Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Multiculturalism & Multilateralism is the Best Way for Malaysia!

Multiculturalism & Multilateralism is the Best Way for Malaysia! PDF Print
Thursday, 19 June 2008 21:53

I don't give a damn about those "sheep" & wannabe herders, whom say the same thing over & over again "Islam is a comprehensive way of life". It's a flawed & useless argument in the 21st century!

I leave you with a link to a great speech that I advise everyone to read. & a general attack on Arab culture & why you Malays should not adapt many aspects of it. Keep the great things from your origins (Srivijaya & Malacca). I heard & even saw great glimpses of it in the arts scene & generally among the Malay intellectuals back in the 20s to 50s. Heck, anyone remember the great Malay artists of the 70s to early 90s? We all can learn something from them. No suprise that the arts scene in Malaysia is now dead!

Comments (57)Add Comment
written by rajaphillips, June 19, 2008 22:15:57
A study of Anthropology will explain that the Bangsa Malaysia has been around for centuries starting with the Malay race migrating from Yunan,China into SE Asia 2,000 years ago, then came the Indians, Chinese, Arabs - Maaysia has a rich, colourful history BUT all these was destroyed by Mamak Mahathir when his administration introduced "Sejarah" in a narow way to our schools - talking about Malaysian history from just 500 years ago
written by semut, June 19, 2008 22:28:01
good one surind..
all religion teach us to be good..
i don't understand what pas freak fighting for..
maybe they need something like 'islam for dummies'
weirdo

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by drabdulwahid, June 19, 2008 22:33:58
aiyah surind

not smart ah you

let me tell you some that not many Muslim can tell. muslims consider it an insult if a non-muslim tells them what to do. why?.

there are so many reasons. one of them, is that Islam is build upon the Quran and AsSunnah. these are explained by those who study them using methods which are agreed upon by a whole congregation of Ulama. it is not for noobs. that is one reason why they won't take the words of noobs like you or RPK. RPK may have his own understanding. but only non-muslim would support RPK. for a muslim Quran and Assunnah is beyond logic.

thsi is islam. we believe what we believe. you believe what you believe

i understand you dont agree with pas on many things. many Muslims don't as well. but we have our own stand on that. they are not the same as yours. and many muslims do not appreciate people like you saying that, Islam is not suitable bla bla.

let me give you an example

i have an indian friend. how would she react if i say to her "aiyah, how come you go to temple, it's so dirty, not suitable for modern days anymore." that would be an insult, wouldnt it?
i told you this, because a friend of mine who is from a hindu upbringing, told me that she hates going to temple and thaipusam celebrations because she finds it filthy. to tell you the truth i was interested to understand more about hinduism, but she gave me that answer, so well, i guess that's that. i respect other people's faith.

my point is, PAS does not represent the whole Islam. they have their own understanding. that's why they are what they are. sometimes they are a headache for other muslim as well.

commenting on our faith is not a good idea nope.
disagree 20
written by DontPlayGod, June 19, 2008 22:43:24
People keep on saying that Islam is a complete way of life! But who wrote the Quran? Not Prophet Mohammad(pbuh), not the angels, nor even God. It was written many year after the passing away of the prophet. Hence it was never verified. If it makes one feel good, neither was the Bible, or other scriptures verified by those to whom the scriptures were ascribed to.

So, please don't keep harping on this complete way of life thingy.
written by Awaken64, June 19, 2008 22:43:34
The report on the Commonwealth is nothing new yeah it.... explains the aftermath of how 500 mil Muslims were onced screwed by the British with their own rhetoric of "Whiteman's Burden".

Then came a fellow who thought he was GOD trying to quantum leap a certain race where even Hitler failed. look what a social problem he has created, the number of broken homes, drug addicts, rape, bohsia and even corrupt fellows are all the efforts of fellow.

Personally I will agree with RPK keep religion private and away from politics the country will mend by IT'S OWN Time will ensure this HAPPENS
written by DontPlayGod, June 19, 2008 22:47:57
I love the way the Malays lived in the 50's and 60's, until some Islamists who went to study in Arab nations and came back to introduce the Arabic way of life.

One can see how the Malays lived by watching the Malay films of the 50's and early 60's. I, too, had Malay friends from both sexes in those days, and it was pleasant friendship. But alas, extremism has taken over the Malay psyche and now the Malays keep away from us because they don't consider it prudent or proper to socialise with infidels.
written by drabdulwahid, June 19, 2008 22:53:13
aiyah,

muslim like me try to be good muslim, try to understand what Islam really is about. i also learn from other religion, respect them as their belief and never downplay their faith.

but here comes some other people, start talking about my religion and start insulting it like crap.

really not a smart move mate.

and these people are the same people who expect other people to respect their faith.*smack my forehead*

cant you just give comments like awaken64 here? dont have to insult quran or Islam like this la
written by Malaysia Digest, June 19, 2008 23:00:08
I think some party want to forget their past in which their ancestors used to worship idols and trees.

Malaysia Digest
written by Surind Raj, June 19, 2008 23:06:51
This article speaks about "Culture" not "Religion"

Read & introspect before you comment please! Patience is a virtue smilies/wink.gif
written by drabdulwahid, June 19, 2008 23:21:16
no no surind

you still dont understand

i understand that you talked about culture in later part of your article

but
don't give a damn about those "sheep" & wannabe herders, whom say the same thing over & over again "Islam is a comprehensive way of life". It's a flawed & useless argument in the 21st century!

"islam is a way of life" is not a catch phrase, nor does it imply that Islam is arabic and hence, evryone has to become an arab.

that is why i tell you not to comment on Islam. you will unintentionally insult other muslims.

let me give you an example again

law is written. it is somethg concrete. would you let anybody interpret law? no right? you would ask a lawyer. because he understands the language of law. if you ask some noob, somethg different will come out and everythg will be misinterpreted

in Islam it is like that. Muslims are like that. our faith is guided by Quran and Sunnah. it is guided by somethg concrete. for a noob to comment on it, somethg wrong will definitely happen because it is not guided by logic. it is guided by Quran and Sunnah

i am not asking people to accept Islam as a way of life. neither am i telling you to accept what i am saying. but just have some respect and try to understand our sensitivities. maybe try and learn a bit more because Islam is not somethg you can pickup just by reading or observing.
written by Sabahfan, June 19, 2008 23:28:19
Time to get rid of all the bigotry, rascism, and vote out all racial political parties....Recognise all genuine religious practices, not cults or pretenders. Recognise all customs found in Malaysia, not just the Malay customs and traditions. Recognise all customary food, let them choose what they like to choose.Let the family solve their own religious problems if their are mixed marriages amongst the races..
written by Daryl, June 19, 2008 23:35:10
Seriously, I am not sure how muslims can increase their Heaven access points if they are to to tell people not to do this or that. Also, if you implement it in the government and the decision you make is actually wrong interpretation of the Quran and it is being practice daily. This increase your hell access points and since you do it daily most until the day you die. In this situation does the committee get all the Hell points or whoever follow it. Or you just don't care because you are more interested for people to follow you.

Are you confuse now? But, it might end up a whole generation of muslims goes to hell because they follow wrong interpretation of the Quran... Just an observation from a kafir or maybe because Islam still not sure about Christians Kafir status...

AS for me I believe I go to Heaven the moment I accepted Christ to my life...

GOD Bless all of you.
written by drabdulwahid, June 19, 2008 23:46:14
oh really fernz?

let me tell you somethg. most european countries adopt Islamic thinking. Science as we know it today adopt islamic way of thinking. medicine as we know it today adopt islamic way of thinking. the economy as we know it today was materialised from islamic principles of muamalat.

the modern world as we know today was built upon principles brought by Islam. you may argue that, oh i dont see any Islam name here and there. but if you study history carefully, you will see that what i say is true. no civiliation has stood as long as the Islam's and today's civilisation. that is because the principles of life that Islam promotes is so great that we can live in this modern civilisation.

you may find this hard to believe but if you study the history carefully, you will find it to be true

why muslims are so backward today? they are backward today because they have left behind what the Quran and Sunnah taught them. that is all i can say and that is the only reason.
written by miwaki, June 19, 2008 23:51:19
Don't criticize any religion as all are good.Only human are bad because they have greed,hatred and ignorance and no religion can totally cleanse it away.Just follow the teaching carefully and you will not be wrong in your life.

Do not impose anything on anybody but yourself,after all you are responsible for your actions.If he or she was wrong,then he or she is responsible,not you !
written by drabdulwahid, June 19, 2008 23:58:10
ah

finally, a smart comment.

thanks miwaki. what you say is true. please do not flame islam. you hurt a lot of people by doing that
written by Noor Aza, June 20, 2008 00:01:06
Maybe RP & labisman can try to organize P. Ramlee film festival; with Anita Sarawak launching it in sexy kebaya ( I bet the PAS mullahs will be all over it; throwing stones maybe, since they believe religion is by brutal force)! And Anthropology is important here as argued brilliantly by Rajaphilips. No wonder in my family and extended family; we’ve all kinds of faces. Plus, as Labisman wisely puts it; we need to celebrate again, not hide it, the Srivijaya/M’cca heritage of Indian civilization in the Malay culture. That’s why I find such wonder in Bali! See, Malays are a diverse lot alright! You have the Malay Balinese who are Hindus and Malay Filipinos who are Catholic mainly; but the religion is not politicized to the extent of forcing it down on people’s throat and forcing Islamic identity on the Malays within the constitution/politics, as in Malaysia! And to you rabdulwahid, wise up. This’s a modern world; we can discuss and criticize anything; those PAS Taliban/Al-Qaeda mullahs or the Umno politicians who interpreted religion are NOT GOD ok!

Noor Aza Othman.
written by Noor Aza, June 20, 2008 00:08:09
To Cabeath; so you hate us feminists hem? Without feminism, your mother, sisters, wife/wives all would have been garbed in Taliban burqas; prevented from learning how to write and read; forced to be just sex-slaves to cavemen and on and on!Read up intelligently on feminism and you might wise up!
written by sarawakian, June 20, 2008 00:42:23
there's no end to people arguing about religion and my stick is bigger than yours...

religion should be kept a PERSONAL issue. promote it as you wish so long as your audience wants to hear your speech. shut up and move on if they don't. no need to force your beliefs on others.

a person's way of life should be guided by beliefs (based on religion or otherwise), logic in society and conscience.

written by Kritz, June 20, 2008 00:52:40
To Noor Aza!
link for the above.
http://helloyahoomail.net/en/?p=21
written by Sabahfan, June 20, 2008 01:07:08
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

OF THE TWO POSTED PICS ABOVE..... he he he

I do like the image of the one in Karate uniform, Nothing wrong with that,
It looks like she is just one step from being a first class Ninja.

However the one on the beach look ridiculous unless she is at some euroupean beach sometimes nearing winter. he he he he

Becos as far as i know, sitting near a beach in a hot sun is so dammed stuffy, any hair covered with a scarf will be bloody smelly in sweat..

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.... practical man practical... he he ehe he
written by FFT, June 20, 2008 01:18:16
The best way to manipulate a population is to make them forget their past, so they cannot move independently towards the future.

And this is what UMNO and Mahathir engineered for 22 years. They stripped the Malay of his history and transformed a critical proportion of them into crutch dependent beggars. And the best part about this is that their dependence is mostly psychological, because the average Malay really gets nothing but crumbs from this patronage system.

But with any artificially created vacuum, it will eventually get filled in. And that is a main reason for why this Arab nonsense has permeated Malay culture. Although Arabism itself is a sick disease afflicting the world, in the case of the Malay it is merely a symptom of a more severe disease afflicting the Malay. But lets not stop at the Arab culture either...if you walk down parts of KL on a weekend, or even in small towns in northern Malaysia, you'll see groups of Malay teens walking around dressed in a wide range of styles from Rastaman outfits to hardcore punks, and even more hilarious...as Nazi skinheads.

It is a hallmark of a confused culture who have been robbed by UMNO of their history and their sense of pride.
written by Kritz, June 20, 2008 01:27:48
Bazzi 'digs' Wayne State

To lead a statistical category in your first season in any sport is a big accomplishment. But to dominate in a statistical category is colossal.
In her first season for Wayne State volleyball, Mayssa Bazzi not only leads the GLIAC in digs per game (8.23 through Sept. 23), but is the king, or queen, of digs in Division II by a full dig per game.

Bazzi, who is from Lebanon, is also Muslim. But being fully-clothed in a sport more often known for provocative dress doesn't bother her at all.
"I'm very confident in myself," Bazzi said. "I think I'm someone that can handle the attention, for my uniform and not so much on the way I play."

Judging by how Gilbert has described her, she may be able to make it at a higher level, too.
"As the libero, she's our primary defender," Gilbert said. "In my 33 years of coaching, she easily could be the best player I've ever coached at that position."

http://media.www.thesouthendne...1146.shtml
written by informalaysia, June 20, 2008 01:36:08
Surind,

A few key points for you to take note of:

1) If you want to know about Islam, learn it straight from the texts, and not from the people. Nowadays, a lot of Muslims don't live by the rules anymore. Even some Ulama has gone extreme which is ugly. If you really know what Islam is, it is beautiful and I'm sure you'll admit it once you know more about it.

2) I know non-Muslims don't want Malaysia to apply Syariah law. But if it is meant only for Muslims and non-Muslims will adhere to the English law, why bother? It's like your neighbor wants to apply a curfew law for their kids but you're opposing it as if they're also trying to impose the same law on you. I mean, I just don't get it. Syariah law is our business and non-Muslims should not judge whether or not it should be applied to Muslims in Malaysia or not. I mean, it makes no difference to you, right? So, what's the big deal meh?

3) I believe what I believe, you believe what you believe, and let's just respect that, please. What if I say cow is created for human beings to use for meat and thinking that cows are sacred is an out-of-date thing to do? Won't that insult most people who believe in Hinduism in this country (or anywhere else)? Please try not to easily insult other people's faith. If you expect others to respect what you believe in, then it has to come both ways.

Think before you write, friend.
written by FFT, June 20, 2008 01:54:38
Hey Kritz,

You forgot this one:

written by FFT, June 20, 2008 01:56:03
written by informalaysia, June 20, 2008 | 01:36:08
1) If you want to know about Islam, learn it straight from the texts, and not from the people.

Careful what you ask for:

http://surind.********.com/200...ns-in.html
written by KC Chew, June 20, 2008 01:57:28
Dear Surind, u forgot to add the effect of misinterpretation of Islam.
written by POKKU, June 20, 2008 02:09:17
Dear drabdulwahid,

I thank you for trying to explain what Islam is to this people for it is fardhu kifayah upon Muslim to defend our faith under attack.

Judging from the article and from the comment here, I don't think most of this people are on the mood to understand Islam or even to respect Islam. It's a pity that after 50 years of independent and the BN government could not even portray Islam to a level where the rakyat could respect it. We even have a comment here from a Malay woman who did not show any respect for the religion.

But for us who understand Islam, we know what our obligation are. We know, believe and hold faithfully that the Qur'an is the words of Allah and Allah himself had guaranteed that it will be protected without any addition nor subtraction of a single ayat(phrase) nor words. As you can remember in the Qur'an, Allah had issued a challenge to come up with any surah that can match the Qur'an if anybody said that the Qur'an is man made. The challenge still stand until the end of time.

Ignorance people may not realise the extent to which we will stand up to defend our faith, to fulfill our obligation and to protect our right to practice our religious right. Well, how could they for they did not understand our faith nor our obligation and even our right.

They did not understand that in Islam we have an obligation with regard to our relationship with Allah and our obligation with regard to our relationship with fellow human being. It is very strange to them that our religion have a prescription for everything that we do to the extent of even going to the toilet and cleaning up after that, or prescription on having intercourse with our wife and other do's and don't.

They don't understand that what one does in private is between him and Allah but what one does in public, if it is against Allah prescription, the community/society/leaders are responsible to prevent/stop/advice against it. They did not understand the concept of amar makruf nahi munkar. To ask/encourage/promote people to do good things and to stop/prevent/advice people against wrong doing.

The ignorant will argue that this religious things are outdated, that now in modern times they think that we should be doing modern things. They thought that exposing their body and acting sexy is modern but they themselves quoting example of the old P.Ramlee movie the women then are up to date and very modern. Maybe the forgot that P.Ramlee movie was done in the 60's. What modern means then. We know that people as far back before Christ or before Prophet Muhammad's time had already exposed their body and act sexy then and we call those time 'zaman jahiliah'. There is no report of any different between a person body and their lust then and now.

we understand that some group of people want to protest the program where some woman will entertain the crowd before a football match. We read report that certain leader was angry at this group and most of the comment on MT was also against this group.

As me and you, drabdulwahid, are muslim that understand amar makruf nahi munkar and we understand that it is fardhu kifayah for muslim to stop/prevent or discourage any wrongdoing, For me, I thanks this group for if they did not do it, we all will be committing a sin and will be ask on the judgment day. Now that they have acted, our obligation had been fulfilled by them.

We know drabdulwahid that In The Qur'an there is a verse that read

" Ati-Ul-Lah wa ati-ul-rasul wa ulil-amri min kum"

which can be translate to mean OBEY ALLAH, AND OBEY THE PROPHET, AND THE LEADER AMONGS YOU.(excuse my limited direct translation)

Base on this clear meaning, I don't see any argument by the leader to be angry with the group. Especially the leader is suppose to be the leader of Islam. Maybe the Mufti should be advising the leader correctly.

Ah, But like I said earlier that maybe the commenter in this article are not interested to understand Islam. maybe they want to continue to live in ignorance, they want to continue to offend people by their comment, they want to continue to impose their way of life onto us Muslim and maybe if we resist much, it will lead to fighting. But take confort that Allah had promised us victory and unlike AAB and other BN leaders, Allah never fall short on His promise.

Anyway I thank you again for acting on all Muslim behalf to try to explain to them.

Thank you

written by Fernz, June 20, 2008 02:16:47
Islam is an outdated way of thinking. It cannot rise to the occasion and meet the challenges of globalisation and the future.

Those who keep harping on Islam are simply flogging a dead horse. These are politicians who hope to use Islam as a way of organising, controlling and exploiting people for their own ends.

If Islam was so great, the Muslim Ummah wouldn't be the most backward group of people in the world today. The Muslims have been steadily going downhill for the last 700 years.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by Sabahfan, June 20, 2008 02:20:03
To mr written by FFT, June 20, 2008 | 01:54:38

Haarrr harrr harrr.... U dammed good man.... ha h ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
written by POKKU, June 20, 2008 02:29:28
Ah one more thing.

I remember reading your comment that the 2 artist case are petty.

It may be petty if 1 person do sinful things and does not influence others. But this involve a crowd that fill a stadium. Maybe 30-40,000 soul. To my mind that is not petty anymore.

Wallah hu aklam
written by Fernz, June 20, 2008 02:37:21
drabdulwahid was claiming that western civilisation has an Islamic basis. To describe anything European as solely due to Islam, is to deny the great contributions of Greece, Rome, Egypt and ancient India to Europe and to the so-called Islamic civilisation itself. For example, the number system is ancient Hindu, passed on to the Arabs who passed them on to Europe. Even the Arabs call it the Hindu system although the Europeans call it the Arabic system and more lately the Hindu-Arabic numbers system. The ancient Indians knew about the circulation of the blood long before William Harvey. They also knew of the existence of the atom long before the Greeks who get the credit.

The fact is that Islam militarily brought together already flourishing territories and then went on to destroy them through discriminatory and punitive taxation regimes. That's what brought the Islamic Empire crashing down. It was a business that was no longer sustainable.

The discoveries during the so-called golden age of Islam (when the territories were united) were actually that of Greek and Jewish scientists who were also known by Arabic names. An unbiased reading of history will show that so-called Islamic discoveries are a myth. The ignorant Arabs who poured out of the Arab peninsula did not go on to do anything great. They were an in-bred lot, as they are today, and lacked even above average intelligence.

written by Kritz, June 20, 2008 02:48:39
Haiya typo: should be "nun" la!
written by Fernz, June 20, 2008 02:52:05
The Islamic emphasis on the tudung is from Christianity. Which religion came first? Christianity or Islam?

written by Kritz, June 20, 2008 03:05:04
written by Fernz, June 20, 2008 | 02:52:05
The Islamic emphasis on the tudung is from Christianity. Which religion came first? Christianity or Islam?

The rest of the Christian Ladies no need to wear tudung? Why just nun?
written by Kritz, June 20, 2008 03:12:26
written by FFT, June 20, 2008 | 01:56:03
Careful what you ask for:

The sexual aspect of life has three basic purposes:
1. Conservation of the human race, and continuity of its kind until it reaches the total number of human beings intended by Allah’s (SWT) leave to experience life in this world, to fulfill the divine purpose, and to show gratitude to its Creator.
2. Ejection of bodily fluids from the body, otherwise, suppression or retention of congested semen can cause various kinds of serious illnesses.
3. Fulfillment of one’s desire, satisfaction of one's sexual pleasure, and enjoyment of this blessing.

The latter is the only pleasure of such intercourse which is also provided in the heavenly paradise, whereby, therein three is neither ejaculation, natural discharge of bodily fluids, nor reproduction.

Sex is Good for You

Learned physicians find that sexual intercourse yields essential health benefits.

http://www.themodernreligion.c...x_good.htm

According to Islam, procreation is not the sole and only purpose of marriage. While procreation is a primary purpose, companionship and enjoyment of the spouse along with avoidance of unlawful or sinful relationships are also secondary purposes. These secondary purposes play their own important roles in the Islamic teachings which govern sexual relations. In other words, although procreation is definitely an aim, it is not an exclusive aim. Procreation is the major purpose, but nonetheless enjoyment and other purposes also play significant roles in married life as evidenced by the Islamic teachings which relate to sexual relations.

http://muslim-canada.org/sex.htm
written by Umno Slayer, June 20, 2008 05:08:55
it looks like bunch of Malaysian are so narrow minded ,racist and so on no wander this type of ****ing goverment can rule this nation for a long time ....most of the citizen are ****ing appaling i term of coming off age...what is this ****ing complaining about each race religion....sampai tua pun canyt change the country man!
written by aris, June 20, 2008 07:16:15
The Malay language is centred on Malay culture, tradition and art. If the Malays find the above dispicable they should let go of their language as well. It is also important that the Malays let go of the English language and their western ways as well. Putting it another way - make Arabic your mother tongue and then rigourously learn Arab culture , tradition and art. Follow this advice and soon you will find yourself a true Arab. The problem, however, is convincing the real Arabs that Malays are also Arabs. They may claim the Malays are masquerading as Arabs. If you don't mind it doesn't matter. Good luck.
written by carkraz, June 20, 2008 10:14:43
Dear readers,

The point we muslims are trying to make is very simple: Don't blame the religion,but blame the followers who use religion for their own gain.

All religions teach us to be good, and Islam is no exception.If you are still outraged over the recent antic from PAS Youth, you go ahead and criticise them.If its any consolation, many muslims didn't agree with PAS Youth's stand over the concert, either.

But Islam is pure in its form and do not deserve such blatant bashing.
written by Skyjuice, June 20, 2008 11:14:51
I read some comments which mentioned that even if the government applied syariah law in malaysia, it would not affect non- muslim. what a bullshit. even when they have not applied the syariah law, non-muslim has already been affected!! where are those body snatcher came from? outer space?? what will u think when ur love one pass away and u can't even cremate him on ur own religion?? an old guy passed away but the religious dept claimed that he converted to muslim but during that period, he was in comma!!wonder if it's god will that he woke up, went to the religious dept and converted.. and the best part is, the family can't even argue!!! and u guys are saying that this religion is good and tolerating? i will say, sorry man, i don't see it from any point of view....
written by Fairminded, June 20, 2008 11:51:55
All religion has a certain cultural dimension to it and this cultural dimension is reflected in the place or country or culture of the land it originated from. For example, Islam originated from Arabic Peninsula and therefore certain forms of practice will reflect the Arabic culture such as wearing a veil against sandstorms, etc. However, if God is universal as all monotheistic religion profess than God had also created other cultures. So I do not see anything wrong for a Chinese muslim in China not wearing the veil because China is not totally a desert country. It ranges from subtropical to temperate. The crux of the matter is that people should practise the substance of a religion and not the form of the religion. Arabic muslims wear the veil and so be it. I dont see why Malaysian muslims should wear the veil in such a hot and damp environment. I do agree that Islam is a way of life but it should be a way of life of piety, personal morality etc and not by enforcing dress codes which does not necessarily meant that underneath all these veil that one can commit sins. It goes for all religions.
written by Skyjuice, June 20, 2008 14:54:56
I chance upon this comment on another posting. I quote bumiputeri:
written by bumiputeri, June 20, 2008 | 11:07:57
Just why does PAS think the non- Muslims should be subjected to Islamic rules here in Malaysia? Is it something to do with the population ratio? The Muslims, 60% or so and the nons lesser, so you can sort of force the minority into the majority culture?

May I ask the Muslims in Malaysia then, since India has nearly 850 million Hindus, and only 100 million Muslims, and few millions of others, should the Muslims there be subjected to Hindu law, for example, no more than one marriage, only vegetarian food served at functions and public places, certainly no beef, no Azan but Sanskrit mantras from the temples on the amplifiers????

What about the Christian majority countries like the west? Same????? Will the Muslims bear that?????

Please PAS, keep your Islamic laws to yourself, let us have our own religion and live the laws of our own religions, in essence, all the religious laws are good!!!! Perhaps Muslims never noticed that except Saudara Anwar as he knows how to quote Confucious and Ramayana to the nons!!!!

MAKE SENSE, RIGHT???!!!!!
written by Diz, June 20, 2008 15:50:06
Some interesting comments/outbursts here on religion and I have to agree with the individuals who say that it should be kept as a private matter. I've got no real problem with idiotic self-righteousness but these people really should keep it quiet, if only to shield themselves from ridicule.

Those like Pokku and Dr Abdul would do well to simply accept that they 'believe' (they cannot prove, they do not 'know') what they have been told and not try to reason their points because there simply is NO rational argument to be made. Trying to prove the 'truth' (as if such a thing exists in a vacuum) by quoting from religious texts is the worst form of circular argument, one that ALL religions are guilty of to varying degrees. Similarly, the arguments being put forward by a number of posters that only Muslims can comment upon Islam is unacceptable, especially when their beliefs affect everyone else in the country.

Btw, if anyone here can advance a serious argument proving the 'truth' of any particular religion (by which I mean an argument that my 10 year-old would find convincing) I'm willing to offer a nice cash prize!
written by sambal muncha, June 20, 2008 18:11:22
POKKU and mates,

English translations notwithstanding, I fail to see how one can read the Ayahs from the Holy Quran, and say "look, that's what it says". I know that's how our beloved Uztads used to teach us in school.

Are people even aware that a whole chapter can be devoted just to explain the various meanings and interpretation on just the ONE phrase "Ulil Amri minkum" within the context of Islam? (historical, present and future) The same goes with hundreds of other words and phrases.

It would take more than a few lifetimes to esoterically understand and appreciate the Holy Book, and even then, more and more inner meanings and interpretations would surface in an ever changing scope of the human mind (Genies and other living beings not precluded) ....It's not a book you just pick up and read and understand. That would just be reading the basic exoteric, literal, 'on the surface' words in a book. It contains allegories, metaphors, etc., all very poetically inscribed. Even the calligraphy (various early texts) is very artistic. It is for that reason that a simple sounding phrase such as "Ulil amri minkum" has a richer meaning and resonance to it.

FINALLY, IN REF TO NOOR AZA: I reckon it's not really fair to be patronizing when referring to "the 1 muslim woman" who is a regular commentator on this blog. Sure, I sense some frustration there, but she stands and speaks for thousands, arguably millions of repressed Malaysians who are still not legally and socially recognised as, and economically equal to men in our society. May Allah continue to give her courage, strength, Amin.

written by POKKU, June 20, 2008 19:20:54
Dear Diz and Sambal Munca,

Thank you for referring to my comment.

As per Diz request for a prove. well there is a lot of prove to put forward but one must observe the reason for asking for it.

If the prove is required because both parties is trying to discover the truth, well and fine. but if the prove is for the sake of argument, then what is the use. For an argument does not bring any benefit to both you and me.

When the spirit is right then it is called discussion. Then it will brings all good to everybody. then the Muslim will understand the non-Muslim, vise-versa. the male will understand the female vise versa. the malay will understand the non-malay. And PR government will become very strong.

I understand that amongst us the commentator here, there are some who is planted to instigate hatred, suspicion and other negative feeling among each other.

BN is fully aware that they can play up the topic of Islam, chauvinistic and woman equality in this blog and we will insult each other, calling each others names and fighting and quarreling until a few days.

Just look at this article, even after 2 days, still people post comment. And most of the article concerning PAS youth will received a lot of comment.

My comment earlier did not aim to make the non-muslim believe in Islam for that is your prerogatives. It is your choice if you want to believe or not. The ayat in the Qur'an mention that there is no compulsion in choosing Islam. But for the Muslim, they have no choice but to obey Allah.

My aim, if there is a possibility, is to make you understand Islam, in the hope that when you understand, you know why we do what we did. That you will not call us names and did not insult us to the point that we have to retaliate. That we will not generalise all non-muslim is all alike these people who insult us. Mind you not all the people who read your insult can keep a cool head. One of this day it can be translate to hatred and revengeful. I don't think that is what we want.

We know that every parties in PR has our leader who sit regularly to discuss issue. Maybe we should trust them enough to protect our right. we could comment on the article but I believe we should restrain ourself from insulting each other.

Channel all the insult that we have to BN for they deserve it. When fuel price go up, we throw insult at BN. When earthquake hit China, we throw our insult to BN. When Israel attack the Palestin people we throw our insult at BN. When Portugal lost to Germany we insult BN...etc.

That way we can live peacefully with one another.

By the way Sambal Munca, I am not a qualified scholar to interprate fully the meaning of ulil amri minkum for that is my limitation.

Take whatever is good and correct as if it come from Allah and whatever is bad and wrong as my weakness and I seek your apology on it.

Wallah hu aklam

written by Thian, June 21, 2008 20:46:03
I believe the one who wrote this is an idiot or some BN twist to always bring religion or race into the issue of living in mulitpluralistic society.

Islam is for that.

The writer who wrote this intentionally to provoke and not stimulate. So I suspect BN bastard is at work again.

Work on non religious labels. Do we want democracy. Do we want a society where all human are equal (as stated in the Quran). Do we believe in fairness? Do we want to stop corruption? Do we want people who blow people up for PM?

I am offended whther I am Muslim or not. So I have a strong suspect the writer is a BN writer.
written by sambal muncha, June 21, 2008 21:10:55
As Rajaphilips says, we have a rich heritage of different cultures; what's stuffed it all up is the infiltration and abuse of religiousness in politics. It's happening now in Pakistan, Egypt and somewhat in Indonesia; as happened previously in Afghanistan and Iran. Of course the Arab kingdoms, especially Saudi Arabia, uses this means very smartly to suppress the populace.

Culture and religion are distinct. Unfortunately our CONSTITUTION has blinded the people with equating race (meaning culture) with religion. Malaysians forget that even Arabs are Coptics, Catholics, Jews, etc., just as Malays in the larger realm are Catholics, Hindus. Arabs who have SO CALLED muslim names are not muslims! We Malaysians are sooo ignorant! And muslims are as varied in their interpretation and practise as there are countries in this world! That's the beauty of Islam. Amazing what traveling does to our minds. That's probably why Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) encouraged us to travel as far as China (that was like the end of the planet at that time!) to seek knowledge!

Religion has never had the longevity of culture. Take India, we've had Hinduism, Bhuddism, Parsi, Christianity, and Islam, but culture still the same, kan? Same in Indonesia, Arab Kingdoms. Even in Malaysia, we still consult the ubiquitous bomoh for various meta-physical ailments though it defies logic and is somewhat un-Islamic in spirit, no pun intended! The Umah and the MSM must take responsibility for trying to 'homogenize' Islam, to the extent once when I was abroad in a Western country, someone asked if I could speak Muslim????

In Malaysia, we simply have to focus on eradicating poverty, provide universal education and most importantly, give HOPE to our youth for a better civil life, social justice and equitable economic opportunities. Education that encourages personal search in a deeper sense of one's spiritual purpose and journey on this earth, one that doesn't dogmatise religious teachings for blind pursuit.

In the bigger scheme of things, the Christian (read: European) civilisations also went through the struggle between Church and state for many centuries. Hopefully this a cycle that we are going through.

In fact what's so beautiful about Islam is that it has absorbed aspects of cultures from all over the world without compromising on the essence of our teachings. Example, the crescent (Turkish culture), the celebration of Spring (New Year) in Northern hemisphere (Persian) and more. This is why Islam in the historical context has been so universally appealing. The prophet (PBUH) always encouraged pluralism and upheld the dignity of all regardless of their race, creed, colour, age, gender, political affiliation; he even invited his enemies home! Funny how we seem to forget these aspects of the Sunnah.

To Pokku, no need to apologise lah; I understand that getting emotional on matters of religion simply encourages the politicians to further capitalise on the waywardness of the masses!

Wassalam, peace and barakah to all M-today readers!
written by sambal muncha, June 21, 2008 21:19:53
Correction: Even some Arabs who have so-called muslims names are not muslims.
written by Richfyf, June 22, 2008 14:11:56
a TRUE Muslim will be able to lead a the true Islamic way of life anywhere in the world even without the existence of a Shyriah Court around. This is proven to be true by more the 50 million Muslim In China. Ask any of them if they feel that Islam is being under threat by Chinese. .. They will tell you that yes of the Billion chinese in the country that are not muslim they ( the muslim themselve are Chinese) So how can we say Chinese threaten Islam when there are MORE Chinese Muslim in the world the whole of Malay population in Malaysia???? So stop bringing religion into politic. Thats the problem.