Yong: Regard Sabah, S’wak as ‘partners’ and not ‘sons’ PDF Print
Monday, 23 June 2008 13:06

(Borneo Post) - The federal government should regard Sabah and Sarawak as their ‘partners’ rather than ‘sons’, said Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president Datuk Yong Teck Lee.

Yong stressed that the federal government should do away with the ‘father and son’ superiority, where the Barisan Nasional government tended to bow to the mentality of a father disciplining their children.

“That seems to be the way they treat us in Sabah. When we are naughty or making too much noise, they give us some sweets.

“This is not a healthy relationship. It makes us unwilling to listen, and not open up and express our feelings,” he said, referring to statements made by BN secretary-general Tengku Adnan Mansor about SAPP’s move to support the vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in the Parliament sitting.

The former Chief Minister said history showed that both Sabah and Sarawak along with West Malaysia were joined together to form Malaysia, and therefore the two states deserved to be viewed as equals.

“It would be much healthier if the federal government could adjust their mentality, attitude and mindset that we are actually partners, rather than sons.

“We hope that what we see now will bring about change in how the central leadership looks at the two states,” he told reporters at the SAPP’s mobile service booth at the Sunday Gaya Street market, where the party leaders would spend time to listen to public grouses.

Yong, who was also at the booth yesterday which attracted a big crowd and many stopped by to chat or shake his hands.

Touching on Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s comment that BN would remain strong despite SAPP’s no confidence vote against the Prime Minister, Yong said that it was the expected response from the party leadership.

“They must say their part in order to consolidate the BN in view of what has been happening. I will just take what he said at face value,” said Yong.

On support from other BN component parties, he said that at least two component parties would be happy to go along with whatever the party leadership decided, but he hoped that the other component parties would lend their support.

“I think that a lot of people will support us. I know certain leaders at the federal level and from other states have basically lost confidence in the Prime Minister and some have indicated it within their own parties,” he said, hoping the vote for no confidence would be tabled during the Parliament session which begins today.
written by Tompios, June 23, 2008 13:21:57
Good! Beri pelajaran sejarah pada orang Malaya. I am happy to tell all people in the world that Malaysia is a United country of three provinces. Malaya's states, Sarawak and Sabah.

This is the basic idea of Malaysia's formation. Yong is right! Federal government should govern this country through Malaya, Sarawak and Sabah lawmakers not one man show from Malaya.

Orang Malaya betul bikin bengang!! Majority tidak tahu sejarah Malaysia secara detail. Hanya belajar sejarah melalui buku Teks yang disediakan oleh Jabatan Pendidikan/Pelajaran Malaysia--favouritism of Malaya's Interest!
written by Engineer, June 23, 2008 13:23:31
You know what they treat MCA, MIC and Gerakan goons as; slaves.

Yes, Link Long Sick, Semi Value and Limp Can Aid are all slaves quickly and willingly saying yes to old Mama Dude.

written by Rajen Bumiputra, June 23, 2008 13:40:29
If you believe in UMNO then you are stupid. Then are busy confiscating books with ALLAH word, desrtoying Orang Asli Church in GUA MUSANG and JOHOR.
Sabahans should be happy, because Semenanjung Malay not treating you like orang asli. PITTY Orang Asli.
They can build house, kandang kambing, kandang babi, reban ayam in Jungle. But they cannot build Church in Jungle for them to pray. UMNO willcame & destroy. Kandang babi & reban ayam OK.
written by InEffective, June 23, 2008 13:46:55

Your ruling partners views you as their accessory to exploit your lands, assets, and resources. And you are currently a partner in their crimes.

Your peoples unfortunately are the ones paying the price.
written by slash n burn, June 23, 2008 13:49:36
Too bad Sabahan. As long as UMNO crooks colonize Sabah the relationship would always be Tuan Melayu vs slave Kadazandusun, slave Bajau, clave Murut, slave Cina, slave suluk...puke!
written by ctchoolaw, June 23, 2008 14:07:25
They used to call KL's treatment of Sabah & Sarawak "FEDERAL TUTELAGE". With the oil royalties that Sabah & Sarawak has been paying over the years that's a hell of a lot of TUITION FEES! Yong is right in saying treat Sabah as partners. But Yong is not going far enough. Yong should say treat Sabah (& Sarawak) as EQUAL PARTNERS! http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Bigjoe99, June 23, 2008 14:10:02
At this stage its probabbly too late for Sabah to go back being a partner of Federal govt. In the end what Sabah must fight for is more resources and authority to govern itself in view of the failures in immigration and other issues. But it need the check from Federal authorities on corruption and inter-states matters that are out of its hands.

So in the end, Sabah's problem is because the Federal govt does not play the role its suppose to play as a govt - clean, transparency etc. Its not so simple as just more resources and authorities..
written by MsLim, June 23, 2008 14:17:13
Singapore pulled out of the partnership. Look at Singapore now. If I'm not mistaken, Brunei was called to join Malaysia but did not. You can see both Brunei and Singapore are doing much better than us. I'm sorry for Sabah and Sarawak.
written by ahmadneil, June 23, 2008 14:18:39
We are being gang raped,strip and left to rot.That is the result of our leaders being DUMB,BLIND and DEAF.We have been bullied and and all our resources are being plundered.The next one they are after is Mount Kinabalu.They want to blast the mountain and sell the rocks to Singapore for Pulau Batu Puteh land reclaimation.
written by arazak, June 23, 2008 15:02:57
Dear Mr Yong,

Sorry to say that Tengku Adnan was very sicere when he says Sabah is like a "son". There is one thing however he did not fully informed you. And that is Sabah is actually a "Step Son". In Bahasa Melayu what this UMNO and BN Secretary General is saying is that Sabah is an "Anak Tiri". And, therefore an "anaktiri should not get equal treatment as the other states. Do you understand the logic of these UMNO goons now?

Mr Yong,
If you see old Malay movies (which I suggest you do), the "anak tiri" had always been mistreated either by his mother or his father (it depends on who have custody of the child after either one of the parents remarried). The mistreatment would range from not giving proper meals to severe beatings even for the slightest mistake done or perceived to be done by the child. Of course, there is no love between a "bapak tiri" and the "anak tiri".

Therfore Mr.Yong,
The only possible solution to this problem with your "bapak tiri" is to leave the UMNO/BN house you are living in now and find some other place where the people are more compassionate.... perhaps PR?

written by SeriousLy, June 23, 2008 15:38:00
ONCE upon of time all our East Malaysian Politicians are pure & have a heart to help their state grow! But ONCE they get dangled with UMNO, they get hypnotized by UMNO to dig money instead of being pure and lost their virginity to UMNO! While being raped; it's recorded on video by UMNO! If today you don't see, they did not jump ship then you know why! smilies/grin.gif
written by SeriousLy, June 23, 2008 15:40:16
All Politicians started out a virgin will loose their virginity once they get entangled with UMNO!
written by rocky, June 23, 2008 15:49:21
UMNO is always the King. you are slaves.Just look at MIC and MCA and the wonderful Gerakan. They are nothing but there to make up numbers and make it like a multiracial coalition. The truth is you have to kowtow to UMNO. Sabahans, not only SAPP should use this opportunity to say friends, we are partners, not another state. Demand your rights and send the peninsula racist parties back to where they came from. But then even the peninsula people are rejecting them.so why Sabahans want to support them?

Sabah go for it. Make a difference or you shall forever remain under the thumbs of UMNO and be 2nd class citizen even if you are bumis...actually sabahans more bumi than UMNO.
written by semajbrooke, June 23, 2008 16:09:29
It is about time Sabahans and Sarawakians ask themselves if the lop-sided alliance with an inept Federal Administration has outlived its use.

Sabahans find their homeland constantly invaded by foreigners who enjoy similar rights - if not more. How can they just stand by and watch their homeland being taken over?

Sarawakians have seen their resources plunder and enjoyed by the very few. The political partnership between the State and Federal Administration is doing a "great" job in keeping each other in power. The Sarawakians can only suffer from all the pilferage.

As dramatic as it may sound, breaking away from the Federation of Malaysia may not actually be an impossiblity. Even the mighty Soviet Union is no more.

Are Sabahans and Sarawakians ready to rule themselves? Are they ready to get rid of the last remnants of an oppresive administration?

Seize the day. Your destiny lay in your hands.

written by Jomo, June 23, 2008 18:14:05
Don’t jump into conclusion just yet the reason why the 2 SAPP MP’s were unable to the attend parliamentary session today. Maybe YTL and his 2 MP have something on their mind too.. that we don’t know.

Mind you these UMNO morons are all very smart fellows and very dangerous they can do all sorts of nasty things to you. You have to outsmart them and use your head to know their movement and tactis so that we can be prepared for any eventuality They think that the people of Sabah have no brain are inferior and they are the master.

How dare they compare Sabah and Sarawak as their sons . We are partners … Sabah and Sarawak are not their colonies and don’t treat them as such. Well Sabahans and Sarawakians must know where they stand and keep that in their mind unless they want to be call stupid donkeys and good for nothing.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 23, 2008 18:20:32
Sabah and Sarawak should keep 95% of the oil revenue, and contribute 5% goodwill to the federal government. TDM must pay back what he had robbed from Sabah and Sarawak during the 22 years.
written by onnetline, June 23, 2008 18:41:18
Mr Yong,

If your stand of no confidence motion against the coalition zzzHEAD have been consistent to your principles and beliefs to genuinely help East Malaysians, SYABAS to you!

Quite simply, I believe you know that our country already has it's share of 'shameless and greedy' politicians....... like that disgraceful royalty fella' from that Linggam tape case, remember ?

Fellow Malaysian.
written by gorshan, June 23, 2008 18:55:51
no no no, not partners,not sons.
stepsons more like it.

dreams on Sabah and Sarawak,you have been waiting 50 years to be acknowledged as equals.

wait another 50 more years and soon the cry 'tanah melayu' will encompass Sabah and Sarawak too.
written by padhma, June 23, 2008 20:26:30
Looks like Young has looked through the history books on Sabah's status and Malaysia. What are the rest of the Sabahans doing? Still sleeping?
Well, if Sabahans are not going to speak up now, then they will lose everything. What has Sabahans achieved all these years? Nothing. Oh yea, party hopping and selling Sabah and Sabahans.
Don't you Sabahans have any pride. No one is going to respect you unless you earn it. If you behave like slaves then you will be treated like one.
Well, all Sabahans should remember those Sabaha politicians who are not standing up for the Sabahans. If they don't succeed in voicing out for Sabah and if they do not reinstate the satatus of Sabah as a partner, then vote them out. Never again support those cheap sellouts.
Its now or never.
You are blessed with a rich land and yet you people have nothing.
Stop being beggers in your own place.
written by ganbing, June 23, 2008 21:48:23
Yong, please wake up and smell the coffee. BN has never been a party of equals and never will be.

If you want to be equal partners, join Pakatan Rakyat. Yes, you may see PAS and DAP bickering at times but at least they can bicker. They are equal partners what, not master-servant relationship. Do you find MCA, MIC or Gerakan bickering with Umno?

Equal partners indeed! Not in another 50 years and beyond!
written by PAKRAK, June 23, 2008 22:05:52
YTL stop talking too much. We want to see your party move away from BN. I am absolutely cheesed off your two MPs were not in Dewan Rakyat today.
written by axeltung, June 23, 2008 22:12:01
sorry mr yong, you were neither a partner nor son to BN. You are servant, dog, slave to them...they ask you move then you must move, sit then must sit, shark hand then must shark hand...previously!!! But today, mr yong you are boss, bossini, hero, taico, they dare not touch your hair at this moment! You understand the game seems you are being marginalized for long time. good luck..rakyat support you!!!
written by gundam, June 23, 2008 23:13:12
most west malaysian cannot differentiate between sarawak and sabah and they dun care either, jst like most european think tat all asians look the same and they dun bother.

to them, sarawak and sabah are nothing more than headhunters, hornbills, long houses and orang utans.
written by schizonoid, June 24, 2008 02:12:07
U aint nothin' but a houndog