Yong Acted Alone PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 08:44

The Barisan Nasional (BN) Supreme Council has decided not to expel the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) as it believes the statement by its president, Yong Teck Lee, Wednesday (18 June) was not the stand of the party, said Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

"As far as I know, it (Yong's statement) is not the stand of the party. The statement came from Yong Teck Lee personally. That's why we are not taking action against the party," said the Prime Minister, who is also the BN chairman, at a press conference after an emergency meeting of the BN Supreme Council, in Kuala Lumpur Thursday (19 June).

In Kota Kinabalu Wednesday, Yong, who was also a former Sabah Chief Minister, said the party had lost confidence in the Prime Minister and would support a motion on a vote of `no confidence' against Abdullah at the Dewan Rakyat sitting beginning Monday (23 June).

Bernama reported that Abdullah said it was up to SAPP to take whatever action against Yong for his statement.

"Whatever decision the party wants to make concerning the action of its president is up to the party," he said.

When asked whether the BN would take action against two SAPP MPs, Abdullah said actions would only be taken if they make similar statements in the Dewan Rakyat.

In his statement Wednesday, Yong said two SAPP MPs, Eric Enchin Majimbun (Sepanggar) and Dr Chua Soon Bui (Tawau), would support the motion of no confidence.

"They have not yet made any statements in the Dewan Rakyat. If they had done so, then we can take actions because in the House, we have party discipline and the (government) whip.

"We will of course take action if they go against party discipline," he said, adding that BN had once taken action against a MP from MIC, as well as two BN assembly members in Penang.

"This is not the question of being afraid or not. The issue is, we need to make the correct decision. We cannot take a hasty decision against a party which have not yet made any decision on the matter.

"Otherwise, we will be seen as having taken an action without knowing whether the matter was really a decision made by the party or only made by its leader. That is important for us to consider.

"We have to be correct in wanting to take any kind of action against anybody or against institution or against any component party," he said.

Asked whether a show cause letter would be sent to the party, Abdullah said, "We have not asked them to show cause because they have not done anything wrong at the moment."

Abdullah said Thursday's meeting was important as it discussed an issue involving the head of a BN component party. (MySinchew)

written by Ken Liew, June 20, 2008 08:50:46
Not just the rakyat giving up hope on YOU!! The people in your Party also.

Stop dreaming and wake up already.... is time for you to step down.
written by Rundukon, June 20, 2008 08:52:00
Yong's statement was not SAPP stand. Its the stand of all Sabahans, at least the stand of all Sabahans of non-UMNO.
written by krepot, June 20, 2008 08:59:14
Yep! He sure acted alone!!!!!!!

written by netaddict1, June 20, 2008 09:00:34
Bodohwi's AIDS is at the terminal stage!

(RPK's terminology of AIDS = ACUTE INTENSE DENIAL SYNDROME)
written by Counterpointer, June 20, 2008 09:04:15
That's why we are not taking action against the party," said the Prime Minister, who is also the BN chairman

This hopelessly lousy politician can do nothing right.

His authority gets completely undermined by ToonDog and his son, Muhyiddin, etc. and now a coalition party and still he doesn't know how to do the right thing.
written by ahmadneil, June 20, 2008 09:16:20
Act alone! still trying to keep afloat.AAB wake up. You are still been fed with the wrong information.They give you a recorded CD instead of watching live.
written by miwaki, June 20, 2008 09:22:18
SAPP with 2 MPs and 4 State Assembly man dares to take on the enrire BN and Pak Lah has not ball to take any action against the party that asking him to step down.Instead,Pak Lah tried very hard to save his own ugly face by claiming that the call for him to step down was Teck Lee's personal stand.

Ka Ting,Samy and Tsu Koon, all three of you are not as fortunate as Teck Lee because 3 of you put together also cannot match SAPP of Sabah interm of strength and usefulness.Don't believe me.try imitate SAPP and see.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 20, 2008 09:22:57
Michael Jackson = Air Walk
AAB = TALK AIR
written by budakindia, June 20, 2008 09:42:36
He won't be that stupid lar, abdullah! The reason he took that stand is because majority of Sabah people wanted him to do so! No more racial divide! All of them took the same stand! How come you still can't see this? 4th floor boys, Naina and your son-in-law are just too arrogant to recognize this? Or you slept over it?
written by semut, June 20, 2008 09:46:55
i respect sabahan!
u guys rock!

only MORON stay mith BN!!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by rayfire, June 20, 2008 10:03:34
Does it seem like he acted ALONE?
I think not, well we will know by this evening.
I am sure, veiled threats have been sent to the supreme council members of SAPP by now!
Looks like the evasive BN Spirit is on the loose again
Time to exorcise it once and for all!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by Bornean, June 20, 2008 10:26:04
I can't believe it! The President of the party publicly makes a press release on national tv and the BN supreme council says that Yong is making a personal stand! The president is the official spokesperson. How come what he says officially has become personal?

For your information, Yong Teck Lee has spoken for the majority of Sabahans.

Raymond Tan and the rest of SAPP supreme council members, be united and don't be intimidated! This is what we want, right? Keep it up!
written by Richfyf, June 20, 2008 10:28:59
Pak Lah made This statement ""This is not the question of being afraid or not. The issue is, we need to make the correct decision. We cannot take a hasty decision against a party which have not yet made any decision on the matter.

"Otherwise, we will be seen as having taken an action without knowing whether the matter was really a decision made by the party or only made by its leader. That is important for us to consider.

Pak Lah if only you would have made that consideration when you make the decision to increase the price of petrol after 3 hours of "meeting" I guess You make decision base on your own interest right????

Increase price of petrol emm make more money for you and your family members so ... we now what is your decision.

Kick SAPP out you know will start the ball rolling for others to follow ..which means you are assures of 2 extra votes of no confidence. So for you own political survival we now know what is your decision ... emmm to think that I been assuming you are asleep and dumb Boy Have I under estimated you You are sly, You sure did fool the whole nation by acting dumb.While people think you are dumb and "harmless" you sure took every opportunity for your own self benefit. What the heck you even took opportuniy on you own sister in law!!!!!!!!!!!!! DSAI what this guy if you think TDM is bad you are right casue you can see it But this ABB is worts I think... I might be wrong but better be safe then sorry
written by slayer, June 20, 2008 10:42:53
Wah....this Bodowi is so scared of what might happen if he takes stern action against SAPP, that's why he is taking the "soft approach". hehehehe
Normally, the BN/UMNO style would be to take disciplinary action or even expel anyone or party the moment they get offended by some remarks. But this is no ordinary remark..this is actually asking the PM to step down yet they are taking the soft approach....hhmmm....sacred of another tsunami?
written by onnetline, June 20, 2008 11:28:42
Bernama reported that Abdullah said it was up to SAPP to take whatever action against Yong for his statement.
"Whatever decision the party wants to make concerning the action of its president is up to the party," he said.

Can his 4th floor advisers tells the sleepy head boss, Bodohwi to WAKE UP !!!!! And then tell him that there was a press conference held and a photo to proof that Mr. Yong had not acted alone.

MIC, MCA, Gerakan or the other coalition partners sleeping together in his big bed, I guess.
written by archie, June 20, 2008 16:14:01
More like PBS is going the way of Gerakan.
written by KKchan, June 20, 2008 16:52:34
Read AAB's statement very carefully. He drew a distinction between SAPP and Yong. Why? Because BN wants to split the party and get rid of the problem. So he said it is up to SAPP to take whatever action it wanted against Yong. Has he been advised by Taib Mahmud? He must hold the record for splitting parties in Sarawak, if not Malaysia. My guess is that SAPP would split and the process started with AAB's statement about the party and Yong's perceived greed. Add to this is ACA investigation on Yong. Raymond Tan has distanced himself from Yong and his statement. So unless Yong has the full support of SAPP and its elected YBs, it is very likely that Yong would be tilting at windmills at best, or if ACA has evidence against him, pressured to go quietly into the night and rage no more.
written by ciahcra, June 20, 2008 18:15:17
pandai2 je si Bodolah ni cakap Yong bertindak sendiri..... ni ape .. http://www.utusan.com.my/utusa...=bt_26.htm

stop living in denial la.....haih
written by cllim123, June 20, 2008 18:45:05
latest news in Malaysia Kini, SAPP backs boss in no confidence against Badawi. No see what the stupid man does now. Call for another leaders meeting?
written by Counterpointer, June 20, 2008 21:30:12
I gotta give it to this overzealous admin guy in MT here.

Even my innocuous comment on BADawi being hopeless football player if he ever was one and missing his penalty shots gets erased.

Admin, are you OK ???????
written by BUTEK, June 20, 2008 21:32:08
Kudos to Mr Yong Teck Lee... Sabah will be much2 better under chinese administrator... vote 4 KETUANAN CINA di Sabah....
written by gx27, June 21, 2008 18:57:52
Yong did not acted alone. Entire nation behind him!!!