Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow There's still Chinese goodwill for DAP, PKR

There's still Chinese goodwill for DAP, PKR PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 08:19

In the course of the week The Malaysian Insider presents a series of reports to give an overview of what has happened and help make sense of a new Malaysia that has evolved 100 days after the watershed Election 2008 on March 8. Regular contributor Leslie Lau examines where and on what the influential Chinese swing vote rests on.

Along Jalan Maharajalela in Kuala Lumpur, the grand old KL and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall Building stands as one of the oldest landmarks in the city.

And adorning the balcony of the two-storey building is a large billboard which gives a daily count of the number of days since the Damansara Chinese Primary School was closed in Petaling Jaya in 2001.

The closure of the school, amid widespread protests, has grown from a local issue into one which symbolises how the Chinese community’s perception and suspicions of the Umno-led Barisan Nasional (BN) fed into the anger towards the ruling coalition in the March general elections.

Three months after the Chinese overwhelmingly voted for the DAP and PKR in answer to the rallying cry that "a vote for MCA or Gerakan is a vote for Umno", the heart of the community’s dissatisfaction with the government is still the issue of Chinese education.

Writing in his blog, former MCA vice-president Datuk Dr Chua Soi Lek articulates the frustrations of the Chinese.

"It has been a sore point among the Chinese that the government has not been fair in dispersing money to Chinese schools because under the Education Act, most of the land of Chinese schools that belong to the school board are not entitled to full funding when it comes to development.

"This has always been a sore point for the Chinese educationists and this is also a point that causes the loss of confidence and votes for MCA and the BN government."

More recently, the controversy over how scholarships were awarded by the Public Services Department (PSD) appeared to have also touched a raw nerve among the Chinese, who have always felt many of its top scorers were indiscriminately denied scholarships by the government.

As both MCA and Gerakan head toward party elections, the leaders of the two main Chinese-based parties in BN are expected to become more strident in expressing their views.

"A major fight is already shaping up in MCA. Everyone will want to show how they are the champions of the Chinese now," a senior MCA central committee member told The Malaysian Insider.

MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting has argued that the lesson of the March election results is for the party to take a more multi-racial approach.

But his critics say that would be impossible unless Umno also takes a more multi-racial approach.

For now, the DAP and PKR, the two biggest beneficiaries of Chinese dissatisfaction with the BN coalition, still largely retain the support of the community.

"I would like to give the Pakatan Rakyat state governments a chance. And if they form the next federal government, we should give them a chance too. If they mess up we can vote them out," said John Chin, an accountant in Petaling Jaya.

The major obstacle against the Chinese fully supporting the fledgling Pakatan Rakyat coalition remains PAS.

Long held suspicions and objections against the intention of PAS to set up an Islamic state, or at the very least to inject more so-called Islamic values into governance, still cloud Chinese and non-Muslim feelings about the Islamic party.

The recent call by PAS Youth for the Selangor government to ban concert appearances by two female Malay singers it considered indecent acts, would not have helped PAS in its efforts to win over the Chinese.

Even in Perak, where Datuk Nizar Jamaluddin, the PAS menteri besar, appears to have won over the Chinese, the support shown for the Pakatan Rakyat is largely due to the comfort of knowing DAP and PKR legislators are the overwhelming majority in the state coalition.

The PR state governments of Selangor, Perak and Penang, the three states with significant Chinese populations, are still enjoying the benefits of a honeymoon period.

With MCA and Gerakan facing a period of internal strife, the leaders of DAP and PKR can also expect to remain for some time as the voice of Chinese interests. - THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

But Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi’s introduction of popular reforms and the distrust of PAS mean Chinese political support could still be up for grabs again soon.

written by Rashid, June 20, 2008 08:24:41
"But Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi’s introduction of popular reforms and the distrust of PAS mean Chinese political support could still be up for grabs again soon.

Ke ke ke! Leslie, can you try again. Reforms from AMENO and Dollah? Not only the Chinese, but Indians and Malays are with DAP, PKR and PAS. How do you feel about it?

written by ctchoolaw, June 20, 2008 08:29:57
Rubbish! PR offers the best alternative the Chinese ever had. What the Chinese want is fairness and equality in jobs, projects and to be left alone to do their business or work with minimum bloody taxes that only goes to crony projects. http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by ahmadneil, June 20, 2008 08:30:17
MCA seat is at the feet of umno with the leash round its neck and the tail between its two legs.
written by adamhalim, June 20, 2008 08:39:19
This is our major problem as Malaysian wanted to sub-divide the race until today. It can't blame Leslie, this is what the education system we have in Malaysia. This is absolute nonsense when comes to grow as one National... ask ourselve who are you representing when you are outside of country.. Malay Malaysia, Chinese Malaysia or India Malaysia...
Let growth up with a new attitude to think as one Malaysian rather than continue talk like UMNOputra about Malay rights and so forth.. Actually this is for their pockets to grow not the race.
written by Awaken64, June 20, 2008 08:42:33
If the Berlin wall can fall WHY not AMNO... stop living in your MAY 13 mental state and do the needful to get the message across to your scumbag political arse lickers.
written by Dominic, June 20, 2008 09:00:07
All along,the Chinese are never happy with the deprivation on education grant for Chinese medium school as well as scholarship by the govt . Being a major contributor to the overall country economy and development, the least they expect is some form of assistance if not equal treatment . Are we not Malaysian like any others ? Look at Penang. Having a Chinese as the CM for so many years one after another, had the other races been side lined ? It is the UMNOPUTRAS that play RACIAL card that results in today`s woe . Hopfully with PR runned state,things would slowly get back to normal where everybody irrespective of race or creed would be a proud Malaysian equal in all aspect.
written by Richfyf, June 20, 2008 09:44:32
The day we have a Malay Chief Minister in penang, A Chinese Menteri Besar In Kelantan and an Indian Menteri Besar in Johore all elected because of their capability then that will be the day we all can call ourself TRULY MALAYSIAN. For now I guess Bangsa Malaysia will only be like wawasan 2020 just a dream. But hey we all need to have dreams to make it a reality. Do we all have to conviction to make it a reality..?? Remember Martin L.King " I have a dream......."
Seems like Barisan Rakyat have start the spark towards that direction of making our dream to reality. Now all we need is the determination , conviction and faith to make it come true.
written by PHUA KL, June 20, 2008 10:00:57
"A major fight is already shaping up in MCA. Everyone will want to show how they are the champions of the Chinese now," a senior MCA central committee member told The Malaysian Insider.

MALAYSIANS of Chinese ancestry should not be fooled by deathbed conversions!
Same species i.e. UMNO "champions of the Malays", MCA "champions of the Chinese" and MIC "champions of the Indians"
written by mamakstail, June 20, 2008 10:27:21
I just came back from ChengDu. there I met a young brilliant Chinese senior bank manager working for a Singaporean bank in Chengdu. I'm surprise that he is from Penang. Contrary in our country be it in the government or private corporate sectors do we really practice meritocracy by allowing not to say a foreigner but a difference race to hold such a high post? Malaysian of all races are well known and accepted in other countries for their brains, hardworking, trustworthiness and other good qualities. We have the Malaysian government to thanks for chasing away these good human assets.
written by almier, June 20, 2008 11:21:26
In PR Malays got Anwar, Muslim got Nik Aziz, Chinese got Lim Kit Siang, Indian got Karpal Singh...sn't it a great combination?
written by mikewang, June 20, 2008 12:12:03
All over China you may find Malaysian Chinese holding senior positions in companies managed by the MNCs, no thanks to the exposures they were given in similar companies here in Malaysia and Singapore.

This is a globalised world.
The sooner we realise and take the necessary steps to fall in line, the better it will be for us.
written by lynn, June 20, 2008 14:27:15
"And adorning the balcony of the two-storey building is a large billboard which gives a daily count of the number of days since the Damansara Chinese Primary School was closed in Petaling Jaya in 2001."

Heard mamak's chief crony named vincent tan wants the entire parcel of land in PJ for development. Can anyone confirm this rumor? So the corrupt govt moved the D'ra Chinese school to the most ****ed-up location they can find, ie. re-located to Tropicana PJ, where its main entrance is next to a T-Junction with traffic lights where flow of traffic comes from three directions!

Anyone with a low IQ can see that is the worst place to park a busy Chinese school. How abt those brainless or shit-for-brains guys in charge in the previous state govt. who would allow this to happen? How abt those useless MCA bastards who kept mum?
written by Jan, June 20, 2008 15:08:33
This Damansara School thingy cost dearly for UMNO as far as goodwill from the Chinese community is concerned. Why the hell would these politicians want to politicise education, is it to exert their ketuanaan bangsa and agama on the poor chinese?
written by taxi90, June 20, 2008 17:00:01
Dmh, you haven't read the ASLI report have you?
written by Uncorruptible, June 20, 2008 21:55:30
unmo, mac, mci etc are all historical jetsams and correctly so. Most important is to bury them well and bury them fast so they can never raise their evil heads again. !!!!
written by mob1900, June 20, 2008 22:07:56
HEHEHEH,
Still trying to 'champion' for their own race when the trouble are not with race but poverty and social problems which all Malaysians faced. How many of you dares say every Chinese is as Rich as V.Tan, every Indian is a AnandaK or there's no Rich Malays the likes of the very dead Naza dude?

For us, when somebody did wrong, they are wrong no matter what kind of race they are.

As for dmh, you want 'accommodating'? Sure, try being a non-bumi and learn 'accommodating' of not getting scholarships or loans based on your skin colour, try paying full taxes and not enjoying any 'special discounts' on housing and cars, try queieing up for a single 'non-bumi' line for business license vs several empty ones for 'Bumis', try being indoctrined by our education system on how superior another 'race' is and oh BEST OF ALL:

TRY WORKING HARD.
written by SamBall, June 21, 2008 02:56:14
Very susah la racial politics and poltitics or race/religion.

After 50 years, still stamped by race at birth. Isn't this apartheid? Pariah bastards UNMO/BN practice racial apartheid; you destroy the lifes of future generations with your shallow thinking and petty minds.

Worst, skilled liars like maha kaka; habis la semua.

Need tsunami to sweep away all this dirt. Any takers??
written by maran08, June 22, 2008 19:11:58
Brilliant students should born in Malaysia, our education system still cannot afford to recognize our children regardless by RACE BASIS. CURSE of this LAND MALAYSIA.
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by miwaki, June 22, 2008 21:57:25
Pak Lah can forget about MCA,MIC and Gerakan as these parties are redundant as long as UMNO continue to misbehave.We non malay will never revert to MCA and the rest of the mosquito parties within BN.

We never ever trust whatever reforms put forward by Pak Lah as we know Pak Lah is cannot come up with fantastic reforms due to his incompetency.We also cannot trust his cabinet memebers as they are also equally incompetent.The only hope for the people of malaysia is to have a new government which is free from corruption and competent as well.

Don't waste your time and efforts trying to change Pak Lah,just let Pakatan Rakyat form the new federal government and take a back seat to learn how to manage a country from Pakatan Rakyat.I'm sure you and your canbinet members will learn a thing or two before they leave this world !
written by mamakstail, June 24, 2008 09:54:41
Dear fmh1871, It is not the Malays that are accommodating..it is the non-Malays are accommodating. Did the Malays assist the Chinese to be billionaires? No! these Chinese work hard to be rich. Did the government give hand-outs to Chinese? not really!. Most taxes are paid to build and assist you people and tell me what 'accommodating' contributions have you given to us...nothing! even the houses you people bought and stay are subsidized by the non-Malays..by discount and quota...you should be ashame of yourselves.
You can try to treat us like Indonesia did to the indon-chinese and see what happen now.. I think you only read Utusan and doubt you read any international newspapers. Please be a fool to talk stupid racist thing here anymore!
written by johnT, June 27, 2008 01:17:25
I believe every one know our sport star call Nicole David. She is a non malay but she represent our country and make our country proud, Just imagine if she cannot represent our country in squash because she is a non Malay will our country be proud? Will our country win the gold medal? The answer is no. Same thing when it come to economy and management, What we need is a brilliant person to manage our country no matter what race they are from as long they are Malaysian. By choosing racist what get get is a poor quality leader and management. It cost a big lost to all Malaysian.