.

Only way for PR to implement all their pledges is for them to control both Federal and State levels!
written by pkrgom, June 26, 2008 09:15:29
Increasingly public attitude toward Anwar is unfriendly, seeing him as pre- occupied more with grabbing state power by toppling Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and less on alleviating the real problems the masses face.

Look how stupid he is. Although he has been anti-Anwar for decades, one wonders if his hatred has turned into outright stupidity. Which public is he talking about? Which measures did he use to gauge whether they want govt change or not? Secondly, how would Anwar help the people when he has no power? By singing?

Thirdly, the Karpal statement was a repeated one which this same writer has been using it for 2 months, a wornout hackened mantra indeed. You are a buffoon beyond salvation point, no wonder The Malay Mail and other non-exsistent publications may send you to do a dirty work. Whore!
written by crazygweilo, June 26, 2008 09:15:38
This article amounts to a glorified BN propaganda bulletin. Can you talk in 2012, because thats when you truly need to write this kind of drivel.

Malaysians must be a pretty immature bunch to think that anyone, let alone Anwar Ibrahim can lower the oil price.

Malaysians are also engaged in making inappropriate comparisons of its oil wealth, based on its status as an oil exporting country. It exports a lot, but not an awful lot compared to the other OPEC nations with cheaper oil.

Inflation is inevitable. Its a symptom of too much money chasing too few goods. There are measures that can be taken to alleviate that, but we have to look beyond subsidies and actually look towards harnessing inflation to the benefit of the country, and use it to increase productivity.
written by trulymalaysian, June 26, 2008 09:16:49
Is this guy for real or is he from Mars. He is saying PR promise is not fulfilled after 100 days. Is BN's Promised from the last 5 years of running the Govt fulfilled. Dont have to go as far as 50 years. If i see this guy on the road, ill have to give a piece of my mind to him.
written by rajaphillips, June 26, 2008 09:16:56
Lets catch the bull by its horns.

Dear Malaysians, do you really want to see cheap fuel? If yes lets get PR into federal govt at the earliest possible opportunity. Come out in FULL force if there is a snap election and vote PR in. Baradhan, pls stop this bullshit.
written by sararaj, June 26, 2008 09:34:50
aiyo... bodoh... mmg bodoh... can these childish idiots stop the god damn bickering and name calling and start to run the country properly... why can't everyone put aside their differences and work together for a common good... thye don't get it is it... you stupid politicians were put there to serve the people... remember that the people are your employers... you are entrusted to govern the country and govern it well... stop the bickering man... it's getting old and stale... and those sitting on the sidelines should just shut the hell up... yeah give comments but encourage the government to put their best foot forward... does it matter if it's BN or PR... stupid and childish idiots... damn you people are old enough to understand that these stupid racial and religious banter is completely irresponsible... and coming from an ex PM as well... stupid... he should just save his honour and stop the bullshit... wait i think he has none...
written by Arubin, June 26, 2008 09:41:38
But, experts warn, these are still the first 100 days and public mood could change dramatically unless the former opposition now in government put aside their differences, abandon populist measures and come together to tackle the real issues -- which are poverty, low wages, rising cost of living and lack of social mobility.

Really? Let's see...

Poverty - Federal government's fault for spending or stealing all our money.
Low wages - Ditto.
Rising cost of living - Also federal's fault for mismanaging the economy.
Lack of social mobility - Ketuanan Melayu's fault, and which means its UMNO's.

No reason to be angry at PR. Still voting for them next election even if these issues are not resolved because its BN who's failing to live up to their promises.
written by Engineer, June 26, 2008 09:47:42
Baradan Kuppusamy

Now list out all the unfulfilled promises made by BN since 1957; 18250 days since in office.

If you can't at least tell the Rakyat how much they pay you to post this article.

written by KUMON, June 26, 2008 09:56:55
Who is this Kuppusamy anyway?.

To be fair, I agree with Engineer above totally. Give PR 2 terms, then talk.
written by Jomo, June 26, 2008 09:57:10
Hello KUPU-KUPU PR just 100 days old so don't expect them to do miracles just yet. Grow up kid and fly somewhere where people can't see you.
written by Fairminded, June 26, 2008 10:12:45
Common, give us a break UMNOPUTERAS/BN ! It is only less than 200days.
What promises had UMNO/BN kept after 22 years in power?
written by myke, June 26, 2008 10:24:21
Who is fella? BN affiliated.?

100 days to do all those. BN of 50 yrs holds most of the power can't even bring down inflation and you want PR to bring all those in 100 days.?

You are an IDIOT for even pointing this out at 100 days time period, try 100 weeks later then we will help you bash them.
written by charli88, June 26, 2008 11:12:00
Most stupid analyst in this century. Go spend your time and analyse UMNO/BN gomen. Idiot of your people and this country.
written by chiongguo, June 26, 2008 11:20:08
I can well understand the sentiment expressed against this fellow - whoever he is. But we also should look at whether what he had said has merit. Much of what he said are mere criticism and characterisation that is unfair but there is one statement which we need to understand and accept.

Instead the former opposition is resorting to distributing sugar, rice and cooking oil to the poor and so doing are fuelling higher expectations for more handouts. "A comprehensive and workable scheme of measure to beat inflation and raise income is not in place yet," Sivananthan told IPS. "Populist measures like free rice are temporary measures and will raise expectation without solving the root cause which is low wages."

When I read of Selangor's PKR's effort in distributing free food that was precisely the thought that came to mind. PKR is shooting itself in the foot with this free food. Part of the role of the government is to harmonise contending forces within the community and one of the ways is to manage expectations. By distributing such free food it will fuel greater expectations. All these are BN short-sighted techniques to satisfy the electorate.

If Selangor MB is serious about helping the disenfrenchised within the community it should have a comprehensive program. Give free food by all means but make sure they qualify and not just lepaking at home.Make sure also that these food are given only for a short period of time to tie them over. Help them with micro-credit, training, business planning etc. Make them work for their food by getting them to help out in various community service centers - there are so much to be done in these places. In so doing you not only give them food but also restore their self-dignity. We often forget that when we give someone something, at the same time we will also rob the person of something else. It is like a child learning to walk. If we think we were so kind and do not want the child to hurt himself we offer our support and help. In giving this support we invariably robbed this child of his ability to walk.

written by densemy, June 26, 2008 11:21:15
... and what has the BN government done in the same time?? Turned in on themselves and spent their time backstabbing each other

Never mind about the governance of Malaysia and its people. After all that's been neglected for 50 yrs so why change now
written by onnetline, June 26, 2008 11:36:22
Hei Kuppusamy,

We don't need the likes of you to remind us what PR have pledged, ok ?

Why can't you put an article about " the BN goons who are bad losers and sabotaging PR pledges or good intentions for 100 days ".

Take that tourism tomboy, Azlinda case for example .......... withholding funds and making things difficult for PR states to promote and generate revenues from the tourism industry.

If that is not a sore loser attitude, I don't know what is !
written by temenggong, June 26, 2008 11:37:39
Where is Baradan's assessment of the BN ruled states?

Most of PR's election promises were predicated on federal power, which they don't have yet, and are trying to clinch, but all state promises have been fulfilled, including the prevention of corruption in mega federal funded prokects as well as past BN policies and projects.
written by joemss, June 26, 2008 11:38:37
Has anyone thought that the fuel hike is to make the rakyat pay for whom they have voted? Is there any possibility that this decision will make sure that the PR will not be able to fulfill their pledges before the election? How come the decision of the fuel hike is almost immediate after the elections whilst the BN election pledges was not to increase fuel prices for the year 2008? The signs are already showng that the rakyat are not happy now due to the effect of the fuel price hike and BN has gained political advantage on this in actual fact. Many are of the believe that BN is losing advantage on the price hike but I personally believe BN has everything to gain. I am very sure that as time passes by our rakyat will eventually vote BN again because BN has managed to stop PR from fulfilling their pledges. I am of the opinion that if PR wants to retain the rakyat's support, they have to come up with better ideas and programmes for the rakyat to ease the rising cost of living. Whilst it can be very challenging for PR to achieve this, PR must be seen to be helping out the poor at all times rather than getting involved in unimportant issues that has undoubtly raised by the BN. I feel that what PR needs to do presently is to run their states now efficiently and forgets about the federal level. The domino effect of the citizens will follow when the rest sees that states run by PR are in better shape and this is most viable as most of the states run by PR are rich in many ways. Unless and otherwise this is done, PR may not live to the rakyat's expectation in the next PRU.
written by temenggong, June 26, 2008 11:40:11
Besides, the peoples' complaints of oil price increases and inflation is a post election issue, and is a complaint against the BN govt.

PR has consistently said they will bring the oil price down and that should stabilise inflation.
written by Malaysia Digest, June 26, 2008 11:44:15
Baradan Kuppusamy should go and fly some kites. BN has been in power for decade and there are plenty of promises not fulfilled.

Malaysia Digest

written by tommycol, June 26, 2008 12:23:21
I've waited for decades to see changes in the way the govt. rules and it's pure sickening so as a RAKYAT(i'm sure many will agree)i don't mind giving PR a try as i feel we got nothig to lose(we've lost for 50yrs under BN).I don't expect a MIRACLE but we can really see some changes already in JUST 100 DAYS !!!
At the very least the RAKYAT is getting SOME HOPE to look FORWARD to after such a long CORRUPTED YEARS of administration!!! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by fairnessforall, June 26, 2008 12:29:21
Is this Baradan an idiot or what. PR promised to lower the price of petrol if they become the federal goverment. As state goverments, they have no authority to reduce the price of petrol. Get that into that stupid head of your Baradan and dont try to instigate the people that PR has not fulfilled their election promises. The people are aware that those promises were made with the understanding that it would be done if they become the federal goverment. Are u that dumb and stupid, trying to lie to people and make them think the opposition did not keep its promises.
written by wildbil, June 26, 2008 12:33:12
Hi Bora-dan-Kpussy-samy,

READ MY LIPS.

EVEN THE PAKATAN RAKYAT DIDN'T DO A SINGLE THING AFTER 100 DAYS. IT IS STILL BETTER COMPARE TO THE BN DETROYING THE WHOLE NATION WITH THEIR POLICIES.
written by ctchoolaw, June 26, 2008 12:44:50
Spinning-out-of-control. I agree. The writer is a BN mouthpiece. Give Pakatan a chance. They will do a good job as the federal govt. I can't wait! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by densemy, June 26, 2008 12:44:54
chiongguo... your comments are well thought out and commendable.

But I would suggest that the long term plans you are talking about are the province of the Permanently Employed Public Servants. Its only they who can provide a long term view of any situation. If they are clever enough politicans can only look as far ahead as the next election.. most of them cant even do that.

But sadly for Malaysia, PS's are largely ignored by parliamentarians. The parliamentarians see themselves as the font of all wisdom and generators of new ideas. History has shown that not to be the case.

The end result is that long term planning in Malaysia has been largely neglected and you have an ad hoc system of government as politicians lurch from one crisis to the next
written by Eskay Lim, June 26, 2008 12:59:05
The real issues we, Malaysians are facing today, includes poverty, low wages, rising costs of living, lack of social mobility etc... ...

I would think that Baradan Kuppusamy is a bit naive to expect the above serious issues to be solved by state-governments in just 100 days.
Why don't you hold your horses and only release your expectations in this article, say in about two terms after the Pakatan Rakyat has gained control of the Federal government? After all the Barisan has ruled for 50 years, and the only happy & satisfied Malaysians are the Umnoputras & their political cronies.
written by fairnessforall, June 26, 2008 13:13:25
Well at least PR is giving out ration to the hardcore poor as a temporary measure to overcome their current problems which was created by the BN government. In contrast UMNO goons stole the rice that was meant for the flood victims and sold it to make personal gain. You dumbass Baradan, why dont you write about that.
written by fairnessforall, June 26, 2008 13:15:38
Oh by the way Baradan dumbass, what about BN lying about their election promise of not increasing the petrol price and just 3 months down the line they increase it by 40%. What have you got to say about that. If you want to talk about election promises, why dont you talk about both sides. You UMNO dog, you are a disgrace to all indians
written by kindaeasi, June 26, 2008 14:05:08
Baradan Kuppusamy you are a STUPID IDOIT. Do you expect PR to fulfil all promises in just 100 days? PR does not control Federal power yet and when they do they would still not be able to deliver ALL in 100 days, you STUPID IDOIT. It takes TIME you fool. Why don't you write ALL about the undelievered promises of BN since day one.
written by The Iceman, June 26, 2008 14:20:21
The sooner the BN people stop throwing spanners in the PR works the faster they can get things done. So don't talk about fulfilling election promises. They can't. too many obstacles
written by teohpg, June 26, 2008 14:52:48
I really believe MALAYSIAS by and large should have been living in luxurious like Brunie....if we do not want to spend our money lavishly. The income from oil export itself could let us self sustain. Not to mentioned whatever our other industrial contribute, thats extra!

So far petrol price is going beyond control is because all this while, all moneys, contracts, toll concessions, GLS and etc has been created to suck our country dry....by now, everything could have been in serious deficit, yet few hundreds of cronies has their coffin full of golds. If we continue to support BN/UMNO cronies way of handling malaysia....not only our petrol price will go up, your future will also go up in the air...soon!
written by cahaya, June 26, 2008 14:55:10
Wondering why NST and other MSM do not also report on past 100 days in Barisan Nasional controlled states?
Reporters should be fair and report about all the state governments.
Malaysia has got more than 5 states you know. What about the other states?

Did BN keep its promises to the BN controlled states?
Oops, too embarassed to report semua Barang Naik harga?
written by MNor, June 26, 2008 14:58:02
Hallo Baradan thambi, wait la until PR take over the Country....we know why PR cannot meet the promises b'cus they are not in control of the Country just yet.. we are not that stupid to listen to your "BODORAH" coments smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Kcc, June 26, 2008 15:08:34
MALAYSIA: Opposition Pledges Yet Unfulfilled
- hey you Mr. Writer, it's only been 100 days, and you expect Pakatan to do wonders? At least Malaysians in certain parts of the country is able to see the fruits of choosing Pakatan after that 100 days, though not much, yet MUCH BETTER than the 50 bloody years of BN in power.

Under 50 years of BN - MEGA buildings, MEGA projects but still people cannot cope with high cost; the rich getting richer (it's the same now)
Under 100 days of Pakatan - free 20cu water, parking fine waived for a certain period, free rice for the poor, reattracting investors who ran away during BN rule.

So, Mr. Writer, what can you say about this?
written by ksmaniam, June 26, 2008 15:26:14
The answer to:
HOW IS ANWAR GOING TO BRING THE PRICE OF FUEL DOWN?
By taking taxed money (example petronas say...10b) and pay the petrol suppliers that same money. So when we buy it from the kiosks we pay less. The gov. pay the balance. The idea how the gov is going to get the finance is, as the petroleum price is high nowadays whereas the cost is still low, profit margin of Petronas is high, therefore tax is also high, so the fund can be dispersed to the rakyaat. Please don't ask this question again.(even economist tak tahu, umno people tak tahu i can accept, the gov. tak tahu i can accept, economist tak tahu, I tak tahan)
ok. BTW I am not an economist.
written by jayenjr, June 26, 2008 16:26:58
Aiyo Baraddan....ena-da macha....lu punya Kuppusamy otak tiga-suku style la. Are all Samys like this ah? The other infamous Samy is our infamous but big time loser Samy Vellu....

Why is that idiots who know next to nuts about journalism are taken on board as editors and contributors? Go and watch ALL THE PRESIDENTS MEN la you tiga suku punya Kuppu, for a hardcore lesson on truthful & honorable journalism. Also The Insider.

Rascal...
written by joeawk, June 26, 2008 17:12:16
Only idiots would expect the PR govt to fulfill all their pledges,more so after just 100 days. The BN suffered becvause after 4 years, they still could not even give us the reform we demand yet this snake writer is talking about the PR govt not fulfilling their pldges after 100 days.

You can be a snake but not a snake that people step on, be one that people pray to, *******s BN stooge.
written by cheemengwong, June 26, 2008 17:25:21
Hi Baradan Kuppusamy,

You quoted from some university economist who is too afraid to reveal his/her name the following..."I cannot understand how Mr. Anwar is going to lower pump prices when world price is set to cross 200 dollars by year end,"

Barasamy, I am going to tell you this once and once only ok- don't quote from a annonymous person. Might as well quote from thin air. Better still quote yourself and say that it is from God!

Aneh, come on lah ! Absurd,... Absurd... Absurdities.

We still have such people around kah?

Anyway, about Anwar promise of lower fuel prices....

You say the annonymous economist says cannot! You say,the economist say or who say? I don't think the economist so ignorant, you know.

There were reports of billions of our country's money being siphoned out or corruptly being used by those in power.

Anwar is referring to these billions and used it as a subsidylah. Finish story. Give free petrol also can.

Aneh, I read the top part of your writing and got angry writing this.

Stoplah.
written by cheemengwong, June 26, 2008 17:37:06
Normally I am fair and take care to critique a writing. Who is this Baradan Kuppusamy ?

He is writing for the sake of writing or what?

Is he being paid to write such stupid piece of article?

No brains being used at all, nothing...absolutely nothing. Like that still walking around?

Are you dead brain in live man walking or what?

Even RPK when quoting from his sources dares to make a SD! How can a university economist says something and be afraid of PKR or for that matter DSAI.

Who is DSAI now? He has absolutely no power. He is not government yet! For your information DSAI is PM in waiting lah. Let him wait lah.

Meantime, Aneh, can you get the economist name and let the whole world know. Maybe some Sixth form students can teach the economist about how to allocate scarce resources like money nicely.

written by clarity, June 26, 2008 17:40:21
I celebrated the 100 days with PR not because of what they have done but because of what they did not do. They did not cheat the people with filthy corruption. So Mr Samy if you condone $billion of corruption but carry out some measly promises go tell other websites. Don't bother us here.
written by wood, June 26, 2008 17:44:19
BN has 50 years and PR has 100 or so odd days ???
If you want a baby you still have to wait an average of 9 months !
Even the instant Maggi mee needs 2 minutes ?????
What do you expect the PR govt to do in the 100 odd days ????
Give each an everyone of the rakyat a Tongkat ????
PR will need time . PR will make mistakes along the way and sure they will make mistakes all the way ! Hopefully PR will learn from their mistakes and the mistakes which others made before.

Give PR a level playing field to prove themselves !
written by ImranJ78, June 26, 2008 19:14:15
The writer seems to be very critical towards the PR state governments without also looking at the performance of BN governments. A more balanced report would be more acceptable.

Nevertheless, the writer did bring up several items that is worth considering:
- PR's focus on short term measures such as free water, free rice etc. which to me are not sustainable long term solutions
- The unrealistic, unsustainable and wasteful use of money to subsidize fuel. Rather then reducing pump prices across the board, target the subsidy to those who really need them only. PR should realise that using Petronas' money for subsidy is only a short term gain with long term negative consequences
- Rather then try to entice people to jump from BN to PR, PR should instead focus on how they can best serve the rakyat in these trying times. The rakyat has spoken in GE-12 and have given PR mandate to run 5 states. Do well in those states and wait for your chance in GE-13. Harping on cross-over efforts will make you look desperate and unethical. Over time you will loose the goodwill and support of some of the rakyat if you continue this unethical antics. Yes BN might have used the same method last time, but what is wrong remains wrong no matter how you look at it. The fact that BN did something wrong does not make it justifiable or correct for PR to emulate.

100 days is indeed too short for PR to proof themselves. They need more time. But whatever it is, PR needs to proof themselves well within the next 5 years.

written by raybeam, June 26, 2008 21:16:12
Dear YB Nurul,

I sent out an email to YB last monday requesting your attention to a matter which is of grave concern to me as a blind individual but to which I have received no response from you up till now. Didn't the pakatan rakyat parties make a pledge during the run-up to the last general elections to attend to the problems of the downtrodden or has everything been conveniently forgotten. It is my fervent hope that the pakatan rakyat parties which includes PKR will live up to its promises and not follow the arrogant ways of the Barisan Nasional government. A change of heart from you to assist me would be greatly appreciated.

Yours faithfully,

Alfred Ho.

please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com
written by A MI, June 26, 2008 21:43:58
Baradan Kuppusamy you must be a BN no correction UMNO a*s Kisser. Why don't you analyse how much hardship present government is causing the people? How come more than 30% of schools have no basic amenities? Are you really a kuppusamu or a M2M or a MM3.... what a dork!
written by BUTEK, June 26, 2008 22:34:14
JANJI YG PASTI DITUNAIKAN!!!!

SEMUA ANJING-ANJING KURAP DI TV1 DAN TV3 AKAN DIPECAT!!!!
BIARKAN MEREKA HIDUP MEREMPAT DAN JADI TUKANG CUCI NAJIS BABI KAT SEPANG!!!!!
written by wYke, June 27, 2008 02:48:15
Malaysians has went through hard 50 years, why complaint slowness of 100 days? I could give PR or any new government all the years if there can be improvement for better living in my country.
written by amoker, June 27, 2008 15:21:18
Any pro BN journalist will quote unnamed NGOs or profesionals, or own BN politician or BN based think tank. So, Brandan Kupu Kupu looks and sounds like one.

Whatever la. Sounds from his writting that BN has fulfilled all its promises. Crap
written by power2u, June 27, 2008 18:26:36
What about Bodowi not fulfiling election pledge'Aman ,Selamat dan Makmur???
Is our country Aman????Tourist like Altantuyah can be C4 n Immigration records deleted.Is our country Selamat???Ask Sabahans with overwhelming immigrants.Look at BMCheras incident.Look at RPK having to put his neck at stake to get justice done for murdered Monggolian girl.
Is our country Makmur???Even with Petronas wealth,idiot gov must raise petrol price....making rakyat extremely miskin ...the wirse is Mamak n sucessor Bodowi.
written by asianguy, June 29, 2008 08:01:57
Who is this dumb Kuppusamy? How can PR reduce the price of petrol if they don't control the Federal Government? That's why Anwar is trying his best to form the Federal Government, stupid.
written by malaysia devil, June 29, 2008 19:04:20
KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Malaysia's de facto opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim, denied on Sunday allegations that he had sodomized an aide, saying the charges were an attempt by the government to discredit him.

A former deputy premier who was sacked in 1998 and later jailed for sodomy and corruption, Anwar has seen a revival of his fortunes since a March poll when the opposition alliance recorded its best ever election result.

Anwar says he has won enough support from ruling coalition lawmakers to form a new government by September, sparking fears of a change in economic policy and unsettling investors.
read more at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/