Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Pakatan Rakyat is losing the plot

Pakatan Rakyat is losing the plot PDF Print
Tuesday, 24 June 2008 11:13

The latest controversy involving Yahya Shahri, added to the MIA Port Kelang State Assemblyman, does not augur well for PKR. PKR already has to run twice as fast just to stay in pace with PAS and DAP. Falling behind PAS and DAP certainly does not help PKR one bit.

Selangor MB’s suspended aide quits

(The Malaysian Insider) – Last night, Yahya Shahri, the suspended special officer to Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, resigned in a huff. Yahya told an impromptu gathering of supporters in Shah Alam that he quit with immediate effect from the MB’s office as well as Selangor secretary of Parti Keadilan Rakyat in reaction to his two-month suspension announced a day earlier.

His reputation is under a cloud following the action taken by the menteri besar to facilitate investigations into alleged corrupt practices by the Anti-Corruption Agency. Khalid said Yahya had been informed of the action through short messaging service in order “spare the officer the shock when the (suspension) letter is delivered".

Obviously, Yahya is unhappy with his suspension, declaring that he had lost confidence in the menteri besar. He also called for Khalid to step down as the PKR boss for Selangor and wants party advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to take over. He told Malaysiakini that he would be meeting Anwar this afternoon after speaking to and conveying his quit decision to PKR president and Anwar’s wife Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail yesterday.

Khalid had told reporters the decision to suspend Yahya was made following allegations of improper conduct. Yahya was said to have issued recommendations for four companies to obtain contracts from local authorities in Selangor. The Selangor MB explained that he had to maintain transparency and integrity in agreement with PKR’s partners in Pakatan Rakyat – PAS and DAP.

"We are sincere. We want to do it right. If the officer is not guilty, he will be called back to work. We will take appropriate action if the officer is found guilty," he added. He had instructed his political secretary to obtain more information from PKR members who made the allegations.

Yahya's supporters had gathered in protest against the suspension at Khalid's official Shah Alam residence yesterday but left after a short while, proceeding to Yahya's house also in Shah Alam.

There appears to be a lot of grumblings and unhappiness in the way PKR is managing things. This is a far departure from the way PAS is running Perak or DAP, Penang, which has received mostly praises. From Day One, many sceptics have expressed reservations about PKR and Tan Sri Khalid. They point out to the fact that PKR has inherited ‘Umno culture’ while Khalid, ‘a product of Umno cronyism’, has a lot of ‘baggage’ to his name.

Of course, there are many ex-Umno personalities in PKR, Anwar Ibrahim included. But PKR is not all ex-Umno, I would argue in reply to the critics. And Khalid may be a product of Umno cronyism during his corporate days. But we must not judge him by his Umno past. We have to look at his present track record to come to a conclusion as to whether he has shed his ‘evil ways’ or whether the old habits are still very strongly entrenched in the way he does things.

While no one appears to have any misgivings about the PAS or DAP Chief Minister/Menteri Besar or State EXCO Members, the jury is out on the PKR crowd. People would rather treat the PKR personalities with suspicion until they prove themselves otherwise. In other words, they are assumed guilty until proven innocent. And this is most unfortunate indeed because there are many PKR Members of Parliament, State Assemblymen and office bearers who are not only NOT ex-Umno but are sincerely doing a good job, if not comparable, better than the PAS and DAP people -- in particular the women of PKR who not only work hard but have gone through a lot of sacrifices in pursuit of their ideals.

But is there not a Malay proverb that goes: one buffalo brings mud and the entire herd gets muddy? So all it needs is one muddy buffalo to muddy the entire herd. And this is the dilemma facing PKR. And the actions of people such as the PKR State Assemblyman for Port Kelang only adds fuel to the fire and make things worse.

This particular PKR State Assemblyman from Port Kelang is MIA (missing in action). He has of course been seen all over the place but it is mostly when he is frolicking with the Umno people, eating and drinking at various expensive restaurants. While the DAP Member of Parliament for Port Kelang, Charles Santiago, and the DAP State Assemblyman for Pandamaran (also under the Port Kelang Parliamentary constituency), Ronnie Liu, work their butts off, the PKR State Assemblyman for Port Kelang parties with Umno people all night long.

Yes, one PKR buffalo from Port Kelang muddies the entire PKR herd of buffaloes. Never mind that the other 30 PKR Selangor buffaloes are clean and are doing a great job. It is what this one delinquent buffalo does that gets noticed, not what the other 30 good buffaloes do that matters.

And this is what PKR must guard against. As it stands now, public opinion is not in PKR’s favour. It has to work doubly-hard and stay doubly-clean compared to PAS and DAP. In spite of that, people will still look at PKR with suspicion in their eyes and reservations in their hearts. And one muddy buffalo is all it needs for people to say, “Ah, I told you, the PKR people are all crooks!”

The latest controversy involving Yahya Shahri, added to the MIA Port Kelang State Assemblyman, does not augur well for PKR. PKR already has to run twice as fast just to stay in pace with PAS and DAP. Falling behind PAS and DAP certainly does not help PKR one bit.

And why has the Port Kelang State Assemblyman not been taken to task? And why must Yahya resign in protest and instigate his supporters to demonstrate? Yahya should have welcomed the move to suspend him for two months until his name is cleared. This will give an impression that he is not taking things personally and has nothing to hide and that he only has the interest of the party’s image at heart. Now it appears like he only cares about himself and not about the party, like a true ex-Umno person.

Khalid, too, appears to be running around in circles. He makes snap announcements in a popularity exercise and then retracts them later when he discovers that it can’t be done after all due to legislation limitations or contractual obligations. This only strengthens the perception that PKR has absolutely no experience in running governments and that their policies are not thought through carefully before the announcements are made. Are a bunch of amateurs in charge of the Selangor government? We would like to believe not, but it is getting harder and harder to believe that this is not so.

PAS is also compounding the problem. They forget that they are just a member of the opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat, and are not the federal government or the absolute government in the states, in particular Selangor. What’s with this protest against the ‘sexy’ singers? If aurat is such a big issue, then they should also protest against the football match. The 22 footballers will be wearing shorts, which means that their aurat is uncovered. Why protest against two female singers who reveal too much flesh but ignore the 22 male footballers who also reveal too much?

It appears like these PAS people are discriminating against women. If women reveal too much flesh, then PAS gets all excited. But men are allowed to violate the Islamic rule by revealing too much flesh. That is not a problem. Should not rules apply to everyone, men as well as women? Why are only women targeted for reprisals whereas men get away with whatever they want to do?

Two days ago, a policeman at Putra Heights raped an underage girl. The girl was not sexily dressed. She was not even a criminal but a mere pillion rider. But she was detained and taken to the police station and raped. Why has PAS kept silent on this matter? Where is that massive demonstration to protest police officers raping underage girls? Is fighting with the Sultan of Selangor over whether female singers not dressed like Arabian Bedouins should be permitted to sing in public more important than an underage girl being raped by a policeman?

And all this talk about Islamising the country is frightening the voters. Pakatan Rakyat did not come into office because of just PAS members’ votes. Many non-PAS members -- Malays, Chinese and Indians included -- voted for Pakatan Rakyat. But they did not vote in favour of an Islamic State. They voted in favour of seeing a strong opposition and possibly a two-party system finally emerging in Malaysia after 51 years of Umno domination.

Yes, the voters voted in favour of Pakatan Rakyat, not in favour of PAS. PAS just happens to be a member of Pakatan Rakyat, that’s all. So PAS must do things with the interest of Pakatan Rakyat at heart, not in the interest of its own party. Is this something so hard to understand? Five years is not that long. See what happened in 2004 compared to 1999. 2012/2013 may see a reversal of the 2008 success, just like 2004 was the reversal of 1999, if PAS and PKR are not careful. And thus far PAS and PKR have not offered the voters any reason to vote them back into office come the next election.

Comments (179)Add Comment
written by danchung, June 24, 2008 11:20:10
PAS should learn from the terengganu down fall not just the religion play the role in fatc alot of us felt the real govt we want is fair and hardworking not to put anything in front of them not to say religion ....either they will change or i will change my vote
agree 214
written by ctchoolaw, June 24, 2008 11:20:51
Spot on, Pete. U are truly the conscience of Malaysia. Our fear has always been that some bad apples will cast PR govts in a bad light. If PR govts are going to have a "jobs-for-the-boys" approach, this is the risk they take of losing credibility. They have to be vigilant! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
agree 231
written by tehewe, June 24, 2008 11:26:39
PKR Reps, please take note. The people voted you in for change. Please do not disappoint us. Being elected is not for you to jolly. I have seen PKR rep in Kedah jollying with the PA to the former Perlis MB! We were siting at the same table!
agree 126
written by longjaafar, June 24, 2008 11:29:41
PAS has done it again! There are thousands of important things that they can do and yet they gravitate toward womens' clothing. I have a sinister feeling that they are actually 'speaking from their heart', meaning , they themselves lust for scantily clad women and cannot resist their temptation, and that is why they concentrate so mcu on this subject.
My hope is that they broaden their minds and outlook to see beyond womens' dress, and take up causes such as drug addiction amongst muslim youths, the subjugation of muslim women by the syariah courts, the lack of enforcement of court decisions in favour of women, the economic plight of many muslims, specially in the east coast states, etc.
Is there any forward thinking PAS elders out there?
agree 206
written by semut, June 24, 2008 11:29:47
something serious need to be done here.. rakyat is watching!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by eeyaw, June 24, 2008 11:32:49
Salam Abang,
Certainly there's still alot of learning curve involved here especially on the part of the CM and PAS of Selangor, and I wonder whether they use advisors in deliberating policies or are just making policies on the run. Just see what they came out with, on the giving free water for the Selangor rakyat! But I'm glad we have people like you to guide them along till they get it right. They certainly should not behave like dictators with "me know best" attitudes!
written by ksmaniam, June 24, 2008 11:33:59
I believe, which i thought is already in place, a central body to coordinate affairs of PR should be established and coordinate the affairs and be the PRO for PR, this is lacking and now it seems PR in certain circumstances moves in a erratic manner. This is lacking and it is obvious that this indicates PR need to reinvent themselves as a government and not an opposition of those days. Inshort,
1. Form a Central body,
2. A cwc,
3. Aproper office,
4. Coordinate all PR work from there....
etc.....
My 2 cents worth.
written by Bentoh, June 24, 2008 11:34:53
Ahhh... every states have their problems...

Perak DAP vs PAS has been a while though since the early days... Mr Lim kena kutuked like shyt some more... till now everyone is suspicious the relationship between DAP and PAS MB in Perak... though subdued... then you also got a little bit of cat fighting over the Ipoh mayorship...

Penang also kena kutuked like hell for the appointment of local councilors, no transparency... then some more you got 25% non-partisanship councilors in Selangor... 30% councilors open to public application in Perak... Penang got a pathetic 10% NGO with most of them business kaki.

Every state government has their own problems... I think the PR governments are just too over-publicized, but then in return we get more transparency.

If the PR is really championing the "ketuanan rakyat", work for the rakyat and show that you are really working for the rakyat... then even if you got controversy here and there... people will not get upset too easily...

I know there are certain amount of people supporting PAS move to islamise the state and protest over the concert... but why not PAS do a thorough survey... just how many Selangorian support their move? 30%? 40%? or 70%? 80%? then only you move to do accordingly won't ya.
written by rajven72, June 24, 2008 11:35:52
RPK os correct,

PKR should and must be more careful managing the state and do less mistake and learn fast from it if not this will backfire the 2012/2013 as mention by RPK.

On the PAS issues, come on guys, there is alot more things you all can think and do to improve the Quality of current PKR ruling, you all must stop thinking about sex only, think about adminstration or business development...every time PAS open mouth always about sex matters only as the party is just thinking as sex matters, as RPK mention go and bring the issue what happen to the underage girl,charge the BASTARD that did that, bring the guy to court and seek justice, if not it will be covered and close as notthing happen...we voted for change so please change ASAP
written by FFT, June 24, 2008 11:38:18
Two days ago, a policeman at Putra Heights raped an underage girl. The girl was not sexily dressed. She was not even a criminal but a mere pillion rider. But she was detained and taken to the police station and raped. Why has PAS kept silent on this matter? Where is that massive demonstration to protest police officers raping underage girls?

Why the surprise?

PAS is merely emulating their idols in Saudi Arabia, where cases like these are considered "internal matters" between the family of the victim and the accused, which can easily be settled with some equivalent of a bribe similar to "blood money".

What PAS would really do if they can have their way is to sentence the underaged girl to 200 lashings on her buttocks for riding pillion on a motorcycle, thus inviting rape from an otherwise upstanding Malay Muslim policeman.
written by Spear Bing, June 24, 2008 11:39:34
PR not only losing the plot but when UMNO-led coalition government and MSM starts embarking on a spinning story over PR government's slipshoddiness, this will lead to the eventual downfall of PR government, come the next election.

There is an urgent need to instill discipline and hard work in the minds of the PR government officials. It is easier said than done, but the ability to succeed in achieving this objectives does make the great difference between responsible,credible governance and slipshod tardiness.
written by Arrow, June 24, 2008 11:40:22
Great stuff - but can we have some suggestions on how to resolve the problems rather than complain.

To start it off I wish to suggest the following;
1. List all objectives to be achieved in the next 6 months - let the public know of it
2. Have an Action Group to implement each objective - better still research carefully and then put the objective on the list it so that it is easily achievable and the implementation actions are already set out
3. Have monthly meetings with the public to keep them informed about the status and if necessary change the priorities of the objectives and even add new ones.

Everything is PROJECT MANAGEMENT - get the Task, Deliverables and Risks right - do Planning, monitoring, controlling and managing right. Then we will have a successfully completed project. Not like the typical Govt. projects.

My services are always available to Pakatan Rayat
written by Kuku Burung, June 24, 2008 11:41:47
Well said, RPK. In the same way, why is DAP Johor assemblyman wants to be hero by not wearing songkok? Does he not aware that the proper protocol in the present of the Sultan must be followed? What benefits will he get by being a hero? Hero for whom? There are bigger and more urgent matters to be taken care of then a recalcitrant act of not wearing songkok? Is this what PR representative good at? Show your disagreement in the areas that affect the rakyats, like fuel price, food price, public safety... and not just attire, dude.
written by EmEmkay, June 24, 2008 11:43:32
The next General Election is 4 years away, there is not much time left, the PR government in Selangor has to get its act together and work for the rakyat. I urge all Malaysians to commit themselves towards making a two party system work for the benefit of all and our future generations. If we miss this window of opportunity it will reverse to hypocrisy again.
written by Bentoh, June 24, 2008 11:45:55
By the way... what is the MIA ADUN Port Kelang thing? can anyone shed some light? I can only find who is him in the ******...

DUN PORT KLANG
ADUN : EN.BADRUL HISHAM
Tel No : 016 - 969 1887 (Mr.Bhajan Singh)
016 - 271 2669 (Nooh Manap)
Service Centre : 27, Jln Siantan Kws 8,
Kg.Raja Uda
42000 Port Klang
written by shan, June 24, 2008 11:48:09
PKR is the new kid on the block, give them time to filter them selves.Diamond are rough in the mud,but gain lustre tru constant polishing,,,,,Anyway we have seen what the devils in BN did,lets give PR a chance to shine once and then we can decide if its diamond or zirconia.

Brother PAS tolong lah, don't go for political mileage in Selangor, here we are multi racial and we respect your ideology but don't try to shuff it down our throats.

Have you seen the sexyly dress Arabian women in the US or Europe, you will drop dead.The are muslims but their phylosophy is will power and not defencive dressing.Human nature is such that,they will always go for the forbitten fruit,and without your willpower what gurantee can you give that a man will not try to stick it in when he is alone with a woman in full bedouin costume or vice versa.We don't need a stupid law to differciate our wives,girlfriends,sibblings,daughters,mothers,and a hooker on the street.

If you cannot withhold your lust,you got 2 choices 1..Visit Golok,..2...Become a eunach,..Then GOD will not have to worry about your sins.
written by zonefinder, June 24, 2008 11:48:28
I don't know if there is a PR Central Committee or something along that line. If there is, this body should be formally mandated with the authority to layout specific directives on dos and don'ts for ALL component parties to ensure solidarity and nobody runs around like a headless chicken. PR requires a discipline framework!
written by Mr Smith, June 24, 2008 11:48:53
A marriage between two lovers can go rocky after 100 days. What more 3 ideologically different political parties. It good to alert them as what RPK has in mind but it would not be fair to condemn them yet.
Give them time and I am sure they will adapt themselves to needs of the voters.
So far I think DAP is progressing better and PAS has some wild Islamic horses in its stable that must be broken in before they are let loose.
Femail dressing, lip stick and high shoes seem to bother them more then rape and corruption. Sick minds!!!
written by Sagaladoola, June 24, 2008 11:49:31
And this is most unfortunate indeed because there are many PKR Members of Parliament, State Assemblymen and office bearers who are not only NOT ex-Umno but are sincerely doing a good job, if not comparable, better than the PAS and DAP people -- in particular the women of PKR who not only work hard but have gone through a lot of sacrifices in pursuit of their ideals.

Yeah , Elizabeth Wong (the exco) is quite good ....

Link : http://elizabethwong.*********.com[url]
written by C Arm, June 24, 2008 11:50:29
Pakatan Rakyat must find 'pakatan' among themself first or else it will sooon become second BN
written by AlanJaya, June 24, 2008 11:52:50
100 odd days. Admittedly MB is more a technocract than a politician. I believe he is labouring under the legacy of the crap by the previous administration.

Give him 300 more days.
written by Umar Rentaka, June 24, 2008 11:54:30
The devil policeman should have his dicks cut off to warn all policemen not to misuse their police powers.
written by Flex65, June 24, 2008 11:55:58
Two days ago, a policeman at Putra Heights raped an underage girl. The girl was not sexily dressed. She was not even a criminal but a mere pillion rider.

I know next to nothing about Islam, but I remember reading somewhere that in order to prove a rape case you need to have 4 witness. Not only that the 4 has to be 'holy' or some term which I have forgotten. In another word you can practically rape a girl in the shopping mall and get away with it. Why? There are so many witnesses but they did not stop you therefore they are not 'holy' anymore. They do not qualify to be a witness, without 4 witness there is no case. Is that why the PAS people keep quiet on the rape case and make so much noise on other petty issue.

Hope someone can enlighten me. (Frankly I do not know if I am right or wrong)
written by apa jadi, June 24, 2008 11:56:26
RPK, you poured out what I have in mind about this PKR (sorry, not RPK).

Khalid, too, appears to be running around in circles. He makes snap announcements in a popularity exercise and then retracts it later when he discovers that it can’t be done after all due to legislation limitations or contractual obligations.

Isn't this the flip-flop mentality of the present BN administration?

-----------------------------------------------
As for PAS, I voted them all these while im my constituency, in hope that the y break the 2/3 majority barrier. For them to rule the country?.....they are another bunch of zealots who like shooting themselve on their feet.
written by Bandit, June 24, 2008 12:01:50
I vted for PAS in the 12th GE. Me a non muslim. The actions of PAS members in recent events shows results of inbreeding. Their brains do not funtion well as a saying goes they have their brains inbetween their legs. As YM RPK puts it they allow only women who dress like arab bedouins to perform and now they have banned women from using lipsticks and high heel shoes. I mean is this the Islam this PAS clowns are upholding? Comeon lah there is a limit to stupidity. As RPK puts it, PAS should get their demonstartors machine and protest in front of Bukit Aman for the rape of the underaged girl who was properly dressed. Its not the muslim women who should be rehabilitated but the muslim men. Its time they learn to control their lust by learning from others. No wonder Malaysia is 50 years behind Singapore. Shame on you so called religious zealots. Pthui!!!!
written by cahaya, June 24, 2008 12:03:18
Pete, it is sad to see that Pakatan Rakyat could be losing the plot!

At the joint media conference on April 1 to announce PKR, DAP and PAS decision to take the next logical step to the March 8, 2008 political tsunami with the three parties tentatively agreeing to establish a Pakatan Rakyat (a proposal and term subject to confirmation by the three respective parties), I (Lim Kit Siang) said that March 8 general election results were a clear and unmistakable message from the people that they want the three parties to work together to bring about changes in the country to restore justice, freedom, democracy and good governance – and not for an Islamic state or hudud laws.

from LKS blog
http://blog.limkitsiang.com/20...udud-laws/

DAP respects PAS for its ideological position on the Islamic State, but in a modern, multi-racial and multi-religious society where non-Muslims comprise some 40 per cent of the population, and where it is not only non-Malays but Malays who oppose the establishment of an Islamic State, is PAS prepared to be realistic and concede that its Islamic State concept is not a practical or feasible proposition or option for Malaysia?

Many would agree with YB Lim Kit Siang, that because Malaysia is multi-racial and multi-religious society, so a small group should not ever impose its preference on the majority. The rakyat voted Pakatan Rakyat to restore justice, freedom, democracy and good governance.
Please work on this. Don't get distracted. Then the rakyat will vote PR again next time.
written by Thomas47, June 24, 2008 12:03:45
Sometimes, a sleepy head needs to be slapped a few times to stay awake.
written by ilovepakatan, June 24, 2008 12:05:08
4 years is the chance I'm giving to PAS or else I'll give it a pass by spoiling my vote next term. smilies/grin.gif
written by panca, June 24, 2008 12:08:21
Pete, your points have been consistent about politics of the day.

PKR needs to address this Pakatan Govt working relationship though each of them might have different states to run. They have more to win when they are able to work on the wider scope in spite of their own respective state-run govt.

They will difinitely lose their plot and will in no time backlash on their undoing! It is pertinent to have a continuous two party system, so don't cut across for your own party interest, it 's gonna be short-lived!

Soon more people will agree with what hardworking people does means! Like DAP, it must shine further and I believe the trust is earned through sincere hard work which they are doing. Perhaps Malays will join them too in the near future.

Pakatan Rakyat must look at the BIGGER PICTURE!
written by BORN FREE, June 24, 2008 12:09:13
Right on Raja Petra, U took the words out from the Rakyat's mouth !
PR is a new party, so they just got to adjust themselves, give n take just
like any new marriages. Dont try to over react and over control one another
and start working as a new team ! Forget about whether u r PAS, PKR or DAP.
written by BOB007, June 24, 2008 12:14:07
hello PAS member comeone la.....thing about malaysian people dont thing about ur own coronies la...non-muslim vote in past electin not bcz of islam issue... thre want realy transperant party politic equal to all malaysians.... This PR goverment in selangor must done all study about what selangor people need or study from penang state goverment hw there success develope penang in PR goverment.... smilies/smiley.gif
written by Thian, June 24, 2008 12:14:56
Malaysians are so complacent, that everyday, our rights is stolen beneath us.

So much so I wake up nowadays and think we are in Zambabwe.

Judicial, police, civil servants and all these instruments are been UMNO-tised. Instead of being professional get to their jobs; act only to victimised those who are not with the UMNO policy. They take us rakyat in contempt.

I cannot believe such idiotness shameless words can be ottered from these Meglomaniac. Small mind with so much power.

So what if they have killed, so what if they steal, so what if they corrupt, so what if they fuel hatred, so what they use race to keep the people divided while they rob the country, so what... They care less.

The longer this goes on, the more explosive it will end.

So we suffered silently and watch this lovely country flush down the tube, till it explodes...

Raja Petra you dare go where few would dare.

I thank you most of all, for raising the consciousness and awareness of all your readers.
written by zul4kulim, June 24, 2008 12:15:07
Pakatan bermaksud berpakat dan sekata dalam semua yang diperjuangkan....masih awal lagi...selepas 100 hari mungkinkah PR akan menjadi lebih kelam kabut dengan politiking dalaman?
http://1426.********.com/2008/...-very.html
written by ahmadneil, June 24, 2008 12:17:08
It's just one of those shaky start.Will be alright later.Don't worry be happy.
written by akcc81, June 24, 2008 12:17:22
I must admit that while I was hopeful for a change in the political scenario after the political tsunami on March 8 which swept Pakatan Rakyat to victory greater than before, I have been disappointed time and again by the idiosyncrasies of each PR component party.

PKR has been disappointing in Selangor as you pointed out - "running around in circles". Basically nothing substantial has been done for the people who voted them in, only micropolicies.

PAS has conveniently forgotten that this country is a secular country with Islam as its official religion. Amongst the PR component parties, PAS has garnered the least parliamentary seats this time and yet, it constantly acts like a tyrant, imposing it's ICE_AGE ideology on states which are not even governed by it. Such a thorn in PR's flesh. Such a hypocrite!!!

DAP, because of one foolish ADUN in Johor, the entire DAP herd got muddy. I can't seem to digest the fact that such a fool could be elected to stand for the state seat. Worse still, now the sultan is enraged.

I just want to ask PR one question, what are you all thinking about? I did not vote you to be another BN. Please do not stiffle the hopes of the poeple.

Thanks RPK for highlighting the truth without fear or favour.

written by temenggong, June 24, 2008 12:17:50
Selangor is a big and complex state with many difficult issues, and Khalid is unfairly getting a bad rap. Anwar should back him up. Hadi should rein in his boys. And PKR should take errant Aduns to task, even sack them!
written by kksam, June 24, 2008 12:18:24
yes thank god we have you RPK, if this were told by someone else, they might not really listening,i hope they read, understand, and repent on their wrongs and start making things right. Anyway, still, i must thanks the new Selangor state government for the rebates on water bills.
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 12:23:15
haha...since when malaysian have turned in2 a perfect race n country?..demanding perfection frm pr,ignoring the fact the rakyat n the country r hopelessly screwed up!!!i have this tremendous temptation to reveal certain things about dap also...but,knowing very well,we r in a transition period,n still quite fragile,i shall kepp quiet for the time being..
written by Lostsoul12, June 24, 2008 12:24:41
It appears like these PAS people are discriminating against women.

Is not PAS people that discriminating agaist women, is the old teaching of Islam did. so as stated by Flex65 on the 4 witness. If we continue to follow blindly, this is where we end up.
written by tcng, June 24, 2008 12:30:07
Those who voted PAS to strengthen opposition hoping that PAS will gradually move from left to center will definitely be disappointed.

To take on Umno led BN, PR must be led by a strong Malay or pre-dominantly Malay party.

PAS is not going to be the one.

PKR is the obvious choice. Unfortunately, there are not many high caliber Malay in the party today.

Anwar/PKR should start a 'roadshow' to encourage like-minded young capable Malay professionals to join the party to save Malaysia.
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 12:33:05
the main problem with malaysian is we r not pateint,overly critical,n dont realise that our kui chia kui lang chia lang attidue is rsponsble for the mess in this country!!!and there is dis f*kin racist ketuanan cina,melyu,india attide that still rulez the hearts n minds of the rakyat!!!we r indeed very backward!!!tapi pandai berlagak!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by chin, June 24, 2008 12:35:01
The Malays are a spoiled lot with all this talk about Ketuanan and Bumiputra rights. There will be more extremism spasm within PR, even some from the DAP are no better, refusal to wear a songkok. The fact that we live in a multiracial cummunity has not yet sink in with all Malaysians because of BN's brand of government in the last 50 years. It will require great effort and time.

Datuk Khalid has his hand full with juggling party relations and fulfiling PK election promises. He is doing the right things, he just needs to take it a little slower and work more closely with his team to project a more clearer strategy.

He did the right thing suspending his aide, and he should give show clause notice to the MIA ADUN. Let there be a by-election if necessary, PKR has made some mistakes in their selection of candidate in the rush of the election, just carry on and correct this mistakes. No need to hide it.

I rather have a government that struggles to do the right thing then one that is so adapt at doing the wrong ones, like UMNO.

written by dmh1871, June 24, 2008 13:10:04
Welcome to the real world where your are accountable to all your promises and act not like before where you can promise the moon and nobody care. Well, well, well just 100 days into office three component of PR having three conflicting and different ideology and direction. Pas on it's Islamic state agenda, DAP a Chinese based party is fighting for level playing field, meritocracy ala Singapore style (which in fact marginalised their minority) and PKR neither here nor there policy thus I don’t know what they stand for. Luckily all of this squabbling and hypocrisy came out in the open well before 16/9/2008 that is when/if/may/dreaming to be the government of the day, as their differences would translate into a recipe for disaster. Hello if you all really want to be a good government please grow up and act accordingly, this is not a game of monopoly that you can do what you want, you all are dealing with real people on (bread and butter) and (flesh and blood) and (do or die) issue involving millions of people future. If this the sort of people that supposed to be the saviour, we might as well stick to the present regime at least we know who are the enemy at the gate.
written by joeawk, June 24, 2008 13:15:13
fair enough that people are suspicious of ex UMNO PKR reps. Many of the ex UMNO rep could have left UMNo because they had become has been in UMNO. So, when they are in power again, they showed their true colours. That is very much expected and PKR must get rid of this scumbags. Crooks are crooks and they will always be crooks because they never did join politics for anything but self interest. They should be send to jail.
written by Surind Raj, June 24, 2008 13:19:55
Well said RPK.

Ha... just frustrated man with all these things. Think I will start to "not care so much anymore" & just resign to apathy, like so many others...hehe

Nolah, i'll take a balanced approach. Anyway, like you said, there are still those clean buffaloes.

Keep us updated smilies/smiley.gif
written by Mik, June 24, 2008 13:38:35
I just hope they are reading what RPK writes and realize what they have been doing wrong . Correct yourself b4 its too late.
written by Arubin, June 24, 2008 13:45:28
There will be more extremism spasm within PR, even some from the DAP are no better, refusal to wear a songkok.

I dunno. Personally, I'm in favor of the refusal.

Simple question: What's more important? Form or function?

Respect for the Sultan is one thing, but practicality is another. While each rep might be granted a clothing allowance, you have to remember that the money comes from us - the taxpayers.

These are lean times. Government is telling us to 'ubah gaya hidup', yet doesn't seem to know how to practice it themselves. Bah...
written by maisur, June 24, 2008 13:53:29
flex65 and lotsoul et al

let me correct you guys... 4 witnesses are needed to punish the wrongdoer under HUDUD LAW ie death penalty. if 4 witsesses could not be found, but there is enough evidence that the rape has taken place eg DNA testing etc, then the judge can pass other punishment eg jail, buang negeri etc but not death penalty. this comes under TAKZIR LAW.

understand now? i hope i have shed some info about islamic law before other bloggers start berrating about how cruel and stupid the islamic law is...coz i am afraid, if we start talking about something that we don't know... we will end up looking stupid.
written by amjoem, June 24, 2008 14:05:09
Dear Bapa Bangsa Malaysia,
The Corridors of Power and in particular thIS write-up, "Selangor MB’s suspended aide, quits" is totally analytical. The analysis on the policies and the character of the PR and all its personalities is superb. We the Rakyat Bangsa Malaysia have starved for such factual write-ups. MSM will never do good job so laong as UMNO/BN is around.

You have put your neck on the chopping board for the good of our beloved country, "The Federation of Malaysia", but also for every Bangsa Malaysian, Pakatan Rakyat as well as for all the right thinking politicians from both the opposition and those in power. Malaysians are happy with you. We love you. We will support you, come what may.

What Malaysia needs now are the following; 1)fair minded people 2)sincere polititions, 3)genuienly holy and fair Royalities. This besides, your tireless efforts will become useless.
written by hiro, June 24, 2008 14:06:42
Yes indeed a crying shame for PKR and PAS. Perhaps at the end of the day, Pakatan is not as formidable as it seems. There must be housecleaning now and not a minute later. Fix the problem at its infancy before it grows into an unruly ala-UMNO adult. In fact, it is imperative to show that PKR really does have a solid vision to move Malaysia forward economically, otherwise it's just the case of getting out of the boiling lava into a frying pan - still be cooked.
written by macakmy, June 24, 2008 14:07:34
Guys, Rome wasn't built in a day. PR has never formed a government (as a coalition). Give them time and space to find they rhythm and synchronize their acts. Guide them, scold them and criticize them if they erred. But, ask yourself whether its an honest mistake in decision making or was it driven by a more sinister agenda for personal gains? If they are truly trying to do their best for the rakyat but failing due to ignorance and perhaps inexperience, we should be more forgiving. After all, we put up with BN for all these years. Remember too that they are not the Fed Govt and hence there are limits to what they can achieve/do.

We have all suffered under BN rule and all had our hopes alleviated with the small "victory" of PRU 12. But, other than showing BN that their influence has slightly diminished, we haven't achieved much. 5 states doesn't make a federal govt and thats where the power for change lies. So far I have seen so many pleas to DSAI and yet I haven't seen any action from him. DSAI's supporter can condemn me as much as they like but until I see some action (not mere rhetorics), I will not pin any hope on him.

PAS, DAP and PKR are three different entities with three different ideals. But as long as they hold the people's interest above all, I am willing to sink or swim with them. There will always be controversies. Nobody is perfect, not even the loudest critic on MT! So, cut them some slack, ok. At the moment, they are all we have. Make them work for us, criticize their faults and praise their efforts, Show them our support. Sometimes, appreciation can be the biggest motivator. Let them prove their worth during this tenure. We can count on RPK to whip them into line if they strays. Next GE, get RPK to stand for election. He will have my whole hearted support and on him I will pin my hopes.

And chin, I completely agree with you on "I rather have a government that struggles to do the right thing then one that is so adapt at doing the wrong ones"
written by East Highlander, June 24, 2008 14:07:56
The majority votes Pakatan (nevermind PAS alone) got were not for them but were votes against BN.
written by alan cheong, June 24, 2008 14:11:36
au contraire, PKR is NOT losing the plot nor has Khalid.

This is THE way things should be handled and seen to be done: transparent, accountable.

When integrity is in question, personnel allegedly involved IS/should be suspended pending outcome of investigations:
a) no further mischief/hanky panky or tampering/damage can be carried out
b) truth will out - why worry?

yahya's reaction is:
a) immature
b) suspect
c) ie, better he goes now than later - if he is clean, then take it like a man.

Some buffoons here should learn to put on their thinking caps.
written by 98PercentPrimate, June 24, 2008 14:16:50
As long as PKR and the rest of PR stick to their promised principles, i have no complains.

Performance wise, i don't think we should expect much within a short time from PKR and PR in Selangor as they were never prepared for it. I voted PR based on the stand "as long as it is not BN" and even if the PR rep is a real orang utan (as voiced in various forums). The main objective was to recover my human dignity as a citizen & human being and hope for other progress as promised in time to come.

Understanding the conditions and constraints, how can i expect them to climb to the top of the learning curve within 3 months. I think PR in Selangor had done reasonably well despite some shortfalls. I am sure the MB would like to cover up the corruption case to save face, but when he discloses the inquiry, it showed (so far) that he is sticking to the promised principles of transparency. The only sore point and spoiler which is unnecessary and avoidable was the negative religious elements.

Due to the unexpected and unprepared win in Selangor, the current government should be given more time, say 2 years, before we throw bigger 'bricks' at them.

Meanwhile PR must continuously and unrelentlessly tackle corruptions, practice accountability and transparency, while the people should continue to provide constructive criticisms.
written by cheemengwong, June 24, 2008 14:22:29
Dear Tan Sri Khalid,

I am not confident of your demeanor, speech and actions. During the Ijok by-elections, the people of Ijok thinks you are from BN! You still carry the weight of BN in your shoulders and don't act like a hungry cat of PKR! Amazing but true. You are not HUNGRY for Change. You change somethings because of pressure hunger from those around you. You need to show the hunger and talk like you want to change even your heart is heavy. Slowly you need to practice hunger and discard the skin of UMNO! You lost in Ijok because you accidently said vote for UMNO! My God, what happened? Enjoying too much goodies in the past from UMNO? I always crossed my fingers and hold my breath whenever you make a speech in front of the TV because I fear you speaketh the wrong things! It is a pity yesterday I saw Mr. Teng Chang Khim sitting beside you while you make a speech for some TV reporters.
written by SamYap, June 24, 2008 14:38:14
Hi RPK, thats really telling it like it is!

I fully agree with you and share the same concerns. I am still hopeful that PKR will shape up and they must do it, as you said, in double quick time. While I wait for them to get into shipshape and clean up their act, I will continue to write commentaries to support Pakatan Rakyat.

And since saudara Anwar has said that 16 Sept is when Pakatan Rakyat will make their move and become the government, I shall adopt that date as the timeline for PKR and PAS to clean up their act. If they don't, they kiss my vote (and possibly many others) goodbye.

My advice to the PKR MPs and SAs who are really committed to a career in politics to watch PKR leadership closely. If they are not able to come clean and shape up, the MPs and SAs should leave and join DAP.

Don't worry about not being to govern the 5 states. I am already happy that the opposition have already achieved what was once thought impossible: to deny the BN 2/3 majority. Perhaps, with hindsight, its better to take it one step at a time.

And to PKR-PAS, I say this, one election win (and its not even a total win) does not make you invincible. There's an English proverb for this: One swallow does not make a summer.

So, PKR-PAS, if you are not careful, your summer will quickly turn into winter.
written by Sunnysoul5, June 24, 2008 14:39:10
Is it Newton’s Law that says “for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction”.

PR MP’s and state assemblymen must get down to work in order to proven to the voters and people in general that they can be better than BN in running the state governments. Failing which, then there is every chance for BN to win back the control of the state governments come next general election.

Running a corporation is very different from managing a government, simply because the leader cannot simply make statements that can later be contradicted or compromised. There is this Chinese saying that we shall think thrice before we take any action or decision. This has a lot to do with integrity.

PR should not at this juncture try to plot the cross over of MP’s by enticing them. If ever they want to join PR, it has to be sincere and fully committed. Incumbency has a clear advantage in politics, and no one wants to be seen as a betrayer.

What PR needs to do is to excel in the running of the 5 state governments in order to gain credibility, leadership, respect and recognition. The next election the voters shall be smart enough to return them to power.

BN is running the federal government with a simple majority simply because Malaysia has matured into a two party democratic government. In any matured democracy, it is not easy to have two-thirds majority simply because it is not necessary to do so. What BN needs is to have a leader who is not tainted excessively and has the political will to eliminate corruption, cronyism and nepotism. If not, come next general election, the voters may not support BN is the other states as well.

PR really needs to work very hard to strengthen the rather fragile alliance or coalition. This is of top priority rather than trying to form the federal government now if the BN MP’s are not able to justify their objective of crossing over. PR has five states to work on to build up solid track record. With the popular votes of nearly 50% in the last election, PR should demonstrate to the voters that they have made the right decision.

The two-party system is probably here to stay, and each group must work hard to out perform the other in order to form the state and federal governments.

DSAI must not keep prompting the ability to form the government now if there are not enough BN MP’s joining PR. PR is really losing the plot if the top leaders do not understand the expectations of the voters. Maybe DSAI needs to have the patience to ensure the 5 states become the shining role models for all the voters to see for themselves, and the time will come naturally for him to be the de facto PM in the future.

The psychological warfare is good but at the end of the day, the voters want to see something concrete happening before 16th of September 2008, others the credibility of the leaders may go down the drain.

There is this famous belief that “whatever is yours will be yours whatever happens”. Is this fate or destiny?

PR are performing well in the 5 states now, so keep up with the momentum and the future is in your hands.

Keep up with the good work.

written by Lim Lim, June 24, 2008 14:42:20
pas!!what RPK mentions here is totally correct;many many malaysian,non malay n even malay voted for pas, which is part of Pakatan Rakyat not for an islamic state! we hav voted for a strong opposition in order to reconstruct the nation!!against corrupted social ills!!!organising huge protest against that rape-case on that poor underaged girl by the PDRM personel is definitely much more constructive n better reflection that u are for the people!! against the pop=concert??u are merely showing the world esp.malaysian the hollowness in u!pathetic on u,shooting ur own foot!!
written by Rhan, June 24, 2008 14:49:03
DAP, because of one foolish ADUN in Johor, the entire DAP herd got muddy. I can't seem to digest the fact that such a fool could be elected to stand for the state seat. Worse still, now the sultan is enraged.

The so call foolish DAP Adun tell “I do not want to do this because I don’t feel comfortable with it.” The smart PAS guy tell “YOU can not do this because I don’t feel comfortable with it.” See the difference?

We respect someone because of what he did or because of who he is? I respect the rubbish collector anytime more than one who don’t work. So who care whether he enrage or not.

There are many weaknesses in the opposition that we could comment on. For an example, don’t give us the excuse that time is still too brief because we do not have the luxury to wait for another 22 years, and please don’t tell us you are new or fresh because we vote you in to perform and not to learn how to perform. If you cannot have a good start, most probably there is not much improvement later on. Remember our clean PM? We can’t forever play the blame Mahathir game.

We must not forget that we are the one who approve the BN policy by giving our vote to them in the past 50 years and therefore the PR supporters should also respect the fact that we must support the past state BN member to voice up their concern and criticism over the new PR government. A good balance is needed.

In my view, the most disgusting thing from PR is the so call de facto leader that keeps on talking cock on defect BN members. If PR could win more than one third in the 12 GE, that mean they have very good chances to take over government in the next election. Any deal with the corrupted katak today will haunt you back years later. I think it is a good time to advise this de facto leader to quit politic and start his new life writing blog.

Btw, did PR start to review your manifesto again? I believe there are still many outstanding issue, the first one that come into mind is the election for town council in the PR state, LGE, how?
written by mountainking, June 24, 2008 14:50:29
hi almier

lady dangling what? don't our sisters and mothers have the same? are you saying that our school kids will drool over things dangling on a lady body?

the only way to stop them from looking is either cut it off from the body or gorge your own eyes.
written by Jimirock, June 24, 2008 14:53:47
RKP, what you said is totally correct. I agreed with you.PKR should starting sorting out thing in a proper way and PAS should think of the non muslim voters who voted them.For goodness sake don't play too much religion/petty issues to attract attention. Get down to serious works.There is a lot of works to be done for the country.
written by thatallmaybe1, June 24, 2008 14:57:21
YB RPK, you are the voice piece for us rakyat. Thank you for your unbiased outlook. True, we also need to look at things in a different perspective and not just what we want to see. It is not possible for every individuals to agree among themselves even within their own respective parties let alone under One Pakatan Rakyat. It is a paradigm shift that can only be done by the individual themselves. The MIND is a powerful tool as we all know. What you feed into your mind is what you are - just like eating. All these years with DAP, PKR & PAS pursuing in their own ideologies, it is not easy to change some of their mind-sets or to shut them up. Therefore they (the leaders) have the arduous task to make things work as ONE COALITION despite the “distractions” coming from individuals. Yes, it is disheartening to hear such things and the MSM will continue to highlight them. Just like someone commented, marriage as an example. You’ll still try to make it work along with all the “crosses” esp. in-laws & so-called relatives that seems to have your interests at heart. If it is so hard for a family unit to workout differences, what more for a coalition! I believe PR has indeed so much to learn about themselves in order to move as ONE BODY. True leaders will emerge eventually and they will continue to lead PR to greater heights. I hope to see a more mature democratic Malaysia. Is it wishful thinking on my part?
God bless you RPK & your family for your steadfastness.
written by Flex65, June 24, 2008 14:58:17
written by maisur, June 24, 2008 | 13:53:29
flex65 and lotsoul et al

let me correct you guys... 4 witnesses are needed to punish the wrongdoer under HUDUD LAW ie death penalty. if 4 witsesses could not be found, but there is enough evidence that the rape has taken place eg DNA testing etc, then the judge can pass other punishment eg jail, buang negeri etc but not death penalty. this comes under TAKZIR LAW.

DNA testing exist 1400 years ago? What is the logic of having 4 witness and they have to be of a certain 'quality'. How can one become a witness? You have to be at the scene, if you are at the scene and do nothing to stop the raping process. You are not 'holy' anymore, therefore you cannot be a witness. It is already impossible to find ONE witness, we don't have to talk about FOUR. What is the point of having such law? It is the same as saying 'nobody is above the law' and you have another law that says 'anyone with a certain award cannot be sued in court'.
written by Jitra Boy, June 24, 2008 15:19:46
Forget about going into an islamic state. Even saudi arabia is progressing towards being more liberal. Everyone is moving forward....are we going backwards? Turkey is a developed nation with a Muslim majority and a lot of muslim scholar. That is the way countries like malaysia is heading towards...wake up. moral issues are moral issues. Religion are religion. Dont mix and impose on non muslim. I am muslim and i beleive what i beleive. And i also beleive that I cant force people to beleive what i beleive. if the issue of Ella is so critical, well we should ban the football match itself. We should ban the body building competition as well.........
written by Steven Tan, June 24, 2008 15:25:34
Pemuda Pas dan kesemua kaum kerabat Pas harus tumpukan perhatian dan tenaga ke arah perkara yang jauh lebih penting dan bukannya membuang masa terhadap isu yang remih temih.

Saya bagi satu contoh, Cuba lihat isu Abang Nor dari Trengganu yang mati-mati nak kahwin 4. Sedarkah anda orang-orang yang macam inilah secara tidak langsung yang menjana kepada masalah-masalah sosial yang jauh lebih serius daripada konsert Mas Idayu dan Ella.

Izinkan saya menjelaskan isu ini dengan lebih terperinci:-

a) Umur Abang Nor sudah lebih 50 tahun, bermakna beliau yang bekerja sebagai
drebar lori suka tak suka akan retire tidak lama lagi (mungkin dalam masa 10
tahun).

b) Pendapatan Abang Nor >< RM1500.00, pada ketika ini bini 3, anak 18 orang.

c) Kalau ikut perkiraan purata, jika jadi kahwin 4, tambah 6 orang anak lagi,
jadi jumlah keseluruhan anak beliau akan memcecah 24 orang.

d) Pada suasana ekonomi hari ini, macam mana dengan gaji RM1500.00 dia nak
bagi makan,pelajaran, pakaian dan lain-lain kepada kesemua 4 bini, 24
orang anak termasuk perbelanjaan beliau?

e) Sedar tak sedar atas alasan Poligami Abang Nor akan mengujudkan generasi
baru penagih, pengedar, perompak, mat/minah rempit, mat/minah
ragut, "Sufiah" dan bermacam lagi masalah sosial edisi baru.

Sepatutnya Pas lebih cenderung di dalam isu-isu semacam ini. Cuba fikir dengan gaji RM1500.00 mampukah Abang Nor kita untuk memberikan pendidikan yang secukupnya untuk kesemua anak-anak beliau? Mampukah beliau memberikan segala keperluan asas yang cukup untuk kesemua anggota beliau?

Kalau kita baca Harian Metro beberap hari yang lalu laporan bergambar, Abang Nor dan kesemua ahli keluarga beliau berdoa supaya beliau dapat kahwin 4.

Dalam akhbar Harian Metro 2 hari yang lalu pula, kisah seorang gadis dari Kelantan yang juga pelajar sekolah telah menghidap Aids kerana terlibat di dalam perlacuran kelas atasan. Pendapatan bulanan beliau ialah di antara RM16,000 hingga RM20,000 sebulan (bulan setahun). Setiap hujung minggu, beliau akan naik kapal terbang ke ibu negara untuk melacurkan diri dan menerima RM3000 untuk satu malam.

Akhir kata, saya berharap agar PAS dapat berpemikiran lebih terbuka dan pandang jauh demi kebaikan bersama. Banyak lagi perkara yang memerlukan perhatian serius daripada kita semua. Jadi janganlah kita membazirkan masa berharga kita untuk isu remih-temih ke atas isu-isu seperti konsert Ella dan Mas Idayu dan juga terhadap gincu dan kasut tumit tinggi. Sekian dan terima kasih kerana membaca emel saya.
written by Jitra Boy, June 24, 2008 15:33:58
pas!!what RPK mentions here is totally correct;many many malaysian,non malay n even malay voted for pas, which is part of Pakatan Rakyat not for an islamic state! we hav voted for a strong opposition in order to reconstruct the nation!!against corrupted social ills!!!organising huge protest against that rape-case on that poor underaged girl by the PDRM personel is definitely much more constructive n better reflection that u are for the people!! against the pop=concert??u are merely showing the world esp.malaysian the hollowness in u!pathetic on u,shooting ur own foot!!
report abusevote downvote upVotes: 0

I agree with you bro. The GRO at the night club deserve better respect than the ketua bahagian that licks the ministers balls to get contracts. Even the prostitude sells what belongs to them and do not "steal" what belongs to rakyat....
written by sinchew, June 24, 2008 16:04:55
With this Yahya regisnation from PKR and MB office, it looks like PKR people do not have the maturity in handling matters like this, it was a shocked that PKR people can merajuk like this. I agreed to what Pete said, you accept the suspension and let the ACA clear your name if you are not guilty.

Once you start merajuk and resign and try to demonstration, we don't think we want PKR to rule the federal, they can use this to merajuk tactic to threaten PKR each time if anyone complaint about corruption.

If you are clean, you don't need to worry, you will come clean. See, our ACA can always assure even not clean can come clean, so, you should not worry.

If you do not have the patience, then the Yahya guy should go as he does not portrait to have the quality required to be in MB office. It is all for himself, personal benefits and PKRputra now start to prevail. EVen if you are wrongly accuse, accept the suspension, standby the party. We don't want this type of UmnoPutra or PKRputra again which can easily merajuk, for the rest who want to follow him to resign, then pls start now so that we don't want you.

written by cwy, June 24, 2008 16:08:22
All of you, PKR,PAS and DAP! Listen to us!
We vote you in to listen to us!
You are supposed to work for us according to what is best
for all Malaysians!
No party is allowed to be totalitarian, like UMNO!
Most important is that PAS shouldn't DIRECT the non-Muslims
to live like Muslims!
written by mambogan, June 24, 2008 16:15:00
grow up, you had a switch to eliminate corruption practices with PKR, but your mind set of Barisan has not eliminated you. hence, you better get out of Selangor and be another Ezam. Hip Hip horray.
written by Xerxes, June 24, 2008 16:32:01
Many of these clowns cannot differentiate between party and govt. They see their govt. posts as a reward for their party work and the right to use their govt. post for personal gains once they have received a govt. appointment. This was the way of life of the UMNO/BN and this was why the voters threw them out. PR should learn from this and not see the voters sending them into power as a chance to make money while in office. Otherwise, 2012/2013 is just round the corner and we will not hesitate to show them the back door out if they do not wake up. The PKR should haul in their elected representatives and discipline them or the PKR will suffer the same fate as Gerakan, MIC and to a lesser extent, MCA.
written by AsamLaksa, June 24, 2008 16:43:10
I have noticed MB Khalid to be coming up with some controversial ideas.

My first contention was against his plan for the state to pay for the fare to Kamunting for the family members to visit the HINDRAF ISA detainees. I believe this is inappropriate and smells too much of populism without long term or consistency considerations. Reminds me of UMNO wanting to help a particular happy hooker while ignoring other people in their own backyards. Anyway, my contention with this idea is that it's nothing more than a PR exercise whereby they single out the HINDRAF 5. What about other ISA detainees' families? The MB's proposal also included aid to the HINDRAF 5 family, I say sure but it has to be needs based similar to helping out all other people in need. Why single out the HINDRAF 5 families for aid when you are not helping the others in need? (You can read my post on this under the relevant article which was voted negatively but I still keep firm on my stand.)

My second contention is the free water in Selangor. I have nothing against the idea of free water itself as it helps offset the increasing living cost. However my gripe is that the free water exercise is not accompanied with water saving/conservation strategies and improving water distribution. Selangor loses a lot of water from leaky pipes and what is being done for this? Thus it really is more of a PR exercise than actually helping the public in the long term as leaky pipes are not fixed. Why is this a problem? All the free water will do naught when there is water shortage. Thus I would go so far as say use the 11mil every month to fix the pipes first before you decide to give free water.

What it really smells like is BN style lacking long term considerations. BN style is characterised by short term syok and to hell with consistency leading to flip-flops and uncertainty of policies. I do not want any PR state to follow BN style.
written by bebas2lawat, June 24, 2008 16:47:14
i thought that with his corporate experiance Khalid would prove to be a capable administrater of Selangor but events are proving me wrong. Can the current administration get their act together and prove the sceptics wrong or do the people have to step in and make a change in five yrs. Pls. concentrate on doing your best for the state and take your MP's and ADUn's to task if they are slacking off.
written by onnetline, June 24, 2008 16:53:58
To Pakatan Rakyat,

It's not easy but please get your act together ........ for the rakyat sake.

Let's get the BN totally out of the equation !

written by dieselngan, June 24, 2008 16:54:54
Hi Pakatan,

Since 4 year or shorter is indeed too short, you may want to prioritize your tasks based on the following classification:
1. Urgent and important
2. Urgent but not-important
3. Not-urgent but important
4. Not-urgent and not important

Please prioritize and do the "first thing first" (you should know better).

Else it will be sayonara come the next election.
written by Flex65, June 24, 2008 16:59:20
written by maisur, June 24, 2008 | 15:31:19
flex65...

"DNA testing exist 1400 years ago?" - what are you trying to say man?

My point is "What is the point of having a law requirement that is impossible to fulfill?" might as well don't have it. Would you believe a salesman that tell you he sell a shield that can stop anything and also a sword that can cut through everything?
written by AsamLaksa, June 24, 2008 17:01:20
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 | 15:37:08
i had a talk with dap buggers..

"what's ur programme for kebajikan?".."eh,we got no money eh".."but pas still build houses for the poor secara gotong royong,collect funds for the terbiar..tak kira bangsa..n they manged to pay back barisan najis 786 million debt without digging thier oil n gas reserves..n recently they turn cujai pintu,tanah.."..."oh pas fellas malay waat..malay get help frm malay gomen.."...

SUV, I agree with you here. The problem with DAP and PKR politicians is that they do not know what it's like to work the grass roots. They have forgotten about gotong-royong. If there is one thing I generally admire about Muslim communities is the unity in purpose when the need arise. They have the muhibbah spirit and PAS knows how to work this. They get on in Kelantan because they can reassure the people there, they suffer together and profit together.

West coast states are different. West coast PR states have festered in capitalist economies and the mentality of the people are different. Here before you can mobilise the public, they want to know what's in it for them. Here the public are also very adverse to sufferings, be it short term ones before achieving long term gains. Here there's mentality of self-enrichment. Here the public are more demanding and harder to please. I do not think the Kelantan model would work easily in the west coast unless the public mentality changes (the exception may be Kedah where the setting is more rural like and less of the dog eat dog environment).

Thus DAP and PKR need to work on gaining the public's trust which so far they are doing ok, better in some states. It will take time and I hope the PR leaders have a long term grand strategy for this, not just going about reacting to problems as they arise.
written by Flex65, June 24, 2008 17:01:40
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 | 15:32:14
eh flex aah..u no need to prove dat u r a cacat..we know dat long time agolah!!!

Did not know that there are people who knows me long ago.
written by DontPlayGod, June 24, 2008 17:13:23
I've always harboured some doubts on PAS and the Islamic State. They may have kept quiet on the Islamic state, but the recent utterances by their Youth Section on implementing hudud laws is nothing short of calling for the implementation of an Islamic state. There you are, PAS is again calling for the establishment of an Islamic state! I've always called for only PKR, DAP, PSM, PR, and other Sabahan and Sarawkian parties to form a coalition, leaving out PAS. Let PAS gabung with UMNO. After all, PAS is a Malays-Islamic party, and UMNO now is also fighting for an Islamic Malay electorate.

Even in Kedah, PAS is calling for the closure of gaming outlets, and later on, maybe even banning concerts from performing.
written by quietguy, June 24, 2008 17:16:34
written by Flex65, June 24, 2008 | 11:55:58

Two days ago, a policeman at Putra Heights raped an underage girl.

You are wrong, so let me enlighten you. 4 witnesses are not required to prove a rape case. 4 witnesses are only required in a consentual fornication/adultery case. For a rape case, the testimony of the victim, plus forensic evidence, is enough.
written by Chaptokam, June 24, 2008 17:17:45
Let me add on the issue of LAWS , whether thet are common law , Shyriah Laws , Hudud Laws , Engish Laws , etc etc . Laws are formulated for us mortals cause God knows that we being mortals needs to be control to prevent us from going astray or out of line . We do not need laws of any kind if we mortals can control our thoughts and actions and performing righteousness in our actions . That mine concept of laws .
written by AsamLaksa, June 24, 2008 17:25:37
Maisur, it's funny seeing justification for hudud. Since you agree it is harsh and have harsh requirements then at least we have a common ground.

My stand goes further that since it is harsh, get rid of it. I am against capital punishment. Since it also has harsh requirements, get rid of it as it will just create more problems where similar crimes but one which fulfils the requirements get the hudud harsh punishment but one which doesn't gets a different punishment, such as hudud compliant rape and a non-hudud compliant rape. It also risk a more vile crime getting less heavier punishment than a less vile one if it doesn't fulfil the requirements.

If you then argue that the punishment should be given according to the severity of the crime, then you do not need hudud laws as you already have such laws though still imperfect.

You also pointed out alternative punishment like takzir laws so why bother with hudud? Get rid of it. You do not need hudud laws to punish criminals.

Flex85, you joker. How did you expect to argue by going off tangent?
written by sydput, June 24, 2008 18:01:56
maybe we should just let the people of sabah and sarawak to take charge of the country since the peninsularns are all messed up.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, June 24, 2008 20:38:53
Dear YM RPK,

You r rite. the RAKYAT vote for Pakatan Rakyat, not for PAS or KeADILan or DAP.
written by lynn, June 24, 2008 20:39:51
For those who condemn PKR govt in Selangor after its 100-day performance, think you want khir toyol back in power? You think umno govt is going to be better than what we hv now?

If any of you think so, you are ****ed-out of your frigging mind. Even having PAS in power is still better than having those corrupt bastards in place. Why are some Malaysians so shallow & stupid? I don't worry abt PAS & their frequent reference to Islamic state. Cos PAS cannot change the Constitution on its own.

But corruption is something else. Corruption is driving this country to the brink of bankruptcy, soon we will be sharing the same levels as Philippines & Indonesia. This country is in deep shit & many Malaysians are unaware of the gravity of the situation.

The only way out is to change govt because the umno-led bn govt has no intention of carrying out any reforms. Their status quo remain. It's business as usual for them, the race to accummulate as many billions as they possibly can while remaining in power.

No wonder more & more people I know are migrating .... this country is in shambles & we have people criticising PR!!! Let PR **** around in selangor for 4 yrs, I don't care. As long as the Khalid govt is working on weeding out corruption, that is good enough for us. Corruption levels in Selangor were extremely severe & grotesque during the past few administrations. As usual, critics like you don't know, don't understand or you are just so ****ing inferior-brained.
written by densemy, June 24, 2008 20:49:57
Excellent reporting. But why does it take the COMMON SENSE of one man to keep this country on an even keel??
written by Milo, June 24, 2008 21:20:06
YB RPK is spot on regarding the position of the PR. There are simply too many small minded leaders within Pakatan lower ranks (in particular). Their actions and timing speak volumes of their inexperience and a lack of 'big picture' vision that will erode the confidence of the people on the coalition government. From day one I have been reminding that PAS in particular lack commonsense wisdom when dealing with religious matter. They simply cannot lay their hands off matter that are trivial and making the life of the people unnecessarily burdensome. Basically, they are digging PR own grave through their insensitivity. Sorry...but PR is fast going downhill if DSAI cannot arrest these idiotic leaders in the PR ranks.
written by Milo, June 24, 2008 21:21:01
coalition government = coalition party
written by Dharmal, June 24, 2008 21:38:18
Corruption won't disappear merely because we have a non-Umno government - I don't think the politicians in the PKR government are all that different from those in UMNO. Many of them were previously from Umno anyway, including defacto leader Anwar.

To get rid of corruption, we have to make politicians accountable to the public. One way is through websites like this where we can highlight their mistakes and criticise them - and praise them when praise is deserved.

By the way, I seem to remember PR saying that its ministers would have to declare their assets. I think they should make the declaration public so that they can be held accountable if there is any sudden increase in their assets.
written by SamBall, June 24, 2008 21:56:58
RPK & all,

Thanks for a great, well written artice and the lively responses and comments, y'all.

Gua punya 2 kupang on the following

"Why protest against two female singers who reveal too much flesh but ignore the 22 male footballers who also reveal too much?"

Please lah, we go to see football match, see legs of male for what? But see leg or aurat of female, get turned on meh; oops sorry I mean budak2 PAS yang kurang iman tu.

Sudah saya beri nasihat dulu; masuk bilik, tutup pintu; haveagood lancap; beres; problem solved.

Now back to the serious stuff......

written by SUV, June 24, 2008 22:17:59
dear asam laksa,
well,i read reprts of dr.xavier jayakumar(pkr) visting estates n doing serius investigations,n saudar gobi(pkr) has his own unit of volunteer workers..i was told by a dap guy ,pkr fellas do have their own "gotong royong" unit..but dap..sigh..d prob is they r more political ,but the report frm dato ngeh(dmb of perak) is good..n hopefully both perak n selangor dap wallah take more decisive moves!!

written by confuseus, June 24, 2008 22:23:02
"Khalid, too, appears to be running around in circles. He makes snap announcements in a popularity exercise and then retracts them later when he discovers that it can’t be done after all due to legislation limitations or contractual obligations."
He, he, he another Pak Lah in the making !!

Dear PR,
You need RPK as the OMBUDSMAN to whack and educate your REP on how to walk straight.
Please do it fast before we lose confidence.
Confuses says "The rakyat chose PR becos of the "hate BN factor" and not "love PR factor"
written by raven1958, June 24, 2008 22:30:06
If the PKR wants to maintain its credibility it has to vacate the Port Klang seat. During the last election this insurance salesman who has gone missing shared the same stage as Guan Eng, Santiago, Ronnie Liu and Mrs. Manoharan. Although even at that time there were murmurs that he was a con man…no one wanted to rock the boat. PKR.. if it wants to clean up its act…..ought to sack this guy and call for a by-election now…if this is how it is going to be …don’t expect any Sarawak/Sabah chaps to cross over…ANWAR PAY ATTENTION!!!!!! NANTI ORANG TAK PERCAYA!!!!!!
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 23:25:22
perang saraf dah bermula!!

http://www.marhaendaily.net/v1/mar_a_abu_nasrullah02.html
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 23:29:39
http://drxavier.*********.com/page/2/
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 23:30:46
http://www.niknazmi.com/*********/?p=716
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 23:32:08
http://www.elizabethwong.org/site/archives/24
written by freespeecher, June 24, 2008 23:34:40
I say Pete, you should be the Selangor MB...no better candidate !
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 23:35:46
http://faisalmustaffa.********...chive.html

smilies/smiley.gif
written by SUV, June 24, 2008 23:39:43
http://rakyatbayanbaru.*******...ungan.html
written by AsamLaksa, June 24, 2008 23:59:40
Shamsul siahaan, that's a very simplistic view of preventing crime. The punishment no matter how severe will not automatically reduce crime. Even with the risk of loss of live, the criminals still commit crimes punishable by death. This is like emphasising on the punishment but not placing enough emphasis on the drive behind crimes. What you will get instead are criminals making sure they do not fulfil the requirements for hudud punishment when they go about committing crimes. What you will punish harshly will mostly be the not so bright criminals or criminals of circumstances or unplanned crimes. Capital punishment has never successfully prevented crimes.

There's even serious crimes during Taliban rule. Sure, Taliban rule in Afghanistan has low crime rate but how convincing are the figures coming from a closed government? They may be other reasons why there was low crime rate in Taliban rule such as state oppression. Similarly Nazi Germany had low crime rate as well and we all know how popular the Nazis are now. How much are you willing to give up to achieve low crime? Will you be happy in a Big Brother state or a state that spies on all their citizens?

You also say hudud applies to Muslims only. Sure. But not all Muslims want it. There is also the risk that a state may adopt hudud like laws and apply it to all citizens regardless of faith. What's to stop adoption of hudud like punishment into national laws applied to all?

Why do you want hudud laws? Is it because it's really proven great stuff or because you cannot go against your teachings? After all, if you accept Islam, you are supposed to accept all of it. Can't pick and choose. So tell us, what is the reason behind hudud and is it still relevant today?

So, those who do not understand Islam can't comment on hudud laws? Why is that? Why not you tell us what Islam is about. I suspect those who claim others do not understand a belief yet are unable to explain the belief themselves, they are the ones who do not understand their beliefs well.

Chipon, you say don't touch religion. Sure, but it is inevitable. Why? Because there are different beliefs abound. It is inevitable that beliefs will clash. In fact, it's no big deal if anyone criticises any faith. The harm comes only when people can't accept criticism of their faiths. Go check out scientology and see how they deal with critics. So sure you can say don't mess with religion but that's like not living in reality.

Anyway, how should you deal with critics? Telling them to shut up benefits no one. This is how I deal with critics, I take in what they say, I find out more and if they are wrong, I tell them so and if they are right, I adopt new ideas. In this case, just telling others to lay off religion means that you do not have good arguments to back you up. So, go find out the reasons. Don't just feel satisfied with what you currently know. Go learn more and prove your critics wrong.
written by AsamLaksa, June 25, 2008 00:03:46
SUV, I have read of Jayakumar's volunteers but this is still short of the state government's ability to mobilise the community like PAS in Kelantan.

BTW, is Jayakumar PKR or is he from another party not yet registered but using PKR ticket for the eletions? Or is that another Indian leader in PR?
written by myke, June 25, 2008 00:32:39
What is written is exactly what the rakyat feel and think too..!!!!
written by chipon, June 25, 2008 00:48:29
Ehh asam laksa..

The muslims have never comment anything about buddha or hindu to the non-muslims. Muslims can definitely comment on A LOT of things about hindu and buddha but still we did not and will never do it on purpose. Because that's ur faith and u have the rights to believe in it.

So what are the non-muslims doing shouting this and that about Islam and it's law that applies to only Muslims?? This is why we are so pissed off.

That's the problem with u. When Taliban or Saudi Arabia proved that 'hudud' minimizes crime then u buat2 tak percaya pulak. Then how? cakap mcm mana pun u tetap tak percaya. I suggests u go and find out about how life was during the Islamic Golden Age and u will find out that Islamic Law not only minimizes crime but also develops civilization.

Please don't talk about Muslims not wanting the law. We Muslims believe in God and in the hereafter life. They must obey God. Period. Kalau tak nanti masuk neraka lah! Ada berani nak masuk neraka? aisey..terkena api lighter sikit pun dah terjerit2 inikan pula neraka.

Well u hav to learn the Quran in order for u to understand and believe.
written by AsamLaksa, June 25, 2008 01:55:53
Chipon,

Saudi and Taliban minimise crime? I believe but how much? Nazism reduce crime too you believe? Castro reduce crime you believe too? Communist China during Mao's time claims low crime you believe too? OK, which crime does Saudi style law reduce? Which crime does Taliban rule reduce? How many Afghans need to seek asylum overseas to tell you that Taliban rule is not a bed of roses. What, asylum seekers not Muslim?

Why you want to compare with Islamic Golden Age? Every civilisation have their golden age. So what? You see Islamic Golden Age now? Where? It's not hudud alone that made the Islamic Golden Age but always scream hudud as if it's the magic bullet. Forget hudud and put good Islamic principles in practice first if you really want to bring back the Islamic Golden Age.

You do not need Islamic laws to reduce crime. Malaysia is a multi-racial country and hudud laws may not work. Instead with a large non-Muslim population who will not be under the hudud laws, you have 40% of the population not under the 'prevention' you are so trying to achieve unless you so believe that Muslims are the main criminals and thus require harsher preventive rules that do not apply to non-Muslims. Wow. Anyway, to reduce crime it's not about punishments, similarly to sort out moral decline it's not about rules.

Why you so pissed off non-Muslims criticise Islam? Biarlah bagi dia orang cakap sepuas-puasnya. Tak usah marah. Kenapa mengamuk sendiri? Sakit, ke? Orang Belanda gila nak buat video gila kenapa mengamuk? What did Mohammad SAW say about dealing with critics? Tell them to shut up? Burn them? What?

Muslims never criticise Buddhism and Hinduism... right... what's the point you trying to bring up? Muslims love Hindus and Buddhists? More than Jews and Christians? Sudahlah tunggu kes Mazu.

RPK said he didn't want hudud laws. Is he therefore not a Muslim? There are other Muslim commentators in MT who do not want hudud laws.

Nobody is asking you to disobey God. Just find out what God really says. Here Muslim scholars can't even decide on the same thing from reading the holy texts.

So, ok, I need to learn the Quran to understand. Fine. But why can't you tell me bits about why hudud law is so important?

Sudahlah, masuk neraka yah, masuk nerakalah. Tak takut. I will forever challenge ideas and will live my life fighting off self-ignorance. I do not care about rewards if I do good deeds and do not want my thoughts to be restricted by fear of eternal damnation. To gain new knowledge you need to challenge established ideas.

Oh, by the way, kau macam pandai tau apa macam itu neraka. Mana belajar? Personal experience atau mimpi ngeri?
written by businessman, June 25, 2008 10:42:24
Written by Mansur above

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS IS NOT WHAT I HEARD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not long ago, a girl was gang rang by a group of guys in Saudi Arabia. As she unable to produce 4 male witness to her case, she couldnt prosecute those guys. On the other hand, she was charged with Adultry and face the punishment of stoning. Many western media condemmed this case and at the end, King of Saudi Arabia pardon her crime. So, she escaped stoning punishment.

The news above is not as what you said. Do you sure your information is correct or not?

Even if your information is correct, just kill the girl after you rape her. Since now is the death sentence case, and there are no four male witness around, even with forensic evidence, I am gurantee not given death sentence.

So, easy to by pass the law.
written by Anti Relon, June 25, 2008 10:46:47
To YM Raja Petra,
Please stand as an independennt candidate in any by-election.
You are foresighted and an eye-opener for Malaysians.
For long you have been the conscience of Malaysia.
Now, please put it into reality.
written by SUV, June 25, 2008 10:50:31
asam laksa,
kelantan is unique..jeyakumar is a pkr veteran..and better to start 'something" then doin aboslutely nothin..dont u agree?..look wats happenin in terengganu n the antics of the new mb..same ol shit..dats why all this talk about umno reforming bikin saya ketawalah..cipat kaya,ketuanan melyu inertia boleh habiskah dlm sekelip mata?..dats why tengku razaleigh the so called purest of the pure malay whop hasnt done much after returing to umno mahade(apasai balik..tak dak stamina utk berjuang secara jujur ke?) is daydreaming again..

pas is "experementing" with something which will be really remarkable..

for more info...

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/100-days-the-malaysian-insider-reports

written by chipon, June 25, 2008 10:59:36

Assam Laksa..just as I thought, there's no reason why we should argue with someone that is in the first place potrays himself as a non-believer like u.

God gave us the Quran for us to follow and obey. He also asked us to search knowledge and find evidence to what the Quran says. But God has NEVER SAID 'DO BELIEVE THE QURAN ONLY AFTER U FIND THE EVIDENCE/PROOF'! we have to believe it in the first place.

Some facts on what's in the Quran:
1) There are 7 layers of 'langit'.
Scientists have only able to prove this 1000 yrs after Quran said it.
2) There is a big crack on the moon.
Scientists have only able to prove this 1000 yrs after Quran said it.
3) The 'Big Bang' theory
Scientists have only been able to prove this 1000 yrs after Quran said it.
4) The planet is in sphere shape.
Scientists have only been able to prove this hundreds of yrs after Quran said it.
5)The moon's light is a reflection of the sun.
6) There are interstellar matters in between stars and planets.
7) The atom theory.
smilies/cool.gif The 'Folding' theory in geology.
9) Honey is the best daily supplement.
Scientists have only been able to prove this hundreds of yrs after Quran said it.
10) Embryology - how human were develop before being born

And these are only some from what is being told by God in the Quran.

We cannot say that all these facts in the Quran are mere coincidence. Because there is not 1 but 1000 of 'ayat' in the Quran that now proves modern science!
God sees what we can't see. That's why human need hundreds or thousands of years to find out on their own on what God has said. That is also why God instruct human to believe everything in the Quran regardless there is or no proof of it in front of our eyes. Only STUPID muslims would say ' ohh i will believe it only when i could see proof'!
Please don't be a stupid ignorrant. U'll loose big time i tell u.

As of Islamic Law, it's been clearly said:

"Barangsiapa yang tidak memutuskan menurut apa yang diturunkan Allah, maka mereka adalah orang-orang yang kafir" (al-Maidah: 44)

"Menetapkan hukuman itu hanyalah haq Allah swt." (al-An'am:57)

"Dan tidaklah patut bagi lelaki yang mu'min dan perempuan yang mu'min apabila Allah dan RasulNya menetapkan suatu ketetapan, akan ada bagi mereka pilihan yang lain. Dan barangsiapa yang menderhakai Allah dan RasulNya, maka sesungguhnya dia telah sesat, sesat yang nyata" (al-Ahzab:36)

So please Muslims. Understand this

Assam Laksa, kalau kamu nak masuk neraka then masuklah..but don't drag others as well!
written by pillars, June 25, 2008 11:07:47
It appears like these PAS people are discriminating against women. If women reveal too much flesh, then PAS gets all excited.
---------------------------------------------------

Not only PAS discrimaniating against women, they just want to tell us that they have high level of testerone. They cant stand to see woman in lipstick and high heels. See the bigger picture.

Damn !!! which century are we in now ???
written by businessman, June 25, 2008 11:10:12
Chipon said that Hudud Law only applies to Muslim.

IT IS TRUE IN DREAM ONLY

Hudud Law is applies to all whether you like it or not. Take Saudi Arabia as example. Do you think 100% of the population there is Muslim? Sure no right. Maybe 1 or 2% is non-muslim right. If that is the case, does the government of Saudi Arabia create a separated law for them? Can they buy things without being separated into different lines in shopping centres?

Therefore, Hudud Law only applies to Muslim is only true in dream. In reality, it is applies to everyone. If you ask the non-Muslim to keep quiet because it is nothing to do with them, then you are berfikiran cetek or too ignorant to realise the true picture.
written by SUV, June 25, 2008 11:58:04
smilies/cheesy.gif @ pillars n businesman..man,u fellas mana mari eh?dari longkang ke? smilies/cheesy.gif..yalah.i know,ur untameble which lusts equals to progress..keep on doing those things brudder..no prob smilies/angry.gif
written by crayon, June 25, 2008 12:00:19
I strongly agree with the following closing words, abang Pete. Bolded portions are stressed for easy viewing (see below). Anyway, PAS should really look at themselves again. All their actions below are giving the entire coalition a bad name! They appear to be tackling minor, useless issue with their time rather with other pressing issues affecting the nation! PAS, apa ni???

"PAS is also compounding the problem. They forget that they are just a member of the opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat, and are not the federal government or the absolute government in the states, in particular Selangor. What’s with this protest against the ‘sexy’ singers? If aurat is such a big issue, then they should also protest against the football match. The 22 footballers will be wearing shorts, which means that their aurat is uncovered. Why protest against two female singers who reveal too much flesh but ignore the 22 male footballers who also reveal too much?

It appears like these PAS people are discriminating against women. If women reveal too much flesh, then PAS gets all excited. But men are allowed to violate the Islamic rule by revealing too much flesh. That is not a problem. Should not rules apply to everyone, men as well as women? Why are only women targeted for reprisals whereas men get away with whatever they want to do?

Two days ago, a policeman at Putra Heights raped an underage girl. The girl was not sexily dressed. She was not even a criminal but a mere pillion rider. But she was detained and taken to the police station and raped. Why has PAS kept silent on this matter? Where is that massive demonstration to protest police officers raping underage girls? Is fighting with the Sultan of Selangor over whether female singers not dressed like Arabian Bedouins should be permitted to sing in public more important than an underage girl being raped by a policeman?

And all this talk about Islamising the country is frightening the voters. Pakatan Rakyat did not come into office because of just PAS members’ votes. Many non-PAS members -- Malays, Chinese and Indians included -- voted for Pakatan Rakyat. But they did not vote in favour of an Islamic State. They voted in favour of seeing a strong opposition and possibly a two-party system finally emerging in Malaysia after 51 years of Umno domination.

Yes, the voters voted in favour of Pakatan Rakyat, not in favour of PAS. PAS just happens to be a member of Pakatan Rakyat, that’s all. So PAS must do things with the interest of Pakatan Rakyat at heart, not in the interest of its own party. Is this something so hard to understand? Five years is not that long. See what happened in 2004 compared to 1999. 2012/2013 may see a reversal of the 2008 success, just like 2004 was the reversal of 1999, if PAS and PKR are not careful. And thus far PAS and PKR have not offered the voters any reason to vote them back into office come the next election."
written by SUV, June 25, 2008 12:03:58
chipon,
pertama sekali saintis punya finding r nowhere near 2 the 7th heaven,which is known as sat chit ananda vijana..this plateau which is the ultimate summit is waaaaay to high..saintis big bang thoery,discoveries oso nowhere nearlah..wat some of them r doing is 2 cari clues frm the veads,the upanishads,the tao,and the quran to match thier finding,and to look for answers which santis r struggling to get..of course some of thier radical results,n discoveries do match spritual realities..ok sir
written by SUV, June 25, 2008 12:08:37
setiap parti ,n org mesti ada dia punya fair share of hardliners la..ini normal..but to condemn macam anjing mangamuk menunjukkan adik kocik dah keraih smilies/cheesy.gif
written by SUV, June 25, 2008 12:13:01
it's true.. the revelation of the quran came frm the 7th heaven,the highest summit..and the messenger of the divine in fact "brought down" 2 supreme powers of the supramental level..the powers of wisdom n force..the force part sungguh jaranag diturunkan...hehe...the french revolusi which gave birth to demokrasi in europe is oso based on those 2 powers..intersting isnt it..comparelah the nature of napoleaon and the messenger of god.. smilies/grin.gif
written by SUV, June 25, 2008 12:29:34
anything that degrades human being,anything that encourages falsehood,anything dat bring retardation and bring decadence akan diterajang keluarr..ini hukum nature..dis is wat is happening in dis contry..malaysia dah lama haprak..dia punya citizens pun dah tak tahan dah..new,emerging forces which r based on unity,brotherhood is being demonstarted by pkr,n pas..all this falsehood prinsip based on ketuanan kaum,animal materialisme lambat laun akn diterajang keluar..tunggu masa aje..so the ruling elite..u trylah ur best n ur worst to safeguard ur decadent way of doing things..we shall c ..hehe smilies/grin.gif
written by amoker, June 25, 2008 12:41:53
i dun envy Khalid's job in Selangor . But if u compare him with Khir Toyo and Muh Taib, we need to put in some perspective. He have the courage to suspend a chap ( in UMNO times, the same chap would be protected, at best a promise of investigations which goes nowhere) and also to hear complaints of ordinary Keadilan members.

PAS should be more careful and smart.

It is surprising ( or not ) that eyes are in the Pakatan states when nothing is wrtten about the BN states. For me, we have to perhaps endure the stress of change. BN controlled states are more quiet because it is business as usual. It will also mean that rakyat in those states will soon find out their indescritions . It is better to have bru ha ha now than to be caught with pants down.

written by jeevy, June 25, 2008 17:43:04
Khalid Ibrahim is and was always an UMNOputra ( meaning he has gained from d largesse of UMNO )...if i'm not mistaken hes a multi-millionaire....he could be easily d richest MP and state assembly person in PR..d rest r all paupers compared to him..if he is really wht he is...wht is he doing in Parkatan Rakyat?...if u ask me hes in PR to destroy PR...planted by d UMNO govt to destroy PR especially PKR....( like wht Ku Li did to Semangat 46 )...so d soonest PKR get rids of him d better...hes a wolf masquerading as a sheep!!...and d same goes for our beloved Anwar Ibrahim...get rid of both and PR, especially PKR will be saved...DAP and PAS better beware of this two!!!...only time will tell dat i'm right!!!...
written by AsamLaksa, June 25, 2008 17:43:11
Chipon, I never say I want to drag anyone to neraka. That's your interpretation seeing me as a threat. Read again. I tell you to justify your stand and show your reasons. Is that dragging anyone down???

It's cool that the Quran is so full of knowledge. What's the point here? It's just full of knowledge. Cool. But that still does not mean that there are divergence in the interpretation of the Quran.

Funny how one thing tells you to seek knowledge even to every corner of the world if need be yet the seekers of knowledge it spawned were discouraged from criticising and told to accept things blindly.

What I'm interested in any faith is not the form but the substance. For example in Islam I can sense the strong sense of natural justice and fairness where it enforces certain rules that address unfairness such as in inheritance to family members. But where it got unfair is when the followers abide strictly to the letter abandoning the substance for form for example in a situation where women beneficiaries get less share of the inheritance by default regardless of contribution to the well being of the deceased. Fairness if not a strict concept. There is danger in confusing form as substance.

Similarly with hudud laws, the crimes listed punishable hudud style are deemed serious and requires serious punishment. As to what should be the serious punishment, that may change. In distant future where you can have hands rebuild or have cybernetic hand replacement, chopping of hands is no big deal and thus the hudud aspect of thieving may become irrelevant if there's strict literal adherence.
written by AsamLaksa, June 25, 2008 18:02:48
Chipon, one more thing, you say only the stupid wants to see proof before they believe. This is wrong. They are not stupid, they just don't believe. Similarly if you believe even if there is no proof, that don't make you stupid, that just means you believe. Nothing more, nothing less.

Your statement that stupid people want proof before they believe is akin to cult mentality, it's you're either with us, meaning enlightened, or against us, meaning stupid. Could it be possible that those who believe in different things are not stupid?

So where does the stupid thing come in? To me stupid is when you knowingly relinquish your ability to think for yourself.

By the way, I believe in things without proof too, it's just not the same things you believe in. I believe in universal love. There's hardly any irrefutable proof of it as it's very vague. Proof and evidence is immaterial in personal belief. But funny how some people say they don't need proof yet try and twist facts to suit their beliefs and say it is proof of the greatness of their belief. Who cares what proof you have for your beliefs? What matters is your ability to think for yourself within your beliefs.
written by chipon, June 25, 2008 19:18:50
"written by AsamLaksa, June 25, 2008 | 18:02:48

Chipon, one more thing, you say only the stupid wants to see proof before they believe. This is wrong. They are not stupid, they just don't believe. Similarly if you believe even if there is no proof, that don't make you stupid, that just means you believe. Nothing more, nothing less."

Aiyaa AsamLaksa, your comment here is only relevant when it comes to 'human to human' relationship. But it's totally different when it comes to human to God relationship. How could u be soo arrogant to God by saying that 'i want to see evidence!'?? Dude, it's God who created u! He can do whatever He wants and instruct whatever He wants us humans to do!

Didn't u read those Quran verses?? It's damn so clear cut that it needs no further interpretation!

The point is : He created u. Who are u to even comment on His instructions?

written by Rhan, June 25, 2008 21:18:34
Mao era have very low crime rate is because most people have job include those from urban and village. You don’t see either the extreme rich or extreme poor and the society as a whole is more equal. I don’t think heavy punishment do play a role here as the crime rate after Mao is many time higher even with lots of execution of capital punishment.

Therefore I believe hudud law could be implemented when a nation achieve full employment, everyone is with good education, disparity of wealth is at the lowest, all people have equal right regardless of sex, age, race, wealth and even the Sultan is working hard to earn a living. The ancient Chinese call it the Gentleman’s Country.

In order to do this, the first thing PAS should do is to improve the economy to attract talented Malaysian to move over to Kelantan. Ensure the standard of living should be on par with most European country and achieve most of the requirement I mentioned. I assure you PAS, at this point of time, I will whack anyone who doesn’t agree to have the hudud law.
written by AsamLaksa, June 26, 2008 05:25:57
Chipon, I never asked for proof of God to believe in God. Did you read I mentioned faith does not need prove. Why are you so one track minded? Pergi baca betul-betul. I never denounce Christian, Jewish, Islamic, Hindu, Taoist, pagan, etc. Gods. It's their personal relationship with God.

Quranic verses are so clear cut? Good, go tell it to the Islamic scholars who don't see eye to eye. For example, how clear is the issue of apostasy?

My contention is still the same, go have your beliefs, but make sure you question it hard so that you understand it fully. Once you understand it fully, you can repel criticism directly. No need to shut up critics.

Rhan, Mao's era is not so straight forward as you described. The communist party then used enforcers to ensure ideology and social compliance (similarly Taliban used moral enforcers and the Nazis used ideology enforcers too). They came down hard on dissenters and the intellectual class was persecuted. This led to an intellectual vacuum for a generation. Furthermore this iron fisted system made possible the disastrous cultural revolution and great leap forward which resulted in cultural stagnation and millions dead. It's not the low unemployment which ensured low crime then, it's the iron fist. What you have instead is a great rise in ideological crimes rather than violent crimes.

As for your assertion of Mao's China having high employment urban and rural is misplaced. Sure they had employment but many are displaced especially the urban intellectuals, industrial figures and property owners getting displaced to the rural areas to be forced into agriculture. Party members were given the task to replace the
displaced intellectual and industrial class resulting in a two fold disaster where those without skills in industry or agriculture led to greatly reduced production (see Zimbabwe's agriculture for modern example) and collapse of industry and agriculture which took years to recover.

Though I agree with you that a happy good standard of living population will reduce crime, there's not many good examples in recorded history (perhaps the Islamic golden age is one). But that's not all there is to it. You also need intellectual and philosophical growth. Is Islam capable of this? I think so. However, fundamentalism will attempt to repeat the form of earlier golden age without regards to substance and that is why fundamentalism will not succeed for long. Again I stress on the substance, the principles, not the form. Fixation on the form is counter productive.

All civilization golden ages including the Islamic civilization are characterised not by ideological adherence but intellectual, philosophical, political and societal growth.

Anyway if the utopia you envisage does happen, you really don't need any hudud laws then so why have it? You just want to defend it in name regardless if you really need it or need to use it? Why? Because someone told you you need to have it regardless if it is needed? Why waste your breath on something not needed? Why whack on a non-issue then? More fixation on form than substance?

Tao thinking is that a perfect state is one where the people go about their lives in peace without need of laws and without any interference by any rulers. This requires a kind of universal goodness in the citizens which goes into the core of their being without need of any religious dogma. Early Taoism can hardly be described as a religion but rather a philosophy. Same thing can arguably be said about Buddhism.
written by teo siew chin, June 26, 2008 09:15:47
Dear SUV

we dirty our plates.. live the decadent life... becos the circumstances allow us so...when the dirt is pile up high enough...the plate HAS to be cleaned... the well HAS to dry up before we know the worth of water... Perhaps then only we realise that substance matter more than form just as AssamLaksa so clearly stated. Dont we have to be foolish first in order to be wise?

Dear AssamLaksa

Your statement "...intellectual, philosophical, political and societal growth..." Does it mean all 4 pillars must be present at that one time? Is the world at a golden age now or at least heading for one?

btw, many of us are still 'baca-ing' nevermind the 'betul-betul' part so I must first and foremost thank you your patience for your slow and easy guidance smilies/cool.gif
though of course an occasional whacking from YM RPK is good too! oops, correct that - its' constant whacking! smilies/grin.gif
written by teo siew chin, June 26, 2008 09:18:04
Oh BTW, the SD from YM RPK, for once, he has gotten me completely speechless! smilies/shocked.gif
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 11:15:00
teo san ah,
i got no problem with dirt..hehe... smilies/grin.gif...every time cuci cuci ,next day kotor balik,dats whylah fab ,breeze,penyapu selalu ada lo.. smilies/grin.gif...we must recognise bold attempts that r being made to restore things,to place this country in a right direction....well,we can always tell pkr,pas fellas to back off n let barisan najis do wat they have been doin always!!!

written by SUV, June 26, 2008 11:23:06
so asam laksa,
how to restore things?umm..tell lah..give d details so dat we can kaji..hehe.. smilies/grin.gif
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 11:26:17
macha asam,
tao alone ciakap pasai peace kah?what's peace anyway?

written by SUV, June 26, 2008 11:38:51
If we are to make our society perfect and the nation is to live again, then we must revert to the earlier and fuller truth. We must not make life a waiting for renunciation, but renunciation a preparation for life; instead of running from God in the town to God in the forest, we must rather plunge into the mountain solitude in our own souls for knowledge & joy & spiritual energy to sustain any part that may be given to us by the master of the Lila. If we get that strength, any society we build up must be full of the instinct of immortal life and move inevitably towards perfection. As to the precise way in which society will be reconstructed, we have hardly yet knowledge enough to solve the problem. We ought to know before we act, but we are rather eager to act violently in the light of any dim ray of knowledge that may surprise our unreflecting intellects, and although God often uses our haste for great and beneficial purposes, yet that way of doing things is not the best either for a man or a nation. One thing seems to me clear that the future will deny that principle of individual selfishness and collective self-interest on which European society has hitherto been based and our renovated systems will be based on the renunciation of individual selfishness and the organisation of brotherhood, – principles common to Christianity, Mahomedanism and Hinduism.

(Essays Divine and Human, p. 58.)

sri aurobindo

written by SUV, June 26, 2008 11:52:31
http://www.harakahdaily.net/in...7&Itemid=1
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 11:54:54
(Essays in Philosophy and Yoga, p.211)

All fanaticism is false, because it is a contradiction of the very nature of God and of Truth. Truth cannot be shut up in a single book, Bible or Veda or Koran, or in a single religion. The Divine Being is eternal and universal and infinite and cannot be the sole property of the Mussulmans or of the Semitic religions only, – those that happened to be in a line from the Bible and to have Jewish or Arabian prophets for their founders
written by teo siew chin, June 26, 2008 12:00:40
"...we must recognise bold attempts that r being made to restore things.."
---------------

hmmm Suv-san ah, you mean break the plate?
adoi, i dengar ah, som tings can do but cannot say, som tings can say but cannot do.... ini macam mean break plate without noise ah? smilies/wink.gif... susah, memang susah tapi the plate-breakers must plod on lah ... all de best!

and i think AssamLaksa's stand is to take the whole-listic and moderate view lah, open de mind, close tunnel vision.... macam Suv-ism smilies/grin.gif... tapi kena balik baca baca lebih so dat boleh tulis better smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif. My take, i think AssamLaksa cringes wen v rite like dis ! smilies/tongue.gif
written by kamwy, June 26, 2008 13:09:47
i wonder why PKR sounds more like umno as days go by. Today, on the star - PKR "warriors" are reported to be disappointed not being appointed as state councillors. that sounds like umno sulking babies. next, PKR warriors want govt contracts too.

aih. periuk, kuali = dua dua hitam
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 14:34:46
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 14:36:59
teo san ah,
asholistic view dats wat we have..lol!!! smilies/grin.gif..by d way,since when we bcame zorba d greek? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 14:48:23
time for some humour..
MYSELF: Something great, something big you have done, Sir. Will you kindly whisper what it is?

SRI AUROBINDO: I am always doing something big, but never big enough—as yet.

MYSELF: Really, Sir, do tell us, if no objection.

SRI AUROBINDO: Eh, what?
---------------------------------------------------------------------

MYSELF: My nights are again becoming heavy- I don't know how to deal with them.

SRI AUROBINDO: So are mine with a too damnably heavy burden of letters to write.

MYSELF: I come out of bed with the morose thought that another night has passed away and I have done nothing.

SRI AUROBINDO: You mean the morbid thought!

MYSELF: Thoughts of past pleasures and enjoyments are hopping in and out!

SRI AUROBINDO: Man alive, send them hopping off for good. What a masochism in all that!

MYSELF: You compare your nights with mine! God above! yours, Sir, is a labour of love.

SRI AUROBINDO: Love under protest then or at least labour under protest!

MYSELF: And mine—labour of yoga?

SRI AUROBINDO: A labour of Bhoga?
time for some humour..
MYSELF: Something great, something big you have done, Sir. Will you kindly whisper what it is?

---------------------------------------------------------------------

MYSELF: My nights are again becoming heavy- I don't know how to deal with them.

SRI AUROBINDO: So are mine with a too damnably heavy burden of letters to write.

MYSELF: I come out of bed with the morose thought that another night has passed away and I have done nothing.

SRI AUROBINDO: You mean the morbid thought!

MYSELF: Thoughts of past pleasures and enjoyments are hopping in and out!

SRI AUROBINDO: Man alive, send them hopping off for good. What a masochism in all that!

MYSELF: You compare your nights with mine! God above! yours, Sir, is a labour of love.

SRI AUROBINDO: Love under protest then or at least labour under protest!

MYSELF: And mine—labour of yoga?

SRI AUROBINDO: A labour of Bhoga?

written by SUV, June 26, 2008 14:49:37
ah sh!t ,dua kali posting ,solly aah...

written by teo siew chin, June 26, 2008 14:53:40
"asholistic view" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
aiyo, apa tu zorba? penat lah ****** lagi smilies/wink.gif

ahhhh .... "happiness is a simple heart."
bukan bling bling smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Rhan, June 26, 2008 15:45:07
AsamLaksa

From 1952 to 1976, China support to other poor nation is USD 20 billion, foodstuff can cater for three years with population of 800 million, no debts, literacy rate increase from a mere 20% to 70%, student increase by 8 times, most people could afford medical treatment, and during this stage, China develop atomic bomb, hydrogen bomb, satellite and oil exploration.

What China has before 1952? And what the poor says about today’s China? Therefore I agree when you say Mao’s era is not so straight forward.

Don’t understand what you mean by ideological crime, could it be like those who thought capitalism is the solution for everything? End of history and the last man?

Can Hudud Law bring us to the utopia? My view is the other way round, if the crime rate in heaven did increase.
written by AsamLaksa, June 26, 2008 20:55:08
Rhan, China, like USSR during their early communist days were involved in heavy global public relations exercise. They like to portray their nations as utopia and strictly control information.

While their citizens were starving, China still exported food. No joke. While they have many poor who are only paid subsistent wages, they still gave out foreign aid. Similar mentality can be seen in North Korea where across the DMZ you can see finely built apartment complex in North Korea which are strangely unoccupied. There's music and slogan from the PA systems too. The complex was to tempt the South Koreans to cross over for a better life in communist North Korea, never mind they do not provide as good a housing for their own people, they built this propaganda white elephant. How highly do they place the welfare of their citizens?

Don't believe me? Ask the elderly Chinese about the Great Leap Forward. Ask also how many people starved to death. Ask how the government ostracised the previous landowners and their families forcing them to suffer not because they committed any crime but rather because they were landowners, the hated capitalist class.

China also increased their tertiary student population but their educational standard was suspect in the early days as they purged the intellectual class and destroyed many educational material. The early plan for China's educational expansion is to create a motivated working class to serve the communist machinery and many ideas were tainted with party agenda whereby they cannot point out errors but told to blindly follow. Academic promotion depends if they can toe the ideological line. Check out the Cultural Revolution.

Try looking up figures for communists states and you will find the numbers all looking so nice. The numbers do not tell the truth within their country. Similarly with any oppressive state. Sure China became modern but at what cost? It is only after Mao's death that many counter-productive policies were quietly reversed so as not to openly show that Mao's policies were wrong. Over the past 20 years, Chinese are beginning to openly criticise Mao's policies. It is with the openness enjoyed after Mao's death that attributed to the social improvement.

Who cares about atomic or H bombs as doing these 2 things say nothing about the welfare of the citizens. Affordable healthcare? Malaysia has affordable healthcare too. What I'm more concerned is good standard of health. Point out the vast improvement in public health such as sanitation and public vaccination programs next time to make your argument better. Modern China is very very different from Mao's vision.

Never heard of ideological crimes? Those are crimes defined by a paranoid government and lack clear definition. It covers persecution of critics, persecution of political opponents and persecution of those acting contrary state policies. An example is religion. Early communist China persecuted all religions as corrupting the mind of the citizens contrary to communist ideals. Many early heroes of communist China were also executed for challenging Mao's vision, many of them carrying reformist agenda.

Is Mao all wrong? No. He is able to galvanise a nation long divided and plagued with corruption. He set out the foundations for modern China not so much that his policies were great but more on the fact that he enforced the nationalist ideals that prevented China from following the same decadent route as earlier KMT rule.

Capitalism is not the answer for everything. It's great for the haves allowing them rapid expansion, not so great for the have nots eroding their independence. I don't have the answer for world politics.

Hudud law won't bring utopia, no law will. It is sound principles that will bring peace. Start simple, do unto others as you would like others to do unto you. Start with peace by yourself and spread it.

SUV, what is peace? There's no clear definition of what is peace. It's a concept that is readily recognisable but not easily defined. Some say peace is a conflict free state, but to me that's not true. I think peace is not an absence of conflict but rather collective ability to resolve conflict without causing further harm. You cannot avoid conflicts to begin with. What's your idea on peace?
written by raybeam, June 26, 2008 21:03:26
It does not take a rocket scientist to realise that the cancellation or as the Barisan government would lead us to believe that the postponement of the monorail and outer ring road projects have been made because of the lack of funds.

However, every right thinking Malaysians know only too well that this is an outright lie but rather to punish Penangnites for voting in the Pakatan Rakyat. I wonder how Lim Guan Eng and Co will react to this announcement.

From,
Alfred Ho.

Please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com
written by Milo, June 26, 2008 21:39:22
Rhan & AssamLaksa - Your exchanges provide good reading. Keep them going.

Alfred Ho - We do not know what you are asking is for your gouping only or doable. Please understand that just because PRK is in power does not mean that can do everything we ask. It does depend on what you actually ask.
written by BUTEK, June 26, 2008 22:20:59
BRAVO!!!!! LET US FIGHT AGAINST EACH OTHER..... LET BARISAN NAJIS RULE THIS COUNTRY LONGER... LET RAKYAT RECIEVE THE DIVIDEND THEY HOPE FOR VOTING BARISAN NAJIS!!!!!!! MALAYSIAN REALLY DESERVE TO BE NAJIS!!!!!
written by SUV, June 26, 2008 23:18:10
bling bling oso happiness waat..babes n money...ultimate k0ktail smilies/grin.gif

written by SUV, June 26, 2008 23:29:03
yalah..we must b modelate oh..flom now on no more rm300 busat,rm 200 kecik..tikam aje rm 2busat,rm2 kicik..no more bukit binting pigi cari xotik punani..hook up d hanfon,n c hookahs hooking up on d pon..no more cuban cigar,n wine..now dlink kelinga dlink,cap ulat kapla 3,club99..no more pisang,epel,olen,anggur for tuan kasi dui punya,,just pisang emaih(cut cost mah smilies/grin.gif) for the hududless silence absolute of allah called the tao smilies/shocked.gif(haiyaah.. u deglade the superior god of aceventura tan n celestial mui..this no can do!!)
smilies/cool.gif
written by Rhan, June 27, 2008 01:07:04
AsamLaksa

I will not talk much about the Great Leap Forward but we all should know that China is one country with lots of natural disaster, look what happen along this year.

As for the Cultural Revolution, any intellectual who go through the May Forth Movement held the belief that the Chinese culture do need a revolution, and Mao used to be the youth who held the same belief and eventually be the one who have the power to push forward the dream.

Like you, I used to see Mao as no difference with Hitler, Stalin or any of the dictator but what really change my thought is as what you have mention when the Chinese start to enjoy the openness and how the Chinese are beginning to openly criticize Mao’s policy. To my surprise, I don’t feel that many Chinese are that critical or talk bad on Mao and instead, by looking at their impression or “feel” whenever they mention the name Mao Zhu Xi (Chairman Mao), it is always with respect and appreciation, you could surf any Mainland website and would realize that those who support Mao is not less than the one who criticize Mao. You may argue this people is brainwash by the communist propaganda but the numbers is quite huge and I dare says China media is anytime more open than Malaysia or Singapore.

Thanks for the explanation on the ideology crime, my view is that the communist use the “hard” approach while the West use the “soft” approach. Not much different lah.

I am not trying to say Mao didn’t make mistake, he did. And he underestimates the power of human selfishness and greed.

I don’t know what is the use of atomic, hydrogen or nuclear bomb but I do see the American walk in and out of Middle East as like that piece of land belong to their father, why don’t you ask the American try to do the same in China?
written by doggone, June 27, 2008 07:19:01

Wars are fought because of religion.

Some Muslims leaders here wants to impose hudud laws and make the country an Islamic State. They harp on this issue as and when they like to the point that angers the non-muslim, who has never impose their religious beliefs on others. Animosity and hatred are planted and cultivated graduating to heated exchange and distrust in cyberspace. Racial harmony goes to the chopping block resulting in marginalization of minority races. A small spark set off fights and bloodshed that might be the prelude of ethnic cleansing.

The economy comes to a standstill while foreign investors starts pulling out. Powerful nations sits and wait for us to destroy each other and weaken the pillars of the nation. They move in for the 'kill' by handing out aids and funds that are attached to the large string.

We lose the right to rule the land as such. MAYBE WE LIKE IT THAT WAY. WE HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO RUN THIS COUNTRY ANYWAY.

written by simon68, June 27, 2008 07:47:52
YM Pete, the PAS people are very concern with 'tutup aurat'. It is their biggest political asset to make the party acceptable to the people. But the way I see it is that these PAS people are full of lust. Their 'barang' naik whenever they see cute women walking about. Who is to be blamed for this? Any body care to figure out?
written by raybeam, June 27, 2008 08:26:42
malaysian prime minister, abdullah badawi has done it once again. first, he lied about his very own wedding. then, he lied about the disillusionment of parliament prior to the recent general elections. believe it or not, he has just announced the cancellation of the monorail and outer ring road projects in penang. i think that it is high time that badawi step down to make way for someone who is more capable, trustworthy and who has got better leadership
qualities. whilst i am on this subject, what are ministers whose reputations have been tainted, such as tengku adnan and mohamed taib doing in his cabinet. come to think of it, some of the ministers in badawi's cabinet have been linked to corruption and their arrogance towards their malaysian subjects is most reprehensible. in short, the barisan government has overstayed its welcome and a change of government is what we really need. as prime minister of malaysia, badawi has betrayed the trust of the people by shielding his cronies from being prosecuted for the crimes which they have committed. if badawi continues to hang on to power, then i fear that as law abiding citizens of this country, we face a very bleak future.

to find out how i have been unfairly treated as a blind individual by this very
uncaring government, please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com
written by AsamLaksa, June 27, 2008 09:20:18
Rhan,

Sure China has lots of natural disaster, so does USA every year without fail. What's the point of pointing out natural disaster?

China is rich. The dynastic emperors knew it. Genghis Khan knew it. The Western imperialist powers knew it. The communist government knows it. Heck, they do not need foreign aid for the recent natural disasters. Mao almost killed the national economy and stifled the manpower resource. Thankfully good sense prevailed and you get what you get today.

There is still reverence for Chairman Mao and that will never change. He gave the people a vision. He is a national figure. At least you can read up Chinese critics on him now. During his rule, they would be persecuted possibly along with their family members.

Cultural revolution failed. It's not compatible with development that China seeked. The policy was reversed. There is a big difference with the "soft" and "hard" approach and it comes down to compulsion.

Many Chinese felt they needed to revolutionise the Chinese culture back then mostly as a knee jerk reaction to the excesses of the KMT government. The problem was that they went too far and commenced a broad brush purge regardless if something was beneficial. It was total chaos where it was not implemented consistently. It depended on the whims of the local leaders to decide what should be purged. Many classical works and treasures are forever lost. Did it really have to go that far?

If the Middle East allow the Americans to walk in and out of their lands as they like, then it's the Middle East states that are the problem. Which other country allows the Americans to do as they like? Japan? Mongolia? Sweden? UK? Brazil? I don't know what your point is here. Are we still talking Mao or are you suggesting we criticise the Middle East states?

It is easy to look at the present situation to justify the actions of the past, but this is a dangerous notion. Oppression is oppression. Nothing could justify oppression. I do not believe in the end justify the means. Wherever and whenever there is oppression, reject it. Only few years back I used to justify NEP policies saying that it is necessary to keep the racial harmony in Malaysia but my wife just pointed out, inequality is unfair and nothing can justify it. It got me thinking for a while and I then decided that she is right (I haven't told her yet as the topic haven't come up again). She saw the problem as it is and it made me strengthen my principles on anti-inequality.
written by SUV, June 27, 2008 13:30:01
kesian simon68,dia dah mati pucuk... smilies/cheesy.gif

mao's vison results?lemme c..20 million dead bcos of his fantastic great leap forward..n after dat,to protect his megalomani,cultural revolution startedlah..result?skolars,"liberals",intellectuals kena terajang ,by kanak kanak..n now we see a hybrid regime in china..capitalism campur commy mao..result..rising inequality,rampant corruption,hududism n persecution..
written by SUV, June 27, 2008 13:37:23
http://anwaribrahimblog.com/20...-didukung/
written by Rhan, June 27, 2008 14:42:34
Mao China fight the American, fight the Russian, fight the Indian and stand up for the third world.

Unlike those cowards who know only how to bomb the civilian, hudud people head on the internet and train up kid to fight war while all the man waiting there to become the witness of rape case.

Great civilization? Dig a hole in the dessert and cover your brain in lah. Malukan your nabi aje...

written by SUV, June 27, 2008 14:52:41
ladies n gentleman,one who flew over the cukoos nest part 11 will b relased soon..lead actor rhan smilies/cry.gif
written by SUV, June 27, 2008 15:01:48
bikin mao malu aje..

http://anwaribrahimblog.com/2008/06/26/keadilan-selangor-muafakat-dicapai-kepimpinan-khalid-terus-didukung/

http://www.nowpublic.com/china_slaughtering_political_prisoners_for_organs

written by Rhan, June 27, 2008 15:47:14
AsamLaksa,

How do you define inequality? From the point of view as a capitalist or a socialist? NEP is unequal and no NEP is equal? How meritocracy apply on a child who born in a rich / middle class family and a child who born in a rubber estate?

Mao is willing to take action to improve the living standard of the Chinese and to create a more equal society but does he really have a formula on how to do this? Some of his comrade thinks that as they are now emerge as winner mean they are the kings who could do anything they like. Some intellectual believe that the American / West system is the best to work on and would push for a democratic under capitalism. And of course lastly there is some true Communist who preferred to stick to their basic ideology of Communism. Even today the same argument still happen among the three PR parties in a small nation call Malaysia and what do you expect to be the right formula for a poor and large country that just finish war and wish to stand up against the imperialist West and the communism Russia?

Who is the one who help Mao and the CCP to win the many war include the civil war against KMT? The intellectual? The elite class? The warlord or the landlord? The answer is obvious, it is the poor, the peasant, the farmer and the illiterate. Therefore it is subject to argument on whether Mao action did justify the end.

What make you think China could have a peaceful progress on its economy in the last 30 years without much interruption except the June Forth event and need not lease out a military base to the American? Is it a God gift or the military strength that include the mass destruction weapon developed under Mao vision?

Look at the Malaysia scenario and tell me why nobody go up front and tell Mahathir his policy is all wrong in the last 22 years? After Mahathir step down and we conclude that all fault is his and not ours while we are given choice to exercise our right to choose? The same may apply to Deng XiaoPeng who took over Mao. Is Deng not the one who implemented the Great Leap Forward with Liu ShaoQi? How could he gain the support to reverse Mao policy if he doesn’t exaggerate Mao’s fault?

Btw, I agree your view is mostly valid but need some balance. You are a very knowledgeable person and thanks for the good writing.
written by AsamLaksa, June 27, 2008 15:59:16
Mao China fight the American, fight the Russian, fight the Indian and stand up for the third world.

Rhan, is this your basis for defending Mao? You got to be kidding, right? You might as well defend Hitler who fought the Americans, Russians, French, British and probably would have fought the Chinese too. He may not stand up for the 3rd world but stood up against the injustice of the Versaille Treaty. He brought back the national pride and industry of the Germans. For years he put in fear in his enemies.

What's your real issue, support any power that can face off the Americans or powers you don't like? Is this your principle? Trivialise their wrongs as long as they can face up the powers you dislike?
written by Rhan, June 27, 2008 19:04:58
Asamlaksa

You are right that I am not kidding. How could I not support one who is willing to defend his country against the intruder? I support the American, British, Russian and French who fight bravely against the Axis, and am I wrong to support Mao who fight against the intruder during the Korean war, Sino Russian war and the Sino Indian war?

Anyway, my reply is direct toward the silly underage villain and thanks for your reply even though yours very weak analogy seems a bit not up to standard.
written by AsamLaksa, June 27, 2008 21:20:57
Rhan,

I hope you weren't serious, but I'm afraid you are...

Willing to defend their country? Sure. But what is that? Mugabe defend his country from so called foreign interference resulting in a huge economic overhaul resulting in famine, persecution and death of Zimbabweans. Hitler defended his country from oppressive Versaille settlement. Bush defended his country from a real and present threat by invading Afghanistan and Iraq. UMNO defend the country from negative foreign influence by controlling the media (another lapuk concept of corrupt foreign influence). Pakistan and India defend their countries by building nuclear weapons and have occasional border clashes.

The analogy I used is weak, no doubt as it follows your reasoning.

Look, Mao defend China from foreigners, that's cool. I never said that's bad. Mao causing the death of millions of Chinese when not fighting against an invader, that's bad (see Great Leap Forward). In fact China is the aggressor in Sino-India war (oops, they weren't defending from Indian invasion!). Was there an all out Sino-Russo war when Mao was boss? Was there invasion by Russia or was it more a border dispute which means that both sides claimed territory as their own you can't simply be sure who is right just like Kashmir region? Did America or even the South Koreans invaded China during the Korean War? What did China do during the Korean War? They surprise attacked the American forces even before a formal declaration of war had time to sink in, just like the Japanese invasion of Pearl Harbour.

China and USA were not always enemies. When China was pissed off with USSR, they befriended USA. Heck, USA even sent a ping pong team to China if I recall correctly in 1968. This is political reality of flip-flop China policies when it was convenient, they either shout defend against USA or make friends with USA.

The point is that the 'defend country' rhetoric is very very weak that borders on desperation. This rhetoric sudah lapuk. Only used to stir up sentiments to gain support for actions that they may regret later just like the American invasion of Iraq. Yeah, defend your country rhetoric sounds damn cool and easy to follow but don't be blind to it's fallacies.

If you want to defend something defend sound principles. Defend your citizens from harm, not oppress them. Defend justice, not cause more injustice. Defend the rights of your citizens, not deprive them of their rights. Defend your territory so that your citizens can enjoy it, not hold your territory while inflicting harm to your own citizens.

Again, nothing can justify oppression. Guatanamo Bay must go and I strongly welcome the US court ruling that the detainees have a right to challenge their detention in US courts.

So, I may be silly, but what does that make you? Forget this outdated 'defend country' rhetoric. Embrace proportionality. Embrace high principles and don't let weak justifications negate them.
written by Rhan, June 28, 2008 01:06:36
AsamLaksa,

First of all, I never say that you are silly. My post on Mao’s China fight against the American and Russia is a reply to SUV, not you.

Read the history of China in the late 19 century to earlier 20 century up to world war 2 and please enlighten me what is so cool to defend China from foreigner? Please remember i am talking about Mao rra and not Hu Jin Tao.

What you mean by surprise attack of the American when warning has been given to the American leader that China would intervene the Korean War to protect it national interest. Read the memoir of Truman and MacArthur, are the American not prepare for a war in the China territory? You remember the giant USSR and you call that not a invasion? As for the Sino Indian war, you could preserve your view, I have no problem with that but I saw it as an Indian invasion, and I believe you would says China invade Tibet.

I never says China and USA are enemies, and I believe it is Mao who invite Nixon for the historical meet up, but that doesn’t mean USA do not wish to see a weak China, exactly like what happen to Russia and where is the giant USSR today? No more.

To be honest I never like the American and Europe. They do as what tell by you. “Defend your citizens from harm, not oppress them. Defend justice, not cause more injustice. Defend the rights of your citizens, not deprive them of their rights. Defend your territory so that your citizens can enjoy it, not hold your territory while inflicting harm to your own citizens.”

But at whose expense and blood? The Muslim, the Asian, the poor third world nation. No?

Mao no doubt is bold and cruel, but what is your expectation on a man who go through a life like Mao? Even Deng has no hesitation to gun down the student during June Forth. I never agree on their action but I think sometime we have to make tough decision during tough time.
written by AsamLaksa, June 28, 2008 02:47:56
Rhan, forgive me if I'm mistaken that you are directing your comments towards SUV but I can't help it that you addressed me in your comments (see your last 5 posts) and I was the one who brought up Mao in the postings.

The Americans were given warning of intervention, yes. But they weren't given notice that China would declare war on such and such a date if America did not withdraw by a specific time. There's a big difference in threatening war and saying you are at war.

Mao's China care not if their own citizens be they rich, poor, Buddhist, Muslim, etc. die from the failed policies. Upbringing is no excuse to causing death of millions just as serial killers' bad upbringing is no excuse for their crimes. It is with Mao's tough upbringing that he was able to relate with the masses and it was hoped that his tough experiences would bring more beneficial policies instead of disastrous policies which many top people in his party opposed.

Some critics of Mao regard him as a clueless policy maker lacking understanding of even basic economy. They cruelly branded him a peasant.

You be honest, I'll be honest with you too, I do not hate USA, China, Israel, Iran or even North Korea. I critique them all so that I can pick up positive learning points.

I do not like USA and many European policies, especially USA foreign policies but I respect them for their openness where their wrongdoings can be highlighted by their own citizens and their national institutions will act to curb their own governments to remedy and also restrict their wrongdoings. I can find many things wrong with all the Western countries and point out their hypocrisies. But I will also point out their good points just like I would point out Mao's or even Hitler's good points.

The West shout human rights and do not have a perfect or even good track record but I still respect them because they allow their citizens to fight for human rights, not like some countries where you get thrown in jail just for pointing out wrongs. If given a choice I would rather live in a country where I have a better fighting chance to fight for my rights and the rights of my family, then the rights for my fellow citizens.

Don't let bad points blind you to any good points. Then weigh the good points against the bad points. If there are more good points, then it's better. Also identify non-negotiable principles. For me oppression is one non-negotiable point. Don't get too focused on a few negotiable points. Negotiable points need to be justified. One example of negotiable point is freedom from speech which should not be absolute. Some speech is detrimental and overly offensive but each need to be weighed on relevance, proportionality and in minimally infringing the freedom of speech. Thus any limitation on freedom of speech should only be imposed on a case by case basis and should only be used exceptionally. So, I'm not too fussed on the idea of China having laws that restrict freedom of speech for national stability but I am miffed when it is used heavy handedly such as the example of the passerby who published a video of some volunteer local authority enforcers beating up protesting farmers who was further beaten up and was threatened with prosecution. Thankfully, the Chinese citizens who followed the news on the internet were outraged which forced the Chinese central government to step in and set things right. Good progress for China in the internet age.

Anyway, to limit the length of this post, if you are interested, we can discuss further on principles somewhere else. Nowadays when I read about any issues, I firstly sit back, digest them and see what the principles involved are before I make any postings (notice I often post late in articles).
written by VIPER, July 01, 2008 11:06:14
Dear Yahya,
Suspension doesn't mean ur guilty. actually it gives you time to concentrate on your case and avoid u from being under pressure at work. If u r innocent then there's nothing to worry.
written by wargasetia, July 15, 2008 10:41:56
take two to go....

take of urself first. so, while putting ur great ideas in this field... feel free to explore... by *****ing the following. it helps u more than what u expect.

... http://excelgas.water4gas.hop.*****bank.net