Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal: Probe Raja Petra's claims for fresh evidence

Karpal: Probe Raja Petra's claims for fresh evidence PDF Print
Tuesday, 24 June 2008 21:06

Charles Ramendran, The Sun

DAP chairman and lawyer Karpal Singh said today the Attorney-General (A-G) should investigate the contents of blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin's statutory declaration on the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder if it helps bring new evidence to the on-going murder case.

"For him to make such claims in the affidavit makes me think he may know or have something (on the case)," he said in a press conference held in his law office on Jalan Pudu Lama with Altantuya's father Shaariibuu Setev.

Asked if Raja Petra's action to make the declaration public amounted to sub judice as claimed by police, Karpal said he did not see how this was so as the murder trial was ongoing and it made sense to include new evidence which may crop up to be made admissible in the case.

He said although the prosecution has closed its case in the trial, they should not be deterred from further probing the disclosures.

He added if the allegations were found to be true, the A-G can apply to the court to re-open the prosecution's case.

Karpal said he welcomed the A-G's assurance that he will probe to seek the truth as he views the allegations seriously.

He said it was important that every effort be made to see that the trial goes on fairly as it is not just the family of Altantuya and the Mongolian government who will need to be appeased but the international community.

The lawyer said he will go to the A-G's office at 10am tomorrow with Setev although an appointment had not been secured with the A-G.

Speaking with the help of a translator, Setev said he learnt about Raja Petra's affidavit after reading the newspapers and had sought Karpal's advice on it.

In his declaration, Raja Petra said he was informed that three people, including the wife of a VIP, were present at the crime scene on the day Altantuya was said to have beeen blown up with plastic explosives.

Following this, a police report was lodged by the A-G's Chambers.

The police were quoted as saying that they are scrutinising the report and are expected to call up Raja Petra and all those named in the affidavit for questioning.

Police had also said the blogger's actions to post the statutory declaration on his website was sub judice and he could face charges and imprisonment of up to two years for the offence.

In the Dewan Rakyat today, Deputy Speaker Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar rejected a motion by Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur) to defer proceedings to discuss Raja Petra's statutory declaration on the grounds that the murder trial was in progress in the (Shah Alam) High Court.

Lim said the credibility and legitimacy of the present administration will suffer a blow if the leaders remain silent on the allegations.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by zul4kulim, June 24, 2008 21:10:47
But the police already said only 3 persons (those accused) involved...let's see how far will the gomen go to protect those named persons in the SD, and to protect the whole gomen
http://1426.********.com/2008/...-over.html
written by Rashid, June 24, 2008 21:13:28
Abdullah said the attorney general has told him that Raja Petra is being investigated and "action will be taken against him."

You can already see the police have already decided to punish Raja. Ganny Pathell will see fire when PR takes over.
written by Kcc, June 24, 2008 21:14:23
What? Get the BN-supporter Attorney-General to investigate the case? How reliable is he? Yes, indeed it's new evidence, so go ahead and catch the three blokes stated in the statutory declaration. Interrogate them, but get a neutral person to do it, definitely NOT a BN/UMNO or anyone affiliated to them. We should NOT keep silent when a leader's name is implicated in the declaration - this is indeed a serious matter.

Try washing your hands on this, and see what happens. It's not a threat, but a fact.
written by KKchan, June 24, 2008 21:16:57
AAB pre-judging the investigations. He assumes the investigation will find RPK made a false declaration when he said action will be taken against RPK. AAB has a habit of interferring in ACA or Police investigation. That's abuse of power and it is a crime.
written by semut, June 24, 2008 21:24:18
Police had also said the blogger's actions to post the statutory declaration on his website was sub judice and he could face charges and imprisonment of up to two years for the offence

WTF?

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by chanatak, June 24, 2008 21:26:31

STRANGE TIMING, STRANGE JUSTICE, STRANGE PROCESS ....

1) Police has not interviewed RPK yet, but PM already know that DPM's wife was not present

2) Police are very fast to hint that they are more keen to find that RPK has committed sub-judice act, and will be subject to punishment, not so much they will go to the root of the claim first

3) AG already decided that RPK has no grounds and has acted sub-judice, even before police finished investigation

4) Police only say they will call up the 3 persons named, but did not show any interest to investigate the security report purportedly given to PM and then handed over to Khairy for safe-keeping. No mention that these 2 will be called up for investigation. Neither any mention of the royalty was also has a copy of this report.

STRANGE. STRANGE. STRANGE.

Very telling. Justice - UMNO style.

Wonder why Najib is so obedient and "loyal" and "patient" to the PM?

written by Watcheyes1, June 24, 2008 21:26:38
This will be an interesting week as all eyes will be on the AG. Let's see what he is doing to do! AAB you stay away from this and concentrate on the country. Do your work and let others do their work. Do not forget that even your name is involve in RPK's SD. Oh now i see, no wonder AAB is making noise!!!
written by axeltung, June 24, 2008 21:29:30
ha..this is the only ACE card that AAB has!!! If without this card, AAB already ask for step down very much earlier!!! Najis mana can stand until now...and keep quiet!!
written by Lim Lim, June 24, 2008 21:32:02
anticipated reply from AG,case "wrapped" up n it is a must not reopen issue!karpal,u can get off n fly kite!
written by urbansaint, June 24, 2008 21:34:14
"Police had also said the blogger's actions to post the statutory declaration on his website was sub judice and he could face charges and imprisonment of up to two years for the offence"
A-G, think trice before you make any decision or say anything.God have his eye watching on you. If you still continue denying the truth, not only you will get in deep trouble but your whole family will face the trouble too.You are now working with devil and you still so blind. In a short 5 days u can deny the allegations just like that. No wonder there is no more justice in Malaysia.
You better watch out. When PR takes over, you will know what is JUSTICE.
When all truth are revealed.

written by SocratesI, June 24, 2008 21:34:48

Our very own THUGS IN BLUE (Police) are already told by their masters that RPK should be found guilty of whatever ... how can someone be sub-judice when he speaks the TRUTH ?? And he made a SD in High Court, which makes him only vulnerable to perjury ... but these THUGS-IN-BLUE are Morons anyway !!

This bloody AG is just sandiwara - until he receives orders from his master what course to take. The only way Najis and Ros-P*ki-mah will get their just desserts will be for Bodohwi to be threatened by NOT exposing his deputy. There is no way Bodohwi will sacrifice himself to save Najis !!

So far he wants to keep Najis as deputy cos he KNOWS Najis CANNOT challenge him, not even with Maha-Shithead's help !! But when the shit becomes too hot to hold and threatens to burn him also, I am sure he will conveniently Flip Flop and cast Najis to the lions !! What a BUNCH OF CROOKS !!

written by grant, June 24, 2008 21:37:59
the bn donkeys wont do anything one la... esp the kera jantan who thinks he is utmost supreme... calling me an idiot when he himself is not any far better than one...

the problem in UMNO is that all only know how to polish the balls of the President.

just imagine pak lah's mentality and intelligence... make stupid remarks, talk stupid and nothing but just potraying himself being stupid... he doesnt know ppl around the world are looking at msia like a stupid country...

just because 1 motion tabled in parliament passed he damn happy... wat a stupid jerk?
written by grant, June 24, 2008 21:38:36
typo...calling DAP and others an idiot when he himself....
written by cwy, June 24, 2008 21:47:25
That is the right thing that the righteous public servant is supposed to do.
The problem is that the Attorney-General is just a running dog of the government.
It runs the errand for its master and it also defends its master by all means.
Any enemy to its master might be torn to pieces!
written by IbnAbdHalim, June 24, 2008 21:59:07
That 'Gunny - Part Of A Tahil'(weightless?) has no credibility at all. Instead of going after the trio named in the SD he's going after Pete. And the police claimed it's sub judice. What the hell is going on? Our police and the AG Chambers are really in shambles.
written by unomalaysia, June 24, 2008 22:04:31
The Bar Council (if they have any more creditability left) should expel the dunce AG who has consistently show his corrupted incompetence. Wonder if he can sleep peacefully at night (May have to take lessons from Mr Dozy). I think RPK should sue the AG for bringing disrepute to the courts by his corrupted incompetence.
written by Thian, June 24, 2008 22:08:15
To those who are aware will know this country is beyond redeption under the current "governance" or the lack of it.

Same mo same mo...
The thugs in blue will...
The mafia will ...

They dont give a damn.

No wonder people have very little respect for anything anymore.

They sub judice everything. GOD, LAW, JUSTICE, HUMANITY,...

written by joeawk, June 24, 2008 22:24:38
Everyone knows that the case was fixed by the AG. last miniytes changes of DPP and judge. Original DPP resign from their job immediately after that. Shameless dogs, i call him.

People without principle, that is akin to mahatir who appointed him.
written by cllim123, June 24, 2008 22:26:14
AG will only investigate DPM and wife if he challenges for PM post. That is why Najib so chicken shit and good boy to PM. Just like Yong Teck Lee was only investigated and from evidence in court which conveniently came out the day after he announced SAPP's intention to support a vote of no confidence against PM. While Yong is not scared, Najib's case is murder. So the military intelligence report and therefore Najib's hairy heirlooms are in Badawi's hands.

Likewise AG, police and ACA is PM's tool, Speaker also under PM control. See how he is influenced or directed by Nazri to cordon off journalist from MPs because PM takut malu of no confidence vote. Also see how RTM decided not to air live coverage of Parliament session of Monday. All takut malu.
written by temanmu, June 24, 2008 22:29:25
On going trial ... so all must shut-up is it?

Is justice that BLIND?
written by box, June 24, 2008 22:31:08
This is the beginning of more idiotic acts by the BN government to generate more news to hit the front pages of the newspapers. There will be many more attempts to divert the peoples' attention from the Altantuya murder case to other random idiotic acts. First one, barring of the media from the Parliament lobby. Second one, ............. (more please, or else the reporters will have nothing to write)
written by Firaza, June 24, 2008 22:44:15
Dearest Raja Petra,

Now that Pak Lah has openly denied ever receiving such intelligence report, I would STRONGLY suggest that you counter your statutory declaration with the damning evidences that you have. Reason being, I can smell that the guys over at Peace Hill would make an attempt to get hold of you in the next 24 hours before you are able to cause more damage. Remember what transpired during Datuk Seri Anwar's press conference ?

Anyway, my prayers go out to you, Mdm Marina & kids. May the good LORD keep you and your loved ones safely...

Warm Regards,

Your staunch supporter from Bertam, Kepala Batas
written by Thian, June 24, 2008 22:51:00
When you want to solve the problem let us go to the root. The root is that this country is run by these ultra-Facists with their ultra-fascist policy.

Of course with 50 years under their rules, what do you expect, GOD, JUSTICE, LAW, HUMANITY..

Immoral people creates immoral acts. Immorality perpetuates more immorality.

So we are where we are now.

So it will get only worst until it explodes.

If we have more people like Raja Petra then there is still hope for Malaysia. He is the consciouness of the People.

God bless Raja Petra for raising the consciousness of Malaysia
written by Bornean, June 24, 2008 22:51:25
Instead of being thankful for new evidence to the slow and sluggish trial which doesn't seem to go anywhere, the AG is looking for ways to punish the provider of evidence! What justice is this?

Shouldn't he quickly jump and grab this new evidence in order to solve the case? Why is he warning the evidence provider of punishment? Is it wrong to provide evidence?

God help us from this so-called custodian of the law. We don't need people like this!
written by Sagaladoola, June 24, 2008 22:57:11
written by Bornean, June 24, 2008 22:59:14
The PM has openly declared that the DPM & wife were not involved. How does he know that? You should not prejudge any crime while the case is going on.

Only this morning, your minister, Nazri was commenting on PKR's Selangor govt alleged corruption where MB Khalid had prejudged the case (the ACA did not find anything)when it is still going on.

Why does the PM do the same thing. Instead, encourage the truth to come out.Only with the truth, you get justice!
written by Al Ambia, June 24, 2008 23:21:46
Even if RPK have video showing the 3 person were present at the scene where the murder took place,this stupid government will not take action against them.Look at Lingam case for example.What happen???Is there nothing we can do about it???Is there really no justice?? smilies/angry.gif
written by krepot, June 24, 2008 23:24:05
The Chess Game has started,
The trap is set,
Only the main player knows the next 10 moves,
the spectators are speculating,
the other side is both sweating and shivering,
pondering on the unknown.
The truth will emerge soon.

PM has said, no such thing!
If the Army Intelligence report surface tomorrow,
PM nuts will be rolling down Sri Perdana hill.

Watch out for the dummy moves,
and wait patiently for real justice!

I am glued to this cliff-hanger!
written by Maverick 126, June 24, 2008 23:47:41
If RPK is haul up with stupids charges then the citizen will brings the French Revolution to Bolehland and burn the nobles once and for all.......The peoples will rise and protect RPK and family whether we are chinese,malay,indian or etc...
written by Macam_Mana, June 24, 2008 23:48:46
I can't believe! I just can't believe the AG has responsed in such a way!!! it is some kind of joke! Somebod please tell me.

First, RPK has declared in public and he is really to take the legal consequences if turn out to be untrue. So now why not just go ahead with the investigation first to prove the reliability of the SD. If it is proven wrong, then the mentioned three members can take lagal actions again RPK. Why this smart AG is busy and talking about!!!
Well it is so funny! Don't u think that rakyat r stupid & naive, don't u! Once again, we can see a threaten senario in our judicially and justice system in our country. Dear folks, don't forget about what was happening at the beginning of Lingam tape issue. Instead of verify the authentic of the tape, they sibuk with how to catch the source.
Nak coverup lagi kah!!! Adoi benggang betul ku.
written by Dominic, June 25, 2008 00:42:38
Let`s say assuming Rosmah is found to have a hand in the muder of Altantuyah, would she be sentenced as charge . What about AAB and his SIL and the sultan who knew about it ? Would these 3 be persecuted according to the law ? Lets have a commitment from the govt first before we even open the case . Culprits must be brought to justice no matte who they are !
written by bexe, June 25, 2008 00:50:30
Hey Badawi
You know what is seriously wrong with you? You make very bad judgments
For a leader that is a mark of absolute failure.

written by Ah Chong, June 25, 2008 00:52:56
Saint Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray;
and do Thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host -
by the Divine Power of God -
cast into hell, satan and all the evil spirits,
who roam throughout the world seeking the ruin of souls.

Amen.
written by schizonoid, June 25, 2008 01:27:49
They will only probe lubang putri umno
written by Lim Lim, June 25, 2008 01:40:06
too bad karpal,u are doing the right thing but encountering the wrong guy;this malaysia AG does not shoot straight becos he is not only mentally handicapped but WARPED!!jus feel real sorry for the mongolian to hav mistakenly come across,into the path n encountered the psychopatics who are currently walking in the corridor of power,it is shameful for bolehland!!speechless!!
written by A MI, June 25, 2008 06:45:44
Let`s say assuming Rosmah is found to have a hand in the muder of Altantuyah, would she be sentenced as charge . What about AAB and his SIL and the sultan who knew about it ? Would these 3 be persecuted according to the law ?

The 3 in question will plead no knowledge. Flip-flop will say he has not been informed. A vocal minster will sring to flip-flop's aid and say such claims will"not see the light of day!" and the S.O.B AG will make another police report while the IGP will watch as his constables rape and rob...

Can you blame them if Maaysians start saying " I'm beginning to feel quite unsafe here - crime is boldly on the rise, the police almost invisible - even the government appears populated by criminals!"

I do hope that somehow, with the commitment of people who love the country all this mess is cleared up and our image restored.
written by ahmadneil, June 25, 2008 08:08:29
I haven't read about RPK trial yet and he is already found guilty.Is that the way judgement is handed to the SAID ACCUSED by politicians?
written by miwaki, June 25, 2008 08:23:16
If the government is not sincere in solving Altantuya murder case,police's investigation on Raja Petra's statutory declaration is just a formality.We already know the outcome without having to follow up the investigation.This is Malaysia and if you cannot accept the craps of this government,that's is your problem.

Altantuya has to seek justice herself from another world.
written by Rundukon, June 25, 2008 08:23:44
'Police had also said the blogger's actions to post the statutory declaration on his website was sub judice and he could face charges and imprisonment of up to two years for the offence.'

IF PDRM is so confident that Raja Petra's action is subjudice, charge him then! PDRM is fast becoming a laughing stock for making silly statements!
written by jimfish, June 25, 2008 08:32:45
I agree with chanatak. Good analysis.

And that is what we called as the Reform for the Judicial!
written by Lostsoul12, June 25, 2008 09:54:13
Funny, Both RPK and Deep throat (from Sabah) are able to gather more crime info. then attire Malaysia police force.
Well done PDRM!!!!or should I say well done umno!
written by coolandy, June 25, 2008 10:33:29
I would expect anyone of the three mentioned in RPK's SD to file a police report but strangely, it is the AG's chamber!

Do you all smell something? It stinks!
written by mamakstail, June 25, 2008 11:09:53
Why is PM so stupid to announce DPM's wife is not guilty knowing that RPK has solid evidence? RPK I'm worry for you..these people are Barbarians..they may threaten an harm your family members just like they threaten Yong Teck Lee & his YBs recently.. see what happen to Zakaria..you believe he died of heart attack?? These people are worst than barbarians!!