Johor Sultan vows to get back Pedra Branca PDF Print
Friday, 20 June 2008 07:56

THE Sultan of Johor says he will try to find ways to get sovereignty over Pedra Branca, which the International Court of Justice (ICJ) ruled last month belongs to Singapore.

When opening the Johor State Legislative Assembly sitting yesterday, Sultan Iskandar said the island belongs to the Johor government.

'Let us be reminded that I do not forget Pulau Batu Puteh. Pulau Batu Puteh is not Singapore's, but it belongs to Johor,' he said.

'It does not matter how long it may take, I will find the way to get back the island, which belongs to Johor.' Malaysians refer to the island as Pulau Batu Puteh.

Johor royals Tunku Ibrahim Ismail and Tunku Ismail Ibrahim were present at the opening of the state assembly sitting.

Johor's Menteri Besar Abdul Ghani Othman, who met reporters after the ceremony, refused to comment on the Sultan's remarks on Pedra Branca.

On May 23, the ICJ in The Hague ruled that Singapore has sovereignty over Pedra Branca, while Malaysia owns Middle Rocks.

The court did not make a definitive ruling on an outcrop, South Ledge, which is visible only at low tide, saying it belonged to whoever owns the territorial waters it sits in.

Both countries have pledged to abide by the decision of the ICJ, the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, whose decision is final and not subject to appeal.

BERNAMA

written by ksauyong, June 20, 2008 08:01:43
wishful thinking. For local consumption only. No hope of getting Pedra Branca back at all.
written by semut, June 20, 2008 08:17:25
too late.. BN sold the island already mah

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by ctchoolaw, June 20, 2008 08:20:49
Watch out, Singapore! The Johor palace has its own standing army. But if they want to revive the issue legally just make sure to leave the AG and his team of lame-brains behind. Their handling of the case at ICJ brings us shame. http://www.ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by ahmadneil, June 20, 2008 08:23:42
No hope.You can kiss the island goodbye.The money is already in umno's pocket.
written by Awaken64, June 20, 2008 08:55:18
Why have so much sentiments for Pedra Branca such a small piece of land, when u offer Iskandar Development Reigon http://www.idr.com.my/ to Singapore so willingly , whatelse right in front of the Palace. No wonder MB Ghani got no comments.
written by loosecannon, June 20, 2008 08:56:36
Singapore has everything to gain by going to the ICJ while Malaysia everything to lose. It was a stupid decision for Malaysia to agree to go to the ICJ, nothing short of handling it to Singapore on a silver platter. Or was it the idea to placate Singapore? When did we beat Singapore in anything anyway? At least leaving the island status quo, we still can claim that we owe it and maybe Najib can keep it as his submarine base or parhaps his brother can built an off-shore secret bank on it in for him and his Umno cronies to keep their ill gotton wealth they stole from us.
written by temenggong, June 20, 2008 09:11:45
We are setting the stage for a long term foreign policy conflict with Singapore. Singapore will demand one billion cu. ft. of sand for the return and lease back of Pedra Branca. That is the price!
written by DatoSeri, June 20, 2008 09:13:16
Under Singapore, the island worth very much more in value, and being cared for.

Under Malaysia and governed by UMNO, worthless for any development, except if money roll into their personal accounts can be guaranteed.
written by unomalaysia, June 20, 2008 09:37:46
Tuanku, Malaysia under AMNO did jackshit for Pulau Batu Putih for decades but Spore developed it as they had foresight. Also some Ar*ehole wrote a letter that Msia will not make any claim on the piece of rock. So I think maybe Tuanku should blame AMNO and expel them from Johor for betraying Johor and Malaysia. AMNO derhaka kepada Tuanku, Johor dan Malaysia. smilies/angry.gif Kasi Buang Negeri Johor
written by Sean E, June 20, 2008 09:40:12
Why shed tears over a piece of rock.

Look at the bigger picture, Malaysia.

You may loss Sabah to the people of the Southern Philippines (Moros) in the near future.

Remember 'Abu Savap'.

Malaysia is still paying 1,000 dollar to the descendents of the Sulu Sultan over the perpetual lease of Sabah from the Sulu Sultan.
written by Don Corleone, June 20, 2008 10:04:30
Tell the sultan that such a statement is inconsistent with the facts. In short, it was a stupid statement. Nobody wants to say it, so I will. Concentrate on what you have, not on what you have lost.
written by New Frontier, June 20, 2008 10:17:48
Tuanku, don't weep over Pulau Batu Putih. It was due to short sighted of one of your corrupted JCS(former S.S). But, look around you, ask yourself why Singapore Public Utilities Board has stationed in Skudai, Gunung Pulai, worse administer Pulau Pisang. Shove them out first then talk about regaining Batu Puteh.
written by InEffective, June 20, 2008 10:44:26
If only there was as much concern and commitment for the peoples instead of egos.
Priorities appear misguided.
written by Goliverpool, June 20, 2008 11:12:11
I wish to remind the sultan of johor, y now ?? y only now that u spoke ??. The issue has been brought up ages ago on the PBP. U should have taken initiative through ur state secretary to make sure that the we have all the necessary documents to support out case. Y speak now ? U should have spoken years ago even before the case was brought up to ICJ. The issue is that the island is located in Johor waters in which the sultanate should have records relating to it or the state government should have a copy. Since the sultan is the ruler of johor, his majesty should have taken proactive action and initiative to personally pursue the matter with his palace officials in searching and obtaining the right documents. To do it now is like a malay proverb. Nasi sudah menjadi bubur. !
written by Caesar, June 20, 2008 11:16:32
Despite both countries' (governments')pledge to abide by the ICJ's decision, this nut speaks out like a spoilt brat!
written by HamChak, June 20, 2008 11:31:05
This stupid Sultan of Johore is talking COCK again.
Ask him what happen to the Golf caddie.
What more can you say?

Aiyaa, just send you private army to attack Singapore, lor.
No need to wait, ma.
written by nothing less, June 20, 2008 11:36:44
Remember Tuanku what goes around comes around. The caddy, Gomez slapping, Dist, Officer and OCPD's push up when you visited the Dist's and all that. If you were interested in the Island and also the state of Johore you would not have done all these. You and your sons used to terrorise the people in JB instead of looking after the state. All the mosques in Johor offer special prayers to you and your family, but actually what have you done for the people there. Why not you protest but telling your family members not to go on masive shopping spree in Orchard Road Singapore. Now the nation's economy is down cos of petrol prices going up. Who pays for all the petrol to be used in all you imported bikes and your Feraries and Lambo's. How about your Humvees. Now the kembara Mahkota is coming. Who is goin to foot the bill of your 50 something big bikes in your entourage. Please Tuanku do something that your rakyat will remember you off. I suggest you put off the Kembara Mahkota until this crisis is setteld.
written by mikewang, June 20, 2008 12:14:18
The whole of Tamasek also once belonged to Johore.

Pray tell Tuanku, how are you going to reclaim that ?
written by crazygweilo, June 20, 2008 13:52:25
Thats easily solved your Royal Highness ....just invite Harry Lee and Baby Lee over the causeway for a game of golf. The moment you look like you are going to lose, you can play golf the way you did 20 years ago.

Daulat Tuanku x 3......
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 20, 2008 16:13:45
"Both countries have pledged to abide by the decision of the ICJ, the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, whose decision is final and not subject to appeal".

If the decision had been in Malaysia's favor and Singapore is the one rattling out like the JB Sultan, guess what would be the reaction of the UMNO group?
If I were in that Johor's Menteri Besar Abdul Ghani Othman’s shoes when asked to comment on the sultan’s statement, I too would have lifted up my sarong and run for a hiding place. How to give a sensible answer to a difficult situation?
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 20, 2008 16:16:24
Why don't your royal highness invite the Lee family for a round of golf? Trophy includes the Batu Puteh island. You cannot lose what you don't have anymore, right? Plus, you can slap them if they dare to win.
written by tommycol, June 20, 2008 20:26:40
Another CASE of CRYING OVER SPILLED MILK :I think it's better for TUANKU to get the CULPRIT who 'sold' BATU PUTEH and BEHEAD them than to CRY.
BTW you better JAGA Iskandar Development Region b'cos that might be the next piece of land 'sold' by WHO ELSE? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by yipck, June 20, 2008 23:33:49
"Watch out, Singapore! The Johor palace has its own standing army. But if they want to revive the issue legally just make sure to leave the AG and his team of lame-brains behind. Their handling of the case at ICJ brings us shame."

Singapore Navy, Army, Air Force has much much much advance technology and more than what malaysia has. How malaysia can win? Malaysia 8 radar last time there were issues of broken down and not operation. Donnow fix liao or not as Last time i remember, there were court case issue on the suppliers.

written by rams609, June 21, 2008 12:53:21
MIND YOUR WORDS PEOPLE. Have some respect for The Sultan of Johore.
If you are not from Johore, try to refrain from commenting as for the Johoreans The Pulau Batu Putih IS a piece of Johore land.

It was the work of MALAYSIA'S INCOMPETENT TEAM at the Hague that led to the loss of the island. They failed to create a doubt to the letter made available by Singapore concoctedly signed by a former Johore Acting State Secretary stating we Johore was not claiming rights to the tiny island. On top of that we have had Federal ministers from Johore championing the result at the Hague as an achievement. It won't take HRH The Sultan to do what is necessary, if I have the authority I myself will kick these good for nothing Johore ministers at their butts, and out of the state.

Simple common sense will say, we need to double check with the Chief Minister of Johore then and the Palace for that matter, unless someone has gotten fat in the pocket again for closing one eye on the former big ASS ( How appropriate, Acting State Secretary)letter.

You don't need to be a great lawyer to cast a doubt in their minds that what authority does this ' acting' guy has had to be able to declare the Island is not of Johore's.

What rights do the federal ministers have to let a JOHORE island go without defending< and then claimed it's a fair decision? Just because you carry a Foreign Minister's badge on your chest above the pocket, that does not give you the right to 'sell' JOHORE land to Singapore. By the way, have you had the balls to see the Sultan yourself to explain? If you have no or little guts you can bring in ministers like Shahril and Azalina who have had a fair share of supporting to your songs of pride, aka Proud Malaysian Achievement.

It's fair you say Rais Yatim? How about passing back Negeri Sembilan to the Minangkabau's in Sumatera you fool!

P/S. I did not touch the role of the current PM in this issue as you can see as you'd be wasting your time too. We all know he's in his own wonderland sleeping and not doing anything as usual! Guess why all his ministers are saying with Dollah at the helm it's democracy at work! By the way, if you guys still need more, how about selling langkawi and Pangkor to the Kingdom of Thailand huh?

STUPID IDIOTS FROM THE CENTRAL GOVERNMENT!!!
written by rams609, June 21, 2008 13:01:41
IF THE FEDERAL GOVERNEMENT CAN NOT SAVE AND CHECK ON THE SOVEREIGNITY OF OUR STATES, WE SHOULD BE GIVEN AN OPTION TO GET OUT OF MALAYSIA.

JOHORE WILL BECOME MALAYSIA'S NEW NEIGHBOR!!! AND MALACCA WILL BE MALAYSIA'S SOUTHERN GATEWAY....
written by amoker, June 21, 2008 14:17:44
I tot our 'army' is in England guarding the door to the Queen?
written by Rainbowseahorse, June 21, 2008 14:55:52
"IF THE FEDERAL GOVERNEMENT CAN NOT SAVE AND CHECK ON THE SOVEREIGNITY OF OUR STATES, WE SHOULD BE GIVEN AN OPTION TO GET OUT OF MALAYSIA".

rams609, good idea! Please pass that motion to his highest to be table at the next parliament sitting. With so much going on, Pak Lah's brain will not function much and might just agree to pass that motion to let Johore get out of the Federation of Malaya.