CM post is yours if you jump, says DAP PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 12:14

(Borneo Post) - KUCHING: Democratic Action Party (DAP) has a carrot dangling for Dayak elected representatives in Barisan Nasional (BN) to try to get them to jump ship — the chief minister’s post.

The catch, however, is whoever gets to be chief minister will be for just a while because DAP has proposed a rotation system.

Such a system has failed in Sabah, efforts to try to get Dayak ‘Yang Berhormat’ to comment yesterday drew a blank as none saw it as a credible proposal.

DAP also called on the state BN’s second largest component, Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), to consider leaving the BN government.

DAP Sarawak secretary Chong Chieng Jen said BN elected representatives here should take the cue from their Sabah counterparts particularly those in Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) who declared they had lost confidence in Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s leadership.

“The two MPs from SAPP who will move a motion for a vote of no confidence on the Prime Minister in the Dewan Rakyat next Monday, they are very brave. I hope Sarawak BN MPs and state assemblymen will show the same courage,” he told reporters here yesterday.

He said DAP was offering three main agenda to BN elected representatives to join them: increased oil royalty from the meagre five per cent to 20 per cent; a rotation system for the chief minister’s post between Dayaks, Malays and Chinese; and total reform of land policy.

“As the biggest opposition party in Sarawak, we call on the BN MPs and state assemblymen to quit BN. This is the golden opportunity that only comes once in a lifetime. Let us together hand in hand fight for the betterment of Sarawakians as a whole.

“I can openly say that in our agenda, a Dayak will be the first under the rotation system to be chief minister. The reason behind is that Dayaks are the largest, and yet because of the BN government policy, they have been marginalised in economic, education and social aspects. It is high time to have a Dayak CM,” he said.

Chong, who is also MP for Bandar Kuching, said he was in full praise of SAPP for their stand although he doubted the motion of no-confidence vote would get the green light in the Dewan Rakyat.

“I assure my voters that I will surely be for the no-confidence vote against our prime minister.

“But I doubt very much that their motion will get to be tabled. I think the Dewan Rakyat Speaker (Datuk Pandikar Amin Mulia) will use all his power and might in the House to stop the motion from being tabled,” he said.

Meanwhile, DAP Sarawak treasurer Voon Lee Shan said the interests and grievances of the Dayak community had not been properly addressed in the present government.

“Dayak leaders are even crying in the State Assembly on the issues of birth certificates and identification papers,” he said.

Voon, who is also Batu Lintang assemblyman, said another matter which needed to be addressed is the definition of natives in the federal constitution.

He pointed out that the terms Sea Dayaks and Land Dayaks, which are included as natives under the Article 161a of the Federal constitution, need to be properly defined because those terms were no longer used in the present days.

He cited a recent case involving a Bidayuh youth who had a business startup loan application for RM5 million rejected because he was not defined as Bumiputera.

“I hope Dayak parliamentarians will present this matter and amend the constitution. Otherwise, we hope that they leave BN and instead join us. Maybe if we have enough seats, we can form a new government with a new identity,” he said.

He also called on leaders of SUPP to take heed of the calls made by members to leave BN after SUPP failed to secure the mayorship of Kuching City South.

When deliberating a six-page statement against SUPP, he said SUPP had no reason to remain as a partner of the BN government because it could not protect its own interests and had little or no bargaining power.

“You (SUPP) should now reconsider your position seriously to leave the BN government and fight your cause from outside the BN like the DAP is now doing,” he said.

written by RumahPanjai, June 20, 2008 12:33:19
Sad to say, amongst the dayaks there are just no credible leaders. Just a bunch of gutless "yes" men. They are followers rather than leaders.Their NCR land gets taken away from them and their politician don't give a damn or are in cahort with those who encroach on their forefather's land.
written by Daryl, June 20, 2008 12:36:18
Some people are born to lead and some are born to serve others. Most BN polticians are born to serve their masters not rakyat. If they have back bones or are willing to serve rakyat they will not be in BN is the past election. This is maybe the only chance Malaysian have to move ahead with a different and more credible leadership.
written by JJ Kuyong, June 20, 2008 12:54:43
It is not a Personal view of SAPP's president. The BN government is merely trying to comfort itself by saying the stand taken by SAPP was Yong's personal. Mind you BN/UMNO, the move was not only a collective decision by SAPP but it also a majority decision of the entire Sabahan (majority because UMNO Sabah excluded). When UPKO making noise on the Maang issue you quick to say Leave BN if you dare, you have the gut to say that because you are strong (many MP seat), now dare not challenge SAPP but you try to win back SAPP's support. It is the kind of hypocrate leaders we have in Malaysia. The Sabah CM is also quick say sabah was given big allocation so the oil royalty issue is not relevance, mind you my dear CM, development allocation is different issue altogether! it is responsibility of the Federal Government under the Federal constitution!. Oil royalty is another matter it is the Sabah right as the oil is extracted from Sabah's shore (Sabah's Competitive Advantage).
written by onnetline, June 20, 2008 12:57:11
To our fellow Malaysians in Sarawak,

This is a true opportunity of a lifetime to break away from the current corrupted Chief Minister's rule. And get him and his cronies out of Sarawak.

Don't you wish to have a BIG say in the treatment and welfare of all Malaysians alike ????
written by oster, June 20, 2008 13:02:43
Look guys, the rotation system is based on the assumption that if every race got their chance as the CM, every race will benefit.

The basis of this is the assumption that each race will only "jaga" their own kind. The rotation system to promote "racial equality" is therefore based on racialist thought.

That's why the DAP should not be supporting such policies. The rotation system encourages racial thinking, by making people think "the CM is one of my kind, therefore I can get benefits".

written by ganbing, June 20, 2008 13:34:24
Sarawakians have suffered too long under the corrupt leadership of Taib. His family practically raped the state of its resources. It's time to swing to Pakatan Rakyat to get a better deal. Do you people want another 50 years of being raped and plundered?

written by ahmadneil, June 20, 2008 13:34:41
These sarawak component parties have no guts.Their balls is in their *******.The leash around their neck is too tight so they can't bark.See Borneo Post today,quote...Pak Lah didn't give us any incentives to...bla...bla.Cm ask for fairness but he got none.Where is James Masing,George Chan,William Mawan.Are they still in the kennel.These guys are playing safe
written by DatoSeri, June 20, 2008 13:37:52
I urge the rakyat in Sabah and Sarawak to organize rallies and marches to tell your MPs/ADUNs that you all demanded fair treatment than what UMNO led BN can offer. 40 years of suffering under UMNO/BN is more than enough!

Sabahans & Sarawakians, you help yourselves and also helped the vast majority of the rakyat in west Malaysia. West Malaysians will appreciate your support.

Rescue Malaysia!
written by Nyabur Gerasi, June 20, 2008 13:41:40
Time has come for a change. Its not about the past but the future where we are heading. Get rid of the old and obsolete Dayak leaders who has done nothing instead of sleeping under the white hair balls (Numpang, Masing and etcs,.). Get new fresh and young blood who can do the job. These are the things that they should have highlighted;
1. Dayak community needs to be recognise properly- not where you see in any
application form where you tick "Other races" to choose for Iban or Bidayuh (what the hell is 'other races' mean?).
2. Iban native land to be manage properly. Stop the robbing of our forefathers land. Palm oil and logging will only providing deforestation rather than restoration of the environment.
3. Improve the life of the Iban community who lives in the far rural areas, expedite the electricity, road, clinics and water facility. Provide subsidies for them. Bukan dekat mau election baru nak bikin. Nanti org Malay cakap Iban tinggal atas pokok, naik sampan dan kuda pulak.
4. Officially recognise Hari Gawai Dayak as one of the national festive celebration as we Dayak people has been all over Malaysia, besides we are Malaysian as well not 'other races'.

It's a shame a Chinese from the Peninsular who brought up these issues.
Idup parti Dayak!!!!!
written by jimfish, June 20, 2008 13:51:02
i thought Dayaks are very brave and courage fighter. but right till now, they are still sitting being defensive.
written by AndyY, June 20, 2008 14:02:58
This is a golden opportunities for Dayaks and minorities to take the lead and safeguard the interests of the people. This is the only chance for Sarawakian to make important decision. Sarawak CM Taib Mahmud must go because he only cares about his own interest and his cronies!!!!
written by seawolf, June 20, 2008 14:44:49
Dude, the rotation system is already proven failed. And another thing again the Dayak is best known to be as a good follower. And once thay walked in to the corridors of power they tend to make it like colonial era. I'm not saying that i'm try to play a race card here but that is what happen in Sarawak. Just let it be who really have the brain to take this seat.
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 20, 2008 15:42:25
I think somebody should inform DAP to talk to and to negiotiate with the CEOs of the Samling Group and Sing Yang Group. DAP will get more definate results going down that road than talking to Sarawak MPs.
written by gundam, June 20, 2008 16:08:05
let's declare independence and start all over again.
written by SamBall, June 20, 2008 18:12:46
Good idea Gundam

When is it gonna start?
written by tommycol, June 20, 2008 20:44:49
Enough of PERSUADING and EXPLAINING to these KAYU MP's anymore, it's already 100days. Why not just have a REFERENDUM for the RAKYAT of SABAH whether to 'LOMPAT'or 'SIT'and continue WAGGING tails, don't you think the RAKYAT of SABAH too should have a SAY???? IT'S THEIR LIFE n FUTURE TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by BUTEK, June 20, 2008 21:46:04
The CM post should be given to DAP lor.... DAP will develope Sarawak better than bloody TAIK (TAIB)....
written by Limang, June 20, 2008 22:07:33
My dear brothers and sisters in Sarawak,

Read this if you value yoru future, rights and honour\\:

IT IS TIME TO CHANGE YOUR FORTUNE AND FUTURE FOR THE BETTER BY GETTING RID OF YOUR CURRENT STATE/BN LEADERS WHO HAVE ALL FORGOTTEN YOUR HAPPINESS AND WELFARE. THEY ARE SITTING ON THE HIGH CHAIR ONLY TO ENRICH THEMSELVES BY CARRYING THE BALLS OF WHITE HAIR.

ON TOP OF THAT, THEY HAVE SOLD SARAWAK, ITS OIL AND GAS AND AUTHORITY TO THE RACIST UMNO/BN GOMEN IBN WEST MALAYSIA WHO GIVE A HOOT ABOUT SARAWAK. THESE UMNO/BN LEADERS IN WEST MALAYSIA ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN YOUR RESOURCES, LAND AND WOMEN - AND ALL YOUR LEADERS - WHITE HAIR AND GANG - ARE PARTICIPATING IN RAPING SARAWAK.

MY DAYAK BROTHERS AND SISTERS - I HAVE LIVED WITH YOU ALL FOR YEARS IN THE LONGHOUSES RIGHT FROM KPG SELAMPIT, TO SERIAN, TO TEBUDU, TO SIMUNJAN, TO MUKAH, TO ULU KAPIT, TO BARAM AND LIMBANG. I HAVE DANCE THE NGAJAT, JAGO IBAN, EAT YOUR KASSAM, DRINK YOUR TUAK, SING YOUR SONGS AND TRACKED THROUGH THE JUNGLES WITH YOUR CHILDREN. I KNOW YOUR SUFFERINGS AND HOW YOU HAVE ALL BEEN TRICKED. I HAVE SEEN HOW YOU HAVE ALL BEEN TRICKED. I HAVE SEEN ALL THE INJUSTICE DONE TO YOU ALL AND HOW CRUMBS WERE GIVEN JUST TO KEEP YOU ALL IGNORANT AND HAPPY. IN THE MEANTIME, YOU WEALTH, FUTURE AND LAND ARE BEING RAPED BY YOUR CURRENT LEADERS AND WEST MALAYSIANS.

WAKE UP, WAKE UP!!! SEE THE WHOLE PICTURE. YOUR LEADERS ARE ALL USELESS, WITHOUT SPINE OR BALLS. THEY WORRY ONLY ABOUT THEIR POSITIONS IN THE GOVERNMENT AND THEIR POCKETS.

ARISE WITH YOUR PEOPLE'S POWER AND GET RID OF THEM IN THE NEXT ELECTION - AND IF IT IS POSSIBLE, EVEN NOW BEFORE MORE OF YOUR RIGHTS, HONOUR AND BELIEFS ARE LOST FOREVER. FUTURE GENERATIONS WILL CURSE YOU ALL FOR NOT DOING THE RIGHT THING.

DO NOT TRUST THE WEST MALAYSIAN UMNO/BN LEADERS. THEY ARE ALL A BUNCH OF CORRUPT AND GREEDY LEADERS. IF YOU THINK BODOWI IS BAD, THE NEXT GENERATION OF LEADERS IS EVEN WORSE - MR C4, THE EVIL HALF-CLOSED EYE-MONKEY SIL OF BODOWI, KERISMUDDIN WHO VOW TO SOAK HIS KERIS OF ANYONE WHO DARES TO QUESTION THE MALAY RIGHTS, ETC. THEY WILL SUGER TALK YOU AND IF YOU BELIEVE THEM, YOU WILL BECOME THEIR SLAVES AND SERVANTS LIKE WHAT IS ALREADY HAPPENING.

ARISE AND VOTE YOUR CURRENT LEADERS OUT AND PUT IN NEW AND YOUNGER LEADERS WHO CAN SEE THE REAL SITUATION AND WHO WILL PROTECT AND PRESERVE THE HONOUR AND DIGNITY AND RESOURCES FOR SARAWAK.

PR IS THE BETTER BET. THEY HAVE DONE WELL SO FAR IN ALL THE 5 STATES THEY RULE. THEY ARE NOT CORRUPTED, OR RACIST AND ARE PEOPLES' LEADERS. DO NOT BE AFRIAD OF PR - THEY WILL BE GOOD SUPPORT FOR YOU.

WAKE UP YOUR PARENTS NOT TO VOTE FOR BN AND WHITE HAIR AND HIS GANG. TELL YOUR RELATIVES IN THE LONGHOUSES TO VOTE FOR DAP AND PR. BELIEVE ME, EVEN PAS IS BETTER THAN THE CORRUPT AND RACIST BN WHO HAS NO RESPECT FOR ANYONE.

LET LOOSE YOUR PEOPLES' POWER. CHANGE YOUR STATE GOVERNMENT. RULE BY YOURSELF, DON'T LET WEST MALAYSIA RULE YOU.

AWAKE! ARISE! SHOW YOUR VOTING POWEER. CHANGE TO A NEW GOVERNMENT!
written by sarawakian, June 21, 2008 00:16:12
sadly, the present bunch of DAP politicians in Sarawak are just a useless bunch of opportunist LAWYERS. if we had the likes of Lim Guan Eng in Sarawak, maybe the DAP would make much more headway into convincing the Sarawakians.

the rotation system would not work. it is simple a racist method again. why can't the DAP come out with better ideas like merits system? they could also show themselves as more open and invite some of the smart Dayaks to join their party. i know there are many clever ones around but the DAP propaganda doesn't appeal to them. do you think they would consider supporting DAP? Dayaks would view this rotation system as simply "carrot dangling" and nothing more.

with the coming of PKR into Sarawak, a lot of Dayaks who oppose the BN would join them and the Chinese would support DAP. this is racial polarization and can be avoided if Sarawak DAP was less racist.

Sarawak voters also remember DAP putting themselves against PKR in one seat of GE12 and wonder why that happened.

Sarawak DAP supporters are only those who are completely frustrated with the present BN and will chose anyone but the "dacing". the voters who were not happy with BN but still voted BN instead of DAP couldn't see any future in supporting the DAP.

SUPP is a boat with old, hopeless leadership. it works almost like UMNO. the members all pledge support for George Chan but spit at his name behind his back. the other leaders are just another bunch of crooks. the communist mentality is still firmly entrenched in their thinking that no one who is against party ideals can move up. and the party ideals are completely useless.

in short, if the Sarawak DAP wants to be as effective as their friends and PKR in the West, they seriously need to review their racist outlook and overhaul the leadership. people here look at CCJ and VLS as "very nice faces" and "good talkers" but nothing more.

going onto the Dayak scene, the Dayak political parties are controlled by greedy Dayaks who are only out to get-rich-quick. they ensure any potential leaders with different views are edged out. the Dayak leaders who are willing to fight for the rakyat are no match financially to topple the current Dayak leaders and it is no small expense to travel far and wide into the interior to garner support from the rural voters. William Mawan and James Masing are such big crooks. Jabu is old and docile.

many are watching PKR movements in Sarawak. there is hope that they can do what DAP and SUPP failed to do, inside and outside the ruling government in Sarawak.
written by netaddict1, June 21, 2008 01:22:30
you jump, we jump...?
written by gundam, June 21, 2008 01:42:12
samball,

it is started.

btw, isnt pkr also a party from the west?
written by shiokguy, June 21, 2008 02:21:01
** Not another Racial Politic **

Stop it LKS! Or else this will be another downfall of DAP..
NO RACIAL POLITIC!

http://shiokguy.********.com/
PS: Visit my blog for some Shiok Political, Social and Economic view
written by sampalee, June 21, 2008 08:04:52
All racist party have no future,anywhere on earth.