Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Where are all the money from taxes going to?

Where are all the money from taxes going to? PDF Print
Saturday, 21 June 2008 15:17

An average Malaysian, besides food and his silly car loan, spends the bulk of his money on Education and Health. However, in a country which is so rich in resources and wealth, I cannot see why the Governemnt is not buidling more hospitals and universities and actually providing free Healthcare and free Education.

In comparison, the UK has double the population of Malaysia but it has hundreds of Universities and hundreds of free NHS hospitals.

Our government gets a lot of revenue from sources that other social state countries like the UK don't i.e. like high taxes from cars. Some writer in Malaysia-Today did some calculations and estimated that since the inception of high car taxes, the taxes collected from cars alone would be some RM170 billion to date.
(http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/8763/84/)

Malaysia is rich in resources. In fact, many say Malaysia is one of the richest countries in the world with natural resources, for example, oil, gas, oil palm, rubber, tin, gold. UK does not have all these luxuries. For a country that is as rich as ours, why are there so few hospitals and universities?

We are fortunate to have oil revenue. For the financial year ended March 31, 2007 (FY07), Petronas alone posted a net profit of RM46.4bil (and that is the old oil price). This year, how much? RM100 billion
maybe?

And mind you that the RM46.4 bil is net profit; meaning that tens of billions have already been paid in tax to the Government. This is just one company. What about the hundreds of companies listed on the Bursa
which pays billions in taxes? Company tax is a very good source of revenue for the Government.

Khazanah, the recent investment arm of the government, recently announced that its net worth is now RM53 billion. Khazanah owns substantial stakes in companies. By holding large amount of shares, I
am sure it gets hundreds of millions in dividends.

The same with the EPF. The EPF invests the Rakyat's money. Besides giving interest on our balance, it makes a substantial profit.

I do not want to elaborate on Sales Tax though it is a substantial form of revenue but I would like to touch on Stamp Duty. I remember paying about RM20,000 in Stamp Duty when I bought my house recently.
And I am just one person. What about the thousands who transact property everday? Thousands of Sale and Purchase agreements for properties are done daily.

Stamp duty alone is this formula

i) for the 1st RM100,000.000 - 1% i.e. 1/100 x RM100,000.00 = RM1,000.00

ii) for the next RM400,000.00 or part thereof - 2% i.e. 2/100 x RM400,000.00=RM8,000.00

iii) above RM500,000.00 - 3% i.e. 3/100 x any sum above RM500,000.00

So, the government makes loads of money from just Stamp Duty alone. Maybe its high time a substantial sum is channeled to building more Universities and Hospitals.

Don't forget Personal Income Tax which also brings in billions. The list goes on, House Assessment, Quit Rent, Road tax etc.

Malaysia is blessed with few calamities. Unlike other coutries where there are earthquakes and tornados which need billions to rectify damages, we don't have to fork out a lot of money for repair of existing infrastructure or aid victims of calamities.

Where is all the revenue going to?

Ganesh

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by KC Chew, June 21, 2008 15:29:41
Gone to BN's pocket
written by LACOBRA, June 21, 2008 15:35:17
How about our SOCSO money?
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 21, 2008 15:37:04
I think the UMNO gang wants you to stop highlighting such "unimportant" facts and figures. Makes our PM head more "pening" lah! As it is, old Pak Lah has trouble keeping up with the past 22 years events under Tun M, and now more figures to crunch, world economics, that Yong & Raja Petra thing, his DPM potential indictment, and on top of that, have to satisfy a new wife.
Any ordinary human being would be lying down and sleeping out of exhaustion!
written by angkasawan bocor, June 21, 2008 15:37:55
The road in front of my house has been dug, surfaced, re-dug, re-surfaced, re-dug and re-surface many times in the past few years. I have not seen any new installation or development beside the road. So I wonder why the road was dug and surfaced over and over again. That is not only wasting taxpayers' money but also causing a lot of inconveniences to the residents and the road users and endangers their lives. Is this one of the places where our money goes to?
written by mykantree, June 21, 2008 15:39:38
As is oft mentioned, it has been abused, abused and abused.In my mind, we Malaysians should be enjoying at least 3 times the standard of living that we now are; if not for the decades of financial abuses. With the rich resouces endowed upon this country and the being blessed with hardly any natural disasters that so many other countries has to go through, even the rich ones; there is absolutely no reason why Malaysia shouldn't be the riches country in the world. If not the the abuses and corruption that is so evident, and that is now being exposed regularly.
written by ahmadneil, June 21, 2008 16:08:48
They knows their days are numbered so they take everything even the toilet paper in Menara Umno's toilet
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 21, 2008 16:10:18
angkasawan bocor...hehehe..the same here near my place lah! You know how they FINALLY SOLVED the problem?...hehehe...they left the road the way it is and put up two sign boards (one at each end of that streach of road) saying "Caution- Bumpy Road Ahead". What an ingenious way for solving problem!
written by Mr Smith, June 21, 2008 16:31:04
The UMNO leaders' kitty is a bottomless pit. The money goes in there.
written by shan, June 21, 2008 16:52:42
Chief Pirate of Malaysia and family has pocketed it,what else.,.Where do you think the money for personal yatch,Aussie home and personel jet came from.Jetsetting on our money.
written by MsLim, June 21, 2008 17:12:53
the drain just outside my house is there for over 30 years and is collapsing. I've reported to the authority three times during the past 3 years but nothing is done. Just to repair the drain, no money. Infact because of the poor drainage, my house sometimes get flooded whenever there is flush rain. I've stopped making report, it's a waste of my time, because I know the matter will be ignored.
written by zul4kulim, June 21, 2008 17:39:37
Money, money, money
Must be funny
In the rich man's world
Money, money, money
Always sunny
In the rich man's world
http://1426.********.com/2008/...-have.html
written by Arubin, June 21, 2008 17:42:16
I've had to work late over the past weeks so I've been taking taxis to get home as the LRT is no longer in service. In each of the ones that I got in where the driver was chatty, they have all lamented the state of corruption in this country. A particular incident that comes to mind was when we passed by a picture of Najib and the driver immediately remarked, "Nampak tak? Makan duit banyak itu orang..."

It says something when even the working-class Malays are aware that they are being stiffed by UMNO. Come to think about it, is there anyone who stays in any city that does not believe that BN politicians are corrupt? C'mon...let's have a show of hands...is there anyone who believes they are clean and innocent of corruption?
written by hemlock, June 21, 2008 20:30:03
Come on lah, even in strife-torn Sri Lanka, there's free education and healthcare for its citizens! Shame on us! Malaysia tak boleh lah!!
written by EmEmkay, June 21, 2008 23:41:42
TDM clearly stated that 90% of taxes was/is paid by the Chinese. Non Malays pay the salary of a civil service which consist of 95% Malays.
written by ez24get, June 22, 2008 00:35:50
Yes, where have all the taxpayers moneys and moneys from Petronas gone to?

This seemed to be corroborated by the recent interview with Petronas CEO, Hassan Merican last Tuesday on TV. Hassan Merican, being very knowledgeable, has all the facts on his finger tips and he was very fluent in answering all the questions fielded to him.

He appears to be a man of principle and has kept a low profile on purpose not to antagonise the powers to be who are his boss. In the interview I noticed that he has given away a lot of unspoken inferences and body language that begs you to question his answers further.

The unspoken answers spoke louder than what was spoken by him. Unfortunately the three interviewers, lapdogs of BN, were so dense or that they are purposely acting dense that they did not probe many of the answers further.

I watched the program intensely and Merican touched on the following points which will surely beg further questions which will reveal the true nature of the BN Government:

1. According to Merican, the subsidy for petrol only started from 2004 and diesel started from 2000. Prior to that, the pump prices were higher than the market prices and therefore there were no need for subsidy by the govt.

The interviewers did not ask further if the BN govt only subsidised petrol and diesel not too long ago, it had not lost that much of money - where have all the moneys from Petronas prior to 2000 and 2004 gone to?

2. Merican also gave two examples of Saudi Arabia and Venezuela.

a) He mentioned Saudi Arabia has 24 million people, roughly the same population of Malaysia, who is wholly dependent on oil because the country is mostly desert, barren of natural resources. Saudi Arabia has no income tax, no other taxes and the citizens there enjoyed cheap petrol and a good standard of living. He stopped just at that!

The interviewers have not asked Merican further why Malaysia who is a net exporter of oil and one of the world largest producers of palm oil, rubber, at one time - tin, aquamarine products and manufacturers of electronic products has high tolls, excise duties on cars, income tax and the citizens have to pay close to the market rate of oil. Where has the Petronas money gone to?

b) He also mentioned Venezuela who has been sufferring from economic woes where its GDPs were dropping every year. Yet the citizens there enjoyed one of the cheapest oil in the world. He stopped at that!

The interviewers did not ask further why Malaysia's GDP had increased by leaps and bounds every year since the 1980s and coupled with the recent windfall profits from oil, yet the citizens here did not share in the windfall and cheap oil. Why are the citizens here worst than Venezuela and where have the Petronas contributions gone to?

Being discreet, Merican did not say anything bad about the the BN government in the interview. What he has not spoken is in fact very loud and clear - his unspoken inference is that "why ask Petronas, you should be asking the BN government where has the money gone to? It is the government who is covering up things and cheating you citizens - not Petronas!"
written by semut, June 22, 2008 05:31:32
to another projek by Barisan NasionaLah.. where else?

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by partiotic, June 22, 2008 06:35:34
If you have been to Ipoh, just go to the town field next to Ipoh club, you will see a the most expensive flag pole which cost RM1 over million. This pole was built by BN government. Is just like one screw driver cause hundred of dollars. This where our hard earn tax money gone.Where we have the money to subsidise petro.
written by CPY, June 22, 2008 10:35:04
What can we do? Keep an eye on them! smilies/angry.gif
written by Sabahfan, June 22, 2008 23:03:09
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

hey u guys.... you have forgotten kah that time when Tengku Razaleigh formed his Semangat 46, to challendge Mahafiraun?

In TV3 they tried to wreck his image by screening an interview of KULI perportly done for an Australian TV

The Tv presenter was a spunky sexy australian lady who asked him.......

Presenter: Mr Razalee, how did UMNO became so rich?

Razaleigh (speaking like an orang putih)= "ssimpale, thhey zust keep awarding contraccts to themzelfffs !!"

Hey Razaleigh, now U back in UMNO, can you please clarify if that was really you they showed in TV3 back then? how come the total silence now?

OR you just one of all the UMNOputras who have pocketed our tax money while we suffer down here struggling to live?

No money for hospital. No money for power stations, we in sabah always blackout.. BUT PLENTY OF FFFFK MONEY, 600 MILLION PER YEAR FOR NATIONAL SERVICE just to give easy contracts to yourselfffsss
written by stchin, June 23, 2008 03:17:23
Hey! let's follow RPK's advice : pay our taxes as zakat to the state government
!
written by beyonce, June 23, 2008 11:24:00
definitely goes to world's richest unemployed Kj accounts, patrick badawi and others kronis...half of the money goes down to drain...people get sick daily with higher cost of living...