The Mystery of our Vanishing Oil money PDF Print
Saturday, 21 June 2008 17:41

http://humblevoice.blogspot.com/2008/06/mystery-of-our-vanising-oil-money.html

Firstly, since Pak Lah took the helm, Petronas has contributed RM 146.5 billion to the government. Petronas has been in operation since 1974 and contributed a total of RM 336 billion to the government. Pak Lah's first 4 years in office received 43.6% of Petronas' 35 years of total contributions. It is more than what Mahathir received in 20 years, inflation adjusted. And it does not even include this year's contributions!

Is your reaction that of disbelief? Are you wondering where all this money has gone?

When common folk talked about our oil revenues, we usually think of Petronas and the government as being the same entity. That was my perception when I wrote my last article: The "56 Billion Ringgit Questions", but little did I suspect that I would have to completely reconsider my understanding almost the moment I posted the article.

I posted the article on 3:45pm June 4, and moments later I received an SMS that petrol price is going to go up. I was about to chuck the SMS away until I logged on to Malaysiakini and confirmed that the news was indeed true.

I was shocked by the suddenness and quantum of the increase as Najib's reassurance of no price hike was still fresh in memory, and Shahrir was only hinting of a price adjustment in August the day before. My first reaction was that Pak Lah has just hammered the last nail in his own coffin.

I am not an economist by any means, but I come from a poor family and I have been through the years where every cent counts. It was completely baffling to me why Pak Lah would make such a sharp increase in petrol prices while the whole country was still reeling from the pain of the recent hike in the prices of food and other essential items. The combined effects are going to cause so much hardship to so many people that I seriously doubt Pak Lah is going to survive the fallout of it. And it got me thinking hard ...

The Mystery of Our Oil Money

Let's get back to the mystery of our oil money. After many hours of research and deliberation, I came to realize that the relationship between Petronas and the government is much more complicated than it looks on the surface. The two are not the same entity after all; and by some recent announcements I think there could even be open hostilities between them. Read:
• Petronas could go bust by 2018 if all its profits are handed to the Government …
• Petronas should not be made the scapegoat for the fuel price hike
One key understanding is that although Malaysia is a net exporter of crude oil, our products are of very high quality and are primarily for export while we consume lower grade oil that is mainly imported from the Middle East.

While the exploration, production and export of our crude oil are handled almost exclusively by Petronas, the import side is a bit more complicated. The importing and retailing of petroleum products are carried out by companies like Shell, Exxon, Petronas, etc. These companies are mandated by the government to sell below cost, thus they are compensated for their losses by the Government in the form of subsidy.

Yes – our government does subsidize our petrol. But it also receives money from Petronas in the form of loyalty, taxes and dividends. Petronas is reported to have contributed 52.3 billion ringgit to the government for the financial year ended March 2007.

Is that a fair contribution to the government? I will be eagerly waiting for Petronas' supposedly full disclosure. I don't give much hope that the full disclosure will reveal details like why some big shots get to live like kings with private jets and helicopters, but it should give some basis for some intelligent guess-nalysis.

How much is the Government getting from Petronas?

The graph above shows Petronas' contribution to the government over the past few years. I plotted it along with the yearly average crude oil price. The yearly contribution was obtained from Hassan Marican's interview in RTM1 reported in Guang Ming Daily and the average oil price from EIA. As you can see, Petronas' contributions go up nicely with the price of crude oil, as most of us would expect.

What will be Petronas' contribution this year? That will be anybody's guess. Would it be RM 70 billion? RM 80 billion? Whatever it is, it seems that Petronas is mighty reluctant to cough out its profits to the government.

How much is the petrol subsidy costing our government?

Our daily crude oil consumption is 501,000 barrels, or 183 million barrels per year. Each barrel is 158 liters, and typically yields 73.8 liters of petrol, diesel and other by-products after refining (data from EIA).

Our yearly petroleum consumption is thus:
183 million barrels X 73.8 litres/barrels = 13.5 billion litres.

At the current crude oil price of 130 USD per barrel, the market price is RM 3 per litre for petrol (according to Shahrir).

Our government's yearly subsidy on petroleum can be calculated as follows. For lack of data I will assume that the cost price of petrol and diesel is the same.

Before Price hike:
The average price of petrol and diesel = (RM1.98 + RM1.52) /2 = RM 1.75

Subsidy per litre = RM 3 – RM 1.75 = RM 1.25
Total Subsidy = RM 1.25/litre X 13.5 billion litres = RM 16.9 billion

After Price hike:
Average price of petrol and diesel = (RM 2.7 + RM 2.52) / 2 = RM 2.61
Subsidy per litre = RM 3 – RM 2.61 = RM 0.39
Total Subsidy = RM 0.39/litre X 13.5 billion litres = RM 4.0 billion

What do all these figures mean?

Firstly, since Pak Lah took the helm, Petronas has contributed RM 146.5 billion to the government. Petronas has been in operation since 1974 and contributed a total of RM 336 billion to the government. Pak Lah's first 4 years in office received 43.6% of Petronas 35 years of total contributions. It is more than what Mahathir received in 20 years, inflation adjusted. And it does not even include this year's contributions!

Is your reaction that of disbelief? Are you wondering where all this money has gone?

Mahathir is known for his opulence and extravagance and has created monsters like the Twin Towers and F1 circuit to match his distorted ego. But what has Pak Lah done that is worthy of being mentioned? To give you a perspective, it costs RM 11 billion to build Putrajaya, and the order of RM 20 billion to build all our toll roads. Whatever happened to this mind boggling 147 billion ringgit? It seems to have just vanished into thin air. Something must be seriously wrong somewhere.

Now the 56 billion petrol subsidy quoted by Shahrir. My own calculations indicate that it should cost the government RM 16.9 billion. My calculations do not include subsidy for gas, but would it amount to a difference of RM 39 billion? Either my calculations are completely wrong or Shahrir is bullshitting. I would appreciate if somebody can verify my calculations.

My calculations show that with a RM 52.3 billion contribution from Petronas, the government should still be making a net profit of RM 30+ billion. And the recent price hike is going to bring an extra RM 17 billion to Pak Lah's coffers. Is it conscionable for the government to make such an obscene amount of money at the expense of such widespread suffering of the people?

I am shocked beyond words by what I discovered today. The level of corruption and mismanagement by the Barisan Nasional government is much much worst than my wildest imagination. I am so sick and disgusted that I just want to cast the whole Barisan Nasional government to hell right away. Right now I will not hesitate for a moment to lend my support to Pakatan Rakyat to step in to take over the government.

Do I believe that Anwar is able to bring down the price of petrol and give Sabah and Sarawak 20% oil royalty? I have no doubt that he can, if he manages to gain back the control of the oil money. I do not agree with his oil policy, but at least with Pakatan Rakyat there is hope that ordinary people like us are able to participate to bring about the right changes.

This is the time for us all to wake up. If the level of suffering and darkness of the current moment is not enough to wake you up, I don't know what will.

Look who is suffering now? We all are. Do the 50 years of racial politics bring about the supremacy of any race? I hope our sad state of affairs is convincing enough to show us that racial politics cannot work. It never will.

We have to forget about race, religion and other trivial differences and stand united as one. This is the time to exercise our collective power, our makal sakhti. This is the only strength that we have to cast out the slime-bag power-mongers that are hell bent in destroying each other and bringing down the whole country with them.

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by ctchoolaw, June 21, 2008 18:03:21
Brilliant analysis. The numbers just doesn't make any sense. Now we have another RM146.5 billion reasons to end BN's unsavoury rule. Pak Lah's departure is not good enough. http://ctchoolaw.********.com
agree 162
written by alibaba tan, June 21, 2008 18:04:16
SCOMMI BERHAD BELONG TO THE RAKYAT.....
written by Melly, June 21, 2008 18:11:10
Please excuse me for rephrasing; you mean Sabah, Sarawak & Trengganu have contributed in 2007 alone, $52.3 billion? What I would like to know from all those responsible is , how come the highest rate of poverty are Sabahans & Sarawakians? What have they done to their own citizens? May Allah have mercy on us all, me included, because I don't have the guts to make noise.
agree 110
written by zul4kulim, June 21, 2008 18:16:10
Yes, where all this money has gone? Mind-boggling with the figures.
Still, we have no money!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...imple.html
written by Lim Lim, June 21, 2008 18:17:21
they are going for the "blizz"!!esp. after looking at the aftermath of 8-3-08!!
written by greenarrow, June 21, 2008 18:20:18
ENOUGH of TALKING.....the RAKYAT will decide who to rule over the country
written by Compadre45, June 21, 2008 18:24:25
There is no mystery over the vanishing RM 336 billion oil money, it must be in the overseas bank accounts of mamak TDM and family his relatives and cronies as well a Bodowi his family and cronies , i believe at least 55 % of the vanish money is all there . 20% for their extra super luxurious homes, cars,watches, dressing , to maintain mistresses, overseas tour cum enjoyment and entertainment. Another 25 % will be for covering-up their mistakes relating to govn projects screw-ups and to make it look like nothing happen. Just my bold instincts.
written by jchew, June 21, 2008 18:25:34
ACA has enought evidence to take action and investigate but had chosen not to.
Mesti ad udang di sebalik batu!
written by ibabonma, June 21, 2008 18:28:00
Make it very simple la.

1.) Malaysia/Petronas exports its crude. Malaysia/Petronas sells 650,000 barrel per day = 650,000 X USD 134 =USD 87,100,000.00 = RM 287,400,000.00/day = RM 104,901,000,000.00 annually (i.e. RM105 billion gross per annum (Remember: this has got nothing to do with the import of cheap grade crude for processing into fuel).

2.) When Malaysia import crude to process for fuel/ petroleum by Shell, Petronas retail, Caltex, Esso, Mobil BHP etc. at whatever price, it has got nothing to do with Petronas crude sale because the public are paying for it from their own pocket at RM 2.70 per litter. At most, as claimed, the government is subsidizing only 30 sen per litter, say RM10 billion. That all.

The public issue here is:
1). Where has Petronas export of RM104 billion (gross) gone to?
2.) Where have the yearly taxations (corporates taxes) from Shell, Petronas retail, Caltex, Esso, Mobil, BHP etc. in the sum of hundred of millions or possibly billions gone to?
written by Arubin, June 21, 2008 18:37:45
What you mean mystery? No mystery at all. We all know exactly WHERE the oil money went.

(Overheard at the BN supreme council)
"One million for you, one million for me, one million for you, etc...and this little stack of pennies here is for the rakyat..."
written by BOB007, June 21, 2008 18:41:04
ask this bodowi use his own money buy oil then he now hw people suffer.... he say want give money to poor people.... u all know were the poor people live?????? he he he must be inside his home la smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Kapsiow, June 21, 2008 18:58:04
I hope when Pakatan takes over, they will have the balls to take the money back from these corrupted bastards and jail them for life. Personally I would prefer a public hanging at Dataran Merdeka.
written by clarity, June 21, 2008 19:01:43
Folks, once we get them voted out investigations must proceed immediately on where they have hidden the loot. Don't give them a chance to spend it.

And the Altantuya case, please get your local MPs to raise the issue in Patliament. The Acting Colonel must be produce in court for questioning. If you let the case to take its course then we are just following their plan.
written by apa jadi, June 21, 2008 19:10:33
Phew! Humblevoice, thanks!

The data provided is a bit heavy to digest if we don't look at it carefully.

I did a quick tabulation of the ratio of petrol and diesel consumption from 10/90% to 90%/10%. Found that the variation from your averaged 50/50% consumption is about 1.5 billion Rm. So, it is ok to assume 50/50% usage for this rough calculation.

Looking from the chart, it looks like Petronas is following the world crude price to return the profit to the government. But, is this the case? Has the production volume been consistent(the same) all these years? How about the annual consumption? Without these figures, we can only get ourselves riled up in a guessing game.

Basing on the chart, I would estimate Petronas will return 90 billion profit to the government this year. But again, have they stepped up the production to get more income? Is the export price to certain country still pegged at USD50/ barrel as alleged? This is the crux of where the money has sunk into.
written by sarawakian, June 21, 2008 19:26:43
how come the highest rate of poverty are Sabahans & Sarawakians

yeaa... think about it. West Malaysians have the Twin Towers, Sepang F1, PutraJaya, MSC, North-South highway and East-West highway, lots and lots of universities etc etc.

what do Sabahans and Sarawakians have? do you even know how much it costs us to FLY there?

written by greenarrow, June 21, 2008 19:44:15
MALAYSIA does NOT belong to UMNO ..or Barisan Nasional

MALAYSIA belongs to the DECISION of the RAKYAT...'Who is going to rule the Country?'
written by Al Ambia, June 21, 2008 19:46:34
Yep,where is all the money?The answer can be found in mamak,samy,ling....these snakes and rats stays in the same hole.On the other hole,abdullah,toyol,muhammad2......
written by Dominic, June 21, 2008 20:07:46
I suppose we , the rakyat should have an audience with our King and all the rulers and seek their advice . Am sure they would be very sympathetic and understanding. Rakyat,being His Majestic subjects are left without much choice. The whole lot of the STUPID, INCOMPETENT,CORRUPT BN entourage not only have to vaccate their seat but be sent to jail too. If this is still not the right time to move, I give up !!!
written by LACOBRA, June 21, 2008 20:15:09

This is where it all went!
written by semut, June 21, 2008 20:26:56
we'll hunt you down BN bloodsucker.. we will fight for our right! we only afraid of GOD..

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by Mr Smith, June 21, 2008 20:30:02
Thanks for the clarification. I did not make any calculations that you did but by plain logic I guessed these UMNO scums are absconding with their money to bring it to hell when they die.
My logic: If we are net exporters of oil, we should be laughing all the way to the bank but why are we crying?
How can we go bankrupt if oil price goes up every day?
written by Rohani Hitam, June 21, 2008 20:30:45
Now we know why AAB wants to remain in his office and why the majority of the corrupted UMNO/BN morons want to support his leadership. Its the gold mine (Petronas) that the BN government is controlling. Well it started with TDM and the malpractice perpetuate under AAB except that he (AAB) is too greedy to allow TDM to influence him or his DPM.

Billions are stashed overseas in cash and properties including other convertible assets by the previous and existing BN powerhorses. Petronas is not spared either, with or without the knowledge of the TDM and AAB.
written by hiro, June 21, 2008 20:34:42
With the kind of money that we have, if we have been as good as the Singapore government, we would have been an economic powerhouse of ASEAN and perhaps even OCEANA at this very moment.

Those fellas who voted for BN,please open your eyes and see what utter shameful rot UMNO and BN has brought us. Even if Pakatan takes over on Monday, I dread to think of the many more decades before we bring back the lustre to Malaysia.

Go swarm your MPs with SMS and ask them to cross over to Pakatan on Monday. It's imperative for our mid-long term survival as a nation.
written by Rozlan, June 21, 2008 20:40:28
My calculation is RM43 billion clean profit to Malaysian govt.so Mr Humble your calculation was far from mine.So that RM43 billions is for other development.

Maybe Shahrir Samad and Paklah felt that we are too stupid to think

UMNO way of telling the people is " Just follow and accept our words you dumbass..YOu cant even spelt "oil" correctly.How come you can think something far more complicated than that
written by SamBall, June 21, 2008 20:48:35
"The Mystery of our Vanishing Oil money"

No mystery at all; as an earlier post said; it simply went into someone's pocket. Now the real qeustion should be whose pocket?

Follow the money (or paper), boys & girls; and you will know where the money went.

The UNMNO/BN ganag is just using Petronas as a personal kitty bank, to fund their wild projects; and collectively gang rape the country of its wealth.

Here is another question to know where the money all went. Lets just pick the story from 2004.

How much is Pak Lah & his cronies worth now (please ah, don't forget to add the money in the Swiss A/C) than in 2004?

Aiya, if you want to go further back also can. Only one question is enough: How much is the maha kaka worth? Don't forget his family also, OK. How about Daim, the quiet bastard.
written by Engineer, June 21, 2008 21:04:28
Can anybody guess why Bodowi refuse to stepdown ?

Heard told me Petronas next contribution to gomen is November 2008.

Is there any relation.

Also don't understand why road tax rebate done in cash. Where is the accountability ?

written by LACOBRA, June 21, 2008 21:09:59
Well I hope PKR will be able to takeover soon. First thing is to immediately Freeze & Seize all BN individual and personal assets.

We may be lucky to at least recover 1/4 of the loses.

Robbing Malaysians of their livelihood is as good as leaving us to die.

This is Mussolini's fate!
written by Proarte, June 21, 2008 21:26:11

Please refer to my recent letter ( rather long and hence in 2 parts) to Malaysiakini which was published recently:

Part 1

Philharmonic Orchestra nothing but elitist extravaganza
Proarte | Jun 6, 08 4:26pm
I refer to the letter Philharmonic Orchestra beneficial in the long run.

I believe that great art of any culture should be encouraged and supported. However, when funds for the arts are limited as they are the world over, these should be prioritised first and foremost to develop local and indigenous artistic expression. This calls into question the continuing raison d'etre of the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra where 96% of the musicians are not Malaysian, even after spending RM500 million over the last 10 years.

Clearly, despite all the rhetoric of developing local talent , the MPO has been a signal failure. It stands to reason that if there has actually been a contribution to developing Malaysian talent by MPO over the last 10 years, the composition of Malaysians in the orchestra would not have remained static at 4% after all these years. This is further corroborated by the fact that resident Malaysian conductor - Ooi Chean See - reportedly resigned after years of being undermined by the MPO management and European music directors.

The reality is that the MPO is an elitist extravaganza by Petronas which has no real desire to 'Malaysianise' the orchestra. They have toured China and Australia at enormous expense without any apparent realisation that having a European conductor conducting an orchestra called Malaysian with a 4% Malaysian participation is a national disgrace and insults the intelligence of the Chinese and Australians.

The ridiculous notion that one has to wear a suit or formal dress to attend the evening concerts betrays this elitist and 'exclusive' mindset. It is so far removed from the ideals, humanity and spirituality in the music of the great composers they play. The three European conductors who helm the orchestra are second-echelon practitioners at best in the world of classical music, but have been touted as 'world class' by Petronas and are paid a king's ransom.

Why should anyone who is sitting pretty want the status quo to change? I believe the problem lies with the management who do not have confidence in artistic planning and direction. They have devolved total control to a foreign music agency and to the European music directors who are milking Petronas for all it is worth.

Petronas should take a leaf out of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra's book. Its musicians are mainly Asian and they perform Western music to high standards. They even have a recording contract with the respected Swedish recording company BIS. The Singapore government did not fund the orchestra at its inception. It was formed primarily by local classical music lovers who raised funds individually and through business sponsorship.

As there were not enough local musicians to create an orchestra of a respectable standard, they decided to recruit from the Asean region as well as Europe. It had the goodwill of the Singapore government but it was made clear that they did not want to encourage a 'subsidy mentality' for an entertainment art form, particularly when it was mainly the privy of the rich and educated classes.

The Singapore government's only concession was the use of the Victoria Concert Hall with nominal rent charged to the management of the orchestra. There is no surprise why the SSO is now overwhelmingly Singaporean. It was founded by locals (expatriates included) with local enthusiasm and commitment. There was therefore a natural impetus to have local talent as far as possible.

Equally important was the presence of local music academies. These are funded by the Singapore government and many of the staff in these academies have been trained in the most prestigious music academies in Europe and USA and provide excellent training for talented local musicians.

written by Proarte, June 21, 2008 21:30:23

Part 2
Petronas could also learn from the nature of musical funding in Venezuela. A government funded foundation oversees musical education throughout the country. In a country of only 22 million, there are 125 youth orchestras, 57 children's orchestras and 30 adult symphony orchestras. Ninety percent of the musicians come from a poor socio-economic background. The flagship ensemble is the Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra which is considered to be one of the leading orchestras in the world.

Gustavo Dudamel - its stellar conductor - is only 27 and was a product of the system. He grew up in a deprived area and was grateful for the musical education he received which he freely admits may have prevented him from entering a life of drugs and crime. What a pleasant irony that Simon Rattle, conductor of the great Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, has immense praise for the Venezuelan musical education system, calling it ' the most important thing happening in classical music anywhere in the world'.

If Petronas is sincere about developing local music talent and about having a truly Malaysian orchestra then it should set up a Performing Arts Academy and recruit musicians from the MPO to be faculty members. Talented musicians from all over Malaysia should be funded if they apply to join the academy.

If need be, outstanding musicians should be given scholarships to further their training overseas in the world's leading conservatoires and encouraged to come back and serve in the orchestra. With high salaries and unbeatable terms on offer, this should be not be a problem. If will only be a matter of a few years that the majority of the musicians in the orchestra will be Malaysian.

Petronas and the MPO must really make amends for the wasted 10 years. It should stop its selfish policy of not allowing its musicians to freely associate with local musicians or to take part in local productions. This is surely the best way to uplift standards in local productions. This is the kind of 'outreach' which is beneficial to Malaysians and not MPO's own cosmetic 'Outreach' programme which is a self-serving publicity exercise.

Clearly its concert schedule will have to be reorganised. Currently there are just too many concerts, some of which are poorly attended, particularly Kevin Field's self-serving 'Avant-garde' predilection.

Avant-garde classical music has a minuscule following even in the West, such that composers of this kind of music rarely get funding or have their music performed. How fortunate that the Malaysian Philharmonic is funding and performing such unpopular music with no local resonance or relevance on a regular basis.

At the end of the year, Field will even be running an International Composing Competition , with international judges brought in, with the prize money in the order of some RM100,000 being offered, all funded by Petronas of course. What a pity that Malaysian conductor Ooi Chean See was not given a similar opportunity to raise her international profile or to develop in her career whilst at the MPO.

As a further confirmation of MPO's continuing misdirection and unconscionable extravagance, MPO is performing Beethoven's 9 'Choral' Symphony. This will be the swan song of current chief conductor Matthias Bamert who is also the artistic director. This mighty symphony is a landmark in musical history and was Beethoven's plea for the ' brotherhood of man' .

In a country such as ours which is culturally, religiously and racially divided, a performance involving Malaysians of all races singing Schiller's 'Ode to Joy' with its message of brotherhood and love would have had great resonance and meaning. But this is lost on the likes of Bamert who has decided hire the 100-member Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus and four foreign soloists for the performance.

Taking into account the cost of air travel, hotel and professional fees, the total bill of flying down the chorus and soloists is in the region of RM700,000. Given the cost of running the orchestra is about RM800,000 per week, the expenditure for Bamert's farewell extravaganza is of the order of RM1.5 million. There will only be two concerts in this small concert hall and maximal takings from box office sales will be only RM120,000.

written by Proarte, June 21, 2008 21:31:39
Part 2 cont
Such is the nature of Petronas' fiscal responsibility in a time of economic uncertainty and containment. The idea that a country of 25 million people which has the Twin Towers and has sent a Malaysian into space cannot produce a choir of sufficient standard to sing with the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra is nothing short of a national insult and tragedy.

Claus Peter Flor will be the new chief conductor in the next season and it is hoped that he will make decisions in the artistic planning which will benefit and recognise Malaysian talent. The elitist and mercenary nature of music-making which characterised the MPO in the past can no longer be countenanced.

It remains to be seen whether Flor will not object to the formation of a Petronas Performing Arts Academy with the aim of nurturing Malaysian talent for the express purpose of developing an orchestra true to its name.

Quo Vadis MPO ?

written by Kopi37, June 21, 2008 21:39:41
Where had all the monies gone to? Through the "corridors" and go to the coffers of sons, son-in-laws and cronies' accounts etc.etc.! The longer these people stay in power, the more the rakyat will suffer and die of hypertensions! F**k them off, including the ex-Premier, so as we all can survive!!!
written by Engineer, June 21, 2008 21:44:04
DON'T BE MISTAKEN. NOT A SINGLE SEN OF THE OIL MONEY HAD VANISHED.

EVERY SEN IS ACCOUNTED FOR NICELY STACKED IN SWISS BANK ACCOUNTS.

DAIM 46B
TDM 100B
AAB 146.5 B
OTHERS 43.5 B
TOTAL 336 B
written by budakindia, June 21, 2008 21:46:56
somebody commuted using helicopter during the election. smilies/cheesy.gif why not we ask him. I'm sure he's just the tip of the iceberg! smilies/angry.gif
written by Sribayu, June 21, 2008 22:06:31
Pak Dollah - He who permits himself to tell a lie once, finds it much easier to do it a second and third time, till at length it becomes habitual.

- He denied parliment will be dissolved; Next day parliment dissolved
- At one time denied he would be married. Within the month he remarried
- Price of pertol will be revised only in August; Next day the price went up
written by temanmu, June 21, 2008 22:09:47
Return the ill-gotten gains to the rakyat!

If PR wins, we will see the mass exodus of the CROOKS from the country!

Let us pursue them for the rest of their lives and after they die too! ... like Marcos!
written by Dathab, June 21, 2008 22:18:51
I found something very interesting and hope to share with all of you. Kindly pay a visit to

http://www.anwaribrahimdotcom.********.com/
written by wakeupcall, June 21, 2008 22:22:32
Humble voice
Your calculation makes sense. If there is anything that was not being taken into consideration, the error would not be too high.
I am really pissed off by the greed of AAB, KJ and their cronies. Our belief that AAB was a Mr. Clean lead us to ignore his possible greed for so many years. No wonder they keep on holding to power ignoring the rakyat's suffering.
The extra RM17billion from the fuel price hike will be used by them to buy the politicians to support them in the coming Umno congress.
If AAB still stays on until December, I am sure those who had spoken against him will be purged ... like Muhyidin. Najib's fall will be caused by the Altantuya case. Hishamuddin cannot fight Khairy at all. Khairy will be the youth chief... might even be the vice president.
written by harryo, June 21, 2008 22:48:50
AAB, could you account for the money RM146.5bill. you took from Petronas? What transparency and accountability philosophy do you have? The rakyat want to know.
written by MSIABOLEH, June 21, 2008 22:49:43
It's mind boggling indeed! Isn't it ironic that someone who is strongly against corruption and advocating transparency is doing the opposite. Where is the accountability Pak Lah? You are a disgrace and despicable!
written by taishan, June 21, 2008 23:04:15
The 650,000 barrels of oil quoted here is out by a couple of hundred thousand.
And not to forget gas production - even more.
written by Commonsenses, June 21, 2008 23:44:23
As I have speculated AAB has been telling lies after lies. That is why Anwar is realistic in his promise that he will maintain fuel subsidy. In fact now a days the coffee shops talk all over the country has expressed the hope that anwar and PR can take over the government from the present PM and as he promised the oil price will be lowered. Every rakyat of every race is hopoing that he will do it sooner than later.
written by mgeo, June 21, 2008 23:44:29
The figure first announced by Petronas chairman early this month was RM 359 billion, not 336. And it doesn't even include the RM 170 billion Petronas retained for "re-investment". Both figures (paid and retained) do not reflect hidden items such as subsidies to IPPs.

I am thunderstruck that no opposition politician to date has looked at the summary accounts that Petronas claims are available in Parliament and on its website, and asked similar questions.

The other giant secretive items are
(a) national resources: land (conversion), timber, water (privatisation).
(b) expenditure: arms purchases, mega-projects with profit guarantee, supplies (RM 90billion/year), salaries.
(c) IPO share allocations.
(d) privatised monopoly services: ex-govt. (including IPPs, highways, sanitation) and new (including LRTs, car APs, rice).
written by cheekhiaw, June 21, 2008 23:52:01
MUCH ADO ABOUT ONE PART

What happened to what Petronas hand over to government is one thing.

What happened to what is not handed over is perhaps more interesting...

written by DontPlayGod, June 22, 2008 00:08:54
Yes, we have all been raped left, right, and center by UMNO but why are the rakyat, especially those from the master race still to UMNO as their God? Can we Malaysians be so stupid and ignorant?

Hey, UMNO goons, especially those who are suppose to engage in the blog war, what comments have you?
written by DontPlayGod, June 22, 2008 00:10:08
sorry, typo error. Line 2 above should read, " the master race still look to UMNO as their God.."
written by ez24get, June 22, 2008 00:19:23
Good analysis! There's definitely some truth in the analysis.

This is corroborated by the recent interview with Petronas CEO, Hassan Merican last Tuesday on TV. Hassan Merican, being very knowledgeable, has all the facts on his finger tips and he was very fluent in answering all the questions fielded to him.

He appears to be a man of principle and has kept a low profile on purpose not to antagonise the powers to be who are his boss. In the interview I noticed that he has given away a lot of unspoken inferences and body language that begs you to question his answers further.

The unspoken answers spoke louder than what was spoken by him. Unfortunately the three interviewers, lapdogs of BN, were so dense or that they are purposely acting dense that they did not probe many of the answers further.

I watched the program intensely and Merican touched on the following points which will surely beg further questions which will reveal the true nature of the BN Government:

1. According to Merican, the subsidy for petrol only started from 2004 and diesel started from 2000. Prior to that, the pump prices were higher than the market prices and therefore there were no need for subsidy by the govt.

The interviewers did not ask further if the BN govt only subsidised petrol and diesel not too long ago, it had not lost that much of money - where have all the moneys from Petronas prior to 2000 and 2004 gone to?

2. Merican also gave two examples of Saudi Arabia and Venezuela.

a) He mentioned Saudi Arabia has 24 million people, roughly the same population of Malaysia, who is wholly dependent on oil because the country is mostly desert, barren of natural resources. Saudi Arabia has no income tax, no other taxes and the citizens there enjoyed cheap petrol and a good standard of living. He stopped just at that!

The interviewers have not asked Merican further why Malaysia who is a net exporter of oil and one of the world largest producers of palm oil, rubber, at one time - tin, aquamarine products and manufacturers of electronic products has high tolls, excise duties on cars, income tax and the citizens have to pay close to the market rate of oil. Where has the Petronas money gone to?

b) He also mentioned Venezuela who has been sufferring from economic woes where its GDPs were dropping every year. Yet the citizens there enjoyed one of the cheapest oil in the world. He stopped at that!

The interviewers did not ask further why Malaysia's GDP had increased by leaps and bounds every year since the 1980s and coupled with the recent windfall profits from oil, yet the citizens here did not share in the windfall and cheap oil. Why are the citizens here are worst than Venezuela and where have the Petronas contribution gone to?

Being discreet, Merican did not say anything bad about the the BN government in the interview. What he has not spoken is in fact loud and clear - his unspoken inference is that "why ask Petronas, you should be asking the BN government where has the money gone to? It is the government who is covering up things and cheating you citizens - not Petronas!"
written by ahmadneil, June 22, 2008 00:54:00
It went to F1,umno,cronies,goons pockets,king of racist,the children of racist,the supporter of C4,building of babi jaya,white elephants,shopping in Europe,buying C4,filling charges against RPK,buying votes,project IC,Paying commission for the 2 submarine.........the list goes on and on and on and on.
written by freespeecher, June 22, 2008 01:10:09
Hahaha we have here in our country the M'sian version of Marcos ! Copy cat afterall !
written by kclim, June 22, 2008 01:23:27
Syabas,a great article that actually crunches oil figures for the layman like me. I believe Petronas is innocent as claimed by Petronas itself. Rather unfortunately Petronas is like Miss MoneyBags who has to bankroll every mega project that the government of the day so wishes to embark on. Why only mega projects? Because no sane private individual or company would embark to undertake most of those superbig projects. Petronas has always been forced to bail out or take over failed businesses by the ruling government of the day. Maybe we should not rush to dismantle this cosy arrangement too soon as PR may want to "enjoy" this privilege once they take over as the GOVERNMENT from BN.

Since taking over, Pak Dollar is intoxicated with tens of billions of ringgit in the last 4 years, almost 44%. TDM got less in the 20 years he had his fingers in the till. So this bonanza really got to the head of Pak Dollar while TDM looked on with despair and eating his heart out. TDM got really sore as he had to work really hard in 20 years to develop the country to almost developing nation status. Of course his cronies pocketed the fees & profits. At least he got PLUS,KLCC,KLIA & F1 Sepang to show. Now this Pak Dollar, he received the lion's share from Petronas in just 4 years with nothing much to show for. A stalled 9th Malaysian Plan while blowing away the million of ringgits in the wet monsoon winds off east coast. Further slapping the rakyat in the wallet with a hefty petrol hike. All this is terrible !

I pray that the price of oil goes beyond USD200 per barrel in order to sustain our way of squandering money in bolehland. We need to survive and live for now. Who cares if we have only 5 or 10 years left of oil reserves, we definitely need the quick $$$ fixes now ( at least USD 200 per barrel ) to continue feeding the gravy train and keep the oil sustained economy going. If not chaos, anarchy , riots and total shutdown of the system will happen. Can you folks imagine what it would be like if tommorow the price of a barrel of oil falls back to USD 30 ? Malaysia as a country would definitely be dead !! I probably would not really care too much if petrol were to cost only RM 1 per litre then, as the country would have burnt down already with all businesses and livelihoods up in smokes. Malaysia needs expensive oil like nobody's business.
written by Rohani Hitam, June 22, 2008 02:39:36
Although a giant corporation, Petronas reports to the PM and not to parliament. You know what it means? It means that Petronas is not accountable to the nation except the PM. And how easy is it to squander the billions? Ask TDM, AAB and not forgeting Petronas itself.

As PM, he can direct the movement of Petronas money including injecting funds of failing GLCs or buying out failing companies. TDM is very good at this and one example is Konsortium Perkapalan headed by his son. AAB can tell ore as he learned from his predecessor.

Petronas is no angel. Petronas spends billions on the Carigali, purchasing, development and running the natural gas and petroleum resources on behalf of all Malaysians, sponsorships and provide funds for the ruling party. Like any other companies in the Company Act, Petronas produce annul financial reports. Who check and audit the account on "behalf of the raayat" No, Petronas is only accountable to the PM and that is why I said it is a gold mine for AAB and his UMNO goons.

written by sampalee, June 22, 2008 04:17:29
All muslim know about akhirat.Those in umno embracing had-hari does not believe in it and continue to do great harm to themself come judgement day.
written by wshamsudin, June 22, 2008 08:30:50
As i said from day one, get all the Kings of CORRUPTORS, families and cronnies and put them at one island. Pulau Jerajak, ok lah...near Penang, his kampong bah.
written by Tompios, June 22, 2008 09:06:00
Inilah kerja Agama UMNO. Agama UMNO is the best managing this country. In Sabah, you are also can find 'Church of UMNO' acting like a janitor of Sabah. Agama UMNO di Malaya untuk orang-orang MElayu. Agama UMNO di Sabah terbahagia 2 bahagian: 1) Agama UMNO dgn anggota keahlian-Orang2 Bajau, Orang Phillipines & Spesisnya, Orang Indon & Spesisnya, Orang Brunei dan Orang Kacukan (Pribumi-Moslem). 2) Gereja UMNO dgn anggota keahlian-orang2 Dusun Christian-pagan, Kadazan Christian-pagan, Kimaragang Christan-pagan, Rungus Christian-pagan, Murut-Chritian pagan, Tobilung Christian-pagan, Lotud Christian-pagan dan banyak lagi.
written by coolandy, June 22, 2008 09:41:59
I suspect a lot of the money has been given to Permodalan Nasional to sustain the dividends paid out especially in ASB.

Just my sixth sense with no proof whatsoever.
written by redzuank, June 22, 2008 11:51:25
Do I believe that Anwar is able to bring down the price of petrol and give Sabah and Sarawak 20% oil royalty? I have no doubt that he can, if he manages to gain back the control of the oil money. I do not agree with his oil policy, but at least with Pakatan Rakyat there is hope that ordinary people like us are able to participate to bring about the right changes.

PKR have proved their performance in Selangor to increase profit to state govermnet by 4% (if I am not mistaken). I can say all these calculation -5% near the real result. We must do our best to make people realize what seem so blur to them about this bloody oil income-spending.

http://redssays.********.com
written by twg19492008, June 22, 2008 13:03:23
If this bombshell about Ours' Oil Revenue (REPEAT ... OURS..the Rakyat's !!!) , the latest Altantuya Bomb Blast Revelation and SAPP's Motion of No Confidence ARE still not enuf to wake up ALL TRUE MALAYSIANS to do something URGENTLY .... I, in my very limited capacity, as a Malaysian chinese having married a Malaysian Malay producing Malaysian children/rakyat, surely and really don't know what else will...SELAMAT TIDOR LAGI MALAYSIA ! Now that the ball is clearly at PAKATAN RAKYAT's court, Please do something...just my two cents worth...

haji muhammad bin abdullah @ tan wah guan

written by hksp, June 22, 2008 13:31:23
how much more to make the rakyat wake up ?!
written by mgeo, June 22, 2008 16:06:37
Petronas Chairman initally announced that the accumulated payment to govt. was RM 359 billion, not 336 billion.

2008 Malaysian estimates at 5/6/08 prices [based on info from humblevoice.********.com]:
..Crude imports, claimed by govt. = 183 million barrels x USD 130 x RM 3.3 = RM 78.5 billion
..Assumption: refining 1 barrel or 158 litres of crude yields 73.8 liters of petrol & diesel, excluding jet fuel, kerosine, gas, bitumen etc.
..Petrol & diesel consumption = 183 million barrels x 73.8 litres = 13.5 billion litres
..Assumption: petrol & diesel assumed to be produced & consumed in equal amounts.
..Total cost of petrol & diesel, based on cost/litre claimed by govt. = (RM 3.00 RM 2.82) / 2 x 13.5 billion litres = RM 39.3 billion
..Calculated subsidy for petrol & diesel based on subsidy/litre claimed by govt. = RM 0.30 x 13.5 billion litres = RM 4.1 billion
..Total subsidy for petrol, diesel, gas claimed by govt. = RM 56 billion
.. Balance RM 51.9 billion may gas subsidy, largely for IPPs, small amount for domestic use.

Petronas exports = 237 million barrels x USD 134 x RM 3.3 = RM 104 billion
Petronas payment to govt. (in same ratio as for the accumulated figures 336:547) = RM 63.9 billion

Balance with govt. after paying subsidy as claimed = RM 63.9 billion - RM 56 billion = RM 8.1 billion

Other related govt. income:
- Tax on foreign petroleum co's mining here - included in & collected by Petronas?
- Tax on non-Petronas retailers of fuel - nil?
- Taxes from promoting highways & cars instead of buses: toll tax, vehicle purchase tax, AP tax, road tax = ???
written by amat2amin, June 22, 2008 22:27:41
Dear Humblevoice,

I believe you are a man of integrity, judging by the way you write. I hope you can reevaluate your statement below and I quote,

"Is that a fair contribution to the government? I will be eagerly waiting for Petronas' supposedly full disclosure. I don't give much hope that the full disclosure will reveal details like why some big shots get to live like kings with private jets and helicopters, but it should give some basis for some intelligent guess-nalysis."

I don't think you should take Lim Guang Eng's word as the truth. That is the impression I'm getting by the way you presented the sentence above. I posted this comment that I get from lester chan blog. Its from Aiman Ismail. It's worth considering that what has been said is slander and is unfair to the victim. (see part2)

written by amat2amin, June 22, 2008 22:30:11
(part 2)
aiman ismail
Dear Lester,

Now that PETRONAS has explained, I feel it’s the Government’s turn now to do its bit. It has been doing a poor job at trying to educate the public on why fuel subsidies have to be reduced so much and so drastically. But judging from what I have read and heard, I’m not sure how many of our so-called elected leaders (both from the BN and Opposition camps) understand enough about the industry to accurately and responsibly explain the situation to their constituents.

The past few days, we also heard and read allegations made by the Penang Chief Minister YAB Lim Guan Eng about PETRONAS. Personally, I feel most of these allegations are incitement or “hasutan” in nature (and casts doubts over his “YAB” status). He claims that PETRONAS has private jets and helicopters, and PETRONAS’ officials live lavishly like kings in huge mansions.

I don’t know which PETRONAS’ officials he is talking about. A lot of people know that Tan Sri Hassan and his family stay in a modest house in a very lower middle-class area in Ampang. Even some taxi drivers who have had to drive staff to his house expressed their disbelief that he actually lives there.

Yes, he does travel for business by a time-share leased jet. But I guess I wouldn’t expect him to fly commercial – with various flight connections, potential delays or cancellations – when he has meetings, negotiations and billion-dollar deals to make. Time is of the essence, so is safety, I guess.

written by amat2amin, June 22, 2008 22:31:26
part3

The late Tan Sri Azizan lived in Segambut. When he passed away, from the pictures I saw in news papers and visuals I caught on TV, his house looked very old, and extremely modest.

Helicopters? PETRONAS doesn’t own any. When staff go to work offshore, they take (and PETRONAS pays the fare) helicopters owned and operated by Malaysian Helicopter Services. I guess they’d have to take helicopters sebab saya rasa tak berapa sesuai kalau nak naik sampan. Nanti lambat sampai and silap haribulan tak sampai langsung, you know, high seas and all…..

Looking at Mr. Lim’s continuous attacks, I’m led to believe that he might have a personal agenda against Tan Sri Hassan. A little bird told me that the two of them used to work together in an accountancy firm long ago. Could there be old grugdes at play here? I don’t know. Lester, may be you could do a bit of research to find out whether this is true.

To all staff of PETRONAS, I salute you. Go on and do what you’re entrusted to do to the best of your ability. Don’t get dragged into issues that could distract you from doing your amanah.

By the way, Lester, I used to be a business journalist when Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was in power. Almost everyday I had to cover him, week in and week out for 2-3 years. It was an eye opening experience indeed — it gave clues and glances into what type of person he was, and what type of person he could become. What I can say to you is, he is not always what he seems or says he is…

And your opinion about giving him a chance? He did have his chance, remember? What did he do? Not much. I can’t even remember a single good thing that he did. What I remembered most about him was the expensive suits he wore everyday– Boss, Cerrutti etc. Sorry, Lester, I simply don’t have any good thing to say about him.

I know there has been a lot of discussions about PETRONAS’ accounts. Under the present law and accounting standards, PETRONAS’ accounts as presented in its annual reports are as detailed as they could be, meeting all requirements and standards. Mr. Lim Guan Eng should know, if he was indeed an accountant before. Even my sister, who is a retired accounts clerk (yes, clerk), understands all this.

One more thing before I end my long comment. People are asking why can’t PETRONAS pick up the subsidy tab with its profits? Actually PETRONAS has been doing that, through the money it pays to the Government. For every RM1 profit that PETRONAS made for the past 33 years, 65 sen was returned to the Government, a portion of which went to subsidies.

I was having lunch earlier with a friend, and we sort of discussed this. We thought perhaps it’s time someone in the Government, perhaps from the Economic Planning Unit, came forward and table out how the Government spent/spends its money. Like how much has been spent on subsidies — yup, it subsidises a lot of things (rice, cooking oil, fertilisers, fuels, etc etc so that Malaysians could continue to live in an artificial low price bubble). Perhaps then people could see why a lot of things could not be implemented, because a lot of fund is being “locked” for subsidies.

lester's reply:
It is good to hear from you that your boss lives a modest lifestyle. Soft spoken as he is, I’m sure what you commented is correct. If the rest of the allegations by opposition politicians of lavish spendings or misuse of funds in Petronas are not true, perhaps there’s no reason for Hassan Merican to be afraid to cooperate with public requisitions and allow the P&Ls opened for inspection. In the interest of business secrecy or national security, no one is suggesting for the books to be published on the Internet. And I believe our legislators are more than prepared to take over from what have been started. Today, we have equal representation in our Parliamentary PAC, headed by a BN MP and his deputy from Pakatan Rakyat. If the books are handled by the PAC, I’m sure secrecy as well as fair treatment can be ensured. Anyway, your manner and strong sense of diplomacy in your comments is greatly appreciated.

written by yeechut, June 23, 2008 00:20:39
Dear amat2amin,

Thank you for you contributions to the discussions. I have posted a reply in my blog:

written by yeechut, June 23, 2008 00:21:21
Sorry the link is here
written by yeechut, June 23, 2008 00:22:18
Sorry, try again
http://humblevoice.********.com/2008/06/mystery-of-our-vanising-oil-money.html
written by SocratesI, June 23, 2008 04:54:35

You are absolutely correct in your calculations, RPK ! This is why Maha-Shithead is after Bodohwi's blood, too. Although Maha-Shithead has taken our Judiciary away, and squandered many billions on white elephant projects like Putrajaya, Proton, etc. he was only known as Mr. 10% and never more.

But this most greedy SOB known as Bodohwi has been raising the bar to 30%, 49% and some cases, 51%, partly influenced by his SIL also. Maha-Shithead knows that this is untenable in the long run and Malaysia would crumble like a cookie, which is why he is working so hard to depose Bodohwi. He feels that it is his fault since he appointed Bodohwi and that is why he wants him replaced AT ALL COSTS, but not with his nemesis, Anwar !

KJ & Bodohwi has been plundering at a much higher rate than Maha-Shithead ever had, but of course Maha-Shithead having so many skeletons in his cupboard cannot openly say this. What I have disclosed above is from the inner circle of both Bodohwi & Maha-Shithead.

That is why I have always supported Pakatan RAKYAT as the lesser of 2 evils and always said that the oil increase should never have happened. All the money went to Bodohwi & KJ, and there is no doubt in my mind.

written by amat2amin, June 24, 2008 01:15:16
Dear humblevoice,

I read your reply in your blog. I took the liberty of producing part of it here.

"This article only represents one person quest for the truth. I apologize for any mistakes and misconceptions that I conveyed."

Your willingness to reevaluate your perception (after being presented with an alternative view) confirms what I said earlier that you have integrity. We need more bloggers like you. and humblevoice suited you well as your cyberidentity