Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Parliament showdown eagerly awaited

Parliament showdown eagerly awaited PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 22 June 2008 18:09

KUALA LUMPUR: The first-day sitting of the Dewan Rakyat tomorrow will probably set new television rating records in Malaysia.

The Sabah Progressive Party attempt to table a motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is going to have Malaysians from all walks of life tuning in.

The highly anticipated event, which the Barisan Nasional has vowed will not take place, has fired the imagination of Malaysians and the 222 members of the House.

Abdullah's aides say the prime minister and his cabinet ministers will be in the House.

The motion of confidence at this point appears to have stolen some of the thunder from the mid-term review of the 9th Malaysia plan.

Abdullah will outline the review to the House on Thursday after question time at 11.30am. The event will be carried live by RTM.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz said the plan will be the main business of the House from Thursday. He said the members will debate the plan review from June 26 to July 10.

"The ministries will reply until July 10 and the House will continue debating bills after that," he said.

Nazri said among the bills to be tabled or debated at this meeting included those which were brought forward from the first session in March.

The bills are: National Service Training (Amendment) Bill 2008, Geologist Bill 2008, Malaysian Tourism Promotion Board (Amendment) Bill 2008, Judges Remuneration (Amendment) Bill 2008, Labuan Offshore Financial Services Authority (Amendment) Bill 2008.

In between the debating and passing these bills, the House will probably allow motions from members to discuss hot topics under standing order 18(1) -- it allows for house proceedings to be stopped for an hour so that members can debate a matter deemed specific, urgent and of public interest.

Salahuddin Ayub (PAS-Kubang Kerian) is one member who hopes to take up floor under 18 (1) to debate the spike in fuel prices.

"I submitted the motion on Wednesday. I hope to know on Monday morning if the speaker will allow it. I am optimistic he will allow it," he said.

However, the legal fraternity's hope of a constitutional amendment to facilitate the creation of a Judicial Appointments Commission and another amendment, to re-insert Article 121 will not be done at this meeting.

The much touted constitutional amendment is now slated for the Budget session. -- By V. Vasudevan

- nst 

written by samsengsil, June 22, 2008 18:13:02
Malaysians from all walks of life, from all races, eagerly waiting for Anwar Ibrahim's "Assault on Precint 1, Putrajaya" !
See new block buster movie poster: www.bodohland.wordpress.com
written by cwy, June 22, 2008 18:20:07
I was just informed to fill up my car with petrol!
Many petrol stations are running out of petrol!
A boycott?
Let's see what'll happen in Parliament tomorrow!
written by Iliyas, June 22, 2008 18:30:36
An assured showdown,clash of the titans in the making.Parliament will be the focus of attention nationally and globally,and the much awaited interest will be either,a speaker who would not dare allow the motion or 140 MP's who will have their tail between their legs.Come what may,Malaysians in Sabah have voiced.
written by Lim Lim, June 22, 2008 19:01:11
democracy in umno/BN context,would there be one??
written by rocky, June 22, 2008 19:17:05
anywhere we ca watch this online?
written by tokioRain, June 22, 2008 19:25:39
sorry ya, what time is the rtm live telecast again?
written by raven1958, June 22, 2008 19:25:53
The basic question tomorrow will be...WHO SOLD SABAH TO THE INDONS AND FILIPINOS???....and the answer will be UMNO!. GUILTY AS CHARGED. So Badawi leave queitly or get sacked.....your choice.....these people from Sabah and probably Sarawak are not in a forgiving mood....you and that Mahathir just stole too much.....before you rot in hell....these guys will make certain you rot here on earth first.....
written by mmrokay, June 22, 2008 19:54:10
I disagree with such motion. DSAI unless you have absolute 'comfortable majority', a defeat on ABB still won't able save Malaysia but for sure will create 'kucar kacir' think who will suffer more then ?
written by semut, June 22, 2008 19:58:32
worst PM in malaysian history.. please update 'Buku Teks Sejarah'

http://semutmalaysia.blogspot.com
written by Tom n Jerry, June 22, 2008 21:06:16
If I were to think of a certain suitable word to describe our malaysian politicians,they are certainly quite*thawfung* or *gila babi*Really need some brainstorming to bring out their full potential!Perhaps they can be trained by the*Institute of Hard Knocks*supposed to train all hopless people to become useful adults!Food for thought! smilies/smiley.gif
written by power2u, June 22, 2008 22:41:19
Is it wise to hav no confidence motion as yet???Even though I for one would like Bodowi to step down,I don't like the disturbing tought that Agung will hav no choice but choose Najis.
Maybe we can postpone this non confidence motion until Altantuyah murder case is over...where RPK can be called to testify possesion of useful info .Let.s not make any move that will accidently put Najis n Rosmati up as PM n First Lady.
written by ahmadneil, June 22, 2008 22:57:04
Yeah! I gonna get up early and go to church to pray for our Mr Yong.God always answer my prayers and this time he will do the same for sure.
written by PAKRAK, June 22, 2008 23:36:50
AAB is unforgiving. If he is thrown out tomorrow he might spill the beans on C4 to make sure C4 will not step in his shoes and that's the end of the two goons!
Happy days are here again.
written by Sabahfan, June 22, 2008 23:41:40
Ah ah, and that lt Kol in sabah to install more C4 s???
written by KIAT BLUES, June 23, 2008 02:36:23
THIS WILL BE VERY GOOD TO WATCH
written by stchin, June 23, 2008 02:54:59
" ...it's already 2.53 am, cant sleep lah.... aiyah... tomorrow...pls dun come..
..jean..jean..wake up.. i cant sleep lah ... help..!!"
written by Tom n Jerry, June 23, 2008 08:23:17
Lets watch how the *monkeys* perform their tricks live on TV1 today!Happy watching! smilies/grin.gif