Dr M: I want my day in court PDF Print
Wednesday, 25 June 2008 17:25

PUTRAJAYA: Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad will not seek a judicial review on the findings of the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the V.K. Lingam video clip, saying he wanted to appear in court.

Joking that he was already guilty because the Commission had based its findings on "possibilities," Dr Mahathir said there was no need for him to appeal.

"On the basis of the Royal Commission, if something is possible then it must have happened.

"If it is possible for me to have been influenced by Lingam, therefore I must have been influenced," he told reporters here on Wednesday, adding that he had to submit to the "new standards" that were being followed in the country especially when the Commission was headed by experienced judges.

He was responding to media questions following lawyer V.K. Lingam, Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor and tycoon Tan Sri Vincent Tan filing applications for leave seeking a judicial review on the findings of the Commission.

Among others, the Commission had recommended that Dr Mahathir, Lingam, Tengku Adnan, Tan and former chief justices Tun Eusoff Chin and Tun Ahmad Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim be investigated.

Dr Mahathir had earlier witnessed his wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah Mohd Ali launching Prof Salleh Buang's book Smart Growth at the Perdana Leadership Foundation here.

On retired Federal Court judge Tan Sri Azmi Kamaruddin's allegations that he (Dr Mahathir) wanted to amend Article 121 of the Federal Constitution because he wanted the judiciary to be under his control, Dr Mahathir said he would prefer other judges with contrary opinions give statements on what had really transpired.

"There is no need for me to talk. Just like (High Court judge Datuk Ian) Chin who earlier said I had threatened to sack judges but today says that I dropped hints or words here and there, if there is anything more vague than that I don't know.

He said sacking a judge was not as easy as sacking a football player as a tribunal had to be set up for the purpose.

Dr Mahathir also said that he did not know Chin or any of the other judges and had to depend on others to recommend them for appointment.

- The Star

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by krepot, June 25, 2008 17:38:27
Senile old fart can't remember jack shit,
but he wants his day in court?
Podah! Don't waste our time and money!
Go hibernate!
written by malsia1206, June 25, 2008 17:41:15
Oh no, the legal eagles would not fall for this invitation. During your times you had belittled the Judiciary and the lawyers. Now it's their turn to do likewise, but not in the forum you now wish for. They all gonna do it on the blogs and condemn you. In this equally dirty way, you are already presumed guilty of all those charges and allegations and it's up to you to wriggle your way to prove your innocence. Not the other way round for you specially. Takes two to tango. Perhaps you are now starting to feel how's it was like to be on the receiving end for a refreshing change? Just about time before those sunset years take their heavier toll.
written by DanDan, June 25, 2008 17:50:06
He was given the chance to appear in court, but he can't remember anything when questioned. Then he mentioned that he only trusted foreign judges. Now he wants his day in court again. This senile old mamak will lose his memory again, brain already dried up and dead. So what's the point of wasting the court's time. Guilt as charged. Case closed.
written by ahmadneil, June 25, 2008 17:53:39
Now after so many weeks he started to remember.I think he is still have wind in his head.
written by benny loh, June 25, 2008 18:00:32
Happened before...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...ctive.html
written by little dragon, June 25, 2008 18:23:08
i dunno if mahathir realizes this or not but he is going to b d first malaysian prime minister ever to b charged in court.

hai, betul2 malu la. but then again, maybe he got no shame.
written by Tambunan Boy, June 25, 2008 18:23:49
You have your day in court alright but please do faint sickness or fainting ape nama tuuuu selective dementia. Tun you bagus releks saja tunggu mcm rakan kau Eric Chia.
written by cheekhiaw, June 25, 2008 18:42:32
The court system is still suffering from his days.

We have enough of such childetish days.
written by amjoem, June 25, 2008 18:45:18
Yea! He wants to bullshit somemore, hence his request. Send him in jail or detain him under SA!!!
written by oknyua, June 25, 2008 18:47:34
But supposed you sudah lupa? How? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Lim Lim, June 25, 2008 18:50:35
give it to him!then only it's fair.
written by panca, June 25, 2008 18:51:00
TYPO ERROR.I want my day in court

"I WANT MY DAY IN PRISON"
written by krising1, June 25, 2008 19:02:12
The only reason this MM is so boastful is because he knows that the HP6 government does not dare touch him. Besides the AG and IGP are all his boys and would have assured him that they will not any evidence against him. If the government of the day is firm in the rule of law as appplied to Hindraf and others, this MM should have been thrown into Kamunting 3 months ago.
written by miwaki, June 25, 2008 19:26:22
Mahathir got gut,he still has confidence in this kangaroo court of his ! He has forgotten that he is no longer the PM of Malaysia.Who can defend him ? Lingam ?
written by doggone, June 25, 2008 19:38:16
When Pakatan comes into power, ask this racial dictator to say that to his former deputy. On second thought, he don't need to. He will surely be drag to court with his mattress in tow.
written by ctchoolaw, June 25, 2008 19:46:01
Does he realise that he is not in charge anymore? What "day in court"? You were "holding court" for 22 years. Not enough? Well, we've had enough! http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by ahmadneil, June 25, 2008 20:09:01
Tun, you are a general doc and I'm a Neuro-surgeo.Looking at your age and the way you talk,I presume you are having Neuroforgetogy,a disease of the brain that often happen as a result of too much critical thinking.If not treated it will lead to parkinson disease which will result in slow and painful death.That's why one moment you say yes,the next second you say no.While in court you say 'I can't remember' then after you can.All this flip-flog.Another doc say it's untreatable.
written by mikewang, June 25, 2008 20:23:16
Tun, given his chance in court will suddenly turn amnesiac just like what he did during the RCI inquiry on lingam video incident.
written by joseph81, June 25, 2008 20:32:59
The devil reincarnate, how appropriate
written by sickofitall, June 25, 2008 21:31:24
Hope you have your day in court, and WHEN found guilty, be sentenced to life in Kamunting.
written by Milo, June 25, 2008 22:00:29
Joking that he was already guilty because the Commission had based its findings on "possibilities," Dr Mahathir said there was no need for him to appeal.

------------------------

Dear TDM, it is not "possibilities" that the Royal Commission based the conclusion on; it is after a "weigh of probabilities" that they gave their opinions and recommendations. Based on the evidences and facts, it will indeed be very hard for anyone, including those of your supporters, to rationally make a statement with the believe that you were not involved as claimed in this saga.
written by PAKRAK, June 25, 2008 22:04:30
Tun, with due respect to you, why don't you retire gracefully and spend quality and precious time with your sweet and charming wife and grandchildren at your 'home resorts'.
Leave the battle to the Rakyat and Pakatan Rakyat to eradicate your once-upon-a-time 'blue-eyed boys'...AAB and MrC4.
written by Spear Bing, June 25, 2008 22:21:35
Dear PAKRAK,

That's the consensus of concerned citizens of Malaysia. If all readers subscribe to this viewpoint, please VOTE UP and register as many hits as possible.
written by isa affendi, June 25, 2008 22:23:41
How ironic Dr.M, he appointed Pak Lah, then discredits him. What about other decisions he made? Dear God!
written by Watchdog, June 26, 2008 00:07:18
KAKA - after 22years holding ( and stifling) court, you want your day in court? Go to hell and hang yourself!!!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by axeltung, June 26, 2008 01:18:35
Tun M, it's not easy to invite you to court..because you have chronic lost memory syndrom, your pc will suddenly hang and lost memory!! Don't worry, after PR took over the federal govt, your buddy gangs AAB, Najis, KJ and many mores will accompany you to court 1 day..!!
written by johnT, June 26, 2008 02:03:37
Dr M: I want my day in court? Good idea, Pls show your gentlement by take away your TUN title first before you attend the court. Let Ian Chin be the judge.
written by SamBall, June 26, 2008 03:59:22
Burung kaka tua, gigi nya tinggal dua....

Tapi this kaka tua wants his day in court; why not? Even a dog deserves a day in court, bloody kaka. Podah kutty. You a just a joke now; so be quiet.

I give you Kerala or Kamunting; what you like?
written by Negarakuku, June 26, 2008 07:07:57

This ex-dictator is always challenging the govt but the govt got no balls!!!!!!!

written by Tambunan Boy, June 26, 2008 08:45:29
Boleh bah kalau kau mau Tun......hang jangan dok lupa pulak nanti hang bilang benda tu dah lapuk i tak tahu dah lama dah ......kah kah kah....dilema melayu konon Mamak muda lupa lah!!!!
written by hksp, June 27, 2008 17:39:20
mahadi u need to be hanged !