Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Yong Accuses Abdullah Of Political Bribery

Yong Accuses Abdullah Of Political Bribery PDF Print
Saturday, 21 June 2008 16:06

Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) President Yong Teck Lee Friday (20 June) said he was a senatorship and an envoy’s post by the Prime Minister's Department on Tuesday (17 June), a day before he declared that the party had lost confidence in the leadership of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

The former chief minister said he regarded the offer as "political bribery" to stop him from voicing out issues related to Sabah, Bernama reported.

"The offer was delivered to me through the chief minister. He (the chief minister) said that if I agree, the prime minister would make the announcement.

"I said I'm going to reject it even if the announcement is made... so it won't be nice," he told reporters in Kota Kinabalu.

Yong was asked to comment on a statement by Abdullah yesterday that he had offered the two posts to the SAPP president.

"There is nothing personal but I'm surprise when he (the prime minister) mentioned about personal greed... I've never asked for personal things from the prime minister.

"The senatorship is suggested by the chief minister. I said, fine but I rather not accept it because people would see it as an attempt to shut me up. So it's not true that I had personal greed.

"I also said that if it is true, let other SAPP leaders who are qualified (to be offered the posts)," he said.

He also questioned what he said was the "perfect timing" for a corruption case to surface. Its is an attempt to cultivate a climate of fear," he told reporters after chairing the SAPP supreme council meeting.

The Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) said today it was investigating Yong over an alleged bribery case involving RM5 million when he was the chief minister in 1996.

This was following a revelation in the Kuala Lumpur High Court yesterday that Yong had ordered the payment of over RM5 million profit from the sale of shares belonging to a state-owned company to his selected agents in 1996.

Yong said: "In this particular investigation, the ACA had taken my statements four or five years ago. I don't know how many hours I was at the ACA office, don't tell me it has suddenly resurfaced Saturday (21 June).

"The timing is perfect," he said. (MySinchew)

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Rashid, June 21, 2008 16:17:23
Yet they accuse you of corruption. Obviously after you refused to play ball and acted according to the Higher Call and listened to the cries of Sabah and it is hapless people who live in utter despair and wallowing in abject poverty. Be End (BN) is a corruption entity. Curse be upon them.

written by rajaphillips, June 21, 2008 16:17:43
Mr Yong, we just hope that your hands are as clean as Ustaz Hadi Awang, Lim Kit Siang, Guan Eng, Karpal Singh OR ELSE THEY WILL KILL YOU
written by wshamsudin, June 21, 2008 16:20:51
Bro Yong' pls understand, the moment u are against them, they will come after your back. They will do anything to get you.They controls everything.By the way i think the Rakyat knows WHO IS THE FATHER OF CORRUPTION AND NEPOTISM. Go on Bro Yong, the Rakyat of Sabah ( exclude UMNO/BN leaders ) will support and pray for you. Once you go, many will follow...
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 21, 2008 16:23:44
Mr. Yong, if you have nothing to hide, then you have absolutely nothing to fear, right?
Well, we wait and see what our PM will chose to highlight your political career, especially when you were one of the rotating CM of Sabah. It should be an interesting, "This is your Life" TV soap opera.
written by uxzee, June 21, 2008 16:23:51
This is definitely to create a climate of fear, a warning to potential BN MPs who plan to jump ship. But if a few more daring MPs do jump, then AAB's premiership is over. As we get closer to the end of the game, the moves get tougher .
written by shan, June 21, 2008 16:28:41

BE BRAVE,MY MAN, WE WILL BE THERE
written by howiseveryone, June 21, 2008 16:33:32
so, is ACA gona act swiftly to investigate on Yong's statement that our PM offered him political bribery since they responded so lightning fast to bribery allegations against Yong yesterday, surprisingly, 2 days after he made the no-confidence announcement?
written by jjireh99, June 21, 2008 16:41:33
typical of BN gomen. When they want to use you for their gain, they will compromise and help you hide your misdeeds. When you turn against them, they'll whip out your file/s. So, it's true that all PMs have got a thick file on everyone just in case they do not toe the line for them. Good.
written by jchew, June 21, 2008 16:57:40
ACA says if there is enough evidence, they will investigate od any political bribery, dare ACA to investigate ABD!
written by rakyatbiasa, June 21, 2008 17:00:20
Personal greed? AAB does not know a better word?
Who is greedier? politician himself? politician's wife? or policitician's son-in-law?
written by arazak, June 21, 2008 17:11:29
For the Sabahan people, the "pop" up investigation by ACA will only make Yong a "matyr".Whatever this Bodohwi does will backfire to his "KL-axis" administration. If he miscalculates, it will snowball into a state-wide discontent for Sabahan against the Bodohwi's KL administration.
written by Tompios, June 21, 2008 17:11:48
Bodoh punya Musa Aman! Umumnya pemimpin non-Moslem di negeri Sabah bukan budak-budak lagi. Bagi gula2 berhenti menangis. Totol is the best word for Abdullah Badawi. Nama Abdullah (Hamba Allah) tapi suka bagi RASUAH.

Orang Malaya ini betul2lah buat bengang orang Sabah. Korang fikir orang Sabah benar2 berotak dangkal dan bagi gula2 pemanis mulut?

written by shangrilapeace, June 21, 2008 17:14:36
We understand you are very pressured currently from many sources. As "Rainbowseahorse"
wrote and I agreed. If you are clean, fear none.
But you have to stay very, very focus on your party SUPP & what Sabanans wanted.
Not you or other SAPP leaders want.
Concentrate and lead your beloved people for a better life.
written by ibabonma, June 21, 2008 17:21:33
Dollah Bodoh-wi samseng kampung yang tersesat di Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur..
written by apa jadi, June 21, 2008 19:14:56
Political bribery? Political ransom?

If you are clean, the senator post is a form of bribery for toeing the line.

If you are not clean, the ACA investigation is a form of ransom for going against the Federation.
written by benny loh, June 21, 2008 19:39:02
Fires everwhere soon..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-soon.html
written by sarawakian, June 21, 2008 19:48:37
whatever character a person has been in the past should not be used to judge him now. Yong and Anwar and many other BN leaders may have past deeds but if they now wish to work for the good of the people, by all means let them do it. if they prove this new move is another deceit, then the rakyat can take them down again.

written by Msian 2, June 21, 2008 20:30:11
How come ACA act so fast??? Funny. How come other high profile cases like C4, Taib, Musa not investigated inspite of bloggers day in & out mentioning about these goons stealing govt & country resources ? Looks like its pick & chose. Now Badawi got to be investigated too - political bribery is just as bad. This govt leadership never seems to learn & have depth -- always blaming others when the individuals do it themselves. Cheating the public again. New govt needed so badly. Just can't wait.
written by SamBall, June 21, 2008 21:01:59
aiyoyo, kawan. As someone posted, 5M MYR charge for bribery (albeit suddenly coming live) while no small matter, also need to put into perpective lah.

I don't condone brobery or corruption, and I do not know this case well.

But really, 5M MYR is kacang putih compared to the massive rape of Sabah by UMNO/BN. Let's see; say at 400K BBLs/day at 100 US per BBL(give or take) = 40M MYR/day.

I hear Sabah is getting 5% back. Aiyah, if this is not getting ****ed with eyes open, I don't know what is. Pak Lah is just screwing Sabahans, and he is asking you to thank him for it.

DSAI promising 20%; even he wants to screw Sabah, albeit less. Sabahans should get, not ask 100%.

I wonder how much Sabah has been raped by UMNO/BN all these years.
written by hiro, June 21, 2008 21:09:47
This came out in the Star just:

"Barisan is like a family. They (SAPP) are like a son who wants to remain in the family but cannot get along with the father," Tengku Adnan.

==================================

Not surprising. This is how UMNO treats SAPP - like a son. Not even a brother/sibling - and first amongst equals - no pretensions of equality, of same rank.

It's a relationship of adult giving instruction, and disciplining the children. Such a parochial mindset. It's like when Yong is not happy, he's given a senatorial lolipop.

Yeah. This is how BN works. The sooner we rid of them the better.
written by temanmu, June 21, 2008 21:48:29
ACA : Pls investigate Musa Aman & AAB too!
written by Sribayu, June 21, 2008 23:30:41
In M'sia corruption is like a road; there was never a road, but when many people walk on it, the road comes into existence.

Pak Lah = Mamak Det
written by Hakim Joe, June 22, 2008 00:51:36
Wonder why the ACA did not investigate Bodowi and Najis?
written by InEffective, June 22, 2008 00:53:48
Looks like the Rakyat have to start brandishing their "Carrots & Sticks" to the PM and the BN politicians.

First steps is to re-balance the power structure of governing and opposition politicians.
(ie cripple the incumbents and boost the opposing).
That way the Rakyat' gets back the power and influence over the politicians.

Tired of this politicians playing Master and rakyat being slaves - all dysfunctional behavior.

No contributions from the politicians - absolutely useless...
written by Ahjamal, June 22, 2008 05:37:49
Dato Yong, when your were with UMNO/BN you look at them as Boss forgeting the Sabahan enjoying your projects and position. Now you are left out you start to champion the rights of Sabahan. By your doing it is good at least you have a recall . I have been watching you and the rest of the UMNO Mps and Aduns. That Pairin is the chief of Kadasan/dusun he prepers to allow his people to compete with illegal Project IC sitting side by side,He knows this I am sure. Sad to
look in the National TV that he bad mouth Dato.
written by gctham, June 22, 2008 10:52:01
A bribe can only perform and complete with minimum 2 parties, one is the giver and the other party is the taker. Next it must with a motive from both parties,and the motive must be illegal or immoral. Now Yong was offer, there is an offeror, and the target YTL, if he take is the offeree. Of course the motive must be proven must in most cases the evidence on the ill motive is the most difficult part to proof.

Let no indulge into ACA investigation or stuff like that. Let talk politically, and timing and the issues concern when this offer was made. So it is a form of bribe and the answer will be different with different people as different people will have different perception. Set aside individual perception and let talk about general perception. When you are talking in Malaysia perception, then I believe the answer to whether this offer is a political bribery is obvious.
written by shiokguy, June 22, 2008 12:46:19
** UMNO OUT of Sabah **

Bottom line is UMNO should be out of sabah!
We do not need MCA, MIC, PKR, DAP in Sabah! Sabah for Sabahan!
BTW I am from Sarawak... My feeling is the same that EAST Malaysian has been taken a ride by the federal since independent. My opinion la!

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by shiokguy, June 22, 2008 13:22:02
** 50% more please **

Dear MT reader,
The bottom line is Sabah and Sarawak need to have more of it share of natural resource. Give back to Sabah and Sarawak now, whatever left of it...

http://shiokguy.********.com/