Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Sleepy Malaysian state takes starring role in political crisis

Sleepy Malaysian state takes starring role in political crisis PDF Print
Sunday, 22 June 2008 13:00

(AFP) - The sleepy state of Sabah on Borneo island, better known for its rainforests and orangutans, has taken centre stage in a battle to determine who rules Malaysia.

Far from the nation's capital and political centre, a tiny Sabah component party in the ruling 14-member coalition last week called for a no-confidence vote against Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Such an act by a party with just two lawmakers would normally be irrelevant, but with the Barisan Nasional coalition weak and facing a possible ouster by a resurgent opposition, it was political dynamite.

"Our window of opportunity is now and we must make a stand if Sabah does not want to be forgotten," said Sabah Progressive Party President Yong Teck Lee who dropped the bombshell which analysts say may ripple through the coalition.

"We have to act now as we will not have this bargaining position for very long," he told AFP on the weekend.

Although the no-confidence motion is unlikely to succeed when parliament resumes Monday, it highlights Abdullah's precarious position as head of the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) which leads the coalition.

UMNO has gone through the grinder after its worst ever election results earlier this year when it lost control of five states and its two-thirds majority in parliament.

Former deputy premier Anwar Ibrahim, who led the opposition to its unprecedented gains, now says he has enough support to form a government with the help of defectors -- he needs just 30 more seats in parliament.

Yong has said his party will consider joining the opposition, and Anwar is also believed to be courting other coalition members, as well as UMNO lawmakers, in Sabah and neighbouring Sarawak state.

Life is slow for most in Kota Kinabalu, where fishing boats with multicoloured pennants pull up to jetties and wet markets line the centre of the state capital.

Maud Bin Timoh, 48, who sells cut fruit from one of the numerous stalls along the waterfront promenade, is one of many who support Yong's move which included demands for a bigger share in Sabah's oil revenues.

"I'm happy that our politicians are creating problems in Kuala Lumpur," he said as he chopped papaya next to a garbage-filled gutter.

"We have been neglected for so long and now that we have a chance, we need to demand what is rightfully ours," he told AFP.

Many Sabahans are seriously unhappy with the way they have been treated since the state, along with Sarawak and Singapore, joined the Malaysian federation in 1963.

Singapore left Malaysia in 1965 but Sabah and Sarawak stayed on, and some now feel that was a bad decision.

"When Sabah and Sarawak joined in 1963, a 20-point clause was inserted into the merger agreement promising political autonomy, major development aid and much more," says James Chin, who has written extensively on the state.

"Unfortunately, over the last 45 years, most Sabahans feel the government has not lived up to their end of the bargain," he told AFP.

"Much of the state's natural oil reserves go to the federal government but less than five percent is returned to the people here," he said.

Many Sabahans are also worried about the large numbers of Muslim Filipinos who have settled here illegally, tipping the ethnic balance against indigenous tribes who were formerly in the majority.

In peninsular Malaysia, Muslim Malays are the dominant population, alongside large ethnic Chinese and Indian minorities.

"The issue of immigration is the mother of all problems in Sabah and we must stop all these Muslim foreigners who are coming in illegally," said Wilfred Tanggau, secretary general of the United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO) which is also part of the ruling coalition.

Development has also been slow in coming for the state which is about half the size of peninsular Malaysia, carved by massive mountain ranges and with many primitive villages and towns that remain almost inaccessible.

"It is important to shatter the government's attitude that they can ignore Sabah and continue to rule this country," state opposition leader Jeffrey Kitigan told AFP.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by Jan, June 22, 2008 13:04:36
Project IC really screwed up this lovely state big time.
written by bobdylan, June 22, 2008 13:04:55
Many Sabahans are also worried about the large numbers of Muslim Filipinos who have settled here illegally, tipping the ethnic balance against indigenous tribes who were formerly in the majority.

sums it all....once they lose their political power....all is gone....
written by Jan, June 22, 2008 13:09:40
Sabah had been screwed by BN and it's hard to believe only now SAPP is coming out to right what's wrong. This opportunity is probably once in a lifetime and may not repeat again. To all Sabah MPs, for once do what's right for the sake of your own state.
written by kennyeu, June 22, 2008 13:27:22
I find all this so frustrating. Time and time again it has been said that Sabah, Sarawak and Terengganu are some of the riches States in Malaysia in terms of their resources and the revenues they bring to the Country. Also repeated was the fact that they are some of the poorest, least developed and most politically marginalised States in Malaysia.

BN treats all of you like whores. They take what they want from you and give you scraps and no respect. On the other hand BN loves us here in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor and Penang. They give us all the development and spends their money here and shows us off to the World. Didn't you pay attention? We threw them out.

We could see all the wrongs they were doing to Malaysia. How arrogant they have become that they alleviate themselves above all the people, believing they could do anything they wanted. What they did and are doing now is wrong and often sickening.

We, their favorite States, said no to them. Why the hell are you still saying yes?
written by Shyetan, June 22, 2008 13:27:57
Sabahans must insist that all those involved in Project IC be charged with treason - nothing less - this projects threatens the very existence of Sabah itself
written by Rohani Hitam, June 22, 2008 13:31:31
Sabah law makers have 2 important issues to resolve as the Sabahans voted them for such reason. The depilated state of Sabah and the I/C issues.

If they are not behind Yong then they are not representing the Sabahans.
written by ez24get, June 22, 2008 13:39:23
It doesn’t take a brain surgeon to figure out that UMNO’s intention to give these illegal muslim immigrants citizenship in Sabah is to spread Islam dominance in the continent and to increase the voting support for UMNO. Muslim and UMNO are always synonymous.

What it is clearly trying to do in to inject the same deadly virus in Peninsula Malaysia found to be working very well into a new host - Sabah and Sarawak. Sarawak under the cunning old goat, Taib Mahmud, has so far successfully set a barrier around it. But Sabah's leaders are more fragmented and busy having a finger in the pie.

At the same time the new virus injected by UMNO seeks to weaken or dilute the powers of non-UMNO parties who are known to be unreliable to UMNO as well as the other religions in the area. Already you have seen the deadly symptoms of the virus which manifest in the 12th GE where you see UMNO making more inroads with voters.

Other than the deadly virus, the wily UMNO has planted trojans in the form of yes-men, obedient chief ministers (like Musa and his kind) and assemblymen who were given much leeway in corruptions and plunder of the rich resources of the state in return for their loyalty to UMNO.

If non-UMNO Sabah political parties do not stem the spread of UMNO virus, later on the original Sabahans and Sarawakians will have no defence immunity system left to ward off this deadly virus!
written by temanmu, June 22, 2008 13:50:51
Project IC is treason.
written by shiokguy, June 22, 2008 13:57:19
Sabah and Sarawak is not sleepy like AAB
Just that we have been milked dried since independent..

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by Bigdawg, June 22, 2008 14:25:57
Ignore Sapp. Ignore UPKO. Ignore Sabahans' concerns.
Goodbye Sabah....Hello MOROSABAH!
written by chanatak, June 22, 2008 14:26:19
I hate myself for saying this "Sabahans deserve their lot".

SAPP knew about the issues long ago. PBS too, and so too every single politician on the surface of Sabah state. Nobody did anything but just went along with the situation as long as BN was putting titbits into their pockets to shut their mouths. Everytime the titbits get low, some politician will make whimpering noises, and BN will feed that hungry mouth again to shut it up.

Yet SAPP found it timely to act now. At least SAPP has acted. But what about people like DOMPOK? What about people like Anifah, Aman Musa? They are still feeding off the hands of BN.

How did these people get into the Parliament and State Assembly? Sabah people voted them in - election after election.

And has the Sabah people come out openly to support SAPP even at this point?
NO! NO! NO! But just a few whimpers here and there. Do not the Sabah people know about project IC all these years? Yes, they do. Every single Sabahan except for the demented, the senile and the babes - and that one or two who live in the utmost interior who don't care nuts about what is happening anyway.

In that light, Sabahans deserve their lot.

Hey Sabahans, are you coming out to stand up for yourselves?
written by Arrow, June 22, 2008 14:27:01
Sabah is also threatened by west malaysian melayus coming over as the head of government departments and side lining the locals. These melayus then try to do everything the melayu way and screw up the system big time.

Time to take a stand;
1. No citizenship to outsiders
2. No west malaysian to head government departments
3. No special status to "converts of islam"

It is all the same cancer - lets cut it out and throw it back to where it came from.
written by miwaki, June 22, 2008 14:40:42
We have rejected the current administration due to its mediocrity and rampant corruption.It is time Sabahan and Sarawakian to wake up and show your stands.Malaysia should be a prosperous nation due to its rich natural resources but unfortunately we are being ruled by a party not only incompetent but corrupted.All development did not benefit the rakyat but only beneficial to a selected group who are close to the people who walk in the corridor of power.

If this country was ruled by competent government with integrity,there is no need to fight for the limited resources generated.Quota,special right and what have you could be thrown away since opportunity is aplenty for everybody regardless of color and creed.

Thus,Sabah,Sarawak and Terengganu should keep 95% of oil royalty and 5% to the federal government.
written by CitizenBodohland, June 22, 2008 15:04:11
Yong sajakah yang bersuara? Mana yang lain?

Ternyata senario ini berjaya membogelkan minda MP Barisan Neraka yang lain di Sabah. Dengan berdiam diri, ia telah membuktikan anda semua tidak memperjuangkan nasib rakyat Sabah tetapi hanya mementingkan poket sendiri. Takut mau bersuara... Cesss... bagus lagi anjing aku.. kalo dicubit.. menyalak juga dia.
written by gundam, June 22, 2008 15:42:35
"Singapore left Malaysia in 1965 but Sabah and Sarawak stayed on, and some now feel that was a bad decision."

how come, how long
it’s not right, it’s so wrong
do we let it just go on
turn our backs and carry on
wake up, for it’s too late
right now, we can’t wait
she wont have a second try,
open up ur hearts as well as ur eyes.
written by Vincent, June 22, 2008 16:08:20
CHANGE NOW OR NEVER.
written by ahmadneil, June 22, 2008 16:10:36
Indeed it's a SAD story that this Paradise once designate to be the world heritage site is now in ruins.SADDER to say that even sabahan team up with the crooks from the west to plunder the land below the wind.SADDEST to say even after being stripped of everything we stupid sabahan still vote for those thieves,crooks,racists,opportunists,extremists etc.Every time my taxi friends debates about this in the coffee shop we end up swearing, banging the tables and cursing ourself for all the mistakes we make, if not all of us wouldn't be so poor.We would be having the west guys as our driver,driving our latest mercedes with us sitting at the back instead of the coffee shop.But we still have one window of opportunity created by Mr Yong with the help of Anwar.This time we WILL,SHALL,MUST never be wrong.I and all our taxi friends,relatives,coffee shop owners and all my sabahan brothers and sisters ,are determine to get it right not only for us but for our children and great grand children.The pain that we all endure must never be pass on to our next generation.Let us all rise up to this occasion and seize this GOLDEN WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY for this day will never come again,not during our time.
written by jokerman, June 22, 2008 16:21:40
Sabah already making noise...where is Sarawak??? Time to unite and kick the Feds in the butt!!!
written by jokerman, June 22, 2008 16:26:01
Feds have taken all the oil royalty from Sabah, Sarawak and Terengganu for so many years. If its for practical development of the Nation, then its money well spent. However, from what we see over the years, the amount of corruption, fund mismanagement, and wastage, its no different from robbing the people in broad daylight. So what separates the politicians from the robbers?
written by Iliyas, June 22, 2008 16:26:37
Word of advice to Yong,a similar motion of vote of no-confidence should also be made against the Chief Minister of Sabah.
written by Suleiman, June 22, 2008 16:26:38
Sabah merdeka on the 16 Sept 2008 from Abdellah A.Badwi lip loop government
written by raybeam, June 22, 2008 16:39:43
the stand taken by yong teck lee and his comrades to move a motion of no confidence aganist abdullah badawi is most commendable, although it should have been done much earier. however, as the saying goes, better late than never. do not be threatened by the chief whip of barisan, i.e najib razak as he has a lot to answer for himself. i myself have a bone to pick with abdullah badawi, in that right after the 2004 general elections, i wrote a letter requesting him to intervene in a matter with regards to employment with rtm. believe it or not, 4 years have already gone by and i have still not heard from him or his department. some weeks ago, i had a brainwave and decided to write him a memorandum reminding him of my previous letter to him. i then tried to hand the memorandum to badawi in person by going to parliament but unfortunately i was not allowed entry. i even met a reporter from bernama going by the name of sabrina and told her about my intentions of handing over the memorandum to badawi, but to my disappointment she gave me no assistance. whilst outside the gates of parliament, i contacted some of the news media such as the star, sun, and even malaysiakini about my predicament but they were all deaf to my pleas. finally, one of the guards summoned the assistant of madam ng yen yen going by the name of helmy who assurred me that the memorandum would be delivered to badawi and that he would arrange for me to have a meeting with the former. ever since that incident, i have been calling helmy about my appointment with his boss, and each time he tells me that his boss is very busy. sometimes, even avoids answering my calls. then more recently, i tried to highlight my problem to law minister zaid ibrahim during a question answer session on press freedom at the malaysia press club but halfway during my explanation, my mike was hurriedly switched off. To find out more as to how I've been treated by this very corrupt & inefficient government, please visit my blog at http://alfredhomusic.********.com

By the way I'm Alfred Ho the blind singer
written by arazak, June 22, 2008 17:03:53
I believe there are many other Sabahans being mistreated by the Federal Government like what Mr.Alfred Ho had experienced. But than again,it is mind boggling... the Sabahan keeps on voting for the BN in every ellection.

Weired... isn't it?
written by macaufan, June 22, 2008 17:20:17
Regime umno destroy Sabah by :
- Project IC/DrM, illegal muslim fr Indon/Mindanao Filipino were given citizenship !
- Project Money/Bribery by umno to Sabahan politians to close 1 or both eyes while regime umno is raping/robbing their country!

SAPP now baru weak up? wat abt others in Sabah? ur eyes still cover by Regime umno's money? come on lah ! weak up Sabahan ! weak up & demand more fr Regime umno now or never ! smilies/angry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by taxi90, June 22, 2008 17:57:52
Population census (Buku Tahunan Perangkaan Sabah)
In 1971, the population of Sabah was: Kadazan 184512 Malays 18865
In 2005, the population of Sabah was: Kadazan 514400, Malays 330600
natives increased by a factor of 3, malays increased by nearly 19 times!
Likewise the /Christian : Muslim ratio.

Better wake up now or not wake up at all, people!
Last chance before your new Malay brothers from Mindanao become your boss. It doesn't help that every year, 1200 natives are being converted to muslims via marriage/ 'financially assisted' conversions with no hope of every getting out of it.
written by br_teacher, June 22, 2008 18:07:06
BN hanya main-mainkan sabah.
Dulu bila tumbangkan PBS, CM bergilir-gilir...
sekarang CM jadi milik UMMMMNOOOO dan parti lain tiada harapan. smilies/shocked.gif
Itu Musang tak Aman sudah sapu habis semua project, manalah kontraktor-kontraktor parti komponen lain mau cari makan?????? smilies/angry.gif
written by InEffective, June 22, 2008 18:39:56

I think Sabah should save themselves, and escape the clutches of criminal crooked politicians from W.Malaysia.

For sure their peoples will never ever flourish in a racist governance structure filled with explosive experts, racists, money launderers, dividers ....

follow Singapore example - escape....
written by Iliyas, June 22, 2008 18:47:00
Hi taxi90,
First off thanks for bringing to our attention the population census in Sabah.The agency concerned like AAB must also be disorientated or sleeping..!!There is a huge difference when defining race and religion.What we have in Sabah are Kadazans,Dusuns,Chinese,Bajau,Bugis,Murut,Indians and if not mistaken 35 other ethnic group.Where did this Malay group come from?As far as everyone is aware,the Muslims in Sabah who have manage to obtain huge projects from BN have now called themselves MALAYS.
written by raybeam, June 22, 2008 18:53:26
Recently, the trigger-happy DAP formed an organisation known as graftbusters, headed by top officials such as Tony Pua, & Gobind Singh Deo,to give the public a chance to expose corruption & inefficientcies of the barisan government. As such, I took the opportunity to write them a letter with regards to my experiences on the above mentioned. However, there has been no response whatsoever from these arrogant people. My letter to graftbusters is as follows:-

LETTER TO GRAFTBUSTERS,
APRIL 24TH 2008

Dear sir,

Congratulations on the formation of this organization which I hope will be a great help to the public at large. I wish to draw your attention to several matters that are of grave concern to me as a blind individual. Although they may not be related to corruption but I strongly feel abuse of power is involved.

Firstly, I lodged a police report about 2 years ago with regards to a cheating case and believe it or not, I have not heard from the investigations inspector even after several reminders to him for a progress report. In this particular
case, I think that abuse of powere is involved because the person who swindled me claims to be related to Ali Rustam, the Chief Minister of Malacca. At around the same time, I took a case against a trader in the consumer tribunal court for selling me a product that was not user-friendly to me as a blind individual. Furthermore, the trader even made false claims about the product
which he sold me. The reason for my highlighting this problem is because I felt that the trial judge of the court was rather biased in his judgement and only sent me the written judgement after more than a year after numerous reminders, so that I had no recourse in contesting his judgement in the high court.

Finally, I wish to draw your attention to the fact that I was relieved of my job as a disc jockey with RTM for no apparent reason. I consequently wrote to the then Information minister, namely, Khalil Yaccob several times for
assistance in the matter, but all my letters went unanswered. I also wrote to Suhakam and the Prime Minister himself to intervene in the matter but all my efforts came to zero. Last but by no means least, I approached the MCA
complaints officer, namely, Michael Chong for assistance but was given the cold shoulder. I have also tried to highlight my predicament with the press but again, all neglected my pleas for assistance. Should you be interested to
look into the problems which I have brought to your attention, please visit my blog and all will be revealed. My blog address is as follows:-
http://alfredhomusic.********.com

Looking forward to your early reply and may your organization grow from strength to strength.

Yours faithfully,

Alfred Ho.

To find out how I've been discriminated against by the Barisan government, please visit my blog :

http:://alfredhosinger.********.com

BTW, Raybeam is Alfred Ho the blind singer.
written by apa jadi, June 22, 2008 19:17:17
I would not mind if these illegal immigrants from the neighbouring countries are in to improve the economy of the state. However, since project IC, these are the extra burdens that eats up the resources of the state, just to satisfy someone political appetite. It is time the Sabahans look seriously their own plight and take the necessary action required.
written by gundohing, June 22, 2008 21:08:02
So long as Musa the corrupt is still the CM. Nothing really changed. Datuk Yong can make any motion he liked and we can have new PM but so long as Musa still the CM we are screwed big time! - Sabahan
written by amoker, June 22, 2008 21:26:00
I do think that at one point of time, the Malaysian government should apologize directly for systematic conversion programme. The Australian government have struggled and finally Mr Rudd showed that he is THE MAN.

Who will be a MAN ( or woman) in malaysia?
written by PAKRAK, June 23, 2008 02:08:02
There is still a ray of hope for Sabah to come to their senses. To save Sabah
from being bullied, all the component parties in Sabah should pool together and pull out of BN immediately. After that decide among yourselves what you want to do.
Otherwise bro. & sis. it's Amen.
written by sumandakk, June 23, 2008 11:56:48
Why is it that on so many maps of Malaysia West Malaysia is the same size or even bigger in physical size than East Malaysia when in reality Sarawak alone is about 5 kilometers short of being the same size as the whole of the peninsular and Sabah is at least half the size? I think this is very telling. Go see the PM's office website...
written by Arrow, June 23, 2008 21:20:32
written by jokerman, June 22, 2008 | 16:26:01
Feds have taken all the oil royalty from Sabah, Sarawak and Terengganu for so many years. If its for practical

Lets unite and take a Class Action Suit to have all the oil royalty monies returned to the respective States, at 20% based, on the audited accounts of Petronas.

The bastards can steal and enjoy the money but now, its time to make Petronas pay it back - get a loan and repay all the royalties. If Petronas goes bankrupt, then shut it down and let sell all the assets.
written by kclim2, June 23, 2008 21:54:12
SAPP is showing the lead. How about you clowns out here MCA, MIC and those loonies? Come on are you all afraid? cowards perhaps?
written by malaysia devil, June 29, 2008 19:10:38
KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Malaysia's de facto opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim, denied on Sunday allegations that he had sodomized an aide, saying the charges were an attempt by the government to discredit him.

A former deputy premier who was sacked in 1998 and later jailed for sodomy and corruption, Anwar has seen a revival of his fortunes since a March poll when the opposition alliance recorded its best ever election result.

Anwar says he has won enough support from ruling coalition lawmakers to form a new government by September, sparking fears of a change in economic policy and unsettling investors.
read more at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/