Both SAPP MPs not in Dewan Rakyat today PDF Print
Monday, 23 June 2008 13:31

The members of Parliament from the Sabah Progressive Party members of Parliament are not in the Dewan Rakyat today.

The party's Sepanggar member Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun, when contacted at 11.35am today, said he would not going to the Dewan Rakyat.

"I have a meeting with Datuk Yong and after that I have to attend a relative's funeral. I will not be coming today," he said when contacted by phone.

Eric said he did not know if Datuk Chua Soon Bui (Tawau) would attend the meeting later in the afternoon. Chua could not be reached by phone.

Both MPs’ presence in the House was highly anticipated as they were expected to vote against the government today.

SAPP leader Datuk Yong Teck Lee had vowed to move a motion of no confidence against the government last Wednesday and the party's supreme Council had endorsed it.

However, talk in parliament this morning centred around both when Chua and Eric were not spotted in the Dewan Rakyat.

During the 90-minute question time, their absence was felt as their seats remained vacant.

Though both could not table any motions today, they could have registered their party's displeasure by voting against the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister, Datuk Shahrir Samad's motion on inflation.

Shahrir is currently tabling the motion.

The debate will start shortly.

By : NST NEWS DESK (Updated 12:08pm)

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by unomalaysia, June 23, 2008 13:37:43
could this be:
1) A stategic move since not much chance of motion being tabled? and making AAB shit bricks just for fun?
2) cluck, cluck, cluck, cluck...... Chicken Little?
3) betrayal of ytl?
4) usual sandiwara?
Sabah politics just got interesting.
written by Iliyas, June 23, 2008 13:43:17
For the sake of SAPP and the hopes he had portrayed to the people of Sabah,it is hope that this shocking news is not authentic.The frustration,anxiety and hopes of the people will only become cheap talk and just a publicity stunt.What a let down SAPP.
written by Suleiman, June 23, 2008 13:53:24
Latest Updates
Seorang Ahli Parlimen SAPP tidak hadir di Dewan Rakyat (Berita harian)

KUALA LUMPUR: Seorang daripada dua Ahli Parlimen daripada Parti Maju Sabah (SAPP) tidak hadir pada sidang Dewan Rakyat, pagi ini.

Ahli Parlimen Sepanggar, Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun, ketika dihubungi mengesahkan beliau tidak menghadiri sidang Parlimen kerana menghadiri satu upacara pengebumian.

Bagaimanapun, rakannya Datuk Chua Soon Bui (Tawau) dilihat menghadiri sidang sejak pagi ini.

written by Ngui, June 23, 2008 13:57:59
Must be wayang kulit.
written by Rundukon, June 23, 2008 13:58:15
With the Colonel on the loose, Eric and Chua might be hiding somewhere.
written by ahmadneil, June 23, 2008 13:59:15
Both MPs are with Anwar.Thank you for waiting.
written by ctchoolaw, June 23, 2008 14:04:06
Even if Monday fizzles out (a strong possiblity - imagine the amount of money being offered or amount of threats to life being given) the agenda for change of federal govt must continue. If SAPP fizzles out, its their loss. But thers will pick up the torch & keep running. Remember, its Anwar & PR's torch & they hold the matches! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by frazkok, June 23, 2008 14:05:30
Unbelieveable... the build up were done, the adrenaline running, endorphin happy hormone is filled to thr brim. Hope, lights illuminated my days since last week, over the weekend, this morning. I woke early, anticipating the biggest motion to be tabled, and anticipating the change, the tsunami. Only to hear this? He didn't come to parliament? What happened?

Our hopes were reduced to fine particles. Was that a big coincidence, if yes, then i do extend my sympathy to eric majimbun for the loss.
written by slash n burn, June 23, 2008 14:08:11
Majimbun attending relative funeral? Even your dead relative disown you for your cowardice.
This is the reality of Sabah MP.
written by Lostsoul12, June 23, 2008 14:11:28
Are they being kidnap or C4??? Hope that they don't betray the rakyat!
written by frazkok, June 23, 2008 14:18:45
you cannot rule out kidnap, intimidation, or threats. you know how the c4 team work. our country is rule by dictators, this could well be another ops lalang.
written by Braino, June 23, 2008 14:28:37
Be patience...this is politic! When you least expect it...it comes. Like the tsunami...and the damage will be unthinkable!
written by MalaysianUnited, June 23, 2008 14:39:31
Penakut!!

SAPP kata kesemua menyokong cadangan mengemukakan usul tidak percaya pada Pak Lah. So?..pergilah sebagai seorang yang mewakili parti di peringkat Parlimen!!..dah la. Tak payah nak retorik, strategi politik etc..pergi ke Parlimen dengan perasaan bangga sebagai seorang yang mahu menegakkan kebenaran!!

Buat malu orang2 Sabah sahaja.

YTL dah buat serangan melalui media. Now, come to the realiti..YTL dan SAPP tak tahu nak buat apa.

Kita mahukan seorang pemimpin yang bukan sahaja bersih daripada rasuah, tapi berkarisma, ada pendirian dan tahu apa kesan atau impak kepada keputusan yang akan dibuatnya. Ini macam budak2 la..menangis dan meraung sekuat hatinya..kemudian bagi gula2 senyap.

Like TDM, berbeza pendapat dengan Pak Lah..terus keluar. Pemimpin MIC, tak setuju dengan Samy, keluar..Reformasi, tak setuju dengan TDM, keluar walaupun hanya seorang ahli biasa yang tiada jawatan dalam parti!!!

Its all about what we believe.. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, June 23, 2008 14:41:09
Congrat SAPP and Datuk Yong Teck Lee, you has made a very good move. Real olitical move. All RAKYAT, be patience, Anwar know how to handle it.
written by Naha, June 23, 2008 14:41:32
Either they're with Anwar, or they're threatened by asassination. Jusr two guesses.
written by temenggong, June 23, 2008 14:42:45
Cowards. You blew your chance to embellish your name, Majimbun!
written by apa jadi, June 23, 2008 14:49:58
Keep the audiance in suspense! Alfred Hitchcock at work! smilies/grin.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 23, 2008 14:52:54
There are only 2 possibilities!One they changed their minds when money is involved(corruption)or two;they are being kidnapped or intimidated!Either way heaven is watching!*Saudara mati* is a Sabahan way of decenly excusing oneself from duty;nanti betul mati susah lah! smilies/grin.gif
written by Foong, June 23, 2008 14:57:53
Yong keep up the suspense. Don,t let BN sit so peacefully.
written by aryn, June 23, 2008 15:14:30
Eric Majimbun is playing safe. That or there's the carrot being dangle by Umno.

Yong and Sapp, we Sabahans know you and your politics very well. This time, you better fight for Sabah's rights and not yours and your party like you did in 1994.

Betray us again and it'll be the end of you and Sapp in the next election!.
written by BORN FREE, June 23, 2008 15:20:49
Bribery is the word !
Most probably their mouths was clogged with $$$ by BN
cronies for them to shut up !
written by malaysianohope, June 23, 2008 15:23:37
You guys just chill out if thats all you can say! The No Confidence motion can only be called by giving at least 14 days notice. It does not matter if the 2 MPs are there or not at this juncture!
written by panca, June 23, 2008 15:32:17
There is a catch!

Idiot...."When sorrow comes, they come not single spies but battalions"

Prepare for the eviction!
written by Kopi37, June 23, 2008 16:02:26
Is this another Puch and Judy Show?! Shit!! We are getting boring!!
written by Al Ambia, June 23, 2008 16:22:33
Kow Tim oredi.This two tortoise shrink their head inside their shell whole day,dont dare to come out
written by Yew Loke, June 23, 2008 17:19:09
I guess the BN jerk must be threatening them..and they scare for their life now.
So they dont dare to come out. Even the DPM dare to kill people..what else they dont dare to do. YOU GUYS TELL ME
written by redzuank, June 23, 2008 17:41:47
ritten by Naha, June 23, 2008 | 14:41:32
Either they're with Anwar, or they're threatened by asassination. Jusr two guesses.

..or threatened by BPR. Who knows even the case do not existed. BN can create it for 'em.

http://redssays.********.com/
written by bitterzone, June 23, 2008 18:33:02
Wait for it....
written by bitterzone, June 23, 2008 18:43:33
Sapp leaders 'threatened', says party boss
Tony Thien | Jun 23, 08 5:50pm
Sapp leaders have been “threatened” since the party announced its decision to back a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, decried party chief Yong Teck Lee today...
written by archie, June 23, 2008 19:18:03
Being raped by BN for so many years and now the only thing they have to show Sabahans is an anti-climax!
written by angkasawan bocor, June 23, 2008 21:24:16
SAPP, I am now totally disappointed with you.

All the drama last week was just to cheat the rakyat. A BN component party will always be a BN component party. They will never sacrifice their self interests to defend the rakyat. They are just dogs of UMMO.
written by shissun, June 23, 2008 21:30:06
Apalah SAPP MPs. Why so chicken? You really make 2 million Sabahans disappointed and 20 million Malaysia feel anti-climax. YBs, remember if you are chicken out today, there are 2 millions heroic and brave Sabahans can replace you anytime and continue this fight for the future generation well-being. YBs, again remember, berani kerana BENAR! If you cannot stand the heat, quit and let other brave Sabahans do it!
written by ganbing, June 23, 2008 21:40:44
Despite the threats, SAPP MPs should have been in parliament to vote against Shahrir's motion or give notice for a motion of no-confidence.

The whole country was looking at SAPP this morning and their MPs went missing in action!

Is SAPP going to become the laughing stock of BN? All talk but too cowardly to take action? What a letdown!
written by Sabahfan, June 23, 2008 21:56:39
A Red alert to YONG TO Li....

last time someone threw a can of paint at your house,

Now there might be plenty of C4s thrown in, led by that Lt. Kol BUYUK... ha ha ha ha
written by PAKRAK, June 23, 2008 21:57:23
Two ways of looking at it:
1. Remember Kolonel was sent to Sabah on a mission. Both Eric and Chua are wrapped with C4 if they attempt to make another move.
2. YTL, Eric and Chua have been paid off.
So lets not hope anymore.
written by beyonce, June 23, 2008 22:34:42
hello those Sabah MPS,come on this is not how to handle issue which your leader vowed where widely publicized...Walk the talk..that's the way...Malaysian still waiting for your decision...don't be coward..Prove to us that you have brain...all PR are behind you...
written by Commonsenses, June 23, 2008 23:19:23
katak from SAPP jumped to kalimantan. Oopps its Indonesian territory!
written by axeltung, June 23, 2008 23:41:31
this 2 MPs ain't pengecut...they really have something went wrong behind!! This 2 SAPP MPs just an apetizer, BN sudah kelam-kabut!!