Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Politics, Religion and the Cloth in Between

Politics, Religion and the Cloth in Between PDF Print
Thursday, 19 June 2008 16:45
Let's face the facts. LIFE is all about controlling lesser beings that fall under our dominion. Even in highly advanced democratic countries, it is the government who wields actual power over the people despite them being elected into office by the people. Forget about People's Power and Makkal Sakhti for the moment. These are merely slogans that we use to propel our chosen leaders to the top.    

The truth is it only takes a small fraction of the population to run the lives of the other millions below them. It seems like a heavy task for a few people to control the whole nation, but that is just what leaders have been doing everywhere throughout history. This is where religion and other mass control tools such as race and class come into play.

Religion has been used, misused and reused by figure heads throughout the centuries to exert control over tribes and nations. Unscrupulous leaders use it to create fear in people and then offer the promise of salvation. They label and brand religion to cater to their own goal of amassing a growing crowd of followers.

The introduction of Islam Hadhari by the Prime Minister was essentially a rebranding exercise that he had hoped would gain him more support from the people. However he did not take into account that Malaysians have generally become a well informed society. Most people do not see the need to change their way of practicing Islam, least of all one which expounds more or less the same values they have been following all these years.

I suppose that is why Islam Hadhari remains controversial and has not really gained any ground in the general populace. And that is why Pakatan Rakyat is slowly dismantling this concept in their states. After all, there is only one teaching of Islam – the religion of peace.

The other reason for its unpopularity is because people are fed up of being told how to practice their own religion. Many consider religion to be a private matter and in my opinion it should remain that way. Once religion becomes a state matter, it will somehow turn into a political tool which will ultimately destroy its own sanctity. No matter how sincere a politician is, it must be noted that he is STILL a politician.

We should leave religious matters to the imams, priests, monks and rabbis. These men of the cloth are the ones who are qualified enough to expound the teachings of their various religions. Politicians should not don the robes of religious men and vice versa, religious men should not preach behind the masks of politicians.

All the major religions of the world teach their followers to be at peace with oneself and to exist in peace with others. If you put a priest, a monk, a rabbi and an imam together in a room, I am sure there will be no quarrels. But once a politician enters the scene, the chances are high that sparks will be ignited.

The war in the Middle East and other parts of the world today are not due to religious differences. We don't see rabbis dropping bombs on imams and imams throwing stones at rabbis. The real war is actually between greedy politicians who misuse religion for their own selfish gain.

It is dangerous for politicians to step into the sacred grounds of any religion. If they do, it will be like a flame walking into a tinder-box.

Fortunately, Malaysians are wise enough and they can see through the crystal-clear facade of Badawi's Islam Hadhari just like they can see through the walls of the Crystal Mosque of Terengganu. Even PAS has realized that politics and religion should be treated separately by restricting the aspects of religion to themselves and joining hands with other parties to build the nation. This, I truly respect.

On the other hand, will UMNO ever learn from their mistakes?

Great leaders do not need to hide behind the cloak of religion to lead the nation. Neither do they need to play the racial card to gain support. Great leaders should simply adhere to the values of justice, equality, humanity and humility. 

The dismantling of Islam Hadhari in the Pakatan States is a good start towards the elimination of religious enmity and segregation in our society. It is time we move forward and leave behind 50 years of unfounded fears generated by preachy politicians. Let's remove the cloth that has been hiding their ulterior motives all these years.

By Edmond R 

http://betelnutchronicles.blogspot.com/2008/06/politics-religion-and-cloth-in-between.html

written by semut, June 19, 2008 16:51:40
On the other hand, will UMNO ever learn from their mistakes?

day after day.. i still don't see any changes.. they seem very enjoy lying everyday..

http://semutmalaysia.********.com
written by ahmadneil, June 19, 2008 16:55:25
These is for umno members to read or else sent them to 'boot camp'
written by cheemengwong, June 19, 2008 17:06:04
What is this Islam Hadhari?
I always thought religion is Tuhan n sendiri
Now many are asked to think from kanan to kiri
Just practice your religion Hari Hari!

Polticians wants to cage the Raayats kaki
Pay toll money but can drive satu kaki
Kalau gomen susah, tax Raayat lagi
Apa macam Pak Lah, U nak Raayat mati?
written by Fernz, June 19, 2008 17:28:59
Power comes from the people. When a political party serves the people, the people in turn give them a mandate. What is given can be taken away by the giver. The Sat 8 March 2008 GE in Malaysia is an example.

In some countries like Myanmar, the people are not sovereign. Hence, the people giving a mandate to a political party does not arise.

The UN should step in to restore the sovereignty of the people of Myanmar and put the generals on trial before hanging them for genocide and crimes against humanity. Iraq is a precedent in international law.

Re religions ... all religions are convenient vehicles for organisation, control and exploitation of people. Of course, they do this by invoking the name of God and putting fear of the unknown in people's minds. After death, what? People should know that after death, they are going to wherever they were before they were born. If they didn't fear being born, they shouldn't fear death either. No one is going to stick hot rods up your arse in a hell. Neither are there 70 virgins waiting for you in heaven.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by *********, June 19, 2008 17:29:51
The SAPP's attempt to pass a vote of no confidence on PM Badawi is not just a vote of no confidence against Badawi, but also one against the corrupt and racist BN/Umno regime. This move by SAPP must be seen not only from a political standpoint but also that of economic and social standpoints as well.

http://*********.********.com
written by axeltung, June 19, 2008 17:33:23
Religion and racial are always a sword behind the politic especially Umno... So many cases before, any critical issue was going to attack them...They were show the sword by the name of Sword of God to torture you and diverted the attention! Kills you without bleeding. eg: Kapar Singh's case!!

This time after GE 8th March, after the political Tsunami to BN. It seems like the sword is not working!! As our fellow malay people do not recognized the BN political patterns, raising cost of living, oil price etc! So the sword doesn't work anymore especially to Malay people.

written by speakofthemind, June 19, 2008 19:32:04

'Those who say religion has nothing to do with politics do not know what religion is.'

-Mahatma Gandhi
written by Watcheyes1, June 19, 2008 19:42:37
"On the other hand, will UMNO ever learn from their mistakes?"

Hell NO!!

And to add, there are no great leaders in UMNO, only morons with $$$ sign in their eyes!

In US they have a tournament called Baseball World Series....New York V Boston!
And that's how UMNO thinks! You get what i mean?

written by yeechut, June 19, 2008 20:19:48
Power craze politicians and blind followers is a deadly mixture. There will always be greedy people who wants to be in power - not much can be done about that. It is more important that the masses open their eyes and stop to follow blindly.

This is the time for eyes opening.
written by Noor Aza, June 19, 2008 20:34:44
Brilliant article!I am tired of Muslim men, including from PAS & Umno, being defensive or ignorant over the real enough existing brutal and fanatical political Islam ideology; that include increasing absolute control over women and girls’ bodies and minds. Such as the imposition of the veil to propagate further "honour" ideology, by force, peer pressure or manufacturing of consent of women and girls, including before puberty (Veil has never been compulsory; and now forcing the Malay-Muslim symbol of songkok, even on non-Muslims - what's next, the Taliban/Al-Qaeda turban?!). Instead of looking at the mirror and see what's wrong with political-fanatical Islam. I believe Islam or any religion for that matter belongs in the personal sphere of cultural tradition; hence dynamic and progressive rather than becoming dogmatically ideological as when politicised for (elite male) power and control sake. I have yet to see Muslim men on the streets demanding reform for progressive values in modernity, against brutal Islamic "laws", ideology and practices that do truly oppress women and girls including in the despicably silently sanctioned “honour killing”, the gay and non-Islamic communities, and converts from Islam. One last word, Al-Qaeda and Taliban unfortunately are propagating their real enough primitive and barbaric ideology all over, including in Malaysia and Indonesia unfortunately, especially for women and girls! Of which shocked me when I came home after many years in the west and saw such primitivism and barbarism poisoning the minds, especially of the younger generation, that used to be moderate, tolerant, different and dynamic Muslims in both countries. Although I've to say that the Iraq War has messed a lot of people up, including myself and many leftist, where we thought we had to indiscriminately support Islam in whatever form, due to the trauma of the unjust war! Political-fanatical Islam (or any religion) is as destructive as capitalism! Time for reformation for both!

Noor Aza Othman,
Liberal-feminist Malay woman!
written by Nyabur Gerasi, June 20, 2008 07:16:13
Pakla shiok sendiri with it (Islam Hadari),
PAS will laugh at it,
UMNO's goon will gain self interest out of it,
the non muslim dont take note of it,
and for sure the whole Malaysian are pissed off with it!

Idup Parti Dayak!!!!
written by Edmond R, June 20, 2008 09:33:21
Kritz said "What I suggest is that you look at Tok Guru Nik Aziz and Tok Guru Abdul Hadi as a religious politician from PAS. How do they misuse religion? How bad are they? Are they corrupted, liars, cheaters, embezzlers? What kind of person are they?"

Hi Kritz,
I am the author of the article. Yes, I agree with you that Tok Guru Nik Aziz and Abdul Hadi are indeed man of their words, and therefore great leaders. I do not deny that at all in my posting. In fact, I believe that PAS is doing a great job by playing down the religious card and keeping it to themselves, while at the same time joining hands with the rest to build the nation.

Great leaders are the ones who practice humility, humanity, justice and equality. Yes, an atheist can be a great leader too if he or she displays these values.

All major religion (and non-religion too) teaches us to be at peace with ourselves and others. They nurture us into what we are. And when we are infused with good values, we will be able to lead the country well, without imposing our beliefs on others. Expounding our good values is different from expounding religion.

Let's stand hand in hand.

Edmond R
Betel Nut Chronicles
http://betelnutchronicles.********.com

written by sambal muncha, June 20, 2008 16:42:30
Hi Edmond,

May the voice of moderation (social, religious, political) be heard far and wide in the corridors of power!

To Noor AZA, YOU GO GIRL!

written by Kritz, June 20, 2008 21:36:31
written by Noor Aza, June 19, 2008 | 20:34:44
I have yet to see Muslim men on the streets demanding reform for progressive values in modernity, against brutal Islamic "laws", ideology and practices that do truly oppress women and girls including in the despicably silently sanctioned “honour killing”, the gay and non-Islamic communities, and converts from Islam.

http://www.islam-guide.com/ch3-12.htm
http://thebook.org/tbf-articles/article_55.shtml
Noor Aza! If you are a Muslim please read more on Islam or as in the links provided above, if you are not, just don't bother reading it.