Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Abdullah grows weaker with latest BN shock

Abdullah grows weaker with latest BN shock PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 08:04

Sabah party's call for vote of no confidence unlikely to force him out, but it could snowball

The opposition's de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim has promised what BN has not been able to deliver - Sabah and Sarawak will each get 20 per cent in oil royalties, compared to the current 5 per cent.

By Reme Ahmad, The Straits Times

FORMER premier Mahathir Mohamad suggested a few weeks ago that Barisan Nasional leaders who are unhappy with Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi should leave the coalition.

He said they should form an independent group and act as power brokers to ask the Premier to step down.

On Wednesday, the Sabah Progressive Party (Sapp) did just that.

The move has further weakened Datuk Seri Abdullah - the first Malaysian prime minister to face the threat of a no-confidence vote from his own coalition partner.

But it is unlikely that he will be forced to step down because the Sapp is a tiny party with only two Members of Parliament, analysts say.

Beyond that, there are procedures to follow before a motion of no-confidence could be tabled in Parliament, unless it is allowed by the Speaker of Parliament.

'The hope for the Sapp, with only two members in the Lower House, to table its proposal is very thin, especially as it also has to get enough support from other members,' said political commentator and blogger Abdul Kadir Jasin.

For his part, the Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia, said his decision on whether to allow the motion would be based on rules.

'If I were to abuse my position as Speaker, it will affect me personally - my credibility as a politician and as an individual,' said the Umno Sabah politician.

But PM Abdullah's position remains precarious. He has been trying to put out one political fire after another since his 14-party BN had a disastrous showing in the March general election.

And there is a danger that the Sapp move might snowball.

There are persistent rumours that leaders of Sabah-native party Upko and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) might bolt soon, observers say.

The United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) has four MPs, and the PBS has three.

The opposition's de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim has promised what BN has not been able to deliver - Sabah and Sarawak will each get 20 per cent in oil royalties, compared to the current 5 per cent.

Indeed, Datuk Seri Anwar has been the biggest winner in the unfolding drama.

Observers at first just shook their heads when he said repeatedly that the three-party Pakatan Rakyat, an opposition coalition, would be able to take over the government by mid-September.

Now people are beginning to sit up.

'We still think that the odds that Anwar will successfully take over the government are still against him, although they have certainly improved,' wrote political commentators Ong Kian Ming and Oon Yeoh in news website Malaysiakini yesterday.

'If before, we would peg his chances as 30 per cent, right now we'd say it's closer to 40 per cent.'

In fact, many postings on websites showed that there is a sense of concern that governance of the country has suffered.

One posting in the hugely popular Malaysia Today website says: 'BN is not governing the country any more. They are firefighting events everyday with little time to look and address the welfare of the nation and the people.'

A posting in the New Malaysia blog added: 'The country must stop all the politicking as the general election is over 100 days ago, and focus on the economic growth and development to spur income and economic activities.'

LITTLE HOPE

'The hope for the Sapp, with only two members in the Lower House, to table its proposal is very thin, especially as it also has to get enough support from other members.'

POLITICAL COMMENTATOR AND BLOGGER ABDUL KADIR JASIN

written by ahmadneil, June 20, 2008 08:11:49
If this had happen during Tun Mahathir,Yong Teck Lee will have ISA written on his face.Yes AAB is facing the greatest challenge of life.Between the devil and the sea.
written by ctchoolaw, June 20, 2008 08:13:50
Time to go. Not just Pak Lah but BN. Your time has expired. http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by ultraman, June 20, 2008 08:17:19
I am no supporter of TDM nor Yong Teik Lee. As it is the government is reallyunsettled since March 8 election. There are so many internal bickering among the BN component parties and at the same time threat from PR of forming the new government with defection.
THe one pesoon who caused all theese mess is none other than Pak Lah.
He has proven himself to be utterly imcompetent in being a PM. Having failed miserably in his first term, he still want o hang on.
HE SHOULD RESIGN TO SETTLE THE ISSUE
written by semut, June 20, 2008 08:23:48
abdullah grows weaker because he sleeps a lot!

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by joejoe, June 20, 2008 08:39:53
The article should quote Bodowi. According to the article in Malaysiakini, he said,
I have my responsibilities. If I keep thinking of people criticising me ... how can I carry out my work," he said after chairing an emergency meeting of top leaders from 13 of the 14 parties in the Barisan Nasional coalition. I cannot afford to be distracted by issues that keep coming up. I have to be focused with what I have to do.

In other words,
"I don't care what you say. I will do what I want to do. What do you rakyat know?"
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 20, 2008 08:49:30
Infighting and stronger opposition collation has been besetting Pak Lah since March 8. Topping that is the mere 30 MPs required by the opposition to topple the BN government.
My opinion? Go for a fresh election and settle the issue once and for all!
written by budakindia, June 20, 2008 09:53:00
how to calculate the real damage? Just like the effects of the atomic bomb, how many was the exact casualities? The motion will be turned down. Of course the speaker will be seen as a traitor, other component parties will give the subject another thought, more defections. You can throw Yong out or even kick him out from Malaysia but the damage is getting bigger. He is seen as a hero for Sabah people. I don't know how you can fix that, abdullah! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, June 20, 2008 10:18:53
Easy way out!pretend nothing happens!wait for more things to happen!next few days many things will happen!political tsunami for Malaysia!Survival of the Fittest!there are two options left for them,one fight back with all your ammunition;two,run for your life! smilies/grin.gif
written by HamChak, June 20, 2008 11:43:08
Badawi, just take my simple advice, lah
All you need to do is:
I S A that MaMakThir
then ISA YongTeckLee, Kuli, Krissimuddin.
ISA SemiValue, APFatWoman, MonyetKhairy
and Maddhias.
Then Semua OK and we can all sleep, zzzzzzzz.
written by Waiman, June 20, 2008 12:27:05
Its time to change THE PM he has become more greedy, so much so that he has forgotten his duty to the RAHYAT. Time for him to go for a better man to take charge before it get worst.
written by tommycol, June 20, 2008 15:47:09
DEAREST PAKLAH,
Just a small suggestion for you : CALL FOR SNAP ERECTION!!!to see where you STAND(if i doubt)and get the 'VULTURES' in UMNO off your neck and in the case of not getting the VOTE from the RAKYAT just RETIRE and you be LIVING HAPPILY EVER AFTER.
Show them you HAVE BALLS !!!
written by Jan, June 20, 2008 17:02:32
Are you sure you flers want Pak Lah to go?
It will mean Najis taking over and are we comfortable with him given all the allegations surrounding him?
written by wshamsudin, June 20, 2008 17:44:56
If Papa Khairy or Mr Jeanne is INCOMPETENT to manage the country, then please dont vote for MR ROSMAH, cos he is also same as Mr Jeanne.Maybe WORSE.WE need a leader who can thinks for the RAKYAT.
written by PAKRAK, June 20, 2008 21:31:29
ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD THE RAKYAT WANTS YOU TO STEP DOWN!
DON'T BE STUBBORN HEADED, YOU SLEEPY NUMBSKULL. DO IT WITHOUT HESITATION. WHY ARE YOU LISTENING TO SOME OF YOUR CRONIES? IS IT BECAUSE THEY WANT TO DIG SOMEMORE INTO THE COFFERS. WHY, WHY, WHY ARE YOU RUINING THE NATION. IF YOU WALK IN THE OPEN ONE OF THESE DAYS YOU WILL BE WELCOMED BY A SUICIDE BOMBER.
written by mob1900, June 20, 2008 23:02:40
written by Jan, June 20, 2008 23:09:32
I just read in Malaysiakini that RPK has dropped the mother of all bombshells regarding Najis's wife. This is going to change the equation again.
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, June 21, 2008 21:48:22
Barisan Nasional (BN):
When you come to the end of the book, What you do?

"CLOSE IT" (BN CLOSE SHOP)
written by twg19492008, June 22, 2008 15:06:24
a wise man once said...

my mother taught me this

eat before u get hungry
stop b4 u r full

I guess this was not taught to all those who are still at it

(readers..I let you guess who m i referring 2..replies/response welcome)

my two cents worth

haji muhammad bin abdullah @ tan wah guan

written by twg19492008, June 22, 2008 15:16:57
probably the one who is eating now thinks he's not even filled yet (so says he n that's y he's hanging on for dear life to continue his meal)

and the other who stopped eating thought he's already been filled..( u n I know that's not true otherwise u will not b hearing so many senile remarks every now n then)

surely u readers know who i m referring to

haji muhammad bin abdullah @ tan wah guan

written by miwaki, June 22, 2008 22:04:12
Pak lah should stay home tomorrow,no eyes see-lah !