Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow SAPP Wants Back Labuan

SAPP Wants Back Labuan PDF Print
Saturday, 21 June 2008 16:09

In line with its no confidence move against on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) has also issued an 8-point demand to the Federal government, one of which is for the return of Labuan to Sabah.

"The party's mission to come up with the declarations is to establish a trustworthy government, a progressive, just and harmonious society," said SAPP’s president Yong, Teck Lee, after the party’s emergency supreme council meeting in Kota Kinabalu yesterday which confirmed its no confidence move.

The declarations endorsed by the supreme council are:

1. That the government shall be of the people-based on good governance and civil society and non-racial politics based on a progressive, just and harmonious society;
  2. That Sabah shall have political autonomy whereby the government shall be formed and run by the people of Sabah;
  3. That Sabah and other oil-producing states shall be entitled to a 20% petroleum royalty;
  4. That the Labuan Federal Territory be returned to Sabah and be governed as a special region;
  5. That unfair and imprudent federal laws extended to Sabah and federal departments which are to the detriment of the state be reviewed;
  6. That Sabah shall be given fair and just participation in the federal administration, the civil service and private sector, and that the federal department in Sabah shall as far as possible be headed by local Malaysians;
  7. That the federal and state governments shall put in sufficient resources, potential will and leadership in solving the illegal immigrants' problem in a firm but humane way, with emphasis on regonal concepts and smart partnerships;
  8. That the federal and state governments shall together work on redressing in-built structural imbalances in the economic and social structure of the country affecting Sabah and other states.

Yong said the declarations would be tabled by the party at a Convention next month. (MySinchew)

written by Rashid, June 21, 2008 16:18:49
We will talk about Labuan later. No need to discuss it for now. More pressing issues are there.
written by ahmadneil, June 21, 2008 16:20:16
Mr Yong Labuan is a island of illegal immigrants,thieves,extremist who roam the streets at nite.They have pratically turn the island into PULAU HARAM
written by ksmaniam, June 21, 2008 16:26:05
Gentlemen, I think Mr Yong is bargaining. Now everyone knows what he wants, including UMNO...BN and their MP's, so if they give him, he may not leave. So, it's not AAB personally he is attacking, its the whole show. Otherwise Mr Yong will look for greener pastuers. The game is on, gentleman.
Let us see if BN can play his game or create a new game and ask Yong to play their game.
written by panca, June 21, 2008 16:27:56
written by ahmadneil, June 21, 2008 | 16:20:16
Mr Yong Labuan is a island of illegal immigrants,thieves,extremist who roam the streets at nite.They have pratically turn the island into PULAU HARAM

Flush them out! We are fighting tooth and nail claiming no-man land(island) with neighbouring countries whereas "we lost it when we already have it".

The Leaders of the last 2 decades had been the same breed of PULAU HARAM, for without them these would not have happened, Pulau Haram!
written by panca, June 21, 2008 16:30:06
BTW, Dato Harris sold away Labuan through corrupted practices with Mamak!
written by jjireh99, June 21, 2008 16:36:37
this reminds me of the "ROCK" which we lost to Singapore. Imagine, fighting over a rock?? Too late now, isn't it Sultan?? That's the problem with Malaysians, don't care attitude. When what is rightfully ours goes to another, we suddenly jump and start shouting. NO SHAME, really!!!

Coming back to Labuan, I also feel that this problem should have been arrested long, long, long time ago. Too little, too late, you say?? Well, depending on how capable we are. The only major problem I can see are the legal thieves. It will take a strong and mighty wind to blow all these to INDONESIA and PHILLIPINES.
written by ahmadneil, June 21, 2008 16:43:22
My friend went to Labuan the other day and he call on the cell phone to say that you cannot walk the streets at nite without being harassed by the Philippino prostitutes.So leave it to umno co's they need it for their BOOT CAMP
written by daniel, June 21, 2008 16:47:08
Yes get Labuan back b4 it becomes a shithole! Look at KL FT and you know what is in store!
written by shangrilapeace, June 21, 2008 16:48:45
We have Penang & Selangor as very good examples of a welcome state government in Malaysia that is not led by BN but PR.
If your demands are met, will SAPP still remain in BN?
Are you having confidence in running the State yourself?
Or do SAPP & Sabanans want to have the many goodies that especially
Selangor & Penang (and 3 other PR States) are enjoying now?
written by Food Thought, June 21, 2008 16:57:33
YTL, we know you know everyone knows that your demands will be shredded into the recycle bin when it reaches those mat rempits at 4th floor but HECK! I agree will all your points especially point no.3.
written by ibabonma, June 21, 2008 16:59:23
UMNO plants the the Philippino prostitutes to encourage more tourists, from Middle East especially, to visit Malaysia.
written by Tompios, June 21, 2008 17:07:35
Oh Come on Man! If Labuan and the Islanders keep want to stay as a Federal teritory that should be fine. I just want to ask the government of Sabah to give special treatment for Labuanist-treat them as an outsider. They must show their passport whenever they come to visit mainland Sabah.

This is basic rule of '20 Matters' Sabah join Malaya's idependant day. MUST show PASSPORT everytime they come for Sabah.
written by MalaysianUnited, June 21, 2008 17:10:11
Guys, kenapa sekarang mahu menuntut?..kenapa tidak 20 tahun lalu?..apa ini?

YTL kata nak tuntut sekarang sebab kalau akhir tahun ada banyak perayaan etc dan kemudian isu Sabah akan dilupakan..this is ur man and DAP want him to become CM?..

Firstly, Sabah lack of good leaders. Ini realiti..kalau sekarang PM bagi 20% royalti minyak untuk diuruskan oleh kerajaan Sabah, anda dapat rasakan apa yang berlaku?..dan siapa yang rugi?..penduduk Sabah.
written by arazak, June 21, 2008 17:41:18
No, no,no.... Mr Yong,you are dreaming!

There is no way Sabah will get 20% royalty from the petroleum suck out of Sabah territory. The money belong to UMNO, their families and cronies. You see... this was what had happened to Terengganu petroleum royalty... it goes to the 4th floor goons and cronies such as Patrick Badawi.

Remember when the PR MPs tried to raise the issue in the Parliment to increase the royalty for petroleum robbed from Terengganu's ocean, it did not even pass through the speaker of the Parliment. Ironically,the speaker is also an East Malaysian.

The moral of the story is...,all the nations wealth belong to UMNO, their 4th floor goons and their cronies. smilies/sad.gif
written by Zym Zym, June 21, 2008 18:25:32
Labuan is a legitimate haven for the corrupted politicians to siphon out their money elsewhere. You guys still don't get it?
written by docselva, June 21, 2008 19:22:03
Labuan will remain as FEDERAL TERRITORY OF LABUAN because the Central or Federal Govt need to reflect its authority in paper.(remember a neighbouring country 'claim' on Sabah)

Remember this,whether we are from Semenanjung or from Malaysian Borneo,

WE ARE ALL MALAYSIANS,

BUT individual states in Malaysia have their own decision in their respective states,but matters pertaining to foreign affairs and national defence rely on a RESPONSIBLE central goverment.
written by hiro, June 21, 2008 20:41:37
Yong is just talking lar. He needs the excuse to get out of BN. So how else to do it but to ask for the Sun and the stars so that there is no way any PM could reach a compromise with him.

Anwar should be careful of him. In fact, it would be foolish for Yong to be made DPM. Chief Minister of Sabah maybe lar.
written by Bigdawg, June 21, 2008 22:55:13
Federal gomen may choose to ignore YTL, very well.

While Sabah morphs itself into MOROSABAH.

Damned Project IC and damn UMNO.
written by The Hammer, June 22, 2008 00:14:28
Yes, if Sabah can get Labuan, then Selangor can get back KL! Semua boleh!
written by SoundMan, June 22, 2008 00:41:52
What do we remember of Yong Teck Lee as a politician?

In the nine years of PBS he was noted as a dirty street fighter wrestling with the Chau Teh 'Mr. 10%'On for the Chinese leadership in Sabah.

Then as Chief Minister in the 'musical seat' game Mahathir Mohammed played, Yong was known primarily for parceling unique parts of Sabah to his many 'water carrier' friends and families. For example, only active public resistance fouled his plans to turn favourite picnic park Tanjung Aru into another ugly concrete jungle of hotels, placing it effectively out of reach for ordinary people. However, not before parts of the lovely park was turn to a 'water carrier' of Sugarbun franchise fame to tarmac, concrete & build much of what today is sadly deteriorating poorly maintained dump. When once Kota Kinabalu folks sought escape for a little bit of God's nature, today they move from one concrete environment to another. Where once prices were fair, now 'franchise' owners fleece all and sundry starting at car park through to food.

Not even the waterfront areas from of Kota Kinabalu throuh to the Likas villages were spared from gift parceling to favourites. Chong Kah Kiat as CM took the task on the peoples' behalf to cancel much of these "deals".

Yong is an ambitious political beast. If he has the best interest for Sabah, he should have initiated the following deals;

The best deal Sabahan can have is to ask and get the right to have elected official right from the village chiefs though to district, town and city officials. Screw this governmental appointment system practiced today, which allows for a multitude of unlawful deals being struck without nary public knowledge.

Little good in Kuala Lumpur giving away oil royalties of 20% when the elected leadership will only gamble it all away in 'show' projects, when they have not shown any ability thus far in managing the billions from timber and copper production.

May the ACA have a field day with YTL.

written by Hakim Joe, June 22, 2008 01:19:55
And you can expect the answers from Bodowi like this:

1) It will definitely be people-based, just so happens that it is going to be more MY people than yours. Definitely non-racial...it's all for BN-putras.

2) No problem. I'll just have to rename all my stooges from their Malay names to Iban and Kadazan names. I'll have to fix up their Birth Certs though but that's not going to be a problem. Just have to pass them to Najis, afterall he can change immigration records with just a snap of his fingers.

3) 20% royalty is NO problem. That is of course AFTER I make all the producing oil fields into federal territories. I'll even be more generous. I'll give you 50% royalties on non-producing areas.

4) Can easily return Labuan to you...after I declare an emergency confined to that area. You are asking me how long will the emergency last? Maybe when Khairy becomes PM...

5) No problems. I will personally sit as the Chairman of this reviewing board which coincidentally consist of me, Najis and Khairy. By the way, the next meeting is scheduled in 2020. DECEMBER 2020.

6) You want Federal Gomen seats? No problem. By the way, I just created 10 new Federal Ministries. They are the Ministry of Public Waste (meaning shit) Works, Ministry of German culture, Ministry of Leg Massage Centres, Ministry of Paper Clips Pushing, Ministry of Roti Canai Making, Ministry of Complaints Against Astro, Ministry of Deep Sea Diving, Ministry of Bullshitting, Ministry of Hot Gas and Ministry of Photocopying Paper Supply. Guess what...you are so damned lucky....

7) No problem about the supply of sufficient resources. I'll send over 50,000 containers of all types of sauces - Maggi, Soya, Chilly, Tomato etc. As for those illegal immigrants, I'll transport them to Labuan.

smilies/cool.gif Easily done. They will be equal - just like the "dacing" on the BN logo. On one side is BN. On the other side is ALL you fellas. How more equal can one be? No more imbalances. BN take RM1, you all component parties can share the other RM1.
written by Ahjamal, June 22, 2008 05:45:22
As much as the Sultan of Johor wants the White Rock back so it is rithtful for
Sabahan to get Labuan back as part of Sabah. The one that prepers Labuan out of Sabah is the UMNO/PM of Labuan . To me he is just his pocket and the most corrupted MP that I have ever seen. Ask any one of Labuan they will agree to what I have said.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 22, 2008 10:24:39
Tompios says: “… If Labuan and the Islanders keep want to stay as a Federal teritory that should be fine… ask the government of Sabah to give special treatment for Labuanist-treat them as an outsider. They must show their passport whenever they come to visit mainland Sabah. .”

This is EXACTELY the attitude of UMNOputra. Totally NO RESPECT for what the majority of the people (in this case the Labuanites) wants. Aren’t we bloggers here fighting for this right in Malaysia? The RIGHT to chose!
Sabah, through years of exploitations and abuses by politicians, is as poor as a church mouse and cannot afford to help prop-up Labuan’s economy. Without the huge amount of Federal aids, Labuan is doomed to be a very insignificant island. If the Federal government, back in 1990 or so (not quite sure of date) did not forbid SHELL company from moving the oil storage facilities to be centralized in Bintulu, Labuan would had died then and there.
The presence of foreign entertainment girls is a necessity for the economy of Labuan. Who would want to visit Labuan if it has no duty free (which is a bit of a bull shit) liquor, cigarettes, active nigh life, and gambling tax free? No, Sabah cannot afford to keep Labuan as it is a high price “mistress”!

SoundMan, thank you for that brief and enlightening history of Yong. Perhaps fellow bloggers will now see that Yong is most definitely not an angel of mercy for Sabah.
written by CPY, June 22, 2008 10:44:45
BTW, is Labuan important for Sabahan? Pls explain. IMHO, we need another FT in Borneo after Labuan retrocedded to Sabah.
written by ahmadneil, June 22, 2008 11:25:07
We the people of Labuan wants the island to be called THE REPUBLIC OF LABUAN,a new duty free country whereby living in peace and harmony with its neighbour.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 22, 2008 12:16:51
CPY, says:
"BTW, is Labuan important for Sabahan? Pls explain. IMHO, we need another FT in Borneo after Labuan retrocedded to Sabah".

Should be "revert back to the heirs of the Sultan of Sulu". Remember that the claims is still brewing just waiting to be another 'batu puteh".