ACA: Probe on Yong not politically motivated PDF Print
Sunday, 22 June 2008 11:08

(The Star) - The Anti-Corruption Agency’s investigation on Datuk Seri Yong Teck Lee for alleged payment of over RM5mil to his agents was not an instruction from “higher authorities” nor was it politically motivated.

ACA director-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan said neither was the agency’s decision to open an investigation paper on the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president a form of threat as claimed by Yong.

“We are investigating based on a statement made by a witness in a court case which was made under oath. It has nothing to do with politics.

“It is just mere coincidence that his name came up in a trial and we decided to investigate him when he is embroiled in political turmoil. Our decision has nothing to do with politics,” he told a press conference here last night.

A witness, former director of Briskmark Enterprise Sdn Bhd Datuk Wasli Mohd Said, in the trial of former Land and Co-operative Development Minister Tan Sri Kasitah Gaddam told the court on Thursday that Yong had ordered payment of over RM5mil profit from the sale of shares belonging to a state-owned company to his agents in 1996 when he was the chief minister.

Following the testimony, the ACA on Friday said that it would investigate Yong and investigations would cover abuse of power and accepting of bribes.

Yong later claimed that the sudden probe was deliberately done to instil fear and to ensure others toed the line, adding that he had already given his statement on the matter four or five years ago.

Ahmad Said acknowledged that Yong had given his statement a few years ago but it was for the case that was at present on trial, and not for the alleged RM5mil that he had ordered to be paid to eight other individuals.

“I must stress that we are not being influenced by anyone. We are an independent body which investigates any case of corruption, no matter who the person involved is.”

Ahmad Said said that apart from Yong and Wasli, the agency would also investigate the eight people whose names were mentioned in the trial.

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 22, 2008 11:14:31
Not politically motivated? Really! Then please explain why Yong's deputy Raymond, seen on news on TV, seem almost closed to tears in his plea to the PM not to take any action against SAPP and to not charge Yong for that rm5 million corruption case? Is Raymond facial expression always like that or is he that "broken" over the prospect of losing his Deputy CM post?
written by islandjoe, June 22, 2008 11:17:33
Ahmad Said you are a disgrace. The ACA is a joke. So it's a coincidence that Yong rebelled against your masters, a day or 2 you were going to investigate him?? I can't believe this guy's arrogance to even dare to say he's independent and not being influenced.

Does anyone have a list of high profile ACA investigations that have been delayed for years? What about empty police investigations into police reports made against BN lackeys? Step 1 of an ACA investigation is to determine if it's a BN crony, THEN they move to investigate or not.

Can't wait till PR take over and use this dud organisation against Ahmad Shite.
written by amran3669, June 22, 2008 11:22:04
Haha ACA bunch of GOONS! Worthless! That's all can be said, PERIOD!
written by ciahcra, June 22, 2008 11:26:30
what a joke!! Dogs will always be dogs!! don't make me puke!!
written by othman hitam, June 22, 2008 11:33:53
Wow, good to hear that ACA is proactive. But what happened to the letters sent by Dato Mat Tajuddin the ex-Pahang united malay organisation's ex liaison secretary on the misdeeds of the current MB? AMK Pahang had also lodge a police report on the matter. Oh yeah, I forgot. The case has yet to be mentioned in Court. There were other reports, including those lodged against the ex-Selangor MB directly to ACA that have seen no action...I'm sure if you care to check, there are numurous more that have not been acted on. I rest my case
written by *********, June 22, 2008 11:35:31
PM Badawi appears to have ‘The Dirt’ on all the leaders of BN including his ‘anointed’ successor Najib Razak. Ahmad Said just like AG Gani Patail, Election Commission Chief Abdul Rashit and IGP Musa Hassan are all balless running dogs of the Badawi Regime. They will say and do anything to cover and wipe Badawi's ass! Now, I know why all the BN leaders have no balls to stand up against Badawi. This explains of the ass wiping that has been taking place!

I bet that Badawi hasn’t got the brains to think that well. Must be the work of the 4th Floor Boys headed by the “Dirt Keeper’ Khairy JaMALUddin. On another issue, I was reading the newspaper this morning about the case in the United States involving a Pakistani who is said to have arranged the sale of military hardware to a company in Malaysia. In the report, it is said that the military hardware sold to the Malaysian company has Iran as its intended end user. All of a sudden, I could have sworn to hear someone saying the words “scold me”. What these words mean, I don’t know. If you know what it means, please let me know. Who knows, I may have developed a sixth sense!
http://*********.********.com
written by PASOK, June 22, 2008 11:37:42

Last year, the head of the ACA in Sabah was awarded a Datukship. One week later she pronounced that Chief Minister Musa Aman was totally clean and that none of the dozens of reports made against him had any merit.

After PR comes to power I hope that the ACA will be investigated and the top people, past and present, be prosecuted for what we all know is a total betrayal of our society.

written by ilovepakatan, June 22, 2008 11:46:19
12 years later only started to take action and you say it is not political motivated? You are treating us like retards. As if we cannot tell what you are doing. How dumb.

ACA - Just close shop and sack all the BN dogs there. Now this is not political motivated. It's good riddance of bad rubbish.
written by caxyz, June 22, 2008 11:50:23
There's a saying 'nobody say you are dumb if you do not open your mouth'
Obviously ACA Ahmad Said never heard that. Now he make us puke.
written by IbnAbdHalim, June 22, 2008 11:50:31
Probe on Yong not politically motivated? In Bolehland it is!
written by gctham, June 22, 2008 11:53:14
This answer is a typical. Do expect this guy agree and yes it is political motivated? Then it must real joke. The question whether it is political motivated or other wise need not answer. It is best for the public to answer. Every body has an answer and it need to be the same but generally the answer lead to the same conclusion.
written by wongnoball, June 22, 2008 11:54:55
Now this is 21st century lah. Our ACA director-general should upgrade his tactics and techniques to tell LIES lah !
written by Stupid me, June 22, 2008 11:58:22
Ask the joker to tell it to the marines. It is better for him to keep his crooked mouth completely shut and do whatever his masters want him to do. But we can't blame him actually. If he does not do what he has been doing he would be investigated and we can be sure that some skeletons might be found in his cupboards somewhere. So dia pun cari makan!
written by Ahjamal, June 22, 2008 12:06:46
Datuk Seri dari Sabah itu curruptcy hang terima itu. Dimana hang ini Musa Aman seruloh orang Sabah tau siapa dia. Boss you AAB itu mukin dah beri you TAN SRI
tahun dapat yah kerja kuat2 hal orang. Mampus dengan gaji haram.
written by Garend, June 22, 2008 12:08:11
you expect us to believe that? Hahaha tell us when is that "Oath" taken and then why this time round so fast and efficient? Show us some result... about that POS Malaysia Case first. or so many other's case.. with your track records, I doubt that whatever you guys say.. Shame on you.

What abt the "OATH" you had with GOD when you took this position. YOu are suppose to carry out your job truthfully and fearlessly, upholding justice. And look ... how low have you stooped. You are more afraid of your employers than God.. and you dare to speak lies to the Rakyat.. "Your Wage Payers.."

I am totally out of words to say.

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 22, 2008 12:08:19
I challenge you to swear by the koran that you are NOT politically pressured to take act. You are another BN/UMNO dog.
written by Jan, June 22, 2008 12:18:02
Too many wrong doings happening in govt, they won't make ACA independent or they will be shooting their own foot.
Same as the Judiciary, it will never be reformed. You want change? You gotta change the govt first.
written by jchew, June 22, 2008 12:23:42
ACA should be investigated for corruption for choosing who, what , where, when,why and how to investigate or not to investigate!
written by doggone, June 22, 2008 12:29:46

Dear Ahmad Said,

If you have to prevaricate about the sudden need to investigate Datuk Yong as not being politically motivated, the least you can do is to concoct a plausible lie to dupe the masses. You failed miserably here leh !!! Actually you don't give two hoots what we think as long as you please your bosses and as such keep your job. Right or not?

written by siska, June 22, 2008 12:36:47
Ha..ha..ha...now we know..dalam BN semua kaki rasuah..keluar BN, kena...
ACA dibodohkan lepas tu nak bodohkan rakyat...muka pun muka bodoh...
written by uxzee, June 22, 2008 12:38:50
Ahmad Said, pls shut up and have some respect for youself - you toothless dog. When have you ever demonstrated that you are allowed to bark on you own - have you ever prosecuted any BN member on without instructions ??

You have madeACA to be a bunch of clowns.
written by shiokguy, June 22, 2008 12:42:14
The charge is not politically motivated. How about the timing?
written by Rohani Hitam, June 22, 2008 13:06:05
Ahmad said, I take this opportunity to say that you are a running dog for UMNO/BN. I am not refering to Yong's case but the overall cases that you should probe into. Due to your reluctance on many cases, your department becomes a laughing stock by the raayat that nobody has any confidence in you and your department.
written by Baronshah, June 22, 2008 13:11:21
Many of ACA investigators are, I think seconded from PDRM.The ACA should be an INDEPENDENT BODY (like the Judiciary) and made up of professionals with vast experience in their respective fields such as Accountancy, Engineering and other fields and ANSWERABLE TO PARLIAMENT. The CPIB in S'pore is a proven body if I may add.

BN Govt talk about ending/tackling corruption..hogwash.
written by hksp, June 22, 2008 13:13:04
ACA = dog fed by umno

joke of the country ! smilies/shocked.gif
written by aryn, June 22, 2008 13:14:14
Really?

Then how come you are being selective, ACA?

Why not go after Khairy, Patrik Badawi and Badawi and son, Najib/Rosmah, Daim, Tun M and the rest of Umno's top leaders including ex-mama APs Rafidah. You'll do Malaysians poud here if you bring to justice these people.
written by Anak_Asia, June 22, 2008 13:18:39
Cemerlang, Gemilang,Terbilang !

Malaysia Boleh !!

written by Sribayu, June 22, 2008 13:20:57
For the last 30 yaers how many senior politicans ever brought to court for corruption?

None- why? This because ACA it's self is being corrupted.
written by chanatak, June 22, 2008 13:55:04

Not politically motivated? Go talk to my knee. If my knee don't believe you, go talk to my toes.

ACA = ADA CORRUPTION AGENSI

written by WCM, June 22, 2008 14:44:55
Will Yong ended up like how Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was in year 1998 because both also against the master? smilies/grin.gif
written by frazkok, June 22, 2008 14:50:25
what a joke! i didn't even need to look at the allegations against yong. the hearing of the case itself, the one in which kasitah gadam is involved. when was that? i thin it began when abdullah became prime minister, if im not mistaken in 2003 or 2004. kasitah was the first big fish for abdullah to showcase to society that he is very serious in combating corruption. we've all felt very hopeful then, to eradicate the plague. but now, 4 years later, they are still hearing the case, nobody had been charged? what a joke, stupid ACA. Let's send ACA jokers to hell.
written by best4rakyat, June 22, 2008 14:58:30
Do anyone believe this? That tactic has been used before and how many "leaders" were troubled by them! They have no better way even from federal enjoying life over here. They can't even keep an eye over their own federal treasury.
>Labisman, I write some comments last two days but were hijacked and disappear from MT. All bloggers in good faith pls be more careful nowaday!
written by Tompios, June 22, 2008 15:03:52
smilies/grin.gif semua olang manyak tau lah! Ini BPR(L) punya olang satu bulu sama Balisan Nasional mah! Itu BPR manyak tolong olang BN sejak dali tulu mah! Ini macam celita tala masuk akal punya celita wo!

Kila punya ACA! Diaolang fikil semua orang sudah buta kah? Sudah tala ada otak kah? Kila punya ACA/BPR hali-hali makan dali poket olang kaya mah dolang. Manyak mikin malu punya jabatan negala. Tala kuna punya agensi kelajaan.
written by sickofitall, June 22, 2008 15:04:48
ACA, Bullshit.
written by best4rakyat, June 22, 2008 15:05:39
As Yong said:"Even if I was jailed other party leaders will continue to liberalise for Sabah people".
That's the brave spiritual leader of SAPP with substance & abundant! What's point where only body left without soul and substance? Betulkah, Datuk Yong.
"Gave whatever being asked & belong to Caesar but not more, if more just gave some fishes from market"
All will be with you.
written by slayer, June 22, 2008 15:36:23
NOT PILITICALLY MOTIVATED....what a load of crap!!! I think i've read this many many times in the newspaper....this is the ACA's favourite line to use every time they are going to investigate some politician for some wrongdoing...
I'm just so sick and tired of all these F**king nonsense lah...
Just can't wait for the downfall of present government.
written by Tom Cruise, June 22, 2008 15:53:06
Yeah sure "NOT POLITICALLY MOTIVATED" AND YES JUST LIKE TALES OF GRANDMOTHERS STILL BEING VIRGINS!!! ONCE DSAI BECOMES PM A SPECIAL TASK FORCE SHOULD BE SET UP TO INVESTIGATE THE ACA AND PDRM AND OF COURSE THEIR PREVIOUS BOSSES!!!
written by angkasawan bocor, June 22, 2008 15:53:27
Probe not politically motivated?

Another symptom of AIDS - Acquired Intense Denial Syndrome.

If ACA wants the rakyat to believe, it should come out with a better drama.
written by overseaMas, June 22, 2008 15:53:45
People will treat ACA comment as joke. Shame shame shame.
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 22, 2008 16:01:34
HOI ACAc

PLEASE PROBE WHY THE 2nd BRIDGE's CONSTRUCTION COST IS SKY ROCKETING AT AND UNREASONABLE RATE!

WHILE YOU ARE AT IT, PLEASE PROBE WHY SO MUCH COMISSION BEING PAID FOR THE PURCHASE OF A DIESEL SUBMARINE AND SUKHOI JETS.

ALSO THE LAND DEALS!

ALSO WHY THE PUBLIC OFFICE IS CLEARED OF ALL FILES!

HOI HOI HOI.

YOU ARE OUR SERVANTS, not some political goons, thugs, hands.

WE PAY YOUR FRIGGING SALARY.

HOI HOI HOI!

smilies/sad.gif
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 22, 2008 16:03:27
“We are investigating based on a statement made by a witness in a court case which was made under oath. It has nothing to do with politics."

hahahahahahahahaa

written by temanmu, June 22, 2008 16:14:45
ACA = NFA (no further action) 99% of the time

1% of the time - very fast, hard & stiff

PM just needs to stimulate interest in the "case"!
written by Navigator, June 22, 2008 16:19:22
The ACA is a joke. I do not know why he bothers to make meaningless announcements in public. He and UMNO think the public are still fools after the election results. This kind of behaviour is why BN almost lost the last election. UMNO never learns. This makes the public support a change of government.
written by coolandy, June 22, 2008 16:43:52
Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan......if you have a little bit of brain left in your skull, you could at least defer the renewed ACA investigation on YTL to a later date.

By what you just did and then further proclaiming ACA to be independent is stretching credibility all the way to MARS.

You should be ashamed of yourself and should not even look at your children straight to their faces because even they know that you are not credible enough.

Also, what have you got to say each time you prostrate yourself towards Mecca?
written by RFernandez, June 22, 2008 17:48:42
“We are investigating based on a statement made by a witness in a court case which was made under oath. It has nothing to do with politics."

If the above is true, the I am pretty sure ACA will look into the SD made by RPK regarding the Altantuya murder, right?

written by Lim Lim, June 22, 2008 17:49:27
this is a case of "Musang Telling Old Grandma Story To Chicken"!!boleh percayakah??
written by Lim Lim, June 22, 2008 17:51:56
Looks like te only hope to revent the ACA is to change the entire gorvment,from state to the central!!
written by macaufan, June 22, 2008 18:12:09
Umno regime mesti ditumbangkan. if not, regime will tumbangkan m'sia !
ACA is a joke !
Polis is a bigger joke !
Judiciary is d biggest joke !
AG is d more biggest joke !
EC is d more bigger biggest joke !
MSM is d most biggest joke !

semua anjing2 /& regime umno memang memalukan nama baik m'sia di dunia !
written by nafis, June 22, 2008 18:16:20
Si Bodoh "Also Corrupted Agency" cuba nak memBODOHkan kami rakyat yang PANDAI
written by future, June 22, 2008 18:36:17
Halo ACA .....you are very efficient when you receive instruction from your master.What about the many reports against Khir Toyo and not forgeting BALKIS.
Are you a civil servant or UMNO servant?
written by Marcus, June 22, 2008 19:24:22
Sounds like this coming protest, people need to carry banners on "ACA STOP BLUFFING" "INVESTIGATE Heads of ACA NOW!" "CORRUPTED ACA"
written by whlau, June 22, 2008 20:46:35
Hello ACA...!!! Remember the Eusoff and Lingam's investigation... have you investigated yourselves for paying Jayanthi, Lingam's secretary RM3,000.00 to go shopping and forget about the case?

Sudah lupa kah...? Go investigate yourselves first before you investigate others!!!
written by amoker, June 22, 2008 21:05:55
Suddenly, ACA is efficient.

Suddenly, "police reports' are made by people and ACA officers . Is this the same police station that receive the report on indellible ink?
written by amoker, June 22, 2008 21:10:45
What about ACA's investigation to your namesake when he stood against AAB and Idris Jusoh in the Terengganu crisis. Where is the report on YB Ahmad Said?
written by Ben, June 22, 2008 21:54:48
Thank you, aca, so much for assuring us that you are not like the Gestapo of Russia. Surely we don't need something like this in this peaceful and democratic country. Anyway, we learn a long time ago that the thief only comes in the night when no one knows he is coming. acar aje.
written by peter, June 22, 2008 22:07:05
I'm totally sick of this bodohwi and his team. How long more do we have to bear with them??? ACA is NOTHING MORE than the tool of the gomen of bolehland. It has been since the time of the mahafiraun.

I'm truly sick of this gomen of bolehland.
written by shissun, June 22, 2008 22:28:24
ACA: Probe on Yong not politically motivated

and so as Rosmah is an innocent virgin...
written by archie, June 22, 2008 22:38:21
ACA probe on Yong is politics. It is not politically motivated.
written by PAKRAK, June 22, 2008 22:56:26
ACA and other government agencies are run by a select group of UMNO leaders
as a means to threaten and prosecute those who fight for justice. Kudos and my respect to those who speak the truth. They are courageous enough to voice anything on behalf of the Rakyat.
written by Wakeupmsia, June 23, 2008 00:44:25
Dear Oh Dear! ACA director-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan. The whole world knows. Even the little kids knows - IT IS POLITICAL MOTIVATED!!!!!! You are a very poor salesman!

Where is your integrity, self-righteouness, moral values, if you have any!!!!

BTW, do you know that the 'person' who seeded you into this world by the name of HAMDAN which literally also means "ROTTEN EGGS". It is just mere coincidence, **MAD! It's just mere coincidence that his name is Ah!Mad! In BM, it means "Orang Gila"!!! It's just mere coincidence.
written by KIAT BLUES, June 23, 2008 02:47:03
hey dont think that we are stupid ok, we know how BN works they have been ruling the country for more than 50 years. dont have to cover your stupid shameless boss.
written by marsyal, June 23, 2008 03:35:18
in Malaysia anything is possible is you have related to the No 1 in Umno. like this 28 and 22 year old cronies of KJ getting APs for hybrid cars.

Is he the reason behind the fuel price hike? so his friends gets to be the next AP kings?

Read this article:

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/06/20/premier-hybrid-cars-sdn-bhd-gets-1200-new-aps/
written by marsyal, June 23, 2008 03:36:58
opps typo
should read "anything is possible if you are related to No 1 in UMNO"
written by AsamLaksa, June 23, 2008 05:48:46
Where have I heard that before? Oh, RPK's sedition charge also not politically motivated! Yeah, right.

Look, how long ago was Yong's alleged wrongdoing? Why not investigate him when he was still pro AAB? How to believe AAB's government like this?
written by Tom n Jerry, June 23, 2008 06:21:03
OUr beloved state Sabah robbed & raped for 45 years by the fittest people(so called leaders)but the *babi anjing*ACA kept one or both eyes closed!Lets send the ACA to hell for turning a blind eye! smilies/grin.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 23, 2008 06:58:39
The first thing on PR agenda if they rule this nation must put ACA before firing squad(of course a snoopsquad first,ask OKT how to do it) smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 23, 2008 07:02:17
Dawn of a new era today!Lets see what is in store for us!Praise the conscientious MP*s who dare to challenge the corrupted BN leaders!If possible number 1 & 2 must turun gelanggang!May the Almighty serve justice to all peace loving&conscientious malaysians! smilies/smiley.gif