Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow RAPID KL: Answers to questions & SAPP

RAPID KL: Answers to questions & SAPP PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 08:30

My son-in-law was not and has never been Chief Executive Officer of MTrans. He was working with the company. I do not know why Prasarana should require 1,500 buses in 1995. It may have taken over the LRT lines but it had already got buses for the feeder system.

I have been informed that Rapid KL belong to the Ministry of Finance and not Khazanah. This increases the mystery of the 1,500 buses for Prasarana.

2. I confess I persuaded MTrans to go into the manufacture of the monorail train, build the tracks and operate it. There was no other Malaysian company willing to do so at that time. As the development cost was high I had to assure MTrans it would be given first preference if a monorail is to be built in Kuala Lumpur.

My main interest is to bring in the technology. I wanted Malaysia not just to use its own monorail trains but to export them as well.

Foreign companies were only interested in selling the train and the lines i.e. not to invest but to get a Government contract.

If being given the rights to risk their own money to acquire monorail technology, develop and test and then build the system in Kuala Lumpur when no others were willing constitute monopoly then I stand guilty.

If my son-in-law happened to be in this company and I did not penalise this company I am very sorry. Since no other company was interested penalising MTrans would mean no Malaysian made monorail train or system.

3. I did not authorise a bailout of the company. The Government talked with MTrans for a monorail system for Putrajaya which could provide some relief for the company.

But the Abdullah Government cancelled this project after the company had built the bridge and part of the track. Government only paid a part of the cost. After this MTrans financial position became worse.

Its value plummeted and Scomi bought only the manufacturing plant in 2006. This was the profitable part of the company.

The Kuala Lumpur Monorail system was acquired by Khazanah when it went into receivership. It was not profitable.

There was no bailout i.e. the Government did not inject capital to revive the company during my premiership. It was a simple purchase by Scomi and Khazanah of a company bankrupted by a decision of the Government after I stepped down.

I am glad that after Scomi bought MTrans it is now making profit. But then Scomi bought the profitable manufacturing plant.
If Utusan is to be believed Scomi only refurbishes Rapid KL buses. If refurbishing gives 20 million Ringgit profits in 2006 i.e. the first year of acquisition as announced by Scomi then the management of Scomi must be brilliant.

It is also no mean feat to get 70 buses out of 150 buses tendered out by Rapid Penang.

Five other companies got the balance of 80 – or 16 buses each. I wish them luck.

written by Clive, June 20, 2008 08:42:23
Aiyah, TDM, jangan lah kamu in, Naik motorsikal ketawa AAB naik Basikal.
Both also the same, Duo Roda ba....faham.
Malaysiakini, Malaysia-today,....bolgs....are popular because of you lah...
King of CARE " Corruption, Arragon, Racist, Extreme"
written by loosecannon, June 20, 2008 09:36:56
Whatever the excuses this again proves one thing, the Umnoputras are a bunch of unscupulous crooks whose sole purpose in life is to live on the misery of the ordinary people. One thing we can safely assume, hell is going to be quite crowded and Umno will have more than enough people to form an Umno club there. The question is how much of their ill-gotton wealth can they bring with them there.
written by cheemengwong, June 20, 2008 09:52:47
Dr. M,

So much money and poor feasibility study done! In the private sector such decision to invest and divest would have been deliberated with all the possible scenarios before even 1 cent is invested.

What kind of PM are you? You just spend the Raayat's money without any afterthought!

I suggest you go and do hard labour in the construction site for 1 day to earn the RM 50 ringgit. After that use your own money to buy out, bail out or out out GLCs and your cronies' company.

You have actually spend much of Raayat's money without an afterthought. You brought misery to the Raayat. A lot of the Raayat are without shelter and a future. Do you know that?

You are always talking about your son in law, son, daughter, daughter in law, cronies and yourself.

Such selfish person, I wonder how you can become a leader? You are not leader! You are lentong, lepak, lemang, nasi lemak!
written by InEffective, June 20, 2008 10:55:31
Companies don't exist to transfer technology - they exist to market and sell products and services.

Just because you give them a contract is not a license to extort the firm. You are getting to use the products.

If you want to own technology, either buy the firm outright, or invest in the universities, and the malaysian human capital.

Stop wasting the rakyat's precious resources in foolhardy ventures. Don't write checks on the rakyat's ringgit.
written by sickofitall, June 20, 2008 11:00:53
Dr M, most of these hairbrained ideas on how to screw the country were hatched during your tenure, and personally I cannot fathoom how you were unaware of many of these schemes. It would do your credibi;lity a whole world of good if you just acknowledged that you too, were either aslpeep at the wheel, or closed two eyes one time too many as Pm.
written by cruzeiro, June 20, 2008 12:11:35

Foreign companies were only interested in selling the train and the lines i.e. not to invest but to get a Government contract.

========================================

Of course lah you "genius" - you have a negotiated tender system with an NEP crutch system that does not allow competitiveness!

Jeez .... I don't even wanna read what this demented fool writes in his blog (never mind the idiotic comments) ....
written by pengembara, June 20, 2008 13:07:35
Tun

You are a brilliant man - you created four different incompatible mass transport systems in KL excluding buses. You killed off the mini-bus where one could go to work for less then RM1 in favour of these 'white-elephants' where one has to pay 2 or 3 times more per day.

Four different systems mean four different sets of spares. You don't have the economy of scale. Or is it an over-sight?

When they failed you get the Government (and tax payer) monies to bail out.

So please, Tun, can you please retire QUIETLY? You have messed up a couple of generation of Malaysians as well as the man who succeeded you.

Peace

Al-Imran:110

written by eagle22, June 20, 2008 14:52:25
What tecnology transfer ? .... after 20yrs with mitsubishi.. still can't even produce proper quality car .. talking rubbish. can't even have good proton in export numbers but talking about producing train ... bodoh.
written by fazda, June 20, 2008 15:21:52
I found related article:

RAPIDKL, THE REAL ISSUES

Tun Mahathir first brought up the issue of Rapid KL in his posting on his blog of 10 June 2008 in which he did not disclose that his son-in-law was involved in MTrans. In response, I had a number of questions for him in relation to the role of his son-in-law and himself as Prime Minister at the material time....

Stephen Doss Blog
http://stephendoss.********.com)
written by diffchap, June 20, 2008 16:02:56
terima kasih fazda kerana mendedahkan perkara ini..rasanya semakin kita didedahkan dengan perkara2 sebegini, semakin MERUNDUM kepercayaan orang ramai terhadap kredibiliti TDM, lebih2 lagi blog beliau itu. tak sangka apa yang ditulis dalam blog TDM nampak seperti berkepentingan kepada pihak beliau(dan anak beranak, keluarga dan kawan2 beliau). pada pandangan saya, TDM tidak berhak mendakwa individu lain mengamalkan nepotisme dan kronisme.
written by SamSan, June 20, 2008 16:23:41
I am very much perturbed by MIC Deputy's president Palanivel's recent comments in Malaysiakini on the allegations of racism slant by our beloved TDM in his Chet Det blog spot lambasting his boss Semi Value. Isn't it very late for him to respond, given all the racist propoganda that had been dished out at the non malay parties by UMNO. Where was this buffoon's or the bigger buffoon the MIC president's or for that matter the other non malay leaders from MCA, Gerakan, etc. response admonishing such racial stunts by UMNO in the last two years or more. Why only react to admonish TDM on his racial slurs now. Isn't it a wee bit late.
written by mgeo, June 20, 2008 18:05:14
I request that the source of each article/link be shown, so that we can choose whether to read such swill.
written by kooiseng, June 20, 2008 20:50:29
Again he says he does not know what happened to whom and when. This man is deceitful and hypocritical. The less he says the better for him. Please shut up Dr M. The country can do without your gutter style of politics.
written by kurangfaham, June 21, 2008 12:35:44
ABB your SIL is an ugly creature by nature. He needs to cleaned through rough action, since your are soft and unhealthy (sleeping through your service as PM) unable to serve anybody except Jeanie.