Party distances itself from Raja Petra’s accusations PDF Print
Tuesday, 24 June 2008 07:49

By SHAHANAAZ HABIB, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: PKR has distanced itself from the allegations made by Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin, said party vice-president Azmin Ali.

He dismissed speculation that PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was in any way involved in getting Raja Petra to make the allegations.“Why must you link everything to him?

That statutory declaration was prepared by Raja Petra. It has no links to any political party. We must respect the courage of Raja Petra to put everything on record. That carries a lot of weight,” he said at the Parliament lobby yesterday.

Raja Petra, at the height of the Anwar crisis in 1998, was a strong supporter of the sacked deputy prime minister. He had been one of the key persons disseminating information on Anwar and Parti Keadilan Nasional (now PKR) through various websites.

However, he was said to have had a fall out with Anwar later.

Azmin denied that PKR was trying to drive a wedge between Umno’s two top leaders.

They are already having big problems which are deepening now,” he claimed.

On the plans for a no-confidence vote against Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as Prime Minister, he said Pakatan Rakyat was still looking into and discussing the approach and strategy.

Parliament only ends on July 15 so there’s no rush. What is important is that the transition (from Barisan to PR) is smooth,” he said.

Last week the Sabah Progressive Party broke ranks with the Barisan Nasional coalition, by saying that it has lost confidence in Abdullah’s leadership and its two MPs would support a no-confidence motion or vote against the Prime Minister,

Azmin said the Sept 16 time frame for Anwar to be Prime Minister was still on track.

But it could be much earlier than that,” he said.

Barisan won 140 seats in Parliament, while the Opposition has 82 seats.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by BennyG, June 24, 2008 08:08:26
"However, he was said to have had a fall out with Anwar later."

Could someone or even RPK confirm this statement or even this statement was made (never can trust MSM reporting nowadays)? Thank you.
written by Tompios, June 24, 2008 08:11:43
Raja Petra is a brave man. Daeng Parani punya keturunan. Pahlawan Bugis yang pernah menguasi selat Melaka, Sulawesi dan Lautan China. Kegemilangan pahalawan Bugis sangat ditakuti oleh orang Melayu. Sekarang, sekali lagi orang Bugis berdiri dan orang UMNO terketar-ketar ketakutan.

Darah Bugis bangsawan jangan direndahkan. Tetapi Bugis Sabah yang dikenal sebagai Bugistan sangat menghilangkan MOOD. Jual Ikang, Gudang Garang, dan macam2 lagi benda haram. Mana ngang...!!
written by Sagaladoola, June 24, 2008 08:42:19
He dismissed speculation that PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was in any way involved in getting Raja Petra to make the allegations.“Why must you link everything to him?

It does not matter whether Raja Petra's allegations and actions are linked with Anwar or otherwise. The most important thing is .... there must be "Justice for Altantuya".

It is absurd for anyone to do all this kind of linking. I mean, it does not contribute to discovering the truth .....

Who are those stupid fellas doing all that linking? It is not hard to guess, perhaps.

written by Joe112u, June 24, 2008 08:51:26
The Star again is doing its usual spin. Glad I've stopped buying or advertising in the Star paper. After the 8 March election, there was a glimmer of hope that Star would give an unbiased report, but alas it's back to it's usual spinning ways and twisting of facts and statement.
written by TWOG, June 24, 2008 09:42:09
PKR has distanced itself from RPK...
Pathetic...
Kesian...
Ridiculous...
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Counterpointer, June 24, 2008 09:46:25
Good! Don't let me here a darn word anymore from any MSM or BN rep about PR politicising the issue.

Let's get on with the job and send the Altantuya murderers to Hell!
written by Fairminded, June 24, 2008 09:59:53
Dont politicize the issue. We have to give it to RPK to have the guts to stick his neck out for justice and to fight against all this cover ups. It is time to show the world that the Malaysian judiciary is independent and all Malaysians are equal in the eyes of the law. UMNOPUTERAS are not above the law of the land. Dont hide again under the "special rights" sarong because special rights is not for the right to murder. All real muslims will agree to this.
Unless he had really hard evidence, this will be his last stand. However, being an intelligent person, RPK probably has the hard evidence. As the going says, there is no smoke without a fire. Let the drama unfolds. I am really looking forward to the outcome. Life is stranger than fiction.
written by K W Waran, June 24, 2008 10:03:38

Where PKR is today, is due to sheer sincere hard work. The President and her members never need to play dirty despite Politics in Malaysia being peculiarly
downright dirty. They need not even step on anyone's head nor indulge in nefarious acts in order to achieve their overwheming success recently.

YM RPK aka Raja Komando is a one-man army. He is never a yes-man to anyone but God Almighty. His interests is solely to safeguard Malaysia and its resources for the current and future generations.

It is all the more pertinent, now, because these Burglars after digging their own political graves are feverishly working overtime to siphon/embezzle as much as they could before D-day comes.

Hence, to even remotely suggest that DSAI has something to do with YM RPK's SD is again, puerile nonsense of the purest kind. Period

written by Milo, June 24, 2008 10:13:20
Link or no link between the report and the opposition is irrelevant. The star is just diverting attention. We just want to know what RPK declared is true. If it is the truth, then justice must prevail!
written by megatron, June 24, 2008 10:30:41
Dear Azmin Ali,

Dulu Masa Anwar dituduh dan dibuang oleh Mahathir, KeAdilan Bangkit melawan dan menegakan keadailan,
Sekarang, perkara yang sama, DPM dituduh tapi tak dibuang, MANA KEADILAN!!!
Bodoh Punya Adil, Tak Adil Lansung!!
Lebih banyak menunggu what gonna happen rather than doing something!!
dah 4 Hari still issue RPK tidak dibawa ketengah
sedangkan issue ini adalah something yang serius!!!

KECEWA AKU DENGAN ADIL!! SYABAS LIM KIT SIANG!!
ADIL is JUst the same with UNMO... Bila dah naik nanti
PIIIRRAAAAAAA!!!
written by Sagaladoola, June 24, 2008 10:43:22
megatron,

I do not agree with what you said. For political reasons (image and such absurd linking as mentioned above), it is inconvenient for PKR to bring this into the Parliament. PKR and DAP is in the same group (Pakatan Rakyat). Therefore, it is better for YB Lim of DAP to table the emergency motion on RPK's allegations.

Teamwork is very important and we should view everything from all angles before jumping into conclusions.

written by Bloodhound, June 24, 2008 10:51:47
What sort of mentality is this???

Why should anyone with knowledge which could assist in resolving any crime not come forward or be encouraged to report such matters to the police. We all have a duty to make sure that all such relevant information are reported! Why should the focus be on who encourage who to report the matter. The issue should only be whether the matter raised is true or otherwise. The truth of the matter can be only be determined if the matters raised were professionally and thoroughly investigated - without fear or favour!!!.

Too many issues (corruptions, illegal immigrants, racism, etc) had been swept under the carpet for too long because parties were afraid to raise relevant matters. Those who focused on gaining political mileage out of important issues (without contributing positively) should be condemned. Those in-the-know or who have knowledge/information on such corrupt practices (which had drained the health and wealth of our nation) and can contribute towards successful prosecution of those involved should forward their information to PKR as they are the only ones that seems to be interested and have the ability to clean-up the corrupt practices that had greatly haemorraged the Malaysian economy.
written by magickriver, June 24, 2008 11:13:32
Goddamn The Star! RPK tosses a grenade into the BN bunker - and they're trying to say it's that ambitious political chameleon Anwar Ibrahim behind everything. Azmin only said RPK was acting on his own and not according to some PKR plot. And adds that PKR is happy that RPK is continuing his one-man fight to see "Justice for All-tantuya." So how come the headline is so misleading? Whoever wrote it has the mind of a poisoner and deserves to live with an uneasy conscience the rest of his or her life.
written by KevinWu, June 24, 2008 11:18:36
"Party distances itself from Raja Petra’s accusations"

Don't believe the title. It is misleading and biased.

Where in the entire story did PKR ever deny or reject RPK?
How in the hell did the Star come up with the conclusion that PKR distanced itself from RPK???

Spin. Because the Star knows ppl only read the title.
written by megatron, June 24, 2008 11:55:06
Dear Sagaladoola

RPK is not say that Najib KiLL Altantuya
RPK is not making up stories that Najib KiLL Altantuya
RPK is not tell to gain power or money or c4

DIA ANGKAT SUMPAH!!!!
That is serious!!
and I Belived HIM, and I know SHE WAS THERE!!!
and to ignore him is just plain .... oh what the word... hhmmm .... XXX&X*W^R^#(*$^@$^##&$(*#&$*(*#(%()#W)#&$!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If PKR is keeping it distance from RPK, then fxxk you!
PRK is just like Langau... waiting for the last minute, then eat what ever left and make a fuzz about it
written by madtrix, June 24, 2008 18:42:15
You guys are so quick to jump ... to this and that conclusion. Please go and read DSAI's statement released on the day RPK's SD was made public and then come back and post your comments, OK? Here >>> http://anwaribrahimblog.com/20...aja-petra/
written by rainmanpj, June 24, 2008 18:51:48
Everyone , please note that this report came out in The Star.

Do all of you still read Star which is full of rubbish ?.
written by amjoem, June 24, 2008 20:44:35
Bapa Bangsa Malaysia,
Parti Keadilan Rakyat has no courage to stand up to rightiousness. PAS too is quiet! DAP is there right behind you. LKS though failed in its efforts yet took the right stand in Parliament. Anwar is not the right man to lead PR. We know him from his ABIM days. We will see his true colours on 16th September 2008.

YM RPK, you are our "Bapa Bangsa Malaysia", take the lead in PR. We are all looking forward to a Parliamentry Election in January/February 2009. We want you as our Prime Minister. Perhaps Wan Azizah can be a DPM. Join the DAP now to be nominated as a Candidate in the forthcoming Parliamentry Elections in January/February 2009. We know that Anwar will not back you up but Nik Aziz and Hadi Awang will back you up. PKR thinks that they are popular. In actual fact they are not. They are enjoying the previlege because of you and DAP. Even PAS knows that they too are not really appreciated by the majority of the Rakyat. The Rakyat voted for PAS because of Bapa Bangsa Malaysia (BBM). Bapa Bangsa Malaysia, your "60 seats only" formula worked very well among the Chinese, Indians, Catholics/Christians and the Buddhists during the 8 March GE hence we voted for PAS. Hope Anwar will stop telling too many lies. He is now being seen by the Pakatan Rakyat supporters like a slippery fish, dodging away from all fundamental issues. We are almost losing our confidence in him.
written by Bloodhound, June 24, 2008 22:10:26
Anyone care to figure out who this amjoem is and which party he is from or supports? No prize for guessing it right. Definitely not from or with the DAP, very unlikely from PAS and certainly not from PKR nor any of Sabah or Sarawak's parties.

Another seasoned trouble maker from you-know-where trying to disguise as a friendly member....but...we all know!
written by jeya, June 25, 2008 08:13:28
smilies/cool.gif!
Reporters of The Main Stream Media who have been used to "bodeking" have been threatened by the Fourth Estate {The Net}.If one peruses the Dailies, it is always critisims & sarcastic headlines & comments & slanted news, whenever its to do with "The Opposition".
There was no need for the question to be posed to YB Azmin, was there?
It was done deliberately to put PKR & DSAI in a bad light, obviously.
There was no need to state that RPK had a "fallout" with DSAI, was there?
It was done deliberately to place RPK & DSAI in a bad light,obviously.
There is was no direct connection/involvement in the Stat Decl with PKR, so why the "showdowy question"?
RPK has sworn out a Stat Decl. He knows the implication.So its for the reporters who are worth their salt to check out the sources not to bother whether PKR/DAP/PAS is or is not behind/infront/aside/inside!
jeyapalantsmahesan.********.com