Stubborn DAP rep gets thrown out of State Assembly PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 09:09

(NST) - JOHOR BARU: He fought tooth and nail in the general election to get into the state assembly to make a stand, but at its first sitting yesterday he got himself thrown out.

Bentayan assemblyman Gwee Tong Hiang and his wife following the state assembly proceedings from the public gallery after he was evicted. — NST picture by Amran Hamid

Bentayan assemblyman Gwee Tong Hiang of the DAP was asked to leave the state assembly yesterday because he was not wearing the ceremonial attire for the occasion.

Gwee was asked to do so by the Speaker, Datuk Mohd Ali Hassan, at 9.45am before the opening ceremony.

Instead of donning the white Nehru collared tunic and songkok ceremonial attire worn by other assemblymen, Gwee chose a dark blue business suit without a songkok.

Speaking to reporters later, Gwee said: "I thought it did not matter what I wore because there is no standing order on the dress code. So, I chose not to wear the ceremonial attire."

Johor DAP chairman Dr Boo Cheng Hau, who is the Skudai state assemblyman, said at a meeting on April 20, it was agreed that the four DAP assemblymen would wear the ceremonial attire, and Gwee although absent from the meeting was informed of the decision.

"We agreed to wear songkok and the ceremonial attire in respect of the sultan's presence. It was solely Gwee's decision not to wear the attire.

"However, we are not going to take any action against him," he said.

Senai assemblyman Ong Kow Meng, also of DAP, was not wearing a songkok when the state assembly was in session in the morning but donned one for the opening ceremony.

Datuk Mohd Ali Hassan said reminders had been sent to all assemblymen about the dress code for the opening ceremony a month in advance.

"The allocation for the attire has been given to them and it was known that Gwee had a pair made for himself, so there is no reason why he could not fulfil the dress code requirements," he said.

Mohd Ali also said the opening ceremony was an official function, so everyone should adhere to the rules and regulations.

Menteri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman said Gwee was being extremely disrespectful by refusing to wear the proper attire especially the songkok in the sultan's presence.

"Wearing the songkok in the presence of the sultan has been a tradition practised for more than a century and in the case of the state assembly it is a tradition dating back more than 50 years."

Comments (79)Add Comment
written by loosecannon, June 20, 2008 09:15:41
Typical BN Umno mentality, all forms but no substance. And again they are using the sultan as an excuse.
disagree 31
written by DatoSeri, June 20, 2008 09:17:54
Man of principle !

Do not submit to UMNO !
disagree 37
written by ksauyong, June 20, 2008 09:18:11
If wearing a suit and tie is "extremely" disrespectful, how would the Menteri Besar describe wearing singlet, short pants and slippers?
disagree 23
written by Sagaladoola, June 20, 2008 09:18:12
Gwee, what exactly do you think you are trying to do?

As for the rest of the DAP assemblymen, congrats. You broke the illogical taboo that one should not wear the songkok. I see this as a good step in promoting understanding between different cultures ..... Worthy of praises. Leadership by example. Keep it up.

agree 121
written by ahmadneil, June 20, 2008 09:20:17
That is my man.If confronted again, wear slippers and underwear only.Thanks!
disagree 27
written by indianputra, June 20, 2008 09:21:52
Will someone please explain this to me.. Is the white Nehru collared tunic and songkok, a Malaysian National Costume or Malay national costume? Is there anything in the Malaysian constitution that says even the non-Malays must wear this dress - even for official functions?

The late Tun Sambanthan, ued to attend all official functions, wearing the Indian traditional wear of dhoti and shirt. Dhoti is like the sarong. It is a rectangular piece of unstitched cloth, usually around 5 yards long, wrapped about the waist and the legs, and knotted at the waist.

When did the change take place?

Please advise. Thanks
written by The Voter, June 20, 2008 09:23:05
Most of the time when you attend official/corporate function always states what dress to be worn. Even if you attend an exhibition.
How about going to chinese house during Chinese New Year wearing black dress or a funeral wearing striking color.
Common DAP, this is an official finction , so there will be an official dress.
Songkok is not Islamic attire that you are afraid. You do no wear Malay like custome, but your wear and accept western dress. Better you wear chinese dress with pony tail.
Please do not be ultra chauvinist.
disagree 35
written by kc respect, June 20, 2008 09:25:17
DO NOT PROTEST OR GO AGAINST THE RULES !!!!
Talking politics and wearing uniforms are two separate things.
Firstly, what's wrong with the songkok????? It is an attire worn by Malays, what make big shit out of it. My son wore it in a school play, he looks MALAYSIAN!!!. Secondly, if you have to wear an uniform to attend a ceremony, WEAR IT!!.

We did not put you there to protest against the rules, or do what you yourself thinks you should wear or not wear. We put you there to represent the rakyat on 'BIG" issues. GET IT!!! Or GET OUT!!!

disagree 25
written by foresight, June 20, 2008 09:27:48
When are they going to get into their thick head that there is a dress code. It is amounting to wearing a T-shirt, shorts and slippers to school when there is a rule on uniform just because you don't agree with the rule. If the dress code says you wear a sarong and a songkok, you jolly well do it too. So petty when there are more important things to do.
written by budakindia, June 20, 2008 09:31:20
yup they should throw also all those foreign people who wear business suits when they come to Malaysia! Yeah that include the 4th floor boys who are very comfortable with business suits! smilies/grin.gif Ha! What a joke!
disagree 28
written by omarkhayyam, June 20, 2008 09:31:35
much ado over nothing'.... smilies/smiley.gif

written by Kawan MT, June 20, 2008 09:33:00
Mr. Gwee, what is so big deal for wearing a ceremonial attire with songkok in the official function?? We voted you to fight for the rakyat interests, so don't wasting our vote for the "songkok issue"??? Please look at the leaders of other countries, when they attending the convention in Malaysia, they will not hesitate to wear the batik etc to show respect to the host. Finally, I am a Malaysian Chinese.
disagree 16
written by Awaken64, June 20, 2008 09:36:42
Two issues that recently surfaced comes to mind.

1. Turkey decision to ban headscarf while being an Islamic nation
2. The Royal Ascot event in London where the attire code went more to Dressed UP rather than bare all.

The two events have conflicting stand points, yet the choice remained in the wearer to decide weather to attend or stay away.

After 50 years of nation building we still seem to have doubts on tradition and dress codes from our political elders.

If wearing a Songkok to receive a Datoship is okay but not to attend the state assembly than our ideal of a nation in the hands of these Political goons is a very sorry sight to behold but the younger generations. we are engramming our young to hate and distrust. What becomes of us as Parents and role models. Haven't we seen enough of Mamak's role model millionaires thru Diam?

Do we need to make petty issues that divide the races and create contempt rather than leading the nation towards healing the RAKYATS hardship?

Which seems to be a broad minded approach stand Mr Gwee Tong Hiang? Your participation at the assembly or you being kicked out. Did we make the right choice by electing you in the first place?

Let this be clear that your action is based on our needs not for you to kind of enjoy a paid non participating role at the assembly.
written by ringgo, June 20, 2008 09:40:10
your forefathers should have migrated to indonesia or thailand.then you wont be arrogant or ungrateful like this.you should have wear chinese costume instead of mat salleh attire if you are really a man of principle.hipocrite
disagree 21
written by A MI, June 20, 2008 09:40:48
Mr. Gwee, what is so big deal for wearing a ceremonial attire with songkok in the official function?? We voted you to fight for the rakyat interests, so don't wasting our vote for the "songkok issue"???

I agree with Kawan MT!!!

Yes DAP stop wasting time! STOP giving BN to rap your knuckles. The rakyat voted you in to champion their cause.
Why are you and PAS casing cracks in the Pakatan???
written by Tom n Jerry, June 20, 2008 09:44:22
Dont like to wear songkok!Hiya you are given a chance to wear,wear it lah!Doesnt cost you anything except perhaps a bruised ego!*When in Rome,follow the Romans*When inMalaysia,follow the Malaysians!I personally find it quite amusing,our Dewan uniforms!Who knows you may look metrosexual or more,perhaps bisex and gain more winks later!Win-win situation!My Taiwanese tenant fell head over heels ,over a counter clerk who was wearing a tudung!He went to the extent of buying her a gift and a lunch,which was politely rejected because she already had a steady!Nevertheless she accepted the gift!i was the one who translated to her abou tmy tenant*s love at first sight of a tudung!Such scenario in totally unavailable in Taiwan! smilies/smiley.gif
written by PHUA KL, June 20, 2008 09:45:07
Just wear it!

DAP politicians must show that they are above racial chauvinism.

Please do not allow the mainstream media the opportunity to play up "wedge issues" and distract attention from what are more important issues affecting the welfare of ordinary citizens e.g. kleptocracy and rent-seeking capitalism in Malaysia

Phua Kai Lit
written by Rundukon, June 20, 2008 09:47:01
Mr Gwee, if you dont respect BN/UMNO, at least please respect the Sultan.
written by ToeJam, June 20, 2008 09:53:56
Mr. Gwee,

You must know we cannot win every war that we fight. The trick is to pick and choose yr battles so that in the long run, you win more battles than you loose so you can win the war.

To me the "songkok" issue is a small battle. Staying in the state assembly and making UMNO get cold-sweat by you asking solid questions is the big battle. Getting re-elected again and again is the war.

I won't preach what you should do or shouldn't do. By yr selection of which battles you want to win, we the voters will decide whether you deserve another term by the choice you make.

Also, remember you are not an independent assemblyman. If you had stood alone as an independent then I supposed you can do what you will. By your actions, people will judge DAP, so please reflect deeper the implications to the party before doing anything
written by Xpax, June 20, 2008 09:54:27
En Gwee Tong Hiang, Since you are a chinese, you have not heard of "Enter house wish the owner, enter temple pray the God/deity"?
written by campuras, June 20, 2008 10:03:56
Dap throw out politician.

Where is your pride as Malaysian as an Asian
Wearing a Mat Saleh clothes to an Malaysian Asian function
disagree 16
written by cwwoo, June 20, 2008 10:09:49
What's wrong with wearing a songkok? Gwee, are you a Malaysian? You are a disgrace!
written by K W Waran, June 20, 2008 10:19:51

Sdr. Omarkhayyam, short and sweet, but Spot on, Bro'.

There is a limit to stubborness even in the Assdom of Asses.

Cheers and Have a nice weekend, Folks.

written by funfac3, June 20, 2008 10:25:43
Mr. Gwee, you were voted in as the people's representative in the State Assembly, however, you have intentionally chosen to be a spectator! That's what I call gross irresponsibility. It is even more shocking to hear that DAP will not take action against this hypocrite. Hypocrite, because I am cocksure that sometime in his life, he must have worn a baseball cap before! So how different is a songkok? it's still a headgear. So much for Bangsa Malaysia. **** you all the hypocrites of the DAP, PAS and the entire Pakatan Rakyat. You guys are no better than the slimeballs and scumbags of the BN.
written by binarytan, June 20, 2008 10:25:55
How about those people always talk about religion but doing all the crimes, sin and corrupt?

Attire must be worn in respect to the occasion but really do not need to be politised.

The guy who pratices Islam Hadhari is the most corrupted gang!!! How about that?

written by jchew, June 20, 2008 10:31:57
mentality of semut, throw him out of DAP next election!
written by kywl1981, June 20, 2008 10:39:23
gwee...
disappointed at you... what's wrong with wearing a songkok?
it's just a matter of mark of respect for the sultan...and by wearing a songkok does not turn you into an islam guy.... and it does not mean that you agree to islamic state yada yada...

come on...grow up... as a rakyat rep, stop being childish...think! use your god damn brain!

give me a songkok and baju melayu and i will be more than happy to wear them when attending my malay friends wedding... what's far king wrong with that?
written by bumiputeri, June 20, 2008 10:39:38
I have no comments about Gwee refusing to wear songkok.

But, I do have an opinion about the whole dress code system in Malaysia at formal functions. The ultimate objective of having an official dress code (including standard uniforms) is to show some sort of "unity", to feel some sort of "togetherness" and to sense some of "belonging" amongst the members of a particular group. Same applies to school chidrens uniform. All the children in the same school uniform should be taken and treated "equally", for example.

However, deep down underneath, I strongly feel that the very phylosophy and meaning of the so called uniforms that are suppose to create the so called unity among varies sects of Malaysians are lost.

The Malaysian governement failed to understand that public, perhaps, including Mr Gwee, who refused to wear the songkok, like me and many others,only choose to conform to the norm although with so much hatred and resentment within most of the time, feel so not because of the costume itself, but absolutely because of the whole hypocrasy behind this issue.

Tell me Malaysians, if you want to create a united Malaysia and Malaysians, is it enough asking them to conform to the norms of the uniforms or should it be something that nurtured in the whole system of education, health, economy, social etc.....all that is part of our daily lives. If I am being deprived my basic rights as a Malaysian citizen every single day in many many ways, how can feel Malaysian truly within just by wearing a baju Melayu and songkok once in a while????

I know many of you will not agree with me here, but, like the songkok issue, there are a lot more things which the non-Malays are forced to accept by the the very ignorant UMNO Malays since merdeka. I knew a lot of my Chinese, Indian, Sabahan and Sarawakian friends at the teacher training college long ago who just accepted the rule to wear baju kebaya every Friday to maktab for whatever reason, although deep down within we felt like our own tradition is being robbed off from us. Why is it always us the non-Malays wearing the Malay costume, and why is it never the Malays trying others' costumes or at least have a system where everyone will get a chance to wear many different costumes of all the races in Malaysia. Isn't that more effective in creating a more united and harmonious Malaysia?

At school, in my Sixth Form, I was forced to study the Sejarah Islam, and yes, like my many other non-Muslim friends, I too got an A in Sejarah Islam in STPM. But is that enough to make Malaysia truly harmonised??? Yes, we understand the Islam embraced by the Malays, but what about the Malays??? Do they understand anything about us, the non-Muslims???

I know what is Nuzul Quran, Hijrah, I admire Khalifah Omar, I love Nabi Mohamad, in fact I still remember how to spell NABI in Jawi, "nun alif - na, ba ya - bi" "nabi"! and I am happy I had the opportunity to learn that, but what about the Malays and the Muslims? Why should it be one way all the time. Why are the Malays and the Muslims so afraid of opening up and getting to know others????

Unless and otherwise that happens, Malaysia, will never be a truly harmonised country!!!!

Peace.
written by dmh1871, June 20, 2008 10:43:39
Biadap, that how I would describe him. According to channel news asia the appointment of a Malay and Indian as Penang deputy CM reinforced that DAP is a Chinese based party.

What Gwee is trying to do is to show that he is more chinese then the other three Dap rep and this is an oppertunity for him to out shine them. This is due to his low self esteem coz the other three are professional i.e doctors and/or lawyers by profession and educated.

Trying to be a hero at the wrong forum will definately hurt his political career and at the same time exposed Gwee low mentality understanding of an issue.

This is the kind of rep that unnable to ascertain the real issue that he supposed to be fighting for instead wasting his first appearance at the opening of the state assembly by being disrespectful to the Sultan Of Johor who himself wear the official attire.

Who does he think that he is to defy the dress code for a mere cheap publicity.

I would echo ong kow meng statement that if Gwee choose not to be properly attire he shouldnt have turn up in the first place.

As for me Gwee with this kind of attitude he shouldnt be nominated at all and for a fact a Johorean.
written by ToeJam, June 20, 2008 10:57:57
Senai assemblyman Ong Kow Meng, also of DAP, was not wearing a songkok when the state assembly was in session in the morning but donned one for the opening ceremony.

Now above is what I call a smart man. Stood for his principle but yet knowing how to play the game to his advantage.

Mr Gwee, ask yourself which outcome is to UMNO's advantage? Sitting in the public gallery looking like a dejected idiot or to being in the pit and supporting yr fellow DAP colleagues?

Bu don't worry, learn from this lesson and be a smart boy the next time. Let's move on
written by Watchdog, June 20, 2008 10:59:44
In a country such as this, what harm is there to wear the ceremonial dress? after all, there is no religious significance in it. So Mr DAP, dont behave like a stubborn mule and pls show some decorum.
Having said that, having a mule is better than an UMNO rep with decorum!!!!!
written by jchew, June 20, 2008 11:01:53
Not only throw out of assembly hall, he will be throw out of office!
_______________________________________________________ _________________

Gwee, if We go to your houise to attend a funeral ceremonial service, we all wear bright red. How would you feel? The same as if we go to your house for chinese new year open house and we all wear black. This is a multiracial country and without the support of our friends from Malays and Indians, do you really think you can win a seat? How can you claim that you represent the rakyat of Malaysia? I think you should join MCA which is a racist party!
Show your maturity, sincerity and apologize, if not, you can not expect others to be cooperate or support you if you yourself are not supportive of others. And , you can expect your political career will be cut short.

Well said by Menteri Besar that you will be judge by your action! Do not under estimate voters!
written by sickofitall, June 20, 2008 11:04:01
Gwee

I say this as a DAP supporter. I think you are a bigoted idiot for not respecting house rules. Stop practising and believing in racist polemics of the 80s and grow up. no one will call you a muslim just because you wear a songkok. Rather, we will recognise the moderate and the malaysian in you, if you had the decency to respect and wwear the songkok. It is a mark of respect for goodness sake!
written by onnetline, June 20, 2008 11:07:06
Strongly suggest that all our Sultans start their preferred dressing code for ceremonies bestowing 'Datukship' titles & etc.

This too can be a good measure of true principles against code of practice.
written by mikewang, June 20, 2008 11:10:40
What was this elected idiot trying to prove ?
That he could and should go against proper decorum ?

This idiot was behaving like the other PAS idiot who made noise on form rather than substance.

Come on ...
there are more important issues to be raised by the representative rather than how one should be dressed to prove a point ... and what point may I ask ?
To be impolite ?
written by lobster, June 20, 2008 11:27:17
He deserved to be kicked out. If he truly has the intention to serve the rakyat as he claimed, then he should never take chances where he he will be denied entry into the state assembly. Obviously he care more about attention above all else.

This is to Gwee, you have proved nothing else but you're an attention seeking idiot.
written by Tan Tan, June 20, 2008 12:08:57
Gwee,

Even all our Prime Minister having some important submit in some other country needs to wear their tradisional clothes or offical clothes and take picture together.

You are seeing the SULTAN and need to be respectful. Nothing wrong with Malays or Muslim. The only thing u think wrong with Malays and Muslim are those who use race and religion to cause fear and harms.

Not all Malays or Muslim are like that. We need to believe in good of ppls despite many shortcoming.

Like some Malays or Muslim trusts us the Chinese not all bad. We also have our bad sheep within our race.
written by apasalahku, June 20, 2008 12:13:15
once an ah beng always an ah beng
written by Fairminded, June 20, 2008 12:31:01
As a non Malay I advise Mr. Gwee Tong Hiang to wear the ceremony attire. We should not allow this trivial matter to distract us from other important matters like fighting corruption. If the Sultan of Johore wears it during ceremony, as a citizen we should differ to his highness. That is EQ. We should
overcome our emmotions to do bigger things.
written by unomalaysia, June 20, 2008 12:44:07
Ah Gwee, Its the substance not the form lah. Important thing is to get the job of defending the rakyat done. If they want you to wear whatever, just do it lah even if it is a clown suit. What the big deal over a songkok? Again, take the middle path.. Lets not be extremist, sudah tada laku lagi. DAP has to change with time and not be like *******s. If you want our Malay saudara to trust DAP you gotta to proof that you are not *******s.
written by cheekhiaw, June 20, 2008 12:50:09
TELLING HAT

If you don't wear the hat, how can people know you are a real Malaysian?

Style mesti ada, isi tak ada tak apa.

written by weehan, June 20, 2008 13:29:36
Gwee, can't even see beyond his nose. what an idoit. we didn't voted for you to sit in the public gallery. Use you brain please.
written by Jit Dharma, June 20, 2008 13:37:21
Really 'Old Skool' crap from Gwee. Be flexible man. Show that you know how to
give and take. If there is no give and take on such a simple issue then how are we going to resolve the gigantic ones that are also based on issues of race and identity. Shame on you Gwee!!

written by Dathab, June 20, 2008 13:38:36
written by DatoSeri, June 20, 2008 | 09:17:54

Man of principle !

Do not submit to UMNO !
YES. But sadly YB Teng who refused to wear songkok before this already done so after appointed as Selangor DUN Speaker. And yet he never submit to UMNO but PKR and PAS. What is your comment?
My comment is simple - EVERY MAN HAS A PRICE.
written by Kcc, June 20, 2008 13:48:36
"I thought it did not matter what I wore because there is no standing order on the dress code. So, I chose not to wear the ceremonial attire."
....what do you mean by "I thought it did not matter"? I believe you have seen the dress codes of proceedings and ceremonies on TV or in other forms of media even before you became an assemblyman.

Even if you really didn't know about it, being a first-timer, the first thing you should do is to open your mouth and ask your seniors instead of embarrassing yourself (and the DAP) by getting thrown out on your first day.

This is really disgusting. "Don't know" and "Not sure" are merely lame excuses!!
written by Foong, June 20, 2008 13:49:37
There is no better excuse and opportunity to hit back at the opposition. How about disrespectful to the Sultan of Trengganu by demonstratiing in front of the state royal palace against the royal decision? It is a "Crime against the Royalty". Because it was from umno therefore it is acceptable.
written by khalnayak, June 20, 2008 14:12:53
Haiyo,another dickhead.Wear a songkok means you will die ah Gwee?You wanna find popularity isit?If didnt wana wear songkok ask Karpal tie a turban for you since you so scared people think you Malay you just become Singh for a day ler.
written by xavica01, June 20, 2008 14:48:08
written by DatoSeri, June 20, 2008 | 09:17:54

Man of principle !

Do not submit to UMNO !
Is wearing a songkok means submitting to UMNO? So, is wearing a saree or jippa means submitting to MIC? So, is wearing Cheongsam means submitting to MCA?
Haiyaa...grow up la DatoSeri. Wearing songkok or even the baju Melayu does not mean you will be submitting to any one or any party for the matter. It's being respectful to others and following the dress code.
written by Lis LQ, June 20, 2008 14:55:24
Gwee,you kepala batu/dick head.Why so stubborn???
Melawan Tawkeh,padan muka kena buang dari dewan.
I do hope that you wont be allowed in the assembly hall till after the sitting is over,and i am very sure all your pengundi will be very dissappointed with you.
You want to be a stunt man ah???,mau jadi hero of DAP ah??? phiituii!!!
If you think you are an ADUN,please act like one...you goblok
written by fairnessforall, June 20, 2008 15:11:59
If wearing the songkok is a step to promoting understanding between different cultures, then the malays should be asked to wear dhoti, the chinese traditional costume, and the ladies to wear saree, cheong sam, salwaar kameez etc, only then its a step to promoting understanding between different cultures. Now the only step enforcing the songkok rule is that it forced other cultures to accept the malay culture. This should work both ways.

They are not only enforcing the songkok rule, I was told by some army officers wife that even for army functions the non malay wifes are forced to wear baju kurung or kebaya.
written by fairnessforall, June 20, 2008 15:21:49
Before passing any laws or rules, it should be taken into consideration that malaysia is a multi racial country, hence, if attire is to be fixed, they should say, either traditional costume or suit and not just allow one type of constume. By doing that they are going against the constitution which states that all races are free to practice their religion, customs and traditions, they are enforcing their customs on others.

I have no objection to wearing the songkok, nor any objection to non malays wearing the malay costume, kebaya, or baju kurung. My point is the principal, that is should be because they want to and not because they are forced to. Its the same as enforcing islamic rule to non muslims.

A person should wear or follow other customs and traditions by own free will and not because he does not have a choice and forced to do it. It does not mean that just because Gwee did not use a songkong, he is not capable of serving the rakyat. All those bastard UMNO goons wear songkok and all are so corrupted and have only bothered about self service. Is this what we want. Which do we prefer, a person who works hard for the people and does not wear a songkok or a person who wears a songkok and only fills his own pockets.

I think many people seem to have got their priorities wrong.
written by Taikohtai, June 20, 2008 15:47:25
In the end, its what you wear in your HEART that counts.
Lets see how many ADUNS have hearts for the rakyat in the end.
My guess? VERY FEW
written by nonpartisan73, June 20, 2008 15:49:26
Stupid Gwee,
thrown out wearing MAT SALLEH dress. Next time, wear Chinese costumes ler together with the headcap. At least you can say somethg like 'i've been discriminated for wearing a Malaysian costume'.

Foolish. Takde strategy langsung.
written by LACOBRA, June 20, 2008 15:52:29
Hypothetical speaking, if Songkok is a Malay costume and since Malays are Muslims etc! Don't you think Gwee was giving more respect than the opposite by making his stand! After all, a three piece suit is the most formal clothing worn for official functions which is actually more uncomfortable.

Since the ban on printing praises Allah (mind you not insult) for non Muslims in their worship books is enforced by UMNO. Why is there a double standard here?

Could the religious hypocrite authorities of UMNO please clarify! If it is indeed only a Malay Costume and not associated in any means a Muslim attire, I will be the first to wear Songkok especially when I go to church.

When foreign dignitaries are invited to attend official functions in the presence of the Monarchy, are the dignitaries forced to wear Songkok.

If we do not belong to a uniformed body, are we supposed to wear their uniforms when we are invited to attend?
written by kevinD, June 20, 2008 15:56:32
BITICHING OVER PETTY ISSUES WHEN THE COUNTRY IS IN DIRE!!!! MALAYSIA IS DOOMED IF THIS KIND OF MENTALITY CONTINUES. WAKEUP YOU MORONS !!!! WEAR THE DAMN SONGKOK IF IT WILLMAKE THE ROYALITY HAPPY. PISS IN IT IF IT PLEASES LATER IF IT PLEASES YOU. YOUR PRIORITY IS TO SERVE THE RAKYAT. TRYING TO MAKE A POINT BY NOT WEARING A SONGKOK IS USELESS AS THE PEOPLE INVOLVED DO NOT AND WILL NEVER HAVE THE BRAINS TO UNDERSTAND THE MESSAGE YOUR ARE TRYING TO GIVE TO THEM. LET US GET OURSELVES OUT OF THIS MESS CREATED BY THE BN AND UMNO IDIOTS FOR THE PAST 29 YEARS AND ALL MOVE ON WITH OUR LIVES PEACEFULLY.
written by AsamLaksa, June 20, 2008 16:04:27
Ini Gwee kurang ajar. Kenapa? Fikir lebih dalam...

Bila kena hadir ke majlis semua orang tau kau kena pakai pakaian yang patut. Lebih penting sesuatu majlis, lebih banyak perhatian harus diberi. Ini dia tau dia nak jumpa Sultan, dia tau ada tradisi, sudah diberitahu apa yang harus dipakai dan tetap enggan mengikuti, mesej apa yang nak dia berikan? Masuk dewan undangan negeri hari pertama dan jumpa Sultan tak cukup penting? Ini namanya kurang ajar. Kalau terlupa, yah silap sendiri dan harus minta maaf. Ini tak nampak kesal pun.
written by zza11, June 20, 2008 16:17:18
The symbol of Malay headgear is Tengkolok not Songkok. Songkok does not originate from Malaya/Malaysia. All the way from South Asia, Indonesia and Malaysia people of various religious faiths are wearing Songkok. I remember the Malaysians serving the British army were wearing Songkok. So this MP is a stupid racist. Just the thought in his mind that Songkok is a symbol of Malay and Islam is enough reason for him to reject wearing it and missing the assembly is not his concern. Action must be taken against him not for being racist but for being stupid.
written by wargasetia, June 20, 2008 16:23:24
WAT A FUSS.... JUST DO IT LAH... WE ALREADY SUPPORT U... TALKING ABOUT PRINCIPLE... WHACK UR HEAD... THIS IS MALAYSIA.. NOT A COMMUNIST COUNTRY...

DAP please stop buat hal and cari pasal... think about rakyat... this is only small part of ur duty...

its not gonna wash out ur mother ****er identity... stupid ADUN. wasted my vote.
written by Rhan, June 20, 2008 16:34:40
Gwee, all the mca and gerakan dog has been wearing the songkok for don't know how many dozen years and i see all this dog still live happily today. What wrong with you?

You should help to promote the enforcement of this formal dress code in the name of ceremony, learn not only be a dog but must be the best dog.

PAS should know by now the thought process of dog.

written by zza11, June 20, 2008 16:45:32
LACOBRA if you want to equate this MP to a foreign dignitary when meeting the Sultan then UMNO was right for not treating him as citizen all this while. Is the Sultan the Ruler for the Malays only or for the whole citizen of the State? BTW many indonesian are wearing Songkok to church. Why don't you peek near any mosque and see how many muslim come to prayer wearing songkok? very few probably as many as indonesian wearing songkok to church. Songkok is not a symbol for any religion.
written by Jivathma, June 20, 2008 16:52:08
Dei DAP this is not communist CHINA. What makes MALAYSIA beautiful is our various tradition, culture and it is stupid if you can't be part of it.
Choosing to wear Suit is trying to become western are you??? Fu@# #@ff!

You disrespect the Malay rulers by doing this. How you guys are going to get Malay support laa?? Do I have to teach you how to become POLITICIAN in Malaysia? You are sending message a wrong message to the Rakyat. If like this PR will never form a government.
written by LACOBRA, June 20, 2008 16:58:57
zza1,That is why I want UMNO to clarify what is applicable and what is not in the affairs of the Muslims point of view.

So if Indonesia Christians wear Songkok and use the praise Allah in their worship and the bibles are printed in Bahasa Indonesia. Why is there is there a double standard here?

Mr Gwee has principles just as we have ours. It is UMNO who has to be genuinely consistent instead of creating issues.

written by Alice, June 20, 2008 18:44:38
Too much forms and very very little substance in this country. That's the whole problem.
written by Rhan, June 20, 2008 19:55:41
Dei DAP this is not communist CHINA. What makes MALAYSIA beautiful is our various tradition, culture and it is stupid if you can't be part of it.

Ya lah DAP, don’t act like one China Communist, the China Muslim minority wear their songkok and traditional attire during the 17 National Congress even though nobody force them, why can't you DAP?

Learn from the China Muslim, wearing songkok show that you love your country more.

http://news.xinhuanet.com/phot...883765.htm
written by bradwell_estate, June 20, 2008 19:56:19
how does one relate not wearing a songkok mean not respecting the sultan? as long as one dressed properly, i just don't see in any significance. unless one want to show their dominance!
written by Vidya Young, June 20, 2008 20:07:08
Fairnessforall - "I wonder if a white man being conferred a title by any sultan will be thrown out if he wears a suit and not a songkok. I see double standards here".

If protocol dictates conforming to a particular dress code, any man/woman would, especially an elected member. And fyi, a white man would surely have adorned the Nehru jacket and songkok!
written by Vidya Young, June 20, 2008 20:21:24
Fairnessforall - "All those bastard UMNO goons wear songkok and all are so corrupted and have only bothered about self service. Is this what we want. Which do we prefer, a person who works hard for the people and does not wear a songkok or a person who wears a songkok and only fills his own pockets".

What utter crap! A songkok is a songkok is a SONGKOK!! Period. It has no satanic powers to corrupt the wearer! If Gwee is clean and just, the Rakyat will back him, even if he is dressed as Lucifer!
written by prof, June 20, 2008 21:30:11
Johor UMNO members love to "bodek" their sultan. of course this time they have to bodek more because Johor is MAD that the White Rock protuding from the sea down south apparently belongs to Singapore just because of a simple letter from a Johor Civil Servant. Johor UMNO bila kamu orang nak belajar dari sejarah???
written by bobdylan, June 20, 2008 22:09:50
he is a snake trying to bring down pakatan rakyat,,,,he should be kicked out before he causes more trouble....wonder how much BN paid him to do this....i dont any diffrence with him and the taliban....imagine what will happen if this kind of people become our leaders.......extremist.....remove before it spreads.
written by Sabahfan, June 20, 2008 22:52:38
I disagree with all condemmning opinions here....

It is very obvious that it is not the uniform but the songkok symbolising malay culture that is the reason. And the wearing would NOT have been an issue, if not for the WELL KNOWN ego of UMNO Leaders to IMPOSE their culture and everything else on other races in Malaysia...

and by the way.... THE F...G uniform is not free, but PAID by taxpayers monwy... I FEEL THAT IS A BLOOOODY WASTE OF MY TAX.

Let them wear any clothing as long as it looks nice, not showing off, sexy or provocative, a suit, a standard traditional dress etc..

when fiji parliament was first opened by Prince charles, all the their members came in their own official traditional dresses symbolising UNITY in one place in the presence of diversity.... WHY CANT YOU DO THAT IN MALAYSIA?

SONGKOK means to show Ketuanan Melayu... THAT IS ALL WHAT IT MEANS..
and what blooody culture, show me the rules in the constitution please??

or was it an unwritten rule made by the bigots and the rascist????

AND THE UMNO GOVT HAVE BEEN saying to be prudent in spending, change lifestyle..

NOW IS THE TIME YOU PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH, BAN THE UNIFORM, SAVE TAXPAYERS MONEY.. spent the budget on uniforms instead to help the very poor who cannot afford the fuel increase....

blooody hipocrites.....
written by sarawakian, June 21, 2008 00:23:27
STUPID DAP Chinaman. for sure next election you are out.

arrogance gets you nowhere. the others are willing to wear "official attire" at an official function. let's see if you would willing put on the uniform if you were getting a Tan Sri award.

and i am Chinese and wear a songkok sometimes. it makes me Malaysian!

written by Sabahfan, June 21, 2008 00:29:05
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

HOI SARAWAKIANN...next time u come to sabah to steal our timber, you will have to wear a siga and a full KDM dresss before we allow u in...

ha ha ha ha... then we see how u feel.... ha ha ha

after all, we have to use passport to enter Sarawak... crap; u all
written by hakuna, June 21, 2008 01:19:07
If the attire has been spelt out - why the hesitation?
People go to fancy dress , dressed as other races but when it becomes official - no way, Jose - what a joke!!!
We want you in the assembly to use your grey matter - the songkok is definitely not going to restrict your thinking ability.
written by The dragonheart, June 21, 2008 01:40:59
I think this act by this DAP man is purely stupid...

if he joins the armed forces or police or any enforcement bodies, they have similar ceremonial dress..and almost all wear songkok...

even if he joins the Scouts, still he have to wear songkok...

To me he is not a true patriotic man... he stands for a stupid course which does not benefits the rakyat...

written by MalaysianUnited, June 21, 2008 07:44:14
LOVE ALL MALAYSIAN!! smilies/smiley.gif

DAP kata Malaysia untuk Malaysian..tapi pakai songkok pun menjadi satu isu.

Memakai songkok hanya ketika Agung atau Sultan2 mahu merasmikan Dewan Rakyat atau Dewan Undangan Negeri..ia sebagai satu penghormatan dan lambang penyatuan kita semua. Selain hari itu, YB boleh pakai pakaian kot. Lihat sahaja perbahasan di Parlimen..ramai sahaja YB berketurunan Melayu yang hanya memakai kot.

YB ini nak jadi 'superhero'..itu sahaja. Sedihnya, atas keangkuhannya..dia telah membazirkan masa sehari yang patutnya digunakan untuk RAKYAT!!
written by Adriftboat, June 21, 2008 07:53:42
To me I think there is no right and wrong in the matter. It all depends on individual how one view te matter and in whcih perspective. I should say life is all about choices and if choices are denied then I think human's rights can be thrown out of the window....so you guys even how you aruged until the cows come home, there is no solution and/or a direct remedy to such a situation.
Anyway I still believe that if you are in Rome do what the Romans do as we have to abide to the majority consenses.......