Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Petronas by Mahathir

Petronas by Mahathir PDF Print
Wednesday, 25 June 2008 11:31

Certain members of Parliament are focusing on Petronas, apparently trying to divert attention from Government over the thoughtless increase in oil prices.

If I am not mistaken this is a prelude to appointing a 4th floor candidate as head of Petronas as they did when removing Tengku Mahaleel of Proton.

There is also an attempt to blame me for "advising" the Government on removing the subsidy. I would like to clarify again that although I am called Adviser to Petronas, I do not advise at all, least of all to the Government.

Once in a while I get a briefing from Tan Sri Hassan Marican, the President of Petronas. I also get the annual report which is available to the public. My main job is that of a post box. I pass on to Tan Sri Hassan numerous requests and proposals which people send to me. I have absolutely no say in the decisions made by Petronas.

During the time I was Prime Minister, Petronas reported to me and I made certain decisions e.g. the price of gas to be sold to power stations, the need to go abroad for oil exploration and production. To keep electricity price low I did not allow gas price to be increased. Petronas sustained losses but not much as crude prices were around US30 dollars per barrel. Today it is US139 dollars per barrel. Gas prices have likewise increased so that losses sustained by Petronas is much higher. That is for the Government and Petronas to sort out.

The public may have noticed that only Petronas supplies Natural Gas for Vehicle (NGV) for motor vehicles. The amount is also limited. This is because sale of NGV incurs a bigger loss to Petronas as the Government did not reimburse. The other oil companies refuse to sell gas as they would lose money at the price fixed by the Government during my time.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Awaken64, June 25, 2008 11:36:43
Resign from Petronas Pos Malaysia can offer the PO Box!!!!

Don't wayang
written by ahmadneil, June 25, 2008 11:37:53
Tun salary is too high.resign and give your position to professional people who can chart the course for petronas to make more money.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, June 25, 2008 11:38:08
Kini budak-budak tingkat 4 ini sedang mengalih arah kepada Petronas , yang "flush with money". Malangnya disamping kekuatan jati diri warga Petronas itu sendiri, kehadiran Mantan PM , Mantan Presiden UMNO dan juga mantan ahli UMNO menjadi batu penghalang utama.

Untuk mencapai cita-cita ini mereka akan berusaha keras untuk mengeluarkan Tun dari Petronas dan cuba sedaya upaya menjatuhkan imej Petronas.
written by mikewang, June 25, 2008 11:40:39
==============
To keep electricity price low I did not allow gas price to be increased. Petronas sustained losses but not much as crude prices were around US30 dollars per barrel. Today it is US139 dollars per barrel. Gas prices have likewise increased so that losses sustained by Petronas is much higher.
=======================

When gas price increases, petronas earns more as we produce more gas than we consume.
What stupid logic is that when gas price increases petronas and the government loses more by keeping the same end price ???

Moreover, our natural gases are from the ground and not a by product in the refinery.

written by Spear Bing, June 25, 2008 11:44:59
Too tiresome to read his supporters' comments from his chedet.com website.

" Tun ayahanda, yang di sayangi, .....the honourable TDM....etc.....etc " and the list goes on and on. Guess he must have employed a full time administrator to filter out those readers who criticise him.

But he must be consoling himself for having many admirers and supporters, despite the adverse and pathetic perception by those who find him mean and disdainful.
written by joseph81, June 25, 2008 11:49:20
Previously u said u didn't get a cent being the advisor, now u admited u get paid THAT MUCH, cayalah lu
written by New Frontier, June 25, 2008 11:51:13
No need for TDM, UMNO, BN-all they know to plunder the wealth. It is the nation wealth thus it should be administered through Parliament. End of Story.
written by zandi, June 25, 2008 12:13:18
"I would like to clarify again that although I am called Adviser to Petronas, I do not advise at all"
------------------------------

Really? Then, how come you continue to hold on to what u call "adviser to Petronas" post? Where in the world can you find a corporate 'adviser' not advising the company? How much is Petronas paying you again? If you 'do not advise at all', then you are not doing your job, right? So you just Makan gaji buta? at taxpayers' expense? So, tun, with this and after destroying so many lives, how do you sleep at night? I look around at people your age, and they are seen to be repenting or redeeming themselves or revealing some sinister things (Justice Ian Chin's great revelation, remember?) from things in the past. There will always come a point when people, as they age, will try to do good if not for others, then for themselves just so that they'll be able to sleep well when they retire. But, tun, I don't see you doing this...
written by slash n burn, June 25, 2008 12:17:16
Mahathir, your time on this earth is over. A big kenduri kesyukuran will be held on your demise to hell.
written by tenang, June 25, 2008 12:19:55
Let's open the Petronas accounting for all to see. We the people are ready to see what has been brewing behind the scene. It is paramount for people to take charge of the national resources. If there is collateral damage to TDM and others due to disclosing the account, then just let it be -- it is not so much of our focus. We want people being the boss, and boss needs to know what is going on with his asset. We want transparency.
written by InEffective, June 25, 2008 12:24:58
We are fully of unscrupulous pups like KJ seeking to acquire control and influence on Petronas. (after all its the massive cash cow available for plundering - right?)

But we the rakyat, are going to ensure that our conniving UMNO politicians do not grab and siphon the nation's assets.

Little KJ is going to get the 'rotaning' of his life if he misbehaves with the rakyat's wealth and assets.

But our former premier also channeled petronas resources on his whim and fancy. Wrapped in the facade of rakyat's benefits, we sure have our glittering palatial building kissing the stratosphere.

Such misappropriation and utilization of the rakyat's wealth is also tantamount to plundering.
written by loosecannon, June 25, 2008 12:47:06
You are just like the rest of the Umnoputra. Sucking every sen you can lay your dirty hands on. If you are just a post box drawing RM15,000a month, then you are just a shamless leech.

Why don't you give away the RM180,000/year to the poor? After all, it's only loose change in your pocket. You are part of the problem as far as Petonas is concerned. So please lah, don't point your finger at others.
written by RK Sundram, June 25, 2008 12:58:24
He does not want us to know how the money was spent by Petronas. What a whole lot of BS.
written by HJ Angus, June 25, 2008 13:11:39
Well if the advisor to PETRONAS gives them no advice then the post is redundant. About RM5k per month.

YES we should examine all the PETRONAS accounts and see who are the six option holders as suggested in a malaysiakini letter.
PETRONAS accounts may look something like this.
http://malaysiawatch3.********...th-is.html
written by SCM, June 25, 2008 14:09:35
who blame you for advising the government to remove the subsidy? Everyone knows you can't even advice the government to build another public toilet. No one listens to you anymore. In your 22 years in power, only 2 types of people listened to you. Those who stole our money with you and those who were afraid to be put in prison by you. So don't come now and give us this sob story la. Just go and make some teh tarik.
written by TWOG, June 25, 2008 14:10:24
My main job is that of a post box. I pass on to Tan Sri Hassan numerous requests and proposals which people send to me. I have absolutely no say in the decisions made by Petronas.

And yet you got the gall and conscience to collect RM15,000 every month for sitting on your butts and twiddling your thumbs.

BTW, weren't you the one who sold forward to the Japanese the oil and gas at dirt cheap prices when you were whacked by your good friend Soros?
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 25, 2008 14:31:11
you now play the wayang kulit,,deny deny deny...another fellow is denying he murdered Altuntaya..deny deny deny.

As PM you were given 65% of the profits..you walloped it. Today we have schools without eletricty, hospitals overcrowded unitil the coridors, nurses refusing to take care of patients unless they bring their family members to take of them (u enjoy in IJN)..i do not know.i do not know...ayah..this is an old game..politcians fox like you play..give bumiputera status to immigrants..i dont know ..everything I don; know.
written by TeohSC, June 25, 2008 15:38:29
Dr Mahathir, where are all the money (RM366 billion) that Petronas claimed to have given to the Government when you were the PM. Perhaps you and your business cronies can enlighten us.
written by alarcarte, June 25, 2008 16:00:07
I have picked up one tip from TDM, that is to install NGV kit to your car at the risk of Price Increase for the NGV later because no other oil companies want to sell them and Petronas is selling it at a lost, thank you TDM for this useful tip.

Sooner of later NGV kit owner will end up with huge useless NGV tank in their car boot.
written by mob1900, June 25, 2008 18:49:23
written by whlau, June 25, 2008 21:03:41
My main job is that of a post box.

Mine, mine, mine...the senile old man dares to admit this. No wonder Petronas cannot afford to subsidize our petrol prices anymore because they have to maintain a very expensive post box!

Gross mismanagement on the part of Petronas, if you ask me! I really wonder if there are anymore expensive items that Petronas maintains...eg other post boxes that we don't know of...???
written by looish, June 25, 2008 21:56:55
Tun,
If I were you I will resign. I have pride and will not let lesser human beings to humiliate me
written by uxzee, June 25, 2008 23:07:30
I made certain decisions e.g. the price of gas to be sold to power stations, the need to go abroad for oil exploration and production. To keep electricity price low I did not allow gas price to be increased
================================================

Tun ayahanda, yang di sayangi, this is a brilliant advise.
What about your advise on the Petronas Billions ? Did you advise the Billions to go to your cronies and children ?
written by Fat Zorro, June 25, 2008 23:35:04
AS USUAL,AND IN THE LAST 22 YEARS, MAHATHIR SPEWS LIES AND UTTER RUBBISH. HE MUST BE THE MOST EXPENSIVE POSTBOX IN THE WORLD!
written by Mana2boleh, June 26, 2008 00:20:01
I remember my dad advised me not to be a BUM. I didn't understand then, he said that a BUM is one who takes money and does nothing. Since then, I work for my money.

Now, what is a POSTBOX? I might need to give me children advice about being a POSTBOX. Good or bad?? 15K per month will be good for charity.

written by yy88, June 26, 2008 00:34:06
Tun Mamak, you seems to have every excuse for the every flop decision you have made. You seems to be always right while others are always wrong.
Wake up and don't stay indenial mode forever. Time is running short.
We Rakyat know what the truth is!
written by MSIABOLEH, June 26, 2008 04:00:43
Hi talkstraightener,

I suppose the stupid people also include yourself.

What a 'genius' cock-sucker-balls-licker! Who are you to tell people what to do.
written by apanama, June 26, 2008 05:57:13
you sold gas from petronas at 10 sen satu tong to kuncu2 at IPPs (penyamun like YTL etc) and you allowed those lanun to charge tenaga nasional and rakyat 1.10 ringgit satu tong. bangang punya pukimak.
written by partiotic, June 26, 2008 07:12:17
Hi! Mahathir don,t bit around the bush, please tell us during your time how much revenue you received and what did you do with he money. That is all the rakyat want to know.
written by malaysia devil, June 28, 2008 18:44:18
Oil corporation’s profits and crony capitalism provoke mass protest
People protested in Kuala Lumpur to voice their resentment over the big fuel price increases put through by the government of Abdullah Badawi. Petrol, diesel have all gone up by nearly 41%.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...crony.html