Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Disciplinary Action On SAPP MPs If They Support No Confidence Vote On PM - Najib

Disciplinary Action On SAPP MPs If They Support No Confidence Vote On PM - Najib PDF Print
Saturday, 21 June 2008 00:43

(Bernama) -- The two Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) members of parliament will face disciplinary action from the Barisan Nasional (BN) if they proceed with their intention to table a motion of no-confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in Parliament on Monday.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said whatever the actions of the two, if they breached the BN disciplinary code, would result in them being penalised for breach of party discipline.

"Technically they cannot table the motion because the power lies with the speaker. It may not happen. But whatever it is, any attempt in Parliament that can be construed as breach of BN discipline, then appropriate action can be taken against them...it all depends on their actions," said Najib, who is also BN chief whip.

Speaking to reporters after chairing the cabinet committee meeting on investment and infrastructure, he said the handing over of power by Abdullah to him and the SAPP's decision to initiate a vote of no confidence on the prime minister were two separate issues.

SAPP president Datuk Yong Teck Lee declared on Wednesday that his party had lost confidence in Abdullah's leadership and it its two MPs (Sepanggar and Tawau) would support a vote of no confidence against the prime minister in the Dewan Rakyat on Monday.

The SAPP MPs are Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun (Sepanggar) and Datuk Dr Chua Soon Bui (Tawau).

At the BN emergency supreme council meeting yesterday, all other BN component parties rallied behind Abdullah, unanimously supporting the prime minister's leadership and condemned Yong for his latest move.

The SAPP supreme council after a lengthy five-hour meeting in Luyang, near Kota Kinabalu, today endorsed the decision for a vote of no confidence against Abdullah.

Najib said the handing over of power by Abdullah to him and the vote of no confidence were two separate issues, adding that whatever their decision or opinion cannot override the BN discipline.

"The BN is an institution which has clear cut procedures and disciplinary measures and actions which are known to members. It spells out clearly the do's and dont's of BN members," he said.

Najib said the BN supreme council had full powers to make any decision on the actions of any component party.

"On the role of BN Chief Whip, it is BN's policy that a member of parliament should table a motion that is detrimental to the coalition's interests and integrity.

"If the two SAPP MPs go ahead to support the no-confidence vote in parliament, they are clearly breaching the BN's code of discipline," he added.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by jchew, June 21, 2008 00:48:31
Action should also be taken against DPM on C4 case.
written by nothing less, June 21, 2008 00:50:06
Najis I think you should not bother what is going to be discussed in Parlimant, rather you should be with your wife in this time of grief ( you what I mean). It runs along the " You shall reap what you sow" lines.
written by archie, June 21, 2008 00:51:51
The two SAPP MPs are not BN members, only their party is BN member. So how is BN going to take action against them? Asking them to sit in the Opposition bench?
written by netaddict1, June 21, 2008 00:53:50
yes! take action! throw them out of bn!

.... only if you can afford to.

HAH. Contonese idiom : "Still don't know how to spell the word 'die'"
written by partiotic, June 21, 2008 01:01:45
SAPP member what sort of decition you have made, you have declare no confidant on our sleeping beauty and yet you want to remain in BN. Which mean you want 4C to be the PM. Then you are all shit. Pak Lah is the better PM then 4C.
written by chanatak, June 21, 2008 01:17:21
"Technically they cannot table the motion because the power lies with the speaker."

Technically, BN and Najib considers Pandikar Amin to be a dog, and nothing more. And here the dog is being warned that if he does not obey its master, he will be castrated. As usual, we can expect the dog to be obedient to the firm and harsh tone of command from its master.

From his record during the first Parliament sitting, we have seen how Pandikar Amin behaved as an obedient dog .... more obedient than that dog that goes by the name of Koh. Let Sabahans be the judge of the dog that they had put in Parliament.
written by hiro, June 21, 2008 01:23:00
I have two observations:
1) Why is Najib still talking about SAPP MPs in breach of discipline and action to be taken against the two? the entire SAPP Supreme council has agreed to move against the PM - any disciplinary move should be made against SAPP - I think that's what Yong is gunning for - for SAPP to be sacked so that Sabahans will be even angrier
2) As to the move being detrimental to the interest of the coalition, it can be construed in so many ways - if the PM is a liability, wouldn't a move against him be in the best interest of the coalition?

It is patently obvious that Najib is under the thumb of Badawi. Not that he's any more effective before - given his galivanting and corrupt ways - but this is really pathetic.
written by SamYap, June 21, 2008 01:37:04
If you want to know why Najib is worried about the 'no confidence vote', then you should refer to RPK's statutory declaration about Najib's wife and Altantuya.
written by shiokguy, June 21, 2008 02:27:05
I dare NAJIB and AAB to have a vote in the parliament via secret ballet..
I bet 80% of MP will vote for NO Confident!

Why need to WHIP? Sound like in the school day where the teachers are always right. I never agreed with that during my school day and I was whipped so many time by EGO headmaster who cannot tahan someone to go against him, even when he is wrong.

All MP is just like school boy? Why not all of you like me,, just be whipped and earned the respect of all the student (and for your case the people). I was a head boy then and I am the hero of the fellow student. Come on..

Be different be daring
written by Sabahfan, June 21, 2008 03:04:39
How BN gonna punish two SAPP MPs? seat them in opposition,

remove their allowances..

find or cook up offences to disqualify and call a by-election. this will be a wast of money for any candidate will win, even if its a dog against bn

punish their constituency be withdrawing projects etc...hmmmm will only make voters more angreyy...

any other suggestion please???
written by doggone, June 21, 2008 03:12:03

You guys should have seen Najis on Bernama TV mumbling about dishing out disciplinary action against the two members of SAPP. He was swaying from side to side on his seat and looking at his expression, his mind was somewhere else. The SD by RPK must have boggled his senses. No way this guy can become the PM from now on.
written by Daryl, June 21, 2008 04:43:50
Dear readers that still on the UMNO camp,

Do you guys want to have a leader for the country that cannot even control his own WIFE? Please get yourself a decent leader to work for us Malaysian. As for me the only leader can unite Malaysia and give Malaysian some credibility is DSAI or too a small extend Ku Li if his DPM is DSAI. I do not any leaders from UMNO to be in the important ministry if they jump over to PR. They need to prove themselves again that they are capable
written by sungai_kelian, June 21, 2008 05:09:56
Even if disallowed in the Dewan Rakyat, the motion of "No Confidence" has been tabled to the Rakyat and I vote (AYE). Further, now that Yong has come out to suggest that the Senatorship and Envoy post is a form of bribery to shut him up, will the ACA be investigating this claim?
written by mrgoh, June 21, 2008 05:25:16
Najib's blind and die hard loyalty to Pak Lah is growing into a cult. In fact the entire BN / UMNO is growing into a CULT. They are not interested in serving the country - they are only interested in serving the CULT.

To them UMNO/BN is their money, income, race, religion, education, resources! They are not interested in serving the country but only to serve the purpose of UMNO!

And what do you call this? A CULT! They are no different than the KKK who burned crucifixes and lynch african americans a few decades ago.
written by PAKRAK, June 21, 2008 06:37:31
Does it mean that BN's policy is for BN members to be "YES" men. What utter, rotten stupidity!
"Technicality they cannot table the motion because the power lies with the Speaker. It may not happen"......
This statement is irrelevant and uncalled for. C4 is already 'instructing' the Speaker not to allow the motion to be brought up. C4, of course with Sleepy Numbskull are preampting the Speaker and BN MP's on what to do.
written by Tom n Jerry, June 21, 2008 07:18:13
I can still empathise when a poor PTI,hungry&desperate rob & kill to get food to survive!But it doesnt make sense when a DPM*s spouse can be implicated in a murder of a mongolian beauty!Mind boggling! smilies/shocked.gif
written by myvoice, June 21, 2008 08:02:13
Najis..it's not YB Yong's personal action to vote of no confidence against pak boloh, the whole SAPP councill vote for that, so what you say now? Sack them all lah, bola tak lak kah? Surely you won't but pak boloh yes...cause deep inside your heart surely you also want to vote the same, right? cuma bola sudah hilang...takut
written by Tompios, June 21, 2008 08:26:38
It is really funny! BN go and look yourself in big mirror not the broke to pieces one! Dicipline? You must be kidding man! How about UMNO division or state who are already making statement to vote for NO CONFIDENT against the Highest Leader of UMNO? You must be kidding BN!

Sabah leaders, Pairin bagus ko pi minum tapai baliklah awal pagi ini. It is good for breaking your alchohol headache!! Jual Sabah-aku sokong Sabah dijual kepada pemimpin BerSongkok tapi Berhati 'Songkoduwo' (Hantu Liar).
written by ahmadneil, June 21, 2008 08:50:29
This is fast becoming a FAIL state.
written by capcomangel, June 21, 2008 09:59:42
1'bn say.u betray our party
2'sabah of people say.bn steal our economy come from land in sabah.

who the worst betrayer?
written by stillnotproud2bmsian, June 21, 2008 11:14:02
So wahtcha gonna do, Najib? Expel them? Whatever happened to u nafi petrol naik harga anyway? smilies/grin.gif
written by Ahjamal, June 21, 2008 11:32:39
In Africa the white man when there with a BIBLE the back man own the land. Years later the black man own the BIBLE the white man own the their land. UMNO came to Sabah to tell the Sabahan about KETUAN MELAYU, Sabahan own their 20 points . Today Sabahan get unfair biz competitions and vote with Projected IC illegal and are KETUAN MELAYU. FIRST CLASS BUMIPUTRA. Datuk Yong the Datuk Edmond Chong thank you for voicing out. That Dame Parin sold Sabahan out.
written by New Frontier, June 21, 2008 12:42:48
Najib, any diciplinary action against Rosmah?
written by urbansaint, June 21, 2008 12:50:55
I really cannot understand how this fella can say such a thing to Datuk Yong.
Its a very easy and simple understanding but this Pak Lah just couldn't get himself understand. Summor playing with the time bomb.If SAPP left and crossover to PR, they'll definitely in a deep shit. Still wanna talk abt disciplinary actions, punishment and and and greediness???
Speaking of that, lets talk abt 95% to federal govt and 5% royalty to Sabah to develop the states. Who more greedy pak lah? don't be childish la.I really hope u could read this.Be mature.

written by Bigdawg, June 21, 2008 13:29:47
BN AMNO will be responsible if one day Sabah becomes "MOROSABAH".
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 21, 2008 14:45:34
Disciplinary Action On SAPP MPs If They Support No Confidence Vote On PM - Najib

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said whatever the actions of the two, if they breached the BN disciplinary code, would result in them being penalised for breach of party discipline.

"Technically they cannot table the motion because the power lies with the speaker. It may not happen. But whatever it is, any attempt in Parliament that can be construed as breach of BN discipline, then appropriate action can be taken against them...it all depends on their actions," said Najib, who is also BN chief whip.

Wonder what they are going to do to that two SAPP MPs?
Hmmmm, knowing UMNO method, it would be to instruct their "special branch" to go through all those dossiers to dig up dirt on SAPP's MPs & top members. Let's hope SAPP MPs and senior members are clean. But as is well known, SAPP’s president Yong has that rm5 million corruption case hanging around his neck. Wonder what Yong’s underlings have hidden in their closets? Oh well, Pak Lah will soon conveniently provide us ordinary Rakyat with all the details.
written by Ngui, June 21, 2008 16:39:07
This guy only knows how to issue threats! He is useless lah.
written by tommycol, June 21, 2008 22:31:58
ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS.JUST DO IT ;I DARE YOU!!!!!!!
THEN WE'LL SEE ALL THE 'KATAK LOMPAT' smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
TRIGGER THE BOMB AND THE RAKYAT WILL GET A NEW GOVT.SOONER
SHOW US YOU HAVE BALLS!!!!!!!DON'T JUST TALK COCK!!!!!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by macanhitam, June 21, 2008 22:37:29
Disciplinary Action On Najib For Not Admitting His Part in Altantuya Murder - Najib
written by peacekeeper, June 22, 2008 13:41:15
WHY DO NAJIB ONLY WANTS TO TAKE ACTION ON THE 2 SAPP MP?? THEY JUST WANT TO TABLE A MOTION ON BADAWI! WHAT ABOUT MP JERLUN & GUA MUSANG OPENLY TELLING BADAWI TO RESIGN?? WHY NAJIB DON'T TAKE ACTION ON THESE 2 UMNO DONKEYS?? INI LAH ORANG UMNO BLOODY DOUBLE STANDARD! YOU ARE SO FAWKING COWARD NAJIB! ROSMAH MUST BE WEARING THE PANT AT HOME AND YOU THE SKIRT RIGHT!